Trina Turk

Key To Success Dress

$30 rental
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

You can’t go wrong wearing this classic Trina Turk dress. With a tinge of modern ambiance, this style is great for all ages! Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Crystal Cambon Pearl Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cobalt ponte (69% rayon, 29% nylon, 2%spandex). Three quarter sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (100% Polyester). 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
191 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(124)
Small
(26)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
December 9, 2012
Elegant!

The dress was beautiful--color was perfect! The fit was slightly looser than expected, so I would recommend ordering a spare size lower as opposed to larger. Regardless, with the right belt and accessories I was able to pull it together for the night! This dress is versatile, comfortable and classy!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
January 30, 2016
Beautiful color.

I loved the color and wanted to love the dress. I ordered the 6 and the 8. The 6 fit perfectly everywhere except the hips so I wound up wearing the 8 which fit in the hips but was baggy in the arms, chest, and torso. Oh well. Can't win them all. I still love RTR and will be renting again soon.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2016
Felt too "professional" for a cocktail party

I didn't end up wearing this dress, but I might have for a different event. It is tight across the mid-section, so I might suggest sizing up. It was a pretty color, though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 21, 2016
Nice work dress

Nice, basic dress. I could have gone up a size, however. This runs a bit small

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 15, 2016
Halloween costume for Joan from Mad Men

This dress was perfect for my costume as the voluptuous Joan from Mad Men. Her character was a vivacious office manager for an ad agency in NY in the 60s. It was very much her style and highlighted my curves beautifully. I consider myself curvy, but my waist is small, and the dress wonderfully showed off my hour-glass figure. I am normally a 6 or 8, so I rented both sizes. I tried on the 6 and it fit, but was tight, and I knew I would be drinking the night I wore the dress, so I wanted something with more room. The 8 was only barely larger than the 6, which I thought was strange. I maybe would have enjoyed a size 10 to provide the comfort I was looking for, but it was a lovely dress and the 8 was satisfactory. I would definitely rent this dress again, but in a larger size if very tight isn't what you're looking for.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 13, 2012
Could not wear it... too short-waisted.

This dress looks fabulous on all the other reviewers so I thought it would be a sure bet, but I was not thrilled with the fit at all. It came up very short-waisted on me, the proportions were all off. I do have fairly broad shoulders so maybe that threw off the fit. Sadly returned the dress without wearing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 24, 2012
Mad Men Style

Wore this dress to a Mad Men party. It is a gorgeous color and the style recalls the 1960s.I paired with a gold broach, cat eye glases and a beehive. As for fit, I thought the dress ran small. I got a 6 and a 4, and wish I had gotten a 6 and 8. The length was long, but not too long, a nice change from having to spend the night always pulling down my dress. I probably could have benefitted from some spanxs (and I rarely say that!). The dress is fully lined with a material that has no give, so that really contributed to the tightness. A lot of reviewers who loved this dress had an hour glass shape. My shape is nothing like that -- more apple/straight and narrow, and this dress still flattered me... All in all, a great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 69
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 27, 2013
An interesting dress.

The material is a heavy knit and has some give but it is short waisted. The service from rent the runway was excellent! I ordered 2 sizes and was notified that the size 10 had not been returned. They offered me any dress in their collection free of charge. Then they sent them to me overnight! Ironically, the size 10 would have been too small!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2013
Beautiful color, a tad bit snug

I rented this dress for one of my headshot looks for a shoot in San Francisco. The color was brilliant, but the fit wasn't particularly flattering for my larger bust. It was strange because it pulled on the top but was really loose in the arms and armpits. Looking at the model picture now, you can see that there's a kind of "wing" effect. Not very flattering for headshots. I included some outtakes for reference.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 3, 2013
I felt like I stood out wearing this daring/beautiful color & my fiance loved it!

The color choice was not what I would typically go for, but it's a gorgeous color! It hits all the right places and is comfortable. I love that it is lined, and not having to layer slips and worry they'll show is great. The lining is a little surprise, too. It's trimmed in lace - same color as the dress - so if and when it does show, it just looks like a bonus decoration.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 30, 2013
Blah. While this dress was an amazing color and the fabric was seemingly soft, the fit was horrible.

This dress is not for anyone who has an athletic figure or shape for that matter. It's uncomfortable around the neck (too tight) and the size discrepancy is bizarre: size 6 was way too tight and the size 8 was way too big in the hips and all over. It was a bummer because I got it for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding I was going to in Chicago (I live in SF), and because it didn't fit, but I was in the 4 day rental window, I had to lug it with me to Chicago just to find a UPS store to mail it back to. Hopefully RTR will credit me back, as they usually do!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 6, 2013
Dress for so many different occasions!

Although the fit is a bit slim through the hips, this was a lovely dress that I wore to a recent conference. The color is a really beautiful royal blue and is a great change of pace from a standard black dress or suit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 15, 2014
They've been incredibly helpful so far!

This dress was just a teeny bit too tight for any kind of comfortable wear, I usually swing between an 8 or a 10 and even though this dress has a bit of stretch and it was a ten it was still just a bit too tight. I ended up not wearing it and returning it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2014
If You Have Arm Muscles Don't Bother

The dress is a beautiful color. But, neither the 4 (my regular size) nor the 6 (the backup size) fit me in the arms/across the shoulders. The body of the dress fit great in the 4, was a little big in the 6...but the arms/shoulder area, not so much. If I had shrugged or made any sudden upper body movement the dress probably would have torn; it certainly wouldn't have been suitable for wearing all evening. Quite a disappointment.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
October 13, 2014
Runs very small

I rented this dress for a conservative work event, and it was way too tight and short for me to wear without feeling self conscious. I am usually between a 6 and 8, but would have needed a 10 for the dress to be appropriate. Even had it not been for a work event, the 8 was unflattering and uncomfortable because of how tight it was.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2014
Gorgeous color, tons of compliments. Very modest dress.

Snug around the hips and arms. Had to go size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
March 25, 2016
Flattering but SIZE UP

Like most Tina Turk dresses, sizing up is the way to go. The cut gives you an hourglass figure and flatters curves. You don't show much skin but the keyhole neck keeps it different.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 14, 2015
Conservative

This dress would be appropriate for a luncheon. The two was a bit tough to zip up. The fabric does not give. It fits like a glove. The fabric is fairly thick and could for cooler months.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 11, 2015
Great dress but fits a bit weird

I rented this dress for a work event. The color is beautiful and the material is super comfortable. I usually wear a 6 but ended up wearing the 8 because the 6 was too short for the event (the slip showed a lot). The sleeves were also shorter on the 6 and I was looking for something with longer sleeves. The 8 had better length but was baggy on the top. Overall, it was a nice dress. Got a few compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
October 22, 2015
Perfect color!

I rented this for an appearance on a morning television show. The color was amazing. Perfect choice.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 4, 2013
Gorgeous color

I really liked this dress, but did not end up wearing it. The color is so beautiful, and the style is sexy and conservative at the same time. The sleeves are a little bit more wing like than I would have liked, and the overall effect of that coupled with the snug skirt made my shoulders look a bit wide. It was definitely an "almost" for me. Regarding sizing, I am usually a 6 or 8 but could not even zip up the 6. The 8 was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 69
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2014
Just what I needed Just what I needed

I am so glad RTR offeres 2 sizes. The 10 was too snug in the hips so I wore the 12. It was a little loose in the bust but not too bad. I wore it to an all day conference and I can see the difference in a high quality garment. The fit was great, did not ride up when I sat dowun, I notice I did not tug or pull on the dress. Wore black tights, black high heeled boots, antique coin earrings and an antique gold bangle bracelet. Been through a rough couple of months and needed a shot of something extra. RTR is the way to go. Thank you for the customer reviews. Only problem was the hidden zipper in back, hard for a women who lives alone, no one to ask for help did manage to zip it up. Lovley color

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 69
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2014
Exactly what I needed

This is not an exciting dress, but it's lovely nonetheless. The color is gorgeous. The fabric is soft to the touch and cozy for fall weather. As others have said, the lace slip that peeks out from under the skirt when you sit is a charming effect. My normal size fit very comfortably through the bust, midsection (important when you're going to Thanksgiving dinner!), and hips. The only negative about this dress - and the main reason I wore the larger size - is the structure of the sleeves. I think it's called a Dolman sleeve, but in any event, the way it's cut meant that I could not comfortably raise my arms in my normal size. For me, an additional factor was that the length was better with the larger size. Others might not mind.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2017
Classy!

This dress was classy and very pretty to wear. I wore it to a Rehearsal Dinner and it was very comfortable.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 27, 2017
This dress was very easy to wear and feel very stylish.

It fit very well, but I am glad I sized up. I ended up wearing the larger size that I ordered as my back up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
March 20, 2018
Disappointed

Dress runs small. Top was very tight want runs shorter than i would have liked for a work environment. Color did not pop. I will be returning this one without wearing

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 12, 2018
Didn't end up wearing, but a pretty dress

Pretty color, work appropriate, just a little too tight. Rented a 4. May try to rent again in the next size up.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 28
December 11, 2015
Fit perfectly, looked awesome

tight where it was supposed to be, really made my curves look great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 11, 2015
Beautiful go to!

The dress is very well made and flattering! I see this dress as being a great go to for work or special event. I wish I owned it because it's very versatile.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2016
Just enough sexy for work.

Comfortable, thick fabric. Great fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 11, 2016
Loved this dress, looked even better in person.

The dress has a lace detail on the bottom which added a little touch of sass. The fit was perfect for a size 0, sometimes they can be a bit big on me. Great for petites.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
July 7, 2016
Nice conservative purple dress.

I got an 8 but it was a little big. Could have worn the 6 easily. Am 5'6", 140 lbs . It's a nice medium weight fabric.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 1, 2016
Cute dress

fits great

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 8, 2016
Cute and Professional

I wore this to a conference for work. I'd consider it on the sexier end of what's acceptable for professional attire, but it still worked for a professional event. This dress fit true to size, maybe running just slightly on the smaller side. You can't see it in the model's photos, but there is a lace underlay that pops out of the bottom of the dress (some of the user photos show it). I didn't realize that was part of the dress, but it actually made me like it even better.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2016
I wore this for an appearance on Lifetime TVs The Balancing Act morning show!

The host of the show complimented the color and it was really great on camera. It's a perfect purple.blue jewel tone. I'm long-waisted and the seam across the midsection hit me perfectly.Very comfortable and easy to move in.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 5, 2017
Svelte & Sexy!!

Classic! The color is stunning. The material was heavy enough that everything looked smooth. I don't wear Spanx but if you do I don't think you will need it with this dress. I wore it to an evening business function and received a lot of compliments on it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2017
Loved this dress, so comfy!

Super comfortable dress. The material was stretchy and a great color, it was perfect for the banquet.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2012
Ease of process. Convenience.

The dress is lovely.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 17, 2012
Absolutely perfect for an hourglass shape!

I wore this beautiful dress to a fall wedding by the beach. The color was stunning, and the cut was very flattering. The material is a bit thicker, so I would advise wearing this for light fall weather...additionally, the bottom lining of this dress is a beautiful blue lace (it adds a touch of secret femininity that had me smiling all night). I received many compliments--even from the bride! Loved it :).

KatieOctober 17, 2012
This dress is made for you! You look perfect.
RachelOctober 17, 2012
Thanks so much Katie!! :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2012
Sophisticated but Still Fun

I wore this dress to my daughters bridal shower and got lots of compliments. I think its perfect for a daytime or work relatated event. The fabric is substantial and forgiving. Great upper arm coverage. I would rent this one again.

TanyaOctober 21, 2012
You are not 50... that has to be a big sister/little sister...WOW!
AbbieOctober 21, 2012
Ditto!! Fabulous and fifty. Your daughter is also adorable. have a wonderful wedding.
RTR CustomerOctober 21, 2012
This dress looks amazing on you.
KeriOctober 21, 2012
Just about fell out of my chair when you said your daughter's bridal shower. I really thought you were sisters! And she is beautiful too!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×