Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1214 reviews
Fit
Large39
True to Size687
Small344
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
July 20, 2015
Night out in Vegas
Fits like a glove. So cute and the back being open gives it some sex appeal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 20, 2015
Great for a night out!
I loved this dress for a night out in South Beach. I am petite, but have a bigger bottom, so the size 0 was a little tighter on my butt than I felt comfortable with. Plus I decided to wear the 2 for a little bit more length. This dress is backless, and going braless is not an option for me at 42, so I wore a nu-bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
July 19, 2015
Runs very short. I'm 5'7'' and I had to keep pulling it down.
bodycon
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
July 18, 2015
Comfortable and Bright!
The dress has stretch to it and is figure flattering. I got a lot of compliments on the dress throughout the night. I loved the open back but it makes it really hard to wear a bra. So I went without one but I don't think you can tell. I also had to use double sided tape to keep the dress hang up straps from hanging out. Overall, good fit, comfortable and classy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 16, 2015
Worn for a Bridal Shower - beautiful colors, loved the back but it was short
I liked this dress and received many great compliments but it was not as comfortable as I hoped it would be. The back is pretty, and it fits true to size but I found myself tugging down on the dress throughout the party. It felt pretty short.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 16, 2015
My 18th Birthday
The dress is super comfortable and cute. I loved everything about it except that the material was kind of cheap.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2015
Show-Stopper! Received compliment after compliment.
I wore this dress to our couples shower. My grandfather was an abstract artist, and it looked just like something he would've painted. I would rent this dress again because it's flirty, fun, and unique. The fit on this dress was a bit odd. The 8 was way too tight across my hips, but fit well in the chest. The 10 fit my hips, but I had to watch that the shoulders/sleeves weren't falling down all night. I ended up wearing the 10 because the 8 was not comfortable from the waist down. Definitely size up on this dress! It is short, so be prepared for that, but I didn't have any problems with it being too short or riding up. A sticky bra is a must. I hope to rent this again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2015
Looked hot for a midwestern wedding
I wore this dress to the wedding of a college roommate. I was a little nervous as I approached the church seeing mostly ladies in floral prints and cardigans, but I got so many compliments on the dress from those same women. This dress ran slightly small, as others have noted. It is also very short. I am a petite woman and even I had to be fairly aware of where the hem was heading! Other than that the dress is fabulous. The colors are very vibrant. The fabric is substantial without feeling thick. I wore a black foundation garment, and it could not be seen even under the white sections.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 14, 2015
I have wanted to rent this dress for forever!!!
Definitely a tight fit and sexy but I love the fun colors and I got a lot of compliments. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 13, 2015
I wore this dress to a party and got a ton of compliments!
The shoulders slid down a bit so I had to be conscious of that but it was totally worth it. Loved the exposed back and the skirt sat at the perfect height for a flattering fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 13, 2015
So Bummed Because This Dress is Too Cute!
It was just too tight:( I'm usually a 10 and even the 12 was SOOO tight on the legs it just looked trashy. I will say that i have very muscular legs so I just think it wasn't the right fit for me. Wish it had worked though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 12, 2015
Loved the dress!
It was very comfy to wear because of the stretchy material. The only down side of the dress was it would ride up a little when walking but it wasn't a deal breaker.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 12, 2015
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments the night of the event and after with photos.
Fit true to size. Clearly, you cannot wear a traditional bra. It was a little short but that worked for the bachelorette party I was attending.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
July 9, 2015
Loved the back!
This dress was tight, but also very flattering! Runs a little small, I wore a size up. Tons of compliments and perfect for rehearsal dinner or fun party! Length is a short girl's dream ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
July 7, 2015
Bright colors and super flattering!
The original dress I ordered ended up not being available, so out of the three dress options I had to choose from, this was the winner for my sister's bachelorette party. It was too low in the back for me to wear a bra, but since I wasn't anticipating a dance party I just went without one. I think this is made for more of a straight and narrow gal, but it worked well with my curves, just needed to be pulled down as we walked from place to place. Overall I was happy and it looks great in pictures!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 6, 2015
Incredibly short
I'm usually not afraid of a short dress, but this was even too short for me. The bottom of the dress just came under my butt. Definitely not long enough for a wedding. Girls night out, maybe. But could never wear this to any thing formal.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
July 4, 2015
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party night on the town - it was great for that.
This dress is SHORT and I am TALL. I would never have been able to get away with this for a wedding or formal occasion - but I knew that and was just looking for something fun for a bachelorette that we were all dressing up for. I liked the dress - not so much that I'd rent it again but enough that I'm happy I wore it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
July 2, 2015
Fun - love the colors, but short and tight
It was a little shorter and tighter than the Slate and Willow silver/champagne one I'd rented before. Different fabric! That one was looser, while this one didn't have much give. Would have rented in a larger size if they'd had it available!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
July 1, 2015
I felt great in my dress at a wedding we attended.
Fit perfectly! I got so many compliments on the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 1, 2015
Awkward fit
Rented this for a night at the theater and immediately regretted my decision. I ordered a 2 and a 0 thinking that a 2 would be best and the 0 was for wishful thinking. The top part of the 2 was a bit too large and considering the back, no bra could be worn, so I put on the 0 to avoid a nip-slip. The top of the 0 fit perfectly, but the bottom was way too tight. I ended up looking like 5lbs of sugar in a 2lb bag and couldn't wear my Spanx because the top came up to high and showed in the back. Besides being incredibly tight, the skirt shimmied up every step I made - thank the lawd I was seated for most of the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 1, 2015
Easy and convenient!!
It was different material than I thought, it's stretchy and form fitting. I'm 5'3 and normally a size 2 but I went with the size 4 because it was longer and wasn't as tight on the butt. More appropriate for a wedding. Received several compliments and overall was happy with my experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 1, 2015
I wore this dress for a formal residency graduation dinner.
This dress was beautiful- fits great and true to size but it rides up so I went with the size 6 over the size 4 just to give me a few extra inches of length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2015
Not worn. Beautiful dress in person!
I had been eyeing this dress for a long time and looking for the perfect opportunity to rent it. It's beautiful in person, but the fit just wasn't right and it wasn't appropriate for my particular event. It definitely is short, but it was too tight around my hips. Maybe a size up would have been better, but it wasn't available at the time I rented. The sleeves were a little weird, too. I might give it another chance for a daytime event in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 30, 2015
Great dress, fun colors, original style
Usually wear a 4 in dresses. Wore size 6 in this one. The 4 would be great for a night in Vegas. The 6 better for the event I needed it for. The back is the best feature. The dress does ride up a little bit after you have been sitting, so be aware of that. I did have a girl recognize the dress and asked if I used RTR. I believe because it was so unique. Still worth it. I paired with nude heels and green bangle bracelets. With all the colors, you have many options for accessories.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2015
Not for my body Type
This is a very pretty dress but just not for my body Type. I'm a very curvy girl and the material snagged around the bottom hem. Not from being tight around the Hem but from maybe being form fitting around the hips/behind. The top was true to size. I also tried on the size 8 which was too big overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 29, 2015
Flirty dress that shows a lot of skin!
The top was really big and the shoulders kept falling down. I used some tape to keep them in place, so it worked out fine. The dress fit really well on the bottom, but the material was really stretchy and comfy. I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 29, 2015
Mostly happy
I rented this dress for my bachelorette where everyone else wore all white. When I got the dress I was nervous because it is not a true white, more of a light grey than white but the colors were bright and the back was great so I still loved it. It definitely runs big and I wish I would have ordered the 00 but the 0 was fine. The only thing that really bothered me about the dress was the hem at the bottom of the dress was weird, like someone had rolled it and hemmed it. It didn't lay flat even after trying to iron it. It wasn't noticeable unless you knew it was there. The dress ended up being perfect for the Bach party and overall I was happy with my rental
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 29, 2015
I wore this dress for one of my bridal showers in March 2015.
I loved the bright cheerful colors of this dress. It was a little short for my liking/event but I wasn't too concerned. I got so many compliments on it via in person and social media. I got the 0 and the 2 and ended up wearing the 0. The overall fit was great. I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
June 28, 2015
Wore it to a summer wedding. It was so hot, I put my hair up, which actually accentuated the back.
Had a bit of stretch, which made it incredibly comfortable. No bra necessary. Would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 28, 2015
Loved the fit, was comfortable on and not another boring dress
Fit true to size, and was so comfortable on! Loved the fabric and the look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
June 27, 2015
Compliments and head turns all night!!
I received compliments all night saying how the dress was made for me and that it looked like a piece of art. Wish I could've kept it! First time renting from RTR and will be renting again! Pros -Material was light and breathable all while keeping everything together. Dress was stretchy which allowed dancing all night. Cons - Finding a bra that would work for this and dress is a little on the short side and tends to ride up when walking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 26, 2015
Fun dress!
This dress is so much fun! I rented it for my friend's bachelorette party but ended up wearing my back up dress. I rented a size 8 and my back up size, 10. The 8 fit like a glove but the zipper was coming away from the seam and I didn't want to take a chance on a wardrobe malfunction. The 10 ended up being too big to wear. I Will rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
June 26, 2015
Compliments all night long!!
I am a small female and loved every detail about the dress with the exception of the fit in the shoulders. The 0 was a little to large across the shoulders. A little fashion tape probably could have helped due to the back detail, but I was constantly pulling at it all night. Other than that, what a fantastic and amazing dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
June 25, 2015
Love the look. Fit was only OK.
Loved loved loved the print. Perfect for my friend's wedding shower. Fit wasn't great though. Had to keep pulling down so it didn't bunch up and fit near shoulders was a little awkward. Might fit better on smaller chested girls. Perhaps a size up would have fit a little better. Loved the back though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2015
Such a great dress for a summer wedding
LOVED this dress! Got so many compliments at the wedding! Splashes of color really accented the dress. Does ride up a bit but still was so flattering. Not tight on the arms and I did not need to wear a bra. Loved the back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2015
The back of the dress is very beautiful.
I too had a problem with the shoulders sliding down but it wasn't a huge issue; overall the dress fit very well. The only other complaint I have is that the hem line made the dress look wrinkled and uneven, other than that I received a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 22, 2015
Fabulous dress for any day event!
Really great fit and a stunning back. The dress was super comfortable and I got tons of compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2015
Love, love, loved this dress! It was super comfortable and perfect for the wedding! Would rent again
After reading some of the reviews I bought body tape and didn't have a problem at all with the straps falling down. It was the perfect length for me, which can be hard to find because I am not the tallest. No cons with the dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
June 22, 2015
Perfect dress for a summer wedding
The colors of this dress were my favorite, it photographed so well. Wore it to a friends outdoor wedding- open back was perfect for the heat. Fits true to size. I did use fashion tape for the back based on some reviews but it wasn't super necessary. Got a lot of compliments, all in all it was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 22, 2015
I absolutely love this dress! I would love to own it!
A little fashion tape to hold the back in place and you'll be good to go! I love the color of this dress. There is a cute pucker detail on the sleeves that you don't notice in pictures. Super comfortable dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 31

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×