Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
177 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2012
Not what I expected

I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was a back-up dress, so not a big deal, but was WAY too big, and considerably longer than in the photo (basically at my knees---I'm 5'7"). I'd make sure to order a second dress if trying this for the first time.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Full Bust
December 4, 2012
I 've wanted to rent this dress for three years and finally had the opportunity to for a wedding!

Top was very loose, embroidery was beautiful but the dress didnt fit like the pictures or explained. I would never recommend this to someone who is full busted, which is exactly what category I found this dress under. I was very disappointed in this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 11, 2013
Probably better for the bustier ladies

I am petite and 32B, so that may have influenced my review, but this dress did not fit well at all. The top gaped open awkwardly, and could have been fixed with fashion tape for coverage, but the sleeves still oddly looked like wings in the armpit area. I ended up wearing a dress I already owned and was sad this didn't work out. The 0 was definitely too big--it came down nearly to my knees as well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 31, 2013
LOVED the style and material of this dress - very flattering!

The dress fit slightly big in the bust area but otherwise a fantastic dress. Would highly recommend for a fancy date night or trendy party.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2015
Outdoor wedding in fall.

Dress looked great but had difficulties with the top. I had to wear a nu-bra (so you wouldn't see the closure in the back) but still had to pin the front because it was too big.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2011

Very beautiful dress- however it unfortunately cinches tightly at the waist. I do not recommend it for an athletic body type- unless your waist is small/ has an accented curve.

LeslieMay 27, 2011
Me too! How long have you been on the waiting list and are you still on it?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2011

This dress is beautiful! I am 5'2" and 115 lb. I have a larger rib cage, and I ended up having to fold down the back clasp where the gold threading is because it was so much smaller than the actual dress zipper (in both the 0 and the 2). I still received a ton of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 19, 2012
No kidding about the bra!

I am a true size 8 in dresses, but the embroidered band around the waist was super tight - I got it on and it looked better than the 10, but the clasps were pulling and it looked weird. you DEFINITELY need a backless/strapless bra, this is not a joke. Its a really cute dress and I got a lot of compliments, but it was a tad stressful to make it all work. Lots of fashion tape! (ps- Victorias Secret Fashion tape is terrible).

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
July 11, 2012
<3

This Dress was def. a hit! everyone was complimenting me all night on how beautiful my dress was! The only problem was the middle belt around the ribs ran so small ): but the dress was perfect. the ribs were 2 sizes too small. Over all though, i loved it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2012
Runs very small

I didn't wear this because it runs tiny. I am a 6, I got a 4 and a 6. Neither fit. My sister is between a 2-4, the 4 was TIGHT on her. Super cute dress, great material but runs very small.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
The look on my husband's face was priceless when I came down wearing the dress!

This dress does run small - I am normally a size 4 and I ended up wearing the size 2 (thanks to the helpful remarks from others on the RTR site). The dress looked great, wore it to an upscale restaurant for our wedding anniversary date night. I was oh so sad to put it back in the return envelope!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2012
Cute low cleavage dress but I am busty and had to go a size up. The material is more formal though

Cute low cleavage dress but I am busty and had to go a size up. The material is more formal though not so much a party dress. My shorter friend w a smaller bust the dress looked right for church. On me a tall girl 5'8 big bust more party dress. However the snap on the back always comes undone which is super annoying.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Gorgeous silhouette and the back makes it the perfect party dress!

I got this dress as my backup dress and LOVED it - but it ran a little small in the waist. I ordered a 2 by Tibi in another dress and it fit perfectly, but I would've been more comfortable in the 4 in this dress. Super cute and the back details were gorgeous! Make sure you have some double-sided tape and either a backless bra or something to control your high beams :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2013
Too Small!

The dress was super cute but there is no stretch to the band at all and it was cutting into my side. I ended up not wearing this dress for my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 23, 2013
Cute dress, too small though

Cute dress, pretty modest for the event I went to but it's cute, runs small though, needed a 6, ordered a 4, usually a 2 or a 4....

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 30, 2013
Cute, but not quite worth it...

Rented this dress as a back-up but ended up wearing it to a party. I typically wear a 6. A size 6 in this dress fit me fine everywhere but in my larger ribcage. Guess that is a common issue because one of the hooks on the back of the dress had apparently been broken off and hastily sewn back on. This attempted non-functional reattachment resulted in my poor boyfriend struggling with safety pins so I could even wear the dress. And as other reviewers pointed out, fashion tape is a must with the low cut neckline. All in all this was a little too much trouble to wear. Looked ok on but in my opinion, the end result was not worth the effort for me.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 4, 2013
Sexy, Little, Black Dress

I wore this dress to a friend's house party, and it's a sexy dress! It's even good to wear for a ladies' night out or even to a nice restaurant. The dress is super flattering for hourglass figures or if you like to accentuate your waist. The reason I gave four rather than five stars is because the back was a little tricky. There is a zipper and two clasps on top of the zipper, and you will need someone to help you with the clasps. It's probably good to order a size up.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2013
Service was excellent but the dress did not fit

Cute dress, but not enough fabric in the chest area for someone who is tall with a bigger chest. I am 5' 10" and a size 34 D and the proportions of the dress just didn't work with my body type

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2013
Pretty dress, but not my favorite

The material and embroidery detail at the waist were beautiful - very soft dress with a nice drape. I found the 10 snug around my waist, so went with the 12. The bust on the 12 was very roomy and low cut, and as others have said, fashion tape is essential. I did manage to wear a stapless bra by using one of those extender staps (i am too busty for a nu bra). With the extender, i was able to criss cross the bra staps down below the opening in the back. It was semi-uncomfortable by the end of the night, but a necessary solution as i looked really saggy braless :-) The dress itself was comfortable and roomy in the hips/stomach, which is exactly what i need with my 3 months pregnant bloat. Overall the dress was pretty but didn't have the WOW factor that I usually get with RTR.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
April 24, 2014
I was very excited to wear this dress, but the fit was not what I expected.

This dress fit very tight at the waist and then very loose in top. I spent most of the night trying to make sure I was covered up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2014
Very cute!

Very cute dress but beware that the embroidered belt has no give. I am typically a size 4 and it was very tight on my ribs. I could not zip it up all the way. Luckily with my hair down and some fashion tape you couldn't tell.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 9, 2014
Did not end up wearing it

Typically wear a 6, so ordered a 6 and they did not have an 8 to send me. The 6 was way too small, the skirt clung to my hips and looked way too tight. Unfortunately I ended up wearing something I had as I waited to the last minute to try it on--my fault! Wish I could have tried it in an 8, it really is a cute dress! The embroidered belt is less “bright” in real life which I like better, and the back cut out detail so cute!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2014
Not a great fit

Really low cut in the front. Fashion tape helped, but it was not as flattering as I hoped. The opening in the back was higher than I anticipated. I wore a regular bra, but had to make the straps as short as possible. Not very comfortable. The top hook in the back of the dress was bent, which caused it to constantly come unhooked. All night people were closing it back up for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2014
Woah Busty

I have a large chest and this dress just didn't look good on me. I felt rather over exposed, and the dress just didn't snug in the right spots. I love the style, but it just wasn't for me!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2014
Does not fit right - do not rent!

I have a typical hourglass shape and thought this dress would look great. I could not close the clasp in the back in either the 4 or 6, and the top was incredibly loose and not flattering. Neither size worked and I returned the dress. I have rented several times from RTR before and usually love the dress I receive, but this was awful - choose another dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2014
Not great...

I am a 32D, and I struggled with the open back and low front. The clasp was also broken for the size that looked the best. I ended up not wearing it because it wasn't the best fitting dress (and the clasp wasn't working). Not one of my favorites...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 5, 2012
beautiful but annoying

This dress is beautiful and made my waist look tiny however the plunging neckline meant I spent all night making sure my bra wasn't showing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2013
I didn't get to wear the dress

I ordered both a size 6 and 8 knowing fully that I tend to run larger on top (I wear a 36C bra) and I'm smaller on the bottom. The size 6 wouldn't zip up and clip but on the 8 it zipped up fine but was just too loose on top, I would've been falling out of it. Also, the dress hit me just above the knee and was a little too formal/conservative for the party I was going to. I was disappointed that it didn't work out.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 13, 2013
It wasn't - I ended up letting my little sister wear the dress.

It is very tight across the rib cage with no give. I ended up not wearing the dress, and instead giving it to my little sister to wear. She normally wears a size 6-8, and she fit into it fine (it was a little long on her, perfect length for me, and I'm 5'11" - she's 5'3"). Very pretty in person, but I really wish I could have actually worn it. It is low cut, but nothing indecent, just sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2014
Loved the look, didn't work for me

I really like the look of this dress in the picture, but unfortunately, I have a pretty broad ribcage and this dress felt like it was squeezing me to death. I opted to wear something from my own closet that was going to allow me to breathe. I would have definitely needed to use some fashion tape to keep the top in place if I would have worn it. I would recommend it for someone who is a bit more petite than me.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2010

The dress was beautiful but I have a few complaints. The V in front is very low. Plan on pinning or using double-stick tape if you don't want any "suprises". The keyhole in the back was a bit of an obstacle. I ended up wearing a bra and working some magic in the back. One thing to note - the "sleeves" are very wide and actually come down to the waistband, which means you'll either be showing your bra or lack thereof if you raise your arms. Also arrived very wrinkled and I couldn't fix that despite a lengthy steam session.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2010

This dress was a hit for my friends birthday party! Like the other reviews say it is almost impossible to wear a bra with it so plan on using fasion tape. The only disappointment was that because it is silk it came a little wrinkled. Make sure you order it to come in advance so you have time to steam the wrinkles out. Otherwise- loved it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
October 5, 2010

This dress is gorgeous! I got a ton of compliments! It was a pain to figure out what to do with the extremely low neckline, a bra is pretty much out of the question because of the back. I ended up wearing a NuBra and some dress tape to keep everything covered. I ordered my size and a size up and went with my size, it was a perfect fit!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2010

I rented this dress for a fraternity date party and it was a hit! The dress is low cut, but nothing a little double stick tape couldn't fix. Also, you can't wear a normal bra, but a NuBra - or any other "sticky bra" - works perfectly! On sizing, the dress runs true to size - I ordered my normal size 4 and it worked great. Happy Renting!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 27, 2010

I received so many compliments on this dress. I wore it on Thanksgiving. I do agree that the V is low, but I fixed it with a bit of double sided tape. As for not being able to wear a bra, I was able to adjust the straps on my bra so that it was high on my back, and solved that problem. The arm holes are a bit low, but nothing shows except for the sides of the bra (my bra was black lace on the sides, so it was fine). Though the dress had its issues, it was well worth it. I will definitely rent again in the future!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 28, 2011

If you have big hips then this dress might look good on you but otherwise it's baggy and tight in all the wrong places.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
April 11, 2011

This is a great dress! I wear a size 32D and didn't think the dress was too low cut. It fits great for those who want to hide a belly pooch. It's very easy to dress up or down.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2011

Loved wearing it & got lots of compliments! After reading previous reviews of this dress I purchased double-sided fashion tape & black safety pins. I ended up needing the pins - very low cut! - but not the tape. Also, I could have worn a bra (the straps would not have shown under the arms) but didn't really need to once the pins were in place. You will not regret renting this dress! The hard part will be taking it off at the end of the night.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2011

I loved this dress. It is very flattering and slimming. I am b/w a 6 and an 8 and ordered a 6. It was tight on my ribcage but an 8 would have been too big. I used 2 sided tape on the front and it looked perfect for my night out in Vegas!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2011

the front is very revealing, but nothing some double stick tape and a safety pin or two can't fix. I felt beautiful in the dress and receive loads of compliments! the silky fabric was really classy :)

See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×