Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1163 reviews
Fit
Large38
True to Size665
Small331
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 15, 2015
Perfection!
This dress is beyond perfect! Colors, style and fit. Great for us short girls who don't have much on top. I used the sticky bra since the back dipped low. So many compliments and perfect for a summer outdoor wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 14, 2015
Sexy and unique, although a little short.
I ordered a size 0 and a size 00. Both fit me, and could be worn without a bra (I put bandaids on for critical cold coverage, if you know what I mean), however the shoulders for the size 0 were a little looser, and when sitting down, I could see it would be easy for shoulder to slide down. I ended up wearing the size 00. I'm not tall (5'3) and this dress was fairly shortly (mid thigh), such that my husband was a little surprised. Small breasted girls need not worry; this dress is perfect for us! I'm a very flat-chested 32AA, and this dress was still flattering. In fact, I thought it made it easier not to wear a bra. It also accommodated my wider hips and butt. I wish I owned this dress! Note: This can also be worn as a "top" with a dark skirt for a daytime look! I loved the design so much, I paired this dress with a black circle skirt for a brunch date with friends, and I got many compliments.
NOctober 14, 2015
are you wearing the 0 or 00 in the picture? excited to rent!
AnnOctober 22, 2015
Hi, I'm wearing the size 00 in the picture!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 14, 2015
Great, fun, sexy...
I actually wore a 00. The 0 was my back up. I felt like the 0 was still a bit loose from the shoulders, thought it would be uncomfortable. The 0 was more fitting, or tighter but I wasn't uncomfortable for me. The material is stretchy, which makes it comfy and fun to wear. I received compliments and some even asked where I got my dress. You will need fashion tape. I used it in the back and at it at the end of the night to keep top/sleeves in place while dancing.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2015
I received SO many compliments on this dress!
I ordered a size 0 and a size 2 and wound up wearing the size 0. The material on this dress is a little stretchy so it was a little loose but SO comfortable. The sleeves are a little poofy which I did not realize on the website photo. Overall it is a great dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 11, 2015
Amazing, comfortable, colorful party dress!
This was a last minute replacement dress and I'm more happy with this one! The colors REALLY stand out and I got so many compliments on this dress-I didn't want to send this back. It looks like a work of art! Wore to a wine tasting and it was VERY hot that day, the fact that it was white, short, and backless all came in handy. I wouldn't rent this if you're busty or tall-it's definitely a MINI and you can get away with a Nubra AT MOST. I went bra less and was fine due to the high neck which balances it so it's sexy and not trashy. Love this one-a great summer in Fort Lauderdale dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2015
This dress is gorgeous!
I wore this dress to my engagement party and absolutely loved it. The dress is beautiful! Definitely made for short girls, as the length is a little on the shorter side, but perfect for me! The sleeves were a little bit poofier than I thought they would be, but all in all it was a hit.
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
June 11, 2015
This dress definitely stands out!
This dress was perfect for graduation. More conservative in the front but with the low back it was great to wear out afterward. The splash of colors definitely gets attention and I received a lot of compliments. The length was perfect for me but might be short on taller girls. I did use fashion tape to keep the shoulders in place and that worked well. The 4 stars is because the hem on the 00 laid a bit odd. Not sure if that's how it is supposed to be but I felt like it did not go well with the rest of the dress and it's excellent tailoring.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 10, 2015
Thin fabric
Not as much white as I thought and the fabric was very thin. The shoulders also stood up no matter which size I tried on 4 or 6. Top seems to be large and the bottom a small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
June 10, 2015
*
Ended up wearing the size 4. Cute outfit, especially the back. My only complaint is that the hem does not stay in place so requires fairly constant adjustment to prevent from riding up or looking a little sloppy. I did not wear the 6 because the arms were a little big on me.
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
June 9, 2015
Great for rehearsal dinner!
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. Got tons of compliments. I ended up wearing the 00 because the 0 was a little big in the shoulders. I used dress tape so that it looked fitted on the top. I also wore a backless bra which worked out perfectly. The dress is very comfortable,stretchy, and lightweight. This dress definitely gets a lot of attention. I wish I could buy this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
June 9, 2015
I was told I was the best dressed guest of the wedding!
I ordered this dress for a Memorial weekend wedding and loved the fun print and open back. I received numerous compliments (even from the bride!). I typically wear a 0, but when I tried on the 0 I ordered it was very tight across the legs/hips so I wore the 2 (which was a little big across the chest). Overall the dress was a hit and I was very happy with my rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 95lbs
June 8, 2015
This dress is spicy!!!
Loved this dress!! A heads up, it is mighty short. I have long legs but I'm not that tall and it fell mid thigh. It was fitted but comfortable in the 00, and the shoulders would be a bit loose on someone without broad shoulders. Definitely a head turner!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 8, 2015
Loved the dress and got so many compliments!
I absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to a friend's outdoor summer wedding and it was a huge hit. I felt that it fit pretty true to actual size. I wore it with blue heels which added a nice bit of color. I would recommend this dress and will definitely be renting it again. This was also my first dress from Rent the Runway and I was so impressed by everything! I told everyone at the wedding they need to use it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
June 8, 2015
Amazing, fun dress for a night out with the girls!!!
A little tight fit for what I'm use to but the size 6 fit awesome! Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
June 8, 2015
Perfect dress to watch a triple crown win in :)
I loved this dress I got a thousand compliments on it from complete strangers both girls and guys. It was so comfortable and easy to wear. I could've done the four or two but I'm small up top so went with the two.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2015
A fun summer movie premiere event in Hollywood
As many of the reviews say, it is quite short. The dress did fit a little tighter on the hips, but overall fit great. I did wish that the dress was pressed more at the hem, because at times it looked kind of bubbly. From the pictures the dress looks a little more structured, but the material is actually quite soft and stretchy. Because of this, the dress did tend to ride up, so it was a little annoying to have to keep adjusting and making sure nothing was flashing whenever I walked around. I felt the dress fit true to size, however I went with the larger size (10) because it did feel slightly longer.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2015
Super fun dress!
The design on this dress was so fun, vibrant and stood out in the crowd. It is form fitting but the design distracts from any mid section flaws. The dress is very short - and the cap sleeves mean that when you raise your arms, it hitches the dress up even further. I had to be extra careful when dancing ;) If you've got long legs or aren't comfortable with a mini-skirt length... you've been warned!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2015
Baggy Armpits
The armpits were cut out in a really odd way so unless you are super thin or have your arms up, the gap between the cap sleeve and the chest looks funky and flabby. The fabric around the waste was baggy as well even though the liner was tight underneath. Maybe would've looked better in a 4? I ordered it for my bachelorette party and got new shoes to go with it, too. Oh well. Still love RTR!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 1, 2015
This dress added color and fun into my event experience. Straying away from the usual black colors.
I absolutely loved the dress and got so many compliments as well. The colors of the dress come out fabulous in pictures! The only thing I recommend is to use fashion tape for the shoulders, as they slipped off very easily. Once you use the fashion tape, it made the dress absolutely perfect! I found that the dress did ride up a lot, so just beware of that little problem. Other then that, the dress was a hit and I would definitely plan on ordering this dress again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 1, 2015
The colors in the dress are very pigmented, and bright! Good fabric!! Beautiful dress!
It is short...so if you long legs or do not feel comfortable showing your legs beware, but its not to short. The full coverage in the bust balances the shortness out in my opinion. The back of the dress is awesome! Would rent it again!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 1, 2015
It was the perfect dress for a beach wedding. I loved it so much that I slept in it!
I had my eye on this dress for a long time but was slightly nervous to rent it because of some of the negative reviews, however I am SO happy that I did. The dress fit me like a glove. It is on the shorter side as many other reviewers stated, however I didn't feel like it was "too" short on my 5'4 frame. It does ride up a bit, but after a few cocktails I couldn't care less. I pretty much always wear a 2, and this dress was no different. I ordered the 0 as my backup size but didn't even try it on since the 2 fit so perfectly. As other reviewers said it does fit more snug towards the bottom, but the material is stretchy so I actually liked that part of it. Definitely rent this dress - you will not be disappointed!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
May 31, 2015
Dress was perfect for a summer wedding.
Length was great for a petite girl but it will ride up. I am extremely athletic with a muscular build so if you have smaller shoulders or back it might require fashion tape as stated in other reviews. Fit is flattering and open back is incredible. Fabric is thick enough as to not require a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Age: 29
May 30, 2015
Great dress!! I felt like a million bucks. Lots of head turns and compliments.
The dress was definitely tighter than I expected, pretty short too, but I'm only 5'2" so the length was fine for me. I still have a little post baby stomach pooch and almost thought it was too tight, but it's really comfortable, so glad I wore it! Just size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
May 27, 2015
Looked great but not perfect
The dress fit nicely on my frame and, as other reviewers have pointed out, really accentuates the back. My only gripes were that the white strings (used to hang the dress) were constantly peeking out and required constant attention and the shoulders were pretty ugly and a bit limiting in terms of movement. As others pointed out, it is also VERY short and does have a tendency to ride up when walking. It does, however, travel well and accentuates a curvy figure. I think that overall it worked for what I had in mind, but I doubt I will rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 27, 2015
This dress was a hit! Lots of compliments
Fit is true to size. I normally wear an 8 but opted for the 10 for the length. This dress is short, but not to where I had to worry about it all night. I wore it to a wedding and danced all night. I did have to pull it down a few times, but not to the point where I got frustrated about it. The material is nice and stretchy and the double sided tape is a must for the back to keep the shoulders in place. I would rent this dress again definitely.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 27, 2015
Fun dress! Got tons of compliments. Love the back!
It is a short dress, and I went for a 0 which was fine, but I could have worn a 2 as well.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 27, 2015
Fun dress for a spring wedding!
Pros: bright, colorful, different Cons: Rides up around the thighs (not great with a conservative crowd), puckering at the hem
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 26, 2015
I did not end up wearing this dress to the wedding.
The dress looked amazing online but it did not fit my body type. In the zero the top fit but the bottom was to tight and in the two the top was to big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
May 25, 2015
Too small
Hot, short backless dress -- but as a size 10, it was an inch too short and an inch too narrow in the waist. Too bad, Bc this dress is hot!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2015
Great color! Amazing back.
I loved this dress! The color was amazing, it was comfortable and i got compliments all night. It was really short for my height, but other than that it was amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
May 21, 2015
Fun! Colorful! Sexy!
This dress was perfect for San Antonio's fiesta! It does ride up like other reviews have said but other than that it's great! It was fine and easy to deal with. The back is a sexy surprise!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 20, 2015
HOT dress for HOT times
This was the perfect little dress for a night out in Miami. Loved the multi-colors and open back. Could go with practically any color shoes or accessories. The length on me was perfect since I'm only 5'2", but think it could be a little too short for taller girls.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 19, 2015
Very Cute Dress, Super Short
I thought the dress would be long enough to get by, since I'm only 5'3", but it was too short to wear out. Too bad, b/c it was super cute and sexy!!
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
May 18, 2015
Wowza!
Love love love the dress! Super forgiving fabric and print for a curvier girl! I wore this for my college graduation and it was perfect for the warm and humid weather. Definitely short, I spent a lot of time pulling it down despite my efforts of using boob tape to keep it down. Thank goodness I had my graduation gown to cover how high it rode up during the ceremony.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 18, 2015
Stand Out in the Crowd Dress!
I wore this dress for a luncheon fundraiser for the American Heart Association. It was perfect because it had red in it but not all-over red like most people wear. The pattern is amazing and everyone loved it! The 0 was pretty short and road up a bit when walking around, but the 2 was too big on top to go bra-less (with this dress being backless you couldn't wear a bra). Other than it riding up it was fantastic and I wish I could keep it! I stood out among the red outfits and received several compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2015
Beautiful design
The dress was a little on the small size which I knew so I sized up for my back up and ended up going with the 8. Rides up and is short on tall girls
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
May 18, 2015
Meh
Beautiful pattern but the fabric feels kind of cheap :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 18, 2015
"Walking art"
Loved the paint splatter look of this dress! I received many compliments but my favorite one was from 2 of the bride's aunts that I met at the wedding... They told me they loved the dress and that I looked like "walking art!" It was a fun dress for a beautiful wedding. I rented the 00 & the 0. The 00 fit PERFECTLY but I couldn't wear it because the zipper puckered as if someone had repaired it poorly. The 0 fit well enough for the most part but didn't fit as well as the smaller size... I had to use extra fabric tape but it all ended up fine. I always recommend ordering 2 sizes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2015
Sorry for the goofy pic!
I loved this dress! It was so classy and unique, the compliments never stopped. It runs a little small, but not that noticeable. Would definitely recommend this to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2015
perfect for graduation
This dress was great. The only problem i had with this dress was the length. It was a little too short.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 30

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×