High Tea Dress

$75 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This prim and proper Tibi dress gives the classic sheath an update with modern stripes and a trompe d'oeil lace print. To make this look extra feminine, pair with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed pale lilac and black striped silk twill with trompe l'oeil lace pattern. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. V back. Gathered waist detail. Hidden back zip. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
361 reviews
Fit
Large45
True to Size298
Small18
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 21, 2013
Fun, pretty and very comfortable dress! Highly recommend.
Loved this dress! I wore it to a black tie affair with black tights, pumps and a patent leather black/gray clutch. Because the pattern on the dress is busy, I went very simple on the jewelry - just a pearl necklace and sparkly stud earrings. I wore my hair in a bun like the model in the picture. Received many compliments and felt great in the dress - it was very comfy too! I do agree, that the cap sleeves make the dress slightly confining (challenging to dance), but definitely not a reason to deter one from choosing this dress over others. Also, because it is not tight around the waste, you do not have to worry about eating too much at your event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 12, 2013
Wore this to a fancy restaurant for my b-day dinner w/ my husband. Hostess said she LOVED my dress!
Great fit, really no cons, except I put it on while I was getting ready and the capped sleeves made it kind of difficult to raise my arms overhead to do my hair. That's not really a con :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
January 12, 2013
AMAZING! Didn't want to take it off!
The dress came a day earlier than expected. I ordered a size 2 and 4. I went with the 4 because of my bust size and rib size...knowing i was going to a rehearsal dinner and probably going to eat and drink a lot. I'm4'10 and the length was perfect, just above the knee, making my legs look long. Everyone commented on it and the material was beautiful. I was skeptical because it looked white and black (didn't want to draw attention from the bride) but it is really a beautiful light greyish-purple. I felt 10 lbs lighter and like a rock star. I will definitely rent this dress and designer again.
christyFebruary 25, 2013
Was it super tight in your chest area. Im a 32DD and I always have trouble finding things that fit (but im also short) so I never want to get anything too big because it wont fit the rest of me. Would you recommend going up to the 6?
RTR CustomerFebruary 27, 2013
Hi Christy! I think this dress would be a great option for you! I would definitely recommend going up a size for back-up just in case!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
January 9, 2013
This adorable Tibi dress was absolutely perfect for my 21st birthday dinner!
Initially the dress fit a bit big and was a little long for my small frame; easily solved with double-sided tape to temporarily hem it up about 3 inches. If I were to purchase the dress I'd definitely take it in a bit at the waist but I was still able to wear it and received SO many compliments!!
SamFebruary 4, 2013
Are you really 5'0" i want to buy this dress but i want to make sure its not to long since im the same height
RTR CustomerFebruary 5, 2013
Hi Sam! This dress will be perfectly fine on you if you are only 5'0! I am the same height and this dress works for me!
RTR CustomerApril 24, 2013
what kind of shoes are you wearing would black pumps be ok
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2013
This is a beautiful dress!! I received compliments all night!
Fit a little smaller than expected--glad I ordered the extra size. A little short so I wore with black tights for NYE.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 7, 2013
This is a really unique dress, i got tons of compliments at my friend's wedding.
The fabric looks grey in the photo, but in reality it has a slight lavender hue. There's no stretch in the fabric but the cut of the sleeves still makes it easy to dance without feeling restricted.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2013
Dress was AMAZING!
Dress was AMAZING!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2013
Darling, Very Classy Dress!
I ordered this as a back up dress, since my original dress was delayed. I really liked this number. It was flattering in all the right places. The fabric has some sheen to it and the lace print really dresses it up nicely. Definitely something I would look into renting again! I will say that I typically wear a size 6-8, and the 6 was still a little bit big on me. Not in a bad way, just not as fitted as it could have been.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2013
This dress was comfortable and unique. I got compliments all night long! Great dress!
The fit was a little tight at the top of the cap sleeve but overall was true to size, comfortable, and flattering on my larger bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 1, 2013
Loved IT! Got lots of compliments and is super comfortable.
Great fit, true to size and easy to wear.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
January 1, 2013
Unique dress, fun and comfortable to wear.
Size 6 was a little roomy, that's why I belted it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 1, 2013
Super cute dress for going out or even going to work!
I rented this as my backup dress for a wedding and my main dress was great, so I did not wear this to the wedding. However, since I rented it I wanted to wear it so I wore it out to dinner. Paired it with black tights and pumps and it was great for a night out. Not too fancy, and I would have worn it to work too with flats and a scarf if I wasn't on vacation break. Fit wise, it was a little big on me all over, i.e. if I owned it I would want it one size down. Also, it's a grayish white versus bright white, which I considered to be a pleasant surprise. Overall though I LOVED it...very versatile.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 29, 2012
Adorable dress for tea with the girlfriends!
This dress is adorable! I ordered the size 2 and 4. Usually I fit in most size 2s but sometimes I find the bust area to be small, which was the case for this dress (it fit fine at the waist). I was afraid the 4 would fit perfectly at the bust but be too large at the waist, but it fit very well! If you have a larger chest, I would recommend sizing up for your back up. Another thing to note is that the dress is actually a slight grey / lavender, it looks more white in the pictures. I loved the dress. I wore it to tea with my girlfriends and it made me feel like a proper lady!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2012
Rent this dress!!!
Once again, I was so so pleased with my RTR experience! The dress was absolutely adorable and fit like a glove. I didn't have any trouble moving or dancing in the dress with the sleeves as some of the reviews I read had mentioned. I found it to be very comfortable and super flattering. I felt great in it! I wore it to my baby sister's engagement party with tights, a statement necklace and black booties. All the ladies, even my grandmother, complimented how nice the outfit looked. RENT THIS DRESS!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
December 26, 2012
Sleeves made it unflattering
Rented this, but really had a hard time looking beyond the sleeves. They are constricting, and boxy, and you are actually able to see your arm pit. I didn't wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103lbs
December 17, 2012
Dress is pretty, but too big
I wasn't able to wear it because it's too big on the waist. I am 5'4", 103 pound, 24" on waist. I usually wear size 0p or 00p depending on the brand. This dress is way too big on the waist.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
December 16, 2012
Got many compliments on this dress!! Perfect for a work holiday party.
Wish I had gone with the size 4. I am usually a 6 in dresses but it still fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2012
Fun black and white dress, perfect for the holiday season!
Wore to a movie screening and after-party...great black and white dress, perfect around the holiday season! Expected the lace detail to be an overlay but was actually part of the fabric. Very comfortable and fun!! Usually wear a 4 or 6, the 4 wasn't available but the 6 was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2012
fantastic first rtr experience!! :]
absolutely LOVED this dress! yes, the cap sleeves can be slightly restricting but an overall great fit. i received many compliments wearing it to a holiday party. super happy with my first rtr experience!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2012
Fabulous dress. I got a ton of compliments!
Such a fun dress and super comfy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 13, 2012
Would look much better with a tan!
I wore this dress in winter and it was very pretty, though I thought the lace would be added material on top of the dress, when instead it was the just a lace print on the dress in the shiny material. I liked it, but it wasn't my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
December 12, 2012
this dress got rave reviews!
The only thing I didn't love about this dress was that the sleeves are super restrictive - the way they are gut you can't lift your arms up very far. Luckily I wasn't busting out any dance moves bc it would have seriously cramped my style. Other than that I loved it - it's cute and demure but if you get the right size it's super flattering. Everyone at my office holiday party complimented me - even the next week at work!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Gorgeous, comfortable dress
I rented this dress for a charity luncheon and fashion show. It was just perfect. It fit super well, was very elegant (longer on me than on the model) and was super comfortable. The cap sleeves were a smidge tight but no big deal really. I would highly recommend this for a luncheon, baby/bridal shower, or other event where you want to look pretty and polished.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 10, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress and was so upset to give it back! Perfect length and fit.
The sleeves make it extra stylish, and the patterns together make it so unique!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 9, 2012
This dress was perfection! I felt great and everyone asked me where I got it!
It was a backup dress for me and I'm so glad I got it. The dress was really flattering, a bit snug through the ribcage, but very comfortable over all. Can't wait to rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
December 4, 2012
This was the perfect dress for a wedding I attended; I received so many compliments!
The dress fit perfectly - I ordered my usual size and a size up, and the 4 fit exactly how it should. I didn't even try on the larger size. The cap sleeves were tight only when I raised my arms, but other than that there were no issues. I loved this dress! It's true what the other reviews say - the picture makes the dress appear white, but in person the background color is a lovely silvery lilac.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 4, 2012
Felt like a million bucks going out to dinner in this dress!
The fit was perfect in all areas. I was worried about the cap sleeves at first but they were very flattering and did not cut off my upper arm. This dress was perfect for dinner as well as hanging out in the hotel afterwards. The crystal necklace was also the perfect accessory. I got so many compliments on both pieces!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
adorable
The dress was really cute and fit nicely. The sleeves are a little akward to move but really not a big deal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
December 2, 2012
Great petite dress for a formal affair and you need to dress modestly.
Wore this for a formal dinner dance event with black pumps. The shorter hemline is great for us petite ladies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2012
easy to accessorize up or down
i wore this to a formal cocktail party with a conservative crowd - great dress if you like something a bit different, but want your shoulders covered & a decent length! I layered gold necklaces on top to give it some edge, & wore with a high bun & classic black stuart weitzman pumps. tons of compliments! i have narrow shoulders & a small ribcage, so the 2 fit a bit better than the 4!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2012
Cute dress, looks like picture, but the sleeves make it hard to lift your arms
Dress fit comfortably and was flattering. It looks as it does on the model. I received a lot of compliments on the dress. The only reason I rated this dress 4/5 is because the way the sleeves are cut made it difficult to raise your arms. So if you're looking for a dress to wear on a night out dancing, this is probably not the one. But if you want a cute dress for a date night, this might be it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 29, 2012
I thought it was actual lace but it was just a print :(
I loved the fit of the dress but again, the print made it look a little cheap.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
Dress came with a stain and RTR overnighted one to me ASAP. Amazing customer service.
Comfortable and flattering
RTR CustomerNovember 30, 2012
Wow. Stunning couple! Check out the flow on him. You guys could be straight out of gossip girl
AlexApril 1, 2013
HI, I am 5'9'' too and going to a formal-ish wedding. I can wear tights but this wasn't too short on you? Thanks! Alex
stephanieApril 5, 2013
Nope! I did wear flats with it though, you have to be careful when bending over but that's it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 26, 2012
This dress made me feel great for the soft opening of my boutique in Washington D.C.
I wore this with tights and heels and I loved it! The cut was super flattering and made my waist look tiny and the lace details were very unique and make it special. I love the purplish tint to the dress...sometimes I think black and white can look very jarring but the slight color was just right. The only issue is that, as with other non-stretchy cap-sleeve things, it is a little difficult to lift your arms up so if you need ease of movement this probably isn't the best option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Perfect for a 5:00 outdoor, waterfront wedding.
I wore this to an outdoor 5:00 wedding. It's the perfect cutesy, fun, party dress! I paired it with black tights and black mary janes heels. I received so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
loved the dress, so pretty and got compliments on it. loved the necklace i rented with it.
cap sleeves are definitely restricting, i went a size up because of this, to give a little more room. everyone loved the dress. it was my first time using RTR and it was so easy and fun! i definitely reccommend - i have another wedding this coming weekend im using the service again for!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 25, 2012
A timeless and classy dress that is perfect with tights.
I rented this dress for my engagement photos. I wanted a classic dress that wouldn't be too trendy and was lady like. This dress was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 23, 2012
Love this dress! Wish it were part of my actual closet!
I am very petite, and the size 0 fit quite well. This dress has such a flattering silhouette! One note: The chest was almost a little too snug (which is rare for me), so I would not recommend for the well-endowed. I received lots of compliments throughout the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 17, 2012
strangers were asking me where i got my dress!
This pic is terrible but I'll add others once I track some down. I rented two dresses, the kate V neck by nicole miller and this one. The event I was going to was a charity gala and both dresses were perfect. I ended up wearing this one because it was more comfortable. It's gorgeous and definitely more of a lavendar, silver color than white. It's on the shorter side. Anyone taller than 5'6" might have to pair with tights, etc. My sister ended up wearing the other dress! We both looked and felt great and people were commenting on our dresses all night long! What was even greater was the looks peoples' faces when I mentioned I had rented them! So awesome. Can't wait to rent again! Also, I can't say enough about the fabulous customer service reps and stylists- so helpful!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Perfect Wedding Dress!
I wore this for a wedding in Houston at the end of October. I rented the size 2 and 4 (normally a pretty constant size 2 in dresses). I ended up going with the 2. As many others reviewers noted, the sleeves were a little tight, but not to the point that it was uncomfortable. I am slightly over 5' 6" and this dress was short on me, but not too short. If you are much taller, I would maybe advise for another dress. I also rented the multi-strand pearl necklace that was recommended to wear with the dress. I didn't end up wearing it as it was way too much going on in the neck area. I wore plain black pumps and simple earrings and got tons of compliments. The dress looks a lot whiter/creamier in pictures but in person it has a faint lilac hint to it, which I liked better and made the dress unique. Overall, I loved this dress and it fit perfectly. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×