Tibi

Into the Blue Tribal Gown

$100 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Step out in style at the yacht party wearing this chic tribal maxi by Tibi. A style no one will forget. Go with eye catching accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and must be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'9'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Multi printed silk. Crew neckline. Cut-out back with tie closure. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
170 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(121)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
August 18, 2014
COMFORTABLE / GORGEOUS COLOR AND PRINT!
I ended up not wearing a bra, but if you chose to, it has to be one that ends at the sides. Its super comfortable and it has pockets! My heels couldn't be that tall, and if I wasn't out of town, where I received the dress, I would have worn sandals - granted I am 6 feet tall!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 16, 2014
Such a fun dress!
I wore this dress to the President's Inaugural Ball in 2012. It was perfect -- formal, but with a little element of surprise that distinguished me from the standard DC conservative dress. I got compliments from strangers and my boyfriend loved it, too! It was just a touch long for me, but I wore it with low wedges so a higher heel could have easily fixed this. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2014
LOVE the dress!
Great fit, lots of compliments, perfect for a gorgeous beach wedding!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 6, 2014
The dress was absolutely beautiful and I received so many compliments! I loved it!
The fit was perfect - very true to size! It is backless, but I was fine without a bra. Such a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 13, 2014
I got a ton of complements on this dress- this great color & print made it a hit.
I ordered both the 2L and 4L. This dress definitely runs large, but short. I normally wear a 4-6, but both sizes fit. I ended up going with the 4 for length. The only downside on fit is that there's a lot of fabric in the pleats of the skirt, which I felt made me look a little bit thicker through the hips. Other than that, it was a fantastic dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2014
Perfect, unusual dress in a gorgeous color!
I loved how unusual this dress was. It fit perfectly, and the color was gorgeous! I wore this to a black tie wedding. I'm 5'7" and with 3" wedges it was the perfect length (I tried it on with flats and it hit the floor). I would definitely rent this for another formal wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 16, 2014
Perfectly boho-chic for rehearsal dinner at the beach.
I was just on the border of the 2 and the 4 for this, but I ended up with the 2 because it was snugger on top and I wasn't wearing a bra. I am 5'9" and the Long length was just at the floor with flat sandals on, which is exactly what I wanted. The color is beautiful, the pattern is unique, and I was able to dress it down just right with a top know and minimal jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 22, 2014
Loved the color and fabric
This was a replacement for one dress that wasn't in my size- so thus the Long size. Loved the top portion, obviously was a little long. I loved the open back too- very stunning. Perfect for a summer wedding- not hot to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
October 14, 2013
GORGEOUS COLOR!
Absolutely loved this dress! I rented this for a formal rehersal dinner downtown. I received soo many compliments! It was the perfect length to wear flats - although that was not my plan!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2014
I wanted to keep the dress forever!
I fell in love as soon as I saw it on the RTR website and had to wait for an event in order to get it. I wore it to a destination wedding at a vineyard in September. I received compliments all night. The color is more of a vibrant purple than photos show. The open back was a huge hit, however the sides gap a bit unless you tie it tightly. It runs a bit big so I would go down a side. I didn't want to take it off all night and I certainly didn't want to return it. I would recommend this to any one looking to feel great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2014
Very fun piece for a western wedding.
I received this a few hours after a HUGE lunch, so I couldn't zip it at first. RTR was to the rescue with offering to overnight, etc. but offered a refund instead. They still let me keep the accessories. I shopped and shopped all day the next day trying to find a substitute, but luckily, sans jalepenos poppers..., the dress fit. It is a TRUE TO SIZE 0, therefore was too small for me if I had not watched what I ate that day because of where the waist of the dress falls. On me, and I imagine most, it hit right at the last two or three ribs, where your waist hasn't synched up yet, and therefore, if your ribs are pushed out by any organs being actually filled or displaced, there was no way to make it work. All that aside, the dress was very fluid and easy to wear. I felt very comfortable in it once it was one, but couldn't eat very much during the ceremony. In hindsight, I would have rented a two if I had known that on my petite frame, the waist treatment would fall where it had. Keep that in mind if you are under 5'4". Super fun for a Steamboat wedding especially if you needed something western and boho, but usually find yourself falling in the simple edgy category. Thanks!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2015
Great dress! Loved the Color and pattern!
I am a fairly tall girl, and with heels I needed a longer dress. Unfortunately I could only order a 2 regular and a 4 long, and although the 4L was a little too big and hung on me, I needed the length. It still looked amazing and I got many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
January 23, 2015
Beautiful dress, not for me
The dress itself was beautiful. It arrived as a backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. The length was perfect (I could have worn flats or shorter heels) which is very hard to find. I ended up not choosing to wear this dress because of the back. Because of the way that the middle section comes in, it made for an unflattering view of my back.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 8, 2015
The dress was beautiful! Tons of compliments on how flattering and different it was!
This is my first time renting with rtr and my dress arrived late. I ordered it for Thursday and it came Friday. After all the stress, the dress fit beautifully. It's a little large in the bust area but the strings in the back helped me keep it up. I love tribal print so I loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
April 22, 2012
STUNNING!!!!
I rented this dress for an art exhibition opening and could not have received more compliments. It is an incredible fit (especially if you have a smaller chest) and the pictures do not do it justice. It was also so comfortable to wear and I felt incredible the entire night. If you are taller, or are going to wear heels I would absolutely recommend getting the longer version. I'm 5'5" and with flats it just skimmed the floor.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 14, 2012
glad I chose this special dress for my special night!
I rented this dress for prom and while I was initially worried about it arriving on time, fitting properly, etc., I am pleased to say that everything worked out perfectly! It was comfortable, flattering, easy to move in, and all around gorgeous. Tons of people complimented the dress and it definitely stood out and got noticed in a good way. It does run large, so ordering a size down for the second size is the best bet.
MargotMay 21, 2012
Did you wear a bra with it? I'm concerned about the fit for us ladies with a larger chest!
RTRMay 22, 2012
Hi Melanie, this style cannot be worn with a standard bra however it can be worn with a NuBra
MelanieJune 2, 2012
the material is kind of thin so you'll probably want to wear something, but I didn't wear a bra. I got some stick on shapers by lingerie solutions from target and that worked.
JenniferJune 8, 2013
I love your earrings!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 21, 2012
The look on my husbands face when he saw me in the dress.
I wore this dress to a Northern Michigan outdoor/indoor wedding. I received several compliments from complete strangers, many asking me where I bought such a unique, beautiful gown. I loved that it looked very elegant with no effort, simple hair, and flat shoes. I would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 9, 2012
my teachers and classmates loved the dress , so did my make-up artists at Sephora, they said it was the most original dress they a all year
was used for prom
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2012
I felt so unique and interesting in the dress!
This dress was great and really beautiful! I am 5'5", and the longer length was perfect for me with heels. I wear anything from a 6 to a 10 usually, and the 6 fit very well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
June 13, 2012
Everyone loved the back of the dress
I loved this dress, it was very unique. I usually wear a size 2-4, but got a 0 as a backup size and it fit perfectly. I would suggest sizing down.
AnneApril 12, 2013
at 5'1'' did you find the dress to be too long?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50lbs
June 26, 2012
cute dress
loved this dress but found it to be a little tight in the chest and too short waisted for me. I still wore it but I'm just a bit too long waisted for this style.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 29, 2012
Love the unique print and open back!
The silk material makes this maxi really versatile and easy to dress up if you need something that is a little more formal. It does have an open back so you would need to either wear a backless bra or nothing. I'm typically a size 6/8 and the size 6 was tighter in the bust area and more supportive. The size 8 fit great everywhere else but was a little bit looser in the bust. I wore the dress with flats and the length was perfect!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
July 31, 2012
The entire process was so easy and I was able to wear I dress I had loved for months!
I ordered the long based on reviews, but it was too long- even with heels. I loved the dress and got tons of compliments, but it ran a little big. Would still highly rate this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 5, 2012
runs large
I wore this for a wedding and it was gorgeous. The dress is stunning but I had the sizing off a little. I am 5'4"-5'5" but the 2L was wayyyyy too long. Unfortunately the other size I got was a size 0R (I am normally a 2-4 but they were out of 2R), so it was a little snug right at the waist but still wearable. The R was good with heels. It was my first RTR but I will definitely do it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
August 10, 2012
I had the best night and felt so pretty in this dress.
I loved everything about this dress and I would say it runs very true to size. I am a size4/6 and wore a 4. The length I would say is too long for flats or sandles at at my height of 5'4/5'5. I got compliments all evening-everyone was asking about my dress. I felt great in it and would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 12, 2012
Super comfy, beautiful color!
This dress was the perfect length, it fits exactly like the photo and the color blue is a little brighter than the model picture. I felt gorgeous and comfy at the same time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2012
Having a very fashionable friend say she needed this dress.
Love this dress, the back is sexy but classy. The material is so comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 17, 2012
Beautiful, comfy, and fun
I wore this dress to a wedding this summer and wish it was a permanent fixture in my closet. The fit was beautiful and the dress itself was so comfortable. The open back gives it a little bit of spice. Perfect for dancing the night away!
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2012
Loved it!
I rented this dress for a friends wedding and LOVED it! It fit great and was fun to wear. I ordered the 0L and 2L to be safe, but the 0L fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2012
I didn't want to return it!
I fit perfect. I'm an A cup so going sans bra wasn't an issue.. I wore it for a concert/ night on the town and it was a big hit!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 27, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress!
This dress is absolutely stunning in person. The color is gorgeous, the fabric is soft and flowy...the print is lovely! The photos don't do it justice. The fit is true-to-size...and some might even say it runs a bit large. Since I am busty, my true size (6) was perfect. Speaking of the girls, the dress is backless, but with the high neckline of this dress, I did not want to go without a bra, so I bought one of the adhesive backless bras from Rent the Runway, and it was perfect.
IsisJanuary 27, 2013
You look amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2012
Loved It!!
I got so many compliments on this dress. I wore the long version of this so I could high heels. So stunning and true to color!
JasmineMarch 25, 2013
Hi! How high were your heels?
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
I wore this dress to my senior formal, and I received compliment after compliment! Our formal was Oscar themed, and I was up for best dressed :) I will definitely use this website again! So easy and fun!
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments throughout the night, and I loved that I didn't have to spend a ton of money on a dress that I will only wear for one night. The dress fit perfectly, and it was super easy to return! I told everyone about this website! I will definitely use this more often.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 4, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I'm 22 weeks pregnant and this hit right where I needed it to. I received compliments on this dress all night (:
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 5, 2012
Great With Boots
I wore this dress for Labor Day BBQ at the Country Club with Cowboy boots. So comfortable too.
CharlotteSeptember 22, 2013
Was thinking about this for a western style ball and was going to wear black boots. So glad to see you said that's how you wore it! Did you get a photo of the boots showing? I'm worried about it being too long as I'm only 5'3".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 10, 2012
Compliments left and right..
This was my favorite dress I've ever worn to a wedding. I felt so great in it and got a lot of compliments. The open back was my favorite! After wearing it, I really want to own this dress. This entire process made me fall in love with RTR. Hope to keep experiencing good luck like I did with this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
September 11, 2012
Charming print and color
I was looking for a floor-length dress for a formal affair and was at first reluctant about the color and the print... but I am glad that I took the plunge. Love the graphics, and the blue was very sharp in person (and in photos). The modern design is a standout among routine floor length dresses. The upper part is a bit too large for my frame---which is expected, given that I am a petite 00---so I just tied the knot tighter at the back and went for a "ruched" look (i.e. my bow did not lie flat like the model's). FYI, I am 5'2", rented a 0R, and wore 3.5" heels. The length was just a bit too long (spilled onto the floor by half an inch), but not so long that I would trip over.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2012
Casual outdoor wedding.
This dress was fabulous. The blue was beautiful and the back was really special. It fit perfectly. The length was exactly what i wanted for flats...I wore the 2R and I am 5'8. It can definitely be dressed up or down depending on shoes/hair/accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
I loved this dress! I wore it for my birthday dinner, and it was perfect.
I usually wear a 4 or 6 in dresses, but the 4 fit perfectly. I don't really have a defined waist, but this dress gave the illusion of one. I did not feel that the top ran big or was too tight, despite being a C. I had plenty of room to breathe. After a full night of eating and drinking, the dress was still perfectly comfortable. I highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2012
This dress was amazing!
I wore this gorgeous dress to a friend's beach wedding in Florida. I should've taken a back shot, that's the best part of the dress! Everyone loved it, it was the perfect dress for the occasion. The dress runs large, I think if I ordered the 0 it would have been a better fit. Since I was at the beach I didn't wear heels and ordered the regular length. Wish I could buy this dress, it's BEAUTIFUL!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×