Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

867 reviews

Fit
Small 289
True to Size 516
Large 26
Photos 594
susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was an amazing dress. It was comfortable (I was nervous about a backless dress) and I got a lot of compliments. I gave it one less "star" because the hem at the bottom was strange. On the hanger it looked fine but it did this bunching thing in the back that I wish it hadn't. BUT even with that, I would rent again bc I liked it so much. Also, I bought a sticky bra from RTR that worked perfectly.
Nadia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

This was my first dress with RTR and I can't wait for my next! Looks like the start to an addiction

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented size 2 and 4, but opted for the 4 because the 2 was pretty short. If I was wearing the dress to Vegas, no problem, but this was a wedding. I had no problem with the open back. The skirt road up a little but wasn't a hassle. Loved how colorful this dress was! Definitely not your dept store style dress! I felt for very fashion forward :)
Rina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

White & colorful for bachelorette party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm usually a 4 and the 4 fit fine. I was fitted and super short. I went a size up so the skirt wasn't so short, but even with a bigger size, the skirt still rode up. Still a fun dress, wore it for my Bach party. =)
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

Such an original dress with a sexy back! I felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Like others has said it was tight around the thighs and would ride up when I walked but I was sitting for most of my event so that didn't bother me very much. I loved the fun print and low back. It ran small and I usually wear a 4 but I went with the 6 because it was tight around the thighs. The fabric was stretchy and cool because my venue was hot. I would rent this dress again!
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

Fun little number!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress to the Essence music festival in New Orleans. Lots of compliments, particularly on the cut of the back. The other comments above the skirt riding up when walking around are true - I kept tugging mine down. I think that was an issue of the size probably being one too small for me - I got the 8 (which I couldn't zip up) and the 10, and probably should have really worn a 12. Still it was run and comfortable in the top, and perfect for a summer night out on the town. Would rent again in a bigger size. Due to the deep back you will definitely need an adhesive bra or something like that.
RTR Customer
Jul 6, 2014

Beautiful for an outdoor occasion!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros- gorgeous colors for an outdoor event. Photographs beautifully. Got lots of compliments Cons- runs small and tight around the bottom. If you are going for a more conservative look and fit, go a size up than you would normally wear. Be sure to tape the shoulders so sleeves don't fall. Loved this look! Really fun and different!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

Too short

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I typically look for shorter dresses...because I'm short and don't want the dress to fall at an awkward length. This one is the perfect length when you first put it on but as you wear it the hemline slowly creeps upward. Was something I was conscious of the entire evening and was distracting. It's also of a much flimsier fabric...more spandex-ey than I had imagined which combined with the short length made it feel less classy. Overall I love the colors and the open back, but I wouldn't rent it again. Not the quality of dress I'm used to from RTR.
Army
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

GORGEOUS DRESS!!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I LOVE THIS DRESS. I wish I could just outright own it. It actually fits true-to-size (I'm a 4 and 4 fit perfectly) and I didn't have any issues w/the sleeves falling off my shoulders as I have fairly athletic and broad shoulders. I also didn't have to wear a bra with it (but I'm only a 34B). I paired this with my raspberry suede pumps for a date. It would look cute with flats as well for the daytime. I wouldn't recommend it if you aren't confident about how your back looks though (lol) because all eyes will be on you when you're wearing this dress!!
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 8, 2014

LOVED THIS DRESS. Was so perfect for a Vegas girls trip.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Runs a bit smaller so def order a size up as a back up size. Its super comfortable and great to dance in!
Audra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Tons of compliments on this fun dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. The dress is a little short, especially when sitting, but still felt appropriate for a late summer wedding. Loved this rental!
Kris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Sexy and fun party dress that held everything in place!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my friend's birthday party where three of us rented dresses from RTR! We went to dinner at a nice downtown restaurant and then to a hot dance club. This dress fit both venues perfectly! It was classy with the high neck in the front and super sexy with the open back! I wore the 8 only because it would let me move better when dancing. Also, the dress is quite short so the 8 had a little longer length. The only con is that because of the short length and the stretch to the dress, it rode up when I was dancing (although I don't always tend to dance lady like). I received tons of compliments all night and everyone said that my RTR dress was the best!!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Such a fun dress! Perfect for my anniversary dinner

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved the bright Colors in this dress and the back was super sexy. The 4 fit perfectly although as others have mentioned it does ride up when you walk around which was a little annoying. Overall a really stunning flattering dress
courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Such a fun dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The colors in this dress are outstanding! The hips fit just a slight bit tight but other than that it was perfect! The length was great on me also! Will definitely be renting again.
kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Loved the dress! Run's small, and short.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress! Run's small, and short.
cdagorn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Gorgeous dress for summer cocktail party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I got compliments even walking down the street. Lightweight material. Sleeves were a little big and the hanger straps were a nuisance but I used garment tape and taped them inside the dress. Wish I owned it I would wear it again and again!
Alyssa
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 13, 2014

An amazing dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding (catholic ceremony, outdoor reception in July). I read other reviews and saw how it ran small. I received both the 2 & 4 and decided to go with the 4. I used cups that stick on the side (I'm a 34a) just to give me a little extra definition ;) and that worked perfectly with this being a backless dress. The only reason why I did not give this dress 5 stars is because sometimes the sleeves felt as though they would slide off and that was bothersome. I honestly could not see a size difference between the 2 or 4 (and either could my roomie) so I just went with the bigger size. As the night went on the fabric did give a little so that's something to consider if your size is up for debate! You'll receive so many compliments and will definitely want to keep this in your closet! I loved wearing it :)
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 13, 2014

Fun dress for a fun wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fit a bit small, had to keep tugging it down, but they couldn't send my backup size. So many compliments though, and the RTR customer service was incredible!!
Jesse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Beautiful colors for a fun bachelorette night on the town!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party. The colors were beautiful and bold and fit the mood of the night perfectly. The length was perfect and made my legs feel sexy. The back of this dress really flaunts the back and gives you an extra sexy feel. The material was comfortable and very easy to move in and it fit my shape well. It was slightly loose in the shoulders, but caused no problem at all. I felt very high fashioned in this dress when paired with a black stiletto and red lipstick. It's tough to find a bra for this dress, I recommend the plastic cutlets found at Victoria's Secret, or if you can.. Go bra-less! I did and the girls were held in place perfectly!
Lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Crazy fun

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fun dress to wear. Tons of compliments. The size 2 was pretty perfect but, I probably could have fit into the size 4 and been a little bit more comfy.
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 14, 2014

I sent a stylist my shoes and she helped picked a dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was definitely out of my comfort zone as I tend to wear a lot of black and flowy dresses so the color and tighter fit was a change. It's a beautiful dress and the shoulders do fall a bit as others have said. It's shorter than I expected so I was pulling it down a bit. I would certainly recommend this dress! Get your backup size a size up just to be safe.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Awesome colors! Great open back!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Stretchy and great for dancing!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

The dress was gorgeous, perfect for the event! Loved the open back.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this as a guest at a beach wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. The dress fits pretty true to size. The dress is a little short, which I was fine with, but it is something to be aware of. The dress was just snug enough that I didn't have to worry about wearing any pasties or a bra.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

AMAZING colors, and a sexy back :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress had been my backup dress for a wedding I was attending, but I ended up wearing it the night before because I loved it (even though it was a touch too short for me to wear to a wedding). The colors were amazing and I loved the back and the dress was so comfortable. I didn't wear a bra and I was nervous about that (since I have a larger chest) but I felt very well supported. I loved the dress. I would definitely wear it again if it was mine!! Everyone was asking where I got it!
irma
Age: 27
Jul 15, 2014

Lovely dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The overall fit was good, the top area was a little too big but overall it was good.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

This is a gorgeous dress that while a little short, fits very comfortably for a long night

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am absolutely obsessed with this dress and did not want to return it. I liked the length of the 4 a bit more, but I am small up top so it was too loose. I had to wear the 2, but through on a pair of shorts underneath and felt okay all night. I did have to pull it down a few times because it does ride but the dress is absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend this one and am just trying to find an excuse to rent it again!!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

The dress was very flattering !

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Used a backless bra and all was fine. The shoulders were a little big, but the dress was so comfortable. So happy with it. Received complements all night.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

The colors are so vibrant! I received so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is so fun, the colors are bright and the print is beautiful! The cut of the dress is easy to wear and very flattering. The back of the dress is gorgeous, but you cannot wear a normal strapless bra with it. This dress is one of my favorite rentals so far and I would absolutely rent this dress again! I paired it with black pumps, gold jewelry and added a pop of color with my earrings.
Pilley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 18, 2014

I love this dress, so much fun and even better in person!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I typically wear a size 4, ordered a 6 by accident it was a little big but still fit ok. I would love to own this dress
Lynzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Pretty dress for my rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up wearing the 10 despite the 8 fitting as well. I went up a size because I didn't like the fit on the lower half with the 8. The back is super sassy and overall I really likes it. Material is thick but not the kind that adds bulk. Plus I felt like it really nipped in my waist.
TAY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Too bad I didn't have a better event to wear this to!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm a pro member, so I got a free birthday dress rental and this is the one I selected. Too bad I didn't really have any big event to wear it to. My birthday activities were kind of bland this year. ( I got a kitten and stayed in most of the week) However, I did get a chance to wear this out for a last minute dinner with my friend, and I really did love it. A little short, I kept pulling it down often, but I just loved the look of it. I opted to go with the smaller size (2) because I liked that it was tighter on my chest (since you most definitely cannot wear a bra with this dress) and felt like it was a little more supportive. The picture above doesn't do it the justice that it deserves.
Rachelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

NOT a fave :-(

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was really excited about this dress, but once I tried it on, I became very let down. It looks beautiful, and I love the colors and the cut looks amazing on the model, but it just didn't feel right and it wasn't comfortable at all. It's huge on the top and extremely tight on the bottom. I spent the entire day pulling it down and adjusting the back to keep it from falling off my shoulders. I wasn't comfortable in this dress at all and couldn't wait to get home to take it off. It's a shame because if it just fit better on top and wasn't so tight and didn't ride up all the time, I could have easily loved this dress.
Dalit
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

This dress was fun! Received lots if compliments and even more looks.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
From reading the reviews, I ordered a 4 and 6. I wore the 4, but I could have worn a 2. The 4 fit true to size. Was not tight on me. I'm 5'6 and athletic. The only issue I had was that the dress bunched on the zipper side. Overall was a fun, bright dress.
Danielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

This gorgeous dress will give you plenty of compliments and fit like a glove!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for a soiree and was nervous that my back-up size (2) was unavailable for the date. I rented another dress just in case, but absolutely did not need it. I fell in love with this dress the moment I saw it online and all over again when I put it on. The fit is perfectly true to size and the colors are as vibrant and fun as pictured. I wore a sticky bra since the back is open and would highly recommend investing in some fashion tape to keep down the hanger straps and keep the sleeves/back in place (I bought fashion tape from RTR and it worked fabulously). To play down all of the colors, I paired the dress with a black clutch and black heels. I can't say enough how much I loved this dress and wish I could have kept it. You'll definitely receive a lot of compliments in it (from guys and girls alike).
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

COMPLIMENTS ALL NIGHT LONG!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The back of the dress is amazing. You need a sticky bra. Dress was perfect for a summer wedding. The only con- it rises up often, but not regrets. My favorite RTR rental.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Didn't wear it

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a really cool dress, wish I could've made it work. Just too short and right for my taste- and it rides up A LOT.
bree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

I felt SO confident!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and it was AWESOME. I think every woman has one of those moments where she puts on a piece of clothing and instantly feels an attitude change. That was this dress for me. I am generally comfortable with my body, but often have a hard time finding things at the mall that actually fit my slim frame. Especially up top where I'm pretty narrow. But when I put on this dress I knew I would feel great all night. I even went for the larger size! The OO was a little too tight in the hips for me. The dress I wore fit perfectly. I had to use some double sided tape in the shoulders, and had a teensy issue keeping it pulled down, but it was worth it. I wore a nu-bra with it. I ordered a super padded one, and I'm so glad I got it! Unfortunately the wedding took place on an EXTREMELY humid day so I could feel the bra slipping at time. Luckily, this dress was so easy to quick slip down in the bathroom so I was able to reposition the bra between the ceremony and the reception. I felt a little sassy wearing it to a wedding but I got so many compliments. My only regret...I didn't get a picture of the back! Maybe someday I'll rent again. ;)
meghan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Eye-catching color that received compliments from all!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I typically wear (or have to get tailored) a 00. The 00 in this dress was fantastic, except for my normal "issue area"- the waist (I'm around 22-23"). It was slightly baggy where the low back and skirt fabric met for me, so I took a chance and threw on a skinny belt. I actually loved the dress even more so afterwards! I thought the break between colors really accentuated my figure. Worn with a bun, colorful long earrings, crystal bracelet, and bright blue Aldo pumps.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Jul 24, 2014

Flawless dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The backless dress gives the dress enough appeal without being revealing
Sasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

Sexy, Fun, bright colors, open back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the open back! Was worried about a bra, but I have size C and I didn't need a bra! Very well made dress. Loved the colors and it was a unique dress. Wore it for my birthday dinner and got lots of compliments! Would definitely rent this dress again!
Lissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 176 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

As usual, customer service was a gem!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I've been DYING to find an excuse to wear this bad boy! I wore it on a boat cruise and received a ton of compliments. This dress is definitely tight and short but totally worth the lack of food intake leading up to wearing! ;)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×