Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1259 reviews
Fit
Large41
True to Size703
Small348
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 28, 2016
awesome, fun dress. very comfortable
it is a little stretchy which makes it super comfortable. i'm 5'7 and didn't find it to be too short. the back is also very cute
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
June 27, 2016
The dress!
I loved this dress! The colors were vibrant and perfect for a summer wedding. My only concern was with the 2 the sleeves were a little big so they kept sliding down. I didn't have to wear a bra with it though which was awesome! My fiance kept asking if I could buy this dress. I will definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 27, 2016
Pretty but very short
Really pretty dress but very very very short!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
June 26, 2016
Great dress. Perfect for a wedding in Hawaii!
PRO: Fun, vibrant colors. Loved the open back. CON: Short, tight dresses tend to ride up on me so I had to periodically shimmy it back down. Since the back is open I added double stick tape and that worked like a charm.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 26, 2016
Pretty but worn
Dress was worn and a little large. White is more off-white, not as pretty in person. Cool back.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
June 26, 2016
Show stopper
This dress caught my eye on RTR and I had doubts about wearing it to a wedding due to the shorter length. I sized up to a 10 for length, but it ran true to size for a 10. The 8 fit perfect but the zipper was pulling away from the seam and I didn't want to risk it. Got SO SO many compliments on the dress. Felt gorgeous in it. My boyfriend wanted me to keep it by the end of the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2016
Such a fun dress!
This dress was fabulous, I did not need to wear a bra, it was comfortable, conservative in the front and sexy in the back. The only con with this dress was that it was riding up all night. I was constantly pulling it down. The dress is already short to begin with and the riding up didn't help.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
June 23, 2016
great colors , got tons of compliments
the material isn't what it seems. Stretchy, but very form fitting. Was alittle too body hugging for a wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 21, 2016
Hot hot hot!
So so short, which I anticipated based on previous reviews, but so hot. I wore it to Budakkan for my husband's birthday dinner and it was perfect. Completely open back and rides up (even more!) when you walk, so be cautious of keeping it down!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 20, 2016
Perfect Party Dress
Rented this for an engagement party! Perfect, fun, bright and a tad sexy! I chose to wear the 2 because the sleeves were a little tighter and fell a bit when I tried the 4. It is tight but stretchy. I got many compliments especially on the back! I didn't wear a bra or nubra, but you certainly could. The colored pattern allows you to not wear a bra. I would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 19, 2016
Love the dress!! Super easy shipping and returning! I got the dress when they said!
The fit was perfect, as you walk it tends to run up but not a huge deal it's just like any other short dress you wear. The fabric is stretchy which is perfect. I wore a size 8, and the zipper was already messed up so it took awhile for me to get it on and off. It's almost like they tried to fix it but they didn't all the way. Other than that I loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2016
Something different and so fun!!
I wore this for my bachelorette party and I got so many compliments! The dress is so flattering and the back is the best part. Love the stretchy material.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2016
Backless and beautiful
I rented this dress for my friend's rehearsal dinner! Such a fun pattern and fit! Definitely quite short, so would not be good for an event where a lot of sitting is involved. (Luckily the tables had tablecloths!) The straps for hanging the dress kept coming out, but an easy fix was to just safety pin them together in the front!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
June 16, 2016
Graduation dress = A+
For my previous graduations, I wore white dresses, but I really wanted to stand out for this graduation, so I got this dress based on the exciting and Jackson Pollack-vibe to it. I had many compliments on it! However, I wore a size 6 and had to pin the shoulders and the waist. I should have gone down to a size 4. I emailed the representative and tried to rush order a size 4. She responded promptly, but unfortunately, she couldn't send it out in time for my event. Overall, I was very happy with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
June 15, 2016
Sexy date night dress
I loved this dress. The open back was sexy without being over the top. I wore a NuBra for extra support since I'm a D cup. The only thing that bummed me out is that I guess Target is carrying dresses in a similar pattern this season (different cut) and I prefer when my RTR stuff is "one of a kind".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 15, 2016
So fun!
This dress is fun, sexy, and different. I received many compliments. Overall, it was true to fit, but as others did say, it does ride up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2016
Super fun dress!
I really liked this dress! It was perfect for the outdoor wedding I was at. Definitely short though, I was tugging at it all night while dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 11, 2016
Beautiful dress that will make you stand out.
I rented this for a wedding and based on other reviews I sized up for my backup size. The 4 was pretty baggy on me and I almost felt like I was wearing a potato sack. I immediately called customer service seeing if they could rush me a size 2 which they unfortunately out of so they sent me a 0. Based on previous reviews I was worried about length in a 0 especially because I certainly am not a size 0. It somehow ended up fitting and the length wasn't too too short, only had to be very careful sitting and going up steps and I did have to be mindful on the dance floor. I think the 2 would have been perfect but the 0 ended up working fine. I'd definitely recommend this dress the back is gorgeous and I received tons of compliments. You will definitely stand out !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 22
June 10, 2016
Perfect for short people. I am 5'2
The dress looked a little worn
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 8, 2016
Cute birthday dress, runs large for petite's
Loved the colors of this dress however it was large in the shoulders since it was open back. Also the hem on the 0 seemed off.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 7, 2016
TONS of compliments on this dress! Felt like a million bucks!
A little on the short and tight side -- I typically wear a 6 in dress and even as a 8 I felt a little exposed. Because it is shorter, it does ride up as you walk or dance so I did feel like I was tugging at it a bit for the evening. But overall it was a great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
June 6, 2016
Great friends and a great outfit!
This dress was great and I received so many compliments on it. It is very short and at 5'9" I did have to keep pulling it down but otherwise it fit great!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2016
So classy!!!
I could have worn the 0, but I wanted a little extra room to dance. My chest is so small (lol) that I didn't need a bra at all and it was thick enough and the colors covered the nipple area that you couldn't see through. It was perfect! So many compliments! Def recommend to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 2, 2016
Great looking dress. Great fit. Cheap material
I wore this to my friends bridal shower. It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and asked where I got it. I loved it and felt great it in. The only problem I had with it is the material felt very cheap. I would 100% recommend this for rental but not for purchase.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2016
Fun and unique!
Dress was super short but that is why I rented it! Got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
June 1, 2016
Lurved it!!
This dress is fantastic! I run as an 8 or 6 (depending on the designer and overall stretch). The six was great, it fit great in all the right places. I definitely want to get it again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 31, 2016
This dress was perfect for a Kentucky Derby party I attended. I received a ton of compliments.
The dress was a littl tight around the legs which rode up a little when I walked. However, I quickly forgot about it through the event. It was a very comfortable material to wear as well as somewhat thick. I didn't have to wear a bra with this which was great given the open back. Would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
May 29, 2016
This dress though...
This dress was amazing - I got compliments ALL night and felt so great about myself! I ordered a 4 and 6, and while they both fit, they fit very differently - I went with the 4 because it hugged my curves a lot more. If you were going the more conservative route, then the 6 would be perfect - a little longer and less clingy. I would HIGHLY recommend this dress, it's a stunner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2016
Favorite rental yet!
The 2 was a little bit short on me, so I wore the 4. Loved this dress and got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 25, 2016
Great little dress for a date!
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was a little bit short but not too bad - it hiked up a bit when I would sit down but otherwise I felt comfortable in it. Because of the low back I went with a stick-on bra but it wasn't too low and bra strap extenders would've worked as well. Overall it was an awesome dress and I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Weight: 109lbs
May 25, 2016
Perfect for a day at the races!
I actually wore the size 00. Just like all the other reviews say, the dress is short! Even for me and I'm pretty short myself! It rode up a little when I walked around, but I also have a bigger bottom than the average bear so that might have been a contributing factor! The fabric was lightweight and comfortable. The dress was very flattering and I didn't have to wear a bra (I'm a 32DD). I received SO many compliments. I loved this dress and wish I owned it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 23, 2016
Perfect birthday celebration dress!
I wore this dress out on the town to celebrate my birthday. It ran true to size (I wore the 2 over the 4). It's definitely body-snug, and it is on the short size, but then again so am I, so it didn't bother me that much. The open back is the best part!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 23, 2016
Cute!
I say "runs large" because I think in terms of dress #'s this is more of a 2 or 4 (my wedding dress size), and not a 0. Having said that, I wear a 0 street size for the most part, and this fit well. I wound up not wearing this dress, as I was looking for something a little more risque for Vegas, but this was pretty great - backless and VERY short, I didn't find the shoulders to be too big or the skirt super tight. Overall seemed very comfortable, but did imagine that some tape might be necessary to keep the shoulders up in place if really moving around. The skirt did seem to ride up a bit as I tried it on, but not a price I wasn't unwilling to pay for a fun dress. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2016
Fun, flirty, different
Dress was easy to get on, a little loose up top (I could slide the dress forward off of my shoulders while it was zipped) but I think that is just the style of the dress. I got compliments all night, the colors really made me stand out. It is a very short dress so it may not be appropriate for a wedding or fancy event. I wore mine to a very casual rehearsal dinner by the pool and it worked out perfectly. The fabric is very light and thin but since there are two layers you can't see through it. Was not form fitting on me which I think made it ride up easier when I walked. I recommend for anyone looking for a (very) short, fun, pop of color, stand-out dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
May 16, 2016
LOVED IT
I thought it fit great! It wasn't stark white- kind almost dingy white but it was still fabulous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2016
heaps of compliments ... I matched the painting behind me!
I wore a 0 since it fit my upper body better and didn't fall off my shoulders as easily, however, I have wider thighs and hips so a 2 would have fit better down there. the only issue with this dress is that you have to keep pulling it down in order to keep the shoulders up, since it has an open back. very beautiful and bright though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
Fun, unique, standout dress!
The 0 was very tight on my belly and legs, but fit perfectly up top. The 2 was loose on top, but fit much better on the bottom half. I opted for the 2 because I felt much more comfortable in it. The open back is so fun! I wore a sticky bra and it worked out perfectly. Wish I owned this cute little dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
It made me feel like my old self..
Made my feel like my original bday self. I always do something and look amazing for my birthday and this dress got in line with the rest. So it definitely goes down in birthday history for me..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
May 15, 2016
Love It!!
Dress is very comfortable, fitted, a little be on the short side. My favorite was the open back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
May 14, 2016
So colorful and eye catching!
I'm normally a 0 and I feel this dress was true to size. I got so many compliments the entire day/night and wish I owned this dress. Being a 34DDD, I am always for a dress I can wear without a bra!! The only downside is it will ride up!! I had to keep pulling it down anytime I was moving around. All in all, loved the dress and would definitely recommend to anyone as long as they don't mind pulling it down all the time!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 32

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×