Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1493 reviews
Fit
Large
(48)
True to Size
(784)
Small
(380)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2015
Perfect NYC Bachelorette Dress

Absolutely loved this rental. Colors are vibrant and the back makes it so fun. Definitely a dress I wish I owned!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Other
August 25, 2015
Sexy backless dress with splash of color

The color and design of the dress make it very unique. It's party in the front, and a bigger party in the back--as it is backless. I had so much fun in this dress. I wore it to a bachelorette party, which consisted of a wine tour, dinner, then a club. Compliments all day and all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2015
The print is phenomenal

The back gaps some with movement. The material was very wrinkled. The hem was not right, probably due to the material.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 9, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Perfect for a night out in Miami

Wore this lovely dress out in Miami. It was awesome!! Love the bold colors!!! Fit was great. I ended up wearing the 00 (I'm usually a 0) but I didn't really fill out the top well. Ended up using sticky boobs and it looked and worked out great !! The back is awesome- would rent again!!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 29, 2015
Pop of Color at My 10 Year Reunion!

I usually don't fit in anything less than a 4 since my high school days, but the stretchy material of the dress made the 2 fit like a glove. I wore this to my 10 year reunion and it was a hit, even for a smaller town affair! It was a little shorter than I normally wear- I had to take special care when sitting down... but the open back made it super fun and the high neckline in front added a touch of class. It was the perfect dress to put me in the mood for a fun time. :) If you're on the fence about getting this dress, just say yes- you'll love it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
October 13, 2015
This dress was a ton of fun and super cute for my fiancé's 5 year college reunion!

I'm 5'5" and 147lbs and the size 8 fit perfectly!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 32DD
October 16, 2015
It was very fun and flattering for a friends wedding rehearsal dinner in San Diego.

The size 4 fit best minus the length for going to a wedding rehearsal so I went for a size 6 alternate just to have extra length. With the 4 I could get away with not wearing a bra. With a 6 I needed support so I wore a backless bra. Without having the abs I would love, I was sucking in the stomach a lot to not have my food baby show. Overall I liked it and felt sexy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 17, 2016
Adorable!

Fabulous print!! Lots of compliments. It's lined so you don't need a bra.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
March 27, 2016
Perfect funfetti for a birthday!

This was such a great dress to rent for a birthday date! It's not something I would usually choose for myself, but I couldn't resist its funfetti vibe. It was tight enough that I still had plenty of support with a backless sticky bra. The plunging back is super sexy, and it's short enough to reveal a little leg, but the neckline and cap sleeves make it a little more modest and classy. I wore it with druzy drop earrings and black pumps, but I think you could really pair it with a number of things!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
April 24, 2016
Was a beautiful trendy dress

This was a beautiful dress and fit perfectly. It was however, a little bit short and it rode up every so often.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
February 13, 2016
Cute dress. Really terrible hem

The bottom hem is dreadful. Puckers and doesn't lie flat. Very word on an otherwise site dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2015
Fun and different!

It is very short! Caution tall people because I'm only 5'7'' and this dress was inching up on me all night. Solved the bra problem with sticky boobs. It did look awesome though. Everyone loved it, and I would definitely rent again. Very flattering dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 16, 2015
Prompt delivery and hassle free return

The pictures of this dress do not do it justice. This dress is beautiful and the material is amazing. My only con is that it runs large in the bust area. I am a 36C and the sleeves kept slipping down because there was too much room up there. I was happy to keep adjusting the sleeves though - such a gorgeous dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
March 26, 2015
My husband's compliments!

This is a nice dress but not for me. The skirt was fine, but the top was built for someone with a longer torso; taller people probably wouldn't have an issue with this dress. I had to pin it in multiple places so the back would lay flat and not fall off my shoulders. I had to wear a sticky bra, which wasn't an issue, but the top just didn't fit well and I was adjusting the dress all night. It's a nice dress; if I rent again I would try the size 4 but I have a feeling it would still need to be pinned.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 4, 2015
Runs small

Runs quite small and even though I'm only 5 feet I thought it was short.

Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 27, 2015
Very sexy, yet still covers enough.

Fit perfectly but sadly wasn't able to wear. The party ended up being cancelled. Will definitely rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 8, 2015
Odd fit

Open back was cute in theory but kept falling off so I wore a jacket all night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
May 25, 2015
Too small

Hot, short backless dress -- but as a size 10, it was an inch too short and an inch too narrow in the waist. Too bad, Bc this dress is hot!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
June 9, 2015
Great for rehearsal dinner!

I wore this for a rehearsal dinner. Got tons of compliments. I ended up wearing the 00 because the 0 was a little big in the shoulders. I used dress tape so that it looked fitted on the top. I also wore a backless bra which worked out perfectly. The dress is very comfortable,stretchy, and lightweight. This dress definitely gets a lot of attention. I wish I could buy this one!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34C
June 10, 2015
*

Ended up wearing the size 4. Cute outfit, especially the back. My only complaint is that the hem does not stay in place so requires fairly constant adjustment to prevent from riding up or looking a little sloppy. I did not wear the 6 because the arms were a little big on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 8, 2015
Very cute, true to size but very short! I the fabrics great soft and beautiful :)

Very cute, loved the dress, the fabric has a silk texture, the colors are , but had to use flats, it was super short!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2016
Vibrant colors!

Dinner & event

Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2016
Perfect dress for a spring/summer event!

Beautiful dress, but very short- I sized up to try and add length, but still felt like I was constantly pulling the dress down! Also while wearing the larger size, the shoulders would sometimes slip off. Otherwise it was a beautiful dress, and I loved wearing it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104lbs
May 10, 2016
Perfect Kentucky Oaks dress

I wore this dress to the Kentucky Oaks. Press stopped me all day to take pictures and compliments galore. The dress fit like a glove.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Age: 30
May 11, 2016
Wore this dress for the Kentucky Derby. It was so comfortable and I got compliments on it all day!

I ordered a 4, and my normal dress size is a 2/4, but wore the 6 because it runs short for sure. Luckily the 6 was a little longer but not so large it hung or was baggy. It's got some stretch to it, so it was really comfortable all day. Absolutely loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
May 14, 2016
So colorful and eye catching!

I'm normally a 0 and I feel this dress was true to size. I got so many compliments the entire day/night and wish I owned this dress. Being a 34DDD, I am always for a dress I can wear without a bra!! The only downside is it will ride up!! I had to keep pulling it down anytime I was moving around. All in all, loved the dress and would definitely recommend to anyone as long as they don't mind pulling it down all the time!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
May 15, 2016
Love It!!

Dress is very comfortable, fitted, a little be on the short side. My favorite was the open back.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
It made me feel like my old self..

Made my feel like my original bday self. I always do something and look amazing for my birthday and this dress got in line with the rest. So it definitely goes down in birthday history for me..

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
Fun, unique, standout dress!

The 0 was very tight on my belly and legs, but fit perfectly up top. The 2 was loose on top, but fit much better on the bottom half. I opted for the 2 because I felt much more comfortable in it. The open back is so fun! I wore a sticky bra and it worked out perfectly. Wish I owned this cute little dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2016
heaps of compliments ... I matched the painting behind me!

I wore a 0 since it fit my upper body better and didn't fall off my shoulders as easily, however, I have wider thighs and hips so a 2 would have fit better down there. the only issue with this dress is that you have to keep pulling it down in order to keep the shoulders up, since it has an open back. very beautiful and bright though.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2016
Favorite rental yet!

The 2 was a little bit short on me, so I wore the 4. Loved this dress and got so many compliments!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 34
May 29, 2016
This dress though...

This dress was amazing - I got compliments ALL night and felt so great about myself! I ordered a 4 and 6, and while they both fit, they fit very differently - I went with the 4 because it hugged my curves a lot more. If you were going the more conservative route, then the 6 would be perfect - a little longer and less clingy. I would HIGHLY recommend this dress, it's a stunner!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2016
Fun and unique!

Dress was super short but that is why I rented it! Got a lot of compliments.

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2016
So classy!!!

I could have worn the 0, but I wanted a little extra room to dance. My chest is so small (lol) that I didn't need a bra at all and it was thick enough and the colors covered the nipple area that you couldn't see through. It was perfect! So many compliments! Def recommend to anyone!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 8, 2016
Cute birthday dress, runs large for petite's

Loved the colors of this dress however it was large in the shoulders since it was open back. Also the hem on the 0 seemed off.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 11, 2016
Beautiful dress that will make you stand out.

I rented this for a wedding and based on other reviews I sized up for my backup size. The 4 was pretty baggy on me and I almost felt like I was wearing a potato sack. I immediately called customer service seeing if they could rush me a size 2 which they unfortunately out of so they sent me a 0. Based on previous reviews I was worried about length in a 0 especially because I certainly am not a size 0. It somehow ended up fitting and the length wasn't too too short, only had to be very careful sitting and going up steps and I did have to be mindful on the dance floor. I think the 2 would have been perfect but the 0 ended up working fine. I'd definitely recommend this dress the back is gorgeous and I received tons of compliments. You will definitely stand out !

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2016
Super fun dress!

I really liked this dress! It was perfect for the outdoor wedding I was at. Definitely short though, I was tugging at it all night while dancing.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
June 15, 2016
Sexy date night dress

I loved this dress. The open back was sexy without being over the top. I wore a NuBra for extra support since I'm a D cup. The only thing that bummed me out is that I guess Target is carrying dresses in a similar pattern this season (different cut) and I prefer when my RTR stuff is "one of a kind".

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 19, 2016
Backless and beautiful

I rented this dress for my friend's rehearsal dinner! Such a fun pattern and fit! Definitely quite short, so would not be good for an event where a lot of sitting is involved. (Luckily the tables had tablecloths!) The straps for hanging the dress kept coming out, but an easy fix was to just safety pin them together in the front!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 19, 2016
Love the dress!! Super easy shipping and returning! I got the dress when they said!

The fit was perfect, as you walk it tends to run up but not a huge deal it's just like any other short dress you wear. The fabric is stretchy which is perfect. I wore a size 8, and the zipper was already messed up so it took awhile for me to get it on and off. It's almost like they tried to fix it but they didn't all the way. Other than that I loved it.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 38

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×