Tibi

Babbet Lace Shift Dress

$71 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look chic for your event in this navy lace shift by Tibi. A style that can be worn year round for any semi-formal event. Go with accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops to add dimension to your look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy lace over silk(20% nylon; 60% cotton; 17% rayon with 100% silk; lining: 49% nylon; 51% acetate). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(281)
Small
(62)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
December 27, 2011
Not for my body
I should have known! This is a beautiful dress, but not for my body. I am 5'3 & curvy. It was loose up top and in the stomach and tight on my hips/bottom. Also, the sleaves came to my wrists since I am so short. Great dress, though. Might order again once I lose 40 pounds and grow 5 inches. ;)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2012
A balance of classic and sexy
Loved this dress!! I wore this to a new year's eve party that I hosted and received many compliments on how beautiful it was. I ordered a 4 and a 6, i'm usually right in between these two sizes and ended up wearing the 6 (I'm 5'6 and 140 lbs.) The 4 fit perfectly except that when i lifted my arms, my dress would go all the way up. The 6 wasn't to baggy so it was perfect. It was so comfortable but so sexy at the same time. Would definitely order this dress again! It looked great with a pair of tan patent leather pumps
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 19, 2012
nice dress
The dress is very cute, very nice quality. It is true to size but the design of the dress does not particularly emphasis your waist. The skirt runs short, so if you have a nice pair of legs its great to show it, but when you are sitting down, it may become a bit inconvenient. The blue is a nice twist from all other black dresses, overall I'm pleased with the dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
February 15, 2012
The look on my husband's face when I walked out in this dress was unforgettable :)
Rented this dress for a big dinner date on Valentine's Day. It arrived in like-new condition right on time and RTR even included some samples and goodies in my bag, making me a customer for life! The dress is gorgeous, beautiful lace detail. I found the fit to be true to size, maybe a teeeeny bit small. I am usually a solid size 0, and I rented the 0 ... I couldn't get a 2 for backup b/c it wasn't available on my desired date. The 0 ended up being more fitted on me than the sample picture is on the model. I probably could've worn the 2 and ended up with a less fitted look like the model has. I would recommend sizing up for your second back-up dress. Sleeves fit very snug. I could see this being a problem for ladies with larger biceps / upper arms. Also the length was shorter than expected. I am 5'6" and it was just a tad shorter than I would've liked. It worked out okay, because I was just going to dinner .... but definately I would say this is not the dress if you will be dancing or raising your arms up. I had to strategically lay my napkin in my lap the moment I sat down to avoid giving everyone at the restaurant a peep at may panties! The length advertised here says 34" long .... NOT SO for my size 0, I laid it down on the floor and measured and it is 32" long from the neckline down to the hem, 30" long from the shoulder to hem. Maybe the larger sizes are a tad longer?? But if you are planning to rent the 0, I would not recommend it if you are taller than 5'6" or so. My only other complaint is that the nude inner lining kept peeking out the bottom of the hem from underneath the lace. (you can sort of see this in my pictures) This forced me to constantly tug at the dress everytime I was standing to try and keep the lace over the lining. Not a big deal, but a small annoyance. Overall, I absolutely loved this dress, I felt sexy but still somewhat conservative because I had my chest and arms covered and the fit is not super tight. I got a million compliments and I'm pretty sure my husband loved it even more than I did! Wish I could keep it! I wore this with nude patent peep-toe's and a sparkly metallic gold clutch, big chandelier earrings and a large bling-y bracelet.
bryaMay 22, 2012
What kind of clutch would I wear with this?
RTRMay 23, 2012
Hi Brya, we recommend a silver or neutral colored clutch. Check out Whiting and Davis under accessories!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 21, 2012
The lace. I was the only girl in lace, and PEOPLE NOTICED!
So many compliments received. Perfect to dance in and feel exquisite in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
February 25, 2012
Perfect!
This dress fit fabulously and was comfortable. I would wear again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 29, 2012
This dress fit like a glove! Friends immediately asked to borrow it, I was also able to dance the night away in it comfortably.
Runs very true to size, looks just like it does in the photo! Beautiful navy lace shift. I wore it to a formal dinner and got tons of compliments!
bryaMay 22, 2012
Omg, love your shoes for the dress, where did you find them?!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32F
Body type: Full Bust
March 5, 2012
Sexy but understated
I wore this for a Valentine's Day date with my husband and it was perfect. It's a sexy but understated dress that is perfect for a date or formal affair. And unlike some other lace dresses, it wasn't itchy. I hope I have another occasion soon so I can rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 25, 2012
Love this dress!!
I am totally in love with this dress. Its sexy but demure at the same time, and can easily be worn across seasons. The fit is super flattering, and the length was perfect (may be a little short if you're tall though). Overall, loved the entire look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 29, 2012
great for dinner and drinks
The sleeves made this dress perfect for a winter evening out. The dress had a modest fit that made it a good pick for dinner and drinks. I wore it with black tights and heels and was comfortable all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 2, 2012
Loved it!
I absolutely loved wearing this dress. I wore it to a nice dinner on my 30th birthday. I usually wear an 8 or a 10 and those are the sizes I got. The 8 fit but the 10 was more comfortable and looked a little better so I wore that even though there really wasn't much difference in the two sizes. It looks like it might be a little short in the picture but it wasn't. I felt so good in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 5, 2012
Standout dress for a standout party!
I rented this dress for a friend's birthday party; it was a pretty formal affair, cocktail hour, dinner and club. This dress was a fun, appropriate dress for all three venues! I received compliments all night- the lace makes it stand out as a different look from the other dresses. And it's not overly formal due to the short length of the dress, which is actually why I only gave it 4/5 stars. While a fun length, the fabric can ride up a bit (I found myself pulling it down) and sitting down put me at risk to pull a Britney. Aside from that, it was a different, sophisticated and fun formal party dress! As a side note, I ordered a 4 and a 6, I ended up wearing the 4 because the 6 caused some extra fabric to bunch up in the back by the zipper (causing a lower back lump of sorts)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 18, 2012
so easy - found exactly what i wanted and having two options, one had to fit!
Loved this TIBI dress. I got tons of compliments at an April 9th wedding. Perfect for the in between wedding season :) Comfortable so i could eat and dance around. Conservative and elegant. Highly recommend and the process was made so easy! thanks RTR :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 31, 2012
Beautiful for fall wedding!
I ordered this for an April wedding but decided it would look best for a fall wedding so I went with my other RTR option. I assumed this when I ordered but it's a great dress so I had to order anyway. If you have a small high waist and larger hips I would recommend a different dress since this is loose around the waist.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 4, 2012
i looooved this dress so much and got compliments on it all day long!!!
i rented this dress for my nephew's bar mitzvah and i absolutely loved it! this was my first rent the runway and i was so impressed with the customer service and everything about it!! people asked me all day where i got my dress. i did the stylist suprise and they sent me the alexis bittar dune dust earrings which looked so beautiful with my dress. my husband loved the dress so much that he wanted me to keep it! i don't normally write reviews but other people's reviews helped me so much when ordering, i felt i had to do it. i highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
June 12, 2012
Dress was amazing
I ordered a size 8 reading from reviewers that it seemed to run large. The dress fit perfect and I got a million compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again
CarlyNovember 25, 2012
I am 6'0" as well, and I usually wear a size 10. I would like to wear this to a wedding, do you think the length would be too short for a wedding?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 22, 2012
Very Chic
I rented this for a "Garden" Gala and it was perfect. Everyone loved it (including me). It was great for the theme, comfortable and looked great on. The only thing I would caution is the sleeves are only lace, so there is no give, and are a bit snug so if your arms are a little bigger you may need to go a size up for that reason alone. Other than that I loved everything about it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
June 28, 2012
Impressive dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding in upstate NY. It was prefect. I loved the way it fit and looked. I felt great in it. Only one note for wearing this dress while dancing: You can't lift your arms above your head! I had a great time while dancing in it though. Best rental by far!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
July 1, 2012
This dress was very classy and perfect for a wedding! You'll get a lot of attention but it doesn't look like you're trying to upstage the bride!
I wore this dress to a wedding and I received a ton of compliments. I'm only 5'1 and the length was great on me, which usually never happens. I also loved that it is navy rather than a traditional black. It reminded me of something Kate Middleton would wear! I would love to buy this dress, I'll definitely rent it again for something.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
July 5, 2012
Loved all the compliments and felt great in this dress!
While this dress may have been a little "fancy" for the event, I LOVED it! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner in Nantucket and it was so comfy and really chic. I received several compliments (more so from the pictures afterward) and felt great in it! I am 5' 9" so was a little worried about the length, but because it was a larger size (10), the length was perfect. I probably could have gone with a size smaller, but was comfortable in the size I received. I had several people tell me that I should own the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
July 6, 2012
Classy!
I wore this dress to my brother's wedding which was 2months after I had a baby. I wanted something that wasn't fitted. This dress was perfect. I got so many compliments and felt beautiful. My dad called me the next day and told me I was the best dressed at the wedding!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
July 28, 2012
Wedding Success!
Such a fun and flirty dress. Will definitely rent again! Perfect for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
August 1, 2012
I felt like the best dressed guest at the wedding! I was really comfortable and confident.
Can not speak high enough of this dress. The fit was perfect not too form fitting so I was extremely comfortable dancing. I usually where between an 6 & 8 because my chest is on the larger side. The 6 fit perfect though since the dress isnt meant to be very formfitting. I wore with nude pumps and the look was spot on. The dress was delivered in flawless condition. It looked brand new. People were complimenting me and the dress all night. I tried to buy the dress but cant find it available anywhere.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
Amazing Dress
I absolutely loved this dress. I found the overall fit and length to be true to size. I did find the length to be a tiny bit short, so I would order one size up just to be sure. The fabric and color is beautiful. I received tons of compliments on it, and had a blast wearing it. I would rent it again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 13, 2012
Lovely in Lace!!!
This was my first RTR experience and I am hooked! Loved the dress, very beautiful and flattering - lots of compliments. The entire process was so much fun and effortless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2012
a hit!!
gorgeous shade of blue, stunning lace fabric. Exposed back zipper gives an unexpected edgy twist!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
Love this dress!
A great alternative for a black dress, wore it to a fall wedding and received SO many compliments. I wish I owned this one!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 16, 2012
Loved this !
I wore this for my bridal shower in February, and it fit great! Received lots of compliments, so comfy and beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 17, 2012
Loved it!
I rented this for a Memorial Day weekend wedding in Napa Valley. It was comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. It was on the verge of being too short, so I had to be a little cautious when getting out of cars, etc. Really pretty dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 20, 2012
It was SO easy!
I was worried because designer dresses can run small but ordered a 6 and back up 8 and 6 fit perfectly! I received so many compliments, felt beautiful and comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
August 20, 2012
Made me feel like a star!
The dress is absolutely amazing! It is a beautiful and fits like a glove. Good for all body types. I wore it to a wedding and I can't even begin to count the amount of compliments I received. The worst thing about the dress is having to give it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2012
perfect dress!!
Wore this to a wedding and 4 months later I was still getting complements on it. Wish I could've bought it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2012
Perfect spring wedding attire
I wore this to a daytime Catholic wedding in March. It was the perfect combination of fun & conservative that worked for the church ceremony and the evening reception. It was also very comfortable and easy to dance in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 27, 2012
I didnt have to stress about the dress
I rented this for my 30th birthday party that was a mix of my friends/family/boyfriend's family. It was short enough it was sexy but long enough that it was appropiate! It looked great on and I got compliments all night on it and the next day on facebook. Th eonly thing is that it has NO giev whatsoever. It was a little tight in my arms but you couldnt notice. I would def rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 10, 2012
Loved this dress. I'd buy it if I could!
Great dress for a late summer wedding. Fits true to size. Received lots of compliments!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Perfect Fall Cocktail wear!
I loved the color, lace material & sleeves on this Tibi Blue shift dress! It was very flattering & fit true to size. I got lots of compliments throughout the night on my dress! Thank you RentTheRunway.com!
BrookeAugust 25, 2013
Shoes! Where did you get those shoes?
stephanieSeptember 9, 2013
BCBG
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2012
Adorable!
Wore this for a Thanksgiving dinner- felt sexy yet very comfortable. Wore 5" patent heels w/ it so it was short, but I paired it w/ opaque tights & it looked great. I agree w/ previous comments about sleeves being a bit tight since there was no "give." I had expected the lace to have a bit of stretch to it, but it didn't.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
September 19, 2012
Super cute, but they didn't have the size I needed
Super cute
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
it was a great dress. i felt comfortable, classy, yet sexy. understated but had a lot of ummppph...
i'm 5'2 110 lbs and size 0 was perfect. the length was perfect i would consider it a mini dress sheath dress that is just fabulous. the color was unique, because it's like a midnight blue with a neutral slip.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
I loved this dress! It fit perfectly and I received compliments all night!
It's true to size and I loved the nude under the navy lace. Absolutely gorgeous- I highly recommend it!
See more reviews:
4 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×