Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

1007 reviews

Fit
Small 307
True to Size 581
Large 32
Photos 704
Betsy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

I got a lot of compliments and it was perfect for a summer wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tends to ride up a little when walking
Nichole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Birthday girl! Birthday Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I honestly wish I would have selected the 0 as my back up size not the 4. I ended up wearing the 2 and it fit well. The material is light weight and perfect for a summer night!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

The colors were stunning!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit, awesome length and such a pop of color! Perfect for the beach wedding I went to!
Deirdre
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Aug 15, 2014

Perfect alternative to the LBD.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Runs a tad short. Other than that, great dress. Another great experience with RTR!
Jenny
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Aug 15, 2014

I rented this dress for my engagement pictures!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly! I didn't want to send it back!
Natasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 16, 2014

Love the sexy open back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As stated in previous reviews, it does ride up a bit. The size 2 fit very well, but I went with the 4 in hopes that it wouldn't ride as much. Received tons of compliments. Beautiful dress!
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Aug 16, 2014

Sexy cutout on the back of the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I wanted to mark that it runs large but I think it still had an over all good fit. My only complaint is that it felt like the sleeves kept falling down but that could have just been my body type. I can't wait to rent this dress again. Such a beautiful dress and it was so comfortable with a stretchy material.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Amazing dress for a wedding.

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing fit. So many compliments through out the night. I went to a friends wedding & thought possibly I shouldn't wear this but it had more color than white. Only problem I had was when I danced a bit to hard the dress would rise up. USE DOUBLE SIDDED TAPE FOR THE BACK.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Wore for Lady GaGa concert: Artpop-a-licious

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is really pretty in person and the colors are vibrant. The low back is very flattering so long as you have a small enough chest to go braless. I'm a 34C so I braved it without a bra and was fine. I paired this look with gold flats as I was heading to a concert and please disregard the crazy hair and mask. The dress was comfortable to move in all night, it was a little on the short side, but I expected that from the reviews above. I'm a tall girl with hips and a butt to contend with, and this dress was very flattering all in all and I felt confident all night. Oh, I tried the 10 and it was very similar to the 12, no difference lengthwise. I could have gone either way but there was probably a 1/2 inch difference in the circumference of the hem so I went with the 12. Loved this rental!
val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress. Everyone loved the color and back

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'3", 105 lbs and the size 0 fit me well. The only bad part was that it rides up horribly so I was constantly pulling it down when I walked. But it was very flattering and comfortable otherwise. The hem on both sizes looked like it needed to be pressed. That was my only complaint on the actual condition of the dress.
Dominique
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 139 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

A million compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 4 was a perfect fit. The dress does ride up so I had to constantly keep pulling it down. Had I worn the size 6, the dress wouldn't have fit properly. Other than that, I absolutely loved the dress and received a million compliments. I would definitely rent another dress from Rent the Runway.
Mary Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

The back was my fav part! And I got tons of compliments :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
it fit pretty well, but, as all the other reviews said, it did ride up as I walked. that was the only part that bothered me. other than that, it was a hot dress and felt good in it.
Nessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

I rented the dress for my engagement photo shoot. My Fiance loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is super tight!!! It rides up while I walked but I didn't mind (I just kept pulling it back down). I loved how snug it was at the top because it made me comfortable enough not to wear a bra. I would rent again.
Noreen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 20, 2014

I got tons of compliments. I liked it a lot but not my favorite.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is larger in the top and tighter in the legs. Because the back is out It felt a little awkward.
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 20, 2014

Fun, unique dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my rehearsal lunch for my wedding and it was a hit! It's tun and different and has tons of personality! The 2 was a little short on me but the 4 was too big around the bust -- not the most easygoing dress to wear -- but overall definitely worth it.
Missy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Aug 21, 2014

Classy and Sexy!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my second time renting from RTR and I'm just amazed at the quality of the dresses. I wanted something fun yet still classy for the wedding I attended. This dress had it all. A little big up top but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix. The bottom was a tight and a little hard to move in. Had to pull down every time I got up. Overall it was a fun dress.
RTR Customer
Aug 22, 2014

Everyone loved this dress! SO many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got a stick on bra from Victoria Secret. Have no complaints!
Elyse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

Fun dress with a lot of color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: The dress is beautiful! The colors are vibrant and you'll definitely be the only one wearing something like it. Cons: The cap sleeves look weird in pictures. They show a lot of underarm! Also, if you are small on top and larger on bottom it will be hard to find the right size/fit. I had a hard time with it riding up all night. Overall, I thought this dress was okay. The fit was just not something I was completely comfortable with.
Leah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Wore the dress for a birthday dinner. Great colors and design!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress has a great design and the back is very flattering in all the right places. The shoulders do seem to slip down occasionally and I did tape the hanger straps to ensure they did not show. The waist was a little big so I used a large black belt to hold it in a place a little better. Great dress for cocktail parties and birthdays.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this for an August wedding, the colors were great, the back was dramatic and very pretty. Got tons of compliments. It is a little shorter than expected, but worked out great. Cannot wear a bra - others said a low clasp would work, but that would probably have shown in the stomach area. I just used adhesive cups, and that worked great.
Victoria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

FAB OPEN BACK

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wanted this fun colored dress for another wedding, but it was already sold out. Finally snagged it for a June (read: hot) wedding in Key West. I had so much fun wearing my jewelry backwards with the open back. SO many compliments.
Mirinae
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Got TONS of compliments on both the color and fit of the dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Does ride up, especially when you sit, but not really a problem for short girls! (: Only wish I could have cut off the ribbon loops because they kept popping out.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Sexy and sophisticated!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my 30th birthday celebration and absolutely loved this dress. It is very short (even on a 5'1" girl) so I was a little self conscious in pulling it down. I got a ton of compliments, even from strangers. I would rent this dress again or even consider purchasing it.
Olivia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Such a fun dress to wear!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
OBSESSED with this dress! I would keep it if I could. It does run slightly on the small side -- I wore the 4 for comfort/extra wiggle room -- the 2 was a little too short and tight. The 4 I think was perfect! Possibly my favorite outfit moment of this summer, and my very first rental from RTR!
dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

I got a lot of compliments! It's a beautiful dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a size 6, this dress was true to size. I wore this for a welcoming party, beware this dress is short and tends to ride up, I didn't mind but just something you should know. PS the back of dress is stunning!
Yezenia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

Great pop of color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Okay so I used this for my engagement pictures! The dress was absolutely amazing! So many compliments! The only thing was it did run up at times while I walked but that's because I have hips. Other than that no issue-wished I could keep it!
ashleigh
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Aug 31, 2014

This was a super fun dress. I got a ton of compliments on it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Only one con, not good for dancing, it def rides up a lot
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 31, 2014

Really stands out! Very different/unique which made it stand out.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress a lot. I had my eye on it for a while and decided to rent it for this wedding I had in Brooklyn. I am happy I did because the dress is beautiful. The color is super unique and it has an artsy feel. I gave this dress a 4 out of 5 because the material was a little different then I was expecting it didn't feel expensive like I had expected it to and bc of that and the type of material it tended to ride up... Which I had read in the reviews but rented it anyway. Due to this I ended up wearing the 2 instead of the zero so that it wouldn't do that as much and to cinch it at the waste a little bit I paired it with a thin black belt. I loved this dress though so once I got used to the adjusting I was so happy with it. Especially in photos ... It photographed great! Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Sep 1, 2014

I loved this dress! I got so many compliments. Perfect for a night out. I don't want to send it back

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It fit great for me. I wore a backless bra and spanxs with it to suck everything in. Also, I ordered a size 8 and 10. I had to go with the bigger size. I am tall and the 8 was WAY too short. So many compliments and made me feel great.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 2"
Sep 2, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to an interfaith outdoor wedding- wanted to have my shoulders covered for the Jewish part, but also stay cool because the ceremony was outdoors. I received so many compliments that I can hardly count them all. The burst of color stood out amongst lots of blue and black dresses and the unexpected back was sexy but not too much so. The material is a silky/chiffon that doesn't cling too much but gives you a nice shape. It definitely runs tight around your thighs and booty, so make sure you size up if you're blessed with muscular quads or a butt. The best part is you can't tell how much you're sweating through the material, so I highly recommend for a summer wedding.
Jeanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Statement Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a Broadway show & dinner in NYC. The colorful pattern and open back made me feel great! The material is less forgiving than the other Slate & Willow dress I rented. I would size up on your back up dress just in case. I didn't have any problems with it riding up when I walked. I wore the nubra with this dress and didn't have any issues.
Jenn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

I absolutely looved this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a lot of compliments on the dress. I did have to use tape to keep it in place on my shoulders & back. Also, my armpits were showing a little bit. Also, you obviously can't wear a bra, so I wore pasties. Overall, I loved it & wish I could own it!
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

Really great for dancing at a summer wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable but the 0 was way too short. The size 2 was perfect. I felt dressy but fun at the summer wedding!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

Loved this unique dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very cool dress. Backless and runs very short which was why I went up a size! Loved though!
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

I wore this dress for college graduation. It was perfect with blue shoes!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The size 2 was perfect! I loved this dress and would rent it again. Pros-Gorgeous pattern, I received so many compliments all day and night. Extremely comfortable to wear all day Cons-The bottom half did not have much stretch. The cap sleeves make broad shoulders look broader.
Louise
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 9, 2014

A million compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got a lot of compliments on the dress! The sides did ride up a bit when I walked up/down a hill and when I sat. But it wasn't too bad at all. Obviously you can't wear a regular bra in this, you'll have to wear a backless one. It was pretty tight-fitting, so I would definitely recommend going up a size or two. The 12 was comfortable on me, but I usually wear an 8. Overall I loved it and wish I could own it!
Sarah
Age: 27
Sep 10, 2014

So many compliments-amazing dress that I'd totally rent again!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 0 and the 2 after reading all the reviews. The 0 fit, but was a little short for a wedding. The 2 was perfect from shoulder to hem-in one word-amazing. I received so many compliments. The back was incredible, just enough skin to be sexy but was still classy. I'd rent this dress again and again. It was perfect. The dress did ride up a little bit, but that's to be expected with a form fitting shorter dress. I received compliments all night long and felt like a million bucks.
Ruthie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

The colors made me look like a work of art.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Back is incredible and very flattering.
Jackie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Perfect night out dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress fit perfectly! I wore it out for my Birthday and got lots of complements! Love the deep back!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Perfection!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
So, I woke up the night morning of the wedding sick and miserable, but there was no way I wasn't going. I could not have picked a better dress for an outdoor Texas wedding while sick!! It was SO comfortable i didn't even feel like I was dressed up, but I got a ton of compliments on it all day. The fabric is light with a little stretch and so breathable. I'm so upset I didn't think to take any photos besides this one, but it just means I will be renting this again!! The only reason i considered it running a little small was because the bottom portion is quite snug around the hips and rode up quite a bit even in the 2. Nothing that couldn't be controlled though. I'm not sure it would be very appropriate for someone very tall though, as it was short on me even!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×