theory

Mad Crushing On You Dress

$40 rental
$285 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make that lasting impression on the first date by wearing this red hot Theory dress. Waist cinching and one style he won't forget you in! Shown here with the Whiting and Davis' Gold Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red crepe (100% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

137 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 95
Large 17
Photos 63
Mara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

Fantastic experience, will do again! Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I absolutely LOVED this dress for my homecoming, I was the classiest girl at my homecoming dance!(most other girls wore short body-con dresses). The fabric is wonderful on the dress and it is great for dancing. My only issue was with the bust. My bra size recently went up and so I had to go with the 4 instead of the 2 to accommodate, even though the 2 fit better at the midsection and lengthwise. In some pictures my bra was showing because the material comes in farther forward at the armpits, so be aware of that. Besides that, I got tons of compliments and can't wait to rent from here for prom :)
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Mad about this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is adorable. Super easy fit - maybe a little bit more fitted in the bust so I'd size up if you're a D+. I paired this with a leather jacket and taupe booties for a night out. A little bit on the longer side and not super short but still a killer dress.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 23, 2012

Wanted to keep it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was super comfortable but it was pretty tight in the bust. I'm usually a 6/8 but the size 8 fit a lot better in the chest area as the fabric doesn't have any stretch. It I wore it with a statement necklace and a pair of booties - perfect for a fall night!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Gorgeous color for a fall wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a fall wedding where I was meeting my boyfriend's family for the first time. I wanted to look appropriate so I chose a dress that I felt covered me up enough. Although the dress worked, the fit on top was awkward. It was a little tight in the bust but had extra material in the arm and neck holes that made it gap. Also, the dress was much longer than I expected. These were my minor complaints. Other than that, it was comfortable and the color was perfection.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Oct 15, 2012

Feeling great next to Jennifer Garner and Alicia Silverstone - can't beat it!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVE this dress. It is so comfortable and fit like it was made for me. It runs very true to size and is a super easy fit. The pleats at the bottom are fun and give the dress some movement. Gorgeous burgundy color makes it season-less and perfect for any event.
nats
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Oct 8, 2012

So comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I apologize for the photo; this was the only one taken. At least you can see what the top part looks like. The dress was very comfortable to wear out; the material was awesome. On me, the dress was just above my knees. And, I loved how it just flowed---didn't need to worry about it being too tight or too short. It was just easy. I thought it was a great dress for a night out with the hubby.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 2, 2012

The perfect fit and the perfect shade of red made this dress unforgettable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was incredibly flattering and photographed great! I sized up because it was too tight through my chest, but the overall fit was true to size, on both sizes. The larger one was noticeably longer. It's not stretchy per se, but does have some give so it's not too stiff, making it very comfortable for a long day of Boulevarding. And the fabric is much smoother and lighter than I had expected. I was extremely impressed with this dress and would rent again. I received compliments all day long despite the pouring rain outside!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Versatile dress in a great color (but best for taller girls)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: The color is great, the material has a nice weight to it, and the dress can easily be dressed up or down. Cons: Length is long (the dress hit the top of my knees and the pleating didn't start until right below my hips - I think it would look best on someone who is 5'4+). I also wish the skirt was a little fuller (although steaming the pleats help a little - not done in picture).
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Super Comfortable and Chic!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was great! It is the perfect day to night dress because you can wear it to work with some cute flats and a jacket and then throw on a pair of heels and wear it out! This dress does run true to size; however I would size down for backup, because I wore the 2 comfortably. It hit about -1-2 inches above my knee!
Candace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 3, 2015

Wore to work and to a fancy evening event, so versatile!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Everyday
LOVED this dress. Fit like a glove, the material is super comfortable- not too thin or thick. I kept this dress for a month and wore it again and again. My only con is that it wrinkles easily, especially on the back while sitting down. Other than that, this dress is really perfect for any occasion. Highly recommend.
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
May 18, 2015

Great dress for a work function!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a holiday work party and loved it! The fit was perfect; it accentuated my tiny waist and hid my larger hips. It did wrinkle fairly easily, but I was the only one who noticed. Overall, a great rental.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 11, 2015

Comfortable and classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Thought this was a great dress. You definitely need to add a necklace to add some pizzazz, but I loved the cut and color. Was perfect for a night out to the theatre. Very comfortable and runs true to size. Good cut for girls with big hips/booty
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

I wore this out for my anniversary with m husband.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It fit very well and was flattering for my shape. The color was pretty and my hubby loved it. The material was comfortable.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Didn't end up wearing this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fabric was not forgiving and the midsection hugged very tight. Even with spankx this would have been a little bit difficult. Loved to overall look though and would be interested in trying it a size up.
Ruth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Simple and form-fitting

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress is simple elegance in itself, fits like a glove. Though I could not wear even a light push up bra with it (or i couldn't zip it across my chest). It's fitted across the mid-section and flows out nicely (but not puffy) to flatter your hips. I think I need to lose a couple of pounds to be able to go to dinner and eat in this dress. Definitely recommend it for a date night though!
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 16, 2015

Never arrived

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
I noticed at 8:30pm that my dress had not arrived. I went on to the RTR app and saw on the tracking that it wasn't going to arrive until Monday (Friday was the original date). I called and was informed that the dress got held up due to bad weather. While I realize RTR can't control the weather, I would have appreciated an email or phone call about the delay as I was stuck without a dress for my event.
Stacia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 10, 2015

Too long

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It hit at an frumpy length so I did not wear it.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

Perfect dress for the occasion

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as my birthday rental and ended up wearing it to speak with my State Senator at a Lobby night. I paired it with a dark grey blazer. The dress was the right combination of modest, simple, and pretty. It was a very light weight dress, and was a bit chilly to wear out in the snow, but I had a great coat to keep me warm. I wasn't a big fan of the material, as it wasn't very lux and didn't feel that great of quality, but overall the dress was perfect for the occasion to which I wore it.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Dress is really plain, needs jewelry to spice it up. The red is a bit dull. The fabric was soft. Ok

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs a bit large, good hemline. Neckline is boring, wear with a chunky necklace to spice it up.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

fit like a glove, fun and flirty

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Made my curves look amazing - fun and flirty. Fit like a glove.
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Great color, fun skirt!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress itself is pretty plain, but the twirl was great for dancing. The material is a bit thin, and if you have any jiggle to your belly you might need some light shapewear. The color is GREAT for a holiday party- I got compliments all night.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 4, 2015

Simple, but beautiful.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you're busty or would call your tummy your "problem area", then you might want to go up a size, as it is quite fitted on your torso. The red is a beautiful vibrant color.
Jade
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Dress was too long and loose to wear.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
Had to order a different dress. It was too long and fit way too loose on my body.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

Can dress it up or down!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I debated giving this dress three or four stars. It wasn't a 5 star "wow" dress but I'm happy I rented it and thought it looked nice. It was plain so I added a big gold necklace which went well. It's decently figure flattering except I thought the material would be stretchier than it was. Overall it did the trick for a last minute rental!
Betsy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Classic beauty and comfort

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Thanks to the other reviews mentioning the fabric weight and flow (rayon), it was perfect for our friend's semi-formal wedding, length was very classy, just above my knee (I am 5'5"). The neckline looks great with a clean, modern, 16-18" statement necklace. Not a lot of Wow-factor here, but extremely comfortable. The dress definitely needs a thorough steaming the night before/morning-of your event. I had to hold the seatbelt away from my lap in the car to prevent wrinkling, but chair sitting at the event wasn't a problem. There was a very tiny spot on the skirt (I'm guessing a grease spot) that wasn't obvious while wearing, but was a little scary during steaming because it became more obvious - once the fabric cooled and dried it was totally fine. This is an easy going dress that you won't have to fuss over at an event, I liked it.
H.
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 25, 2014

Great simple dress for a wedding

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little fitted in the chest. The pleats lost some of their shape, but overall a great dress for a summer weather
shari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jul 25, 2014

Nice Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very fun and comfortable dress.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Lots of Static and Thin Material!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a winter wedding in Dover, New Hampshire. From the photos, the material appeared a bit thicker. In person, I was disappointed to find the dress was very thin and consistently full of static throughout the night (despite me spraying it with a mini anti-cling spray). The only thing going for this dress was the rich, bold color.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 19, 2014

Pretty color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a back up dress as my original order came and there was an issue with it. While the color was gorgeous- the dress was not flattering at all. It made me look bigger than I was. I normally a size 8 in Ann Taylor Dresses and a size 10 in jeans (depending on what it is). I sized up on this dress to the 10 and 12. Which I normally don't do. If you have broad shoulders and back its not a flattering dress either and the size would have to go up. To wear this dress- you need to be more in the range of 2-4 and tall and not have hips. I didn't end up wearing this dress to the party I had which was a bummer but wore a dress in my closet. The customer service at RTR is fantastic though!
Kris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Nothing special

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was sent to me as 1 of 2 alternates when the original dress I ordered was damaged by a previous renter. This dress fit perfectly but it was very plain. It was in a deep ruddy red, that would best suit fall or winter not a summer red. But the material was a very thin rayon, with no lining, so it shows everything underneath. It didn't really seem to be made well or with a quality fabric. Not at all what I have experienced with other RTR dresses.
Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2014

Great dress for a graduation party

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked this dress a lot and received many compliments. I wore this to a graduation. This dress can be dressed up or down, and I went the casual route since the graduation was in more of a country setting, rather than city chic. A couple of things, if you have a larger chest like I do, this wasn't the best style for me, as far as the neckline, and was a little bit snug in the chest. I know this sounds weird, because it isn't a white dress, but it got dirty very fast. It was sprinkling a bit, and there were water spots all over the dress from the rain. Other than that, a nice dress, great length for me and a great color.
Emily
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 22, 2014

Loved the fun color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits well, slightly longer in the back but it gives it a nice shape. Comfortable and conservative on top, a little short but not scandalously so. Nice alternative to a regular black dress!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 21, 2014

So fun and flowy! Light weight and perfect for an outdoor event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric and cut were very flattering. It flowed really well and was light weight for being outdoors during a daytime wedding ceremony. It can be dressed up or down depending on how you accessorize. I normally wear a size 4 but the bust ran a bit tight so I went with the 6, which made the waist a little loose but it still looked cute and very flattering. I would definitely recommend this dress!!
KK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 13, 2014

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a very comfortable dress and terrific for a curvy figure the color is more of a Garnet than true red as the picture shows. Loved it wish I owned it!!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Not made for girls with big busts!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress looked amazing... but it did not fit. It wouldn't zipper up my back. My boobs were too squished! Great color though!
Monique
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Perfect fit and hugged in the best places. It truly fits to size.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It gets a bit wrinkly throughout the night.
LStreck
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Fabric too thin.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back-up dress. The fabric was too thin and the waist sat in a weird place on my 5'3" frame.
Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Just didn't work.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I really wanted to like this dress, but I just couldn't. It does run a tad small in the chest, so definitely order up if you have a large chest. The problems I had with it were three.. 1) the armholes really limit the bra you can wear, and, again, if you have a large chest, your bra selections are limited anyway. I finally found a bra that would have worked, but it looks really sloppy if you can't find one. 2) it's just not very well made, or perhaps the 10 I had was just at the end of it's life, but the fabric had snagged, the seams were all pulled, and the fabric was very informal and not appropriate for my cocktail event. 3) kinda related to 2, the dress isn't lined. With the fabric being thin and it being unlined, it's almost impossible to wear slimming garments underneath, even when you size up. If you don't mind a line from your pantyhose, spanx, underwear, etc, or if you can wear a jacket or shrug over it, go for it. All of my shape wear options underneath just looked sloppy and unpolished. In the end, I just went with a lbd in my closet.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Not A Good Fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I had hoped to wear this dress for NYE, and unfortunately neither the 6 nor the 8 fit. I would not recommend this style for busty girls. If the dress had fit it would have been beautiful. The service desk at RTR tried their best to find something to send as a replacement, but the night before NYE, everything was booked. I was so sad I couldn't wear this dress! ):
robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Wonderful dark red dress that stands out in a sea of black.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the color of this dress although it was darker than in the pictures. It's definitely a "blue" red which worked wonderfully with my skin tone. Definitely needed a high-waisted shapers. It is very fitted through the torso and shows every bump. Work with nude patterned hose and nude shoes. Very classy.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×