Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1274 reviews
Fit
Large42
True to Size708
Small352
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 130lbs
December 20, 2015
A great dress for a fun night in Vegas!
This was my second RTR dress from Slate & Willow. I loved the fit. Ordered a size 4 and 6, and went with the 4. My favorite part was the open back - sexy & cute! The color and style of the dress was perfect for a night out in Las Vegas!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 17, 2015
Easy and comes as it says... Makes me feel safe to rent from them..
I'm smaller on top and thicker on bottom... I still probably could have gone down a size. But it was fine I didn't mind too much especially since it was for my engagement photos... But I absolutely loved this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2015
great, fun party dress!
Loved the dress and the low back was a fun detail -- because of that you have to wear no bra or a sticky one but I was ok with that. I'm on the hippier side of things and so the dress was definitely FITTED through the hip for me and tended to ride up when walking a little bit but all in all a super fun dress for a party after my college graduation - my only regret is that I don't have a photo of me in it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2015
Elegant and unique!
I rented this dress for a formal. I wanted something classy and different from the usual little black dress that everyone wears. I have a small bust so the dress was a little loose in the staying on but nothing drastic or uncomfortable. The only problem I had was the dress not staying down. It kept riding up and definitely posed a bit of a problem. Regardless, I received so many compliments and I felt very confident in this dress. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2015
Stretchy and comfortably to wear without a bra. I got a ton of compliments on the dress!
This dress runs super short and might not be a great choice for taller girls.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
December 8, 2015
Pretty
Colors are spot on and so pretty, but the dress runs small and is a tight, stretchy fabric.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 33
December 8, 2015
Loved the dress! Wouldn't recommend it for dancing but worked great for a photoshoot
Luckily I only needed to pose in it, which was great bc the fit was very comfortable. It felt like I was wearing a T-shirt...However, that being said, if I tried to do anything in it that required too much movement there would probably be a lot of tugging and pulling down and making sure it didn't ride up in places it shouldn't. I wouldn't recommend it for a night of dancing but it was a great look for what I needed it for.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2015
Love this dress!
This dress is absolutely adorable - the only con is the length. It runs pretty short so if you aren't used to wearing minis be careful!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 22
December 6, 2015
This was such a fun night! I wore this dress for a sorority formal!
This dress fit very well! was a little loose around the stomach region and the back gapes a little on the shoulders but I was able to tie the hanger straps together so that it would not gape open!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 26, 2015
Too short to wear.
This dress was so short I could wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 32B
November 25, 2015
Fun dress for a date
Wore this dress on date, open back was sexy and length was perfect. This probably would fit someone with broader shoulders as it was a little loose on me around the top.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 24, 2015
The dress looked great! The fabric is pretty thin but it was perfect for the hot location.
It fit pretty well, its short so keep that in mind. And if you have a butt want to keep that in mind
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 24, 2015
I got so many compliments on the dress - the colors and the back especially! Stunning!
The dress is short and can ride up a little bit, but besides that, the 00 fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2015
Beautiful Walking Art!
This dress was a showstopper! I received many compliments on it and it was comfortable enough to wear all day long. It fit my body very well however it was a little big in the back because I have no "upper body". All and all I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 21, 2015
I wore for my birthday! I loved it.
The fit is amazing. The colors really pop so you can't go wrong with any color shoe. The back is very sexy. Thank you RTR for another amazing rental.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2015
The unique pattern and open back were perfect for a night out.
The fit was a just a little tight across the butt and a little short, so I chose the larger size. The soft stretch fabric made it super comfortable for a long night of dancing.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 16, 2015
More compliments than I've ever received!
The dress was so great, everyone at the wedding loved it. It was definitely pretty short so for the wedding I decided to go with the 2 so it wasn't quite as tight. If I had been going for something like a weekend in vegas, than the 0 would have been perfect, but I would definitely get a size bigger if you want to go for a slightly more conservative look. absolutely loved the dress - so comfortable and extremely flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 15, 2015
First RTR order. Absolutely amazing. So many compliments! Cant wait for my nye dress
Both dresses fit well. The 4 was a little big on shoulder and back. Felt it may slip so chose the 2
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
November 13, 2015
Love the open back!
I wore this dress for an outdoor summer wedding. It was true to size and fit great! I also got a lot of compliments on this dress! You will definitely need to wear a sticky bra or no bra with this. Also, I remember that I did have to pull down the skirt throughout the night because it would ride up a bit. Overall, I really liked this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 12, 2015
REALLY LIKE IT, BUT DIDN'T LOVE IT
Overall I really liked the style of the dress and the colors were so vivid. But I should have known better - it's a tight mini dress so I didn't feel comfortable. I wish I got one size up. Some reviews mentioned the sleeves didn't stay up, but I didn't have any problems. The bottom seam in the front was a little weird, but you can't notice it in photos. I wore black open toe heels - it worked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 123lbs
November 12, 2015
very cute, but super short
couldn't do much moving around without having to hold it down. its pretty with the back out but not comfortable for dancing
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 12, 2015
Loved the dress! Got so many compliments!
Typically i wear a size 4, but the 6 fit a bit better. Was very short.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 9, 2015
Perfect dress for my Bridal Luncheon. Loved all the colors.
The fit was perfect for me. I ordered the 6 and 8 as backup and stuck with the 6. It was a little short but not bad. The stretchy material was great and the back of the dress was ahhhmazing!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 7, 2015
Such fun colors!
Received so many compliments on the colors and style of this dress! Everyone said it looked amazing on and fit like a glove. As you can see, it was very short. I wore it with a backless bra and that was just fine. The shoulders did fall down a little bit through out the night because i didn't fashion tape them, so i would recommend finding a way to secure the sleeves if that will bother you. Other that that, the dress was so much fun to wear and was perfect for a sorority formal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2015
Good concept- very impractical.
Great dress. As long as you are standing. Still. And probably not breathing either. You can't walk or sit in this dress without the skirt bunching way up or the shoulders falling totally off. Looks pretty (it's very tight), but one of my least favorite rentals ever.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 2, 2015
Great fit. Super comfortable. Wore all day/night to a wedding.
On the shorter side but fine for wedding/cocktail. Stretchy material was very comfortable. Could have gone a smaller size but the 2 was great.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 1, 2015
Dress for engagement pictures - everyone loved it!
I wore this dress for our engagement pictures in Grand Central and received a ton of compliments on it. I wore the 2, which was my backup, as the 4 was a bit too big in the bust area and I wasn't wearing a bra with it. Two issues: we did have to keep pushing in the white straps for the hanger over and over again, and I had to keep pulling it down because it was so short, both of which was annoying. The fabric is really light so was perfect for the hot summer day. Overall, it is such a unique and cute dress I would definitely rent it again
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
October 30, 2015
This dress was perfect cocktail attire for my school's homecoming parade! So many compliments! :)
I made sure to check out all of the reviews before renting this so this is mine to help someone! This dress is STUNNING! I ordered both 4 and 6, but the 4 fit more comfortably, hugging my curves. It is short but can be pulled down. The open back is perfect. The colors really stand out and someone said I looked like a work of picasso on the parade float! The dress itself is stunning and I wore it to the fullest. I added silver jewelry and paired it with coral heels. The shipping arrived on time and the return instructions were easy to follow. I couldn't have had a more perfect dress for the occasion and I'm so glad to have had a great first renting experience! Thank you. Wish I could own this!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 28, 2015
Beautiful fun flirty dress! Got lots of compliments!
It fit very well, however it did ride up a bit. Especially when sitting, I had to make sure it was pulled down pretty good. When standing though, it was fabulous! Very comfortable material. A lot of girls said they wore without a bra. I did the same, and it was ok. If I did it over again, probably would have worn a sticky-bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 157lbs
October 27, 2015
So many compliments!
Tended to ride up but once I put short spandex on underneath, the problem was so fixed.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
October 27, 2015
The dress was great and just what I needed for my cousin's bat mitzvah!
Dress is really cute BUT, the top is larger than the bottom (it was a bit loose with the open back) AND the slip and dress are all connected so the hem line easily got distorted if it wasn't flattened completely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2015
So many compliments
Wore it with magenta heels. Was fantastic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
October 25, 2015
Loved this dress!! I received a lot of compliments.
The dress is short, but looks and fits great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 32
October 22, 2015
The dress fit true to size. Fabric is not a structured as it looks, more stretchy. 6.5 or 7 /10
The portion that appears white in the photos is a bit more grey and I was thinking this would be a thick structure cotton fabric with a little stretch so when a more synthetic lined dress arrived that wasn't pressed - it didn't quite lay how I envisioned particularly in the chest. I wear stickies often with open back tops that you can't wear a bra and I love it - but in this dress it was not the most flattering. I am a 32DD with a very perky chest that doesn't require much, if any, support. I felt kind of flat and mushy in the top - but it wasn't terribly just not as flattering as I had hoped. I was really happy that it wasn't too long, since I am short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 21, 2015
Huge hit for semi-formal wedding!
Fit was great, I wore high-waisted shorty spanx underneath. They were fine on bottom, but had to fold them down on top so as not to show in the cut-out back. (Not a problem, though!) Dress was great and comfortable. I went without a bra and had no problem (not a common option for me). It was a little short when sitting/dancing, so not good for an overly formal occasion.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 21, 2015
COMPLIMENTS!
Received so many compliments on this dress. But it does run small. I typically wear a 0 and might have even been comfortable with the 4... only because it was a little short for a wedding (when shout came on, I did not raise my hands...) Anyway, it was a great dress, comfortable fabric etc. Really loved it and would get it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2015
Looks great in pictures!
I was worried that this dress would gape in the back because I have a short torso, but it fit great! The length is short, but not too short. And the colors really photograph well. Lots of compliments - would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 16, 2015
It was very fun and flattering for a friends wedding rehearsal dinner in San Diego.
The size 4 fit best minus the length for going to a wedding rehearsal so I went for a size 6 alternate just to have extra length. With the 4 I could get away with not wearing a bra. With a 6 I needed support so I wore a backless bra. Without having the abs I would love, I was sucking in the stomach a lot to not have my food baby show. Overall I liked it and felt sexy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 15, 2015
Cute dress, material is starting to feel warn out.
The dress was really cute, but unfortunately some of these dresses shouldn't be in circulation anymore due to overuse. Make sure you have tape for the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
October 13, 2015
This dress was a ton of fun and super cute for my fiancé's 5 year college reunion!
I'm 5'5" and 147lbs and the size 8 fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 32

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×