Tibi

Babbet Lace Shift Dress

$71 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look chic for your event in this navy lace shift by Tibi. A style that can be worn year round for any semi-formal event. Go with accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops to add dimension to your look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy lace over silk(20% nylon; 60% cotton; 17% rayon with 100% silk; lining: 49% nylon; 51% acetate). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(281)
Small
(62)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2012
so many complimets!!
Fab! Unique and flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 17, 2012
Perfect! Loved!
Fit great
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 8, 2012
love the color
true to size
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
December 25, 2012
A perfect RTR first! Fit great and felt great.
Fit true to size. Was great for someone who needs to get everything shortened. Only thing was the under sheath was a little longer in certain areas, however used fashion tape to even out and make sure didn't stick out longer than the lace. Overall a great dress and could be dressed up or down depending on accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Amazing Dress for Winter Wedding/Formal Christmas Party
I actually wore this dress on back to back events - the first was a formal 3 course dinner party and the second was a night wedding. My only problem with the dress was that I felt like the arms were a little tight…and I have pretty slender arms. Otherwise, the dress did not come too short on me. I wore it once with hair up and the second hair down…looked great both ways! Topped it off with nude pumps. I got so many compliments in the dress it was unreal! This is the first dress I truly wanted to keep off RTR…I still dream about wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
January 10, 2013
Wore to Spring Wedding, loved it
This dress was great for a March wedding. It was comfortable to dance in and I got lots of compliments. Looks great with nude heels.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
January 16, 2013
I had about 6 compliments from complete strangers in the first 30 min of wearing the dress!
I absolutely loved the dress and I wish I could buy it. It was extremely comfortable! Both sizes fit, but I felt slightly more comfortable in the 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2013
how easy it was to do and how cute the dress was.
The fit was very true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
January 27, 2013
Beautiful Dress! Would rent this again and again! Thank you RTR - you are the BEST!
I am 5' tall, 102 lbs and this dress fit very well and was very comfortable. It was the perfect length to flatter my legs,(that I typically do not show off). I felt this dress was age and body type appropriate for me. It was sophisticated and elegant ,yet fun. I liked the fact that it was navy lace and not black lace, I think that alone took it to the next level of class. The only things that I did not care for (but were not a big deal), it the fact that I am short waisted and from the side, the dress did not look the greatest with the curve of my rear and the curve of my bust - it pulled a little oddly. Also, on occasion, the lining would peek out from the bottom of the dress, but all I really had to do was tug the lace down a bit and I was just fine. I would totally rent this dress again and hated to return it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2013
This was a fun dress and received lots of compliments.
The color is lovely and because it is not black, it seemed more fun. I have to admit that it was shorter than I'd hoped and because I am not young, I did not feel comfortable wearing it with nude legs. Fortunately, I had an option but I do wish it had been a bit longer... As other reviewers have said, the arms are a bit snug but this was fine since I expected this.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress! It was different from what everyone else was wearing.
It is a little shorter than I am used to wearing, but the sleeves balanced that out and it felt totally appropriate for the wedding. It was a little big in the upper back area, but not enough to make it look bad, and it fit nicely everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
I spent so much time looking for a dress so when everyone loved it I thought it was time well spent.
Overall the dress was great. The lace wasn't bothersome, itchy or anything. The color was how it is in the picture with the model, but maybe a bit darker. The only problem I had was with my body type (wide back, no curves whatsoever) it definitely didn't give me any help in that department, so if that's your body type I would wear a belt. I also wore the dress with the earrings they suggested, and they are kinda chunky clip-ons so they didn't work well for dancing, however looked great with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
February 7, 2013
Good Go-To Dress
The sleeves fit kind of tightly, but the rest of the dress fits very well. The length was perfect and I wore it with neutral patent wedges. My one complaint would be that it was too plain for my event, but if you're looking for a simple and elegant dress, this is for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 10, 2013
Perfect for a work party
I am pear shaped, size 4 on top, 6 on bottom, so I had to go with the 6 on this for the hips, so the top was a little loose but no one but me could tell. It is a bit shorter than the dresses I usually go for, but it was very comfortable and I recieved many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding!
Great fit. I'm 5'0 and the dress was short, but not too short. Great fit and was comfy to wear all night! I got tons of compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
February 25, 2013
I wasn't worried about the dress riding up, anything showing that shouldn't be, and I felt great.
Fit was perfect. I am 5' 3", so it was not too short. Super comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was how the lining showed up so white in the pictures, but it was not that bright.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 25, 2013
Unique Dress...Great For The Winter
I loved the long sleeves, especially for the winter, and thought it would help keep me warm on a cold night, and I was super comfortable wearing it all night long. The only thing about this dress is that it is a true shift...so there's no shape to it at all. Since I'm very hourglass, it did stick to my chest and bum a little and just kind of hung around my stomach area. The 6 wasn't available so I couldn't see how that one fit, but I have a feeling that it would've been a little big on me, but probably would've fit like a real shift is supposed to. All in all, really loved it and got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2013
Lovely sheath for a date
I ordered this dress last-minute for Valentine's Day, taking advantage of Olay's free overnight shipping offer. I'm so glad I did! The dress was cute, classy, and comfortable to be in - even after a multi-course dinner and multiple desserts! Since it's winter, I wore black tights and booties with it. It was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 25, 2013
I have never had soo many compliments on a dress in my life!
I wore this for a formal charity auction. I got the 4 as my back-up size, however since it does run true to size, the 6 was way more comfortable. The sleeves are a tad tight, however you don't even notice it as the night goes on. I wore it with very minimal jewelry and nude heels. It was easily the best dress at the event. I had complete strangers coming up to me to compliment the dress. I also put a picture of it on Facebook and got over 50 likes and a ton of comment on how awesome the dress was. I absolutely loved this dress! I will be using Rent the Runway again for every event that I go to
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 27, 2013
Fun look, tons of compliments!
I loved this dress and judging from all the compliments I received, I wasn’t the only one. I found it to be eye-catching without being over the top, and perfect for a not-too-formal winter wedding. It was also very comfortable – the lace isn’t itchy at all – but it is short so you have to either be comfortable in short dresses or at least conscious of the way you sit, dance, etc. The (attached) slip did tend to peek out at the bottom, but not in a bad way; it looks like part of the style. I wore it with nude pumps and gold jewelry and thought it all worked great together.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2013
Super classy!
I ordered the 2 and 4. I was really pleased that both dresses fit. The 2 was a little tighter and shorter. Since I was going to a formal, conservative event, I ended up going with the 4 which was a little longer and fit more like a shift dress. The length wasn't an issue for me - especially in the 4, and even sitting down.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2013
Great dress in a great color!
I rented this dress for a baptism in March in Chicago. It was a little short so I wore tights with it which worked perfect. I really liked the blue color and lace with nude slip underneath.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 24, 2013
Wore this for rehearsal dinner of wedding boyfriend was lovely dress!
Love the fit of this dress classy yet surprisingly sexy with comfortable fit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 31, 2013
I loved this dress - much prettier than picture shows
paired with nude heels for a longer, leaner look
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2013
Such a cute dress! Classy, but lots of fun.
I had a blast accessorizing this dress, and the shoe possibilities are endless! I think that it runs pretty true to size everywhere but the length. I caution anyone who considers herself a wild dancer... the dress is short! I loved the dress, but I would have loved it even more with another inch or two in the length!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
April 2, 2013
The dress just made me feel great!
I fell in love with this dress immediately! It's so beautiful and I got so many compliments. I usually wear a size 4 but that was too short for me so I went up to the 6. The sleeves were a little tight but didn't bother me. It was perfect!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2013
Loved wearing this dress!
Dress was delivered to a location I was visiting far from home. The details that others posted on RTR were helpful in putting the look together. Loved receiving two sizes and dropping everything off in the UPS bag the next day. Less stuff to carry back home from vacation. I will use Rent the Runway for special events from now on. Excellent experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 7, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!
I wore this dress to a Rehearsal dinner. It fit absolutely perfect and it was SO pretty! The lace detail is great. It was the perfect dress for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2013
Perfect for Garden-style Wedding
All of the reviews I read before renting were spot on -- this dress is very flattering and pretty comfortable! I love the color and lace is on-trend, so it was perfect. Received numerous compliments from friends and other wedding guests! The only minor issues to be aware of: 1) the dress is pretty short -- I am 5'2'' and needed to pull the dress down from time to time. And 2) if you have bigger/more muscular arms, it may be bit tight. The material isn't very stretchy/doesn't have a ton of give. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 24, 2013
Loved this dress! Was a little shorter than I thought but otherwise fit great.
Length was a little short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 6, 2013
Classy, yet sexy
Loved this dress. My second RTR and second Tibi. I wore it for a bachelorette party in northern Michigan in the spring. It fit great, maybe a little short, but cute. I didn't seem to have a problem with the liner under the lace peeking out. The sleeves were a bit tight but not uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend - it was adorable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 166lbs
May 19, 2013
Great dress that shows off legs
Fit a bit tight on my chest, loose on waist, and just right on hips with a pair of shapwear. Typical shift dress fit. I loved it! Would be good in all seasons! I felt confident in it, and it was sexy without being cheesy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
May 20, 2013
I thought it was super comfortable and sophisticated.
I felt the fit was great. I am more of an athletic-apple shape and I thought it slimmed me down, but kept my curves. I loved the three-quarter sleeves and I loved the blue hue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
June 3, 2013
Too small on chests bigger than DD
I ordered this for a wedding. I had just had a baby so wasn't sure what size I would need. The dress fit fine in the body but even in the size 10 was too tight on my 36F bust. I ended up going with my backup dress instead. I would say it fits true to size overall but is not for overly busty girls.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2013
love this the dress, very flattering and got compliments all night!
love this the dress, very flattering and got compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 17, 2013
GREAT dress!
Rented this for a beach weekend in June with temperatures in low 80s. Was absolutely perfect. Received a few "wow"s from my husband and felt very comfortable. I'm 12 weeks pregnant, so I'm more like 140 pounds now and the 8 fit very well. The dress is short and I would probably pick another dress if it was a "dance all night" type of affair, but this worked really well for me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2013
I felt amazing in it. I wore it to a fall wedding.
It is definitely short but the sleeves balance it out. It's flirty yet mature. Great dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 25, 2013
Flattering fit!
The arms are a little tight, but not so much that it is uncomfortable. Overall length of the dress was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 27, 2013
Beautiful dress, but too short!
I so wish I could have worn this dress! It is even more gorgeous than in the picture. And it looked amazing on. But it was so short that there was no way I could have danced in it...or walked...or moved at all. Basically, I lifted up my arms, and my entire butt fell out the bottom. I swear I'm not exaggerating. Luckily I had rented this as my back-up, so it was only $25 wasted, but I would have loved to have worn it. I don't think going up a size would have helped, since then it would have been too baggy all over and probably not much, or any, longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2013
Absolutely perfect!
I wore this dress for my husband's MBA graduation. It was exactly what I wanted. It showed off my legs and slimmed everything else. The sleeves weren't too much for a warm day, and I received endless compliments. Really wish I could buy it! I got a size 8 and a 6. The six was just a bit too snug for my comfort level. The zipper on the 8 gaped a bit in the back, but not enough to bother me. Will definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×