Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

933 reviews

Fit
Small 298
True to Size 544
Large 30
Photos 641
Lexi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Gorgeous, fun, and comfy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was super soft and stretchy which made it really comfortable. The zero was a good fit. The only problem was that because the material was so stretchy, the sleeves were a little puffier than I would like because of being on the hanger, but that was an easy fix! Just remember you need either sticky/backless bra or no bra at all because of the open back
gmama
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Petites! This ones for you!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Size 0 fit like a glove, but I wanted to eat and drink since it was my birthday after all! I wore size 2 and while it gaped just a little bit, and really just a bit, because of the open back, it was PERFECT for a beautiful Spring day! The colors are so easy to work with, pick any color for a shoe and you're good to go. I also rented some perfect earrings and bangles to go with it. I was on trend no doubt! Perfect dress for a perfect day of revelry in the city! Keep in mind that this is a mini dress, so long legged ladies be warned. Since I'm only 5'1" it worked great for me - mid-thigh! Great dress. I highly recommend!!
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Great Dress! But not as expected.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit well. I truly needed the size 6 but it was not available on my dates. The 4 ended up being a little short so I went with the 8 but was pulling on the shoulders all night to hold it up. The colors weren't as bright as I thought they would be but overall a fun dress with the Britney Spears concert in vegas!
Caitlin
Age: 27
Apr 24, 2015

This is a show-stopping dress for sure.. Wore it to our bridal shower and got non-stop compliments!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
My only complaints about this dress are about the sizing (which could just be my body type) and the hemline (which seems cheaply made). You can see in the picture that the hem does not lay flat.. I was disappointed because the rest of the dress is so stunning and "designer quality", but if you looked closely, the hem made it seem cheap. (Someone without hips might not experience the same problem!) I ended up wearing the 2, which is my normal dress size. However, my hips are much wider than my waist, and I felt like the dress was almost too small and stretched tight in the skirt (I had to keep pulling it down), while it was a little loose for me in the bust. It's almost impossible to wear a bra with this dress because of the back, and I am quite small chested.. Didn't quite fill it up! Last note is that the dress is really short for somebody with long legs! Since it was a bridal shower, I had to do a lot of creative sitting to not have a Britney Spears moment. This is a better dress for partying on the dance floor all night! ;) Overall, I was stoked that I chose the dress. I'm not sure if I would rent it again because of the aforementioned, but I am pleased with how it worked out for our special event!
RTR Customer
Apr 24, 2015

Lots of complements

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
True to size. Ran a bit tight on the hips and loose at the natural waist. Lots of compliments, though I do wish this were made of a more sturdy fabric. Fabric is thin and would be cheap looking if not for the pretty print. I am wearing sandals in the pic, but this went best earlier in the day with colored closed-toe pumps-- anything but black.
Kaylea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 111 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Love the colors and design!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Flattering design and colors-- the softest and most comfortable material. Love the open back! Ended up not wearing it but will rent again for sure!
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Unique dress for a fantastic night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Could have worn a 0 but besides that this dress was perfect and so unique! What a great fit. Would 100% recommend.
Danielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Fit really well overall, but was a little short. Normally size 2-4 depending on the dress but went with the 4 because it was pretty form fitting and short. Might have wanted to try a 6. Was worried about the back not staying but had no problem at all and was able to dance and not have any issues. Would definitely recommend this dress loved the colors and style, received lots of compliments!
Chris
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Felt flirty in this eye catching colorful dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a size zero , I am 5'6" 110lbs. I ordered a size 2 because all of the reviews had stated that it runs short and it does. If i raised my arms the dress will raise as well. I wore the dress to an Art Exhibition. I would definitely not wear this anywhere I had to dance. Overall, beautiful stand out piece. Definitely Reccomend.
Liliana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Gorgeous stand-out dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great. I have slightly wide shoulders so the sleeves didn't fall off and I didn't need to use any fashion tape. But I didn't like the look of the cap sleeves, they're a little awkward. And from some of the other comments, I tried to iron the bottom of the dress, but it still didn't make it straight. Colors are vibrant. Perfect from afternoon to evening. I did also have to pull my dress down quite a bit, but the length is perfect. Wore a Nubra with it.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Wore this to an annual horse race/outdoor spring party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I rented it for a local horse race where most people wore fun hats with their dresses. Unfortunately, the weather didn't hold out and I had to add a blazer to keep warm. As the other reviews describe the dress is definitely short. I loved the open back and wish I didn't need to cover it up. I am normally a size 4 and that is the size I wore. The size 6 was longer, but was too loose in the back/bust area and would've required tape to stay flat. One review described the material as a "pillow case" and I would 100% agree. It was thin and sleek, but not sheer or see-through. It didn't need many accessories, and I received tons of compliments throughout the day!
Madalyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Unexpected in a sea of black

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really loved this dress, especially the back! I tried the 2 on first and didn't even touch the 4 because the 2 fit like a glove. Other reviewers mentioned having to adjust the shoulders so as not to fall down, I expected this before I received the dress and was prepared with fashion tape. A couple pieces on each shoulder to secure and I never had to touch it again. Survived much movement, dancing and even taking a jacket on and off! Really liked this dress, would rent again!
Stefani
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Super fun dress for a fun occasion. Got tons of compliments. Runs short so be careful tall girls!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The first thing that surprised me was actually the fabric. I was expecting something more structured but it was comfortable so I was fine with that. The 6 fit great in the body and bust but was wayyyy too short, so I went with the 8. You can't really wear a bra with this so if you have to size up, make sure you have enough shoulders/chest to hold it up. All in all I loved the dress and got a lot of compliments on it.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 30, 2015

Perfect for a rehearsal dinner...LOVED it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a fairly formal rehearsal dinner. I was hesitant for 2 reasons - 1. I was worried there would be too much white in it and 2. They only had the larger size available. Well I'm glad I went ahead and ordered it, because the white was very subtle, and the larger size fit perfectly! I loved the open back (couldn't wear a bra) and got so many compliments on it.
Dina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 1, 2015

Fun and comfortable dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and really liked it! It's a light/thin (not sheer, though) material so it was really comfortable to wear all night. Colors look the way they do in the photo. This dress runs true to size. The 2 fit me better, but I wore the 4 so I wasn't feeling too restricted. If you're in between sizes, you could go with either most likely!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
May 2, 2015

Fit perfectly and so comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
Perfect for classy, yet sexy
Yulia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 2, 2015

Nice and comfortable dress

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to the Kentucky Derby event and received many compliments. It was very comfortable to wear, however it does run a little small.
Elise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2015

Super flattering, comfortable and colorful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing! I got so many compliments. The fabric is thinner than I expected, but that was not a deal breaker. There is a little bit of stretch, so it's pretty comfortable. It was on the shorter side, but still appropriate - I wore it to the rehearsal dinner for a wedding I was in. I was worried about the arms and the boobs but the sleeves fit just right and it didn't look weird without a bra. This dress was SO flattering, I felt sexy and loved wearing it. I wish I could own it! A+ for this rental.
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 3, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
This dress was very short on me, but I had to wear it anyway because it was so pretty. I'm very small on top, but larger on the bottom. I was constantly pulling down the dress because it kept riding up. I probably would have liked to try the size 6 to get a bit more length, but it wasn't available. Overall I loved this dress and got a lot of compliments, I just wish it was a little bit longer!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 4, 2015

I loved this dress! I got so many compliments on it and was comfortable all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was pretty true to size, I usually wear a 4 but it ran a little big for my body type, I wish I had ordered a 2 as my back-up size instead of a 6 just to see the fit, but the 4 worked! I had to get a backless bra to fill in the front of the dress a bit because it was a tad loose if I wore nothing. Overall, the dress was very comfortable and I didn't want to return it! The open back was the "wow" factor and I received so many compliments. I styled it with blue shoes for a pop of color to match the dress. I would definitely recommend to a friend!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 6, 2015

Fabulous for Spring Nights

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely gorgeous and definitely stands out in a crowd! It was the perfect dress for my spring Sorority Formal- the fabric is light and breathable. The fit in the top was perfect, as well as in the back; the bottom was a a bit too tight on my hips and therefore rode up a lot, creating gapping in the stomach area--I would have worn the 0 if I could have (it was returned in bad condition so RTR sent me another dress but I chose to stick with this one, despite the slight fit issues). Backless bra and fashion tape are a must, obviously, but I felt absolutely amazing in this dress!
Kay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
May 7, 2015

This dress made Miami unforgettable

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The color is amazing and the fabric stretches to fit curves very well.
Glenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2015

Very body conscious dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very fitted on the stomach and legs, I recommend going 2 sizes up if you don't want the dress super tight fitting
Jenelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 8, 2015

you'll definitely get some attention! very comfortable, vibrant dress. RENT IT!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
so this dress was nothing short of impressive! i received many compliments from ladies AND gentlemen - my favorite was when an unassuming gent told me "that's a FAST outfit." what!? Maybe it's because we were all about 3 mint juleps deep (party for the Kentucky Derby), and my indigo hat was also eye catching. at any rate, it was so much fun to wear and YES, it is short! I am just a hair over 5'6" and have a longer torso with shorter legs - tried the 6 on to gain some length but it was too loose on the shoulders and i didn't want to feel insecure about my chest all day. I wore little "petals" on my boobies and had no issues with any inappropriate showings, if ya know what I mean. all in all, the dress was in fabulous shape, the process was super easy, and most of all I had a fabulous time wearing such a lovely, comfortable dress! I wore nude heels, but i just threw them on without a second glance - would also go well with white shoes and probably almost any color that is included in the vibrantly colored design. oh, and I wore a 4, typically wear a 2, 4/XS-S. HAVE FUN!! (oh, and my fiancé said my booty looked mighty fine all day - so ladies with a booty, this is your jam!)
Ellen
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 125 lbs
May 10, 2015

This dress is super unique- choose this if you want to stand out!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was tight but flattering, and although having a butt can make tight dresses ride up, this dress did a nice job of staying where it needed to be. I got so many compliments throughout the night and I felt beautiful!
Raigan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 171 lbs
May 11, 2015

Beautiful colors

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Other
Pros: The colors were amazing!!!! The low cut back is gorgeous! Cons: Super short! I'm 5'8 and I had to keep pulling it down.
Jess
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 12, 2015

Perfect for an outdoor spring wedding!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so pretty and I felt so beautiful all day. I have a long torso so I thought the dress was a little bit short but I did not have any issues with the length once the event was underway except when I was sitting. The open back got a lot of compliments and kept me cool outside in Virginia in the middle of the day. Everything about my first RTR experience was seamless.
Casey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 13, 2015

Show-topping dress, but unusual fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress the moment I saw it and knew it would be perfect for one of the weddings I was attending this year. I normally wear a 6. The 6 fit perfect on top, but was way to tight and short on the bottom so I wore the 8. The top part of the 8 was a little too big and there was a semi-awkward gap around my armpit where the sleeve. In the photo I posted you can see the gap. I also had to keep pulling my shoulders up since it was too big. BUT my friends said it wasn't noticeable so I wasn't too self-conscious about it. I was also a little nervous to not wear a bra (I didn't want to buy on of the backless gel bras that I would never wear again), but the way the dress fit I was totally OK not wearing one. I'm a 34C and had no issues. Overall I got a lot of compliments from strangers and it was a hit despite the slightly awkward fit.
Laney
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
May 13, 2015

Great rental for Junior Prom

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked great and I felt beautiful. It does run tighter around the hips and looser around the waist, which caused it to occasionally ride up but it was not annoying at all. The sleeves do have a pleat in them which is hard to see in the pictures. Also the sleeves felt loose when I sat down, again not a big deal. The colors are darker than I expected so wearing my black heels (STEVE MADDEN - Jillyy) over a nude or other color heel looked good. Overall it was a great rental and worked perfectly for the occasion (pictures and dancing).
Thea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 14, 2015

Light stretchy material that was perfect for an island wedding!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a bit short and can't be worn with a bra but it was comfortable and easy to dance in.
Diana
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
May 14, 2015

Length was a very important factor when considering what to rent. It was perfect!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is for the shorties who want that perfect fit. Being a petite lady, I need to be wary of length and proportions and this dress got the job done. Now to actually wear it out! Will return with more details!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 16, 2015

Flattering and easy to wear.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Flattering, easy. Pretty colors. Short enough for short girls.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
May 16, 2015

Compliments all day!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! I said that it runs true to size because I'm assuming that on anyone with a tad more weight would fill in the dress the appropriate way. I'm 5'7 and 108 lbs so it makes sense that the dress was a bit big. Didn't wear a bra but I wish I had worn a nubra only because it would've helped fill in the top. The colors are gorgeous and this dress can be dressed up or down. I wore it for my graduation during the day with sandals and then at night (pictured) with heels. Such a pretty number and people complimented me all day!
Julia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 16, 2015

perfect for graduation

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was great. The only problem i had with this dress was the length. It was a little too short.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 18, 2015

Sorry for the goofy pic!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! It was so classy and unique, the compliments never stopped. It runs a little small, but not that noticeable. Would definitely recommend this to anyone!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
May 18, 2015

"Walking art"

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the paint splatter look of this dress! I received many compliments but my favorite one was from 2 of the bride's aunts that I met at the wedding... They told me they loved the dress and that I looked like "walking art!" It was a fun dress for a beautiful wedding. I rented the 00 & the 0. The 00 fit PERFECTLY but I couldn't wear it because the zipper puckered as if someone had repaired it poorly. The 0 fit well enough for the most part but didn't fit as well as the smaller size... I had to use extra fabric tape but it all ended up fine. I always recommend ordering 2 sizes.
Claire
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2015

Beautiful design

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
The dress was a little on the small size which I knew so I sized up for my back up and ended up going with the 8. Rides up and is short on tall girls
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
May 18, 2015

Stand Out in the Crowd Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a luncheon fundraiser for the American Heart Association. It was perfect because it had red in it but not all-over red like most people wear. The pattern is amazing and everyone loved it! The 0 was pretty short and road up a bit when walking around, but the 2 was too big on top to go bra-less (with this dress being backless you couldn't wear a bra). Other than it riding up it was fantastic and I wish I could keep it! I stood out among the red outfits and received several compliments.
Christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 20, 2015

HOT dress for HOT times

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This was the perfect little dress for a night out in Miami. Loved the multi-colors and open back. Could go with practically any color shoes or accessories. The length on me was perfect since I'm only 5'2", but think it could be a little too short for taller girls.
Ariel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2015

Great color! Amazing back.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! The color was amazing, it was comfortable and i got compliments all night. It was really short for my height, but other than that it was amazing!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×