Tibi

High Tea Dress

$75 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This prim and proper Tibi dress gives the classic sheath an update with modern stripes and a trompe d'oeil lace print. To make this look extra feminine, pair with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed pale lilac and black striped silk twill with trompe l'oeil lace pattern. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. V back. Gathered waist detail. Hidden back zip. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

359 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 296
Large 45
Photos 158
Ladybug
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 22, 2011

When I won 1st prize for most fascinationg at the event I wore the dress to!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is so classy! Made with very fine fabric! Fits big, my normal size 2 was loose and long fitting. 0 was perfect. No problem in arm area as others complained? I have a very small bust. Color is awkward, faded white (pinkish color) so a simple black shoe was better than nude. Nude attracts too much attention from the main event, the dress. No necklace made for more classic look. Complimented by a simple pair of pearl earrings. I felt like the belle of the ball. I wore this to a Kentucky Derby themed event with a pair of short black booties to give a tab bit of edge with a black lace fascinator all pulled together with Chanel red lips...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR UPSCALE AFFAIR.
TZ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 26, 2011

That I was so comfortable I forgot I rented it! :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, I wore it to a late summer wedding and got so many compliments! Runs very true to size although, taller girls: it is a little short... but not enough where I was constantly pulling it down or anything. Also - it is a light lavender, not white, where the stripes are around the waist. I might have to rent this one again!
Steffie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Oct 31, 2011

The ease of ordering, delivery, and return shipping. It impressed my mom!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fabulous for my role as wedding guest. It was modest enough for me to be comfortable and not worried about any wardrobe malfunctions, but was fabulous enough to make a great impression. Lilac/lavender isn't a color I usually wear, but I was not disappointed. This was my first rental, but won't be my last. Renting and returning the rental was super easy, give it a try!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Apr 2, 2012

It was a great day-to-night outfit!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVE this dress!! It was so pretty and so light & comfortable! I got so many compliments on the dress alone - it didn't even need the pearls! My only complaint is that it is a bit hard to lift your arms up. So, if you plan on dancing a lot - and are an arm-raiser - this may not be the best dress.
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2012

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I attended an afternoon tea party at the Drake Hotel on Michigan Avenue in Chicago and must say that I stood out from the crowd! Since it was afternoon tea and the day of the Kentucky Derby, I added a fun black fascinator and also the pearls worn by the model. It was a bit short for me, but the tights helped. As you can see from the group photo...I think I stood out in this dress! I also got double wear out of it this past weekend and wore it to dinner a fun little French Bistro with my fiance...he loved it!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 14, 2012

30th Birthday dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this dress! I ordered a 4 and 6 and both of them fit me. I would actually say the 4 fit me better on top, but then the arms were more restricting/tight and I wanted to be able to dance so I went with the 6. Also note, I have a small rib cage & small shoulders so if you are my height and weight a 4 could be too small. I would say it was a little short but with black tights I felt totally comfortable. If you are tall like me and you didn't have tights and had to sit, it could get a bit risky! You can also wear this with a normal bra. I added a black patent skinny belt, a chunky black necklace, black tights, and black high heeled oxfords. I would recommend this dress!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 6, 2012

Just like the last time I rented a dress I love hearing how much everyone else loves the dress I am wearing! It makes you feel so gorgeous when you are in a dress that others love too!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
When the dress came it was not exactly as I was picturing it, I thought the lace was actual lace and it was not. It did not matter though b/c it was so pretty in person and fit so well that it was an ideal rental! I have thought about renting this same dress again for other events. I got so many compliments, one women even yelled out of her car window that she loved the dress while I was walking by. Tibi is also my new favorite designer! Cant wait to rent again!
Peach
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 23, 2012

I never buy short dresses because I can't wear them to work. . . RTR is the perfect (and rare) opportunity for me to wear something short.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 0 or 2. For this dress, the 0 fit, but was a little snug around the ribs (hard to breathe), so ended up wearing the 2, which looked almost exactly the same. I got at least 20 compliments on this dress. I was planning to wear a plain black belt (ended up forgetting to pack it), but it was fine without it. I recommend this dress- it is cute, classic snap but with a couple fun twists.
JENNIFER
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Jul 13, 2012

Compliments & Confidence :).

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress in a size 0, and it fit perfect. I got so many compliments, and felt like a million bucks!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

RTR made everything so simple, I cannot imagine not using them for a huge event.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to my boyfriend's graduation. It is super cute and fits true to size.
Heather
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

All I can say is, Attention to Detail! I love that you have everything you need for your special day. How much easier can it be to return the dress when you're done?!? I absolutely love your service. I will continue to rent from here.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love, love, love this dress!!! It fit so well and was super cute. I would wear again! I wore this for my birthday dinner and I feel in love at first sight. Would rent from this designer again. I usually wear a 4 in most things, but due to my small bust size I have to get a size 2. With the dress being A-line, it was perfect.
brianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

<3

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a end of the year banquet and LOVED it. I recevied many compliments and was very comfortable throughout the night. I did pair it with a layered pearl necklace to complete my look. I would recommend this dress to all of my friends.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Great service, beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a southern wedding, the color in real life is more of a dusty lavender, but in photos it looks very much like the what you see on the model. I ended up wearing the 4, and still have a tiny bit of room in the waist ( I am very small chested and small waist, with hourglass hips). I will say if you plan on dancing, be careful the arms can be constricting, I couldn't really lift my arms up past chest level all night! Received many compliments on this dress, I would rent it again!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Aug 20, 2012

I definitely stood out in this dress-- my boyfriend kept telling me how amazing I looked!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely beautiful! I wish I could have kept this dress. I received so many compliments at the wedding I was attending! I wish that the lace was actual lace and not a pattern, but the dress was still stunning. Definitely get the recommended pearl necklace-- it was perfect. Also, be careful while dancing. The capped sleeves run a little small!
Silverglam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

The Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! This was my first time renting from Rent the Runway and it exceeded my expectations. I wore this dress to an evening bridal shower and it was perfect. This could easily be worn to a day time wedding, depending on the jewelry that you wear with it. It's very dainty and so comfortable. I usually wear size 4 regular/6 petite and the 4 fit perfectly. This is a great option for us petite girls, no adjustments necessary and you don't have to worry about the hem. I highly recommend renting this dress! I wore my own vintage rhinestone collar and complemented the style of the dress perfectly. I can't wait to rent the next one for the wedding!!!
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Felt unique in this style dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing my hair in a high bun and pearls with this dress. I was going for a Breakfast at Tiffany's look. The dress runs big. I wore a 0 and it still felt a little big.
Mariel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Great Dress! Perfect fit.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress. Received lots of complements.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Having the most amazing dress to wear at a price I could actually afford!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my bridal "cocktail party" (an untraditional shower) and it was amazing. It fit like a glove (Tibi dresses run a tad big so I wear a 4 in their dresses) and I received tons of compliments. The one issue I did have was the cap sleeves were restrictive so I couldn't lift my arms to even 90 degrees without giving everyone a show. It was very short, but I'm comfortable with short skirts, but I did notice that the size 6 had some extra length on top of the size 4 so as you go up in size the dress gets longer. All in all, I loved the dress and I can't wait to order another Tibi dress again very soon!
Marissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 11, 2012

Wish I could have kept this dress forever!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly (true to size). Color is almost a lavendar. So stylish - so many compliments. Wore for one of my best friend's rehearsal dinner & was perfect.
meryl
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

Love it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, SO CUTE and flattering. I am 5'4 117 lbs, pretty small on top and the 0 fit me perfectly! Highly recommend
amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

loved this dress with the pearls

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Runs true to size, cinches at the waist, fabric does not have much give
Whitney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 19, 2012

This dress was great i ended up wearing it to the rehearsal dinner AND the wedding! Super comfy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit is true to size. I am normally a 4-6 and wore the 6. I also rented the pearl necklace which was a great touch!
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 19, 2012

Cute

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is cute and was appropriate for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding that I was in. The fabric is gorgeous - much nicer than it looks in the photos. This dress was a little snug on top (although I'm sure fine for a normal to smaller bust), and I could barely move my arms (there is no give at all in the sleeves) - which is the only reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Overall great dress for the occasion!
WebGirl79
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Customer service was excellent!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits true to size, very high quality fabric. Color is a pretty pale lavender, not beige or nude as pictured. Very classic look.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

I loved this dress! Perfect for the rehearsal dinner of a wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4 or 6 in RTR dresses. I thought this dress worked better as a 4. It was the perfect length on me (not too long & not too short). I also loved that the material was a bit thicker so you could tell it was a really well-made, designer dress. I received a ton of compliments. This is one of my fav RTR rentals!
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

I LOVED this dress! Cute and fun with a little added drama of the printed lace detail.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super cute. I wore this to a Fall wedding and had a ton of great comments from fellow guests. The fit was true to size. I loved the boat neckline and capped sleeves. For a women with large breasts this dress fit them perfectly and kept them held up all night.
jocelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

Classy looking dress! Body of dress not fitted enough, sleeves too tight on arm. Fabric does not giv

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great to wear for a wedding, but my red shoes got more compliments than the dress I rented. The fit wasn't really flattering to my body- bodice wasn't fitted enough, but the size 2 was way too tight on my arms. This is a shorter dress, but I wanted that short dress- high heels look :) I would recommend for ladies with more slender arms than mine though! This dress is perfect for some rockin' accessories.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Classy...chic...GORGEOUS. Fits like a glove.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Since this was my first time using RTR, I was a little nervous about the dress/experience. As promised, the dress came on time and the packaging was so cute! Tried on the dress and was pleasantly surprised it fit like a glove - almost like it was made for me! This dress makes a statment on it's own, so I went with minimal jewels - just a sparkly bracelet and diamond studs. I got so many compliments on this dress - highly recommended!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

I felt like it was so ME!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I don't have anything bad to say about this dress. I would buy it. I felt darlin in it. Was perfect for a petite person length-wise, but I think it would work for most body types. I wore it to a work event, but am dying to rent it again for one of our polo matches and add a hat!!!
Antonina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Looked Impeccable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my sister's engagement party which was an afternoon brunch at an expensive restaurant. This dress was perfect for a daytime cocktail party. I was very impressed with the fit overall, especially how slimming it was considering the horizontal stripes. I rented this in a size 2 and a size 4. The cap sleeves on the size 2 were a little restrictive, but the fit of the dress overall was perfect so it was fine for the occasion. The sleeves on the size 4 were more comfortable, but I was swimming in the waist and skirt. I don't think I would rent this dress for a party that had dancing because the skirt was quite short (mid-thigh on me) and the sleeves limited my range of motion. I received many compliments on this dress and I would definitely rent other dresses from this designer in this style.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Very cute... problematic sleeves

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bridal shower brunch and dress was very cute and true to size. The color is actually a grey/lilac, very pretty. The cap sleeves were problematic. It did not allow for full range of motion at the shoulder and so I had to keep my arms at my side... not ideal for an occasion with dancing. Overall, happy with the dress.
Maggie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Comfortable, fun and flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for the Virginia Gold Cup Horse Races. It was a day event in May - while the weather was hot that day, the dress was light colored and does not show prepiration. Overall, the dress was flattering and comfortable. I received tons of compliments throughout the day on my outfit.
anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Everything was perfect! My rental came on time and it made for an unforgettable evening.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner. I got many compliments! When I first saw the dress online I thought it was white and black, but it is actually a light gray and black. It is true to size. This was actually my back up dress! I will be renting again!
Kelly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Absolutely loved this dress!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was true to size. Loved the material of this dress and even though the sleeves are somewhat constricting, they are worth it! The length was perfect and the light lavender color is gorgeous. I would definitely recommend this dress. Only con was that the fit is somewhat awkward to sit in. Definitely would rent again! Excuse the selfy in the bathroom, but wanted to share a full length photo!
Jessica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Loved loved loved this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress with black tights for my fall bridal shower in WI. Got sooo many compliments. Would definitely use RTR again, it was my first time and it was a great experience!
Katherine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

We got so many compliments!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was comfortable and true to size. The fabric was the perfect weight and did not wrinkle.
nikki
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Feel good, look good! Chic but also young and fun.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress worked like a charm, arrived on time, two sizes, worked out perfectly. I paired it with pearls but many options work!
Morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

The dress was perfect for the wedding shower, it was classy, pretty and fit beautifully!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit true to size, it's fitted at the top and a little bit fuller at the bottom which made it very comfortable to wear. It's a bit on the shorter side but not too much.
Shannon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Cute dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress!! I wore the 6, but probably could've done a 4- however it wasn't available when I needed it.
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

I got compliments all night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs large. Right now, I'm a pretty standard size 2, but I found the 2 to be way to big. The 0 actually fit perfectly, and wasn't small anywhere - even in the arms, which other reviewers sounded like they had issues with. I was able to dance - until late into the night - without a problem. I was stopped about this dress over and over. One girl even asked if it was from RTR! It was a unanimous hit! I loved pairing it with ladylike hair and tougher gunmetal/pearl accessories. I'd definitely wear it again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×