Tibi

Babbet Lace Shift Dress

$70 rental
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look chic for your event in this navy lace shift by Tibi. A style that can be worn year round for any semi-formal event. Go with accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops and Kate Spade's Emerald Anastasia Clutch to add dimension to your look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over silk(20% nylon; 60% cotton; 17% rayon with 100% silk; lining: 49% nylon; 51% acetate). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

374 reviews

Fit
Small 59
True to Size 264
Large 44
Photos 170
Karen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 21, 2011

Best compliment of the night - "Nice legs!"

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 6 or 8 but for this dress the 8 was perfect. I'm in my 30's and thought it was a perfect length where it was short but appropriate. Fit well in the arms, bust and all over. Loved it so much I rented it twice!
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 8, 2011

Honestly, RTR is known around my school for having great dresses and really being a classy dress service. My experience with this dress was my first RTR experience and it definetely lives up to this great reputation RTR has at my school. I got so many compliments and the most simple but the one that made me feel good everytime was just the "you look so good tonight" comment. I loved this dress and I had so much fun with it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am very curvy myself and this dress really helped me hide those unwanted curves and show off my best ones! It is really great for all body types. Only thing is that it runs a little big so I would get what you think your size is and then one size smaller. I wore it to a father-daughter dance that was themed "jazz" and it worked perfectly. But overall, I loved the dress and I really recommend it to anyone.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 30, 2011

The dress was so perfect: color, cut, style. I loved it and want to wear it again!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to opening night on Broadway and it was perfect. Not too short, not too long. Definitely doesn't hug your curves, but that's perfect for those of us who are straight and narrow! Gorgeous detail. Never wanted to take it off!
Bri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 5, 2011

I rented this dress for a friends wedding in November. I got many compliments! Beautiful color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little big in the back area so I would recommend ordering a size down.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50 lbs
Dec 16, 2011

So cute and comfy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love this dress. So cute and comfortable without trying too hard. I dressed it down by pairing it with edgy suede boots. A little tight in the arms..
Kristi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

The look on my husband's face when I walked out in this dress was unforgettable :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Rented this dress for a big dinner date on Valentine's Day. It arrived in like-new condition right on time and RTR even included some samples and goodies in my bag, making me a customer for life! The dress is gorgeous, beautiful lace detail. I found the fit to be true to size, maybe a teeeeny bit small. I am usually a solid size 0, and I rented the 0 ... I couldn't get a 2 for backup b/c it wasn't available on my desired date. The 0 ended up being more fitted on me than the sample picture is on the model. I probably could've worn the 2 and ended up with a less fitted look like the model has. I would recommend sizing up for your second back-up dress. Sleeves fit very snug. I could see this being a problem for ladies with larger biceps / upper arms. Also the length was shorter than expected. I am 5'6" and it was just a tad shorter than I would've liked. It worked out okay, because I was just going to dinner .... but definately I would say this is not the dress if you will be dancing or raising your arms up. I had to strategically lay my napkin in my lap the moment I sat down to avoid giving everyone at the restaurant a peep at may panties! The length advertised here says 34" long .... NOT SO for my size 0, I laid it down on the floor and measured and it is 32" long from the neckline down to the hem, 30" long from the shoulder to hem. Maybe the larger sizes are a tad longer?? But if you are planning to rent the 0, I would not recommend it if you are taller than 5'6" or so. My only other complaint is that the nude inner lining kept peeking out the bottom of the hem from underneath the lace. (you can sort of see this in my pictures) This forced me to constantly tug at the dress everytime I was standing to try and keep the lace over the lining. Not a big deal, but a small annoyance. Overall, I absolutely loved this dress, I felt sexy but still somewhat conservative because I had my chest and arms covered and the fit is not super tight. I got a million compliments and I'm pretty sure my husband loved it even more than I did! Wish I could keep it! I wore this with nude patent peep-toe's and a sparkly metallic gold clutch, big chandelier earrings and a large bling-y bracelet.
Maeve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 21, 2012

The lace. I was the only girl in lace, and PEOPLE NOTICED!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So many compliments received. Perfect to dance in and feel exquisite in!
Phoebe
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Feb 29, 2012

This dress fit like a glove! Friends immediately asked to borrow it, I was also able to dance the night away in it comfortably.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs very true to size, looks just like it does in the photo! Beautiful navy lace shift. I wore it to a formal dinner and got tons of compliments!
Vivi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 5, 2012

Standout dress for a standout party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a friend's birthday party; it was a pretty formal affair, cocktail hour, dinner and club. This dress was a fun, appropriate dress for all three venues! I received compliments all night- the lace makes it stand out as a different look from the other dresses. And it's not overly formal due to the short length of the dress, which is actually why I only gave it 4/5 stars. While a fun length, the fabric can ride up a bit (I found myself pulling it down) and sitting down put me at risk to pull a Britney. Aside from that, it was a different, sophisticated and fun formal party dress! As a side note, I ordered a 4 and a 6, I ended up wearing the 4 because the 6 caused some extra fabric to bunch up in the back by the zipper (causing a lower back lump of sorts)
Wren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 15, 2012

I received so many compliments on this and I felt so great in it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a wonderful style and great color. Overall fit was mainly true to size, except for some baggyness here and there. Would totally wear again!
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 18, 2012

so easy - found exactly what i wanted and having two options, one had to fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this TIBI dress. I got tons of compliments at an April 9th wedding. Perfect for the in between wedding season :) Comfortable so i could eat and dance around. Conservative and elegant. Highly recommend and the process was made so easy! thanks RTR :)
amanda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

The dress fit perfectly, and went nicely with the Bridal Minnie ears that my future in-laws got for me!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my engagment party and it was a great experience. The dress arrived as promised, in great condition and ready to wear. The fit was great, I didn't need the second size, but knowing the back-up was there was reassuring. Overall a great experience, and I will definitely do it again.
rebecca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 4, 2012

i looooved this dress so much and got compliments on it all day long!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
i rented this dress for my nephew's bar mitzvah and i absolutely loved it! this was my first rent the runway and i was so impressed with the customer service and everything about it!! people asked me all day where i got my dress. i did the stylist suprise and they sent me the alexis bittar dune dust earrings which looked so beautiful with my dress. my husband loved the dress so much that he wanted me to keep it! i don't normally write reviews but other people's reviews helped me so much when ordering, i felt i had to do it. i highly recommend this dress!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 10, 2012

I ordered this dress too big but the RTR staff sent the correct size to my hotel! Wonderful customer service.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a church wedding. It was the perfect dress for the occasion. I would order the backup size a smaller size. I thought it ran quite large.
crryan36
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Jul 1, 2012

This dress was very classy and perfect for a wedding! You'll get a lot of attention but it doesn't look like you're trying to upstage the bride!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and I received a ton of compliments. I'm only 5'1 and the length was great on me, which usually never happens. I also loved that it is navy rather than a traditional black. It reminded me of something Kate Middleton would wear! I would love to buy this dress, I'll definitely rent it again for something.
jenna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 3, 2012

Loved this dress !

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super cute, comfy and received complements all night long - loved it !
Melinda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Jul 5, 2012

Loved all the compliments and felt great in this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
While this dress may have been a little "fancy" for the event, I LOVED it! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner in Nantucket and it was so comfy and really chic. I received several compliments (more so from the pictures afterward) and felt great in it! I am 5' 9" so was a little worried about the length, but because it was a larger size (10), the length was perfect. I probably could have gone with a size smaller, but was comfortable in the size I received. I had several people tell me that I should own the dress!
Serephina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 31, 2012

I was so excited to find this dress and even more excited when I put it on! I will be renting again (soon!).

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This classy little number was perfect for a late summer wedding. I received tons of compliments on this little navy dress all night! The length a little past mid-thigh on me and was well-tailored, yet forgiving. The waist is not super fitted, but it is still flattering. My only complaint was that the material of the sleeves has no give and felt a bit tight in the size 0 vs the 2 (I have pretty small arms, too!). I wore the 0 bc I was swimming in the 2 (my usual size).
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142 lbs
Aug 1, 2012

I felt like the best dressed guest at the wedding! I was really comfortable and confident.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Can not speak high enough of this dress. The fit was perfect not too form fitting so I was extremely comfortable dancing. I usually where between an 6 & 8 because my chest is on the larger side. The 6 fit perfect though since the dress isnt meant to be very formfitting. I wore with nude pumps and the look was spot on. The dress was delivered in flawless condition. It looked brand new. People were complimenting me and the dress all night. I tried to buy the dress but cant find it available anywhere.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner. It was appropriate for the occasion and absolutely beautiful. I received compliments all night long. I'm hesitant to say that it runs large because it fit fairly well however the cut (at the waist specifically) was very straight. I felt like it would have been a bit more flattering if it had a little more shape. But I guess thats what a shift dress is. The zipper in the back was also very rigid and stuck out if you turned. That being said, I'm still very pleased with the dress and felt great in it.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Aug 20, 2012

It was SO easy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was worried because designer dresses can run small but ordered a 6 and back up 8 and 6 fit perfectly! I received so many compliments, felt beautiful and comfortable!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Made me feel like a star!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is absolutely amazing! It is a beautiful and fits like a glove. Good for all body types. I wore it to a wedding and I can't even begin to count the amount of compliments I received. The worst thing about the dress is having to give it back!
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

I didnt have to stress about the dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my 30th birthday party that was a mix of my friends/family/boyfriend's family. It was short enough it was sexy but long enough that it was appropiate! It looked great on and I got compliments all night on it and the next day on facebook. Th eonly thing is that it has NO giev whatsoever. It was a little tight in my arms but you couldnt notice. I would def rent it again!
Kristell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

I felt amazing in this dress! I outshines everyone. It's a stunning and comfortable dress and I got a ton of compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a Wedding and it was a hit! I looked extremely beautiful and felt amazing in it. I was super comfortable and felt drop dead gorgeous in it. It's very flattering and elegant. I am 5'2 and it was short so I'm not sure how short this looks on a taller woman; however, I liked the length of it because I thought it was fun and flirty. The long sleeves help keep you warm especially in a chilly church or reception hall. The lace details on this dress are exquisite. If you plan on renting this dress make sure to go a dress size down than you normally wear. I got the 8 but it was a little loose; however, it still looked good on me and I felt great in it.
Morgan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Great Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautifully made dress, very flattering!
Risa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Nov 3, 2014

Pretty dress but short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was really pretty but didn't end up wearing because it was really short....and I'm petite! It also kind of "bubbled in the back". Didn't really lay right.
GC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

tight in the hips area, not a fan

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
i keep hoping to become a huge fan of RTR but thus far haven't been sold. this dress came and i found that although it was the right length it was quite large in the back and didn't fall smoothly at all. i ended up wearing the 10 because i found the 8's arms were just way ttoo tight / the butt area was way too tight. dress sizing continues to confuse me as i just bought a size 6 dress from saks in this brand.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

Amazing, comfortable statement dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the fit! It was VERY short, so it highlighted the legs. I wore sparkly silver heels. Very stylish and on trend. Wish I could buy it!
defazam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 18, 2014

Too Small and short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 8 and the 10 in this dress and it was very body hugging...both sizes were just too tight and very short.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

loved this dress- i've rented it twice. I think it runs true to size

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
d
Sandy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

--

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Wayyyy too short to wear to a company party!
Patricia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

awesome dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
i was so happy i got the second size in a 2 when the 0 barely fit over my hips! the 2 fit well, but it's not a loose, flowy fit. the arms don't have much give, so i don't know how it would be to dance in it. that being said, i wore it to a rehearsal dinner and got a ton of compliments!
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

..

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
little baggy (had to wear the 2 because the 0 never arrived). But also a little short.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Elegant!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a backup for a wedding and loved everything about it but ended up not wearing it. The other dress I rented was even better. I will definitely be renting this dress again for another occasion. Very flattering!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Perfect Fall wedding dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful Dress. My only complaint was that the slip underneath kept riding up and I had to keep tugging on the bottom so I wouldn't show any inappropriate parts!
becca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

really beautiful dress, perfect for a slightly fancier short dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this dress was slightly small and pretty short but i was so happy i wore it. a little tight in the bust. i got tons of compliments and would definitely wear it again for a wedding
Joyce
Age: 25
Jan 5, 2015

The lace detail was gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Definitely a short dress. I'm 5 4" and was above my knees. The dress was so comfortable to wear. Fit was perfect for me. Not too tight but nice shape around the right areas.
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Fits true to size

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Based on the reviews of this dress and seeing other women with similar body types as myself, I ordered a 2 and a 0 when I should have ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 fit, however it was a little tight in the hips and when i raised my arms it pulled the dress to far up. I could have worn it, however I would have had to be very cautious all night so instead I opted for a LBD i had in my closet. This dress most likely fits to true to size and does not run big at all.
whit
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Mar 28, 2015

Wasn't able to wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
There seemed to be no difference in the 2 sizes I ordered... both were tight in the same places. The larger size was not the least bit looser. I'm wondering if there was a mix up in the labeling of the sizes I received? I am normally a 4 or 6 and ordered 6 or 8 just to be safe. Wasn't able to wear either. Bummer. Very pretty dress though!
JB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Apr 14, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It was perfect for a April wedding. It does run small so I would recommend sizing up. I wish I owned it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×