Theia

A Night To Remember Gown

$50 – $85 rental
$995 retail
Stylist Notes

Be the talk of the gala wearing this gorgeous Theia lace gown. A waist cinching style that you'll be able to strut your stuff in while looking insanely beautiful. Shown here with Oscar de la Renta’s Multi Diamond Mosaic Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier with padded cups and boning; size up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black lace (60% nylon, 40% rayon). Cap sleeves. V neckline. A-line skirt. Belt not included. Hidden center back zipper. Lined (97% polyester, 3% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
301 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(195)
Small
(47)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 22, 2015
The gown was unique and figure flattering.

The lining was the part of the gown that was too tight in the size 6. The 8 was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2015
Ordered this for a military ball.

It was very pretty but I couldn't wear it...it was very tight and could barely be zipped. I'm normally a size 2 in dresses and the 2L was far to small, so order up. Right size would look great I think though.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 30, 2015
beautiful dress, but no give. My advice is go a sixe larger. I usually wear 8, but I wore the 10.

Beautiful

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
August 10, 2015
Great dress but no stretch in the hip area what so ever.

This is a wonderful dress for someone who is more straight and narrow or athletic. If you have hips the dress may not fit right because the inner lining is tight and doesn't have any stretch. Lovely dress though. Disappointed I didn't get to wear it.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
October 19, 2015
I wasn't able to wear the dress

There are 3 layers to the dress. The inner and outer fit perfectly. The middle black layer was too tight. I couldn't get it over my hips and thighs so I could not wear the dress. A size up would have been too big in the chest for me. It was a beautiful gown. Wish it would have fit.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
October 24, 2015
Gorgeous gown, but quite worn. My dress arrived without the ribbon belt. Did not fit right.

A little big in the bust for me and tight in the abdomen area.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 47
January 27, 2016
Loved the overall look of the dress - received compliments too! very slim fitting, even w/spanx

Top was fine - fit around hips and thighs was so tight, I was careful when sitting. It did improve my posture though being conscious of it all night! I did feel glamorous in it; with many celebs there - the style was spot on.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
February 15, 2016
Didn't end up wearing it :(

Normal size is an 8, but this 8L wouldn't fit over my hips, so I couldn't wear it. Backup size was 10L but was way too big in the chest area. Luckily the customer service at RTR is amazing and I had a backup arrive the next day.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
March 2, 2016
Way too small

This dress was beautiful, but ran VERY small. I ordered a 4 and couldn't even get it over my butt! I ended up going with the Nicole Miller "Tempted By You" gown in the same size (which had a lot more stretch) and that one fit perfectly. If you have a larger bum this dress is probably not for you. I am 34in on top and 40in on bottom and this one just didn't have enough stretch to accommodate that.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 16, 2013
Loved this dress...it was actually my back up dress, but once I tried it on, I knew it was perfect!

The dress runs a bit small...I wear a size 8 or 10, but wore the size 12 in this dress. I would've liked the corset to be adjustable so I could make it a bit tighter, but overall loved the fit of the dress. And, best part...it was comfortable!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
April 14, 2014
Fun night!

Loved this gown. Wore it to a black tie gala and received many compliments. It seems to run a bit small as I'm typically a 10 in dresses, but RTR only had a 12 and I went with it and it fit just fine. Great for those with a large chest as it was very flattering, but still covered and was supportative. I wore with a black strapless bra.

LauraApril 14, 2014
Would you mind sharing how high your heels were? We're just about the same size, but I'm 2 inches taller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 18, 2014
Glamorous dress!

Received tons of compliments! The ONLY downside to this dress was its length. I felt comfortable in a 4R with lower heels, but should have gone for a 4L. The dress is really unassuming. Very simple, and completely classy. The lining underneath offered tons of support and did not require additional undergarments. Can't wait to rent again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 26, 2012
Beautuful,but small.

!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2013
I got a lot of compliments on the dress!

I like the dress, but didn't love it. It has a weird black lace piece right where your underwear line hit, so I thought it looked a bit odd. I've always worn a 2 or 4 and ended up needing a 6 in this dress. My hips were too wide for the 4. I enjoyed it, but not sure I'd rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
February 7, 2014
Very tight in ribcage

absolutely gorgeous dress, but I couldn't zip it up fully in back. Also, although the corset/boning underneath is supportive, it is a very hard dress to get into.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 28, 2014
Too snug

I ordered this dress for my backup since they only had one size available at the time. It's gorgeous but the fitted style in a size 6 was just too snug for my curvy rear. I think the 8 would have been perfect. The main problem was the middle layer…there's the nude color liner that is stretchy but then there's another layer of black chiffon(?) that is not forgiving. I couldn't get it past my hips. So if you have some curves, try a size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 143lbs
April 7, 2014
8L runs small

Beautiful dress but couldn't fit all of the lining over my hips. Lining was cut twisted with the grain. There were many runs and pulls where previous renters had to work hard to get it on. No belt came with the dress. No back up size was available when I rented so I had to wear something else.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
December 4, 2014
Beautiful dress.

I rented this for a xmas 1920's theme gala. The dress is beautiful when you put it on. I had an issue with the back as it seemed to be stretched out and there was no way to pin it or tape it (tried both). The dress has a built in corset which is awesome. No need for a bra as it fits nicely. Loved it. I requested if they could send the same dress as a replacement that wouldn't be as stretched out but all were rented out for the dates I needed. I will definitely try to rent this one again. So needless to say, I was unable to wear it. However, RTR was awesome in helping me choose a replacement dress.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
September 13, 2015
It was a little warn out but overall dress was beautiful and very flattering.

I'm usually a size 8, but wore the 10. It was a perfect fit on the bottom but the top was a little loose ... didn't really matter given the fitted chest support. It was a little worn out with a broken strap and exposed wires in the top support, but you couldn't tell from looking at it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 11, 2015
Not for a pear shape.

Got this to wear to a wedding, but unfortunately couldn't get it on. I tried pulling the dress up from the floor and over my head, either way it was not going over my hips. There was a black tulle between the lace and the nude liner and it did not provide any stretch. My hips are two sizes different from my chest, so if you're only one size different this could work for you. Ended up going with another dress

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 19, 2015
Great customer service!

I was unable to wear this dress due to it being too small. If you have a bigger bust, I would definitely recommend going up a size. The dress came a day late but customer service was very understanding and went above & beyond to make sure that my first experience renting from them was unforgettable even though it didn't work out. I will definitely be renting another and trying it out again!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
February 11, 2016
Pretty and elegant!

I am 5'6" around 125lbs. I ordered the 4R and sized up to the 6R. The 4 was a little more snug fitting than I would've been comfortable in all night, but my main issue was the length! I should have gotten the long! Adding heels made this too short in my opinion. Overall, it was a lovely dress, but maybe time to retire because the liners were both torn and quite a few little snags here and there.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
September 18, 2016
I was very disappointed that I couldn't wear this dress due to the fit.

This dress looks beautiful on the hanger and in these other reviews. However, the fit is horrible. I normally wear a size 6, and the 8 in this dress wouldn't even go over my legs. The 10 fit, but the top around the shoulders was way too big. Also, it was so heavy that it felt like wearing wool. I'm pretty curvy, especially through my legs and hips. I wouldn't recommend this dress unless you're super thin.

Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
February 7, 2017
Very flattering dress

It was a little snug and the zipper wouldn't go all the way up. I wore my hair downs so you weren't able to see. I received a lot of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
September 3, 2017
I did not get to wear the dress. It still is a beautiful dress. I wanted to wear it badly.

This dress runs small.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 169lbs
February 13, 2018
GORGEOUS DRESS! Order multiple sizes up if you are an apple shape!

I LOVE this dress! 5 star dress! 2 star sizing. I was in denial about sizing, but I honestly should have ordered the 14 or 16. The zipper didn't move an inch after I put it on. It truly is a stunning dress. Apple shapes, beware of the size, and don't let this gem not get worn because of sizing denial.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 5, 2012
When I walked into the ceremony room to be seated and I heard half the room gasp and smile in my direction! Later on at the cocktail hour everyones girlfriend and wife came up to me and demanded to know where I got my dress and how it was absolutely beautiful.

I rented this dress for my boyfriends sisters wedding in Chicago over Labor Day Weekend. This picture does the dress no justice, it was STUNNING! I got complimented the entire night and told the dress was lovely. My boyfriend couldn't stop telling me how beautiful I looked. I think I definitely achieved best dressed next to the bride and wedding party. The dress fit like a glove and has a built in bra for extra comfort (you can alway wear a bra). It was super comfortable and very flattering. While I'm 5'5 and 122 lbs, I am a runner with an athletic build so rather "hippy" and I have a rounded lower body. This dress would look great on anyone who is pear shaped, hourglass or even slender because it creates an illusion of being long and lengthy. I typically wear a 2 or 4 in dresses so this is true to size. I ordered a long because I hate short dresses and while I wore about 3 inch heels and it was a tad too long, I loved the length and danced the night away. I promise it was the most STUNNING gown I've worn or rented in my life. And I wear a lot of dresses! Order away ladies! P.S. While not my original plan, I wore the dress with the Oscar De La Renta Ocean Jewel Tone earrings for a pop of color. Colorful earrings are the way to go with this dress as they definitely create a more fun/formal look!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 6, 2012
Felt so amazing!

This gown is stunning! The lace detail is amazing and really figure flattering. The bodice inside the dress has almost a full corset with padding so you really don't even need to wear a bra with it. Such a beautiful dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
September 11, 2012
Wonderful!!!

I wore this dress to a formal black tie ball and it was stunning!! I am an hourglass figure, 5'4" and 113 lbs, 34B bust and it flattered all the right places. I also wore 4" heels and the slight train in the back made it the perfect length. Built in bra has good support. Love this designer!! Thank you rent the runway for another fantastic dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
LOVED this dress and got tons of compliments!

Absolutely loved this dress -- I am between 6-8 normally, but felt much better in the 8L. The length was perfect -- I am 5'5" and wore 4 inch heels with a slight platform, so if you are not wearing very high heels, the regular length would be fine. The back portion is sheer black lace (the rest of the dress is lined in nude fabric) but you really don't need a bra, even with a D. The built in support was enough and was very comfortable. The cap sleeves were a little big but I was the only one who noticed. I got tons of compliments all night, from young girls to older women and felt very glamorous. Wore it with simple earrings and a gold watch. Highly recommended!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
September 18, 2012
WOW!

This dress is amazing! It was my third choice and I almost ended up with another dress. I'm so glad the RTR stylist sent me this dress instead. It fit like a glove and I received so many compliments from men and women all evening! The only reason I can't give 5 stars is because it was sent to me without the belt. You really need to cover the horizontal seam along the waistline. It's a good thing I found something in my closet I used. It also has a built in bra that holds you in nice and tight. I would rent this again and again! Note: I wore 4 inch heels and it still dragged along the floor.

Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2012
I loved every detail of my RTR experience...from receiving this amazing dress to the easy return!

This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I was thrilled it came in a petite size, which I only learned after I called the RTR folks on the phone (they were extremely helpful!). It was extremely flattering and with a 3-4 inch heel, it wasn't too long even with my short legs. I think the 10 regular (my freebie size) would have been way too long. The built-in bra was really nice! I ordered the mystery bling and received the Miriam Haskell Secret Garden Cuff...which was beautiful and really dressed up the gown. Paired with a simple drop necklace and earrings, this was the perfect dress for a black tie wedding! Only con -- the back of the dress was a bit too large and puckered. But, it's not custom fit so I couldn't complain too much :)

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2012
I wore this dress to a black tie work event and it was the perfect choice! I felt sexy and elegant!

I am a pear shape and usually wear a size six but the six was a little too snug around my hips. The eight fit perfectly around my hips and was not too big on top. If you are pear shaped, I would recommend choosing the size that best fits around your hips. I also ended up wearing it without the belt but the seam at the waist was incredibly flattering. I am 5'4" and wore 1' heels and the length was perfect, but if you want to wear higher heels, I would recommend getting the tall length rather than the regular. The lace makes it feel sexy without showing too much skin and it was super flattering. I loved this dress so much and got a ton of compliments on it. I couldn't have picked a better dress for the occasion.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
This is a stunning dress. The lace is very soft and drapes well.

It worked out nicely and I felt beautiful. Two things to know: 1. Try the dress on early WITH any shapewear you plan to use. I didn't put on the shapewear when I tested the sizes two days earlier and realized only hours before the event that I should have tried a smaller size. As a result, the bodice slipped down a little, so I didn't get as much lift and support as I needed and I had to shrug it back into place throughout the evening, Also, the lace in the back bloused over too much--I don't know if that's because it's made for taller women with longer torsos to begin with, or because it was too big. 2. The skirt is cut even more narrow in the thigh and knee than it looks in the picture, which is lovely but limits your stride. We walked a couple blocks between venues during our evening and it was slow going, rather like Peg Bundy. Not an issue if you're sitting pretty or simply walking across the room. Nonetheless, I got lots of compliments and was very comfortable otherwise.

SarahOctober 2, 2012
awesome
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 10, 2012
Classy, elegant, and sexy!! Compliments all night.

Fits perfectly, like a glove, a little snug around hips but zipped easily. My only con is that the dress is long and tight (with very little stretch due to lace) so it takes effort to sit, walk, get in the car, dance etc. Absolute beauty overall though!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 113lbs
October 15, 2012
my husband thought i looked fantastic!!

fit great. very comfortable and flattering!

LAOctober 15, 2012
You look gorgeous in this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 19, 2012
Gorgeous!

This dress is beautiful, the fabric is heavy and it hugged every curve. Unfortunately, ive had 2 c-sections and have a little tummy. I didn't feel comfortable showing that off. This dress is classy and sexy, yet conservative. I went with my back-up dress.

Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 26, 2012
Stunning Dress!

This dress is amazing. I talked with a fit specilist and they advised me to order based on the pant size I wear. I ordered a 6P and it fit like a dream!! I LOVED wearing this dress and received many compliments on it the entire night! :) My husband loved it too! I would definitely recommend (if you have a larger bust) wearing a strapless bra with this gown as the corset inside the dress really doesn't provide much lift or flattery.

JaniceOctober 26, 2012
hi, you look great. how tall were your heels?
JenniOctober 26, 2012
I wore 3 inch heels. Not too high. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2012
This Dress is amazing. I had several guests at the wedding tell me how great I looked.

I have a long torso so the top part fit great- it really accentuated my waist.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 1, 2012
This dress was a perfect fit!!!!!!!!!

I'm 5'4 and I was a little worried about the length of the dress. I wore high heals and it the dress was beautiful. The right dress for a black tie gala.

See more reviews:
3 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×