Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1230 reviews
Fit
Large40
True to Size694
Small346
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 9, 2015
Perfect dress for a night out at my Stella & Dot conference in Las Vegas!
The dress is tight. I was worried about the "sticky" bra cup tape showing because of the cut from the back, but it didn't. It was perfect. The only drawback to this particular dress was that there was something weird going on with the hem. It was like there was no longer a hem and it kept folding at a different place instead of at the actual hem. This dress was perfect for a night out in Vegas!!! I got compliments on it all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 8, 2015
Very cute, true to size but very short! I the fabrics great soft and beautiful :)
Very cute, loved the dress, the fabric has a silk texture, the colors are , but had to use flats, it was super short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 8, 2015
Great dress, lots of color makes it easy to change up accessories.
I loved how there were so many colors in this dress that you could do almost anything with accessories. Two things to note. If you have narrow shoulders, you may have a hard time keeping the dress up. It was cut for shoulders that might be normal to broad. Also, the dress is pretty short. I would classify it as a mini dress. I wear short dresses frequently, but this was pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2015
It was a good dress. Very short for my taste. I was very distracted during the night by pulling down
Very short and clingy. Must have proper undergarments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2015
Didn't get many full body photos BUT this dress was great! Compliments all night and felt confident
Dress was a 'good' kind of tight. Very flattering and the low back but high neckline made it a sophisticated sexy. Only concern was it was a little short. I kept having to pull the dress down but that was a minor issue. Great colors and coordinated well with nude strappy heels. Would definitely recommend
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
August 3, 2015
So many compliments on this dress! Very comfortable. Makes a statement.
Great fit! Rides up a bit when walking, but a huge problem. Though this dress is such a "statement" piece, I wish I could buy it. So fun to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 3, 2015
Fun dress for a summer wedding!
I ordered this before finding out the wedding was going to be more casual, so I ended up wearing sandals with it. It is really stretchy and comfortable. Like all reviews have said it is very short, so watch out for that.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 2, 2015
.
Material is stretchy but not flattering on someone that isn't super skinny. I'm 5'1" and it was almost too short on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
July 31, 2015
Surprisingly comfortable! Would rent again
I LOVED this dress!!! Both sizes I rented fit, I ended up wearing the smaller size since it fit better in the shoulders. I was so surprised how comfortable it was! I felt amazing all night & received so many compliments. I'm already trying to find another reason to rent it again. Rent it, you won't regret it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
July 27, 2015
So many compliments!
I really loved this dress. One guest told me it was like a piece of art. The material was very easy to move in and light. I could not find a bra that worked with the back, so I went without, but it wasn't an issue due to the busy paternal in the front. I would definitely rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
July 27, 2015
Originally going to wear this dress for my birthday night out, instead wore it on a dinner date.
The dress is beautiful, and the material is thick enough so I could wear the dress comfortably without a bra. My only concern was that the dress would ride up a little while walking. Since I ended up wearing the dress to a less formal event than initially planned, I wore the dress with flats and so the length did not bother me much. I did not even try on the size 2 since the 4 fit so well.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
July 27, 2015
I wore this to my 30th birthday brunch and received compliments from everyone.
The color was fun and the open back added a wow factor. I'm 5'4" and a little curvy, so the dress did feel short at times, but all in all it was a great look! I included a picture of the back with heels to show the length of the dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 25, 2015
Received a ton of compliments!
I loved this dress! I am short and I always have a hard time finding dresses that fit short on me, but this one did the trick. The dress is tight and flattering, and the bright print is an eye catcher. My only complaint is that the open back (while beautiful and unique!), didn't lay flat against my back. I had to use dress tape to keep it from moving around all night, but it wasn't too big of a deal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129lbs
July 24, 2015
Great dress for a bachelorette party!
Dress is very short, but in a good way. The sleeves were falling down off my shoulders wish I would have gotten some double sided tape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
July 22, 2015
To all my girls shaped like boys- this dress will give you curves and make you feel hot!
Maybe a little short for tall girls, but I'm 5'6", and the length with heels was perfect. Received compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 21, 2015
amazing fit and a colorful standout dress!
Everyone was complimenting this dress, and I was even so excited when I took it out of the bag! The colors are very vibrant and you WILL catch everybody's eye. The shoulders can be a little loose (I got sizes 2 and 4, and the shoulders fit better in the 2--my usual size--but my tummy looked better in the 4) and the dress is more snug than most women would like, so I went a size up for a centimeter more of fabric, which was perfect. The back is hella sexy too, and I just felt so confident in this dress. I've been eyeing it for over a year, and wore it to the perfect occasion, and have no regrets! I'll likely rent it again for a non-wedding occasion, but it's terrific and I hope you enjoy wearing it as much as I did (getting down on the dance floor is no problem at all in it)!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
July 20, 2015
Night out in Vegas
Fits like a glove. So cute and the back being open gives it some sex appeal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 20, 2015
Great for a night out!
I loved this dress for a night out in South Beach. I am petite, but have a bigger bottom, so the size 0 was a little tighter on my butt than I felt comfortable with. Plus I decided to wear the 2 for a little bit more length. This dress is backless, and going braless is not an option for me at 42, so I wore a nu-bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
July 19, 2015
Runs very short. I'm 5'7'' and I had to keep pulling it down.
bodycon
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
July 18, 2015
Comfortable and Bright!
The dress has stretch to it and is figure flattering. I got a lot of compliments on the dress throughout the night. I loved the open back but it makes it really hard to wear a bra. So I went without one but I don't think you can tell. I also had to use double sided tape to keep the dress hang up straps from hanging out. Overall, good fit, comfortable and classy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2015
Worn for a Bridal Shower - beautiful colors, loved the back but it was short
I liked this dress and received many great compliments but it was not as comfortable as I hoped it would be. The back is pretty, and it fits true to size but I found myself tugging down on the dress throughout the party. It felt pretty short.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 16, 2015
My 18th Birthday
The dress is super comfortable and cute. I loved everything about it except that the material was kind of cheap.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2015
Show-Stopper! Received compliment after compliment.
I wore this dress to our couples shower. My grandfather was an abstract artist, and it looked just like something he would've painted. I would rent this dress again because it's flirty, fun, and unique. The fit on this dress was a bit odd. The 8 was way too tight across my hips, but fit well in the chest. The 10 fit my hips, but I had to watch that the shoulders/sleeves weren't falling down all night. I ended up wearing the 10 because the 8 was not comfortable from the waist down. Definitely size up on this dress! It is short, so be prepared for that, but I didn't have any problems with it being too short or riding up. A sticky bra is a must. I hope to rent this again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2015
Looked hot for a midwestern wedding
I wore this dress to the wedding of a college roommate. I was a little nervous as I approached the church seeing mostly ladies in floral prints and cardigans, but I got so many compliments on the dress from those same women. This dress ran slightly small, as others have noted. It is also very short. I am a petite woman and even I had to be fairly aware of where the hem was heading! Other than that the dress is fabulous. The colors are very vibrant. The fabric is substantial without feeling thick. I wore a black foundation garment, and it could not be seen even under the white sections.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 14, 2015
I have wanted to rent this dress for forever!!!
Definitely a tight fit and sexy but I love the fun colors and I got a lot of compliments. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 13, 2015
I wore this dress to a party and got a ton of compliments!
The shoulders slid down a bit so I had to be conscious of that but it was totally worth it. Loved the exposed back and the skirt sat at the perfect height for a flattering fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 13, 2015
So Bummed Because This Dress is Too Cute!
It was just too tight:( I'm usually a 10 and even the 12 was SOOO tight on the legs it just looked trashy. I will say that i have very muscular legs so I just think it wasn't the right fit for me. Wish it had worked though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 12, 2015
Loved the dress!
It was very comfy to wear because of the stretchy material. The only down side of the dress was it would ride up a little when walking but it wasn't a deal breaker.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 12, 2015
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments the night of the event and after with photos.
Fit true to size. Clearly, you cannot wear a traditional bra. It was a little short but that worked for the bachelorette party I was attending.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
July 9, 2015
Loved the back!
This dress was tight, but also very flattering! Runs a little small, I wore a size up. Tons of compliments and perfect for rehearsal dinner or fun party! Length is a short girl's dream ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
July 7, 2015
Bright colors and super flattering!
The original dress I ordered ended up not being available, so out of the three dress options I had to choose from, this was the winner for my sister's bachelorette party. It was too low in the back for me to wear a bra, but since I wasn't anticipating a dance party I just went without one. I think this is made for more of a straight and narrow gal, but it worked well with my curves, just needed to be pulled down as we walked from place to place. Overall I was happy and it looks great in pictures!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 6, 2015
Incredibly short
I'm usually not afraid of a short dress, but this was even too short for me. The bottom of the dress just came under my butt. Definitely not long enough for a wedding. Girls night out, maybe. But could never wear this to any thing formal.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
July 4, 2015
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party night on the town - it was great for that.
This dress is SHORT and I am TALL. I would never have been able to get away with this for a wedding or formal occasion - but I knew that and was just looking for something fun for a bachelorette that we were all dressing up for. I liked the dress - not so much that I'd rent it again but enough that I'm happy I wore it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
July 2, 2015
Fun - love the colors, but short and tight
It was a little shorter and tighter than the Slate and Willow silver/champagne one I'd rented before. Different fabric! That one was looser, while this one didn't have much give. Would have rented in a larger size if they'd had it available!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
July 1, 2015
I felt great in my dress at a wedding we attended.
Fit perfectly! I got so many compliments on the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 1, 2015
Awkward fit
Rented this for a night at the theater and immediately regretted my decision. I ordered a 2 and a 0 thinking that a 2 would be best and the 0 was for wishful thinking. The top part of the 2 was a bit too large and considering the back, no bra could be worn, so I put on the 0 to avoid a nip-slip. The top of the 0 fit perfectly, but the bottom was way too tight. I ended up looking like 5lbs of sugar in a 2lb bag and couldn't wear my Spanx because the top came up to high and showed in the back. Besides being incredibly tight, the skirt shimmied up every step I made - thank the lawd I was seated for most of the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 1, 2015
Easy and convenient!!
It was different material than I thought, it's stretchy and form fitting. I'm 5'3 and normally a size 2 but I went with the size 4 because it was longer and wasn't as tight on the butt. More appropriate for a wedding. Received several compliments and overall was happy with my experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 1, 2015
I wore this dress for a formal residency graduation dinner.
This dress was beautiful- fits great and true to size but it rides up so I went with the size 6 over the size 4 just to give me a few extra inches of length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2015
Not worn. Beautiful dress in person!
I had been eyeing this dress for a long time and looking for the perfect opportunity to rent it. It's beautiful in person, but the fit just wasn't right and it wasn't appropriate for my particular event. It definitely is short, but it was too tight around my hips. Maybe a size up would have been better, but it wasn't available at the time I rented. The sleeves were a little weird, too. I might give it another chance for a daytime event in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 30, 2015
Great dress, fun colors, original style
Usually wear a 4 in dresses. Wore size 6 in this one. The 4 would be great for a night in Vegas. The 6 better for the event I needed it for. The back is the best feature. The dress does ride up a little bit after you have been sitting, so be aware of that. I did have a girl recognize the dress and asked if I used RTR. I believe because it was so unique. Still worth it. I paired with nude heels and green bangle bracelets. With all the colors, you have many options for accessories.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
6 / 31

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×