Trina Turk

Key To Success Dress

$30 rental
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

You can’t go wrong wearing this classic Trina Turk dress. With a tinge of modern ambiance, this style is great for all ages! Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Crystal Cambon Pearl Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cobalt ponte (69% rayon, 29% nylon, 2%spandex). Three quarter sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (100% Polyester). 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
179 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(120)
Small
(22)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2012
Ease of process. Convenience.
The dress is lovely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 17, 2012
Absolutely perfect for an hourglass shape!
I wore this beautiful dress to a fall wedding by the beach. The color was stunning, and the cut was very flattering. The material is a bit thicker, so I would advise wearing this for light fall weather...additionally, the bottom lining of this dress is a beautiful blue lace (it adds a touch of secret femininity that had me smiling all night). I received many compliments--even from the bride! Loved it :).
KatieOctober 23, 2012
This dress is made for you! You look perfect.
RachelOctober 23, 2012
Thanks so much Katie!! :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2012
Sophisticated but Still Fun
I wore this dress to my daughters bridal shower and got lots of compliments. I think its perfect for a daytime or work relatated event. The fabric is substantial and forgiving. Great upper arm coverage. I would rent this one again.
TanyaNovember 6, 2012
You are not 50... that has to be a big sister/little sister...WOW!
AbbieNovember 29, 2012
Ditto!! Fabulous and fifty. Your daughter is also adorable. have a wonderful wedding.
RTR CustomerFebruary 22, 2013
This dress looks amazing on you.
KeriApril 26, 2013
Just about fell out of my chair when you said your daughter's bridal shower. I really thought you were sisters! And she is beautiful too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
November 11, 2012
Perfect for church and then dinner for my nephews confirmation
I rented the 4 but the 2 would have fit better. Loved the color, although it stated "Cobalt" it had more of a purple hue, than a true cobalt blue. It was a cold day so I wore a camel wool coat and it looked great. Conservative enough for the church and then perfect for dinner after! Received a lot of "I love that dress"
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 12, 2012
Good Dress for Large Cup Sizes
This dress is great if you have big boobs, because it is big in the front/top. It has kind of a vintage feel to it. I felt like I was on Mad Men or something. It is a total "Joan" dress. If you have small ones, don't do it. If you have a B cup, wear a padded push up. Great for C cup or bigger.
SarahJuly 31, 2013
I said the same thing in my review! I felt like Joan in this dress. Must be a curvy girl thing :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 12, 2012
Worked well for me, would fit better on a more defined waist.
I was very happy with this rental, it was perfect—fashionable and flattering but still conservative. I felt comfortable wearing this to mass before the reception, and I got compliments about how good it looked while at the reception. As other reviewers said, the color is less pastel than it appeared on my monitor—more of a royal blue-purple, but I preferred the bolder color, so I was happy. I really loved how the dress looked. My only reservation in giving it five stars is the how it fit on my frame. I don't have a very defined waist, and the waist detailing doesn't stretch. I ended up wearing the 2 because it fit my hips and chest better than the 4, but the 2 did feel a little snug when I was sitting down and it pulled at the waist and neck. So, it wasn't the more comfortable dress, but it was very flattering and totally worth it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2012
It was a great experience from start to finish! So easy and I got a classy beautiful dress.
Sometimes I wear a 4, but I'm glad I had a 6. It was nice and slim through the hips. I'm 5'9 and it was the perfect length. Beatiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 18, 2012
Made my Bridal Shower great!
I wore this dress for my Bridal shower and it was a total hit. Fits great. I usually wear an 8 or a 6, ordered both sizes and wore the 6. It runs very true to size. Other reviews really helped as well as pictures. Color is also very true to picture, I loved it. I tried to upload a picture but it wasn't working, I'll try again later.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
November 23, 2012
Not the dress for me
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I ordered the 12 and a 10 as my backup. I did not end up wearing it as I'm very short-waisted and the waistline of this dress hit me in an odd position; above my natural waist but too low for an empire. It's a beautiful color and finished perfectly but just didn't work on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 28, 2012
Great dress Stunning color
Love the color. Husband loved it! The key hole in front wasn't too low even when sitting. The dress has some stretch. I loved the blue lace hem detail. You couldn't see it when you are standing but when you sat it would kinda 'peek' out like a pretty slip. Great dress! I can sometime run between a 4 and a 6 but the 4 was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2012
I walked into a full room for an important meeting and two people quickly commented how beautiful
The dress is a really stunning color especially for fall/winter. A rich purple blue. The material is substantial and there is a 'same color' lace slip that peeks out when you cross your legs. its a very luxurious look on a classic silhouette. The keyhole neckline is a nice trendy update.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
December 11, 2012
Fun dress, great fall work attire!
Wore this for a work dinner and got many compliments on it. It totally covered me up but it was still fitted and stylish. Dress hit right above the knee on me. Like other reviewers said, it is quite snug at the rib cage, so size up if you tend to be large in this area or plan on having a large meal!. Fabric is nice and thick so it's an ideal dress for cool weather. Wore it with a gold cuff, small gold hoop earrings, black tights, and knee high stiletto Jimmy Choo boots. Highly recommend
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 13, 2012
Could not wear it... too short-waisted.
This dress looks fabulous on all the other reviewers so I thought it would be a sure bet, but I was not thrilled with the fit at all. It came up very short-waisted on me, the proportions were all off. I do have fairly broad shoulders so maybe that threw off the fit. Sadly returned the dress without wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
December 14, 2012
Simple dress but absolutely stunning on!!!
I wore this dress to my company holiday dinner party and it was a big hit!!! I am a true pear shape and this fit my curves very well. The dress was a little big on top but fit my waist and hips just right. It seemed very simple in the bag but was absolutely stunning on. It came to just above my knees and was very appropriate for a work function. Thanks RTR for helping make this mom feel like a beautiful woman again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2012
STUNNING!
This dress was amazing and I felt very glamorous. My husband did a double take when he saw me and has been talking about my "blue dress" since! You wont be disappointed, the fabric is thick stretchy and very forgiving and the lace at the bottom of the hem is a nice feminine touch. I hated to return this dress and will definitaly rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 24, 2012
Mad Men Style
Wore this dress to a Mad Men party. It is a gorgeous color and the style recalls the 1960s.I paired with a gold broach, cat eye glases and a beehive. As for fit, I thought the dress ran small. I got a 6 and a 4, and wish I had gotten a 6 and 8. The length was long, but not too long, a nice change from having to spend the night always pulling down my dress. I probably could have benefitted from some spanxs (and I rarely say that!). The dress is fully lined with a material that has no give, so that really contributed to the tightness. A lot of reviewers who loved this dress had an hour glass shape. My shape is nothing like that -- more apple/straight and narrow, and this dress still flattered me... All in all, a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
December 28, 2012
This dress was very elegant and understated.
Beautiful color - a little too small for me to wear a 2 but to my surprise the size 4 was not too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Great cut and color on this dress
This dress was perfect for my company holiday party. It was tasteful and looked great with simple accessories - I just wore earrings and a watch. The color is stunning and really stands out in a crowd.
KeshaJune 19, 2014
looking good mama3
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2013
Fit perfectly and was sophisticated and professional.
I recommend this dress for work events. Super polished!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2013
Flattering and professional!
This dress hits all the right places without being too risque. I've rented it 3 times: (1) wedding; (2) chartiable event; and (3) networking happy hour -- all while being able to wear it to work during the day. I rented it with the jewelry, and received a ton of compliments. I fluctuate between a 0-2, and the 0 fit that day. Really does some nice thigs for the derriere. I'll pay the highest compliment: I would buy it if I could find it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 19, 2013
Very flattering, but classy.
Someone paid me the compliment that my dress looks like something Michelle Obama would wear (I wore the dress out to an inaugural cocktail party). I jazzed it up with some of my own jewelry - a sparkly bracelet and chandelier earrings. I wore flats - but pumps would definitely complete the look too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2013
Perfect lady
This dress was awesome and fit like a glove. Love the purple-blue rich color, and the fabric/lining are high-quality. Recommend pairing it with a fun belt, so you have more of a defined waistline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 11, 2013
This is a beautiful color and I love the keyhole neckline. Runs large.
I didn't end up wearing this because it was too big. The waist isn't as fitted as it looked and while the shoulders and sleeves fit very well, the rest was roomy. But it also ended up being too short and the slit in the back too high. Love the look, just didn't fit my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 12, 2013
this was my second choice dress. didn't end up wearing it but will rent it again!
did not end up wearing this to the event but loved the color and will be renting this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 14, 2013
Striking dress for any business occasion
A beautiful blue color with a cut that gives you a great figure. It's totally work appropriate but believe me, it's HOT! Everyone notices how great you look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 25, 2013
Classic and sophisticated
This dress made me feel appropriate, sophisticated and sexy at the same time. The shape of the dress creates a bit of Kardashian-esque shape. Accent on hip and bust - not a bad thing at all! My husband even commented positively and he typically doesn't take note.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 26, 2013
Awesome dress. The key hole is tasteful and the dress give you a clean classy look.
This was a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 26, 2013
Worked just fine, but I didn't love it.
No seam on the shoulders was a nice touch for me since I have somewhat broader shoulders. At 5'9, though, even with the longer sleeves, I felt like the length was a bit slutty. Given the general conservative look of the dress in the photos, I thought it would work for a party at my law firm (and it generally did), but I was conscious the whole night that anyone who thought I was wearing something a little too short for the office was probably right. Sorry no one took any pictures at this event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 27, 2013
An interesting dress.
The material is a heavy knit and has some give but it is short waisted. The service from rent the runway was excellent! I ordered 2 sizes and was notified that the size 10 had not been returned. They offered me any dress in their collection free of charge. Then they sent them to me overnight! Ironically, the size 10 would have been too small!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 8, 2013
Beautiful Color, Perfect Fit, and Feminine Details.
The color of this dress is absolutely gorgeous! There is a lace hem at the bottom of this dress, that I was not aware of (didn't notice it in the pictures online), but it is a nice feminine detail. Love the keyhole opening, made the dress less "stuffy-looking". The dress had just the right amount of stretch and the material isn't thin. This dress fit like a dream.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2013
Beautiful color, a tad bit snug
I rented this dress for one of my headshot looks for a shoot in San Francisco. The color was brilliant, but the fit wasn't particularly flattering for my larger bust. It was strange because it pulled on the top but was really loose in the arms and armpits. Looking at the model picture now, you can see that there's a kind of "wing" effect. Not very flattering for headshots. I included some outtakes for reference.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
March 28, 2013
Beautiful color and shape, and still classy enough for a very formal work event!
This dress is conservative enough for a special work event, but it also makes you really stand out because of the bright, eye-catching color and the fact that it's very well fitted. You can't fade into the background in this dress! The fabric is heavy, so I don't think it would be ideal for a warm climate/venue, but for a cocktail reception in New York in January, it was perfect. It is very well fitted, so I wouldn't wear it for a dinner and I definitely felt more comfortable wearing it with spanx. Bold accessories totally go with this dress too, so if you have a statement necklace or bracelet you want to really stand out, this is the dress to pair it with. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 3, 2013
I felt like I stood out wearing this daring/beautiful color & my fiance loved it!
The color choice was not what I would typically go for, but it's a gorgeous color! It hits all the right places and is comfortable. I love that it is lined, and not having to layer slips and worry they'll show is great. The lining is a little surprise, too. It's trimmed in lace - same color as the dress - so if and when it does show, it just looks like a bonus decoration.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 30, 2013
Blah. While this dress was an amazing color and the fabric was seemingly soft, the fit was horrible.
This dress is not for anyone who has an athletic figure or shape for that matter. It's uncomfortable around the neck (too tight) and the size discrepancy is bizarre: size 6 was way too tight and the size 8 was way too big in the hips and all over. It was a bummer because I got it for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding I was going to in Chicago (I live in SF), and because it didn't fit, but I was in the 4 day rental window, I had to lug it with me to Chicago just to find a UPS store to mail it back to. Hopefully RTR will credit me back, as they usually do!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2013
Dress for so many different occasions!
Although the fit is a bit slim through the hips, this was a lovely dress that I wore to a recent conference. The color is a really beautiful royal blue and is a great change of pace from a standard black dress or suit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 10, 2013
Beautiful color and perfect for winter
I wore this dress for my bridal shower in December in Michigan. It's pretty thick and will keep you warm with some tights but you will roast if you're in front of a fireplace. It's a bit baggy in the underarm area - not really an issue but just a strange look. The color is a very royal blue. The lining showed out the bottom but I suppose that can be different with each dress they rent out. Overall, a beautiful dress and I would certainly rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2013
This was a pretty sexy dress for a work event but it passed due to long sleeves and thick material.
This dress is a beautiful blue color. I wore it for work with a blazer but it might have been a bit short. It was pretty sexy and clingy. The material is thick though and I still think it works best for something you can be sexy conservative for. I liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 5, 2013
Cute and comfortable. Loved it.
A little shorter than I thought it would be but otherwise fit great. Very comfortable and a great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2013
Stretchy, form fitting date dress
The fabric on this dres leaves something to be desired. I found it to be cheap and thin. It was a nice shape, and beautiful color, but it wore like it was a club dress, not the classier look I was going for. The sleeves balance out the length, but it is too fitted with too thin a fabric to be worm for the event I rented it for (a play). Wouldn't rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 31, 2013
Wore to an Interview, Got the Job
This is a great conservative, stylish dress for a work function, or just if that's your style. The blue is deep, almost purple-ish in person and the fabris is expensive looking and feeling. I took off one star because the skirt rode up and I had to pull it down/keep an eye on it. I wore spanx underneath this dress, you may or may not need it, the fabric is pretty thick. I paired this with a jacket and belt for the interview and easily could have ditched the jacket afterward and gone for drinks! side note: I totally felt like Joan from Mad Men in this dress.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×