You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Mad Crushing On You Dress
Rental $40 Retail $285
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Make that lasting impression on the first date by wearing this red hot Theory dress. Waist cinching and one style he won't forget you in! Shown here with the Whiting and Davis' Gold Mesh Glam Clutch and Badgley Mischka Jewelry's Decadent Deco Necklace.
Chat with a Stylist
Red crepe (100% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos40

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

diane
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Dec 26, 2013
it fit and looked great
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Needed to steam it out slightly but first experience renting was great...easy and looking forward to shopping for my next dress!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Dec 18, 2013
Work day to night
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore to work at the law firm for the day with a blazer, and it transferred perfectly to an evening formal alumnae event.
NicoleB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Dec 17, 2013
The dress arrived when it was supposed to and great quality!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was fitted on the top so I went with the 6 versus the 4. It was flattering and perfect for the horse races.
elizabethp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 15, 2013
Nice, but not my favorite
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Just ok but not my favorite. I wasn't crazy about the fabric of the dress-it has very little structure so the dress ends up being very form fitting. I wore this for a rehearsal dinner in December and the fabric just seemed too light weight. Wore with nude heels and a pearl statement necklace.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Dec 5, 2013
Very "cute" dress.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very cute, but material is thin and it doesn't have much "wow" factor on. It is great on a straight and narrow body type, though.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Dec 4, 2013
Cute dress, but too big!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered my usual size and a size up as other women suggested, and they were both too large in the mid-section. Made me look large. If I were to rent again I would definitely go for a smaller size as my backup.
emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3431
Oct 23, 2013
Simple but nice
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 4 or 2 and the size 2 was a little too big. Nice dress to wear with a big necklace.
Joyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Sep 25, 2013
Very classic, conservative dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Thicker fabric than expected made for a more forgiving fit
LEAH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Sep 16, 2013
Cute backup, too big for me, however.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress as a backup dress, but ended up wearing something more form-fitting. This dress, I accidentally ordered a 4, but this dress was large for a size 4. I am normally a 2, but the 4 swallowed me. This dress style I believe would look best on a tall, thin girl with little curves. I am a 5'3" gal with a inherited back end from my momma. If you are in the same boat as me, this isn't the dress for you. The dress itself is beautiful and the quality/color is great, but wasn't for me.
LoveNYC
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Sep 3, 2013
I rented this for a BIG presentation as part of an interview and I GOT THE JOB!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'd say the fit is true to size although I ended up wearing the 2 which was a little looser in the torso since the 0 felt too short. The material is on the thinner side, so the dress isn't necessarily structured. I styled it with a fun tan moto blazer, black belt and leopard pumps.
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5424
Aug 30, 2013
great dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a great basic for a rehearsal dinner; the skirt is not quite as full as the picture indicates and the material is quite thin...it proved to be perfect for my needs and was easily dressed up with a statement necklace!
shannon
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7643
Aug 26, 2013
Great service, convenient and a terrific look!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress, very comfortable and flattering, true to size and got many compliments!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Aug 19, 2013
Didn't wear it to the event
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had rented this dress and another for my rehearsal dinner. This dress fit great and had a great color, but the other dress was just that a bit cuter. If I had not rented the other dress too I would have loved this dress.
drea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4421
Jun 9, 2013
Not for me
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very very cute dress but made me look heavy
darlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
May 1, 2013
Sooo comfortable
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Although I didn't end up wearing this dress, I will definitely rent it again. Lightweight but well made and very flattering. I rented two dresses for this event and my husband simply liked the color of the other dress better. This would be a perfect holiday dress!
Bob
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Apr 30, 2013
Unable to wear the dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this dress for a reception the night before a wedding in Chicago. When the dress arrived, it was immediately evident that quite a few girls had rented this dress before me. It was in pretty bad shape (lost its shape, pilling in spots, stretched out, etc.). RTR fully credited me for the dress, which was great and why I am still ordering from the site today. The material was too thin for this dress to be rented over and over. The fit was pretty true to size. Hopefully RTR has replaced the dress I got with a newer one!
Kristin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Apr 28, 2013
Prettier in person then on the website
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was prettier in person then it was on the website! It was a gorgeous shade of red and fit perfect! I received so many compliments on it!
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Apr 10, 2013
Loved the fit and the shape!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit absolutely like a glove. The skirt is flirty and fun, yet long enough that it was appropriate to wear to a work function for my boyfriend's company. This dress can easily be dressed up or down, depending on accessories.
Marion
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4334
Mar 20, 2013
The dress is way prettier on the model....
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was large and longer than I thought...not very slimming either.
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 2, 2013
Classic silhouette
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The bust fit was large... annoyed that the vertical lines down the dress would shift and look awkward. I loved how the dress flowed as i walked. I would recommend this dress for someone with a large chest and a tiny waist.
Kathy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Feb 28, 2013
I didn't end up wearing the dress, but was happy to have it as a choice!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I tried on the dress and it fit perfectly, was very cute - but "cute" isn't what I was going for in terms of looks for this event. It looks classier on the model than it did on me. Also, the fabric doesn't take the travel well - looked a little like it had been worn already. might need to be steamed if this is your pick. I like the dress, but agree with some other comments; it is quite simple and plain, and needs to be accessorized to give it the wow factor! K
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2633
Feb 26, 2013
Beautiful
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately I chose the red one, this was just a bit big at the chest area.
Lori
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 9424
Feb 24, 2013
N/A
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress. I planned on wearing it for my birthday party. It was very pretty. Came in a nice bag. I just couldn't wear it. I tried both sizes, but unfortunately both were too small. Maybe next time I might have to go up another size or shop another brand. I do plan on renting from here again. The overall process was great.
MM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7631
Feb 24, 2013
Did not wear dress...it runs really small.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress runs small through waist.
LiLa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Feb 17, 2013
Great color! Nice cut which is sexy but not slutty!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Love this dress! I wore it to my 30th birthday which is also Valentines Day! The color is great and paired with a gold collar necklace and black tights + ankle boot this was super cool. I loved the fit and length...It is not too short but still sexy. My man loved it... Also thanks for the quick delivery (I ordered it at lunchtime and wore it at night).
JZ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Feb 4, 2013
Fabulous in photos!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my engagement photo session. The fabric was a little thinner than I would have hoped (thank God for Spanx!), but the color looks fabulous in photographs. It's a beautiful, rich red that's very flattering. I highly recommend.
dina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Jan 26, 2013
Great dress for a work function
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented this for a work function. Classy and elegant without being frumpy. Great choice for a professional affair.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6431
Jan 25, 2013
Beautiful and Classy
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a work dinner party and a wedding. It was perfect for both, extremely classy. The 10 was a little tight, but it still looked great.
Maura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 22, 2013
Loved this dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress! I rented it for an office Christmas party and it worked absolutely perfect. The size 4 fit perfectly and was very comfortable. I was a little bit worried about the skirt being too full when I rented it, but it turned out to be perfect. I got so many compliments throughout the night! My only problem was that I wanted to keep it.
Chelsae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jan 3, 2013
Runs very, very large!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a work event thinking it would be cute and form-fitting yet classy and conservative. But even the 2 was WAY too big on me (I dont think a 0 would have worked either) and it simply looked frumpy. I ended up buying another dress for the evening and was very grateful that RTR has a WONDERFUL return policy!
Georgia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3633
Dec 31, 2012
Not as dressy as I thought.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fell on my like a potato sack and was an odd length. It looked much different in person. I also thought it would have some Pouff to the skirt but there wasn't any stiffness there, so it just hung there. It is much more casual then I thought.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Dec 28, 2012
A nice dress but not for formal events.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress is a matte fabric that falls pretty flat. Reminded me of the jumpers I would wear as a little girl - though cute. The seams that run vertically also contribute to a less-formal look. The red is a brick color, and not as bold as I would probably have preferred. Could be cute for a business casual event, casual dinner, or for work under a jacket, but would be tough to dress up for any fancier event.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 27, 2012
Disappointed!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Until this dress, I have had great rentals. Once I received this one, I was immediately disappointed. I had read all of the reviews and thought it would be a great dress for an annual Christmas date with my fiance. Unfortunately, it just fell short. The material is very thin and, while the cut is flattering, the fabric around the chest wouldn't even cover all of my bra and so I had to wear an open, fitted cardigan over the dress. It could just be my body shape/size that didn't gel with this dress but either way, pretty disappointing.
Theresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 18, 2012
Not what I was looking for.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my back up dress and I didn't end up wearing it. I ordered the 8 and it fit in the hips and the length was right, but it was a little lose on top. And like the other reviews said, there is no stretch to the fabric. I liked the color, it was a little more of an earth tone than vibrant red. Overall it just wasn't what I was looking for and the other dress I ordered worked perfect for my event.
angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 16, 2012
Perfect for holiday party
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 4 but it was really baggy in the mid section. The 2 hugged my body a little closer but was a little tight in the chest. Wore it to a formal company holiday party.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4624
Dec 15, 2012
Cute dress, but not Cocktail Party fancy.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rended this dress for my husband's company party. It was very cute and fit well, but was too plain for a cocktail party. There was no shine or shimmer to the dress, so it looked more like a dressy work outfit. I ended up wearing my backup dress.
Ashton
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Dec 10, 2012
Perfect for a work party!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very fitted around the waist, but incredibly flattering! Good length!
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2533
Dec 6, 2012
Perfect holiday party dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love anything Theory and this dress is no exception. It's true to size and fit like a glove. It's a light weight material and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend it for a work function or event, especially.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Dec 1, 2012
Dress has no stretch in it!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear an 8 in this type of dress (fitted in the bust and not fitted in the hips), so I rented an 8 and a 10. The 8 was a bit snug so I figured the 10 would fit. Nope - the 10 fit exactly like the 8! If there had been some stretch in the fabric, I wouldn't have had a problem wearing either size, but it was so uncomfortable! I did not wear the dress and shipped it back early. Disappointed.
Sondra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5643
Nov 29, 2012
A Gorgeous RED!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was my first rental with RTR. The overall experience was exceptional. I was in need of a daytime lunch dress. It would have been a perfect choice. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the fit. I ordered the 6 & 8 after reading the reviews & consulting with a stylist. I needed the 4. It was very roomy in the torso/bust area.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress