Tibi

Babbet Lace Shift Dress

$71 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look chic for your event in this navy lace shift by Tibi. A style that can be worn year round for any semi-formal event. Go with accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops to add dimension to your look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy lace over silk(20% nylon; 60% cotton; 17% rayon with 100% silk; lining: 49% nylon; 51% acetate). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(281)
Small
(62)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2012
I ordered this dress too big but the RTR staff sent the correct size to my hotel! Wonderful customer service.
I wore this dress for a church wedding. It was the perfect dress for the occasion. I would order the backup size a smaller size. I thought it ran quite large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 30, 2012
gorgeous
beautiful dress for a formal wedding at the Bryant Park Grill. Was a little disappointed when I first saw it, but then once I put it on, knew it was perfect for the occasion. Sophisticated and figure hugging without being too tight, was able to eat my full dinner and dance the night away. Received several compliments the entire night = SUCCESS!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2012
Runs a little big, but super comfortable and got a ton of compliments
I needed a dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner. This worked out perfectly. It was super comfortable and great for the colder weather (with the long sleeves). I got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2012
Party dress for cold night
Usually wear a 2 and the 0 was a perfect fit. It was a backup for my birthday dinner and I didn't end up wearing it to the event because the other one fit perfectly, but I loved this dress too and will likely have other events that I would rent it for. The lace is more dense than I expected, but it gave the dress a heavier feel that was appropriate for cold weather in case you wanted to wear it on a colder day. Also, since it is a bit short I felt more secure that it would not ride up because the lace was not lightweight. Very nice dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
May 29, 2012
Great for a Spring Wedding!
I wore this dress to a wedding and received a lot of compliments. I typically wear a size 2, and wish i had ordered the size 0 as my back up dress because the 2 was just a tiny bit too big - but it still looked great!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2012
pretty dress
This dress was a bit loose throughout, except in the arms. I wish I had ordered the size 0 and size 2, but instead I ordered the 2 and the 4. The 2 was still a bit too big. The color and lace detail of the dress, however, was gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 1, 2012
Absolutely LOVE!
I wore this dress to my boyfriends Firms Holiday party and it was so perfect! Its a very classic shift dress & the lace makes it even more feminine and perfect. Also, the navy color is gorgeous. If you have any curves whatsoever, I would recommend sizing up because the dress will sit better and be much more flattering. I wore an 8 (usually a 6) and I loved the fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 28, 2013
The great selection of dresses allows me to find just what I need when I need it!
Material was lovely. Dress in excellent condition. Comfortable to wear. Enjoyed this rental! Would recommend!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 29, 2013
I wore this dress for my 30th birthday celebration! I loved this dress!
Great cut! Great color! Great length! Wore it with nude heals and fun earings! I also paired it with a yellow clutch.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 5, 2013
I thought this dress looked amazing and was very flattering. It is was perfect for my event.
The dress was perfectly fitted, but not too tight and it was also the perfect length (although I'm 5'1 and it was short, I think it would have been very short if I was much taller). I thought it ran a bit big. The four was bunching at the back, but the two fit perfectly. The color and texture were a refreshing change from a typical LBD and the lace sleeves looked really great. I would definitely recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 28, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
Got so many compliments when I wore this dress, but did run a little large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 8, 2012
Not Good for Hourglass Shapes
I loved that the sleeves made the dress a little more "conservative" but wasn't expecting the dress to be that short, especially on me since I'm not tall. I didn't have a back-up plan as I was already out of state, so I wore it anyway and was tugging on it the whole day and evening. I definitely fit that hourglass shape to a T and, for me, unfortunately the dress was too big through the waist and too small through the hips - even in the size 8. Got so many compliments on the dress, though! Would totally recommend it for someone who is "straight and narrow"!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2012
Perfect for a girls night out!!!
I wore this dress to an evening of dinner, drinks, and theatre. I was kind of inbetween a size 2 and 4. Because there is no definition in the waist, the 4 technically fit better but gave me absolutely no shape. It kind of looked like i was wearing a sack. I chose to go with the size 2. I had to have my boyfriend zip me up because the arms were tight and i couldnt reach my back. And it was a little on the short side. But I received so many compliments that night from my girlfriends! The lace was perfect and did not feel fragile at all. I loved the color and the nude underlay made it a little sexy! I paired it with nude pumps. Overall, the dress is flirty and fun, but the fit wasnt my favorite RTR selection so far
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
December 4, 2012
Dress was too short
this dress was too short to wear so I went with my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
December 16, 2012
Did not work for me..
I LOVED how this dress looked online, but it did not work for me at all. The biggest problem is that it is very short. I'm only 5 ft 6 in, but this dress was completely inappropriate for a wedding. I was very disappointed that I couldn't wear it since it is a beautiful dress (and also annoyed that I paid to rent a dress that I didn't get to wear). Pear-shaped girls, this one is not for us.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2012
Pretty dress - zipper poses an issue
The dress is pretty. It didn't work for me. I tried the 6 and the 8. The dress fit okay, but because the zipper in the back is big and stiff, it kept bunching up. I could pull the dress down to fit just fine, but take a step and the zipper would move and bunch up into big curves on the back- hard to explain. I think the fabric for the zipper is too stiff. If you have a straight and narrow build, I think this dress will be great. If you have any curves the zipper will play tricks, and if you have a bust, the straight cut of the dress both flattens your bust and hides your waist. Made for a very unflattering look on me. As others have mentioned, sleevs are tight, but not horribly so.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2012
Very cute dress!
It doesn't exactly run small, but it is quite short. (Usually I just assume it looks short on the models, but this one was short on me too.) Otherwise, the fit was good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2013
I wore this to my engagement party and received tons of compliments!
Great fit! Glad I ordered a second size as the lace sleeves were very tight.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 13, 2013
I got many compliments on the dress!
I rented this dress for my school's winter ball. Contrary to the reviews I read, I felt this dress ran on the small side. I usually wear a 6, and wore an 8 in this dress. The 6 was a little tight around the butt, and I felt like I wouldn't have been able to dance in it. However, the 8 fit PERFECTLY and I loved wearing the dress! The lace is beautiful, and the color is a little darker than in the model photo, which I liked. I wore it with grey tights and nude pumps.
JulieMarch 5, 2013
Hi Haley- How short was this dress for you? I'm also 5' 9" and considering renting it for an upcoming wedding. Thanks!
HaleyMarch 5, 2013
Hi Julie! It hit about mid-thigh. I was happy to have tights for dancing - but otherwise it would have been OK without.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 102lbs
March 11, 2013
Beautiful dress, perfect for a wedding.
While the dress is made out of high quality, beautiful material, I did find that it runs small. I normally fit into a 0 or 00, and have a hard time finding dresses that fit. I am tall, but very thin and I have a long torso. This dress has no give to it. The size 0 looked good from the front, but in the back I experienced a lot of bunching, as if my torso was too long and my butt should be higher to fill out the dress. It was also VERY short (if I lifted my arms up it became a shirt). I ended up wearing the 2, which was much more comfortable in the arms. It was still a bit baggy in the back, but fit much better than the size 0. I was surprised, I've never been able to wear a size 2 in my life. Because of the odd fit in the back, I wouldn't pay full price for the dress...however, overall I was very happy with the dress and would consider renting it again sometime!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 16, 2013
Great cocktail party dress!
This definitely ran on the smaller side, and was pretty short! I am bigger on the bottom so it was a little snug and I felt like I kept having to pull it down, so it wouldn't bunch up. Overall I really liked this dress, but would recommend it for someone less curvy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 22, 2013
Too Short!
Great dress but way too short for me. Could not lift my arms or bend over so I chose my back up dress instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
April 5, 2013
I LOVED this dress!! I wore it to a wedding with some simple jewelry & it was a hit.
I would size up for comfort because it does not stretch at all. This dress was great for dancing and moving around. It was VERY flattering as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 15, 2013
Dress was so short I could not wear it.
Wish it were a couple of inches longer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 15, 2013
Beautiful Dress
This was a gorgeous dress and the detailing was beautiful. I ended up not wearing it for 2 reasons. 1 - where the zipper ends the dress bunches up. I probably could have made it work with a belt or a smaller size but then it would have been too tight in the arms. 2 - it was a warm Spring day and with the lining and lace, it's heavier then you think and I was sweating the minute I put it on. Overall, it's a beautiful dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 5, 2013
This was a great dress overall and I felt great in it at my grad school spring formal!
The sleeves were a bit too tight (and a bit itchy b/c of the lace material) and the dress definitely rides up A LOT when you lift your arms, so you may not want to wear this if you're planning to go crazy on the dance floor! Also, the built-in slip shows a lot and feels longer than the lace material when you're on the move, so that was a bit annoying. However, the dress looked and felt great overall.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
Beautiful dress for any occassion! It is made really well and the color and lace are stunning!!!!!!!
It seemed to run a little small. I am 5'3 and it was a little shorter than I had hoped. Other than that I would completely recommend this dress! It was the perfect dress for my jewelry show!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 29, 2013
Classy but sexy :)
I'm 5'9 so I tend to have issues with the length of dresses. I ordered the 6 as a back up and went back and forth as to which one I should wear. In the end, I chose the 4 because the 6 bunched up quite a bit in the back and was definitely too big. The fact that the top and sleeves make the ook more conservative made me feel comfortable with showing a little extra leg. I wore with 4 inch nude peep toe pumps. I received compliments all night! I didn't want to return it! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2013
Late Summer Wedding on Nantucket, 09/21/13
This dress is absolutely stunning! I wore it to a late summer outdoor wedding, and it was perfect for the occasion. Perfectly preppy for the ACK scene but young enough to still be fun! I usually go between a size 4 or 6 for dresses; I wore a 6 in this one; while the fit was fine, i found it to be a bit short (ie no arms over head dancing!). A few other people have noted this, however the 8 was too large and boxy so I went with the 6. I decided to wear sandals last minute as it was an outdoor wedding, but if you are wearing heels (as I had originally planned) it might be veering on the side of inappropriately short.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 16, 2013
Loved how this dress made me feel!
This was my first RTR experience, and it was a bit nerve-wracking putting all my faith in the fit one day before a big event. Luckily, both the 8 and the 10 fit-but as I knew I would be running around the event all night-It made more sense to be comfortable. I LOVED the dress and had many compliments. It was very short though-made sitting a little tricky. I would buy this dress though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2013
NOT for tall girls!
This dress fit small for me. It didn't have ANY give at all. I dont think it's a great fit for athletic or curvy girls. It was tight when zipped but the real issue is it barely covered my bottom. It was waaaay to short for me at 5'9". It was a backup dress and thank goodness I didn't need it. The dress itself is GORGEOUS and I would highly recommend for more petite ladies, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 6, 2013
Love the lace trend
Runs 1-2 sizes small. Lace has no give, but beautiful quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2013
Great dress for a fall wedding!
Rented both a size 2 and a size 4. The 2 was way too tight in the butt/thighs and way too short. 4 ended up fitting perfectly. Sleeves were a little tight at the bottom but it was doable and not too uncomfortable. Easy dress to move in/not too short. The long sleeves and high neckline balance out the shortness of the dress. Wore to a formal November wedding and loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 29, 2013
Great service from RTR made this rental unforgettable!
This Tibi dress was a really comfortable and easy dress to wear. It was quite short as I am 5'7" so I went with the size 2 because it was slightly longer. Overall, I was really happy with this classy rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2014
Great Dress!
Beautifully made dress, very flattering!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
March 7, 2012
tight on larger busts & butts
pretty pretty dress - but fits funny on curvy/large busted women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
April 29, 2013
Dress runs very short and small. Particularly in the arms.
Size up if you are tall and athletic
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 4, 2013
Too Short.
Looked beautiful, but arms were a tad tight and it was a little too short for a family party...
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 7, 2014
Super short and form fitting. I ordered a 4 and 6 and they were both small. I am usually a size 4.
Did not love the dress. Much cuter in photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 9, 2014
Very small.
I rented the size 0 because everything else that I actually own from Tibi runs big. This dress was very tight, like I couldn't move tight. The length was super short and very innapropriate for a wedding. It was a pretty dress, just be sure to size up.
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×