Tibi

Into the Blue Tribal Gown

$100 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Step out in style at the yacht party wearing this chic tribal maxi by Tibi. A style no one will forget. Go with eye catching accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and must be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'9'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Multi printed silk. Crew neckline. Cut-out back with tie closure. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
170 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(121)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 8, 2015
The dress was beautiful! Tons of compliments on how flattering and different it was!

This is my first time renting with rtr and my dress arrived late. I ordered it for Thursday and it came Friday. After all the stress, the dress fit beautifully. It's a little large in the bust area but the strings in the back helped me keep it up. I love tribal print so I loved this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2015
This was my first experience with rtr and I'll definitely use it again!

Perfect Dress! Was very comfortable to wear and fit very nicely.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2015
Unique, beautiful dress for a wedding

I loved this dress. It was so unique and received so many compliments. I am really glad that I got the long version because it just skimmed the ground with flats. The regular would've been too short for me. Perfect service and experience with RTR, as always.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 14, 2012
glad I chose this special dress for my special night!

I rented this dress for prom and while I was initially worried about it arriving on time, fitting properly, etc., I am pleased to say that everything worked out perfectly! It was comfortable, flattering, easy to move in, and all around gorgeous. Tons of people complimented the dress and it definitely stood out and got noticed in a good way. It does run large, so ordering a size down for the second size is the best bet.

MargotMay 14, 2012
Did you wear a bra with it? I'm concerned about the fit for us ladies with a larger chest!
RTRMay 14, 2012
Hi Melanie, this style cannot be worn with a standard bra however it can be worn with a NuBra
MelanieMay 14, 2012
the material is kind of thin so you'll probably want to wear something, but I didn't wear a bra. I got some stick on shapers by lingerie solutions from target and that worked.
JenniferMay 14, 2012
I love your earrings!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 9, 2012
my teachers and classmates loved the dress , so did my make-up artists at Sephora, they said it was the most original dress they a all year

was used for prom

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
June 13, 2012
Everyone loved the back of the dress

I loved this dress, it was very unique. I usually wear a size 2-4, but got a 0 as a backup size and it fit perfectly. I would suggest sizing down.

AnneJune 13, 2012
at 5'1'' did you find the dress to be too long?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
July 31, 2012
The entire process was so easy and I was able to wear I dress I had loved for months!

I ordered the long based on reviews, but it was too long- even with heels. I loved the dress and got tons of compliments, but it ran a little big. Would still highly rate this dress!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 5, 2012
runs large

I wore this for a wedding and it was gorgeous. The dress is stunning but I had the sizing off a little. I am 5'4"-5'5" but the 2L was wayyyyy too long. Unfortunately the other size I got was a size 0R (I am normally a 2-4 but they were out of 2R), so it was a little snug right at the waist but still wearable. The R was good with heels. It was my first RTR but I will definitely do it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 4, 2012
Beautiful dress!

I'm 22 weeks pregnant and this hit right where I needed it to. I received compliments on this dress all night (:

Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 10, 2012
Compliments left and right..

This was my favorite dress I've ever worn to a wedding. I felt so great in it and got a lot of compliments. The open back was my favorite! After wearing it, I really want to own this dress. This entire process made me fall in love with RTR. Hope to keep experiencing good luck like I did with this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2012
This dress was amazing!

I wore this gorgeous dress to a friend's beach wedding in Florida. I should've taken a back shot, that's the best part of the dress! Everyone loved it, it was the perfect dress for the occasion. The dress runs large, I think if I ordered the 0 it would have been a better fit. Since I was at the beach I didn't wear heels and ordered the regular length. Wish I could buy this dress, it's BEAUTIFUL!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2012
Loved it! Perfect for a summer cocktail event!

This ran a little large, so I would suggest ordering your normal size and a size down to see what the best fit is.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 17, 2012
Great Dress!!

Top was a little loose on me, but overall great dress. The open back was sexy but not tacky in any way... Got a lot of complements.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
I LOVED this dress, so comfortable and glamorous!

I'm 5'8" and luckily ordered the regular length, it was very long (perfect for me) and i wore 3.5" heels. I can't imagine how long it would have been if i ordered the Long length.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 16, 2012
This was perfect! a quick and painless process! and best of all, super cheap!

This dress was amazing!!! I rented it for my prom, and it was perfect. It was classy and unique. I got SO MANY compliments! I would definitely recommend ordering a size down for your 2nd size, as it was a tad loose, but it really wasnt a problem.

japeraApril 16, 2012
how tall were the heels you wore?
RachelApril 16, 2012
probably about 5 3/4 in
RachelApril 16, 2012
the color in my pictures is pretty spot-on as to what it looks like in person
AfuaApril 16, 2012
thank u i'm renting it for my prom too , is the blue dark or light the description says cobalt but it looks lighter than that
AfuaApril 16, 2012
thank u 1 more question i'm 5'6 to did u get a long or reg
RTRApril 16, 2012
Hi Afua, Rachel wore the Regular in this style.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 6, 2013
Beautiful dress, but wasn't the right fit.

I would have loved to have worn this dress, but the 2 was a bit too tight around the waist, which did not look good with the low back, and the 4 was just too large that the dress lost all of its shape. I wish the waist had had a little stretch to it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 13, 2013
Pretty, printed maxi.

I opted not to wear this to the formal event I rented it for, since it ran a little big and wasn't as flattering as I'd expected. The RTR service was great (as always), though, and the dress might be better suited to a less formal occasion.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect for my boyfriend's formal and it was simply gorgeous!

I normally wear a 4, and after seeing other reviews I decided to go a size down, and it fit perfectly! I would definitely recommend sizing down for this dress. I the the Regular length, which was perfect with wedges. The dress was just above the ground, so nothing dragged.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2013
Bohemian Glamour!

The dress, as many other reviewers have said, is quite large so size down! I made the mistake of getting a long instead of a regular (suggested by the size chart), and the dress was far too long, even in three-inch heels. If you're on the cusp of a length according to the size chart, I'd stick with the Regular length. The bust area was a tad loose, but not significantly so. This dress is perfect if you have a bohemian style yet still want to look classy. Also, the back is gorgeous! It's open enough to show some skin but not too open. I received compliments all night and even after my prom! I completely recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it to prom, and got lots of complements.

The length was perfect for me, with 3 inch wedges. It was a little big in the back, but i used some of the tape included, and it wasn't a problem! A two probably would have fit me a little better, but the four was fine, i'm just being picky :).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
May 24, 2013
Love the tribal print, wasn't feeling the fit.

I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding. I loved the print and ease of the dress, but I didn't feel it was flattering on my body type (I think it probably looks best on less curvy girls), so I ended up wearing my backup dress. If you have a narrow or athletic body type I'd highly recommend it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 9, 2013
Perfect print, fabric, color, and open back!

I rented this for my rehearsal dinner on 4th of July and everyone loved it including me. It looks great on any body type. I am 5'7" and couldn't wear heels with the 4R. Don't forget to get a Nubra to wear with it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
July 14, 2013
Beautiful, comfortable, unique dress

Great for a black-tie wedding if you don't want to look like everyone else. Tons of people asked me where I purchased such an unusual dress! I would recommend going a size down for better fit up top--otherwise the back/under arms will gape. I rented a 4R and a 2L as the 2R was unavailable, but I ended up wearing the long because it fell better with tall (5 in) heels. Would recommend to anyone!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 12, 2013
Beautiful color & print but way too big!

I was excited to wear this dress for a friend's summer weeding. Unfortunately, when I received the dress the 2R was way too lose. I tried to make the dress work but it was very baggy in the back and throughout my chest and ribs. In retrospect I should have ordered a size down as my back up. Thankfully RTR customer service is amazing - I was able to pick a different dress and they had it sent to my office the very next day.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2013
Cute, but a little bulky

I was thinking that this would be a light and flowing maxi, but the skirt had a few more layers than I was picturing and it felt a little bulky around the hips. That being said, it did look great and I got tons of compliments, so overall it's still a good pick.

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2013
Overall, great color and pattern with flattering waistline. Highly recommend!

Runs big overall, I usually wear a 4 but the 2 fit perfectly. Was able to wear the 2L with 3.5" heels.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
September 23, 2013
Perfect!

Perfect for a wedding in the mountains!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 3, 2013
So many complimetns

ran alittle large. very comfortable.

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 19, 2014
Probably the best dress I have ever worn!!

I wore it to my sorority's formal. I got tons of compliments on it all night long. I was super comfortable and it has pockets!!! I am 5'6" and wore tall heels and the dress was still plenty long. I highly recommend this dress!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2014
I wore this dress for my Junior Prom, and received many compliments.

This dress was exactly what I wanted, and after reading reviews, I decided to wear a 2R. I had to wear a backless bra, which wasn't a problem. My only disappointment was the zipper, due to the change of material in the dress. Loved this dress and I wish I could've kept it forever!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2014
The comfort was comparable to the beauty!

I read other reviews about this dress and saw that it runs a bit big so I ordered size 4 in both regular and long lengths. I am usually a 4-6 depending on the dress but the 4L fit perfectly. Reading other reviews I thought I would need the regular length, but with flats on the 4L was the right length! The color is exquisite and the back of the dress was beautifully unique too. I was so comfortable the entire night and the pockets were great too. Overall a fantastic experience!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 13, 2014
I got a ton of complements on this dress- this great color & print made it a hit.

I ordered both the 2L and 4L. This dress definitely runs large, but short. I normally wear a 4-6, but both sizes fit. I ended up going with the 4 for length. The only downside on fit is that there's a lot of fabric in the pleats of the skirt, which I felt made me look a little bit thicker through the hips. Other than that, it was a fantastic dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 22, 2014
Loved the color and fabric

This was a replacement for one dress that wasn't in my size- so thus the Long size. Loved the top portion, obviously was a little long. I loved the open back too- very stunning. Perfect for a summer wedding- not hot to dance in!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
January 23, 2015
Beautiful dress, not for me

The dress itself was beautiful. It arrived as a backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. The length was perfect (I could have worn flats or shorter heels) which is very hard to find. I ended up not choosing to wear this dress because of the back. Because of the way that the middle section comes in, it made for an unflattering view of my back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was so comfortable even on a hot day. It was flattering and i got so many compliments

Fit a little large in the top but it was fixable with fashion tape. I would consider myself tall and the regular hit the floor with flats on.

RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
what type of shoes did you wear? I am 5'6'' and was wondering if it was long enough for heels
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi! You should definitely be able to wear a small heel with this dress!
katieSeptember 19, 2012
what type of bra did you wear with this?
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Katie! You should wear a NuBra with this dress, since the back is open!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
HIGHLY recommend! Perfect

I always get sad thinking of my beautiful prom dresses sitting in my room at home, never to be seen or worn again. I thought renting a dress would be a more efficient idea until I got this one and wanted to KEEP IT FOREVER. I produce a show that covers the Oscar Awards and wore this the morning of the event. I would suggest ordering a size down because it runs a little big. It's a bit darker in person (truly indigo blue and less purple as it looked to me in the picture.) I wore it with orange lipstick, 3 inch black heels, and bright-ish pink blush. I couldn't get a good picture of the back of the dress but it's stunning! Got a ton of compliments on it. Great 1st RTR experience!

CassandraMarch 4, 2013
About what bra size are you and did you use an adhesive bra?
CaraMarch 4, 2013
@Cassandra I got a NuBra in a D from Macy's. They run kind of small so I would suggest going 1-2 cup sizes up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 8, 2013
Lovely dress!

I am normally a size 4 but ended up wearing the size 2L so the dress does run a little big. Only thing is at 5'10 I had to wear flats...with any sort of heel the dress was too short. Other than that the dress was a hit all night! This was my first RTR experience but it definitely wont be my last!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2013
I loved this dress so much, I wanted to wear it to breakfast at a diner the next day!

I wore this dress to a spring wedding this past weekend, and I felt more beautiful than the bride! (Is that bad to say?) I ordered a 0R, because the 2R (my usual size) wasn't available the day I needed it, but luckily the 0R fit perfectly from top to bottom, so I would say it runs a tiny bit on the large side. Also, the length was perfect for flats, which I was totally happy about. I got tons of compliments all night! I will definitely be using RTR for every event from now on :)

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2013
Being a tall girl, finding a dress that fit was amazing!

I loved this dress!! The pattern is even more beautiful in person. I didn't know that there was a light blue/grey design right under the black design, it looks so beautiful! I am 5'9" and this dress brushed the ground. The open back is gorgeous and it has pockets! Received so many compliments! It runs a little big so I would order down a size then what you normally get.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 24, 2013
Loved it!

I wore this dress to a summer wedding. It was perfect! I received so many compliments all night long. The fit and the fabric were both very comfortable and the tribal detailing made it very easy to get away with not wearing a bra. The blue color of the dress was beautiful and looked great with a tan. I was a little worried about the length since I am on the short side at almost 5'3, but the dress worked perfectly with strappy heels that I purchased to wear it. I absolutely reccommend this dress!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×