Trina Turk

Key To Success Dress

$30 rental
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

You can’t go wrong wearing this classic Trina Turk dress. With a tinge of modern ambiance, this style is great for all ages! Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Crystal Cambon Pearl Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cobalt ponte (69% rayon, 29% nylon, 2%spandex). Three quarter sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (100% Polyester). 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
179 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(120)
Small
(22)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
December 28, 2012
This dress was very elegant and understated.
Beautiful color - a little too small for me to wear a 2 but to my surprise the size 4 was not too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Great cut and color on this dress
This dress was perfect for my company holiday party. It was tasteful and looked great with simple accessories - I just wore earrings and a watch. The color is stunning and really stands out in a crowd.
KeshaJune 19, 2014
looking good mama3
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2013
Fit perfectly and was sophisticated and professional.
I recommend this dress for work events. Super polished!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2013
Flattering and professional!
This dress hits all the right places without being too risque. I've rented it 3 times: (1) wedding; (2) chartiable event; and (3) networking happy hour -- all while being able to wear it to work during the day. I rented it with the jewelry, and received a ton of compliments. I fluctuate between a 0-2, and the 0 fit that day. Really does some nice thigs for the derriere. I'll pay the highest compliment: I would buy it if I could find it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 19, 2013
Very flattering, but classy.
Someone paid me the compliment that my dress looks like something Michelle Obama would wear (I wore the dress out to an inaugural cocktail party). I jazzed it up with some of my own jewelry - a sparkly bracelet and chandelier earrings. I wore flats - but pumps would definitely complete the look too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2013
Perfect lady
This dress was awesome and fit like a glove. Love the purple-blue rich color, and the fabric/lining are high-quality. Recommend pairing it with a fun belt, so you have more of a defined waistline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 11, 2013
This is a beautiful color and I love the keyhole neckline. Runs large.
I didn't end up wearing this because it was too big. The waist isn't as fitted as it looked and while the shoulders and sleeves fit very well, the rest was roomy. But it also ended up being too short and the slit in the back too high. Love the look, just didn't fit my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 12, 2013
this was my second choice dress. didn't end up wearing it but will rent it again!
did not end up wearing this to the event but loved the color and will be renting this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 14, 2013
Striking dress for any business occasion
A beautiful blue color with a cut that gives you a great figure. It's totally work appropriate but believe me, it's HOT! Everyone notices how great you look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 25, 2013
Classic and sophisticated
This dress made me feel appropriate, sophisticated and sexy at the same time. The shape of the dress creates a bit of Kardashian-esque shape. Accent on hip and bust - not a bad thing at all! My husband even commented positively and he typically doesn't take note.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 26, 2013
Awesome dress. The key hole is tasteful and the dress give you a clean classy look.
This was a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 26, 2013
Worked just fine, but I didn't love it.
No seam on the shoulders was a nice touch for me since I have somewhat broader shoulders. At 5'9, though, even with the longer sleeves, I felt like the length was a bit slutty. Given the general conservative look of the dress in the photos, I thought it would work for a party at my law firm (and it generally did), but I was conscious the whole night that anyone who thought I was wearing something a little too short for the office was probably right. Sorry no one took any pictures at this event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 27, 2013
An interesting dress.
The material is a heavy knit and has some give but it is short waisted. The service from rent the runway was excellent! I ordered 2 sizes and was notified that the size 10 had not been returned. They offered me any dress in their collection free of charge. Then they sent them to me overnight! Ironically, the size 10 would have been too small!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 8, 2013
Beautiful Color, Perfect Fit, and Feminine Details.
The color of this dress is absolutely gorgeous! There is a lace hem at the bottom of this dress, that I was not aware of (didn't notice it in the pictures online), but it is a nice feminine detail. Love the keyhole opening, made the dress less "stuffy-looking". The dress had just the right amount of stretch and the material isn't thin. This dress fit like a dream.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2013
Beautiful color, a tad bit snug
I rented this dress for one of my headshot looks for a shoot in San Francisco. The color was brilliant, but the fit wasn't particularly flattering for my larger bust. It was strange because it pulled on the top but was really loose in the arms and armpits. Looking at the model picture now, you can see that there's a kind of "wing" effect. Not very flattering for headshots. I included some outtakes for reference.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
March 28, 2013
Beautiful color and shape, and still classy enough for a very formal work event!
This dress is conservative enough for a special work event, but it also makes you really stand out because of the bright, eye-catching color and the fact that it's very well fitted. You can't fade into the background in this dress! The fabric is heavy, so I don't think it would be ideal for a warm climate/venue, but for a cocktail reception in New York in January, it was perfect. It is very well fitted, so I wouldn't wear it for a dinner and I definitely felt more comfortable wearing it with spanx. Bold accessories totally go with this dress too, so if you have a statement necklace or bracelet you want to really stand out, this is the dress to pair it with. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 3, 2013
I felt like I stood out wearing this daring/beautiful color & my fiance loved it!
The color choice was not what I would typically go for, but it's a gorgeous color! It hits all the right places and is comfortable. I love that it is lined, and not having to layer slips and worry they'll show is great. The lining is a little surprise, too. It's trimmed in lace - same color as the dress - so if and when it does show, it just looks like a bonus decoration.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 30, 2013
Blah. While this dress was an amazing color and the fabric was seemingly soft, the fit was horrible.
This dress is not for anyone who has an athletic figure or shape for that matter. It's uncomfortable around the neck (too tight) and the size discrepancy is bizarre: size 6 was way too tight and the size 8 was way too big in the hips and all over. It was a bummer because I got it for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding I was going to in Chicago (I live in SF), and because it didn't fit, but I was in the 4 day rental window, I had to lug it with me to Chicago just to find a UPS store to mail it back to. Hopefully RTR will credit me back, as they usually do!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2013
Dress for so many different occasions!
Although the fit is a bit slim through the hips, this was a lovely dress that I wore to a recent conference. The color is a really beautiful royal blue and is a great change of pace from a standard black dress or suit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 10, 2013
Beautiful color and perfect for winter
I wore this dress for my bridal shower in December in Michigan. It's pretty thick and will keep you warm with some tights but you will roast if you're in front of a fireplace. It's a bit baggy in the underarm area - not really an issue but just a strange look. The color is a very royal blue. The lining showed out the bottom but I suppose that can be different with each dress they rent out. Overall, a beautiful dress and I would certainly rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2013
This was a pretty sexy dress for a work event but it passed due to long sleeves and thick material.
This dress is a beautiful blue color. I wore it for work with a blazer but it might have been a bit short. It was pretty sexy and clingy. The material is thick though and I still think it works best for something you can be sexy conservative for. I liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 5, 2013
Cute and comfortable. Loved it.
A little shorter than I thought it would be but otherwise fit great. Very comfortable and a great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2013
Stretchy, form fitting date dress
The fabric on this dres leaves something to be desired. I found it to be cheap and thin. It was a nice shape, and beautiful color, but it wore like it was a club dress, not the classier look I was going for. The sleeves balance out the length, but it is too fitted with too thin a fabric to be worm for the event I rented it for (a play). Wouldn't rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 31, 2013
Wore to an Interview, Got the Job
This is a great conservative, stylish dress for a work function, or just if that's your style. The blue is deep, almost purple-ish in person and the fabris is expensive looking and feeling. I took off one star because the skirt rode up and I had to pull it down/keep an eye on it. I wore spanx underneath this dress, you may or may not need it, the fabric is pretty thick. I paired this with a jacket and belt for the interview and easily could have ditched the jacket afterward and gone for drinks! side note: I totally felt like Joan from Mad Men in this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 19, 2013
This dress is wonderful for professional events. Super comfortable!
I wore this dress to church and brunch with my significant and his parents. The dress gave plenty of wiggle room and the fabric was a really nice grade. The dress fit true to size. The sleeves were tight but, somewhat loose in the armpit area. Overall I loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
September 21, 2013
Royally perfect!
You can never go wrong with Trina! Rented this dress for an event celebrating London and I wanted a royal/Middleton look. I was nervous with many of the reviews saying this dress was tight. I wore my normal size and it fit perfectly. The material is great and so comfortable. It was really a perfect dress for a work event. So classic but fun with the drop in the front chest area. The color was super vibrant purple/blue, it was gorgeous.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2014
Classy, Sexy, Sophisticated in a show-stopping color!
RENT THIS!!! Everything about this dress is perfect! Wore it to a Day-time work function of my husband's and felt wonderful in it! Fits great. Order your free second size in a size down. Pair with large, stud earrings and bracelet. Enjoy! I just rented this again for a conservative, rehearsal dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 15, 2014
They've been incredibly helpful so far!
This dress was just a teeny bit too tight for any kind of comfortable wear, I usually swing between an 8 or a 10 and even though this dress has a bit of stretch and it was a ten it was still just a bit too tight. I ended up not wearing it and returning it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2014
LIked this.
I ordered this for my grandfather's funeral. I was looking for something really conservative and appropriate, without having to go to the store. It was nice, and a couple of people complimented me on the dress. It was a nice dress and fit well in my normal size. I wore it with black tights and black booties, + some pretty earrings.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
February 2, 2014
Beautiful color; great for winter
I ordered this dress for a dinner party. Despite it being conservative, I thought it was a sexy dress and very figure flattering. The only reason I did not wear it was that I found it to be a little too warm for an outdoor event in Texas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress. So many compliments after posting our picture online. Would definitely rent again.
It's not the original dress I chose for a dinner on Valentines day. There was a problem with the return of the original dress and RTR was very concerned that it wouldn't be available for my delivery date. The helped me choose another dress (2 actually). At first I was disappointed but when the dress arrived I was thrilled at the fit and look of it. I ended up wearing it and was so happy, I thought it looked better than the original. I have an hour glass shape with some extra junk in the trunk and the fit was true to size. I'm usually a 10, and the stretch was nice. I had to pull it down a few times but not a problem. I paired it with the Kate Spade Ornate Onyx Cuff, matched perfectly. I really hate to return this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 21, 2014
Good to dress up or down
I originally planned to wear this to work, but ended up wearing this for V-day with the bf and wine tasting the day afterward. Easy to dress up with heels and Badgley Mischka Falling Leaf Earrings, and to dress down with tights and boots. Fit well and provided stretch for my wide hips (usually a size 2 up top and 4 down below). The keyhole was pressed a little funky so that the lining showed a little bit but it was barely noticeable. Fit well in length as well, about above the knee to ~2in above.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2014
If You Have Arm Muscles Don't Bother
The dress is a beautiful color. But, neither the 4 (my regular size) nor the 6 (the backup size) fit me in the arms/across the shoulders. The body of the dress fit great in the 4, was a little big in the 6...but the arms/shoulder area, not so much. If I had shrugged or made any sudden upper body movement the dress probably would have torn; it certainly wouldn't have been suitable for wearing all evening. Quite a disappointment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 7, 2014
Great color for day time events
Fits really nice, a tad on the conservative side - very good pick for a formal affair. The color is beautiful.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 14, 2014
Wore this to a gala for my organization.
This dress fit like a glove and it very flattering, but was still conservative enough for a fancy work event. The pictures don't do the color justice. Perfect for women who are tiny, but still curvy in the hips/butt. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 20, 2014
love this mad men style dress
super classy and comfortable. worn for rehearsal dinner. i wore the smaller size- it's cut large in the chest and arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 10, 2014
Wore this for a political fund raiser. Both sophisticated / professional and super comfortable!
The fabric is thick but very soft. Not too long but definitely not too short to wear to a business-y event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 16, 2014
Classy and professional- felt great on a special day.
Really nice dress for a day award ceremony. Both sizes I ordered fit but chose the larger for length, closer to knee length. The color was pretty. There is an attached slip under, it caused the cotton part of the dress to ride up with movement. Had to keep pulling the dress down over the course of the day. A little weird to sit in, pulled on the neck part. Still enjoyed the dress, felt great in it, lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 25, 2014
Was perfect for the MPA Art Gala event I attended!
The color of the dress is absolutely gorgeous! It looks purple in the pictures, but is more blue in person. I'd describe the color as a light indigo. Also, there's the same color lace along the bottom of the lining of the dress, which is a nice touch when you sit down. The dress fit ALMOST perfectly. It's a very sturdy material, which was perfect for the rainy day, and kept me warm. The dress was form-fitted, but not tight, which was also a major plus. It was just a little too big on the top/armpit area. Would look great on someone a little bustier than myself. Overall I was extremely satisfied with this rental :) I also rented the Kendra Scott Abalone Deily Earrings to go along with the dress (shown in picture).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
May 18, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding I had out of town. I had it delivered to the hotel I was staying- it was great! The dress is form fitting which isn't something I usually wear but I love the color and my husband loved the way it showed off my curves! I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone. Great for the wedding I attended!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×