Rent the Runway

Tibi

High Tea Dress

$75 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This prim and proper Tibi dress gives the classic sheath an update with modern stripes and a trompe d'oeil lace print. To make this look extra feminine, pair with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed pale lilac and black striped silk twill with trompe l'oeil lace pattern. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. V back. Gathered waist detail. Hidden back zip. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

359 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 296
Large 45
Photos 158
courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Super cute dress. It was perfect for my bridal shower without the necklace. The color is a light grey lilac where it looks white, but still super cute. The only thing I didn't like about it was that the lace isn't a real lace overlay, just part of a design on the fabric. I got lots of compliments and it fit perfectly.
misschacha
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
awesome dress! got tons of compliments at a formal outdoor wedding. covered the belly.. showed a little of the armpit fat but overall really flattering. friends said that i shouldn't return it! :) i would rent this again.
Katie
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Sep 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is really cute in person. It's a light lavender and the black "lace" is printed on. I was afraid the shoulders would be a bit too much but it's very subtle. The dress fits true to size (I'm 5'5 and 130lbs) and a 4 fit perfectly. I wore it to a fall wedding and received many compliments.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
GORGEOUS dress that fit like a glove! While it looks like lace, it is just a lace pattern - but I thought it still looked fab. The material is wonderful and I was comfortable the whole night through. Be forewarned that at 5'7" I found it to be a little short, but it wasn't TOO short. I could still sit comfortably and not look indecent. Also, don't plan on doing a lot of dance movements that require your to raise your arms over your head - the cap sleeves are just a tad bit restrictive in that situation. But overall, I loved it and I had a hard time parting with this dress!
Lexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress really is great. I wore it to my bridal shower, which was a brunch held at a restaurant in the city. It was completely appropriate and I received a lot of compliments. I think it's pretty versatile and could be worn for many occasions throughout the fall.
JLW
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was perfect for the rehearsal dinner I attended last weekend. Got tons of compliments - very cute! Was a tad bit large, but was short also so was probably best that I went with the 2 rather than the 0. Was surprised that the lace was just a print and not actual lace, but was very cute nonetheless. Would definitely recommend!
MJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I. Love. This. Dress! It's so chic and if I didn't care so much about wearing dresses twice, I'd wear this again. :) The 0 fit me well, and I wish I ordered the size 00 as a backup. The waist was a bit too loose and didn't cinch my waist, so I used a belt to do the job. The sleeves were a bit limiting so fist pumping was kept to a conservative chest level. I wore it with chunky, multi-level pearls. The dress hit mid-thigh, and yes it was a light lilac color with black stripes and lace.
pearls
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a Rehearsal Dinner for a wedding I was in. The sleeves puffed out from my shoulders, yet felt restrictive at the same time. Not a problem though. The dress fit well, but was NOT a knock out. I'm 165 # and the 12 fit great.
Nat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Rented this for a rehearsal dinner and loved it. Definitely runs true-to-size. I normally wear a 6 in dresses but have full hips so was a little worried this would be snug. Turns out the 4 & the 6 fit but I thought the bigger size was more length-appropriate. Would definitely recommend, looks great on.
Amanda E.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Super cute dress, I wore it to a wedding brunch. My only complaint are the sleeves..they have no give to them, so you can't raise your arms. I was actually unable to pull my hair up because I couldn't raise my arms = awkward moment lol. I paired the dress with a black belt and heels. Very well made, true to size, maybe a touch big.
Not for tiny people
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Oct 4, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Too big for me stnading at 5'1" and 100lbs with a small chest. Just loose overall especially at the waist.
aimee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress, but my chest is too big for it. The way the sleeves were cut, part of my chest was spilling out of the side of the sleeve and it did not look good. It fit great everywhere else. So if you are below a D, this dress will probably work great for you!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I love love this dress. As others noted, it's more of a pale purple than a white color, but it's very pretty. I am normally between an 8 and 10, so I got both. The 8 fit right through the hips and waist, but squished my top half, so I ended up wearing the 10. It also gave me a bit more room for dancing since the cap sleeves were fine unless you tried to raise your arms. Generally the dress was stunning and I got tons of compliments!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Loved this dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress and so did everyone else. One of my friends saw it and got online and rented it for a rehearsal dinner. Highly recommend.
CC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 14, 2011

polished and girly

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding ceremony with black tights and pumps. It was appropriate, preppy and pretty. Great daytime dress. Soft lilac color is really flattering and different. I am tall and I would say it was perhaps just at the borderline of being too short for church... ;-)
Krissy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 18, 2011

Love this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I'm very petite, 5'2, size 0 or 00. I ordered the 0 and it fit well. Could have been more flattering if it were a bit smaller but it worked and looked great. Got lots of compliments. Very classy!
AJ
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Nov 23, 2011

LOVE! LOVE!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am so happy I rented this dress for my wedding shower. It was my first time renting and I had been looking through the website for months trying to narrow down what I would wear. I went with this one after reading the reviews becuase 1. I loved how it looked and 2. I actually loved it even more when I read that it was a light purple color. It fit perfectly and the women at the shower couldn't believe that I had rented it because it fit so well. I received so many compliments and many of the women emailed me the following day to say that they had created a RTR account so that they could start renting. One thing I was surprised to see was that the dress is all one layer. In the picture it almost looks like the black is a separate lace layer, but it's just part of the design on the dress. It is still absolutely beautiful and the capped sleeves make it so much more elegant and classy. I also went all out and ordered the necklace that the model is wearing. It looks great with the dress, and then jewelry was one less thing I needed to worry about for the shower! :) I can't wait to rent again for my bachelorette party and rehearsal dinner! I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
Bre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Dainty dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was super pretty and very appropriate for Easter Sunday church service and brunch. However, it was a little tight in the shoulders and I thought that the detailing on it was real lace. It is NOT. It is a print. Still very pretty though!
Heidi M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Holiday Party Gem

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to an office holiday party. Very tasteful. The material isn't what you would think it would be. Needs to be accessorized
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 3, 2011

Loved!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to meet my boyfriends grandparents and it was perfect. Super flattering and conservative without being stuffy. Would rent again!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 8, 2011

Cute and light

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore to a baby shower that I hosted. Moderately short, wore black nylons. The arms are slightly restrictive if you need to reach up, or into an oven to take trays out. The dress looks like a lace overlay in the picture, but it is really a print on the material. I liked it. V-neck back is cute.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 12, 2011

First Rental was a success

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am very excited about rent the runway. The delivery is fast and the return is easy. I had a great night in this dress. I wore this dress to a work holiday party. I got lots of compliments and was very comfortable in it.
Kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

Lovely and classy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my office Christmas party, and it was perfect -- although you probably will want to wear tights under it because it gets super short whenever you lift your arms. I usually wear a 2, but it was the size 0 that ended up fitting me perfectly. So I'd recommend renting your size plus one size down. The shoulders are a bit wider than they look on the model, but the dress was still super cute. Also, the lace is a pattern on the dress rather than actual lace -- which I preferred because that means less snagging. Would definitely rent again.
NYCgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 15, 2011

True to Size.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very cute and true to size. The pattern on the dress is very pretty. It was a cold night in the city for the wedding I attended, so wore it with black tights and black pumps.
Lo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 20, 2011

I wish I owned it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I can't even describe how much I loved this dress. I have been looking to buy it since I rented it... I wore this to my bridal shower tea party with lots of pearls, kind of like in the picture. It was a little big on me, but it didn't really matter - I belted it with a skinny black patent waist belt and it was adorable. I got compliments all night!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 27, 2011

Classy- great for work party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for our office Christmas party and received lots of compliments. I am ordinarily a size 8, I typically buy that size in dresses off the rack and am good to go no matter what. I was glad I read the reviews and ordered a size down because the 6 fit perfectly and was what I ended up wearing. I paired with the Cynthia Rowley two tone tights, and layered several of my own pearl strands to replicate the look in the photo on here. It was a hit.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 1, 2012

Great for casual yet dressy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly. It is a little short when you sit down so best to wear tights with it. It went great with a pair of tall boots to counter the cold weather.
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2012

New Year's Eve rental

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress and it was very comfortable. The only issue was the sleeves were hard to raise your arms in, but I would definitely recommend it!
Casey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

Rehearsal Dinner over NYE

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I am 5'10" and usually wear a size 6 and wore a 6 in this dress. It fit really cute and the pattern and material were great. I wore this to a pretty nice rehearsal dinner over NYE weekend and it was great. Added the necklace worn in the picture and black tights. At 5'10" I was worried it would be too short, but it was just fine, especially with tights! One issue was the chest...I am large chested and it was tight across my boobs (why I wore the 6 and not the 4). But I still loved it!!
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Jan 10, 2012

Perfect

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for NYE. Ordered a 4 with no backup size and it fit fine. I normally wear a 4. (34C-27-37; 5'5''). Plenty of "wiggle" room in the hips because it is not fitted. The waist was fitted and was a tad loose, but nothing that would make the dress appear too big. I wore this with sheer black tights and suede peep toe heels. Got several compliments on this. Loved the dress. Also, the lace is hand-painted. Not actual lace. Makes this dress look more classy and pretty.
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 16, 2012

This dress is adorable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for New Years Eve and got lots of compliments on it. The fabric of this dress is a really pretty and silky and the fit is awesome and super flattering. It fits pretty true to size- maybe a tiny bit big. I'm a 4-6 and ended up wearing the 4 and probably could have even squeezed into a 2. Love, love, love this dress.
Gigi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Jan 25, 2012

So cute, SO short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely adored this dress and it was much better in person than expected from the photos. The detailing was so cute, and the shoulders were a good look as well (and not as restrictive as one might expect, and I have broad shoulders!). Unfortunately, this dress was FAR too short to be appropriate, even with opaque black tights. My regular size (4) fit perfectly everywhere else, and perhaps was even a tiny bit loose through the stomach and certainly had plenty of room at the hip, but it barely cleared my rear. Sitting down was wildly inappropriate. The back up size was no better. Unfortunately I was unable to wear this darling dress because of the length issue. Such a shame, as it fit perfectly everywhere else and I am not even that tall (5'7"ish). RTR was great and responsive about the fit issue, but it's still a disappointment as this dress is super cute! Rent if you're short.
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 1, 2012

Pretty & comfy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for a Sunday luncheon. Wore it with black tights and a chunky black glass-bead necklace (and red lips for an extra punch). I got so many compliments. And best of all, it was soft and not too tight (i.e., I could go to town at lunch and not feel uncomfortable). I'm typically either a size 2 or 4, but in this instance I needed something in between. The 2 was a little tight, the 4 was a little big. I'd recommend ordering down one size for your back-up.
MichAnglin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 15, 2012

Not right for my body

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was pretty in person, note the lace is a pattern and not an overlay which I wasn't expecting. Perhaps it was the length, but this dress was not flattering on my figure at all. I ended up not wearing it.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 19, 2012

adorable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
wore this for a formal work event and loved it. fits maybe a tiny bit big, but snug on the bust if you have a bigger bust. honestly though its gorgeous, I want to own it!
Claire
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134 lbs
Feb 23, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was great-- cute, flattering, and super comfortable. I would highly encourage renting it. The size is pretty accurate, and maybe runs slightly bigger. It's a flattering cut, especially for someone like me who is a little short and curvier. I didn't want to send it back!
Lucky in Lace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 28, 2012

Say Yes to the Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my bridal fitting on Say Yes to the Dress. I was surrounded by beautiful gowns in Kleinfelds and all people kept doing was complimenting this high tea dress! Great fit! I have a narrow waist and wider hips so this cut flattered me very well! Loved it!
Maura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 26, 2012

Perfect Engagement PArty Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was the perfect dress for my engagement party. It's a great balance of sophisticated and fun. I typically wear a size 2, but the 0 fit perfectly. If ordering 2 sizes, I would recommend ordering a size down.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 29, 2012

Perfect dress for bday brunch!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my birthday brunch, and it was a hit! The dress fit perfectly, was very flattering, and is a gorgeous lilac/black color. I plan to rent this dress again for a baby shower in the spring!
ALL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 19, 2012

Wedding shower

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for a wedding shower and it was perfect. I ordered a size 2 and 4, and ended up wearing the size 2 because it fit better in the middle. I could have worn either size.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×