Theory

Mad Crushing On You Dress

$52 to buy
$285 retail
Stylist Notes

Make that lasting impression on the first date by wearing this red hot Theory dress. Waist cinching and one style he won't forget you in! Shown here with the Whiting and Davis' Gold Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red crepe (100% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
144 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(98)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
April 26, 2013
fit beautifully and my husband LOVED it!
This dress was uber flattering! The fit and flare shape hid all my trouble spots so that I felt comfortable and could enjoy a huge Valentine's Day dinner with my hubs! The only thing I wasn't super stoked about was the feel of the fabric, but aesthetically it was pretty pleasing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2013
Unable to wear the dress
I got this dress for a reception the night before a wedding in Chicago. When the dress arrived, it was immediately evident that quite a few girls had rented this dress before me. It was in pretty bad shape (lost its shape, pilling in spots, stretched out, etc.). RTR fully credited me for the dress, which was great and why I am still ordering from the site today. The material was too thin for this dress to be rented over and over. The fit was pretty true to size. Hopefully RTR has replaced the dress I got with a newer one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2013
Sooo comfortable
Although I didn't end up wearing this dress, I will definitely rent it again. Lightweight but well made and very flattering. I rented two dresses for this event and my husband simply liked the color of the other dress better. This would be a perfect holiday dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2013
Not for me
Very very cute dress but made me look heavy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2013
Perfect for a Christmas Tea!
This dress runs true to size. I tried the size 4 and the size 6. Both fit well, but I thought the size 4 was a bit short for my age and for the event. I wore it to a Christmas Tea. The color was perfect. The fabric of the dress has a little give and was very comfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 19, 2013
Didn't wear it to the event
I had rented this dress and another for my rehearsal dinner. This dress fit great and had a great color, but the other dress was just that a bit cuter. If I had not rented the other dress too I would have loved this dress.
KelliNovember 17, 2013
What was the other dress you rented?
LindsayDecember 4, 2013
The Kate Spade - Grape Soda Pop Dress. Similar cut, similar (but slightly better) fit, but the cut out back was super cute. http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/katespadenewyork_dresses/grapesodapopdress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 26, 2013
Great service, convenient and a terrific look!
Loved the dress, very comfortable and flattering, true to size and got many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2013
I rented this for a BIG presentation as part of an interview and I GOT THE JOB!
I'd say the fit is true to size although I ended up wearing the 2 which was a little looser in the torso since the 0 felt too short. The material is on the thinner side, so the dress isn't necessarily structured. I styled it with a fun tan moto blazer, black belt and leopard pumps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2013
Cute backup, too big for me, however.
I ordered this dress as a backup dress, but ended up wearing something more form-fitting. This dress, I accidentally ordered a 4, but this dress was large for a size 4. I am normally a 2, but the 4 swallowed me. This dress style I believe would look best on a tall, thin girl with little curves. I am a 5'3" gal with a inherited back end from my momma. If you are in the same boat as me, this isn't the dress for you. The dress itself is beautiful and the quality/color is great, but wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 25, 2013
Very classic, conservative dress
Thicker fabric than expected made for a more forgiving fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2013
LOVED this dress. Perfect for a cocktail party!
Overall fit was good (literally skims the body as it should) but it's definitely a little tight in the bust so I went up a size after reading the reviews on it. Lots of compliments and perfect for a big necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 23, 2013
Simple but nice
I normally wear a 4 or 2 and the size 2 was a little too big. Nice dress to wear with a big necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
October 31, 2013
I got plenty of compliments while wearing this dress!
I don't normally wear red, especially not a red dress! But this dress fit perfectly, even with my over-sized chest! There was enough room for my bigger chest but didn't make my midsection look big, in fact it made me look slimmer! If you don't like dresses that are short in length, this dress is perfect for you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
December 1, 2013
Really comfortable fabric for any occasion
I rented two sizes of this dress: the 0 and the 2. The size 0 fit better than the size 2, but I wore the 2 because it was for Thanksgiving dinner. There isn't stretch in the dress, so the fit through the waist is important to get correct. If I rented this dress again, I would probably go with the 2 instead of the 0. Even though the 2 hung a little looser, it didn't look "too big."
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2013
Cute dress, but too big!
I ordered my usual size and a size up as other women suggested, and they were both too large in the mid-section. Made me look large. If I were to rent again I would definitely go for a smaller size as my backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2013
Very "cute" dress.
Very cute, but material is thin and it doesn't have much "wow" factor on. It is great on a straight and narrow body type, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2013
The dress arrived when it was supposed to and great quality!
Dress was fitted on the top so I went with the 6 versus the 4. It was flattering and perfect for the horse races.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 18, 2013
Perfect for engagement pictures in Central Park!
This dress was absolutely perfect for my engagement pictures in Central Park. It fits like a glove, it is slimming but not too tight and the material is structured enough that it doesn't cling. The color is a gorgeous deep red. I'm so glad I went with this dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2013
Work day to night
Wore to work at the law firm for the day with a blazer, and it transferred perfectly to an evening formal alumnae event.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
December 26, 2013
it fit and looked great
Needed to steam it out slightly but first experience renting was great...easy and looking forward to shopping for my next dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 30, 2013
Cute dress for curvy girls!
Really fun and flattering dress. I did have to wear a sweater because the arm openings were a bit big and my bra was visible. But a little black sweater and black boots made a cute outfit for our holiday party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2013
Perfect little Dress!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner! Got tons of compliments felt really pretty. Very slimming!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2014
Not incredibly flattering
I got this dress as my backup and was very happy my original choice fit. While it looks like it would be flattering on the site, it's very tight around the stomach area and if your stomach isn't flat you would definitely need shapewear to wear it. However, the color is beautiful and the dress would look great with a big statement necklace.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 17, 2014
Loved this dress.
I loved this dress. It ran a little large on me, but not so large that it didn't work. Was perfect for a Christmas party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 21, 2014
Wonderful dark red dress that stands out in a sea of black.
Loved the color of this dress although it was darker than in the pictures. It's definitely a "blue" red which worked wonderfully with my skin tone. Definitely needed a high-waisted shapers. It is very fitted through the torso and shows every bump. Work with nude patterned hose and nude shoes. Very classy.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2014
Just didn't work.
I really wanted to like this dress, but I just couldn't. It does run a tad small in the chest, so definitely order up if you have a large chest. The problems I had with it were three.. 1) the armholes really limit the bra you can wear, and, again, if you have a large chest, your bra selections are limited anyway. I finally found a bra that would have worked, but it looks really sloppy if you can't find one. 2) it's just not very well made, or perhaps the 10 I had was just at the end of it's life, but the fabric had snagged, the seams were all pulled, and the fabric was very informal and not appropriate for my cocktail event. 3) kinda related to 2, the dress isn't lined. With the fabric being thin and it being unlined, it's almost impossible to wear slimming garments underneath, even when you size up. If you don't mind a line from your pantyhose, spanx, underwear, etc, or if you can wear a jacket or shrug over it, go for it. All of my shape wear options underneath just looked sloppy and unpolished. In the end, I just went with a lbd in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 24, 2014
I loved the color. Can be dressed "up" or "down"
The dress is flattering and the color is great. I think the arm holes were too big for my bust size. A jacket would make it perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2014
Perfect fit and hugged in the best places. It truly fits to size.
It gets a bit wrinkly throughout the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 15, 2014
Not made for girls with big busts!
The dress looked amazing... but it did not fit. It wouldn't zipper up my back. My boobs were too squished! Great color though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2014
Perfect fit!
This is a very comfortable dress and terrific for a curvy figure the color is more of a Garnet than true red as the picture shows. Loved it wish I owned it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 21, 2014
So fun and flowy! Light weight and perfect for an outdoor event!
The fabric and cut were very flattering. It flowed really well and was light weight for being outdoors during a daytime wedding ceremony. It can be dressed up or down depending on how you accessorize. I normally wear a size 4 but the bust ran a bit tight so I went with the 6, which made the waist a little loose but it still looked cute and very flattering. I would definitely recommend this dress!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2014
Loved the fun color!
Fits well, slightly longer in the back but it gives it a nice shape. Comfortable and conservative on top, a little short but not scandalously so. Nice alternative to a regular black dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2014
Great dress for a graduation party
I liked this dress a lot and received many compliments. I wore this to a graduation. This dress can be dressed up or down, and I went the casual route since the graduation was in more of a country setting, rather than city chic. A couple of things, if you have a larger chest like I do, this wasn't the best style for me, as far as the neckline, and was a little bit snug in the chest. I know this sounds weird, because it isn't a white dress, but it got dirty very fast. It was sprinkling a bit, and there were water spots all over the dress from the rain. Other than that, a nice dress, great length for me and a great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 15, 2014
Nothing special
This dress was sent to me as 1 of 2 alternates when the original dress I ordered was damaged by a previous renter. This dress fit perfectly but it was very plain. It was in a deep ruddy red, that would best suit fall or winter not a summer red. But the material was a very thin rayon, with no lining, so it shows everything underneath. It didn't really seem to be made well or with a quality fabric. Not at all what I have experienced with other RTR dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2014
Pretty color
This was a back up dress as my original order came and there was an issue with it. While the color was gorgeous- the dress was not flattering at all. It made me look bigger than I was. I normally a size 8 in Ann Taylor Dresses and a size 10 in jeans (depending on what it is). I sized up on this dress to the 10 and 12. Which I normally don't do. If you have broad shoulders and back its not a flattering dress either and the size would have to go up. To wear this dress- you need to be more in the range of 2-4 and tall and not have hips. I didn't end up wearing this dress to the party I had which was a bummer but wore a dress in my closet. The customer service at RTR is fantastic though!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 5, 2014
It was my 25th birthday!
i decided to wear the 8, even though it was a bit snug and i had to really hold it in all night, but the 10 just looked to loose. Overall, I felt good in this dress and the color was beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 25, 2014
Nice Dress
Very fun and comfortable dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 25, 2014
Great simple dress for a wedding
A little fitted in the chest. The pleats lost some of their shape, but overall a great dress for a summer weather
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 11, 2014
Gorgeous color, runs big-ish
Originally ordered 0 and 2. 0 was unavailable so I wore the 2 because I love this dress. The 2 was a little too large and runs big in the chest and stomach so i'd size down and wear a padded bra if you are more flat chested. The skirt is the perfect length and is great for dancing. Fabric is opaque but thin so I'd say best for a summer wedding or formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 12, 2014
Classic beauty and comfort
Thanks to the other reviews mentioning the fabric weight and flow (rayon), it was perfect for our friend's semi-formal wedding, length was very classy, just above my knee (I am 5'5"). The neckline looks great with a clean, modern, 16-18" statement necklace. Not a lot of Wow-factor here, but extremely comfortable. The dress definitely needs a thorough steaming the night before/morning-of your event. I had to hold the seatbelt away from my lap in the car to prevent wrinkling, but chair sitting at the event wasn't a problem. There was a very tiny spot on the skirt (I'm guessing a grease spot) that wasn't obvious while wearing, but was a little scary during steaming because it became more obvious - once the fabric cooled and dried it was totally fine. This is an easy going dress that you won't have to fuss over at an event, I liked it.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×