Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1431 reviews
Fit
Large
(46)
True to Size
(759)
Small
(372)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 7, 2016
Favorite dress I have rented!
I LOVE LOVE LOVED this dress! Probably my favorite dress I have rented! The colors are beautiful! This dress is very very sexy! And short, and the back is very open. If you are worried about it being too tight or too short size up! The material was great, very stretchy. It did ride up a little, but I didn't have any trouble dancing the night away! I would buy this dress or rent it again in an instant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
November 17, 2016
Great dress for a birthday party!
The back is very low but looks great! Might help to have fashion tape. Fun to dance in! It's a bit short but perfect for what i needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2016
Perfect dress for a night out
This dress fit perfectly and was so comfortable!!! Went on a little getaway with my husband and this dress was gorgeous for a night out. It was short but I did not have any issues where the dress would fall as in other reviews. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
November 23, 2016
Wore in Hawaii for my birthday!
Loved this dress! So many compliments! I am 5'8 and this dress was very short. Looks great but definitely wouldn't suggest if you will be moving around a lot!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 17, 2016
Mexico vacation
This is my favorite dress I have ever rented from rent the runway. It fits perfectly and I got hundreds of complements. I will definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2016
Fun and flirty!
I wore this to my fiance's graduation party in the southern heat in June. It was a standout dress for sure. Fun pattern on the front and flirty backless cut. Was tighter than I expected and rode up a bit when I walked. Definitely worth it though! Was tight enough on top to wear without a bra. Would rent again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2016
Loved this dress!
I wore this dress for my sorority semi formal. It fit great and was very comfortable and flattering! The only bad this is that it is a tad short, so I wouldn't suggest this dress for anyone taller than 5'5". Overall a great rent though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
December 19, 2016
Wow!
This dress fit perfectly! It had such high quality material, I felt so comfortable in it all night! Definitely did not want to send it back! I actually looked all over to try and buy! Absolute favorite.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2016
Firework Dress for the 4th
Fun dress for a July 4th wedding. Fit was tight but the thick fabric smooths everything out. I wore a nubra with it and had no problems. It was comfortable all evening!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
December 28, 2016
LOVE.
I loved this dress. Be prepared for the low back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 4, 2017
Great fun dress
This dress was great for my friend's wedding at an art museum. The print is really interesting and the open back is a great detail. I have bigger hips, and the bottom of the dress definitely fits snuggly, so I wore the size 8 instead of the size 6. The dress is a little short and rides up a little when dancing, but it wasn't a big deal. Loved wearing this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 16, 2017
Love this dress, but was a little big.
This dress is super cute, but it was a little too loose on me. I got a 0 because that is my usual size, but I probably should've gotten the 00. If the fit had been better, it would've been perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
January 20, 2017
Fun pops of color
I've rented this dress twice. The bottom is a little odd. It scrunches up, but it is otherwise a fun dress to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 26, 2017
Cool pattern, open back
This dress is cute and the print is different. I wore it to an art gallery and drinks on Vacation and it was perfect. I got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2017
Wore the dress to my engagement party and it was a hit!
The dress was a perfect fit and the splash heading towards the side really accentuates the waistline. I'm petite but curvy and this dress was tight in the right places- but not too tight either. It was the right length for me, but it is short and would likely be short on taller people
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2017
Fun, easy dress!
The color on this dress is phenomenal, and the open back is unique! Those were my favorite parts of this dress. However, the dress is more cheaply made than other dresses I've rented from RTR - there was slight puckering on the front hem of the dress and the material is definitely polyester and thin. Wear a nubra or pasties or you WILL show through!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 29, 2017
Love the Print!!
Really short but love the cut out back and the beautiful colors! Wore it to my 25th birthday and it was a success! No bra needed, material is thick enough to cover but one can opt for petals if needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 21, 2017
Fun, sexy but still comfortable!
This was a fun, colorful cocktail dress that I wore to a rehearsal dinner. It runs true to size but is on the short side. The material is comfortable and very stretchy. I just wore pasties but did not need a bra. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2017
Such a fun dress!
Love the color and back! only con- a little short, had to tug it down at times. Would rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
February 27, 2017
Color and details are amazing!
The material is a bit thinner than I was expecting for this dress, and it does run very short (I am 5'4 and it was above mid-thigh for me). But this is a very fun colorful dress, the low back is also an extra plus!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 120lbs
March 9, 2017
Beautiful dress, but way too short
I think this dress is beautiful, particularly the cutout back and the vibrant splash of colors across the front, but this dress is obscenely short. I'm comfortable showing my legs and wearing short dresses, but there's a difference between classy short and inappropriate short, and this dress did not hit the mark. Didn't wear.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
March 12, 2017
Great party dress for bachelorette in Miami!
Wore this for a night in Miami. Loved the dress, only complaint is that it rides up a lot when you walk. I got a 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 0 (didn't even try on the 2). I used a nubra but would have been fine with no bra at all (very small bust- 34A). I was worried this dress would be too short but I didn't find that at all, although I'm short myself at 5'0. Loved this dress and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
March 12, 2017
I WANT THIS DRESS
I rented this for a dinner party that got cancelled last minute. I decided to wear it out for a fun night with friends and received soooo many compliments. The picture does not do it due it justice. Loved it so much wish it was mine. If it helps I'm 5'3 and weigh 136. The 6 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2017
Backless Success!
I never thought I could handle a backless dress, but this one proved me wrong. It was tight enough that it worked for me with the help of a backless bra. It is very short, but great for a fun night out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 17, 2017
Fun and Flattering Dress!
I loved this dress! I rented this dress through Unlimited membership for my honeymoon to Nicaragua. It was the perfect choice for an upscale, romantic dinner. My husband loved the open back. It runs a bit small and the skirt is definitely on the shorter side, so if you are tall you might want to size up. I'm 5'0, so the size was perfect for my petite frame. I paired this with black flats, but you can easily dress it up with heels or down with sandals. Added bonus: it travels very well and managed to make the trip while staying wrinkle-free. I can't wait to rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2017
The best back on a dress
Loved this dress, good fit. Colors make it so that anything can go with it, turned out amazing in every picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
March 23, 2017
Cute dress
I ordered a 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 0. The 2 fit but looked more like a work dress and was a bit looser. The 0 fit tighter but it looked like someone had hemmed the bottom on it. It was rippling at the edges. Overall cute other than the bottom hem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 23, 2017
Super cute and unique
Adoable dress which caught the eye all night. I wore it braless but it looked fine. I also was very self conscious about my very pale legs (in Miami) and wore it with hose and black shoes...looked awesome. Super comfortable and was confident and flirty all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
March 26, 2017
Fun and festive for a Key West wedding
This dress is a knockout. So many compliments. It was not too tight as I feared also had concerns about the length but I'm 5'4 and it was perfect. Two cons- the hem is funky- I noticed in others' pictures too. It seems the shell and the slip material separated and makes the hem look weird. Also while walking it rides up very easily. The back is outstanding to look at- but as the night went on the dress slipped off my shoulders a few times. Still glad I rented it!!! The colors are so bright!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2017
Showstopper!!
Very unique dress with Vibrant colors. Fit is true to size and works well with petite physiques. However the dress rides up constantly. Received tons of compliments. Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2016
Loved the bright print and the cut of the back!
This dress was comfortable and easy to dance in, but it's definitely short (I wore little shorts underneath so as not to limit my dance moves)! It also rides up a little.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2017
Great dress for vacation
The dress is very comfortable, I am usually a size 4 but the 2 fit me better. It did ride up a bit but not enough to make it a big deal. The size 4 that arrived had a ripped sleeve so I would have worn that regardless. Overall a great dress I would recommend to a friend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
April 11, 2017
Narrow on bottom, nice colors
I was not in love with this dress. I am a little wider in the hip/bottom area than on top and it fit too small and quite short. I think this dress could work on a woman who was more narrow in the hip/butt area. The fabric was just ok though the colors and the open back were really pretty. Thankfully I ordered a backup style that I loved and rocked that dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
April 11, 2017
Great colors, bit of an odd fit
I rented this for a birthday dinner at a fancy steakhouse. The pros: The back is AMAZING! Such a sexy dress. And the colors are wonderful and bright. I paired the dress with teal flats but you could really pick any color and it would match this dress! I felt festive, unique, and wonderful in the bright dress. The cons: I've got wide hips so I had to size up to the 8 (typically a 6). Unfortunately, in both the 6 and the 8, it was still so large in the bust. Without a back to pull the dress together, it was too big and falling off my shoulders. I had to tape the sleeves, neckline, and back to me just to keep it on. The dress also does ride up quite a bit when you walk. Overall, I would still suggest for a fun, sexy dress, but maybe avoid if you'll be doing a lot of walking around.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
May 13, 2013
Gorgeous, but watch out for the length!
This is a beautiful dress. The colors are very vibrant in person and the cut is extremely flattering. I anticipated the fabric to be a heavier weight (more like a knit), but it's actually pretty light. I will say - watch the length! Because of the cap sleeves, whenever you lift your arms, the dress lifts with you. I'm 5'7 and had to avoid some dance moves to make sure I didn't show off my wears. I felt like I had to be aware of my movements the whole night. Not great for a wedding when you want to be able to dance around. I would say this dress is probably better for someone 5'5" and under - or an event that doesn't involve much dancing. It really is beautiful, but not the most practical.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 17, 2013
Gorgeous, but not right for my event!
Beautiful dress, but definitely more appropriate for a girls' weekend or bachelorette than a wedding. I, too, expected the weight of the fabric to be much heavier (like the Tibi Abstract Flower Dress I rented awhile ago and adored!). I couldn't wear either dress; because of the lighter weight, I didn't feel it was appropriate for the wedding I was attending. Fits true to size, and an absolutely gorgeous and flattering cut!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 18, 2013
Super cute dress, but really tight!
The unique design and vibrant colors on this dress sold me! Unfortunately, I was not anticipating the fabric to be as stretchy and thus the dress to be as form fitting. At 5'7", I felt that the dress was far too short to wear to the wedding I had rented it for, plus when I walked it rode up and got even shorter. I am more of a conservative dresser, so if you like a shorter more figure hugging dress, then this dress could work for you. I hate that it didn't work, such a cute dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
May 19, 2013
Stood out with an amazing dress!
This was a fabulous dress for an outdoor wedding! Although the dress has structure and is form fitting, the material is surprisingly lightweight and is perfect for an outdoor wedding (even at a Texas wedding in May!). The print and colors are stunning, I might be a little hippier than the model because it definitely hugged my curves. The back of the dress is very sexy! I wasn't smart and thought there would be a back to the dress but you can't wear a regular strapless with this so I had to RUN to Victoria's Secret the night before and grab their Invisible backless bras (I'm not one of the lucky ones who can just go braless). I was worried about the cap sleeves and I do have broad shoulders so if you're worried about that feature being highlighted I may choose another dress but overall I would definitely rent this gem again!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 19, 2013
GORGEOUS, but maybe not for a wedding
While I fell in love with this dress, it may not have been best for a wedding, or for someone with big hips and butt. The dress looked beautiful, but definitely pulled in the hip region while it would fall off of my shoulders while i danced. The dress is pretty form fitting, so dancing causes it to ride up and the shoulders fall off. At a dinner or something where you don't move around so much this dress would have been PERFECT. It is light weight, lined and beautiful. The colors are darker than in the model picture, but it makes it vibrant and makes you stand out. The waitstaff even stopped me to compliment me on the dress. I wore it with a pair of coral orange/pink shoes and it was PERFECT. I will definitely rent this again, but perhaps for a less active occasion, and one where I would not move around so much.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 20, 2013
Loved the colors and style of this dress!
I've had this dress under my favorites, and was excited when I got invited to a Benefit Dinner last-minute and could rent this dress. Love the vibrant colors and open back style of the dress. I did get a little worried because I'm usually a size 2 and this dress was a bit snug. It wasn't too bad, but I know I would have been a little more comfortable in a size up. Other than that, loved it and received complements on the dress that evening!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 36

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×