Rent the Runway

Tibi

High Tea Dress

$75 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This prim and proper Tibi dress gives the classic sheath an update with modern stripes and a trompe d'oeil lace print. To make this look extra feminine, pair with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed pale lilac and black striped silk twill with trompe l'oeil lace pattern. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. V back. Gathered waist detail. Hidden back zip. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

359 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 296
Large 45
Photos 158
AF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Oct 6, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
ADORABLE dress!! Perfect for countless fall events. Do know that this dress is not black and white - refer to the product details before ordering!
LC
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Oct 21, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to my wedding shower. I am pretty petite and was at first nervous about the sleeves. They stood out farther on me than on the model. But I wore it and got a ton of compliments. Its a really pretty dress. I do think it looks best with some sort of layered necklace.
Taren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 25, 2010

Overall fit: Large
This dress was perfect for the 2pm fall wedding I attended. I felt it was big through the bust and the sleeves were restrictive when I was dancing, but I got a ton of compliments.
MV
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 28, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a great dress but I don't think it works well on tall girls. I'm 5'9 and my measurements are 33/27/36. I ordered a sizes 4 and 6 because I was concerned about the length of the dress. The 4 was big around the waist and way too short, when I lifted my arms up my butt was showing! I probably needed a size 2 to fit my waist, but I'd imagine that would be even shorter. Very sad that I this didn't work out. Shorter girls will probably have luck with this but us tall chicks need to find something else.
JBC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 3, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely stunning! The only thing I would warn against is the color. What looks white/cream in the photo is actually a light silvery lavender. Still looks amazing though!
BAB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 7, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! It is so adorable, people were dying over it. I will absolutely rent again!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I saw this dress and loved the lace look print, I order it as a second rental so I figured for $25.00 why not? I only got the dress in a size 0 and it fit true to size but runs a little tight on the chest and shoulders. I only wore it to dinner but my husband loved it and I will definitely be renting this again for some event so I can show it off more!
PG
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Nov 16, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress so much it was hard to send back! I wore it for my bridal shower and got a ton of compliments. Perfect length for a petite figure (5'3). A little tight around the bust, but not uncomfortable.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 19, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress, although I have broad shoulders, so the sleeves would creep up over my shoulders when I lifted my arms at all. Beautiful design.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Nov 21, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I read the reviews that it can be tight in top/shoulders but the size 2 fit me perfectly (34B). A fashion designer complimented the shoulder detail!
SW
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 4, 2010

Overall fit: Large
It looks like actual lace, but it's not! Just a print. This is not a typical Tibi-style dress, but I like the structure... makes it hard to look fat. The sleeves work, trust me. But beware of the size, this dress definitely runs big. People stretch it out. I should have gone 2 sizes smaller than what I normally am, instead of 1, as the RTR rep suggested. I wore it with the suggested necklace. Bigger earrings work, but if you're a 0-4 size, get a necklace with less layers. The pearls are a lot more than they look! - but still, it works. :) good luck.
CBM
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
Dec 26, 2010

Overall fit: Large
I LOVED THIS DRESS! It was a little big around the waist but it was totally my fault in ordering the wrong size. Perfect for a petite girl, my measurements are 34, 28, 37. I should have ordered a size 4 but ordered a 6 anticipating that I gained a couple of pounds during Thanksgiving. Oh well, my bad. But it still looked great! Highly recommend the layered necklace look too! Perfect accessory!
crryan36
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Dec 30, 2010

Overall fit: Large
I really love the look of this dress, and for being a shorter girl, the length was perfect on me. But I found even the size 0 to be way too big in the chest and waist. I normally fit into a size 0/2 and I was disappointed I couldn't wear this because it really is an amazing dress.
SL
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 31, 2010

Overall fit: Large
Very cute!! Super comfortable but does run a bit big around sleeve area.
vm212
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Amazing dress! Definitely note that it's not black and white, but black and a light lavender (very pretty!). The dress is made of great quality material. Fits well all around except for the sleeves when you raise your arms, but it didn't bother me enough to regret renting it. I got a ton of compliments all night. I didn't wear it with a necklace, but a bangle and a black beaded belt instead. I highly recommend this dress, it's unique and beautiful!
Jax
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Awesome and amazing dress. It looks fantastic with the pearls =)
acv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
FUN FUN FUN dress! Wore this to a work party and got countless compliments. This dress is comfortable to wear, and effortless. I ordered a size 2 and a size 4. I ended up wearing the 2, although I could've easily fit in a 0, but it would've been too short on me. I am 5'7 and around 125 lbs. The top was a lot looser than the skirt, but that could be because my thighs are a little thick. Would absolutely rent this dress again!
itims
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I'm size 4 or 6. I got the 6 for this one and it worked perfectly since I'm wider around the hips. I got tons of compliments.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED this dress. Wore it for a date night with my boyfriend and got tons of compliments in the restaurant. Wore with black tights to "dress down" a little. My 2nd dress didn't work out so I ended up wearing it again for NYE and got tons of compliments again. Pearls were perfect with it. Wore with sheer black hose like the ones shown. Will definitely rent again.
sophiemarie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 31, 2011

Wow!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful, and definitely has a more purple tint to it than is shown online. The lace pattern is gorgeous - from far away it looks like real lace. The only reason I didn't give this dress a five star rating is because I found that the fabric snagged easily, so renters should be cautious. Additionally, the structured shoulders were a bit big on me since I have pretty narrow shoulders.
Gloria
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 19, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I wore this dress on my birthday and got a dozen compliments. It has a slight sheen to it so I wore it with black stockings and flats to dress it down. I'm 125 lbs and a 36DD, normally anywhere from a 4-8. I didn't know if there was any stretch to the fabric, so I went with just read that everyone said about the dress running large and having plenty of room in the top and ordered a 4 and 6. The 4 was perfect. Moral of the story: adorable, able to be dressed down or up, plenty of room in the bust, and overall runs large. Get a size or even two sizes smaller.
ShadesMac
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Mar 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I really like the look of this dress, but it was just too short for me. I couldn't bend over! Thank goodness RTR sends two sizes! While the 0 fit, I went with the 2 because it was longer, and I cinched the waist with a thick black belt (very cute). I was kind of surprised that the lace detailing isn't REAL lace...just a design on the dress. If you're going to an event where you don't have to move or bend much, this dress is fabulous. If I didn't have a toddler to chase, I may have stuck with the size that actually fit in the waist and shoulders.
Ambolynne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is flattering and classy. Totally pretty. I don't recommend wearing this dress if you need full mobility in your arms. The length is appropriate, not too short, which is usually an issue for me. I thought the dress was b&w, not lavendar...
AF
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was perfect for my engagement party! I wore a chunky multi-strand pearl necklace from J Crew and it went perfect. I usually wear a 6, but I ended up wearing the 8 because I couldnt lift my arms above my head. This might be because I have a very large bust. Either way this dress was great.
Barbie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress. It was elegant and sophisticated. I rented a 4 and a 6 . The 6 fit better around my bust and stomach area. The 4 created an illusion of a large stomach and had extra fabric above my butt in the back area of dress in a size 4. The 6 fit perfectly. I had fun wearing this dress. I could not have made a better decision for to wear this to attend the wedding of a high school classmate of mines. Chic and timeless. I loved.
AustinEm
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Apr 6, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I loved this dress. I wore this to my wedding shower this past weekend and received so many compliments. I think the dress runs a little big. I'm small but also fairly curvy so I sometimes wear a 2, but in this dress the 2 hung off me and the 0 fit perfectly. It definitely needs a necklace or something similar to soften the neckline, so I rented one similar to what the model's wearing.
SK2011
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Love, love, loved this dress! I wore this for my bridal shower and received so many compliments. I ordered a 0 and it fit perfectly. I have a larger bust for my size so I was worried it may be snug around the chest, but I didn't have any problem. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE THIS DRESS! Rented this for my wedding shower in the end of April, and it was perfect. Much more beautiful in real life than in picture, and is unlike any dress I've ever seen. Tons of compliments! Usually wear a 10, but ordered 10 and 12. 12 was way too big...probably could have gotten an 8. Wore with nude heels and no real jewelry and it was perfect.
Amber
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
May 12, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I have a full bust but i'm also petite, so it was a little tight in the bust, but everywhere else it fit perfect to my size. I got a lot of compliments on this and would rent it again.
LP
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is super sweet looking and would be perfect for a variety of events. Fits very true to size, but a little tight in the chest (I'm a 34D) but still wearable. Note that the dress is actually lilac and black, not black and white.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I was really happy that I read the reviews before I rented this because the dress is not white! It was good to know that ahead of time. The dress was really cute on and I got a lot of complements; however, I could not lift my arms above my chest because the sleeves were really restricting. I wouldn’t recommend renting this if you are going to be doing anything active, like dancing. It’s a “sit there and look pretty” kind of a dress.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109 lbs
Jun 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I can't say enough nice things about this dress! I wore it to a work event and got sooo many compliments. It is flattering but very classy and conservative. I highly recommend it!
KS
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Jun 6, 2011

Overall fit: Large
The dress is really cute. I think it's a little more appropriate for winter or fall. The color of the dress is more of a cream color.
Gabby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE THIS DRESS!! I'm a size 34A and normally a size 2 but fit into a 0 here. the arms can be hard to lift, but who cares when you look this good!!!!!
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Jun 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I LOVED this! I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and it was a hit! The dress is lavender and black but its subtle. I also found that the dress ran true to size. I didn't want to send it back. I will rent it again for sure. Enjoy ladies!
Alex M.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was so great! I wore it to my sister's high school graduation and received compliments ALL day. I agree that the sleeves are a little restrictive, but it's just the cut of the dress. Also it is lavender. I got the 0 and the 2. The 0 was a little tight on my bust but fine without a bra, and fit perfectly. The 2 was too big everywhere.
clairehamm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a dinner cruise for my office. My only complaint was that it was a bit short on me. I was suprised it was a pale pink instead of black & white coming out of the bag, but overall looked great and I got quite a few compliments.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jul 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
this dress will look fabulous on everyone! I LOVED it. size up if you want it to be a little longer because it was veryyyy mini on me!
lalalauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 30, 2011

Overall fit: Large
The pictures do not do this dress justice. So adorable, classy and the perfect dress for any occasion. I thought this dress ran a little big, inordered a zero and it was a bit big in the chest. All in all loved this dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×