Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

868 reviews

Fit
Small 289
True to Size 516
Large 26
Photos 595
Lexi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Gorgeous, fun, and comfy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was super soft and stretchy which made it really comfortable. The zero was a good fit. The only problem was that because the material was so stretchy, the sleeves were a little puffier than I would like because of being on the hanger, but that was an easy fix! Just remember you need either sticky/backless bra or no bra at all because of the open back
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Pop of color! "wow" factor dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The colors and open back really had a awesome "wow" factor. I got many compliments! It is definitely a form fitting dress, so if you do not like things very tight then I would recommend sizing up for your backup size.
Rini
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Perfect island fun dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Vacation
I received so many compliments with this dress. It was comfortable and not restrictive at all. The dress is short but in a way that makes your leg look long and sexy, not in a way you feel uncomfortable wearing it.
Vykki
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Stood out from the crowd with the vibrant colors and absolutely loved that it was backless

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Only downside was that it tended to ride up while dancing so be careful ladies...
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

Super fun birthday dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I chose this dress for my 30th birthday dinner + afterparties. I loved the vibrant colors and sexy (backless) yet sophisticated (high neckline) factors. The size 4 was loose on my back and falling open quite a bit, so I opted for the size 2, which was still a little loose on top but used the complementary fashion tape to keep the back from shifting too much. A little tight in the caboose but not very noticeably, even though I have an ample bottom. Would definitely rent again...prob for a summer event next time!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

EVERYONE complimented me on this dress! I felt so confident in it all night!

Size worn: OO
Rented for: Other
This dress fit so well! It was sexy and comfortable at the same time. I definitely think it's best for fellow members of the itty bitty titty committee, as you really can't wear a bra. It's a type of fit perfect for a night at a club or trendy restaurant, but not one you'd want to pick for a cocktail party or wedding. It's sassy, sexy, & SHORT!
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 12, 2015

Fun dress for a party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I quite liked the look of this dress and it was very comfortable. Fit: I am between a 0 and 2, and I wore the 2 in this dress. It was tight across my thighs (I've got a pretty atheletic body style though) and it was a bit large in the shoulder area (but not to the point of falling down). The length was fine on me, but on a tall person wearing the same size, it would be QUITE short. Fabric: Very stretchy and not as structured as I thought it might be. However with the pattern, the stretchiness does NOT lead to unsightly bulges, like it might in a solid. The pattern helps camoflauge! I felt good in it and got quite a few compliments on it. I did feel like I was pulling it down a lot, because it would rid up my thighs, which is probably the only thing keeping it from being a 5 star review. The open back is very striking and is the reason I rented it!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

Fun dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The first was perfect and the material was light weight. Wonderful print.
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Great dress, photographed well

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it was shorter than I thought, and it was big around the shoulders
Kelsey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Great dress for a formal day party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up choosing the 0 over the 2 because of the upper body fit. The 2 was a little big around the armpit area. Both sizes fit a little snug on my butt, so if you have any butt at all I would plan on ordering a size up. Even though the butt was snug, it didn't pull across the front or make the dress look too small. I wore it with a shawl to avoid feeling uncomfortable with the tight parts. The fabric is a little unforgiving, so prepare for that. Fashion tape would have helped with the sleeves rolling up and with keeping the low back in place. The material also made it easy to travel with because I could make it small enough to fit in a purse and it didn't look wrinkled later. Overall, the dress was perfect. I will definitely be ordering it again.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

I received so many compliments on this dress! One of my favorite rent the runway dresses by far!!!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great! The 0 was perfect and one of my favorite rent the runway dresses by far. The hanging loops came out a couple of times but other than that the dress was amazing. I would definitely rent it again!
Char
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

I got so many compliments on this dress! It rides up a bit, but the spandex hugged my curves!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'9" so I had to pull the dress down every once in a while from riding up. Other than that, it was a perfect dress for Vegas! So colorful and so much fun! I love the open back!
Brandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 15, 2015

This dress is another headturner from RTR!!!!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an NFL player party at the St. Regis Monarch Beach. This dress is amazing! The back is absolutely awesome (it's backless without being all the way backless). It's super colorful so it's great for a spring/summer party. Just like another dress I rented from RTR a couple weeks ago, this dress is a #headturner and stood out in a sea of black dresses.
patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Bright colors and really sexy

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Runs true to size, I wore the size 8, the size 10 was a little loose, it is pretty short, ok for parties, clubbing, I saw reviews saying it would fall from the shoulders, I did not have that issue, it fit prefect, I liked it a lot
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Definitely Made A Statement at Senior Breakfast

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was beautiful, but my first impression of it was a little confusing. I had been eye balling for months and thought I had an idea or how it would feel. I knew it would run a little big at the top, but I think the opening in the back is so wide that the sleeves don't really have anything to hold on to. I thought the material was thicker or more stiff, but the material is very light which gave the sleeves even more reason to slip. The material is almost comparable to a pillow case, but it's not like it really shows your imperfections. The day of the event I put it on and felt better about it. That was the only thing that bothered me, the top falling off. If I pulled on the skirt it would keep the top in place, but obviously with walking around and sitting I had to do it a lot. I'm a little torn as to whether I would get the dress again or not. Altogether it made me stand out, which was my main goal :)
Fabiola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Fabulous! Be ready to be the center of attention.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Compliments all night! I wore this dress for my 28th Bday. It was Fabulous! Fabric is comfortable, photographs well. The colors are so vivid! Great choice for a last minute decision. I wore size 4, the upper part was a bit loose but the back of the dress is super sexy it takes all the attention! This dress fits well on ladies with wider hips and slim waist.
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Gorgeous back, but difficult to wear.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress was so pretty, but not very functional. I felt like I was constantly tugging it down and adjusting the shoulders. I am 5'5 and it was really short on me. I used fashion tape to keep the shoulders/back on. I wouldn't recommend it for a wedding if you planned on dancing. It would probably work for an event where you stood or sat the entire time.
Alexis
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

Birthday Dinner night out on the town

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
My husband and I took a trip to Chicago for my birthday weekend. I rented this as something different from my everyday dresses. I wore this to a fancy dinner night out. Overall the fit was ok. it was a lot shorter than I realized when I ordered it (and I'm only 5'2"). the fabric was comfortable, but I was a bit self conscious when I sat. It was a beautiful dress and I got compliments on how colorful it was. Next time, I would try and pick something a bit longer.
Tenley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

Size up ladies

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Rented this for my boyfriends basic training graduation. He loved the dress and I think was disappointed it wasn't mine for keeps. I did not have the problem with the back falling that most people did, but I think it's because I wore the smaller size. Note on this, the stomach area looked fine from the front so I wore the smaller size. The print of the dress camouflaged the fact that it was too tight.. So when I saw pictures of me from the side, it was literally the biggest my tummy has looked. So make sure you check all angles. Also, the hem hung a little weird. As others have said, it's a different type of material than you'd expect... Like a pillowcase. Overall, it was a good choice. Photographs very well. You'll love the back.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Mar 29, 2015

Fun splash of color and amazing sexy open back

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
This dress is amazing. I wore it for the first night of my bachelorette party. Got lots of compliments. The dress was very light weight and so fun to wear. The colors were beautiful and can be worn with any color shoe. A fun little mini dress
veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 30, 2015

Never stopped receiving compliments in this show-stopper!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is really pretty in person, though the colors are slightly darker than pictured. The fit is SNUG, I would recommend going up a size and wearing spanx. The top shoulder/cap sleeve area was a little large on me. I had to fashion tape the shoulder to my body so it wouldn't slip down. I also kept catching myself pulling the dress down. So it does ride up. The open back is just right for the engagement party I wore this to.
taylor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 2, 2015

I wore this during my bachelorette party dinner/drinks, it was the perfect dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit true to size, I loved the backless detail. All around a very fun and comfortable dress. I was not crazy about the material.
Lynsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 3, 2015

Perfect party dress for my 30th birthday!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Such as fun, cute dress! I loved the back and the pattern and felt great in this dress. I did have to pull it down a few times when it rode up. I was able to dance in it though!
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 4, 2015

Perfect birthday dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
Already wrote a GLOWING review with a frontal picture but had to post a pic of the back. Again, LOVE this dress. Fit me beautifully and I got compliments all night long. Wish I could keep it forever. Highly recommend! Worn with a Nubra.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 5, 2015

Cute spring wedding dress

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering cut, photographs very well and received tons of compliments on the dress all night. Like many renters have states, the dress is short and tends to ride up so had to be very conscious of it while dancing. I also had to use fabric tape on the back to hold the shoulders up. Overall, very cute dress - just needed a few slight adjustments to make it work.
Diane
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Apr 8, 2015

Definitely a stand out dress! One of my all time favorites.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
As noted in several other reviews the dress is SHORT, and it requires readjusting as you walk. Do not plan to walk up any stairs without having to hold the dress down as you do so. Despite constantly pulling the dress down, I LOVED this dress for the colors and open back. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone for a party or event.
Allie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Wore this for my rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! It was a little short, and did run a little small per the stylist notes. Loved it anyways!!
JM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

Conservative in the front and completely open in the back. I wore it to a art opening.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to size. I wore a sticky bra since the back is completely open. One of my favorite rentals! Got lots of compliments. The dress was very light weight.
Jenna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 11, 2015

Got SO many compliments - such a unique dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress. I wore it for my boyfriend's fraternity formal. Not only was it unique (no one at the event had anything like it) but it was super comfortable. It does ride up a bit but not enough to be an issue, and the midsection was a bit loose on me but I pinned it and it was fine. Most of the reviews of people my size and weight said to go with a 4 or 6, but I ended up wearing the 4 and actually wished I had ordered the 2. Overall, I would definitely recommend it. I got so many compliments, it really made the event special.
Natalie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Received endless amounts of compliments and everyone wanted this dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress was a showstopper. I Received so many compliments all night... I am a true size 4 but wore the 6 for the length. I have a muscular build and the dress fit as tight as a body con dress would. The back was stunning.... Highly recommend this to anyone!!
kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Great dress. I wore it to a charity party and received many compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The four was too large in the waist area, I ended up wearing the two. The length of the four was better than the two. The dress is perfect for a spring event. I paired blue suede fringe heals to complete the look.
Melody
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Dressed it down

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received this as a backup dress and it was okay. I knew the back would be low but even with fashion tape, the top didn't stay put very well and I had to wear a special bra (built into a leotard with low cut back). I wore a cropped cardigan over it, belted it, and threw on jeggings with flats for a more casual look since I wore this to a friend's birthday party. The dress is very short, which is why it practically worked as a long shirt! I liked the colors but the white looked a bit dingy. I think it looked better on the model.
Cat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Apr 13, 2015

Be ready to stand out!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great colors, the dress itself is very comfortable. Definitely rides up so be ready to pull it down. Good fit and fun dress!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 14, 2015

Very pretty.. Not as bright as the picture though

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This dress runs small and is tighter than I expected.. but it's beautiful and I love the open back! It is short (especially when sitting down).
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

Bachelorette Bash

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my bachelorette party. I did it last minute, so the size 6 was not available. I was a little self conscious of the length at first, but happy the night I wore it. I received many compliments and the dress was very comfortable. I loved the back too.
Anna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Complimeennnnts!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it! Super bright, form fitting, surprising back. My only complaint is that it was shorter than expected-- would be better for a party or night out than a wedding. Would rent again!
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! I got TONS of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! I got TONS of compliments! Like other people said, it is tighter around the legs and looser around the shoulders, so if you are super curvy around your hips, it might hug tight. It was so comfortable though! The material is a light stretchy material-- not structured like it looks from pictures. I ordered the 6 and 8, although I'm usually a 2-4, and the 6 was perfect!
Nikki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 17, 2015

I wore this for the opening night of a Broadway show I am working on. I got SO many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Some other people said the colors are darker in person, which is definitely true. I wore a 6, but would have definitely likes to have tried an 8 (the back up size wasn't ready for my order). I was working the event, so I would say that the one con was that the dress kept riding up on me, which I don't know if it's a testament to the size or the dress. I wore spanks underneath, but every time i took a step the dress would pull up (there were a lot of stairs at the party, so you can imagine how I kept tugging on it). All in all though, I loved the dress. Everyone complimented it and no one else had anything like it at the party. I would definitely wear this again, but to a party I wasn't running around at :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 18, 2015

Love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This dress was so comfortable
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Great Dress! But not as expected.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit well. I truly needed the size 6 but it was not available on my dates. The 4 ended up being a little short so I went with the 8 but was pulling on the shoulders all night to hold it up. The colors weren't as bright as I thought they would be but overall a fun dress with the Britney Spears concert in vegas!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×