Rent the Runway

Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Also available in sage.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

173 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 104
Large 40
Photos 39
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 5, 2013

Ran way too big- could not wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I made a mistake when ordering- thought I had a back up size 8 but somehow missed it at checkout. I usually am a 10 but could not wear it- too big. Lesson learned- make sure you have a size down for this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Sexy, Classy Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for my birthday date with my husband. I ordered the 2 and the zero and tried the zero first. It fit like a glove, so I didn't even try on the 2. It is very low in the front - much lower than the model pic - but it was fun to wear something totally out of my comfort zone for a night. The fabric is very flattering without being clingy. The hostess at the restaurant we went to loved it and wanted to know where I got my belt - and was so disappointed when I told her it was part of the dress! I can imagine larger busted women would have a problem with the top, but this is one dress that did a good job of flattering a small chest.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 30, 2013

Cute, but not quite worth it...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress as a back-up but ended up wearing it to a party. I typically wear a 6. A size 6 in this dress fit me fine everywhere but in my larger ribcage. Guess that is a common issue because one of the hooks on the back of the dress had apparently been broken off and hastily sewn back on. This attempted non-functional reattachment resulted in my poor boyfriend struggling with safety pins so I could even wear the dress. And as other reviewers pointed out, fashion tape is a must with the low cut neckline. All in all this was a little too much trouble to wear. Looked ok on but in my opinion, the end result was not worth the effort for me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

LOVED the style and material of this dress - very flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress fit slightly big in the bust area but otherwise a fantastic dress. Would highly recommend for a fancy date night or trendy party.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 3, 2013

In the right size and color, this would have been the perfect dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was a bit disappointed with this RTR experience. I reserved this dress in blue, and had wanted a 6 and 8. There was no size 6 available, so I went with the 8 and a 4 and crossed my fingers. What arrived was two black dresses, sized 4 and 8, and one blue, size 4. The 8's were a bit loose, but the 4 was tight, so I opted for the black size 8. The front was very loose, and I had quite a bit of double stick tape keeping the whole operation from flashing my father-in-law. In the end, it was a very pretty dress, and I got lots of compliments on it. I can only imagine that if I had gotten a blue size 6, it would have been perfection. Sigh, on to the next rental.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 10, 2013

Wayyy too big

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Wayyy too big
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

Loved it. I wore it for a museum cocktail event and it was great. I got a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit perfectly but I could not wear my bra with it do to the back.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 22, 2013

I did not end up wearing this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress, and I was glad I rented another! The front is very low, and my boobs did not fill the space (I'm a 34B). I was very happy with my first choice dress, though! I recommend always getting the $25 back up dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 25, 2013

Gorgeous dress. Something I would never buy, but loved trying it out for a weekend in Vegas!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was beautiful and super sexy. Very low neckline combined with my 34A chest meant that fashion tape was a must! I love the cut-out back and the fitted waist. One issue, the hooks in the back of the dress had clearly been damaged and sewed back on. As a result, they would not stay shut on their own and I needed to be pinned into the dress. Thank goodness for girlfriends and safety pins. A little disappointing thought considering the quality and price of the dress otherwise.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Being able to dance all night in my fun dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not too form-fitting, and very comfortable! A little black dress with the extra metallic accent :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2013

Didn't get to wear the dress...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately this dress did not work out for me. I'm a pear shape and tried a size 2 - the top fit well, a little more loose then I would like considering it's a low vneck and can't wear a bra, but the bottom was way too tight. I got a 4 as a back up and the top was WAY too big, even though the bottom fit. Such is the life of a pear shaped girl :(
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 13, 2013

Easy dress to wear and dance in, which was essential for the Xmas dinner/dance I wore it to.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well, a little bit short for my long legs and torso, but I have the problem in most dresses. I love the neck line and the cut in the back. The band had tones of gold and silver so I could wear either color in jewelry.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

great dress for a gala

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Firstly my dress arrived at 8:54pm on the first rental date so I spoke with a stylist (Lauren dp) the following day to find out if I could return it on Sunday as my event was Saturday night. She was very informative as far as letting me know if I would be charged and could keep it through Sunday as this was my first time renting. While i understand its a cumulative 4 day rental..renting on a Wednesday with the dress arriving so late and due by noon on sat isn't 4 days at all so be aware that if your garment comes late you lose a day on top of it being due by noon of the due date (which is more of a two and half day rental) Upon arrival the packaging was really fantastic although I was bummed I couldn't use the speaker as I have an android not an i phone, so I gave it to my boyfriend's sister. I chose not to use the garment bag provided as I felt like I would've been a walking billboard going through the airport. The dress was nice, the 12 was only a little big but there was a lot of pinholes in the front from previous use that felt noticeable to me, so I wore the 10 which was a snug but sexy fit. I used individual sticker bra cups and the fashion tape to hold everything in place as you cant use a bra because of the back. I did have to use two safety pins to make the front less revealing. I got a lot of compliments on the dress however since it was a conservative affair I had a black shawl to go with the dress so the back wasn't as bold. I will definitely rent again in the future, however I would choose the 8 day rental just in case if I am going out of the country again. Waiting for it to come the day before a red eye flight was really stressful!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Love it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I love this dress! You will need the double sided tape. You cannot wear a bra with it, unless you do stick ons.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

Service was excellent but the dress did not fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Cute dress, but not enough fabric in the chest area for someone who is tall with a bigger chest. I am 5' 10" and a size 34 D and the proportions of the dress just didn't work with my body type
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Pretty dress, but not my favorite

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The material and embroidery detail at the waist were beautiful - very soft dress with a nice drape. I found the 10 snug around my waist, so went with the 12. The bust on the 12 was very roomy and low cut, and as others have said, fashion tape is essential. I did manage to wear a stapless bra by using one of those extender staps (i am too busty for a nu bra). With the extender, i was able to criss cross the bra staps down below the opening in the back. It was semi-uncomfortable by the end of the night, but a necessary solution as i looked really saggy braless :-) The dress itself was comfortable and roomy in the hips/stomach, which is exactly what i need with my 3 months pregnant bloat. Overall the dress was pretty but didn't have the WOW factor that I usually get with RTR.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 1, 2013

Amazing Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my 5 year high school reunion. The fit was great, you do need an adhesive bra because your bra will show in the back
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

got lots of compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The closer in the back is not positioned so that the belt looks like an actual belt. I had no problem closing the back but it looked like it was pulling because the closers were not placed properly. Also, I got a 4 and a 6 but the 6 didn't have a slit in the back where as the 4 did. Some reason they weren't exactly the same. It was very pretty and got lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

If you have boobs at all -- this is NOT for you!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Couldn't wear the dress because almost my entire boob was hanging out! If you are small and flat chested, I'm sure this would be very flattering and fit much better!! :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Does not fit right - do not rent!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I have a typical hourglass shape and thought this dress would look great. I could not close the clasp in the back in either the 4 or 6, and the top was incredibly loose and not flattering. Neither size worked and I returned the dress. I have rented several times from RTR before and usually love the dress I receive, but this was awful - choose another dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Cute dress, love the back cut-out!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately, this dress was a little too tight, so I did not wear it. If I would have gotten a different size, I think it would have been perfect for my night out with friends! The length was fine and the back cut-out was super cute...too bad!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Feb 26, 2014

I wore this only 2 months after having twins and I felt sexy for the first time in almost a year!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The top was pretty baggy compared to the waist. But I loved the dress overall. Make sure you have clothing tape to make sure you don't fall out. Luckily I wore this to a bachelorette party so extra cleavage wasn't inappropriate!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Sexy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The front was too loose; would definitely need tape or to pin it a bit. Otherwise I loved the fit and look!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 10, 2014

Great lines and beautiful detail

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress, but it definitely requires a LOT of fashion tape if you plan to be moving around! I ordered my usual size (8) and the 10 just in case. The 8 fit perfectly, but the clasp in the back was a bit broken, so I ended up wearing the 10. I used two rows of fashion tape along the bust since it was fairly loose. I highly recommend this approach :) The material is great and the gold detail is really pretty. Lots of complements all evening. I will definitely be ordering this dress again for a trip to Vegas!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 12, 2014

The back keyhole was perfect to jazz up this LBD!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great, wore backless bra, and the length was good
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Beautiful dress. Wore this out for a bachelorette party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Gorgeous, fun dress! Runs true to size but the only reason I have it 4 stars was the neckline was super low. I used fashion tape to keep it in place, but even with that, I had to be really careful. Was very mindful of it the entire evening which was a bit of a bummer.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Couldn't wear the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The clasp on the back of the dress was too loose (maybe someone had stretched the dress?) so it did not look good from the back. i ended up wearing the other dress I ordered.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 2, 2014

Didn't end up wearing the dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was ok. It wasn't as dressy as I expected to be and didn't fit right.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Loved it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was super slimming - but don't forget the fashion tape!
RTR Customer
Age: 35
Apr 24, 2014

I was very excited to wear this dress, but the fit was not what I expected.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress fit very tight at the waist and then very loose in top. I spent most of the night trying to make sure I was covered up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Not great...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I am a 32D, and I struggled with the open back and low front. The clasp was also broken for the size that looked the best. I ended up not wearing it because it wasn't the best fitting dress (and the clasp wasn't working). Not one of my favorites...
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Apple
May 5, 2014

It was so comfortable and looked cute with flats :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had recently been in a car accident when I had to find a comfy dress for my best friend's birthday party. I ALWAYS wear heels, but was not able to after my accident and needed to find a cute, comfortable dress that would also look good with flats. This dress did the trick! I was incredibly comfortable and the dress went well with my Tory Burch flats. This dress is very simple, but classy...I would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
May 13, 2014

Very cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very cute dress but beware that the embroidered belt has no give. I am typically a size 4 and it was very tight on my ribs. I could not zip it up all the way. Luckily with my hair down and some fashion tape you couldn't tell.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Woah Busty

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I have a large chest and this dress just didn't look good on me. I felt rather over exposed, and the dress just didn't snug in the right spots. I love the style, but it just wasn't for me!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 17, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress. Very flattering. The gold accent on the dress is pretty but there isn't any stretch to it. It was a tad too tight so i ended up not wearing it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Didn't end up wearing the dress.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Key hole and the upper back fabric did not sit correctly on my shoulders and back- which left fabric too slack on front. I didn't want to be exposing myself that much at the party! Beautiful details on dress though- embroidery at belt area was gorgeous. Could actually see this dress being paired with leggings/booties too.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 9, 2014

Did not end up wearing it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Typically wear a 6, so ordered a 6 and they did not have an 8 to send me. The 6 was way too small, the skirt clung to my hips and looked way too tight. Unfortunately I ended up wearing something I had as I waited to the last minute to try it on--my fault! Wish I could have tried it in an 8, it really is a cute dress! The embroidered belt is less “bright” in real life which I like better, and the back cut out detail so cute!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Jul 13, 2014

Garret and Katelyn's Wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! Comfortable and classy. Highly recommended.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Loved the look, didn't work for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I really like the look of this dress in the picture, but unfortunately, I have a pretty broad ribcage and this dress felt like it was squeezing me to death. I opted to wear something from my own closet that was going to allow me to breathe. I would have definitely needed to use some fashion tape to keep the top in place if I would have worn it. I would recommend it for someone who is a bit more petite than me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Pretty detail to liven up a LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up sending this dress back because the clasps in back were very worn and showing. The 6 fit almost perfectly, but was a bit tight around the waist. I'm 6 weeks postpartum, so would most likely order the 6 again. The top could be a bit risque, but if you are broad shouldered like me it isn't really a problem. I would probably try and order this dress again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×