Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1324 reviews
Fit
Large
(42)
True to Size
(726)
Small
(359)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
November 23, 2016
Wore in Hawaii for my birthday!
Loved this dress! So many compliments! I am 5'8 and this dress was very short. Looks great but definitely wouldn't suggest if you will be moving around a lot!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2016
Perfect dress for a night out
This dress fit perfectly and was so comfortable!!! Went on a little getaway with my husband and this dress was gorgeous for a night out. It was short but I did not have any issues where the dress would fall as in other reviews. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
November 17, 2016
Great dress for a birthday party!
The back is very low but looks great! Might help to have fashion tape. Fun to dance in! It's a bit short but perfect for what i needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
November 7, 2016
Favorite dress I have rented!
I LOVE LOVE LOVED this dress! Probably my favorite dress I have rented! The colors are beautiful! This dress is very very sexy! And short, and the back is very open. If you are worried about it being too tight or too short size up! The material was great, very stretchy. It did ride up a little, but I didn't have any trouble dancing the night away! I would buy this dress or rent it again in an instant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Everyday
Age: 30
October 31, 2016
Very short
While I love the style and color of this dress, it was VERY short and if you have any sort of a booty... you can forget about wearing this and feeling comfortable. I tried to wear it with booty shorts to help feel less exposed. When sitting down I felt as if there was no coverage what so ever and I was quite self conscious of that. I think it it were longer, it would have been perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
October 30, 2016
"Work in Progress" for Halloween!
Thank you Rent the Runway for the rental and inspiration for one of my favorite Halloween costumes ever! I saw this idea on your site a few years ago and had wanted to recreate it ever since. Such a success. I felt pretty and uniquely costumed all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 29, 2016
Wore this dress to a fashion show. It's perfect for a summertime party!
Love the dress, received several complaints, true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 29, 2016
Great color and cut!
Loved the colors and cut of this dress! Perfect to feel unique at a wedding and not upstage the bride. It complimented my curves, but taller-proportioned ladies watch out. It is very short; I wore a long cardigan to protect my backside o_O
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2016
I'd buy this dress if it was possible
It fit just how I expected and I loved the pattern.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2016
Awesome birthday outfit
I usually wear size 4. It fit me but was a little snug and since the dress is very short, I opted to wear size 6. You don't need a bra with backless feature and very nice lining. It was so fun! I dressed it down with taupe chunky and strappy heels and a jean jacket. I wore these great mystery surprise earrings -picked by stylist. I highly recommend but caution anyone with a fuller bottom (derrière) than me from wearing it. I don't think it would work or look classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Weight: 110lbs
October 16, 2016
The bride rode in on a unicorn, so this artful dress was a hit. :)
Fit well except my torso was too short and I had to pin the cap sleeves. Luckily there was a poof to the design of the sleeves so it was undetectable. I got lots of compliments. It runs on the short side so be prepared for that. The botom hem is weird from too many washings but only you will notice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2016
Loved the bright print and the cut of the back!
This dress was comfortable and easy to dance in, but it's definitely short! It also rides up a little.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2016
Fun colors!
I wore this for an Indian wedding and loved it. It's spunky! It's backlesss so you have to be careful with a strapless bra or a low bra cut but it was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
October 15, 2016
This dress was amazing! I couldn't wear a bra but the design hides all frontal so its fab!
It was a little shorter than expected but it was tight and stretchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2016
Sexy fun party dress that was flattering and comfortable.
As the other reviews have mentioned, this dress is SHORT! It's not super noticeable while standing, but if you sit down, you have to be on top of it or else your undies will show. It has a bit of stretch so hugs your waist and is comfy. I couldn't get the hemline to do right. The material is not such that in can be ironed crisply so it was a little odd at the hem, but probably only noticeable to me. I wore one of those stick on nubras and it worked well. Lots of compliments all night. Fun to dance in. Hip and happening dress but I didn't feel like I looked like I was trying too hard to be young. A great alternative to something sparkly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 5, 2016
Fun, Vibrant dress!
Dress fit well. Fabric is not as quality as I would have liked but overall was comfortable, different, and a pretty dress for a summer wedding!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
October 5, 2016
Love the dress and wore it to my Mom's surprise 60th. Got a lot of compliments.
Hip area is a little tight but I'm fairly narrow so it was okay.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 3, 2016
Love the color and back!
Generally a 6 but this one was a little too tight around the hips and thighs. The 8 fit my lower half better but was a little big up top. Very comfy though and easy to wear without a bra. Lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2016
Short, but show-stopper!
I loved this dress. So many compliments all night long. I wore it with a low bun. It was definitely short though and tight in the chest. A bigger size would've been to big in the waist. I had to be very careful all night not to bend over even slightly. I would love to own this dress (I would probably buy the 6 and alter the middle if I ever bought it).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 21, 2016
Perfect for Rainbow Night
Fit really well. Good for larger boobs. I ended up wearing a bathing suit as a bra since the back was really low. Luckily orange worked out well. True to size and good compliments all night. Wore this dancing
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 21, 2016
LOVED this dress! I got compliments all night. The fabric is really light and comfortable.
I wore this to a wedding and would recommend it to anyone! The fit was true to size and it was just long enough as I'm 5'2". The fabric was light and somewhat stretchy. Love everything about this dress- especially the open back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2016
This dress was wonderful! So many compliments!!
The dress was really comfortable! The open back was super fun and sexy. The colors were so vibrant! The dress would be short on the average person but perfect to me. It was snug on the hips but it wasn't a problem since the fabric had a little give to it. Loved everything about this dress!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
September 18, 2016
Fun dress!
Other reviews were spot on. Dress was super comfy material but very short, and it did ride up a lot! I had to pull it down all night. But it was still a fun dress and dry unique.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 15, 2016
Great dress, I received a ton of compliments!
The dress fit like a glove, it was comfortable and at the same time very sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 12, 2016
Such a standout dress!
Again, another great RTR dress. I can honestly say I have not had a bad rental yet! The user reviews are the most helpful in my opinion. This dress was short as others mentioned but I didn't feel self conscious about it. It was a little tight in my hips but that is where dresses are usually tight on me due to the size of my hips and thighs for being a normal size 4. I wore the fashion nipple covers since I didn't wear a bra due to the open back. It was a really great dress to wear with flats as I attended an outdoor wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
September 9, 2016
the dress looked amazing and I got so many compliments on it
the fit was not too tight and not loose, the colors look amazing with nude shoes
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 8, 2016
Cute dress beware it's short and backless
Loved the print! The dress is backless so had to wear sticky bra. I am 5ft and was short on me! Tall girls don't order. If you're petite would recommend, not best dress if you plan on dancing. I wore to show so I was fine but because it's backless doesn't stay on tight
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
September 6, 2016
This dress is sexy!
Fit true to size but was definitely form fitting. Was a tad short and crept up when walking but overall it was good. Open back was really cute & this dress is subtly very sexy! Would recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2016
Way too tight on me but the dress is killer!
So I've got kind of a pear-shaped thing going on, and if you do too, I'm gonna say skip out on this one. The design is gorgeous, but I ended up going with my second choice because of just how tight it is.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 5, 2016
Perfect dress for Vegas!
I wore this for a night out with my family in Vegas! This picture doesn't do the dress justice. The back is incredible! I wore simple shoes and jewelry because the print is so nice. Would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2016
SUPER SHORT!
Even after reading everyones reviews I still decided to give it a try and rent it even though I knew there was a high likelihood that it would be to short....I was super bummed when I tried it on and it was so short that it barely covered my butt. I have a super long torso so if you don't have that or a butt this dress could be a stand out. I so wish it would have worked for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 2, 2016
.
The dress was a little short, so I opted for the next size up. The material is stretchy, so it forms to your body well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 30, 2016
Fantastic dress but beware it is short!
Was nervous renting this without my back up size available but it all worked out! I love the back but unfortunately don't have any pictures showing it off. The dress is definitely short - I wore spandex shorts underneath for a little piece of mind.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 29, 2016
Birthday fun!
The dress was fun, I wore the size 6 because the 4 fit perfectly on the top but the bottom was shorter and the dress dose rise when you walk. Even with the size 6. It was fun for a rooftop party and I loved the back and the colors on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
August 28, 2016
Not as cute as I thought it would be
The dress was pretty short as it appears but it was not as bright white as it appears in the image. I didn't care for the quality of the fabric.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 28, 2016
Super fun, unique, cute back
Rented for a springtime wedding in Savannah. Loved the back. Got many complements. Went down a size just because I liked the fit a little tighter, but could have gone either way. Would probably be a bit short on those who are taller... I'm 5'3" so it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 27, 2016
Definitely a head-turning, but oh so short!
This one really is a stunner and comfy, too, except it's SHORT. I'm 5'1" so I always disregard warnings about dresses being short ("Those warnings are for normal-sized people," I blithely think), but you have been warned. It also rides up, so I had to keep tugging it down while dancing. If some gals didn't have to wear a bra with this, I'm not one of them. The material isn't in any way see through, but it didn't hold me in, so NuBra all the way. Still worth it! I rented this for a chic, urban gay wedding -- or as we in 2016 like to call it "a wedding" -- and I got compliments all night! Dress full of rainbows? The brides loved it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2016
I rented this dress for my Master's Commencement ceremony last May and absolutely loved it!
I ordered this dress about 4 days before my ceremony because I couldn't find anything to match my blue shoes and clearly I'm a slight procrastinator :) But, RTR saved the day! They even shipped it to my house a day before I actually needed it. The dress is a little on the short side, but that was fine with me because I wore a robe over top of it anyway. It was the perfect dress for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2016
YPN Night
The fit was great except I had to continuously pull down the dress all night because it was riding up. I have a larger chest and didn't need to wear a bra. I received a million compliments and would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2016
Pretty, but not perfect.
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and received several compliments. I have a very large chest and knew I would not be able to wear a bra with this, but I want to reiterate that there is absolutely no support in the chest. I also felt like it was not very flattering in my mid-section. Overall it was very pretty and unique, but I would not rent again.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 34
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×