Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
176 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2012
Great fit and very flattering
I rented this for a bachelorette party and the fit was fantastic, although, like some of the other reviews, I would highly recommend picking up some fashion tape, as the neckline is fairly revealing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 11, 2012
Didn't want to give it back!
This dress is so sexy! It can be dressed up or dressed down. I am small chested, so the plunging line still looked classy with the help of just a little fashion tape on each side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
August 17, 2012
Runs very small
I didn't wear this because it runs tiny. I am a 6, I got a 4 and a 6. Neither fit. My sister is between a 2-4, the 4 was TIGHT on her. Super cute dress, great material but runs very small.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
New Year's Eve
I wore this for New Year's Eve and this dress was perfect for the event! I absolutely loved it. The only down side was, since I have a larger chest, I had to wear a lace cami underneath. That made me lose my favorite part of the dress which was the small opening in the back. Regardless, I was super comfortable the whole night and got a million compliments! I would buy this dress if I could!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
love this dress!
this dress is so flattering and i got SO many compliments! I have a small waist but big hips, butt and breasts - this dress accentuated all my positives and minimized all my negatives - L-O-V-E
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2012
I almost didn't give it back!
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner in July. The material is absolutely divine, the cut; perfect. The detail of the embroidery was very elegant... paired it with an adorable pair of black and gold embellished heels and was told over and over how beautiful the dress looked on me. The cut out in the back was awesome too! I HIGHLY recommend this dress!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
August 27, 2012
Beautiful, Comfortable
I have bigger thighs so the bottom rides up a bit when sitting, but overall a great dress! Very comfortable and beautiful to boot. I received so many positive comments on it. The only true downside was the bust area- be sure to wear a NuBra or tiny tank top unless you want to give everyone a free show!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
August 28, 2012
Had a great time celebrating my friend in this fun dress!
I like this dress so much I have rented it twice. Once for a bachelorette and once for a friend's rehearsal dinner. The cut is very flattering and the open back is pretty without being too revealing. The only flaw of the dress is that the v-neck is very deep - both times I've worn it, I have had to use fashion tape or safety pins to keep it decent.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
August 29, 2012
Loose top
I didn't get to wear this, thanks to Tropical storm Isaac canceling my Bday party, but I did try it on. All the previous reviews I saw were right. The top of the dress is made for some one with a long torso. Even with fashion tape, it was way too loose on me. It was also a bit long down the leg on my 5'2" frame. However, the dress design and fabric were beautiful. Bummed it didn't fit, even if I didn't get to wear it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
The look on my husband's face was priceless when I came down wearing the dress!
This dress does run small - I am normally a size 4 and I ended up wearing the size 2 (thanks to the helpful remarks from others on the RTR site). The dress looked great, wore it to an upscale restaurant for our wedding anniversary date night. I was oh so sad to put it back in the return envelope!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 18, 2012
Wonderful Dress!
This dress was very flattering! The open back and the low cut in front is really nice. Received so many compliments. You can't wear a bra with this so I bought a bra tape that was called Bring It Up. I have never used this before but it worked perfect. Will buy these for all open back dresses from now on. I also used the Fashion Tape to keep the dress in place. I didn't have to fix the dress at all - everything stayed in place which I was worried about. Loved the dress so much I wish I could have kept it!
GirlnukeJanuary 1, 2013
You look great!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
This dress was great but a little low in the front.
The low front made made it hard to find a bra that would work with the dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
September 21, 2012
Fit Perfect.
Loved it. I want to own it. I would rent it again in a heartbeat. I think next time Ill try the blue color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments. Definitely need the fashion tape (RTR included a sample with my dress, how nice!) The waist band was a bit tight, but not unbearable. If you have a wider rib cage, might not be the dress for you. The peep in the back was fun, without showing too much skin.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
September 28, 2012
Compliments all night!
Fits beautifully, I am usually a size 2 but the size 0 fit great. Lower cut v-neck in the front that I would have expected but totally fine with a nu-bra. Loved the material, leaf belt detailing, and interesting back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 2, 2012
not flattering if you have big shoulders
i am built like a quarterback with big shoulders and athletic lean build - this dress - not flattering for that body type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 11, 2012
Great dress!
Wore this out in Vegas for dinner and a show. A bit low cut but double stick tape held it in place and it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2012
Did not wear.
My regular size was no available so I ordered a size down (6) based on the reviews (though knowing I was taking a risk). Kinda fit but looked really unflattering on me. Can't speak to what my normal size would have looked like but I felt like regardless it made my already big hips look bigger. The middle part was soooo tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
The detail on this dress is even better in person. Fun, flattering, comfortable!
I am usually a 2, but the 0 fit perfectly.I wore a nu-bra and some double sided tape, and both worked really well for the low neckline. I wouldn't recommend the dress for women with a larger bust due to the low neckline and inability to wear a regular bra.
JenNovember 7, 2012
haha nicole have you done rent the runway often its jen i was thinking about it for a christmas party...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2012
Such a beautiful dress!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. I loved the way it made my waist looked slimmer and didn't fit snuggly on my hips. The only thing I had problems with was the top of the dress. Because the dress comes into a deep v-neck, I had trouble keeping my girls concealed all night long. It took a safety pin and some fashion tape to do the trick. Also, I had trouble finding a way to wear a bra with this dress since it has a keyhole in the back. I ended up taking a very old bra and cutting off the back to make it work. I tried alternatives, but this was what worked for me. I rented both a 10 and a 12 and found that I probably would have been fine in an 8. Overall, although I had trouble with concealing my chest, I would rent this dress again just because it was so beautiful on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 13, 2012
Perfect Vegas bachelorette dress
This was great for my girlfriend's bachelorette party. It was really flattering and not ridiculously short for a tall woman. The only problem for me was that it would be best going braless. I need to wear a bra (not as perky as I used to be). I wore my sticky chicken tender things, but the top isn't quite snug enough to keep them in place. I was babysitting them all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2012
Cute low cleavage dress but I am busty and had to go a size up. The material is more formal though
Cute low cleavage dress but I am busty and had to go a size up. The material is more formal though not so much a party dress. My shorter friend w a smaller bust the dress looked right for church. On me a tall girl 5'8 big bust more party dress. However the snap on the back always comes undone which is super annoying.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
LBD with a little flare!
Wore this for a bachelorette party in California. All the bridesmaids wore black and the bride wore white, but this extra gold detail gave me a little identity too. And it was VERY comfortable! Just beware of the no bra (or sticky-bra) requirement.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2012
The MOB & flower girl went out of their way to say I looked beautiful. I credited the dress :)
The fit is slimming in the waist & flowy in the areas one needs the wiggle room most. Very figure flattering, simple, and edgy at the same time. I have long legs and worried that it might be too short for the occasion - no need to fret, the length was perfect.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Gorgeous silhouette and the back makes it the perfect party dress!
I got this dress as my backup dress and LOVED it - but it ran a little small in the waist. I ordered a 2 by Tibi in another dress and it fit perfectly, but I would've been more comfortable in the 4 in this dress. Super cute and the back details were gorgeous! Make sure you have some double-sided tape and either a backless bra or something to control your high beams :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2012
Great for dinner out in Vegas.
I believe the dress ran pretty true to size. It was definitely more low-cut than I anticipated, but worked for Vegas!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2012
When my husband told me I look liked a model!
This is the perfect LBD! Very feminine and sexy. I wore a blazer jacket with it for a holiday party. My husband told me I looked amazing! I normally wear a 2, but went with the 0 because of the low cut neckline. Definitely need a backless bra for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
December 19, 2012
The peekaboo back.
It was bit more of a sexy dress than I had expected, but it was gorgeous and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
December 26, 2012
Great for any occasion
This dress is super flattering- the built-in belt is just enough sparkle, and the open back is a nice detail as well. A bit big in the chest area, but not too big that I had to pin anything. Overall this is a great dress that can be used for any occasion.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
Great party dress to ring in 2013.
Fashion tape is a MUST! I ended up using some duct tape to help it stay in place and avoid any wardrobe malfunctions. The waist band is very fitted and does not stretch but it fit perfectly. This dress is unlike something I would ever buy it was a perfect rental for NYE.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2013
crazy flattering!
FIT: I am a size 6 hourglass with a 10" difference between my waist and my hips, so I am always wary of the bottom half of dresses. This one actually fit nicely over my hips, hugged my waist, and I found the top to fit great with a sticky bra and a little fashion tape to keep that lovely bra covered (I am a 32 D). PROS: loved the fabric, and loved how comfortable the dress was. the length was short, but not too short. I wore it to a bachelorette party, and I was so thankful my dress was one of the few not-see-through dresses! CONS: a year later, I rented this same dress for New Years. I don't know if i put on a pound or two (wore same size with same fit) or if I got a different dress (or just had less vodka before getting dressed haha) but the slit is VERY short. So short that you could see the bottom of my tukus, and I actually changed my dress that second time. (thank god for rtr's second dress for 25 bucks option!!!!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
Not a good fit.
I ordered this dress and was unable to wear it. The top in the 6 was way too big and I wouldn't have been able to wear a bra. It is extremely low cut and unflattering on top. The bottom and back are adorable but unfortunately I was unable to get use out of it. Be sure if you are small chested to go a size down!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 4, 2013
Beautiful dress. Best for very busty women. Requires self-adhesive bra.
I rented this dress for my maid of honor to wear to my bachelorette party in NYC. She doesn't go out very often, and I wanted to her to have a comfortable party dress. This dress was lovely and is high quality. However, we had to use safety pins to hold the fabric at the shoulders higher up so her cleavage wasn't exposed. My friend favors preppy, conservative styles. This dress needed safety pins for the extra fabric on the front, and fashion tape for the lowest part of the V neck. Her strapless bra also showed in the back. It's a great dress, but don't choose it if you have a smaller chest and aren't comfortable showing some skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2013
Wore this for my birthday, so chic
Easy to wear
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2013
Great accent color. Loved the back!
The top was really large so I felt like i was messing with the top the whole time and had to put a safety pin/fashion tape. But, overall it fit nice and I liked it a lot!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
The back on this dress is amazing, got tons of compliments!
I rented this as my back-up for my birthday party and I'm really glad that I had it. I got the 6, my usual size, and the 4 as my back-up since some reviewers said it ran big. I would have worn the 4, but the hooks in the back were pulling off, so I didn't feel like it would be safe to wear (had I tried it on earlier I'm sure I could have gotten another one shipped, but that was my own fault). It does run fairly big in the top, I'm a 34D and the 6 needed a safety pin and fashion tape in order to stay put. The back on this dress is great, but you won't be able to hide a bra strap under it (even the ones that go around your waist, I tried) so know that you'll need a sticky bra if you have any chest. The fabric is very light weight and it won't hold you in/up if you are at all curvy, but the shape of the dress is really flattering for hour-glass shaped girls! All of that being said, it ended up being a great night and with a sticky bra and some fashion tape this dress looked amazing all night long :)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2013
na
na
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2013
Too Small!
The dress was super cute but there is no stretch to the band at all and it was cutting into my side. I ended up not wearing this dress for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 23, 2013
Cute dress, too small though
Cute dress, pretty modest for the event I went to but it's cute, runs small though, needed a 6, ordered a 4, usually a 2 or a 4....
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
May 13, 2013
Elegant dress - perfect for cocktail event!
The gold stitching on the 'belt' was beautiful and the dress material was high quality. As other reviews mention, the front was incredibly loose (the fashion tape was a must-have)! A minor con was the clasp in the back of the dress - it was very touchy and came undone easily - I used a safety pin to keep it closed. However, overall it was a flattering fit for my athletic/ hourglass shape, a good length, and was perfect for my occasion!
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×