Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $55 rental?
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1372 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(742)
Small
(366)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 20, 2014
Gorgeous, especially the back!
This was such a fun rental for bar-hopping after our engagement party. The colors really popped and the open back was just the right amount of sexy. However, the fit was really strange. I tried it on first in the showroom in SoHo and they only had a size 10. It seemed to fit okay but the hem at the bottom was bubbling. The stylist said it runs extremely small and I might even need a 12, so we ordered the 10 with 12 as backup size. However, when I got the dresses at home, both hems had the bubbling effect and I was swimming in the 12. I went with the 10 and I think the hem problem was not so noticeable. Now I wish I had tried an 8, as the material is soft and stretchy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 24, 2014
The dress was perfect for a wedding. I could dance and move around with ease!
Loved the back of the dress! I received many compliments. The overall fit was true to size, but the hip area was a little tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 25, 2014
amazing cocktail dress
So super comfy, love the vibrant colors and sexy back. It was sexy without being too revealing, everything I was looking for. I was a 2 but wore the 4 because I wanted a looser fit. My dress didn't ride up but I can see how it would have if I wore the 2. Would def reorder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 25, 2014
Comfortable, cute and sexy all in one!
Loved everything about it! It ended up being a cold night so I paired it with sheer black nylons and it still looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 26, 2014
Great dress for my Couples Party! Everyone complimented on it.
Runs just a little small, the 4 fit but tended to ride up. The dress was more on the short side, so the 6 worked better for the length. Great dress overall, super comfy!! #RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 30, 2014
Very cute dress for my bridal shower!
The butt and hips was snug in the 2 while the upper half for well. The 4 was just a tad big but overall very comfy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 30, 2014
Stunning dress!
I rented this as my free birthday dress, and wore it to Chicago's Violet Hour for drinks with a friend. The dress itself is stunning, and our cocktail waitress immediately complimented the bright colors and the way it looks "painted." The length is just right, and the fit through the bodice was glorious for smaller-busted girls... I could easily wear this dress without a bra without feeling like I needed extra support. The architectural cut of the back is quite fetching. All in all, I think the dress is darling, and my ONLY complaint is that it seems a bit too snug on the bottom ... and it tends to ride up because of that. If you have hips or a butt, maybe consider sizing up a bit if you don't want to be adjusting the skirt all the time. Thanks for a great first experience, RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2014
Too small, too short
The dress would have been beautiful if I was petite.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 31, 2014
Not only was this dress flattering, but it looked great in pictures too!
The fit was true to size and very comfortable to wear all night.
LaurenJuly 30, 2014
Hey! i know this is a long shot - but do you happen to know where you got your earrings? i love them with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2014
Nice dress
The colors on this dress and the backless detail were beautiful. That being said, the dress was really tight. I ordered a 2 and a 0. I ended up wearing the 2 but honestly wished I had gotten a bigger size. I think its because it is made of a stretchy material that is form fitting no matter what size you get, which also caused it to ride up when I was walking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 1, 2014
I absolutely love the colors in this dress!
It was a little right around the cap sleeves but other than that I love the dress! It is comfortable and stretchy.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2014
PERFECT Birthday Party Dress!
Wore this out for my 30th birthday party and it was the perfect dress! Received so many compliments and showed just the right amount of skin with a fun colorful pattern. Would love to own this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 3, 2014
Sooo close!
I really really wanted this dress to work. I love the print and the low back, but the material is slinky, which means it shows EVERYTHING. Given the low cut of the back, I couldn't get away with wearing spanx, and given the tight fit I couldn't get away without wearing spanx. When I finally lose 10 lbs, I will definitely be renting this dress. Highly recommend for confident body types!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
April 6, 2014
Picked this dress for my 26th birthday dinner! I felt like a million bucks!
Perfect fit! Low back so i had to wear a sticky bra (no big deal). Beautiful, bright colors! Extremely soft and comfy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 6, 2014
Beautiful print
Shows every single stomach imperfection so I couldn't wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 6, 2014
Great, fun dress! Easy to dress up or wear in a casual setting with sandals.
The fit was great, stretchy material. It was on the shorter side, so I had to pull it down a lot. I would definitely recommend it though. I wore it for my rehearsal dinner, which was on the casual side so I was able to pair it with gold sandals. It also loved it so much I put it on at the end of my wedding night when I got tired of wearing my wedding dress!! Not planned, but worked out!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2014
Really cute!
I would have given this dress all 5 stars if not for the funky size. The 2 was tight around my hips but fit my bust & shoulders perfectly. The 4 was loose up top but fit below. This is definitely contrary to my usual fit since my hips are pretty narrow compared to my 34C top. I ended up wearing the 4 because I knew I was going to have a big meal and wanted to make sure I wore the more forgiving size ;) But, I do wish I wore the 2 because the 4 stretched through the night & by the end, my shoulders were coming off (slightly annoying and didn't look as cute). Another thing to note: the dress is a lot thinner than it looks in pictures! Keep it mind for undergarments. All in all, it was perfect for a sassy date night out on the town (it's also sexier than it looks in pictures)! I got lots of compliments on it! The color was amazing in person.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
April 8, 2014
The colors were great!
I am 5'8" and this dress was BARELY long enough. I almost didn't wear it. The four fit a little better in the butt, but it was too loose on the top so I went with the 2. It ended up being a good choice but I don't think I would rent the dress again. The fit just isn't ideal for someone tall. The line that should go through the waiste hit a little high which I thought made it look off balance. In the both pictures, my best friend is wearing the same dress in nude sequins.... She is 5'4" and you can see that it was a better fit for length on someone her size.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
April 9, 2014
Everybody loved this dress and complimented me all night.
The dress was gorgeous, with stretchy, breathable material. The colors were vibrant and the cut was super flattering. Similar to other reviews, the bottom half of the dress was significantly tighter than the top half, but I attribute this to my build more than a garment or design deficiency. It also did ride up as I was walking, however, it wasn't obnoxious. The size 0 and 2 were incredibly similar in fit. The shoulders and back were the only real difference, as they were much looser in the size 2. I was so comfortable and felt so confident in the dress. The low back made me feel fancy and sexy, without looking trashy. This was such a fantastic dress and made my 24th birthday celebration even more of a joy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 11, 2014
Love this dress! Many compliments!
This is a really great dress! The colors are beautiful and the back is amazing. It is true to size, but I went up to the 2 because I was at a moderately conservative wedding and the 0 fit more like a body con on my legs. Like others have said, I did have issues with the top being too big and the shoulders falling down, but nothing a little double sided tape couldn't fix!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 11, 2014
I wore this to a wedding in my hometown.
The cut was a little short for my long legs but I did like the open back. Honestly, I wasn't as wowed with the dress as I thought I was going to be but it served its purpose for the evening. The shots are from the photo booth and aren't the greatest since they don't show my entire body but they do capture the spirit of the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 11, 2014
Wore this awesome dress for a welcome dinner for a wedding in NOLA
Runs true to size, loved the open back. I didn't have any issues with the sleeves falling down or really any fit issues. Would love to have kept it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 12, 2014
Amazing in person
I LOVED this dress. The colors are bright and fun and all I needed was a clutch and earrings to accessorize. I'm 5'9" and lotsa leg so yes, it was pretty short as many reviews have said. I sized up from my usual 4 to a 6 for just that little bit of length. But I managed and just had to be really mindful of how I moved. Great great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 12, 2014
All the compliments I received on this dress.
This dress turns heads. It is gorgeous, especially from the back. The print on the back definitely flatters even a less than perky backside! Beware, it IS short and it DOES ride up as you walk. Worth it though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 13, 2014
The fabric is so comfortable!!
Loved this dress!! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it was incredibly comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2014
Big on top, tight in the hips
This is a really pretty dress--I was so excited to wear it for my birthday--but I ended up not being able to wear it because it was way too big on top (it fell off my shoulders) and way too tight in the hips. This is not a great dress for girls with hour glass or pear shapes unless you have narrow hips and a larger bust.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 15, 2014
I wore this for a school dance. I am a junior in high school.
I should have ordered a 0 and a 2, but listened to others reviews and thought it ran small. It runs large or true to size. A 2 was too big, but I had to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
April 15, 2014
Nailed it! Voted Best Dressed Guests at the wedding.
Fit great! The waist hit me in exactly the right spot. The open back was a sexy compliment to the conservative front. And the mini didn't ride up while dancing the night away! Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 16, 2014
The colors are fantastic - the open back is edgy
This was a very fun dress, however it WILL ride up when dancing. It's a pretty short dress and I'm a short girl. Tall ladies: please be mindful of the length of the dress. It's form-fitting but comfortable. I went a size up just for a little more comfort and movement. You can get your regular size, but it may be a little tight in the hips/hiney area. I received a TON of compliments. I dressed it with sum royal blue pumps and mint colored earrings.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
April 18, 2014
Pretty!
It is very short I normally wear a 4/6 but glad I got 8 as a back up otherwise it would've been too short. It was very pretty and I got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 19, 2014
everyone loved this dress!
the back is amazingly classy/sexy and the pattern is fun and unique. everyone will be complimenting you :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2014
I wish I could keep it!
This is a beautiful, fun dress! The colors pop and the fabric was soft with some stretch. Form fitting, and stayed that way. I wore it to my going-away party! I am very tall (5’10”) and slender. I could have worn a 2, but it probably would have been way too short. I thought the length of the 4 worked well for the occasion, but if I had been dancing it definitely would have ridden up. Due to reviews I ordered the 6 as a back-up; too big. I also have broad shoulders, so the cap sleeves stayed in place. I suggest using fashion tape if you ever have problems with backless tops staying in place. I wore an adhesive, backless bra - $25 at Target. It worked great! I am so glad I rented this dress. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2014
You can't avoid a fun night/ day in this dress!
The dress was much tighter and shorter than I had expected. I wore this for Easter and it was a tad uncomfortable at church, but great for brunch and the get together to follow. The dress is definitely eye catching and makes you feel fantastic! Definitely rent this for your next fun occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
April 21, 2014
Fun, colorful dress
I wore this dress for my birthday and felt beautiful. I wore a stick on bra because the back is too low cut for a normal bra. I got several complements on it. The hanging loops are attached in such a way that they tend to show. I tucked them towards the front, but one kept trying to peek through the sleeve opening. Also, because of the way the back is cut, it tends to feel like it's slipping off your shoulders (it's not, though.) The hem on both the size 4 and size 6 don't lay flat on arrival, but with a little gentle tugging, I was able to get it to cooperate. I would definitely rent this dress again. It was perfect for a slightly dressed up occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2014
TIGHT
This dress is beautiful in person, but it is waaay too tight for girls with hips like me. I could not even get the larger size on, much less my usual size (6). If you have hips and a booty, this may not be the dress for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2014
Great Birthday Dress
I loved this rental. I received so many compliments on it! The back is lower than I was expecting but loved it. This was a great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
April 22, 2014
Fit's weird.
The sleeves are VERY puffy, and the dress rides up on the hips. The material is very thin and shows everything so wear seamless undergarments. I don't think I had enough hips to fill the dress out, so if you're petite, you may want to consider that too.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 27, 2014
This dress showed how much weight I've lost and it really allowed me to make an entrance.
I'm a pretty traditional person and I dress pretty conservatively, but I wanted to do something out of the box for my senior banquet. This was the dress that did the job. I've lost 20 pounds in the past 8 months so I wasn't sure of my size anymore. I used to be a size 16, but I ordered a size 12. I was so worried it wasn't going to fit, I actually bought a back up dress just in case. However, when I got this dress in the mail, before I even tried it on, I prayed it would fit. The colors were so vibrant and the design is so classic, but modern. I just feel in love with it! I was worried about the length, but it was great! It's on the shorter side, but I loved it! I felt sexy, tall, slim, and beautiful in this dress. I got so many compliments on this dress, and how I looked in it. I had to present the senior video at banquet and on my way up to the front all my friends were cheering and saying how good I looked because this dress showed everyone that I finally broke out of my shell. I couldn't be happier with this dress, or the night. There are no cons to this dress. However, I did read something about fashion tape for the back, but I didn't need any. Although I did buy a strapless bra, that sticks to your sides, but it worked like a charm so the back looked fabulous.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2014
Head turner!
LOVED this dress! I got the 6 and 8. I have a curvy lower half so the 6 was too snug but perfect on top. The 8 was perfect at my hips but a little loose up top. I ended up in the 8 because it was more comfortable. Got a million compliments. The back of the dress is so sexy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2014
Sexy yet classy! Definitely a little short so leggy girls be warned.
The dress was amazing!! I will say it was a little short but sexy and classy at the same time. So many compliments! If you are a leggy girl it may be a little risqué - depends on the event and the look you are going for! Beautiful colors...so fun!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 35

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×