Theia

Dipped in Vanilla Dress

$50 rental
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

A glittering goddess in gold. This show stopper by Theia deserves to be out until morning. Shine on... you beautiful thing!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very stretchy and highlights bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - stretchy fabric is comfortable but may highlight lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Champagne sequins. V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
193 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(144)
Small
(6)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 137lbs
August 4, 2015
Fun dress to wear. Very flattering.
Received the size 10, and the 8 as a back up. Was going to wear the 10, but several sequins were missing along the hem. I wore the 8 and the fabric had plenty of stretch, so it hugged my body nicely anyway. I was able to wear a regular bra, which was great because of my large chest. It did show more cleavage than I usually show. Didn't need Spanx, but they could be helpful to hold in the stomach. It was a little flashy compared to the understated attendees, but I loved it. This would be great for a Christmas party! When I contacted RTR about the sequins, they refunded my money! Great, prompt customer service.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2015
Dress was super comfy and flattering!
I wore this as a bridesmaid dress. I am 6 months pregnant and this dress fit great. I rented back in April and the RTR customer service department was so helpful with giving me advice as to what size I should rent. The dress had an elastic feel which also made it super comfy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
July 13, 2015
I wore this dress to an evening Summer wedding in Auburn, Massachusetts.
This is my third Rent the Runway dress and my first time posting a review. While I enjoyed all my previous rentals, my experience with this dress was exceptionally good. Echoing some other reviewers, if you want to receive compliments all night - rent this dress. I rented this dress for a wedding, and before I could even take my seat on the shuttle bus to the venue, I had gotten two compliments! And that trend continued all evening long. The dress is very flattering, it is stretchy enough to hug your curves, but doesn't pull up or fit too tightly. I did find it ran small. I usually wear a 6 but the 8 fit perfectly. The low V neckline is balanced out by the longer length of the dress. I'm 5'7" and it hit a few inches above my knee. That being said, there is a shockingly high slit on the back side of the dress. I had to be careful sitting down, and there was absolutely no bending over. The slit is the only reason this dress gets 4 stars instead of 5. I was a little nervous about renting a dress that is more fitted around the hemline, since I usually order dresses that flare around the legs, but the stretchiness made that a non-issue.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
June 23, 2015
Bridal shower winner! Easy to wear, comfortable AND beautiful!
This is a great dress! I have pretty stringent needs when it comes to being comfortable (even while dressed up). This beautiful dress fit the bill. The sequins didn't shed like I've experienced in the past with embellished dresses, and my hair didn't get tangled in them, either!! I have long, curly hair, so this is almost unheard of. It was so nice to not have to put my hair up to protect myself and the dress. I felt beautiful, while still being able to relax and enjoy myself. Note - the sequins on this dress have a matte finish, so you don't feel like a disco ball, and I felt it was ok for my daytime bridal shower. It's pretty low-cut, so be prepared flaunt whatcha got!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 17, 2015
We rented this dress to wear as a bridesmaids dress. It looked great on everyone.
The fabric is really light weight and pretty stretchy. It has a pretty modest neckline too which was really nice for a wedding. I am 5'4" and the length was good for me but one of the other bridesmaids (who is a few inches taller than me) needed to safety pin the back shut because it was a bit too high). We had four women in the bridal party who wore this (a size 4, two size 6s and my size 8) and it was great for all of us. Its a bit darker in person than it is in the model picture. The arm holes are a bit small but I didnt find that the sequins rubbed too much. It was a fun and comfortable dress to dance in.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
June 10, 2015
This dress is a party!
I wore the dress for my bachelorette party and I felt amazing in it! The sparkles are beautiful. The material is quite stretchy so I could do all of the dancing I wanted (which was a LOT). It's very flattering even though it's form fitting. I could not recommend this dress enough! I would wear it again and again if I could. A+
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 3, 2015
It was a stand out dress for sure!
I rented this dress for a wedding I was a bridesmaid in. I typically wear a size 8 but accidentally rented a 6 and 4. The 6 fit, it was a little snug because I am busty but otherwise looked great. The stretchy underneath material and sequins make it forgiving. As directed I would definitely choose a a size smaller for back up. I really don't think they 8 would've fit correctly so I am glad I got a 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2015
Loved this dress!
This dress was perfect for the wedding I went to- the material was stretchy and thick so it was comfortable to wear all night and dance in. I had complete strangers coming up to me to tell me how great it looked!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 11, 2015
Dress is a stunner!
Wore this dress to a weekend and it was perfect! Very comfortable and forgiving in the fit. Dress has a lot of stretch in it which made it comfortable throughout the night. I am tall and the lenght of the dress was perfect, even with the small slit in the back. Received compliments all night and would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
April 28, 2015
This dress was a DREAM!
Normally I wear a size 10, but being as I'm 50 lbs down (you can follow me on FB.com/JosieQuitsCake), I decided to shoot for a size 8 - sure enough, it fit and felt FANTASTIC! This was my second order from RTR (I wasn't too impressed with the first one), I was soo nervous about how it would be, and if the material would snag or not. Being as it's sequins, it did snag every now and then, but the material is STRONG, and nothing happened to it. I didn't even have to wear Spanx, and got a million compliments that night! Ordering this dress again for a photo shoot because I love it THAT much. <3
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
April 25, 2015
I'm 25 weeks pregnant and it fit me great, very comfortable!
It's stretchy and very flattering
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2015
SHORT slit in the back, beware!
This dress is pretty, but beware of the short slit in the back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 142lbs
February 21, 2015
Perfect for a 1920s gala!
RTR really came to the rescue - I had a 1920s gala to attend at a local theatre, and my original dress didn't fit. RTR jumped into action and sent me a couple options. I ended up with this dress, pairing it with black heels and a black headpiece. It looked great! One of the actors at the gala said my friend (who also wore a flapper-inspired sequin dress) and I were the best-dressed. Would definitely rent this again -- super comfy, flattering, and fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2015
The dress was perfect for the Oscar's-themed formal event I attended.
The dress fit true to size. I am 5 ft. 2 inches, 120 lbs. and the size 4 was perfect. It is constructed of a stretchy fabric covered in sequins, so it is very form-fitting yet flattering. It was a comfortable dress to wear as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
January 29, 2015
This dress was perfect for my friend's Gatsby themed Graduation from Law School party!
I am usually a 4 or 6 in dresses. I chose the size 4 because I am 5'3" and the size 6 was looser and bunched up on me. If you are shorter in your torso or from your shoulders to chest (like me and my specs are wrong I am a 34 DD and still had to go with a 4) you may have to go with your smaller dress size so make sure to order a backup size when you order this dress. Other than that it was perfect for the occasion I wore it too and absolutely gorgeous!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2015
comfortable and easy to sit and dance in - plenty of coverage up top
wore one size up from my usual since it was stretchy and sequins made it pretty tight, especially in the hips and under the arms - very glad I ordered a size bigger, especially since I was going to a dinner/dance and needed the extra room for sitting and dancing. Gold is definitely more bronze - did not work with diamond/silvery accessories or shoes...looked better with black shoes. Nice that you can wear a regular bra underneath - works well for busty women like me - not too much cleavage and also not too short - didn't feel like I was trying to fit into a coed's dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 13, 2015
I felt great in this dress, and I got compliments the entire night!
The dress fit perfectly. It has a little stretch to it, so you can move and be comfortable. The color is different than it shows in the picture, but I liked it more - a few mocha colors sparkles along with some gold and off white. I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 18, 2014
Perfect bachelorette dress!
I LOVED this dress!! Totally going to rent it again for the right occasion. It was so comfortable and fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2014
Glamourous dress
A little short (I am 5'7") in the back b/c of the slit - I could not bend over but had to crouch my knees, but it want a big deal. A Little tight in my chest but I am a 34 D. Was very happy with it overall. Very comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2014
Very glamorous
This dress was amazing! Very comfortable and allowed for movement when dancing. I received so many compliments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2014
Perfect gold dress
The size 4 fit great, not too tight - able to eat and dance comfortably!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 20, 2014
Loved!!
This dress was great! Wore it for a rehearsal party and it was fun against a background of lace and black. The bust fit perfectly and I am very top heavy. Material is pretty thick so although I didn't wear special undergarmets, it would allow for such. Length hit mid thigh (I'm 5'8") overall a great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 7, 2014
Didn't want to send it back.
I rented this dress as my back-up dress for my wedding reception. I wanted to have something on hand, in case I got tired of wearing my gown and all the undergarments. When I received this dress from RTR, I knew I had to have a wardrobe change! I loved it! I was true to size, and comfy, with just the right amount of stretch. I received so many compliments, and it was just the right sparkly addition to the end of our wedding reception.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 25, 2014
Felt FABULOUS in this dress! Was sad when the party was over and I had to take it off.
There's stretch and give with the dress, though you'll want Spanx to smooth things out. Love that you can wear a normal bra. The 8 fit fine...but the 10 allowed for breathing and dancing room. A small piece of double stick tape kept on the cleavage to keep my Spanx's from showing. Paired with the suggested Nicole Miller Teardrop Pearl Earrings and they looked gorgeous together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 12, 2014
I wanted to rent this dress for all my bridesmaids but came back too damaged. Sent me new ones
Gorgeous. A little scratchy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 34
September 3, 2014
Very pretty dress! The fabric is THICK, many sequins and beads.
Wore this as a bridesmaids dress - all the girls wore different shades of gold. It is a simple and sexy dress! Looks expensive too :) I was going to order a 2, I usually wear a 2, but very glad I went with a 4. It was form-fitting, but not suffocating. You can wear a normal bra under it which is awesome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 31, 2014
Great dress!
I'm usually a 10 or 12 and the size 10 fit great. The length was great (hit just above knee) and it showed a tough of cleavage without going overboard. It was fairly comfortable too. I was afraid the sequins would irritate my arms by the end of the night, but had no problems. Since there wasn't much structure through the middle of the dress, it wasn't the most flattering cut for my shape, but I did still feel great in it. I've got a pretty big bust (34G) and it fit my bust well and I was able to wear a regular bra with it (major yay!). The gold and sparkle was awesome and not too overpowering. Paired it with nude pumps, a navy wrap, and navy drop earrings (and in the picture, a groomsmen's gold tie). Two things that kept me from giving it 5 stars: I wish it had the little clasps in the sleeves to hook around your bra straps to hold them up, and some spots on the dress were a little sparse in the sequins, showing the wear a bit. Once it was on, it wasn't noticeable, but I could tell when I had it laying flat before putting it on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
August 28, 2014
I felt amazing and received a lot of compliments. I was sure to pass on the word about RTR.
No complaints here. It fit great and it was soooo comfortable! #lasvegas
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2014
My aunt Ginny said that dress fits you like wall paper!! In a fabulous way!
It set the tone for my wedding at my bridal shower for a glitz occasion:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2014
Worked Well for 1920's Theme Wedding
This dress fit me like a glove with the exception of the length. It was a little shorter than I would have liked for a wedding, but the bigger issue was the slit in the back of the dress. It pretty much bared all. I used a safety pin to try & minimize the exposure, but I still felt like I was hanging out of it. All in all, I felt good in the dress and would recommend it to others.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Body type: Petite
August 5, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering
The dress was beautiful, and fit very well. However, it was a tad long for me because I am shorter. I rented this to try on before actually renting for my son's Las Vegas wedding. Will be getting the size 8 as a back up because the 10 had a little room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
August 2, 2014
Attended an out of town party and had it shipped to the B & B. No problems! Love this dress!
Fit is fabulous, can wear real bra. I wore spanx but you could get away without them too. Super comfy! Danced the night away! Loved this dress....... I was the only girl in gold at a Gatsby Party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 27, 2014
The dress was perfect for my bachelorette party! Made me feel like a celebrity!
Great fit! Made for the curvy body!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 21, 2014
Perfect for a bachelorette party!!
This was the dress I chose for my bachelorette party. It was my first rental and I was so happy with this dress. RTR did not have my usual dress size so I couldn't get a backup but this dress fit me perfectly in the size below (I'm in between sizes now). It was form fitting, not too low in the front, and fit like a glove, showing all curves. The dress is long enough (just above knee for me - I'm 5'2")..the only caution I have is for the slit in the back. If you bend over too much, things can be revealed. But it ended up being fine! I got TONS of compliments and I sparkled all night long while at dinner and dancing with my girls! I wish I owned this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
July 19, 2014
The dress was beautiful and I loved the sequins. But the slit was too high in the back!
This was my first RTR dress and it was beautiful. I was so excited to try it on. And then I tried it on. I am very curvy, hourglass you could say, and maybe that was the reason for this but...the slit in the back went so high you could practically see my butt! I thought maybe I would be OK with stockings, but who wants to 1. wear stockings to a July wedding and 2. worry about relatives seeing her tush while dancing!!! I was pretty surprised to not see anything about the slit on any of the reviews. The customer service was FABULOUS and a new dress should arrive today. Crossing my fingers! But quite frankly, even if this new dress doesn't fit, I will totally rent again because the customer service was so great.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
July 17, 2014
Great for Bachelorette party!
The theme for my bachelorette party was "sparkly". This dress was beautiful! It was so comfortable all night long (and it was a loooooong one). Definitely recommend this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2014
Stunning Dress
The fit was perfect! I took a risk and ordered a 6 because the 8 wasn't available. I got compliments all night. Love this dress! I'm sad to have to send it back! Highly recommend as the dress stood out in the crowd.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 2, 2014
Hugged every curve and made me feel like a million bucks!
Absolutely loved this dress. Do not let the picture on the model fool you - this dress is hot! I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect. The dress is very stretchy so it hugs every curve! My only negative was that it had a slit in the back that hit quite high, almost showing my bottom. I just threw a couple of pieces of fabric tape on to keep it closed and it worked like a charm! If you are looking for a fun, sexy dress this is it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 27, 2014
Perfect for Gala!
This was a great dress. A little bit tighter fighting, low cut, and flashy than what I normally go for, but it was a lot of fun to wear, and definitely not too over the top! I received many compliments throughout the night. This dress will hug your body right. It's very beautiful. I ended up going with the smaller of the two sizes (I ordered a size 8 too) because the fit looked better tight than a bit loose. By tight, I mean fitted, the fabric has a lot of stretch to it. there is a slit in the back to be mindful of. Overall, I highly recommend!
AngelaAugust 6, 2014
Looking good Ashley!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2014
Wonderful dress! Best first rental!
Overall the fit is on the larger size. I have very wide hips and a smaller waist. The fabric has a good amount of stretch in it and if I had ordered the 10 I am sure it would have fit but the length would have been too short. The 12 fit perfectly, hugged my waist (because of the stretch) and layed perfectly all night. I was concerned about the length in the back but it was not an issue at all. Insanely flattering and fun. The quality was spot on and it was an incredible first rental. I will be back for more!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×