Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1272 reviews
Fit
Large42
True to Size707
Small351
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 9, 2015
Perfect dress for a perfect night!
Beautiful dress that ran slightly big in that the back would sometimes lift up and crumple. Definitely short and did ride up a bit when I walked. The hem at the bottom was pressed slightly off. Otherwise, it was absolutely gorgeous - the colors were vibrant and I got compliments all night! Would highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 9, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Perfect for a night out in Miami
Wore this lovely dress out in Miami. It was awesome!! Love the bold colors!!! Fit was great. I ended up wearing the 00 (I'm usually a 0) but I didn't really fill out the top well. Ended up using sticky boobs and it looked and worked out great !! The back is awesome- would rent again!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 8, 2015
Wore this dress for my bridal shower by day and bachelorette party by night. Great 4 both occasions
The fit was snug in the hips which was great because it didn't ride up and the open back was a great surprise element.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
September 8, 2015
The dress was so much fun to wear!
The dress is made of a really stretchy fabric , so both the 10 and the 12 fit in their own way. I went with the 10 because it was more comfortable without a bra. The dress is short, but it stayed put so I was never afraid it would ride up.the cap sleeves can sit in a weird spot, but I got used to it pretty quickly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
September 4, 2015
I went to a pop up restaurant event hosted by an art group. It was upscale casual.
Dress fit great! The bottom had a lot of stretch, so if you are like me with a tiny waist and a booty (not really showcased in picture) - then size down! Fabulous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 4, 2015
date
loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2015
I LOVED this dress. It made me feel very hot. :)
Definitely short, but the 0 fit me better in the shoulders which was necessary.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2015
A total show-stopper!
The dress was perfect for a formal garden wedding! A total show-stopper! A little double-stick tape was helpful to keep the open back form-fitting. Wishing I owned the dress - fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
September 1, 2015
Wore this dress to a summer cocktail event and received a lot of compliments.
I am very petite, and usually wear a 00P. In this dress, I wore the 00 and it fit me very well. I pressed the dress so that the hem would lay right - I would recommend others doing this as I couldn't have worn the dress as received. The only reason I wouldn't give this dress 5 stars is due to the hem. I had to adjust it throughout the evening, which was not ideal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
September 1, 2015
Dress that stands out from the pack!
I have had this dress in my hearts for some time now. It looked sexy and fun and I loved all the bright colors on it. I know some people commented on how the sleeves were puffier than they thought they would be, I personally loved that feature. The dress is short, but I didn't find myself pulling it down all night. It is super tight around the stomach region, if that is not a feature you usually like to show off I would just keep that in mind. The good news is the bright colors/design does camouflage things a bit. Overall really beautiful and I would rent it again! I wore the dress with black pumps which I thought complimented it nicely. Would have loved to wear the dress with a bright shoe but nothing was really working for me. So black it was! I got quite a few compliments throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 31, 2015
Show stopper party dress!
The open back on this dress is killer. What I was no expecting is that the cut of this dress exaggerates any sort of weight you carry in your stomach. From the front everything looked awesome. From the side I looked like I was sporting a baby bump. It's a fun dress but not my favorite.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
August 31, 2015
Changed up the pace with the pops of color so the pictures from the night look great
The dress fit very well but was a little loose with the back cutout around the shoulders
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
August 31, 2015
Wore this to an art gallery wedding and it could not have been more perfect!
Didn't go 5 minutes without someone coming up to compliment this dress. Incredibly comfy! I went with the size 6 because it's shorter than I usually wear. Great thing is that with all the colors, you have a wide option of color shoes/purse to match with the dress. Love the low back and the sleeves were very pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 30, 2015
One of my favorite RTRs ever!
I love love LOVE this dress, wish I owned it. Backless and awesome
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2015
The print is phenomenal
The back gaps some with movement. The material was very wrinkled. The hem was not right, probably due to the material.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 27, 2015
Wore for a rehearsal dinner and got SO many compliments!
The 2 fit but was a little snug to be worn in church. Felt fabulous, has stretch so it moved well. Needed to use fashion tape in the back to keep it flush but otherwise PERFECT. I would buy this.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
August 26, 2015
Fun colors and design!
Holy short! Had I worn the 2, I would not have been able to move from my chair for fear of exposing something inappropriate. Thank goodness I got the 4- it was a tad loose in the waist and bust (I have small boobs) but overall a good fit. Only complaint: you raise an arm, the dress shifts up. You lower your arm, the dress does not shift down- so meant for frequent rearranging. But still fun and cute! Oh... and pink shoes (like on the model). Find a cheap pair- they make the whole outfit pop!
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Other
August 25, 2015
Sexy backless dress with splash of color
The color and design of the dress make it very unique. It's party in the front, and a bigger party in the back--as it is backless. I had so much fun in this dress. I wore it to a bachelorette party, which consisted of a wine tour, dinner, then a club. Compliments all day and all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
August 25, 2015
Beautiful, classy, sexy dress -- perfect cocktail dress!
I wore this dress to a summer wedding rehearsal dinner at a country club. Like most other reviewers have mentioned, it is tight fitting and tends to ride up with every step - so just be prepared to pull it down. I think it was pretty true to size - if I would have gone with the bigger size, it would have been too big on the shoulders. Of course it was tight on the thighs, butt and even a bit on my tummy, but not enough that it wasn't nice-fitting. It is a stretchy material, so you can make the size work. I wore closed toe, suede red pumps. I wanted to go with a high, open-toed heel but felt the dress needed at least one conservative touch since it was a wedding-related event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 24, 2015
Perfect NYC Bachelorette Dress
Absolutely loved this rental. Colors are vibrant and the back makes it so fun. Definitely a dress I wish I owned!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 24, 2015
I absolutely loved the look - bright & fun. Wore it for my college graduation.
Both dresses (0 & 2) seemed very worn out, the white part of the fabric was beige-greyish and the hem seemed like it had been altered a few times (visible in one of the photos) - didn't have that "clean cut" look. Overall I loved how it looked despite the details, it fits like a glove and the back is a fun surprise factor - not uncomfortable at all! Wore it without a bra and did not show.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 24, 2015
This dress is amazing -- and the back is to-die-for. Super happy overall.
The only downside I could pick out is the snug fit around the legs and hips. Since it is so stretchy and fitted, it likes to crawl up throughout the night. For that reason, I went up a size larger than I normally wear. But overall it was a killer dress, and I would totally rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2015
Had a great girls night out in NYC and loved wearing this dress!
Very flattering fit - great pattern and the back is awesome!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 23, 2015
Turn Some Heads with This One!
Wore this for my birthday celebration, and it was a great dress to go from a nice dinner to drinks out with friends. I got TONS of compliments, and everyone was saying how they had never seen a dress like it. Sexy, fun, flirty but still classy. I used some fashion tape on the back to help keep it in place because the size 8 was still a tad big on me in the top half. Dress has some stretch, so it wasn't too tight feeling or uncomfortable when you're sitting. Due to the open back, just wore some pasties. I am 5'5 - 5'6 with a short torso, and the dress hit about mid-thigh on me. You definitely lose some length when you sit, so keep that in mind when it comes to your underwear/Spanx. Would rent again in a heartbeat!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
August 23, 2015
I loved the pattern, it made the dress very unique. The open back was sexy too.
I have a very athletic build which forced me to get a size 6 in this dress so it would fit loose around my thighs and not ride up (normally I wear a size 2 or 4). I was careful about bending over but surprising comfortable dancing and sitting. This dress is, like other reviewers said, very short. So be prepared!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 23, 2015
Great customer service
Loved the colors! Little short but a fun dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
August 19, 2015
it was really great for a beauty work event i had to attend
the back is completely open, i wore a regular bra but a blazer over it + spanx
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
August 19, 2015
.
Gorgeous dress. Got tons of compliments. It was a bit big though, even in a size zero because of the open back. I had to fuss with it a lot because it would slide down my shoulders. Overall happy with it though.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2015
The detailing
Need to go a size up because of the length
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 18, 2015
The dress was a smash hit!!!
If you're in between a 0 and a 2, you'll probably go with the two. I have a smaller bust and I even opted out of wearing a bra with my size 2
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 17, 2015
This dress is perfect. Cute, sexy, and comfortable!
I loved this dress. Got a 2 and 4, wish I would have ordered a 0 and 2. The 2 fit but I'm small chested and since the back is open it felt a little loose in the shoulders. I bought an adhesive bra to help in that area and it worked great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2015
Date Night Perfection!
Super cute dress with vibrant colors. Like other reviewers said, it does tend to ride up, so I had to be conscious about pulling it down occasionally. I love wearing shorter dresses, so if you like a short dress this is the dress for you (and if you don't like short dresses then I don't recommend it). I wear a 0 or 2 in dresses generally, and the 0 fit very well, although even a double 0 could have possibly worked. Got compliments from men and women! .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2015
Great colors - fun cut!
Found that most of the reviews accurately summarize this dress. The fabric is thin & stretchy, and it is short. It is a great choice for a summer party, but will fit best on long/lean builds.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2015
Very colorful, fun dress!
I loved this dress! My boyfriend said it looked amazing and I received so many compliments on it, even from guy friends who normally never notice a thing. The material is a bit thinner than the other Slate & Willow dresses, but that wasn't a problem. It's stretchy material so there's some give to the dress. The only issue I had is that it was a little short. I had to pull the dress down every time I got up, but it was manageable. You won't regret renting this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34A
August 17, 2015
Loved this dress!
Loved it, but bee careful- it does have a tendency to ride up when you are dancing!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 17, 2015
Beautiful and fun
I am very petite and ususally have a hard time finding dresses that fit. this one was perfect. The 0 was a slight bit snug around the bum and thighs, but I am fairly athletic w/ strong quads, so its to be expected :) really fun dress- elegant neckline in front and the deep V back adds the perfect amount of sexiness
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 13, 2015
The colors and the fact that this dress was form fitting and backless!
Very short! But fantastic, comfortable material. Very flattering cut. I felt amazing all day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
August 12, 2015
Stunning dress - compliments all night long! Would rent again!
I'm a in-between size in general: small-medium, 4-6 - all depending on the brand.The 4 was "club" tight so I went with the 6 and was happy. I used invisible tape on the shoulders and had no slipping issues. If you dance all night plan to pull it down all night because it does ride up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 11, 2015
Birthday Party!
This dress was fabulous! I got so many compliments :) The dress fit almost perfectly. Would have liked it to be slightly longer by an inch or so, but otherwise loved the way it fit! The cap sleeves and backless make it very unique. Wore it to dinner and then out to bars afterwards. Because of the material it was definitely versatile and could be worn to a fancy club with heels or a up-scale bar with sandals as a birthday dress. The dress is backless and you can't wear a bra (or at least a normal one) with this dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 10, 2015
Wore the dress to a "Best of" event. Lots of compliments on the dress!
Got a lot of compliments on the dress!! The dress material was thin. A strapless bra is a must. I did think that it needed something in the waist line so I added a black ribbon. The dress ran small so I got a larger size. Was a perfect fit, any bigger and the shoulders would have fallen down.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
6 / 32

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×