You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
High Tea Dress
Rental $75 Retail $495
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This prim and proper Tibi dress gives the classic sheath an update with modern stripes and a trompe d'oeil lace print. To make this look extra feminine, pair with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.
Chat with a Stylist
Printed pale lilac and black striped silk twill with trompe l'oeil lace pattern. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. V back. Gathered waist detail. Hidden back zip. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos155

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Feb 19, 2013
Flattering and comfortable!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is my 5th rental and possibly my favorite dress so far. This dress is different and feels special, but is very versatile so you can wear it to a bar, a wedding, NYE party...etc. The colors are actually light grey and black (with a little sheen in the fabric), not white and black as it appears to be on the model. The cap sleeves are very flattering on girls who might not like their shoulders and the waist isn't tight at all. I'm a true size 4 and this dress fit perfectly. If you want to choose a back-up size I'd go smaller unless you have a big bust or broad shoulders...then I'd go up a size.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Feb 18, 2013
Unique and classy dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress at the last minute for a fundraiser at work and it was the perfect mix of fun and sophisticated. The dress fit perfectly and is great for pear-shapes since it is fitted on the top with an a-line skirt. I wore it with black tights since it was an event in January. I did feel that when I was sitting down, it would be too short for the type of work event I was attending without the tights. I got lots of compliments on the dress and would love to rent it again or own it. If I was going to wear it again, I would add a chunky necklace for a little more sparkle.
julianne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Feb 11, 2013
Everyone loved it!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
A little short but not as much as the picture shows. Wore it with off white snack skin heels. Super chic!
McKenna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Feb 11, 2013
Perfect Fit, Perfect Dress!! RTR did it again:)
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tibi is one of my all time favorite designers and this dress did not disapoint!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3534
Nov 12, 2012
Th crabby bridesmaid at this wedding finally had something nice to say... about my dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is short, but the cap-sleeve shoulders help to balance it out. The fabric has a nice sheen that looks really lovely with pearls, too.
Jana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2623
Feb 7, 2013
Felt bedazzled on my b-day!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my back-up dress but boy am I glad I ordered it because my first choice didn't fit at all! Wore this for my suprise b-day party & felt beautiful! I can't tell you how many compliments I received througout the evening on how gorgeous this dress was! The material is a very high quality silk and the cut is very flattering. I do agree that the arms are a bit constrictive (not in circumference) but the way the inside seams are sewn flat against the arms. Nevertheless I still give it 5 stars! Wish I owned it!!
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7424
Feb 6, 2013
Loved It!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in the size larger than I normally do since the stylist recommended so, It was huge and did not fit properly at all, a night before my party I called and they were able to overnight be the smaller size and it fit perfectly. I received compliments all night and felt awesome in this dress. I would definately rent it again :)
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Feb 6, 2013
Amazing dress for a beautiful fun night!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a night out at the ballet. I wanted something classy, sophisticated, with just a hint of sexy, and this fit the bill perfectly. I paired the dress with nude heels and red accents (lips, purse, and nails) and loved every minute in it!
Lanti Michael
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Jan 28, 2013
Memorable Wedding Day at the Courthouse and dinner reception at The Coterie Room
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
For some reason size 0 fit perfectly than size 2 without feeling too snug. This dress gives enough extra room to move around. I LOVE this dress. Paired with a bangle, earring and clutch from RTR compliments were received left and right! You would love this dress to death!!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jan 28, 2013
I LOVED this dress. Got so many compliments.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am a size 8 with a larger lower half. I was afraid the skirt would be too tight, but there was plenty of room. Not form-fitting like I thought it would be. It was actually a little large on me! The material was so soft. It's a very comfortable dress to wear.
Syd
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4232
Sep 12, 2011
Classy dress, very comfortable
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first dress I rented (I was 14, so please excuse my tennis shoes). It was a beautiful dress. I ordered a size 2 for my cousin's wedding. The sleves area little awkward at first though. If you have any questions send them an email! They respond fast. Awesome work thank you Rent the Runway. At the time i was probably 5'2 120 pounds
Camille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jan 22, 2013
Perfect transitional dinner to out dress with just the right amount of class! Love!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my 25th Birthday dinner in NYC. Dress was a little tight in the shoulders and the midsection. Otherwise very comfortable. I felt dressed up but not too much and very classy - the dress is very versatile and it can be worn for most anything/events.
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 21, 2013
Fun and comfortable
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for 30th Birthday. I got tons of compliments on it. The fabric is great and the dress is very comfortable. It was perfect for dancing! I would recommend this dress to anyone!
Carrie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Jan 21, 2013
Fun, pretty and very comfortable dress! Highly recommend.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! I wore it to a black tie affair with black tights, pumps and a patent leather black/gray clutch. Because the pattern on the dress is busy, I went very simple on the jewelry - just a pearl necklace and sparkly stud earrings. I wore my hair in a bun like the model in the picture. Received many compliments and felt great in the dress - it was very comfy too! I do agree, that the cap sleeves make the dress slightly confining (challenging to dance), but definitely not a reason to deter one from choosing this dress over others. Also, because it is not tight around the waste, you do not have to worry about eating too much at your event!
Kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 12, 2013
Wore this to a fancy restaurant for my b-day dinner w/ my husband. Hostess said she LOVED my dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great fit, really no cons, except I put it on while I was getting ready and the capped sleeves made it kind of difficult to raise my arms overhead to do my hair. That's not really a con :)
Lizz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jan 12, 2013
AMAZING! Didn't want to take it off!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress came a day earlier than expected. I ordered a size 2 and 4. I went with the 4 because of my bust size and rib size...knowing i was going to a rehearsal dinner and probably going to eat and drink a lot. I'm4'10 and the length was perfect, just above the knee, making my legs look long. Everyone commented on it and the material was beautiful. I was skeptical because it looked white and black (didn't want to draw attention from the bride) but it is really a beautiful light greyish-purple. I felt 10 lbs lighter and like a rock star. I will definitely rent this dress and designer again.
Alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2322
Jan 9, 2013
This adorable Tibi dress was absolutely perfect for my 21st birthday dinner!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Initially the dress fit a bit big and was a little long for my small frame; easily solved with double-sided tape to temporarily hem it up about 3 inches. If I were to purchase the dress I'd definitely take it in a bit at the waist but I was still able to wear it and received SO many compliments!!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 9, 2013
This is a beautiful dress!! I received compliments all night!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit a little smaller than expected--glad I ordered the extra size. A little short so I wore with black tights for NYE.
Kamila
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Jan 4, 2013
Dress was AMAZING!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was AMAZING!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6534
Jan 2, 2013
This dress was comfortable and unique. I got compliments all night long! Great dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was a little tight at the top of the cap sleeve but overall was true to size, comfortable, and flattering on my larger bust.
Olivia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jan 1, 2013
Unique dress, fun and comfortable to wear.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Size 6 was a little roomy, that's why I belted it.
ChaCha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Dec 29, 2012
Adorable dress for tea with the girlfriends!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is adorable! I ordered the size 2 and 4. Usually I fit in most size 2s but sometimes I find the bust area to be small, which was the case for this dress (it fit fine at the waist). I was afraid the 4 would fit perfectly at the bust but be too large at the waist, but it fit very well! If you have a larger chest, I would recommend sizing up for your back up. Another thing to note is that the dress is actually a slight grey / lavender, it looks more white in the pictures. I loved the dress. I wore it to tea with my girlfriends and it made me feel like a proper lady!
AW123
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 12, 2012
Just lovely!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is adorable! The fit is awesome and definitely true to size. I could have worn the 4--but it was shorter. I received lots of compliments and my fiance couldn't stop saying how much he liked the dress. Loved it!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4531
Dec 15, 2012
Fun black and white dress, perfect for the holiday season!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore to a movie screening and after-party...great black and white dress, perfect around the holiday season! Expected the lace detail to be an overlay but was actually part of the fabric. Very comfortable and fun!! Usually wear a 4 or 6, the 4 wasn't available but the 6 was perfect.
courtney
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8431
Dec 15, 2012
fantastic first rtr experience!! :]
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
absolutely LOVED this dress! yes, the cap sleeves can be slightly restricting but an overall great fit. i received many compliments wearing it to a holiday party. super happy with my first rtr experience!!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2523
Dec 12, 2012
this dress got rave reviews!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The only thing I didn't love about this dress was that the sleeves are super restrictive - the way they are gut you can't lift your arms up very far. Luckily I wasn't busting out any dance moves bc it would have seriously cramped my style. Other than that I loved it - it's cute and demure but if you get the right size it's super flattering. Everyone at my office holiday party complimented me - even the next week at work!
Chelsea
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2233
Dec 10, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress and was so upset to give it back! Perfect length and fit.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sleeves make it extra stylish, and the patterns together make it so unique!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Dec 4, 2012
Felt like a million bucks going out to dinner in this dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect in all areas. I was worried about the cap sleeves at first but they were very flattering and did not cut off my upper arm. This dress was perfect for dinner as well as hanging out in the hotel afterwards. The crystal necklace was also the perfect accessory. I got so many compliments on both pieces!
stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Nov 26, 2012
Dress came with a stain and RTR overnighted one to me ASAP. Amazing customer service.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable and flattering
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6533
Nov 26, 2012
loved the dress, so pretty and got compliments on it. loved the necklace i rented with it.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
cap sleeves are definitely restricting, i went a size up because of this, to give a little more room. everyone loved the dress. it was my first time using RTR and it was so easy and fun! i definitely reccommend - i have another wedding this coming weekend im using the service again for!
Paulette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Nov 25, 2012
A timeless and classy dress that is perfect with tights.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my engagement photos. I wanted a classic dress that wouldn't be too trendy and was lady like. This dress was perfect.
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Feb 9, 2012
Tibi High Tea Dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my wedding shower and LOVED it! I got tons of compliments. I wore the 6 but could have gotten away with the 4, but the hem on the 4 was loose. I would definitely wear this again.
kk
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3434
Nov 17, 2012
strangers were asking me where i got my dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This pic is terrible but I'll add others once I track some down. I rented two dresses, the kate V neck by nicole miller and this one. The event I was going to was a charity gala and both dresses were perfect. I ended up wearing this one because it was more comfortable. It's gorgeous and definitely more of a lavendar, silver color than white. It's on the shorter side. Anyone taller than 5'6" might have to pair with tights, etc. My sister ended up wearing the other dress! We both looked and felt great and people were commenting on our dresses all night long! What was even greater was the looks peoples' faces when I mentioned I had rented them! So awesome. Can't wait to rent again! Also, I can't say enough about the fabulous customer service reps and stylists- so helpful!
lindsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Nov 14, 2012
Perfect Wedding Dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding in Houston at the end of October. I rented the size 2 and 4 (normally a pretty constant size 2 in dresses). I ended up going with the 2. As many others reviewers noted, the sleeves were a little tight, but not to the point that it was uncomfortable. I am slightly over 5' 6" and this dress was short on me, but not too short. If you are much taller, I would maybe advise for another dress. I also rented the multi-strand pearl necklace that was recommended to wear with the dress. I didn't end up wearing it as it was way too much going on in the neck area. I wore plain black pumps and simple earrings and got tons of compliments. The dress looks a lot whiter/creamier in pictures but in person it has a faint lilac hint to it, which I liked better and made the dress unique. Overall, I loved this dress and it fit perfectly. Definitely recommend!
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 14, 2012
Adorable dress - was being asked where I got it all night!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was adorable and perfect for an outdoor summer wedding. The sleeves make it a little difficult to raise your arms while dancing (if that's your thing), but other than that, the dress is really comfortable and looks so elegant! Ran slightly large, so size down. Great because you can wear a regular bra, and don't need spanx or anything. You can eat all you want with no worries.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3433
Nov 8, 2012
Great dress for my sorority's semi-formal
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a bit big, so try the size smaller! Love the cap sleeves!
ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 5321
Oct 22, 2012
Perfect dress for Masquerade Ball!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
a little long on the hemline,
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3522
Oct 25, 2012
I got compliments all night!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs large. Right now, I'm a pretty standard size 2, but I found the 2 to be way to big. The 0 actually fit perfectly, and wasn't small anywhere - even in the arms, which other reviewers sounded like they had issues with. I was able to dance - until late into the night - without a problem. I was stopped about this dress over and over. One girl even asked if it was from RTR! It was a unanimous hit! I loved pairing it with ladylike hair and tougher gunmetal/pearl accessories. I'd definitely wear it again.
Shannon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 24, 2012
Cute dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress!! I wore the 6, but probably could've done a 4- however it wasn't available when I needed it.
Morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Oct 23, 2012
The dress was perfect for the wedding shower, it was classy, pretty and fit beautifully!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit true to size, it's fitted at the top and a little bit fuller at the bottom which made it very comfortable to wear. It's a bit on the shorter side but not too much.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress