Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$40 – $55 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1482 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(778)
Small
(379)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2016
Vibrant colors!

Dinner & event

Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2016
Perfect dress for a spring/summer event!

Beautiful dress, but very short- I sized up to try and add length, but still felt like I was constantly pulling the dress down! Also while wearing the larger size, the shoulders would sometimes slip off. Otherwise it was a beautiful dress, and I loved wearing it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104lbs
May 10, 2016
Perfect Kentucky Oaks dress

I wore this dress to the Kentucky Oaks. Press stopped me all day to take pictures and compliments galore. The dress fit like a glove.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Age: 30
May 11, 2016
Wore this dress for the Kentucky Derby. It was so comfortable and I got compliments on it all day!

I ordered a 4, and my normal dress size is a 2/4, but wore the 6 because it runs short for sure. Luckily the 6 was a little longer but not so large it hung or was baggy. It's got some stretch to it, so it was really comfortable all day. Absolutely loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
May 14, 2016
So colorful and eye catching!

I'm normally a 0 and I feel this dress was true to size. I got so many compliments the entire day/night and wish I owned this dress. Being a 34DDD, I am always for a dress I can wear without a bra!! The only downside is it will ride up!! I had to keep pulling it down anytime I was moving around. All in all, loved the dress and would definitely recommend to anyone as long as they don't mind pulling it down all the time!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
May 15, 2016
Love It!!

Dress is very comfortable, fitted, a little be on the short side. My favorite was the open back.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
It made me feel like my old self..

Made my feel like my original bday self. I always do something and look amazing for my birthday and this dress got in line with the rest. So it definitely goes down in birthday history for me..

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
Fun, unique, standout dress!

The 0 was very tight on my belly and legs, but fit perfectly up top. The 2 was loose on top, but fit much better on the bottom half. I opted for the 2 because I felt much more comfortable in it. The open back is so fun! I wore a sticky bra and it worked out perfectly. Wish I owned this cute little dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2016
heaps of compliments ... I matched the painting behind me!

I wore a 0 since it fit my upper body better and didn't fall off my shoulders as easily, however, I have wider thighs and hips so a 2 would have fit better down there. the only issue with this dress is that you have to keep pulling it down in order to keep the shoulders up, since it has an open back. very beautiful and bright though.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2016
Favorite rental yet!

The 2 was a little bit short on me, so I wore the 4. Loved this dress and got so many compliments!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 34
May 29, 2016
This dress though...

This dress was amazing - I got compliments ALL night and felt so great about myself! I ordered a 4 and 6, and while they both fit, they fit very differently - I went with the 4 because it hugged my curves a lot more. If you were going the more conservative route, then the 6 would be perfect - a little longer and less clingy. I would HIGHLY recommend this dress, it's a stunner!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2016
Fun and unique!

Dress was super short but that is why I rented it! Got a lot of compliments.

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2016
So classy!!!

I could have worn the 0, but I wanted a little extra room to dance. My chest is so small (lol) that I didn't need a bra at all and it was thick enough and the colors covered the nipple area that you couldn't see through. It was perfect! So many compliments! Def recommend to anyone!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 8, 2016
Cute birthday dress, runs large for petite's

Loved the colors of this dress however it was large in the shoulders since it was open back. Also the hem on the 0 seemed off.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 11, 2016
Beautiful dress that will make you stand out.

I rented this for a wedding and based on other reviews I sized up for my backup size. The 4 was pretty baggy on me and I almost felt like I was wearing a potato sack. I immediately called customer service seeing if they could rush me a size 2 which they unfortunately out of so they sent me a 0. Based on previous reviews I was worried about length in a 0 especially because I certainly am not a size 0. It somehow ended up fitting and the length wasn't too too short, only had to be very careful sitting and going up steps and I did have to be mindful on the dance floor. I think the 2 would have been perfect but the 0 ended up working fine. I'd definitely recommend this dress the back is gorgeous and I received tons of compliments. You will definitely stand out !

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2016
Super fun dress!

I really liked this dress! It was perfect for the outdoor wedding I was at. Definitely short though, I was tugging at it all night while dancing.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
June 15, 2016
Sexy date night dress

I loved this dress. The open back was sexy without being over the top. I wore a NuBra for extra support since I'm a D cup. The only thing that bummed me out is that I guess Target is carrying dresses in a similar pattern this season (different cut) and I prefer when my RTR stuff is "one of a kind".

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 19, 2016
Backless and beautiful

I rented this dress for my friend's rehearsal dinner! Such a fun pattern and fit! Definitely quite short, so would not be good for an event where a lot of sitting is involved. (Luckily the tables had tablecloths!) The straps for hanging the dress kept coming out, but an easy fix was to just safety pin them together in the front!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 19, 2016
Love the dress!! Super easy shipping and returning! I got the dress when they said!

The fit was perfect, as you walk it tends to run up but not a huge deal it's just like any other short dress you wear. The fabric is stretchy which is perfect. I wore a size 8, and the zipper was already messed up so it took awhile for me to get it on and off. It's almost like they tried to fix it but they didn't all the way. Other than that I loved it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 20, 2016
Perfect Party Dress

Rented this for an engagement party! Perfect, fun, bright and a tad sexy! I chose to wear the 2 because the sleeves were a little tighter and fell a bit when I tried the 4. It is tight but stretchy. I got many compliments especially on the back! I didn't wear a bra or nubra, but you certainly could. The colored pattern allows you to not wear a bra. I would rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 21, 2016
Hot hot hot!

So so short, which I anticipated based on previous reviews, but so hot. I wore it to Budakkan for my husband's birthday dinner and it was perfect. Completely open back and rides up (even more!) when you walk, so be cautious of keeping it down!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2016
Such a fun dress!

This dress was fabulous, I did not need to wear a bra, it was comfortable, conservative in the front and sexy in the back. The only con with this dress was that it was riding up all night. I was constantly pulling it down. The dress is already short to begin with and the riding up didn't help.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
June 26, 2016
Show stopper

This dress caught my eye on RTR and I had doubts about wearing it to a wedding due to the shorter length. I sized up to a 10 for length, but it ran true to size for a 10. The 8 fit perfect but the zipper was pulling away from the seam and I didn't want to risk it. Got SO SO many compliments on the dress. Felt gorgeous in it. My boyfriend wanted me to keep it by the end of the night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 26, 2016
Pretty but worn

Dress was worn and a little large. White is more off-white, not as pretty in person. Cool back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 27, 2016
Pretty but very short

Really pretty dress but very very very short!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 29, 2016
Great dress for summer wedding!

Loved it. Got so many compliments. Had to pull it down a couple times.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
July 4, 2016
Perfect Bachelorette Dress!

Great fit, low cut in back is beautiful! Great for petites-- may be too short for tall girls. Beautiful colors!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
July 16, 2016
Perfect for summer wedding

Fit true to size. Super light and comfortable fabric! Many compliments

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 17, 2016
Fun dress

Great fit. I am glad I ordered the 00... Any bigger and the sleeves would have slipped off my shoulders. Gave it 4 stars because the bottom hem lays a little weird/puffy.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
July 21, 2016
Fun dress for hot outdoor wedding!

Fit well, true to size. The cap sleeves are cute but the size 2 sleeves were cut so far in that it looked weird, so I wore the 4--also it is very short, so going up a size felt better. The hems were both a little out of shape, probably from being tugged down often. I really loved the dress and got lots of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 153lbs
July 29, 2016
Great for NYC night

Great great dress!! I am 153lb and 5'7. I am very small chested with broad shoulders When I put it on first I though hummmmm is this going to work but I ended up loving it!!! It is short that's the only thing I didn't love about it but I am a runner and biker so I didn't mind showing my legs a bit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 30, 2016
Colorful!

Loved everything about the dress - the bright colors look great in person, the back is unique and the fabric has a great stretch and is very comfortable. I didn't need to wear a bra. Got lots of compliments!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2016
Amazing dress

The dress was shorter than expected, lots of compliments though. Runs true to size, stretchy & comfy!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2016
Something different and so fun!!

I wore this for my bachelorette party and I got so many compliments! The dress is so flattering and the back is the best part. Love the stretchy material.

GillianJune 19, 2016
I noticed a lot of reviewers saying the dress was super short, so I wanted to ask a fellow petite lady how you felt! I'm 5'0 and want to make sure it won't be too short for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
August 13, 2016
Loved this dress!

This dress runs a little big. I usually wear 0 or 1 and sometimes even 3. I ended up wearing the 00, and the shoulders were still a little loose on me, they didn't feel like they were staying as high on my collarbone as they should and I kept pulling them up during the night. The bottom fit great. Im very surprised I ended up in the 00, I don't know the last time I fit something of that size! I wore this for my birthday celebration and got lovely compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 19, 2016
Beautiful dress!

Loved this dress!! The top was a bit loose so I agree that fashion tape may help if you are going to be moving around a lot. It was also short so probably wouldn't work for a more conservative occasion.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 23, 2016
Too short

Too short too tight not flattering Size up!

Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 28, 2016
Super fun, unique, cute back

Rented for a springtime wedding in Savannah. Loved the back. Got many complements. Went down a size just because I liked the fit a little tighter, but could have gone either way. Would probably be a bit short on those who are taller... I'm 5'3" so it was perfect.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 30, 2016
Fantastic dress but beware it is short!

Was nervous renting this without my back up size available but it all worked out! I love the back but unfortunately don't have any pictures showing it off. The dress is definitely short - I wore spandex shorts underneath for a little piece of mind.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 5, 2016
Perfect dress for Vegas!

I wore this for a night out with my family in Vegas! This picture doesn't do the dress justice. The back is incredible! I wore simple shoes and jewelry because the print is so nice. Would highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 38

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×