Mad Crushing On You Dress

$52 to buy
$285 retail
Stylist Notes

Make that lasting impression on the first date by wearing this red hot Theory dress. Waist cinching and one style he won't forget you in! Shown here with the Whiting and Davis' Gold Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red crepe (100% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
144 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(98)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2012
Stunning color and unique shape. Felt very classy.
The color is just perfect, especially for fall. Even though the 10 fit me very well (not too tight, not too loose), because of the fabric I wore Spanx to make sure everything looked smooth. Was able to wear it with a regular bra, which was nice. If I had a little extra room anywhere, it was in the chest. It did wrinkle pretty quickly after sitting down for the ceremony and dinner, but was not very noticeable. It was a little longer on me than I anticipated. I'm 5'9" and it hit just barely above the knee, I expected a little shorter. Overall, really enjoyed the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Great dress - but not flattering on me!
This is a beautiful dress, but in the bigger sizes for us curvier women, it's pretty tight around the middle - doesn't hide anything! I ended up not wearing it because it was too tight, but for girls with a smaller mid-section it would be a wonderful and flattering dress. Conservative but with flair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Super Comfortable and Chic!
This dress was great! It is the perfect day to night dress because you can wear it to work with some cute flats and a jacket and then throw on a pair of heels and wear it out! This dress does run true to size; however I would size down for backup, because I wore the 2 comfortably. It hit about -1-2 inches above my knee!
jessicaDecember 26, 2012
I don't want to be forward, but do you know your measurements? I'm looking to rent this dress and am torn whether or not I should size up or down for the extra. I have a larger bust cup wise but my actual bust measurement isn't that large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 1, 2012
Versatile dress in a great color (but best for taller girls)
Pros: The color is great, the material has a nice weight to it, and the dress can easily be dressed up or down. Cons: Length is long (the dress hit the top of my knees and the pleating didn't start until right below my hips - I think it would look best on someone who is 5'4+). I also wish the skirt was a little fuller (although steaming the pleats help a little - not done in picture).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 2, 2012
The perfect fit and the perfect shade of red made this dress unforgettable.
This dress was incredibly flattering and photographed great! I sized up because it was too tight through my chest, but the overall fit was true to size, on both sizes. The larger one was noticeably longer. It's not stretchy per se, but does have some give so it's not too stiff, making it very comfortable for a long day of Boulevarding. And the fabric is much smoother and lighter than I had expected. I was extremely impressed with this dress and would rent again. I received compliments all day long despite the pouring rain outside!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
October 7, 2012
Beyond Chic...
This dress fit like a glove and the color was perfect. I was able to dress it down during the day and dress it up for night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
October 8, 2012
So comfortable!
I apologize for the photo; this was the only one taken. At least you can see what the top part looks like. The dress was very comfortable to wear out; the material was awesome. On me, the dress was just above my knees. And, I loved how it just flowed---didn't need to worry about it being too tight or too short. It was just easy. I thought it was a great dress for a night out with the hubby.
View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 8, 2012
So classy and flattering!
This dress is gorgeous!! I normally wear between a size 8 and a size 10. The 10 fit fine-- was a little snug but looked great... the dress definitely runs a little small so order up. It's not short so it was a perfect, classy dress. Highly, highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2012
Too plain, too long for my event (homecoming)
It was too long for my height and too casual for homecoming but I loved the color and the skirt shape
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2012
Feeling great next to Jennifer Garner and Alicia Silverstone - can't beat it!!
I LOVE this dress. It is so comfortable and fit like it was made for me. It runs very true to size and is a super easy fit. The pleats at the bottom are fun and give the dress some movement. Gorgeous burgundy color makes it season-less and perfect for any event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2012
Loved this dress. Gorgeous color and love the A-line!
This dress was very comfortable but is definitely snug in the midsection. It also is a little on the conservative side - so I would wear it if you were going to an event where you can't show much cleavage/leg, etc. I would definitely go up a size for back up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2012
Gorgeous color for a fall wedding
I wore this dress for a fall wedding where I was meeting my boyfriend's family for the first time. I wanted to look appropriate so I chose a dress that I felt covered me up enough. Although the dress worked, the fit on top was awkward. It was a little tight in the bust but had extra material in the arm and neck holes that made it gap. Also, the dress was much longer than I expected. These were my minor complaints. Other than that, it was comfortable and the color was perfection.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2012
Wanted to keep it!
This dress was super comfortable but it was pretty tight in the bust. I'm usually a 6/8 but the size 8 fit a lot better in the chest area as the fabric doesn't have any stretch. It I wore it with a statement necklace and a pair of booties - perfect for a fall night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50lbs
October 29, 2012
Mad about this dress!
This dress is adorable. Super easy fit - maybe a little bit more fitted in the bust so I'd size up if you're a D+. I paired this with a leather jacket and taupe booties for a night out. A little bit on the longer side and not super short but still a killer dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2012
Fantastic experience, will do again! Tons of compliments!
I absolutely LOVED this dress for my homecoming, I was the classiest girl at my homecoming dance!(most other girls wore short body-con dresses). The fabric is wonderful on the dress and it is great for dancing. My only issue was with the bust. My bra size recently went up and so I had to go with the 4 instead of the 2 to accommodate, even though the 2 fit better at the midsection and lengthwise. In some pictures my bra was showing because the material comes in farther forward at the armpits, so be aware of that. Besides that, I got tons of compliments and can't wait to rent from here for prom :)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2012
I felt like a movie star in the dress. It really makes you stand out.
I am so glad I decided to go with Rent The Runway for the party I went to. I agree with what many of the other girls said about the dress, it does fit tight across the chest which made me have to go a size up. But overall the dress fit amazing and I loved the flare out on the bottom.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2012
You need a long torso
I am 5'3 and it the flare of the skirt just hit me in the wrong place making this very unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 29, 2012
A Gorgeous RED!
This was my first rental with RTR. The overall experience was exceptional. I was in need of a daytime lunch dress. It would have been a perfect choice. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the fit. I ordered the 6 & 8 after reading the reviews & consulting with a stylist. I needed the 4. It was very roomy in the torso/bust area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 1, 2012
Dress has no stretch in it!
I usually wear an 8 in this type of dress (fitted in the bust and not fitted in the hips), so I rented an 8 and a 10. The 8 was a bit snug so I figured the 10 would fit. Nope - the 10 fit exactly like the 8! If there had been some stretch in the fabric, I wouldn't have had a problem wearing either size, but it was so uncomfortable! I did not wear the dress and shipped it back early. Disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2012
Perfect holiday party dress!
I love anything Theory and this dress is no exception. It's true to size and fit like a glove. It's a light weight material and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend it for a work function or event, especially.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Perfect for holiday party
I usually wear a 4 but it was really baggy in the mid section. The 2 hugged my body a little closer but was a little tight in the chest. Wore it to a formal company holiday party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2012
Not what I was looking for.
This was my back up dress and I didn't end up wearing it. I ordered the 8 and it fit in the hips and the length was right, but it was a little lose on top. And like the other reviews said, there is no stretch to the fabric. I liked the color, it was a little more of an earth tone than vibrant red. Overall it just wasn't what I was looking for and the other dress I ordered worked perfect for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 27, 2012
Disappointed!
Until this dress, I have had great rentals. Once I received this one, I was immediately disappointed. I had read all of the reviews and thought it would be a great dress for an annual Christmas date with my fiance. Unfortunately, it just fell short. The material is very thin and, while the cut is flattering, the fabric around the chest wouldn't even cover all of my bra and so I had to wear an open, fitted cardigan over the dress. It could just be my body shape/size that didn't gel with this dress but either way, pretty disappointing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
December 31, 2012
Not as dressy as I thought.
It fell on my like a potato sack and was an odd length. It looked much different in person. I also thought it would have some Pouff to the skirt but there wasn't any stiffness there, so it just hung there. It is much more casual then I thought.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2013
Great color, and very tasteful fit!
I am usually an 8 in dresses so ordered both an 8 and a 10 because i read other reviews in which the dress was described as being a little tight in the bust for larger cup sizes. I ended up wearing the 10, just because I found this to be true- the 8 fit, but was just a little too tight so the 10 worked perfectly. I am on the taller side, and the dress did fall just above my knee...I feel like if you are shorter it will end up being way longer. Overall, I was very happy with the dress, it was perfect for the wedding I attended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Classic holiday dress
Size-wise this fit pretty perfect. I'm usually somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and the 2 worked well. I wish it was an inch or two shorter because I felt a bit too covered with the high neck and back. The dress definitely needs a big necklace to dress it up because it is kind of plain. The necklace I wore wasn't chunky enough to stand out. I used to be a figure skater, and this kind of felt like a skating dress to me, haha! The fabric looked nicer in the picture, it felt kind of cheap. Also, the red on the model was darker in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2013
Runs very, very large!
I rented this for a work event thinking it would be cute and form-fitting yet classy and conservative. But even the 2 was WAY too big on me (I dont think a 0 would have worked either) and it simply looked frumpy. I ended up buying another dress for the evening and was very grateful that RTR has a WONDERFUL return policy!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 26, 2013
Great dress for a work function
Rented this for a work function. Classy and elegant without being frumpy. Great choice for a professional affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 4, 2013
Fabulous in photos!
I rented this dress for my engagement photo session. The fabric was a little thinner than I would have hoped (thank God for Spanx!), but the color looks fabulous in photographs. It's a beautiful, rich red that's very flattering. I highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 17, 2013
Great color! Nice cut which is sexy but not slutty!
Love this dress! I wore it to my 30th birthday which is also Valentines Day! The color is great and paired with a gold collar necklace and black tights + ankle boot this was super cool. I loved the fit and length...It is not too short but still sexy. My man loved it... Also thanks for the quick delivery (I ordered it at lunchtime and wore it at night).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 18, 2013
Perfect for a Luncheon!
I wore this dress at a Bridesmaid Luncheon. It was a cold day so I paired it with a cardi and black tights. It was a little tight, but not to tight. It hugged the body in all the right areas. It was has a great twirl!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
February 24, 2013
N/A
I loved the dress. I planned on wearing it for my birthday party. It was very pretty. Came in a nice bag. I just couldn't wear it. I tried both sizes, but unfortunately both were too small. Maybe next time I might have to go up another size or shop another brand. I do plan on renting from here again. The overall process was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 25, 2013
Lovely Dress!
This is a rich, wine-colored dress, very simple and very elegant. Emphasis on the simple, so the reviewers noting you should bling it up are right. I wore it to an engagement party (there I am, pictured with the Bride-to-be, who also wore a RTR dress), where I was serving as co-host. I spent most of the night with an apron over this, so I didn't mind the plainness of the dress. Otheres will want dressier earrings or jewelry to liven it up. The color is stunning and I liked the cut. It's quite fitted at the top, though and I found it to be somewhat small around the lower bust and mid-section. The overall fit is beautiful, though and, being short, I liked the length quite a lot. This is a great after-work drinks or date dress, it's easy and comfortable to wear. I didn't wear SPANX or anything underneath because the midsection was so fitted and fabric so thin you'd see the outline of the waistband. But, no matter. I think the fit is pretty flattering all the same and covers a multitude of sins for us pear shapes. I did find the sizing slightly small, however. I usually wear between a 10-12 and lately I've been wearing more 10s. The 10 I rented was almost too tight, and the 12 I wore still didn't give me as much give as I'd normally like. But the effect was great and it wore like a dream all night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2013
Beautiful
Unfortunately I chose the red one, this was just a bit big at the chest area.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 28, 2013
I didn't end up wearing the dress, but was happy to have it as a choice!
I tried on the dress and it fit perfectly, was very cute - but "cute" isn't what I was going for in terms of looks for this event. It looks classier on the model than it did on me. Also, the fabric doesn't take the travel well - looked a little like it had been worn already. might need to be steamed if this is your pick. I like the dress, but agree with some other comments; it is quite simple and plain, and needs to be accessorized to give it the wow factor! K
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
March 2, 2013
Classic silhouette
The bust fit was large... annoyed that the vertical lines down the dress would shift and look awkward. I loved how the dress flowed as i walked. I would recommend this dress for someone with a large chest and a tiny waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 15, 2013
Great comfortable dress!
This dress was very comfy and fun! It looked great without a belt, but I added one to cinch in the waist a little. I did wear my back up smaller size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2013
Great dress! Great for dancing!
Fit was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 5, 2012
Cute and flirty.
Fit like a glove in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2013
The dress is way prettier on the model....
It was large and longer than I thought...not very slimming either.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×