Tibi

High Tea Dress

$75 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This prim and proper Tibi dress gives the classic sheath an update with modern stripes and a trompe d'oeil lace print. To make this look extra feminine, pair with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Product Details

Printed pale lilac and black striped silk twill with trompe l'oeil lace pattern. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. V back. Gathered waist detail. Hidden back zip. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
361 reviews
Fit
Large
(45)
True to Size
(298)
Small
(18)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 22, 2012
Lady-Like Chic
This cute, lady-like dress worked out great for a summer wedding with black MK platform sandals and a red chain link bag. I received multiple compliments, and I wanted to keep it! It was slightly big in the bust, but I just wore a bra with a little more padding for the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
August 26, 2012
The Dress!
Loved this dress! This was my first time renting from Rent the Runway and it exceeded my expectations. I wore this dress to an evening bridal shower and it was perfect. This could easily be worn to a day time wedding, depending on the jewelry that you wear with it. It's very dainty and so comfortable. I usually wear size 4 regular/6 petite and the 4 fit perfectly. This is a great option for us petite girls, no adjustments necessary and you don't have to worry about the hem. I highly recommend renting this dress! I wore my own vintage rhinestone collar and complemented the style of the dress perfectly. I can't wait to rent the next one for the wedding!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
August 30, 2012
Felt unique in this style dress.
I loved wearing my hair in a high bun and pearls with this dress. I was going for a Breakfast at Tiffany's look. The dress runs big. I wore a 0 and it still felt a little big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2012
Sophisticated with an edge
After seeing this at a wedding months ago - I knew it would be great for my birthday. I think it looked just as great on my curvy 5'3 frame as it did on the 5'8 body of the woman who'd been wearing it when I first saw it. Very flattering on all body shapes and with a leather cuff and booties, it had a great edgy look.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 4, 2012
Could not recommend enough
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I absolutely loved it. It fit beautifully, was just the right amount of fun yet elegant and was just beautiful. I couldn't keep track of the number of compliments I received. I also loved that it was a bit of a blank palette (odd to say). I paired it with blue accessories to give it a little pop and some of my personality. If I could wear this to every event, I would.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
September 9, 2012
my first dress rental, A+
This was my first dress rental ever and I'm now a fan of this site. I rented this for a wedding. The fit and flare shape is universally flattering. I received lots of compliments. Returning was very easy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 10, 2012
Great Dress! Perfect fit.
Perfect dress. Received lots of complements.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2012
Having the most amazing dress to wear at a price I could actually afford!
I rented this for my bridal "cocktail party" (an untraditional shower) and it was amazing. It fit like a glove (Tibi dresses run a tad big so I wear a 4 in their dresses) and I received tons of compliments. The one issue I did have was the cap sleeves were restrictive so I couldn't lift my arms to even 90 degrees without giving everyone a show. It was very short, but I'm comfortable with short skirts, but I did notice that the size 6 had some extra length on top of the size 4 so as you go up in size the dress gets longer. All in all, I loved the dress and I can't wait to order another Tibi dress again very soon!
AlexApril 1, 2013
thanks for all of the details. renting for a wedding and I am tall as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Pretty&girly dress for my bday
I rented this dress for my birthday and it was great! It was pretty dressy, definitely better for a nighttime event. My boyfriend still talks about how much he loved this dress and its been over a year since I rented it- that should speak for itself :)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 22, 2013
I wore this for my office holiday party & it was a hit! Not fussy & on-trend!
Arms fit tight, great length for petites.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 25, 2013
First time renter - will rent again, for sure!
The dress fit true to size and on my small frame with heels it didn't need hemming like I thought it might. The whole RTR experience was great - dressed arrived ready to go - no ironing needed! I loved this dress and I got so many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 29, 2013
Sweet + Classy
This was my first RTR experience and it was just like all the reviews I had read- they are awesome! I wore this to my cousin's wedding rehearsal and got so many compliments on how cute the dress was! The dress was super comfy and it's really reassuring to know you have the backup size even if you don't need it. For size reference-- I am more of an hourglass shape, I have some 'junk in the trunk' if you will, and still the dress fit nice and looked very classy (not too short since the model is like 7ft tall)!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 30, 2013
Made my Bridal Shower an unforgettable event!!!
I wore this dress to my vintage tea party style Bridal Shower. I wanted something different that incorporated a "lacey" look and also made me stand out, since I am the bride. This dress was perfect! It came right on time- and it fit perfectly. It was a little big in the waist, but I pretty sure it's supposed to be this way. Also, it is a little short- but so am I, so it just made my legs look longer. I wouldn't suggest that a really tall person wear this dress though. Overall my dress was a hit the only con was that I had to send it back! (Which was also an easy process!) Good Luck!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 31, 2013
Loved the dress!!
The dress fit really well and I got tons of compliments. As my first rental I was very happy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 136lbs
March 31, 2013
luv the choices - such a great way to style
great dress. very classy and conservative but still fun cause it's short. beautiful material and lovely sleeves. The lace detailing and grey coloring keeps the dress fresh it's not a stuffy but you are still very covered even though it's short. my weight 125lb, 5'2", 36B - I little bit of a belly puff.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 4, 2013
Perfect dress! Got compliments all night!
LOVE this dress and will definitely be renting it again. Wore this to a rehearsal dinner with black tights and grey pumps and it was PERFECT!! Fits well, very slimming.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2013
Beautiful Dress!!
The dress has the most beautiful structure! I definitely recommend renting it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
More casual than expected.
This dress looked more formal in the picutres for a few reasons. The lace 'print' wasn't great. It wasn't terrible but the worn look of the print made the dress feel more casual. Additionally, the dress was incredibly short! I normally wear a 12 and have worn the brand many times in the past but this dress was really short, too short for the formal function I was attending. Not a bad dress and could be cute for the right setting. Just less formal than I expected. I didn't end up wearing the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2013
I wore it to a bridal shower.
The dress is adorable, flattering and fits true to size. The color is more lilac than it appears in these photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 8, 2013
LOVED IT!
Wored this for my 30th birthday party,fit great and was a perfect dress for the occasion! Dress was true to size. Would rent it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 16, 2013
Beautiful
I ordered both a 2 and a 4. The dress runs a bit small through the shoulders because of the cap sleeves. But, overall I loved it and received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
April 16, 2013
This dress was great!
I wore this dress for my engagement party and was really happy with it. It ran a bit tight across the chest/cap sleeves and the material really doesn't have any give so if you have a larger chest you'll probably want to order a size larger as your backup size. Overall, the fit was very flattering and does a nice job of accentuating your waist. A really unique print. The background is a light silvery/gray.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2013
Loved the dress perfect for my occasion!
Wore this to a pageant! It was a big hit and I felt great in it! Great for someone with a larger bottom half.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 18, 2013
Fabulous dress! Only wish I could have kept it!
The fit was great, ran true to size! I am fairly tall and it was the perfect length. Perfect dress for a spring wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2013
Loved this dress.
I wore this dress to a gala and it was amazing. So comfortable and looks so cute on. I am petite and it came to lower thigh> this dress will be very short if you are tall. I just really loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
April 22, 2013
Adorable for Many Occasions
I rented this as my extra dress for an additional $25 and wore it to a friend's rehearsal dinner. It's very cute and flattering, although I thought it ran a little small. I usually am a very consistent size S/4, and this felt a little snug. Given that I didn't have a backup size I still wore it and didn't feel uncomfortable, however I would have preferred to have had the option to go with the size 6. Still, received lots of compliments and thought it was a great dress to wear all year round depending on how you accessorize.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 27, 2013
Great dress. So flattering for curvy girls.
Is a bit on the shorter side but left room for a bigger bust. Love.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 29, 2013
Super cute dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding and received a ton of compliments. It was super cute! Ran just a little large - order a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
April 30, 2013
Perfect dress for the occassion!
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding in late April in NH and it was perfect for the occassion. I rented a size 10 and a size 12 knowing that I usally wear a size 10. It fit perfectly and I may have even been able to try the 8 instead, but didn't sized up for my back-up instead of down. I loved the little sleeves because I'm not a big fan of my arms and they gave me a little coverage. I also really enjoyed the color; the silver part has a lavender tinge to it which is really pretty.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
May 1, 2013
LOVE this dress! So chic but also comfortable! Great cut.
This dress was a real hit - I received so many compliments and felt so classy! The cap sleeves were a welcome change from strapless and sleeveless dresses, and the length was saucy but appropriate. So comfortable - wore it for hours for a wedding rehearsal and dinner afterwards and felt good the entire time.
jeannetteMay 1, 2013
pretty. I love your friends white dress. where did she get it?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 11, 2013
I bet I was the most glamorous mama there!
The model is super tall, so the dress looks very short. but since I'm only 5'3', the length was perfect. It came to a few inches above my knee. Still conservative, but a hint of sexy. I was expecting black and white, but the white is more of a silver/gray. Not a big deal. I also expected the lace to be actual lace, but it is just printed on the fabric. This turned out to be a good thing because it made the dress less "fragile," and I was holding my 3 1/2 month old daughter for a lot of the evening, so I didn't have to worry about the lace snagging on anything, etc. The sleeves are great, but when you lift your arms it does show a good amount of the armpit area. I used the provided fashion tape to fix that (thank you, RTR!). Overall, it fit beautifully and I loved it!! I wore the dress to a black tie wedding and felt perfectly dressed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
Perfect for my work event! Classy and comfortable!
It was really flattering, and I felt great in it - easy to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 14, 2013
Comfy and Classic dress for a Newport Wedding!
I wore this to my friend's wedding in Newport, RI, and it was perfect. I was very worried about my chest not fitting, but the 6 ended up being just right. I wore black heels to the ceremony, nude flats to the reception, and big earrings - this is really not a necklace dress. It's super easy to move and dance in this dress, too - loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
May 15, 2013
Not for taller ladies
Loved this dress but it was way too short for my bridesmaids luncheon. It didn't even come down to mid thigh! Great dress for petites though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
May 16, 2013
Adorable and flattering
I wore this for a cocktail party, and received a ton of compliments. The dress fit very well, and was very flattering. I was surprised that it wasn't actually lace, but it looked great none the less.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 17, 2013
Perfect for a Bridal Shower Luncheon.
Wore this for my cousin's bridal shower luncheon. The bridesmaids decided we wanted to be in black and white for the event. This dress was perfect, I received so many compliments of the dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2013
.
Loved the dress, but was a little too tight in the chest area. I have a broad back so anything that has a zipper I have to go with the larger size. Didn't have to wear a bra with it though. The length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2013
Graduation Weekend
I rented a size 2 which would have fit perfectly but there was a small defect in the sleeve. I went up to the size 4 which also fit quite nice, and gave me a little extra length too. In any event, I turned quite a few heads in this dress both at brunch and at my graduation reception. It is very elegant and comfortable and pairs nicely with a string of pearls. Comfortable and casual if worn with a jean jacket yet elegant and sophisticated if dressed up with accessories. I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
May 21, 2013
Comfortable, flattering, unique
I received so many compliments on this dress. It is simple but stands out. It fit well, and was figure flattering. No tugging! The material is nice, the color as some have mentioned is not white or gray as the picture shows but more of a shiny lavender. The only draw back was the sleeves. I wore it for a book signing and was hardly able to extend my arms far enough in front of me to hand readers their books, lol.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 26, 2013
Beautiful dress. Received tons of compliments.
Fit like a glove even with 34 D
See more reviews:
6 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×