Tibi

Navy Zepplin Shift

$85 to buy
$363 retail
Stylist Notes

Rock this navy sequin Tibi shift for that night out on the town with your girlfriends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for your back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size- comfortable room at bust, yet cut-out back does not allow for a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - shift style is not fitted at the waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to the exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy sequin jersey(92% polyester; 8% elastane; lining: 100% polyester). Boat neckline. Long sleeves. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
675 reviews
Fit
Large
(196)
True to Size
(396)
Small
(33)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 31, 2012
Rented it for a work holiday party... So many compliments:)
For a sheath it hugged all the right areas .. Very flattering and loved the fit. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
It ran a bit large, which I actually appreciate. There is more room for bulges(ha). Not skin tight!
I like the knee length too, it wasn't too short and looked classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
January 2, 2013
sexy but sophisticated!
My boyfriend told me i looked amazing in this dress all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
A Holiday Party Hit
I chose this dress for my company's annual holiday party, and I have never received so many complements on a dress before! Definitely go down a size if you're in between sizes. The dress is pretty boxy, but still very flattering. I paired the dress with nude stacked heels, an emerald clutch and emerald/diamond jewelry to add to the holiday feel. I totally know why this is one of the more popular choices on RTR. The dress was very well made, and it was in great condition - the dress did not appear to be missing any sequins and because the sleeves were lined it was not itchy at all. Just one head's up - the dress is quite short, so if you're taller you may want to keep that in mind, especially for a more conservative or work-related function. It hit mid-thigh on me, and I'm 5'4". This was my second experience and RTR and it certainly won't be the last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2013
Lovely dress ... just not on me
I wanted to love this dress, as the features (sequins, open back) were exactly what I wanted. Perhaps I should have gone up to a Large, but the sleeves were very short and tight, and the midsection was bunchy and odd-fitting. I would have worn this dress anyway if I had not also ordered another party dress which was more flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 4, 2013
cant be curvy or busty...stick thin, no butt, no boobs.
I fell in love w/this dress in the pic but when I got it on, I wanted to cry. The med was perfect in body but sleeves were way to tight and Large was way to big like a potato sack. The slit in back was very open...not attractive on 5'5. This ones for a super tall, super stick thin person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2013
Perfect for NYE!
I rented this dress for a formal wedding on New Years Eve in downtown Detroit. I LOVED it! I received so many compliments from other attendees. People I didn't even know went out of their way to tell me how much they loved the dress. I ordered the medium and the small for my back up size. I did end up wearing the small, even though the sleeves were a bit short. I decided I would roll them up so they didn't look quite so funny. The material is not stretchy at all, so it was a big tight around the arms, but otherwise it fit well. The length was perfect, made it fun and flirty. The back is just gorgeous but I did have a little trouble with the bra situation. My only other complaint was that I wore sheer black back seam tights, and the sequins on the dress really tore it up around my thigh area. Otherwise, this may be my favorite rent from RTR thus far!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2013
Great dress, perfect for New Years Eve!
Great fit, ran a little short for someone who is tall but other then that it was perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2013
Elegant Backless Dress, Stunning
This dress is stunning! Just not for me. I have a small waist and larger hips and thighs so this dress clung to the larger areas and didn't flatter my body figure. I would recommend this dress for people who have narrower hips than I. The fabric was great and sequins were fantastic. Wish I could've warn it, maybe someday!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2013
I wore this for New Years and got tons of compliments from other girls when I was out!
The other reviews are right it runs large, I'm usually a 4 and I got XS/S and the XS fit. The back is amazing it kind of hangs so it gives such a nice effect. The sleeves come to the middle of your forearm and the dress doesn't ride up and is not like a bodycon so you don't have to wear any special undergarments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
January 8, 2013
I received compliments all night!
The sleeves were definitely snug, but not too tight. It is an extremely comfortable dress for being a sequin dress. It hit at the perfect length, but do not expect this to be a tight dress. It is very loose around the chest, but it is still flattering. I received a ton of compliments that night about my dress! The color was elegant and perfect for our NYE party. I would definitely rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2013
I totally stood out in this bright/navy blue sequin dress! Everyone loved it! Would def rent again!
I ordered a medium and a small because I can be quite body conscious.. I thought I would stick with the medium however showing my co-workers they convinced me I looked way better in the small! Was not too short since I'm only 5'2. The Nu-Bra recommended was a life saver! The slit was super cute and let in some nice cold air that was much appreciated after dancing the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
January 9, 2013
Probably not for my body type, but I still loved it!
This dress definitely ran bigger in the midsection so I had to size down to the XS. However, then the dress was a little tight/short on my arms. That being said, it is still a great dress and it rocked my Christmas Eve! I'm 5'8 so my arms might be longer than most. If you a bit shorter, it would be perfect!! I wore it with tights, but it looks really great without (not too short!).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2013
All the compliments
Tons of comments here on this dress so I'll make it short and sweet: hits above knee but the long sleeves keep it tasteful, yes they were a tiny bit snug but TIBI clearly intended it that way so your arms look tailored and sleek not frumpy. The open back only *feels* enormous, it's tastefully done but SEXY! Backless bra is a must, loved NuBra from JCPenney. I am 5'4, 118lbs and XS was perfect! Small certainly fit but looked like a sack. I adored my Franco Sarto camel suede heels way better than black heels. Highly recommended!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
January 11, 2013
So easy to use!
i rented this dress for my rehearsal dinner. I wanted to wear something special, and I knew i didnt want to buy something because I would only wear the special dress once. The dress was delivered in two sizes, I picked the one that fit best, and wowed at my rehearsal. The next day I packed it up in the prepaid shipping envelope, dropped it off, and was done. It was so easy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 13, 2013
Perfect party dress
This was my first RTR experience - I got this dress for my 29th birthday celebration and I loved it. XS fit pretty good- not itchy at all. Sleeves are a little tight but fit fine. The dress was a little hot but I still danced the night away with no problem. I would definitely recommend. The back is gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2013
Great dress! Lots of compliments.
I ordered the small and extra small and went with the extra small- the small was a little baggy in the waist area. I ended up using some double sided tape on the back opening as it was a little saggy in some parts.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2013
Great dress for a winter wedding!
I was so excited about this dress! I ordered a medium and a large because I knew I was going to wear heels and I was worried about it being too short. The medium was the better fit due to the large slit in the back that was too lose on the large. This dress was comfortable and great for a winter wedding. I wore it with nude shoes and green emerald earrings and really loved the look and feel of the dress. Sadly I didn't take any pictures
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 18, 2013
Runs large, not for a petite woman.
I rented this dress to wear for a winter wedding. It was very pretty and comfortable considering its a sequin dress. But it was enormous..it looked like I was swimming in it.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
Pretty Dress in pic
Didn't work for the event I went to. Definitely prettier on the model or tall girls. Being 5'1 it was too long. Came down to my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 23, 2013
OBSESSED WITH THIS DRESS
I didn't want to return it! I wore it to a winter semi formal and it was perfect for the occasion! It was not itchy and I felt like it was the perfect length. I am still trying to find a place to buy this dress!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 24, 2013
This dress was very classy and was perfect for the Gala I attended.
It fit true to size, was very comfortable, and matched perfectly with the recommended Kate Spade clutch!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2013
Perfect!
This dress was so comfortable! I am 5'8" and it was the perfect length, showed just enough leg without me feeling I was going to flash everyone if I made the wrong move. I rented both the S and M after reading some other reviews that it tends to run small; I felt it ran pretty true to size, the S fit well, but the M was perfect. It has a nice heavy liner, so there was no rubbing from the sequins, and it kept me nice and warm at our NYC event during the coldest week this winter. I wore an adhesive NuBra because of the opening in the back, I felt completely comfortable all night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 115
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 27, 2013
Very pretty, slight bit itchy.
Fit well.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2013
Tons of compliments
Loved the dress- I ordered a small and an extra small because i usually wear a size 2 or 4 in dresses. I definitely could have worn either the small or extra small. It depends how you want it to fit. I prefer my dresses tighter so I chose the XS. The arms were a little tighter than I would have liked but the length and overall fit was much more flattering. Overall great, comfortable dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 28, 2013
The color was so pretty and photographed really well!
The bodice runs large but sleeves run true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 28, 2013
The dress was a knockout!
This dress was perfect for the gala event I attended - not too over the top, but just enough interest to stand out. I ordered the S and M - and was surprised that even the S felt a bit baggy. It was a bit loose through my waist, and although I realize the shift-style of the dress - I think maybe the size of my bust held the dress out further, accentuating the lack of shape in the middle. Maybe not the best pick for my frame, but so pretty, and was great for an event where you're eating - very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
January 30, 2013
Not for me!!!
Maybe it was my shape! My hips refused to fit nicely in this dress. The open back bunched up terribly, just not flattering for me, but would probably look great on a very slender girl.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2013
COMFY! The sparkles weren't over the top, and the hole in the back showed just enough.
Expect to wear sticky boobs or petals if you want to be comfortable and want your back to show. It's a very slenderizing dress, spans fit under perfectly!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
February 4, 2013
The most flattering dress I've ever worn!
I originally tried this dress on last June at Rent the Runway's NYC showroom. I loved how flattering it was to my pear shape- forgiving in the hips and lower belly while drawing attention to the upper body and legs. Little did I know that by the time I'd wear it, I'd be 9 weeks pregnant and rocking some serious belly bloat. Despite the changes to my figure, this dress was still a knockout! Not only did I have plenty of room in the belly and hips, but the thicker sparkly material made the skin under my dress look smooth without Spanx. The keyhole back was sexy yet narrow/loose enough that it hid the back fat that also crept on with pregnancy. My only complaint was that since I'm short-waisted, the keyhole back didn't lay quite right, but I'm used to that unless dresses are available in petites. Going with this shift style is the best that a short-waisted pear shape can do! Overall, I can't praise this dress enough- a miracle worker and so much fun to wear! I got so many compliments and felt fabulous- a real accomplishment in the first trimester of pregnancy. I only wish RTR would start offering maternity wear; I've got a few more weddings coming up soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148lbs
February 6, 2013
This dress makes you feel glamourous and it makes you stand out.
This was a perfect Vegas dress. The color was nice and the opening in the back was the extra touch to make this dress gorgeous. You should consider getting a back up size just in case. The large was baggy on me and I preferred the look of the medium.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
February 6, 2013
Sparkly
I ordered an XS and S and ended up wearing the XS. It was a beautiful dress, and I loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2013
Stunning!
This dress was absolutely wonderful! I loved everything about it. I ended up wearing the medium as the small was about 3-4 inches shorter than the medium. I was going to an event where there was a lot of dancing, and decided the medium would be a safer bet. I also wore a NuBra with the dress which was suggested by others and it worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
February 10, 2013
I did not wear this dress. This design was not a good match at all.
The dress was a disappointment. The dress was beautiful in color and sparkle but the fit was made for a box, not for a person with an athletic shape or even curves.. A person needs to be long legged and thin to pull this dress off. I am thankful I ordered two dress designs. I did not wear it even though it was my first choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 13, 2013
Perfect dress!
Winter wedding in PIT. Dress fit great, looked great. Would definitely recommend. Received TONS of complements on it. Paired great with black opaque tights for a more dramatic effect. I tried XS and S. Small appeared baggy, and just not the right look. If you're unsure on size, I would definitely ask for a smaller size for your backup. I would have thought I would wear a S, but the XS was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 17, 2013
Great dress. Lots of compliments.
The slit in the back makes the front a little loose so if you're deciding between two sizes, go with the smaller one. I am typically a size 6 and the M was a little large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 19, 2013
fun open back -- but definitely fit for a tall person!
I rented this dress as a backup for another rental for my engagement party/engagement shoot. I ended up not wearing this one. The sequins are actually really small and not as glitzy as you would think. I wasn't a big fan -- it kind of looked cheap, but maybe that is me being overly picky. The fit of the XS was really great, except for the back, which I wouldn't have minded THAT much (I just liked my other rental much better). Everything else fit nicely with the hips (I have a bigger butt than most ladies my height and this fit snug but great). The way the open back looks in the pictures with the model, the back is just open with a little big of sag to the sides at the bottom. However, when I wore it, the sag was pretty severe and looked really droopy at the bottom, not very elegant. You could fix this, I guess, by fashion taping the top of the dress higher onto the back of your neck, if that makes sense. Not sure that would stay though. I think basically you need to have tall shoulder for it to look the way it does in the model photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
February 19, 2013
Very glamorous & classy!
I was originally supposed to rent another dress for this wedding but it did not get returned in time from a previous renter. This was my back up and I wasnt sure if it would be too sparkly and New Yearsish for a wedding. but I decided to go with it. It fit great and I got a lot of compliments on it. I am petite and it still fit at a sexy short length. The sleeves are pretty snug but that is how the dress is designed... they are not uncomfortably tight. I did not find the dress "itchy" as some others described because there is a soft lining on the inside the protected against the sequin layer. It was a beautiful navy color which you can see better in the outside picture. Although it was my back up, I loved it and had a great time dancing in it all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2013
So many compliments!
AMAZING. That is the word to describe this dress & the compliments that come with it. You look GREAT while you are comfortable at the same time. This dress stays TRUE too say, and is the perfect length for a formal length. It is not too long or too short, so you look very fashionable and classy at the same time. The slit in the back makes this dress go from AVERAGE To ABOVE AVERAGE. No ONE will have a dress just like this, which makes YOU stand out ! Enjoy :*
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2013
All eyes were on me!!!
I wore it for my 18th birthday party and the blue was such a pretty color and the fit was gorgeous, I liked how loose it was around the waist. You'll definitely need a no-show bra. It's so sparkly and photographs really well. Everyone wanted to know where I got the dress from. RTR never fails to make me happy!!!!
See more reviews:
6 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×