Rent the Runway

Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

173 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 104
Large 40
Photos 39
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs pretty true to size, go down one size for back up. I wore it with the NuBra & hot pink Kendra Scott earrings. The only down side was I was fussing with the neckline throughout the night - even with fashion tape. Overall I really liked the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Dress fit so well, I didn't have to worry about my outfit the entire night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Got this dress for a bachelorette party in Vegas - it fit great - photo isn't the best but it cinched in and made my waist look tiny. I wanted to keep it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 7, 2012

Perfect for an outdoor spring wedding! I used double sided tape and had no problems with the front.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress ran true to size and was complimented all night! Because of the open back, I did not wear a regular bra, but with double sided tape in front the fit was perfect.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 25, 2012

Fun, But Fashion Tape = MUST

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is great! I loved the quality, fabric and overall look of the dress. I wore it for a bachelorette party, and it was both appropriate and fun! I probably went through 10 pieces of fashion tape to hold everything in place though. I read some reviews on here that you could wear your regular bra really high up, which I tried, but ended up having to have a friend kind of tape the back in a way so that it wouldn't show. As someone who isn't busty, this dress kept creeping down in the front. In order to avoid a nipslip, I had to tape the entire neckline down. It ultimately worked and looked fine, but getting in and out of cars, booths and off of stools was tricky!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

I almost didn't give it back!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner in July. The material is absolutely divine, the cut; perfect. The detail of the embroidery was very elegant... paired it with an adorable pair of black and gold embellished heels and was told over and over how beautiful the dress looked on me. The cut out in the back was awesome too! I HIGHLY recommend this dress!!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

Had a great time celebrating my friend in this fun dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I like this dress so much I have rented it twice. Once for a bachelorette and once for a friend's rehearsal dinner. The cut is very flattering and the open back is pretty without being too revealing. The only flaw of the dress is that the v-neck is very deep - both times I've worn it, I have had to use fashion tape or safety pins to keep it decent.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

The look on my husband's face was priceless when I came down wearing the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress does run small - I am normally a size 4 and I ended up wearing the size 2 (thanks to the helpful remarks from others on the RTR site). The dress looked great, wore it to an upscale restaurant for our wedding anniversary date night. I was oh so sad to put it back in the return envelope!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Wonderful Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very flattering! The open back and the low cut in front is really nice. Received so many compliments. You can't wear a bra with this so I bought a bra tape that was called Bring It Up. I have never used this before but it worked perfect. Will buy these for all open back dresses from now on. I also used the Fashion Tape to keep the dress in place. I didn't have to fix the dress at all - everything stayed in place which I was worried about. Loved the dress so much I wish I could have kept it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

This is a beautiful, comfortable dress that made me feel great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would definitely recommend tape or pins to keep the cleavage decent. I didn't wear a bra, but the fit of the dress, plus some strategic pinning, kept everything in place.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

The costumer service was so great! The stylists really knew what they were talking about!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit absolutely perfect! I couldn't of changed it to look better! It is a beautiful dress! I had so much fun and got numerous compliments on the dress and especially the detailing in it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

The detail on this dress is even better in person. Fun, flattering, comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually a 2, but the 0 fit perfectly.I wore a nu-bra and some double sided tape, and both worked really well for the low neckline. I wouldn't recommend the dress for women with a larger bust due to the low neckline and inability to wear a regular bra.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Such a beautiful dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. I loved the way it made my waist looked slimmer and didn't fit snuggly on my hips. The only thing I had problems with was the top of the dress. Because the dress comes into a deep v-neck, I had trouble keeping my girls concealed all night long. It took a safety pin and some fashion tape to do the trick. Also, I had trouble finding a way to wear a bra with this dress since it has a keyhole in the back. I ended up taking a very old bra and cutting off the back to make it work. I tried alternatives, but this was what worked for me. I rented both a 10 and a 12 and found that I probably would have been fine in an 8. Overall, although I had trouble with concealing my chest, I would rent this dress again just because it was so beautiful on.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2012

The entire presentation of the dress was impressive. Garment bag, hanger, and an emergency kit. LOVE

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a Bachelorette party. The only con to this dress was it was large in the chest area. I had to be pinned into the dress to discourage any "nip slip" moments and I still had large amount of cleavage. The fit was great for someone with hips. It was flattering. The material is soft and gave me room to dance the night away. I received more compliments from this dress than I have ever received. I felt confident and will definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

Great for dinner out in Vegas.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I believe the dress ran pretty true to size. It was definitely more low-cut than I anticipated, but worked for Vegas!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Great party dress to ring in 2013.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fashion tape is a MUST! I ended up using some duct tape to help it stay in place and avoid any wardrobe malfunctions. The waist band is very fitted and does not stretch but it fit perfectly. This dress is unlike something I would ever buy it was a perfect rental for NYE.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

Beautiful dress! Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fit was a bit large overall and I have a smaller chest which made the top a bit interesting, especially since the peek a boo back doesn't really allow for a bra BUT fashion tape to the rescue!! I just taped it up a bit in the front and it looked great!! Lots of compliments through the night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 7, 2013

Pretty detail! Very flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The 4 fit well, although it did run a little big in the top. I should have used fashion tape like other renters said! I only gave it 4/5 stars because the clasp in the back did not lay flat. It made the dress look a little like it was bursting open in the back, but was not the least bit too small for me. I am unsure as to whether this was because of someone else that had worn the dress, or how it was made. Either way, I wore it anyway and got lots of compliments! Great length, beautiful detail. Perfect dress for the all-black bachelorette party I wore it to!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

HOT!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is sexy without being over the top. I received so many compliment, husband said I looked hot. Loved it, wish I could keep it for myself! It was a little big, which is norm for me with dresses, but totally wearable. I wore my NuBra and did not feel fashion tape was necessary.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 4, 2013

Sexy, Little, Black Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a friend's house party, and it's a sexy dress! It's even good to wear for a ladies' night out or even to a nice restaurant. The dress is super flattering for hourglass figures or if you like to accentuate your waist. The reason I gave four rather than five stars is because the back was a little tricky. There is a zipper and two clasps on top of the zipper, and you will need someone to help you with the clasps. It's probably good to order a size up.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Very flattering!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress! Really accentuates small waist... Love this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 23, 2013

Absolute Favorite so far

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was truly amazing. I ordered a 12 because a 10 wasn't available for the day I needed... the top was slightly loose and the 10 most likely would have been perfect, but regardless, after 7 or so dresses from Rent the Runway this one is by far my favorite. As other reviewers have mentioned, a bra (unless you are blessed with small enough boobs to wear a nu-bra) is not possible, and with the dress being slightly loose up top there was a need for some strategic taping, but nothing fell out throughout the night, so I call that a success. It is a very low cut dress, so if you are self conscious at all i would not recommend it. The material is soft and breathable, and the skirt hit about 2 inches above the knee (I am 5'7"). I will be badgering my husband to let me buy this dress, because it is one you can wear again and again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 164 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

Great fabric and I loved the "belted" waist!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit very well and looked just like the pictures, except that the front of the dress is open all the way down the gold "belt," which I wasn't comfortable with, so I pinned it. Otherwise I had a great night wearing this with lots of compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

I loved the belt detail

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a sorority event and I was not crazy about the fit. It was very large in the chest area and overall it was pretty big.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Perfect dress for the birthday girl!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved this dress! I wore this to my birthday dinner/party in Las Vegas and it was perfect! I opted for the larger size because the material is very clingy. I wanted to wear spanx but the material was clinging to the spanx too. With the larger size I was able to wear a bra and spanx and only used a little fashion tape to keep it respectable. The only reason I knocked off a star is because this dress came to me with a hole in it. It was so discreet that I didn't even notice it until I was getting ready that night. I ended up wearing it anyway and no one noticed. I called RTR to let them know and they refunded me for this style. This is a great, versatile dress that could work at any number of functions- wedding, party, cocktails, date, girls night out. If I rent again 'll make sure to do a thorough check of the dress for any issues.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 184 lbs
Mar 16, 2014

Perfect dress for the occasion!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was amazing and I got SO many compliments! I truly enjoyed wearing it! One thing I will say is that it is difficult to wear a bra especially If you are fuller chested. I ended up wearing the 12 because I am between sizes. I did have to do some pinning of the top to keep the ladies in check. Also the clasp on the back came broken so I had to pin myself into it. Other than that I got SO many compliments and I will be renting from RTR again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 5, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. The design and material are great. The top was a little big, but I used fashion tape and it was fine. Also had to wear a nubra with it. I was comfortable and received multiple compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

My 40th in Vegas

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was super flattering but had to use tape so my breast weren't exposed.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Loved the dress!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the dress for a summer wedding and loved it. The length was perfect, the band across the waist was super slimming and the top showed juuuust the right amount of cleavage. I pinned it but didn't necessarily have to. I have a small chest so there was so way they were falling out of the top of the dress. I got compliments all night long. Great dress, I would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Adorable & Sexy at the same time

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I ordered this for a trip to Las Vegas. I loved the embroidered metallic waist - it's part of the dress and not a belt. The size 2 was perfect although I didn't quite fill out the bust...I'm pretty small on top. I had planned to wear my nu bra but would have needed double-stick tape to keep it from showing which I had forgotten. I went braless which worked fine as an alternative. The length of the skirt was great - short but not too short and the back detail is really cute. This is a great dress with a little sex appeal but not over the top. The one downside with this dress - the fabric at clips on the back waist had been a ripped a bit from prior wear - so when it was clipped up, it looked like it was pulling apart. this was a bit of a bummer but not enough to keep me from wearing it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Not a great fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Really low cut in the front. Fashion tape helped, but it was not as flattering as I hoped. The opening in the back was higher than I anticipated. I wore a regular bra, but had to make the straps as short as possible. Not very comfortable. The top hook in the back of the dress was bent, which caused it to constantly come unhooked. All night people were closing it back up for me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

Cute, simple, true to size, nice for pear shapes.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress for a formal event and I would have worn it but the other choice sold me with the gold lace. This is a great, simple and comfortable dress that works well for pear shapes. I ordered a 6 and it fit perfectly (I'm 5'1", 143 lbs). Works well with tights on a cooler night. Cute integrated belt detailing makes it easy to accessorize.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2014

SEXY YET CLASSY DRESS!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Most importantly, my husband LOVED this dress it was sexy yet classy...It is VERY LOW but with some double sided tape I was good to go! I probably could have worn the 8 but the belt felt a little snug on the 8...the back and sleeves were really nice. It was a well made dress and I wish I owned it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Felt amazing in this dress

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
Clasp kept coming undone in the back but other than that, great dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

I liked how comfortable and scandalous I felt at the same time. The top was loose, but secure

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
The fabric was nice, the belt cinched but comfortable and the skirt just long enough and constructed in a way that I didn't feel the need to pull it down all night. Definitely had to tape my boobs, but I did it minimally because I think the threat of nip slip is half the point for this dress. I felt exposed but the dress is cut so that it was very unlikely to happen if I just left it alone. I did bring a shawl in case I was feeling shy though.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Jan 25, 2015

Shorter than expected!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Other
The dress runs small. Luckily it was my back up. If it would have fit it would have been super cute but the waist detailing was too snug and the skirt was too short. There is a slit in back that showed off too much of the backside
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 8, 2015

Wore it to a fundraising banquet for a non-profit.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. It was a little tight around the ribcage, but the overall fit was better. I'm a 32B, so some dress tape and an adhesive bra was all I needed in the bust area.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2015

Outdoor wedding in fall.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Dress looked great but had difficulties with the top. I had to wear a nu-bra (so you wouldn't see the closure in the back) but still had to pin the front because it was too big.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 9, 2015

Glamorous LBD, feel instantly put together with belt detail

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a cocktail attire wedding and fit right in at the amazing venue. The waist with the belt detail fit perfectly and the cutout in the back shows just enough skin. The chest was a bit too large for me, especially without a bra but was easy to fix with a safety pin. The belt is a lot more silver than in the picture, but didn't really match with either silver or gold jewelry. Fortunately you don't really need much, this dress makes you look very pulled together on it's own. I'd rent this one again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 9, 2015

I ended up not wearing this dress because the belt was too snug on my rib cage, otherwise, fit great

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ended up not wearing this dress because the belt was too snug on my rib cage, otherwise, fit great
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 21, 2015

Comfortable and fun dress for Vegas!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress has a flattering fit. It was short but since it was loose on the bottom, I felt comfortable moving around in it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×