You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
A Night To Remember Gown
Rental $70 Retail $995
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Be the talk of the gala wearing this gorgeous Theia lace gown. A waist cinching style that you'll be able to strut your stuff in while looking insanely beautiful. Shown here with earrings like the Rodrigo Otazu's Sapphire Crystal Stunner Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Black lace (60% nylon, 40% rayon). Cap sleeves. V neckline. A-line skirt. Removable belt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined (97% polyester, 3% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier with padded cups and boning; size up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos95

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
Feb 7, 2014
Very tight in ribcage
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
absolutely gorgeous dress, but I couldn't zip it up fully in back. Also, although the corset/boning underneath is supportive, it is a very hard dress to get into.
J
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3622
Jan 23, 2014
Elegant and flattering!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is beautiful and has just the right amount of subtle detail to make it different from every other black evening dress out there. I was expecting to wear the 2P, but I thought too much of my shoe was showing (3.5 inch heels), as I like my evening dresses to just barely touch the floor. The 2R was just a tad long, but draped better. If anything, the problem was more the little train in the back which kept getting stepped on. For other petite women, keep in mind that the dresses are only altered in length. The bodice was not altered for a shorter torso, so the back was gaping open a bit. Otherwise, the dress fit like a glove and was exactly the look I was going for. RTR service was excellent, from when I placed my (first time) order and needed some sizing guidance, to noticing that the belt was missing from the package (reimbursed for needing to purchase a comparable belt to use). Thanks for a great first time rental! I'd do it again!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
Jan 16, 2014
Very sexy
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a black tie event. I am usually between a 4-6 in mall clothing and an 8 in higher end designer clothing. Both the 6 and the 8 fit, but I felt a little more comfortable in the 8. I am 5'3" and wore 4" heels, and the length was perfect.
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 29, 2013
Easy to wear, looks good
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a debutante ball. I found this dress to be easy to wear--although it was fitted enough through the ribcage area that it wasn't a breeze to sit down. Definitely wear some sort of shapewear as it shows any pooch. I am 5'5" and found the regular to be a tad short for a formal gown; however, because the overlay is lace, it was probably a good thing or my heels would have gotten stuck in the lace and/or ripped the dress. I received many compliments on the dress and I felt good in it!
Margot
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 8643
Dec 17, 2013
Perfect fit! Great way to look glamorous!
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit!
Susannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Dec 10, 2013
Too small and tight
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress just didn't work for me. My hips were too wide and an 8, which I have worn before from RTR in this brand, did not fit. Looked like it was very sturdy and high-quality construction. I'm sorry it didn't work out!
Dena
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Nov 25, 2013
GORGEOUS!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a Black Tie event and got 8767352643265 compliments. It comes with a built-in bra, but if you're a C cup or above, I'd def recommend wearing a bra anyway. I ordered a 2R and 2L and I'm sooo thankful because the 2R would've been entirely too short. The only problem with this dress was the nude layer underneath. I guess from being worn so many times, it was starting to show at the bottom when I walked. Not a big deal though, and nothing fashion tape couldn't fix! (which they give you with the dress) The customer service was awesome and the detail in the dress was absolutely stunning. This dress is for someone that wants to look sexy while simultaneously looking like a class act. I will absolutely be Renting the Runway for my next big event!
Stel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6531
Nov 15, 2013
Lots of compliments
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had an odd issue; hem was totally off in the front, way too short, as if the lace layer had shrunk. I was grateful for the free tape provided, as I ended up having to tape up the hem of the beige/pink underskirt to match that lace hem height. Otherwise, I go a ton of compliments.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 2531
Nov 14, 2013
Wore and liked this dress.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Could use fun bracelet or earings to make it really stand out.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5542
Nov 10, 2013
Did not fit
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
beautiful dress. To big
Liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 4, 2013
Beautiful, classy dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit so well. It was my back-up dress but I ended up wearing it instead of my first choice dress because of the fit. It is fitted without being too restricting and the material is top quality. I received a ton of compliments on the dress. It is definitely a classy dress with a touch of glamour. I highly recommend this dress! I am pretty short-waisted and have virtually no waist (i'm very straight up and down) and the belt cinched my waist perfectly and made me look like i have somewhat of a curvy figure.
Fran
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Oct 2, 2013
Felt like a Movie Star!!!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved it!! I received so many compliments on it. It does run a tad small because there is really no stretch in the material. I ordered the 6 and the 8 and went with the 8. Loved it!!! Sorry I had to give it back.
Digna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Oct 1, 2013
I looked like a million dollar lal
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It looked amazing...lots of compliments. Unfortunately not letting me upload fotos.
Jenna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Sep 10, 2013
Great dress, looked beautiful. Fit perfectly.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received comments all night!
Brianna21
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3542
Jun 10, 2013
Really comfortable and flattering
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a recent wedding. It was very comfortable and I loved that I didn't have to wear a bra with the built in corset. I am 5'8" and the 2L was perfect with heels.
Rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3624
May 27, 2013
Had VIP for an important award show.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ended up wearing the other option I rented which was very similar. But this one would have been great as well. Lovely and formal.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
May 7, 2013
Amazing customer service!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't actually get a chance to wear this dress because the gala I was going to was postponed due to the events surrounding the capture of the Boston Marathon bombers. When I called the customer service line to let them know, they were extremely sympathetic - asking if I was ok, wishing that there was something they could do, etc. - and made the return process super easy. When the event was rescheduled, they credited my account to re-rent the dress at no extra cost. They turned a frustrating/disappointing/scary situation into an easy fix! Thank you RTR!
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6544
Apr 29, 2013
SUPER SHORT
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really wanted to wear this dress, but it was super short. My previous two RTR experiences, even the regular-length dresses required me to wear super-tall heels to avoid having my dress drag all over the place and get stepped on. So I had taken to not trusting the site's recommendation to go longer for my height. This one was well above my ankles. In the end, I saw at least two other women with this dress on at the event I attended - so it was just as well it didn't work out.
Pam
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Apr 22, 2013
Great, flattering style, but looking raggedy from rentals
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a really flattering dress, hugging curves but also hiding the extra pounds. I received compliments from several people. However, the dress was in rough shape from all the rentals, I think. There was a large (8 inches) hole in the black middle lining, so you could see what looked like a big nude oval shape through the top layer of the dress. I held my clutch on that side in photos so that it wasn't visible, but it made me self-conscious all evening. Also, the nude and black linings kind of hang out the bottom and I think it may be from excessive wear or something. It didn't look intentional. I think the dress would be stunning when new, but this one had seen better days.
TK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Apr 12, 2013
Elegent dress
Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 0R (0P was not available) and the 2P. Both sizes fit fine but I went with the 2P for the shorter length and a bit more breathing room. I'm 5'2" and the 2P with 3.5 inch heels came just to the floor without dragging. The 0R would have been fine too but I didn't want to worry about stepping on the train. It's a very elegant dress and I loved wearing it. The dress did have a few snags and the belt loop was torn.
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Mar 31, 2013
Pretty dress- but too much effort
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The material of this dress is beautiful. The zipper was so troublesome, even without the dress on, that it wasn't worth the bother. I would recommend going up a size or two if you are busty.
REG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Mar 18, 2013
Love Love LOVE
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous dress, classy yet sexy, flattering fit. Got tons of compliments. Wore a size 6, true to size
Mel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Mar 11, 2013
Didn't get to wear it.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately, this dress wasn't shipped to me because it had been damaged. So, I suppose the only thing I can say is, please, ladies, be careful with the lace!
Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2532
Mar 11, 2013
It was great, everything worked out perfectly with the dress and delivery.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 0 and a 2, the only thing I would have changed is the length. I ordered a long and should have ordered the regular length. I ended up wearing super high heels and it was fine.
Sanaa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5443
Mar 4, 2013
glamourous!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and it was fantastic! the built-in corset kept everything in all night and gave me a perfect hourglass figure. at the same time the sleeves and cut made it very comfortable, allowing me to have fun on the dance floor and not worry about wrinkles or fit. HIGHLY recommend this dress.
carolinagirl
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Feb 15, 2013
Classy and flattering
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and found it to be much more forgiving that I'd expected. The lining and dress are somehow stretchy enough to be comfortable and the bustier allowed me to be supported and go bra-less. I'm curvy with hips and chest but this worked great for me! Excellent customer service too as they didn't send the belt but were very generous offering to overnight me another dress or comp the belt-less dress. Thank you! Will definitely use RTR again.
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6533
Feb 13, 2013
Felt amazing in this dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Lucky for me fit was perfect, especially the interior corset in the dress. Too bad it was too short! I wore flats but you could still see my shoes at the front of the dress.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Feb 10, 2013
It was a great night!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in 2 sizes but I didn't end up wearing it. I'm 5'4" tall but when I received the dresses, they both came without the belt. I was overnighted the belt the next day but didn't end up wearing it because the regular was too short. I was going to a formal event and didn't like that you could see my shoes and a large portion of my foot. I tried to get the long, but it was not available.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jan 30, 2013
looks great on, tons of compliments, and fairly easy to dance in :)
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I typically wear an 8 but it was too short...glad I got the 10 as my back-up. The size difference was not significant so if you are hesitant make sure to get your back-up in a size larger if you are at all concerned about the length
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jan 13, 2013
flattering fit for black tie event
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly, V-neck was sexy without being too low.
SP
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jan 13, 2013
Made me feel like a Princess!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits true to size, although i have a bigger back so the back was a bit tight. Other than that its worth it! Makes me feel lso sexy and definitely you will be the talk of the party! If you want a dress thats just VA-VA Voom, this is it! MUST GET! Thank you RTR for having this dress!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4523
Jan 2, 2013
I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I like the dress, but didn't love it. It has a weird black lace piece right where your underwear line hit, so I thought it looked a bit odd. I've always worn a 2 or 4 and ended up needing a 6 in this dress. My hips were too wide for the 4. I enjoyed it, but not sure I'd rent again.
Maria
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
Dec 26, 2012
Classy, beautiful dress!!!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A compliment from just about everyone at the event. I would love to own this dress.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3523
Dec 20, 2012
Not bad
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This came as a replacement because the second dress I rented was unavailable. It was a close match (kudos to the style staff for picking a substitute), but the shoulder and bust seams just didn't quite lay flat. The black dress was just a safe second choice, and I ended up wearing a bold red dress instead.
Traci
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8623
Dec 20, 2012
The Gown is Beautiful!
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received many compliments throughout the night. If you have curves this is the dress for you! The gown really has to be worn to be appreciated. I would say the fit is true to size but I would definitely recommend wearing a strapless, low back bra for extra support unless you have a small bust.
Michelle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Dec 18, 2012
The dress was fabulous. I recieved a compliment from everyone at the party.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit well and everyone complimented me.
Tracie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Dec 13, 2012
beautiful!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress didn't work for me but worked for a friend. She is 5'3", 120 34B and wore the size 2. You do not need a bra for this dress, there is a built in one. You can't wear heels higher than 3" if you are 5'5" if you prefer a longer look.
Nina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5531
Dec 2, 2012
Great dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous dress. I am 5'6" and should have gotten long.
NYCKATEt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Nov 29, 2012
This thing fit like a glove!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this at my own wedding reception (destination wedding was 6 months prior). I felt so awesome in this dress. With heels on it made me look very tall!
Lexie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Nov 24, 2012
It was really nice & convenient to be able to rent a beautiful gown for a formal event so easily!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect and when the dress arrived it was more stunning than the pictures from the website. It exceeded my expectations! I received many compliments, everyone said how elegant and beautiful the dress was. They of course asked where I bought it from and 99% of the people that asked had no idea about Rent the Runway, now they do. I will be renting all my formal wear from now on from your site:) Thanks for a beautiful gown and making my night and experience I'll never forget!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress