Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1170 reviews
Fit
Large38
True to Size670
Small332
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2015
Had a great girls night out in NYC and loved wearing this dress!
Very flattering fit - great pattern and the back is awesome!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 23, 2015
Turn Some Heads with This One!
Wore this for my birthday celebration, and it was a great dress to go from a nice dinner to drinks out with friends. I got TONS of compliments, and everyone was saying how they had never seen a dress like it. Sexy, fun, flirty but still classy. I used some fashion tape on the back to help keep it in place because the size 8 was still a tad big on me in the top half. Dress has some stretch, so it wasn't too tight feeling or uncomfortable when you're sitting. Due to the open back, just wore some pasties. I am 5'5 - 5'6 with a short torso, and the dress hit about mid-thigh on me. You definitely lose some length when you sit, so keep that in mind when it comes to your underwear/Spanx. Would rent again in a heartbeat!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
August 23, 2015
I loved the pattern, it made the dress very unique. The open back was sexy too.
I have a very athletic build which forced me to get a size 6 in this dress so it would fit loose around my thighs and not ride up (normally I wear a size 2 or 4). I was careful about bending over but surprising comfortable dancing and sitting. This dress is, like other reviewers said, very short. So be prepared!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 23, 2015
Great customer service
Loved the colors! Little short but a fun dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
August 19, 2015
it was really great for a beauty work event i had to attend
the back is completely open, i wore a regular bra but a blazer over it + spanx
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
August 19, 2015
.
Gorgeous dress. Got tons of compliments. It was a bit big though, even in a size zero because of the open back. I had to fuss with it a lot because it would slide down my shoulders. Overall happy with it though.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2015
The detailing
Need to go a size up because of the length
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 18, 2015
The dress was a smash hit!!!
If you're in between a 0 and a 2, you'll probably go with the two. I have a smaller bust and I even opted out of wearing a bra with my size 2
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
August 17, 2015
This dress is perfect. Cute, sexy, and comfortable!
I loved this dress. Got a 2 and 4, wish I would have ordered a 0 and 2. The 2 fit but I'm small chested and since the back is open it felt a little loose in the shoulders. I bought an adhesive bra to help in that area and it worked great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2015
Date Night Perfection!
Super cute dress with vibrant colors. Like other reviewers said, it does tend to ride up, so I had to be conscious about pulling it down occasionally. I love wearing shorter dresses, so if you like a short dress this is the dress for you (and if you don't like short dresses then I don't recommend it). I wear a 0 or 2 in dresses generally, and the 0 fit very well, although even a double 0 could have possibly worked. Got compliments from men and women! .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2015
Great colors - fun cut!
Found that most of the reviews accurately summarize this dress. The fabric is thin & stretchy, and it is short. It is a great choice for a summer party, but will fit best on long/lean builds.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2015
Very colorful, fun dress!
I loved this dress! My boyfriend said it looked amazing and I received so many compliments on it, even from guy friends who normally never notice a thing. The material is a bit thinner than the other Slate & Willow dresses, but that wasn't a problem. It's stretchy material so there's some give to the dress. The only issue I had is that it was a little short. I had to pull the dress down every time I got up, but it was manageable. You won't regret renting this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34A
August 17, 2015
Loved this dress!
Loved it, but bee careful- it does have a tendency to ride up when you are dancing!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 17, 2015
Beautiful and fun
I am very petite and ususally have a hard time finding dresses that fit. this one was perfect. The 0 was a slight bit snug around the bum and thighs, but I am fairly athletic w/ strong quads, so its to be expected :) really fun dress- elegant neckline in front and the deep V back adds the perfect amount of sexiness
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 13, 2015
The colors and the fact that this dress was form fitting and backless!
Very short! But fantastic, comfortable material. Very flattering cut. I felt amazing all day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
August 12, 2015
Stunning dress - compliments all night long! Would rent again!
I'm a in-between size in general: small-medium, 4-6 - all depending on the brand.The 4 was "club" tight so I went with the 6 and was happy. I used invisible tape on the shoulders and had no slipping issues. If you dance all night plan to pull it down all night because it does ride up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 11, 2015
Birthday Party!
This dress was fabulous! I got so many compliments :) The dress fit almost perfectly. Would have liked it to be slightly longer by an inch or so, but otherwise loved the way it fit! The cap sleeves and backless make it very unique. Wore it to dinner and then out to bars afterwards. Because of the material it was definitely versatile and could be worn to a fancy club with heels or a up-scale bar with sandals as a birthday dress. The dress is backless and you can't wear a bra (or at least a normal one) with this dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 10, 2015
Wore the dress to a "Best of" event. Lots of compliments on the dress!
Got a lot of compliments on the dress!! The dress material was thin. A strapless bra is a must. I did think that it needed something in the waist line so I added a black ribbon. The dress ran small so I got a larger size. Was a perfect fit, any bigger and the shoulders would have fallen down.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
August 10, 2015
Such a fun dress!
The dress is a lighter material than I expected but that wasn't a bad thing! The 2 fit better on top, but the 4 was more comfortable for its added length. It did ride up some during the night but no more than you'd expect. Overall loved the dress and got tons of compliments! The open back made the dress! This was my first RTR experience and I'd highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 10, 2015
great party dress!
Unfortunately none of my photos really showcase the dress, but I wore it for my bachlorette party in Key West. The dress was perfect. All my girls wore white and I stood out in the colors. It was a little tight on my tummy, not uncomfortable but I needed a little encouragement to be comfortable. Also, the colors are a little more muted when you see the dress in person but I could not have asked for a cuter one. You need a sticky bra for this, the back is completely exposed! Would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 9, 2015
Perfect dress for a night out at my Stella & Dot conference in Las Vegas!
The dress is tight. I was worried about the "sticky" bra cup tape showing because of the cut from the back, but it didn't. It was perfect. The only drawback to this particular dress was that there was something weird going on with the hem. It was like there was no longer a hem and it kept folding at a different place instead of at the actual hem. This dress was perfect for a night out in Vegas!!! I got compliments on it all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 8, 2015
Very cute, true to size but very short! I the fabrics great soft and beautiful :)
Very cute, loved the dress, the fabric has a silk texture, the colors are , but had to use flats, it was super short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 8, 2015
Great dress, lots of color makes it easy to change up accessories.
I loved how there were so many colors in this dress that you could do almost anything with accessories. Two things to note. If you have narrow shoulders, you may have a hard time keeping the dress up. It was cut for shoulders that might be normal to broad. Also, the dress is pretty short. I would classify it as a mini dress. I wear short dresses frequently, but this was pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2015
It was a good dress. Very short for my taste. I was very distracted during the night by pulling down
Very short and clingy. Must have proper undergarments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2015
Didn't get many full body photos BUT this dress was great! Compliments all night and felt confident
Dress was a 'good' kind of tight. Very flattering and the low back but high neckline made it a sophisticated sexy. Only concern was it was a little short. I kept having to pull the dress down but that was a minor issue. Great colors and coordinated well with nude strappy heels. Would definitely recommend
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
August 3, 2015
So many compliments on this dress! Very comfortable. Makes a statement.
Great fit! Rides up a bit when walking, but a huge problem. Though this dress is such a "statement" piece, I wish I could buy it. So fun to wear!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 3, 2015
Fun dress for a summer wedding!
I ordered this before finding out the wedding was going to be more casual, so I ended up wearing sandals with it. It is really stretchy and comfortable. Like all reviews have said it is very short, so watch out for that.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 2, 2015
.
Material is stretchy but not flattering on someone that isn't super skinny. I'm 5'1" and it was almost too short on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
July 31, 2015
Surprisingly comfortable! Would rent again
I LOVED this dress!!! Both sizes I rented fit, I ended up wearing the smaller size since it fit better in the shoulders. I was so surprised how comfortable it was! I felt amazing all night & received so many compliments. I'm already trying to find another reason to rent it again. Rent it, you won't regret it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
July 27, 2015
So many compliments!
I really loved this dress. One guest told me it was like a piece of art. The material was very easy to move in and light. I could not find a bra that worked with the back, so I went without, but it wasn't an issue due to the busy paternal in the front. I would definitely rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
July 27, 2015
Originally going to wear this dress for my birthday night out, instead wore it on a dinner date.
The dress is beautiful, and the material is thick enough so I could wear the dress comfortably without a bra. My only concern was that the dress would ride up a little while walking. Since I ended up wearing the dress to a less formal event than initially planned, I wore the dress with flats and so the length did not bother me much. I did not even try on the size 2 since the 4 fit so well.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
July 27, 2015
I wore this to my 30th birthday brunch and received compliments from everyone.
The color was fun and the open back added a wow factor. I'm 5'4" and a little curvy, so the dress did feel short at times, but all in all it was a great look! I included a picture of the back with heels to show the length of the dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 25, 2015
Received a ton of compliments!
I loved this dress! I am short and I always have a hard time finding dresses that fit short on me, but this one did the trick. The dress is tight and flattering, and the bright print is an eye catcher. My only complaint is that the open back (while beautiful and unique!), didn't lay flat against my back. I had to use dress tape to keep it from moving around all night, but it wasn't too big of a deal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129lbs
July 24, 2015
Great dress for a bachelorette party!
Dress is very short, but in a good way. The sleeves were falling down off my shoulders wish I would have gotten some double sided tape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
July 22, 2015
To all my girls shaped like boys- this dress will give you curves and make you feel hot!
Maybe a little short for tall girls, but I'm 5'6", and the length with heels was perfect. Received compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 21, 2015
amazing fit and a colorful standout dress!
Everyone was complimenting this dress, and I was even so excited when I took it out of the bag! The colors are very vibrant and you WILL catch everybody's eye. The shoulders can be a little loose (I got sizes 2 and 4, and the shoulders fit better in the 2--my usual size--but my tummy looked better in the 4) and the dress is more snug than most women would like, so I went a size up for a centimeter more of fabric, which was perfect. The back is hella sexy too, and I just felt so confident in this dress. I've been eyeing it for over a year, and wore it to the perfect occasion, and have no regrets! I'll likely rent it again for a non-wedding occasion, but it's terrific and I hope you enjoy wearing it as much as I did (getting down on the dance floor is no problem at all in it)!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
July 20, 2015
Night out in Vegas
Fits like a glove. So cute and the back being open gives it some sex appeal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 20, 2015
Great for a night out!
I loved this dress for a night out in South Beach. I am petite, but have a bigger bottom, so the size 0 was a little tighter on my butt than I felt comfortable with. Plus I decided to wear the 2 for a little bit more length. This dress is backless, and going braless is not an option for me at 42, so I wore a nu-bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
July 19, 2015
Runs very short. I'm 5'7'' and I had to keep pulling it down.
bodycon
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
July 18, 2015
Comfortable and Bright!
The dress has stretch to it and is figure flattering. I got a lot of compliments on the dress throughout the night. I loved the open back but it makes it really hard to wear a bra. So I went without one but I don't think you can tell. I also had to use double sided tape to keep the dress hang up straps from hanging out. Overall, good fit, comfortable and classy!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 30

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×