Into the Blue Tribal Gown

$100 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Step out in style at the yacht party wearing this chic tribal maxi by Tibi. A style no one will forget. Go with eye catching accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and must be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'9'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and must be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'9'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Multi printed silk. Crew neckline. Cut-out back with tie closure. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
168 reviews
Fit
Large43
True to Size119
Small3
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 20, 2013
Super simple process! Tons of compliments!
The dress fit perfectly and was über comfortable. No cons; this was the perfect dress!
RTR CustomerMarch 27, 2014
What did you do about the bra situation? I'm the same cup size as you and I'm worrying about the backlessness (if that's a word).
AundriettaApril 4, 2014
I wore an adhesive backless bra. I love to wear backless dresses, so they're a pretty great investment! Nordstrom has a good selection of them.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
June 13, 2013
Blue Maxi Stunner
Loved this dress for a spring wedding. The color was stunning and the statement open back was really fun to wear. The length was super comfortable to wear. I wore the Regular length with 3.7" heels and it was great with my 5' 3" height. I thought that the waist sat slightly high, or perhaps I am just realizing that I am long waisted? Either way it was fine and looked totally normal to my friends and husband.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2013
Fun, comfortable, unique!
I am large busted (34D-DD) and so I was worried that going braless would be an issue (and it's something I NEVER do); however, even with the open back, the fit was tight enough to keep things in place. The length was perfect with my 2" wedge sandals - but I am 5'6" so I imagine anyone taller would need to order the dress in Long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2013
Fun dress, beautiful color!
I loved this dress. So comfortable and fun to wear. Beautiful color - open back is awesome, but not too revealing. Very flattering and great for a formal event - can dress up or dress down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2013
Runs small in awkward places
It was way too small in the rib area. It also wasn't too flattering right below the rib cage and in the bust area. The open back is deceiving and didn't fit too comfortably. I've had great RTR dresses ... this was not one of them. I wouldn't recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2013
LOVE
I had been eyeing this dress for awhile and finally decided to rent it for a wedding this past weekend. It was just as great in person as I had hoped. Very comfortable, true to size, got many compliments. I was concerned how it would work since it's backless, but a NuBra worked great for me. I would definitely rent this again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2013
This dress is perfect!! When I walked into the party I had a one of a kind dress!! People loved it!!
The dress fits perfectly. I got my regular size and it wasn't too lose or anything. The length was also good for me and I wore 5in heels with it.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
May 25, 2013
Absolutely perfect. Best dress I've ever worn.
I was so nervous about ordering a dress that would come in the day before my prom, but I am so happy with how it turned out. It came on time and everything was perfect. I ordered a size 2 and 4 regular and the 2 fit just right, so maybe order your second size to be one size down. With 3 inch heels it was a great length. I would recommend a backless, stick on bra from Victorias Secret (which is what I got), as well as wearing your hair up to show off the back of the dress. This was definitely the best dress I have ever worn and I have never felt so beautiful with it on! It was very popular at my prom and I wanted to keep it so badly at the end of the night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
May 24, 2013
Love the tribal print, wasn't feeling the fit.
I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding. I loved the print and ease of the dress, but I didn't feel it was flattering on my body type (I think it probably looks best on less curvy girls), so I ended up wearing my backup dress. If you have a narrow or athletic body type I'd highly recommend it!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 20, 2013
The dress was so comfy and cool
The dress fit perfectly and was very comfortable.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2013
Being a tall girl, finding a dress that fit was amazing!
I loved this dress!! The pattern is even more beautiful in person. I didn't know that there was a light blue/grey design right under the black design, it looks so beautiful! I am 5'9" and this dress brushed the ground. The open back is gorgeous and it has pockets! Received so many compliments! It runs a little big so I would order down a size then what you normally get.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it to prom, and got lots of complements.
The length was perfect for me, with 3 inch wedges. It was a little big in the back, but i used some of the tape included, and it wasn't a problem! A two probably would have fit me a little better, but the four was fine, i'm just being picky :).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2013
I felt amazing in this dress and it was so comfortable!
I definitely needed the extra length, so happy it came with the long option. It was perfect for my friend's wedding and I got so many compliments on the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2013
I loved this dress so much, I wanted to wear it to breakfast at a diner the next day!
I wore this dress to a spring wedding this past weekend, and I felt more beautiful than the bride! (Is that bad to say?) I ordered a 0R, because the 2R (my usual size) wasn't available the day I needed it, but luckily the 0R fit perfectly from top to bottom, so I would say it runs a tiny bit on the large side. Also, the length was perfect for flats, which I was totally happy about. I got tons of compliments all night! I will definitely be using RTR for every event from now on :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2013
Love this dress!
Everything about this dress is perfect! With 4" heels the dress was just the right length. I wore a NuBra underneath given that the dress is backless. Especially happy that the dress has pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 15, 2013
Even though I didn't get to wear it, my experience with RTR was fab!
Unfortunately, I rented this dress for the wrong dates, but the fit and color of this dress was to die for. I was bummed that they didn't have it available for the weekend I needed it for my senior prom, but they gave me complete store credit allowing me to find another dress that I'm sure I'll love just as much! They made it a great experience despite the inconvenience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 14, 2013
Had a great night with all my best friends in such a unique dress!
For some reason, every dress I rent from RTR has an extremely tight zipper. After playing with the zipper for half an hour, I was able to loosen it up so that it would zip all the way up. Between the 4 and the 6, the only difference was that the back had more to tie on the 6. On the back, I used dress tape to avoid seeing the black interior around the sides since it pokes out a little. I loved this dress, I had been waiting for a reason to rent it and all my friends loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 14, 2013
So comfortable and light, but still formal. Material doesn't show sweat either :)
Color was awesome, so so many compliments on the back, a little short when I put my heels on so I had to wear flats but I'm 5'10'' so it wasn't a surprise, even with the long size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2013
Bohemian Glamour!
The dress, as many other reviewers have said, is quite large so size down! I made the mistake of getting a long instead of a regular (suggested by the size chart), and the dress was far too long, even in three-inch heels. If you're on the cusp of a length according to the size chart, I'd stick with the Regular length. The bust area was a tad loose, but not significantly so. This dress is perfect if you have a bohemian style yet still want to look classy. Also, the back is gorgeous! It's open enough to show some skin but not too open. I received compliments all night and even after my prom! I completely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 9, 2013
Beautiful dress!
This is easily the most comfortable dress I've ever worn! I normally wear an 8 and I ordered both the 8 and 6. They didn't have the dress in an 8 for the date I needed and sent me a second dress, but luckily the 6 fit perfectly! And it has pockets - so perfect! I got a lot of compliments because the dress is so unique and the color is great. Very flattering, great for a formal event. I wore it to my sorority's formal and overall had a great experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
April 8, 2013
It was a hard dress to wear because of the bra situation in the back.
Really pretty color and great look!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect for my boyfriend's formal and it was simply gorgeous!
I normally wear a 4, and after seeing other reviews I decided to go a size down, and it fit perfectly! I would definitely recommend sizing down for this dress. I the the Regular length, which was perfect with wedges. The dress was just above the ground, so nothing dragged.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 8, 2013
Lovely dress!
I am normally a size 4 but ended up wearing the size 2L so the dress does run a little big. Only thing is at 5'10 I had to wear flats...with any sort of heel the dress was too short. Other than that the dress was a hit all night! This was my first RTR experience but it definitely wont be my last!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2013
Everyone complimented me on how unique my dress was
It was a little long for me but was fine with a higher heel. The bust was a little tight but was fine with a thin bra. I absolutely loved this dress. The back is so fun! Looks best with simple drop earrings and hair up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 31, 2013
All night I was getting complimented on how unique and beautiful the dress was!
The dress ran pretty true to size except the back was a bit large at the top. However, it was incredibly easy to just secure the extra fabric using some of the complimentary fashion tape from RTR.Since the back was open I wore a backless stick-on bra I had bought at Victoria's Secret. Overall, I love this dress and would definitely rent it again. Anyone looking for a different yet elegant dress should definitely keep this in mind!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 21, 2013
Absolutely fabulous!
the back was GORGEOUS, the print was unforgettable, i looked amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2013
It was a fun dress.
Get a stick on bra.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 11, 2013
This dress was so comfortable, easy to wear, and I got TONS of compliments!
This is the perfect dress for tall/slim women! I wore the dress to a black-tie wedding in FL, was perfect for the occasion. The dress is very comfortable, did not have to fuss with it at all during the dancing, and it even has pockets! I got tons of compliments, a few older ladies told me I was the best dressed at the wedding- besides the bride, of course. I was sad to see it go! I suggest wearing a NuBra with it and trying to get rid of any back tan lines before :) Truly a wonderful dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
HIGHLY recommend! Perfect
I always get sad thinking of my beautiful prom dresses sitting in my room at home, never to be seen or worn again. I thought renting a dress would be a more efficient idea until I got this one and wanted to KEEP IT FOREVER. I produce a show that covers the Oscar Awards and wore this the morning of the event. I would suggest ordering a size down because it runs a little big. It's a bit darker in person (truly indigo blue and less purple as it looked to me in the picture.) I wore it with orange lipstick, 3 inch black heels, and bright-ish pink blush. I couldn't get a good picture of the back of the dress but it's stunning! Got a ton of compliments on it. Great 1st RTR experience!
CassandraMarch 11, 2013
About what bra size are you and did you use an adhesive bra?
CaraMarch 12, 2013
@Cassandra I got a NuBra in a D from Macy's. They run kind of small so I would suggest going 1-2 cup sizes up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2013
So many compliments!
The dress was a hit! It was flattering and glamorous and perfect for the beach wedding in Mexico! I ended up wearing a stick on bra, which was something I had never before considered doing... the dress was pitch perfect and drew so many wonderful compliments. I can't wait to rent it again this summer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 20, 2013
The compliments from this dress are still coming in
I usually wear a little bit higher heels so the long worked better for me and hit right above the floor. This dress is gorgeous and the color is stunning.
LibbyMarch 18, 2013
what color/style of shoe did you wear?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 13, 2013
Pretty, printed maxi.
I opted not to wear this to the formal event I rented it for, since it ran a little big and wasn't as flattering as I'd expected. The RTR service was great (as always), though, and the dress might be better suited to a less formal occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2013
Gorgeous, comfortable dress with a surprise in back!
I felt so good in this dress! The color and fabric were so pretty and expensive looking, I got tons of compliments. I wore this for a dressed up rehearsal dinner in Arizona, with flat sandals, and it was perfect. Other reviewers mentioned that it was a bit big up top, but I'm large chested and it fit well with a stick on/backless bra. Would definitely rent again for a similar occasion.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 17, 2013
I wore this dress to my senior prom. Never felt more gorgeous in my life and got many compliments!
The fit was perfect! I ordered a 4L and a 6R. The 6R was a little loose fitting, while the 4L fit my body to a T! With lower heels, the length of the 4L would have been too long, but I was wearing 5" heels, making me about 6 ft, so it just barely skimmed above my shoes. If I could have, I definitely would have kept this dress in my closet!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 10, 2013
Loved it
This dress was so unbelievably cute and fit perfectly. Got so many compliments.
Mary MarshallJanuary 13, 2013
Rebecca Wore it Best!!!
LibbyMarch 18, 2013
what shoes did you wear with the dress?
RTR CustomerMarch 19, 2013
Hi Libby! I would recommend wearing a nude, gold, silver, or black shoe with this dress! You can really do anything with this style and most likely the dress will probably cover your shoes!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 6, 2013
Beautiful dress, but wasn't the right fit.
I would have loved to have worn this dress, but the 2 was a bit too tight around the waist, which did not look good with the low back, and the 4 was just too large that the dress lost all of its shape. I wish the waist had had a little stretch to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
December 19, 2012
Gorgeous in Miami
I wore this out for dinner and drinks in South Beach in the spring. It is just lovely and the back is very flattering.
Hadlee April 22, 2013
did you wear heels? I'm 5'10, but I don't want to wear heels. should I get the R or L
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Hadlee, We recommend going with the long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
I LOVED this dress, so comfortable and glamorous!
I'm 5'8" and luckily ordered the regular length, it was very long (perfect for me) and i wore 3.5" heels. I can't imagine how long it would have been if i ordered the Long length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2012
Great details
The dress is beautiful and the details are much richer in person
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
December 13, 2012
Loved it, a little short for a tall girl :/
It's very unique and a lot darker than in the picture. Fits extremely comfortably, a little short.
TessJanuary 14, 2013
Is this dress ok to wear to a winter wedding?
RTR CustomerJanuary 14, 2013
Hi Tess! This dress is more for spring/summer, but if you are in a warm climate, it should work perfectly fine for a wedding!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×