High Tea Dress

$75 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This prim and proper Tibi dress gives the classic sheath an update with modern stripes and a trompe d'oeil lace print. To make this look extra feminine, pair with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed pale lilac and black striped silk twill with trompe l'oeil lace pattern. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. V back. Gathered waist detail. Hidden back zip. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
361 reviews
Fit
Large45
True to Size298
Small18
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 27, 2012
The best RTR dress so far
Elegant, feminine, fit perfectly.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
The dress was gorgeous -- got so many compliments!
The fit was true to size -- a perfect fit! Looked beautiful :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
September 26, 2012
I LOVED this dress! Cute and fun with a little added drama of the printed lace detail.
Super cute. I wore this to a Fall wedding and had a ton of great comments from fellow guests. The fit was true to size. I loved the boat neckline and capped sleeves. For a women with large breasts this dress fit them perfectly and kept them held up all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 26, 2012
INCREDIBLE DRESS
I rented this dress as my back up but ended up wearing it. I got so many compliments and is a really great dress for an hour glass figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2012
I wore this dress for my sister's rehersael dinner- such a great fit and very classic!
This dress fit me perfectly, however could run a bit big if you are smaller chested. The length was classic and hit right above my knee. I would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
I loved this dress! Perfect for the rehearsal dinner of a wedding.
I usually wear a 4 or 6 in RTR dresses. I thought this dress worked better as a 4. It was the perfect length on me (not too long & not too short). I also loved that the material was a bit thicker so you could tell it was a really well-made, designer dress. I received a ton of compliments. This is one of my fav RTR rentals!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 23, 2012
cute dress, much too boxy top.
I tried this dress from RTR but I found the sleeves and the top to be much too square and boxy and very unflattering. I ended up wearing a different rented dress to the party. The print is cute though!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
classy but stands out!
I loved this dress. I wore it for a brunch and was very appropriately and classily dressed but it's not frumpy at all. So fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2012
Customer service was excellent!
Fits true to size, very high quality fabric. Color is a pretty pale lavender, not beige or nude as pictured. Very classic look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
The dress is lovely. It was my first RTR purchase.
It's very cute! The cap sleeves don't allow you to lift your arms. I loved the color and style. I rented the dress for my rehersal dinner. When it was time to return the dress, I realized housekeeping at the hotel had thrown my return package away. RTR worked with me to return the dress and didn't charge me the extra day. I will definitely be renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Cute
This dress is cute and was appropriate for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding that I was in. The fabric is gorgeous - much nicer than it looks in the photos. This dress was a little snug on top (although I'm sure fine for a normal to smaller bust), and I could barely move my arms (there is no give at all in the sleeves) - which is the only reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Overall great dress for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 19, 2012
This dress was great i ended up wearing it to the rehearsal dinner AND the wedding! Super comfy!
Fit is true to size. I am normally a 4-6 and wore the 6. I also rented the pearl necklace which was a great touch!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Love it so much I'm renting it again!
Loved the dress ... loved it so much that I'm renting for another wedding. The dress runs true to size and is very flattering. I got so many compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 18, 2012
loved this dress with the pearls
Runs true to size, cinches at the waist, fabric does not have much give
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2012
*
So cute! A bit short. You can't really lift your arms bc of the sleeves, but no matter. SO CUTE.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 18, 2012
I was so glad this dress was more lavender tinted than white. I wore it to a wedding and loved it!
Fit beautifully especially for those whose arms aren't especially toned. The boxy cut allowed me to move as I pleased and eat and drink the night away. Wish I could wear this dress again but I'm a one-time-impression kind of girl ;)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
Everyone loved it
Beautiful dress!!! Hits right at waist. Only probably is cap sleeves don't allow much arm movement
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
September 17, 2012
Beautiful, unique dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was perfect. It was such a gorgeous dress- I even got complemented by the bride! It was a bit shorter than a dress that I would normally wear to a wedding, but I wasn't uncomfortable. I ordered a size 0 and got the 2 as a backup- and I'm glad I did! The 2 fit perfectly. I wish I owned this dress, but it was fun to wear just one night! The service from RTR was great.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
September 14, 2012
It was fun and different
The dress was for my daughter who usually wears a size 0 or 2...we didnt need to size up and took a chance on the 0 since the 2 was not available. The dress was beautiful and perfect for a midweek night out in the city. It was just enough to look different but not so over the top. My daughter did not like the loose waist (but the stylist said that was the way it was supposed to fit) so she added a satin sash she ripped off one of her old dresses and it looked perfect (thanks for adding the fashion tape!)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
September 12, 2012
Love it!
I loved this dress, SO CUTE and flattering. I am 5'4 117 lbs, pretty small on top and the 0 fit me perfectly! Highly recommend
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2012
Wish I could have kept this dress forever!!!
Fit perfectly (true to size). Color is almost a lavendar. So stylish - so many compliments. Wore for one of my best friend's rehearsal dinner & was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Pretty&girly dress for my bday
I rented this dress for my birthday and it was great! It was pretty dressy, definitely better for a nighttime event. My boyfriend still talks about how much he loved this dress and its been over a year since I rented it- that should speak for itself :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2012
Having the most amazing dress to wear at a price I could actually afford!
I rented this for my bridal "cocktail party" (an untraditional shower) and it was amazing. It fit like a glove (Tibi dresses run a tad big so I wear a 4 in their dresses) and I received tons of compliments. The one issue I did have was the cap sleeves were restrictive so I couldn't lift my arms to even 90 degrees without giving everyone a show. It was very short, but I'm comfortable with short skirts, but I did notice that the size 6 had some extra length on top of the size 4 so as you go up in size the dress gets longer. All in all, I loved the dress and I can't wait to order another Tibi dress again very soon!
AlexApril 1, 2013
thanks for all of the details. renting for a wedding and I am tall as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 10, 2012
Great Dress! Perfect fit.
Perfect dress. Received lots of complements.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
September 9, 2012
my first dress rental, A+
This was my first dress rental ever and I'm now a fan of this site. I rented this for a wedding. The fit and flare shape is universally flattering. I received lots of compliments. Returning was very easy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 6, 2012
Awesome dress!
I rented this dress to wear to our mayor's inaugural ball and everyone loved it. It definitely ran true to size and was the perfect dress for the occasion!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 4, 2012
Could not recommend enough
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I absolutely loved it. It fit beautifully, was just the right amount of fun yet elegant and was just beautiful. I couldn't keep track of the number of compliments I received. I also loved that it was a bit of a blank palette (odd to say). I paired it with blue accessories to give it a little pop and some of my personality. If I could wear this to every event, I would.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2012
Sophisticated with an edge
After seeing this at a wedding months ago - I knew it would be great for my birthday. I think it looked just as great on my curvy 5'3 frame as it did on the 5'8 body of the woman who'd been wearing it when I first saw it. Very flattering on all body shapes and with a leather cuff and booties, it had a great edgy look.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2012
Too big
Unfortunately this dress was way too big. Based on others reviews I ordered my normal size (10) and sized up for my backup....I was swimming in the 10! Also, make sure to read the notes...dress looks white and black in photo but is very much lavender and black and the appliqué isn't appliqué at all, just a pattern on the fabric. Overall pretty disappointing. But thanks RTR for being so great about the return!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
August 30, 2012
Felt unique in this style dress.
I loved wearing my hair in a high bun and pearls with this dress. I was going for a Breakfast at Tiffany's look. The dress runs big. I wore a 0 and it still felt a little big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
August 26, 2012
The Dress!
Loved this dress! This was my first time renting from Rent the Runway and it exceeded my expectations. I wore this dress to an evening bridal shower and it was perfect. This could easily be worn to a day time wedding, depending on the jewelry that you wear with it. It's very dainty and so comfortable. I usually wear size 4 regular/6 petite and the 4 fit perfectly. This is a great option for us petite girls, no adjustments necessary and you don't have to worry about the hem. I highly recommend renting this dress! I wore my own vintage rhinestone collar and complemented the style of the dress perfectly. I can't wait to rent the next one for the wedding!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 23, 2012
Great dress!
I like that dress because it's formal and fun. It was good for my petite figure and I got compliments. I was really happy with it. For other petite women, please note that the dress may be a little bit longer (mid-thigh length).
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 22, 2012
Lady-Like Chic
This cute, lady-like dress worked out great for a summer wedding with black MK platform sandals and a red chain link bag. I received multiple compliments, and I wanted to keep it! It was slightly big in the bust, but I just wore a bra with a little more padding for the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 21, 2012
Adorable dress, funny fit
This dress is so cute! The print is really adorable, and the colors are great (note- the picture looks black and white but it is really more of a light pink/lavender and black) The lenght, shoulders, chest, etc all fit me really nicely except for the wasit. The waist was really big on me. I ended up throwing a wide black belt over the scrunched seaming at the waist and that looked great. I would have prefered to wear the dress without the belt, which is why I deducted one star. A little tricky to make work, but too cute of a dress to pass up. I've rented this dress twice. It is great for winter with black tights.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2012
AWESOME!
I fell in love with this dress. I would rent it again. It is great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
August 20, 2012
I definitely stood out in this dress-- my boyfriend kept telling me how amazing I looked!
Absolutely beautiful! I wish I could have kept this dress. I received so many compliments at the wedding I was attending! I wish that the lace was actual lace and not a pattern, but the dress was still stunning. Definitely get the recommended pearl necklace-- it was perfect. Also, be careful while dancing. The capped sleeves run a little small!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
It's my birthday!
Yes, the color is definitely a light purple! Hard to tell in photos, but very pretty in person. Fit is a little boxy, but still flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Great for fancy indoor wedding
Amazing dress – liked it enough I may even rent it again. The neck is high, yet the cap sleeves and mini length made it a very fun choice! Super flattering cut, too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
August 17, 2012
wish I owed this one
rent this now! I loved everything about this dress! Perfect length, perfect bust for large (me) or smaller and shoulders add a touch to make you stand out. I usually wear a 2 or 4 and wore the size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2012
Cute but short!
I wore this adorable dress to a rehearsal dinner. The dress was perfect and cute but it was a little short! I would have preferred to wear the 2 because it fit me but I felt that it was a little too short. This dress is perfect if you have gorgeous gams and want to show them off!
See more reviews:
6 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×