Tibi

High Tea Dress

$75 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This prim and proper Tibi dress gives the classic sheath an update with modern stripes and a trompe d'oeil lace print. To make this look extra feminine, pair with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Product Details

Printed pale lilac and black striped silk twill with trompe l'oeil lace pattern. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. V back. Gathered waist detail. Hidden back zip. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
361 reviews
Fit
Large
(45)
True to Size
(299)
Small
(18)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 28, 2011
LOVE THIS DRESS!! I'm a size 34A and normally a size 2 but fit into a 0 here. the arms can be hard to lift, but who cares when you look this good!!!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
June 28, 2011
I LOVED this! I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and it was a hit! The dress is lavender and black but its subtle. I also found that the dress ran true to size. I didn't want to send it back. I will rent it again for sure. Enjoy ladies!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 7, 2011
This dress was so great! I wore it to my sister's high school graduation and received compliments ALL day. I agree that the sleeves are a little restrictive, but it's just the cut of the dress. Also it is lavender. I got the 0 and the 2. The 0 was a little tight on my bust but fine without a bra, and fit perfectly. The 2 was too big everywhere.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 13, 2011
I wore this dress to a dinner cruise for my office. My only complaint was that it was a bit short on me. I was suprised it was a pale pink instead of black & white coming out of the bag, but overall looked great and I got quite a few compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 24, 2011
Super cute dress. It was perfect for my bridal shower without the necklace. The color is a light grey lilac where it looks white, but still super cute. The only thing I didn't like about it was that the lace isn't a real lace overlay, just part of a design on the fabric. I got lots of compliments and it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2011
This dress is really cute in person. It's a light lavender and the black "lace" is printed on. I was afraid the shoulders would be a bit too much but it's very subtle. The dress fits true to size (I'm 5'5 and 130lbs) and a 4 fit perfectly. I wore it to a fall wedding and received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
September 21, 2011
GORGEOUS dress that fit like a glove! While it looks like lace, it is just a lace pattern - but I thought it still looked fab. The material is wonderful and I was comfortable the whole night through. Be forewarned that at 5'7" I found it to be a little short, but it wasn't TOO short. I could still sit comfortably and not look indecent. Also, don't plan on doing a lot of dance movements that require your to raise your arms over your head - the cap sleeves are just a tad bit restrictive in that situation. But overall, I loved it and I had a hard time parting with this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 21, 2011
This dress really is great. I wore it to my bridal shower, which was a brunch held at a restaurant in the city. It was completely appropriate and I received a lot of compliments. I think it's pretty versatile and could be worn for many occasions throughout the fall.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 28, 2011
I wore this dress to a Rehearsal Dinner for a wedding I was in. The sleeves puffed out from my shoulders, yet felt restrictive at the same time. Not a problem though. The dress fit well, but was NOT a knock out. I'm 165 # and the 12 fit great.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2011
Rented this for a rehearsal dinner and loved it. Definitely runs true-to-size. I normally wear a 6 in dresses but have full hips so was a little worried this would be snug. Turns out the 4 & the 6 fit but I thought the bigger size was more length-appropriate. Would definitely recommend, looks great on.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2011
Super cute dress, I wore it to a wedding brunch. My only complaint are the sleeves..they have no give to them, so you can't raise your arms. I was actually unable to pull my hair up because I couldn't raise my arms = awkward moment lol. I paired the dress with a black belt and heels. Very well made, true to size, maybe a touch big.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2011
I loved this dress, but my chest is too big for it. The way the sleeves were cut, part of my chest was spilling out of the side of the sleeve and it did not look good. It fit great everywhere else. So if you are below a D, this dress will probably work great for you!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2011
I love love this dress. As others noted, it's more of a pale purple than a white color, but it's very pretty. I am normally between an 8 and 10, so I got both. The 8 fit right through the hips and waist, but squished my top half, so I ended up wearing the 10. It also gave me a bit more room for dancing since the cap sleeves were fine unless you tried to raise your arms. Generally the dress was stunning and I got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 26, 2011
That I was so comfortable I forgot I rented it! :)
I loved this dress, I wore it to a late summer wedding and got so many compliments! Runs very true to size although, taller girls: it is a little short... but not enough where I was constantly pulling it down or anything. Also - it is a light lavender, not white, where the stripes are around the waist. I might have to rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
October 31, 2011
The ease of ordering, delivery, and return shipping. It impressed my mom!
This dress was fabulous for my role as wedding guest. It was modest enough for me to be comfortable and not worried about any wardrobe malfunctions, but was fabulous enough to make a great impression. Lilac/lavender isn't a color I usually wear, but I was not disappointed. This was my first rental, but won't be my last. Renting and returning the rental was super easy, give it a try!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2011
Loved this dress
Loved this dress and so did everyone else. One of my friends saw it and got online and rented it for a rehearsal dinner. Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 19, 2011
Lovely dress
First off, I am a combination of strange measurements (4'10", 30D, 23, 36), so I expect to have fit issues. I really liked this dress, but I would have benefitted from a slightly smaller and shorter cut in the bodice. It wasn't so oversized that it was a problem, but I definitely had extra room at the bust and waist. The only thing that annoyed me was the weird cut of the arms. Since I'm quite short, the arm openings hung low on me and you could see a bit of the sides of my bra at times. However, I don't think this would be the case on a taller person. My favorite detail was the V back, which was so flattering. I received lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 23, 2011
LOVE! LOVE!
I am so happy I rented this dress for my wedding shower. It was my first time renting and I had been looking through the website for months trying to narrow down what I would wear. I went with this one after reading the reviews becuase 1. I loved how it looked and 2. I actually loved it even more when I read that it was a light purple color. It fit perfectly and the women at the shower couldn't believe that I had rented it because it fit so well. I received so many compliments and many of the women emailed me the following day to say that they had created a RTR account so that they could start renting. One thing I was surprised to see was that the dress is all one layer. In the picture it almost looks like the black is a separate lace layer, but it's just part of the design on the dress. It is still absolutely beautiful and the capped sleeves make it so much more elegant and classy. I also went all out and ordered the necklace that the model is wearing. It looks great with the dress, and then jewelry was one less thing I needed to worry about for the shower! :) I can't wait to rent again for my bachelorette party and rehearsal dinner! I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2011
designer taste, discount budget!
The size six fit like a glove! not too tight, not too long, and very flattering. i got a size 4 also but it was tight at the sleeves and not very comfortable. Shoulders aren't padded but structured to look like they are. Not something i would recommend for someone wanting to look sexy, but for a quirky, unique and attention grabbing look this dress is spot on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
Dainty dress!
This dress was super pretty and very appropriate for Easter Sunday church service and brunch. However, it was a little tight in the shoulders and I thought that the detailing on it was real lace. It is NOT. It is a print. Still very pretty though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2011
Holiday Party Gem
Wore this dress to an office holiday party. Very tasteful. The material isn't what you would think it would be. Needs to be accessorized
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2011
Everyone loved the dress and the coordinating pearls. It's an unbeatable combination!
I rented this dress for a fall wedding in Philadelphia. It was perfect for the occasion. I'm 5'4, 120 pounds and the 2 fit perfectly. I also rented the necklace pictured and wore with black pumps with no tights. The dress was a bit longer on me than the model, which I liked since it was for a Catholic wedding. I would definitely recommend renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 2, 2011
got tons of compliments
i loooved this dress and received tons of compliments on it i wanted to keep it! i am usually a 6 and i got the dress in a 6 and an 8 and ended up wearing an 8 just because it was more comfortable although the 6 fit well too. it is a very pretty dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 3, 2011
Loved!
I wore this dress to meet my boyfriends grandparents and it was perfect. Super flattering and conservative without being stuffy. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2011
The dress arrived on time & no hassle trying to return the dress after wearing it.
I saw this dress on RTR and fell in love! Read the reviews that the dress ran big, so I got a 2 and a 4. The 2 fit but the 4 was a little more comfortable with the capped sleeves at the top. Got plenty of compliments! Wore opaque tights and a strand of pearls to complete the outfit for the winter wedding in York, PA.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2011
True to Size.
This dress was very cute and true to size. The pattern on the dress is very pretty. It was a cold night in the city for the wedding I attended, so wore it with black tights and black pumps.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 21, 2011
It was classy and dressy, but not too over the top!
I rented this for a bridal shower that was actually at a tea salon. It couldn't have been more perfect! Everyone loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 1, 2012
Great for casual yet dressy!
This dress fit perfectly. It is a little short when you sit down so best to wear tights with it. It went great with a pair of tall boots to counter the cold weather.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2012
New Year's Eve rental
I loved the dress and it was very comfortable. The only issue was the sleeves were hard to raise your arms in, but I would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2012
Rehearsal Dinner over NYE
I loved this dress! I am 5'10" and usually wear a size 6 and wore a 6 in this dress. It fit really cute and the pattern and material were great. I wore this to a pretty nice rehearsal dinner over NYE weekend and it was great. Added the necklace worn in the picture and black tights. At 5'10" I was worried it would be too short, but it was just fine, especially with tights! One issue was the chest...I am large chested and it was tight across my boobs (why I wore the 6 and not the 4). But I still loved it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2012
Perfect
Wore this for NYE. Ordered a 4 with no backup size and it fit fine. I normally wear a 4. (34C-27-37; 5'5''). Plenty of "wiggle" room in the hips because it is not fitted. The waist was fitted and was a tad loose, but nothing that would make the dress appear too big. I wore this with sheer black tights and suede peep toe heels. Got several compliments on this. Loved the dress. Also, the lace is hand-painted. Not actual lace. Makes this dress look more classy and pretty.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113lbs
January 11, 2012
the number of compliments I got at someone's wedding sealed the deal. It was a great dress. Even the bride complimented me!
I absolutely loved this dress. It is unique and definitely makes you stand out as being trendy yet classic all at the same time. It fits beautifully, is just the right length and cut and the fabric is lovely and comfortable! I got so many compliments at a wedding that I felt like all eyes were on me. I hated to part with the dress. Great renting experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 25, 2012
So cute, SO short
I absolutely adored this dress and it was much better in person than expected from the photos. The detailing was so cute, and the shoulders were a good look as well (and not as restrictive as one might expect, and I have broad shoulders!). Unfortunately, this dress was FAR too short to be appropriate, even with opaque black tights. My regular size (4) fit perfectly everywhere else, and perhaps was even a tiny bit loose through the stomach and certainly had plenty of room at the hip, but it barely cleared my rear. Sitting down was wildly inappropriate. The back up size was no better. Unfortunately I was unable to wear this darling dress because of the length issue. Such a shame, as it fit perfectly everywhere else and I am not even that tall (5'7"ish). RTR was great and responsive about the fit issue, but it's still a disappointment as this dress is super cute! Rent if you're short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 1, 2012
Pretty & comfy
I rented this for a Sunday luncheon. Wore it with black tights and a chunky black glass-bead necklace (and red lips for an extra punch). I got so many compliments. And best of all, it was soft and not too tight (i.e., I could go to town at lunch and not feel uncomfortable). I'm typically either a size 2 or 4, but in this instance I needed something in between. The 2 was a little tight, the 4 was a little big. I'd recommend ordering down one size for your back-up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
February 9, 2012
Tibi High Tea Dress
I rented this for my wedding shower and LOVED it! I got tons of compliments. I wore the 6 but could have gotten away with the 4, but the hem on the 4 was loose. I would definitely wear this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2012
Feeling great on the arm of my guy supporting a big moment in his career!
I am in love with this dress! I originally rented it as my back-up V-day dress, but ended up having a cocktail attire TV premiere to attend for my boyfriend the very next night & this dress was absolutely perfect for that! I wore it with opaque black tights (I'm 5'9"). The length was by no means too short for my tastes, just maybe a little short for such a formal event. Compliments poured in all night & even on facebook the next day!. I would rent this again anytime & wish I owned it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 19, 2012
Wedding shower
I rented this for a wedding shower and it was perfect. I ordered a size 2 and 4, and ended up wearing the size 2 because it fit better in the middle. I could have worn either size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2012
Classy and Fun
This dress is a perfect combination of sweet and sexy. I'm a true size 6, and this proved tts. I rented the necklace in shown on the model, and it was a hit. I'd rent or even buy this dress again. It's perfect for any classy occasion - shower, date, family affair. LOVE!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2012
Tons of compliments!
I attended an afternoon tea party at the Drake Hotel on Michigan Avenue in Chicago and must say that I stood out from the crowd! Since it was afternoon tea and the day of the Kentucky Derby, I added a fun black fascinator and also the pearls worn by the model. It was a bit short for me, but the tights helped. As you can see from the group photo...I think I stood out in this dress! I also got double wear out of it this past weekend and wore it to dinner a fun little French Bistro with my fiance...he loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 14, 2012
30th Birthday dress!
I love this dress! I ordered a 4 and 6 and both of them fit me. I would actually say the 4 fit me better on top, but then the arms were more restricting/tight and I wanted to be able to dance so I went with the 6. Also note, I have a small rib cage & small shoulders so if you are my height and weight a 4 could be too small. I would say it was a little short but with black tights I felt totally comfortable. If you are tall like me and you didn't have tights and had to sit, it could get a bit risky! You can also wear this with a normal bra. I added a black patent skinny belt, a chunky black necklace, black tights, and black high heeled oxfords. I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×