Tibi

Into the Blue Tribal Gown

$100 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Step out in style at the yacht party wearing this chic tribal maxi by Tibi. A style no one will forget. Go with eye catching accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and must be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'9'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Multi printed silk. Crew neckline. Cut-out back with tie closure. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
170 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(121)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2012
I didn't want to return it!
I fit perfect. I'm an A cup so going sans bra wasn't an issue.. I wore it for a concert/ night on the town and it was a big hit!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 27, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress!
This dress is absolutely stunning in person. The color is gorgeous, the fabric is soft and flowy...the print is lovely! The photos don't do it justice. The fit is true-to-size...and some might even say it runs a bit large. Since I am busty, my true size (6) was perfect. Speaking of the girls, the dress is backless, but with the high neckline of this dress, I did not want to go without a bra, so I bought one of the adhesive backless bras from Rent the Runway, and it was perfect.
IsisJanuary 27, 2013
You look amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2012
Loved It!!
I got so many compliments on this dress. I wore the long version of this so I could high heels. So stunning and true to color!
JasmineMarch 25, 2013
Hi! How high were your heels?
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
I wore this dress to my senior formal, and I received compliment after compliment! Our formal was Oscar themed, and I was up for best dressed :) I will definitely use this website again! So easy and fun!
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments throughout the night, and I loved that I didn't have to spend a ton of money on a dress that I will only wear for one night. The dress fit perfectly, and it was super easy to return! I told everyone about this website! I will definitely use this more often.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 4, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I'm 22 weeks pregnant and this hit right where I needed it to. I received compliments on this dress all night (:
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 5, 2012
Great With Boots
I wore this dress for Labor Day BBQ at the Country Club with Cowboy boots. So comfortable too.
CharlotteSeptember 22, 2013
Was thinking about this for a western style ball and was going to wear black boots. So glad to see you said that's how you wore it! Did you get a photo of the boots showing? I'm worried about it being too long as I'm only 5'3".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 10, 2012
Compliments left and right..
This was my favorite dress I've ever worn to a wedding. I felt so great in it and got a lot of compliments. The open back was my favorite! After wearing it, I really want to own this dress. This entire process made me fall in love with RTR. Hope to keep experiencing good luck like I did with this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
September 11, 2012
Charming print and color
I was looking for a floor-length dress for a formal affair and was at first reluctant about the color and the print... but I am glad that I took the plunge. Love the graphics, and the blue was very sharp in person (and in photos). The modern design is a standout among routine floor length dresses. The upper part is a bit too large for my frame---which is expected, given that I am a petite 00---so I just tied the knot tighter at the back and went for a "ruched" look (i.e. my bow did not lie flat like the model's). FYI, I am 5'2", rented a 0R, and wore 3.5" heels. The length was just a bit too long (spilled onto the floor by half an inch), but not so long that I would trip over.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 21, 2013
Absolutely fabulous!
the back was GORGEOUS, the print was unforgettable, i looked amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 31, 2013
All night I was getting complimented on how unique and beautiful the dress was!
The dress ran pretty true to size except the back was a bit large at the top. However, it was incredibly easy to just secure the extra fabric using some of the complimentary fashion tape from RTR.Since the back was open I wore a backless stick-on bra I had bought at Victoria's Secret. Overall, I love this dress and would definitely rent it again. Anyone looking for a different yet elegant dress should definitely keep this in mind!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect for my boyfriend's formal and it was simply gorgeous!
I normally wear a 4, and after seeing other reviews I decided to go a size down, and it fit perfectly! I would definitely recommend sizing down for this dress. I the the Regular length, which was perfect with wedges. The dress was just above the ground, so nothing dragged.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
April 8, 2013
It was a hard dress to wear because of the bra situation in the back.
Really pretty color and great look!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 9, 2013
Beautiful dress!
This is easily the most comfortable dress I've ever worn! I normally wear an 8 and I ordered both the 8 and 6. They didn't have the dress in an 8 for the date I needed and sent me a second dress, but luckily the 6 fit perfectly! And it has pockets - so perfect! I got a lot of compliments because the dress is so unique and the color is great. Very flattering, great for a formal event. I wore it to my sorority's formal and overall had a great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2013
Bohemian Glamour!
The dress, as many other reviewers have said, is quite large so size down! I made the mistake of getting a long instead of a regular (suggested by the size chart), and the dress was far too long, even in three-inch heels. If you're on the cusp of a length according to the size chart, I'd stick with the Regular length. The bust area was a tad loose, but not significantly so. This dress is perfect if you have a bohemian style yet still want to look classy. Also, the back is gorgeous! It's open enough to show some skin but not too open. I received compliments all night and even after my prom! I completely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 14, 2013
So comfortable and light, but still formal. Material doesn't show sweat either :)
Color was awesome, so so many compliments on the back, a little short when I put my heels on so I had to wear flats but I'm 5'10'' so it wasn't a surprise, even with the long size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 14, 2013
Had a great night with all my best friends in such a unique dress!
For some reason, every dress I rent from RTR has an extremely tight zipper. After playing with the zipper for half an hour, I was able to loosen it up so that it would zip all the way up. Between the 4 and the 6, the only difference was that the back had more to tie on the 6. On the back, I used dress tape to avoid seeing the black interior around the sides since it pokes out a little. I loved this dress, I had been waiting for a reason to rent it and all my friends loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2013
Love this dress!
Everything about this dress is perfect! With 4" heels the dress was just the right length. I wore a NuBra underneath given that the dress is backless. Especially happy that the dress has pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2013
I felt amazing in this dress and it was so comfortable!
I definitely needed the extra length, so happy it came with the long option. It was perfect for my friend's wedding and I got so many compliments on the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it to prom, and got lots of complements.
The length was perfect for me, with 3 inch wedges. It was a little big in the back, but i used some of the tape included, and it wasn't a problem! A two probably would have fit me a little better, but the four was fine, i'm just being picky :).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
May 24, 2013
Love the tribal print, wasn't feeling the fit.
I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding. I loved the print and ease of the dress, but I didn't feel it was flattering on my body type (I think it probably looks best on less curvy girls), so I ended up wearing my backup dress. If you have a narrow or athletic body type I'd highly recommend it!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
May 25, 2013
Absolutely perfect. Best dress I've ever worn.
I was so nervous about ordering a dress that would come in the day before my prom, but I am so happy with how it turned out. It came on time and everything was perfect. I ordered a size 2 and 4 regular and the 2 fit just right, so maybe order your second size to be one size down. With 3 inch heels it was a great length. I would recommend a backless, stick on bra from Victorias Secret (which is what I got), as well as wearing your hair up to show off the back of the dress. This was definitely the best dress I have ever worn and I have never felt so beautiful with it on! It was very popular at my prom and I wanted to keep it so badly at the end of the night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2013
LOVE
I had been eyeing this dress for awhile and finally decided to rent it for a wedding this past weekend. It was just as great in person as I had hoped. Very comfortable, true to size, got many compliments. I was concerned how it would work since it's backless, but a NuBra worked great for me. I would definitely rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2013
Runs small in awkward places
It was way too small in the rib area. It also wasn't too flattering right below the rib cage and in the bust area. The open back is deceiving and didn't fit too comfortably. I've had great RTR dresses ... this was not one of them. I wouldn't recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 3, 2013
Fun dress, beautiful color!
I loved this dress. So comfortable and fun to wear. Beautiful color - open back is awesome, but not too revealing. Very flattering and great for a formal event - can dress up or dress down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2013
Fun, comfortable, unique!
I am large busted (34D-DD) and so I was worried that going braless would be an issue (and it's something I NEVER do); however, even with the open back, the fit was tight enough to keep things in place. The length was perfect with my 2" wedge sandals - but I am 5'6" so I imagine anyone taller would need to order the dress in Long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
June 13, 2013
Blue Maxi Stunner
Loved this dress for a spring wedding. The color was stunning and the statement open back was really fun to wear. The length was super comfortable to wear. I wore the Regular length with 3.7" heels and it was great with my 5' 3" height. I thought that the waist sat slightly high, or perhaps I am just realizing that I am long waisted? Either way it was fine and looked totally normal to my friends and husband.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 21, 2013
Stellar color, phenomenal length, and stunning cut
I didn't wear a bra with it and all was fine. Those pads are hot and sticky :) I loved the open back. I wore black wedge heels simply for the height, you couldn't see the shoe and that was fine with me. I wore my hair up a big earrings . It was an outdoor wedding so I never needed a sweater- it would have ruined the look anyway.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 23, 2013
Perfect for a summer wedding!
The fit was perfect. The waist felt like it was tailored just for me and the open back gave my large bust plenty of room! I got lots of compliments!
EllenJune 26, 2013
Did you wear a bra? I feel like the nubras do not hold my busts up and tend to look weird... I was hoping this would work without a bra??
MeredithJune 28, 2013
Yes. I wore a backless bra. I went up a size in the bra bc I felt like I got more coverage. The top of the dress is not tight so if you have a large bust like me you may feel uncomfortable without the bra
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 27, 2013
Very comfortable and light. Perfect for a summer wedding!
Perfect length (I am 5'6") but was not able to wear heels!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109lbs
July 3, 2013
Stylish, pretty head turner
I love this dress! So many compliments and felt so pretty in the gorgeous blue/purple color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 9, 2013
Perfect print, fabric, color, and open back!
I rented this for my rehearsal dinner on 4th of July and everyone loved it including me. It looks great on any body type. I am 5'7" and couldn't wear heels with the 4R. Don't forget to get a Nubra to wear with it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
July 14, 2013
Beautiful, comfortable, unique dress
Great for a black-tie wedding if you don't want to look like everyone else. Tons of people asked me where I purchased such an unusual dress! I would recommend going a size down for better fit up top--otherwise the back/under arms will gape. I rented a 4R and a 2L as the 2R was unavailable, but I ended up wearing the long because it fell better with tall (5 in) heels. Would recommend to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 14, 2013
Beautiful color
I rented this for a summer wedding. Runs true to size, the color is even prettier in person but the length on me was just a bit too short and I felt funny showing so much shoe (I'm 5'7 and would have had to wear flats to pull this off). I ended up wearing a second dress I rented instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2013
Fun and easy for a wedding on the beach
I rented this dress for a beach wedding, which required walking on sand. I loved that I could wear simple sandals and also have the fun factor - the print and the back of the dress make this one stand out a bit. You can't wear a traditional bra, which can be tricky for me, but there was enough coverage on the tops and sides that it wasn't a big deal. Wish I owned this one!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 23, 2013
Perfect!
This dress was the bell of the ball for a huge black tie event at Harvard! The President of the University, Drew Faust, said so!
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 25, 2013
A woman pulled me aside after the reception and said, "Tibi? Looks unbelievable, you nailed it!"
I am a tall and skinny girl, so it's hard to find dresses that are long enough for me and still fit the way they should. This dress literally nailed it. It was the perfect length, although I did wear flat sandals with it because I wore it to a Colorado wedding on a lake. The waist hit me at just the right spot and hung perfectly down to the floor. The backless part of the dress laid just as it should and really highlighted your back without being overboard or too showy. And to top it all off, it was soooo comfortable! I didn't mess with it once all night. I wanted to buy it from RTR instead of returning it. LOVE!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
August 5, 2013
Easy, stylish maxi to wear out for a night of fun!
Wore this to a friend's party out in a beach town. It is backless so wore Braza's petal concealers. Easy fit and great print!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2013
I loved wearing this dress!! It was definitely a unique showstopper at this debutante event!
Fit was perfect! I generally wear a size 0 or 00 and it fit beautifully! The length was excellent with wedges and the top was comfortable with the open back and higher neck. Pockets in the dress was a definite plus!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 12, 2013
Beautiful color & print but way too big!
I was excited to wear this dress for a friend's summer weeding. Unfortunately, when I received the dress the 2R was way too lose. I tried to make the dress work but it was very baggy in the back and throughout my chest and ribs. In retrospect I should have ordered a size down as my back up. Thankfully RTR customer service is amazing - I was able to pick a different dress and they had it sent to my office the very next day.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2013
Did Not Wear
I rented this for a summer soiree of sorts and ended up not wearing it. If you are bottom heavy or have hips, this dress does not make for a flattering silhouette. The gathered fabric and the cut, really emphasize what you don't want emphasized! I was disappointed and felt like I wasted my money with this rental.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×