Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1226 reviews
Fit
Large39
True to Size691
Small346
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 6, 2015
Cute
Very cute simple backless dress! It's very stretchy so I can imagine it fitting all kinds of body types. Its pretty short, even for a short person like me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 5, 2015
Great for a FL wedding! I wore it again to work on Monday with a cardigan and black skirt.
I loved this dress!! I wore it to a late summer Florida wedding and it was perfect! I paired it with teal pumps and a teal purse, but I think any bright color shoe would look great. I received many complements! It stayed on my shoulders well, even when dancing- I didn't need to tape the dress like some of the other posters. I wore my backup size to work the following Monday with a black skirt, cardigan, and pumps.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
October 5, 2015
Loved this dress, was perfect for a wedding. I received compliments all night long!
It's fitted to the body and exposes the back beautifully. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 star rating is because it's a little short so I had to keep pulling it down throughout the night. I would recommend wearing shorts or something underneath the dress. Nonetheless, I would recommend this dress to anyone 10/10 times!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102lbs
October 4, 2015
Overall, it was really cute and I did receive a lot of a compliments,
I am petite, so the back had to be fashion taped completely down and on the shoulders. I'm 5'1" and the dress came to about 2 inches above the knee, so I had to roll it up just a bit. It was a little bigger than I anticipated for a size 00, and there were some lose spots.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 52
October 3, 2015
Perfect for a Birthday Party.
The dress is stylish and the back really makes this dress a bit sexy. The dress looks great in pictures too. The shoulders were a bit big on my small top. The material is stretchy and pulled up when I would move around... so I was a bit self conscious. Overall, a very fun dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
September 30, 2015
Really pretty. Really short. Really loved it.
This dress was just as pretty in person as it was online. I wore it to a wedding in July 2015 and got tons of compliments. I'm usually a size 4 or 6, but since this style was a little more form fitting, I went with the 6. People who like to boogie, beware! It fit well, but I did spend the evening pulling the dress down so I wouldn't expose myself to the rest of the guests.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 30, 2015
Something different.
I really liked this dress--the colorful, fun pattern is different from what I would normally wear. It is shorter than I normally wear but not TOO short. It was just what I was looking for to wear for my birthday dinner with my husband. I wore a backless bra (ordered from RTR), and that worked well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 29, 2015
Super colorful and the backless makes it super cute!!!
I am 5'1 and the 0 was even short of me. But I didnt wear the 2 because the shoulders would of been a tad big. Over all it was awesome. Such a fun dress and you dont need to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 44
September 29, 2015
Brace yourself for loads of compliments!
Fits like a glove. I normally where a 6 and was concerned about going up a size but since it is stretch it fit loose but perfectly. I got lots of compliments on the design and fit. My "girls" are never without cover but I was so busy all week that I did not have time to buy a special bra to go with the very low back. So, I opted to go bra-less!! And thankfully no one was the wiser. The material is thick enough to conceal and the seams are perfectly placed for support. I was concerned about the review comments that the dress rides up but did not have that issue at all. Yes, the dress is very short on someone 5' 7 but not so short that you are uncomfortable. My only complaint is the lower hem is a bit wavy. I would have preferred it more "pressed."
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
September 29, 2015
I got endless compliments on the dress- so fun for a wedding.
Fits true to size
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
September 29, 2015
Pop of Color at My 10 Year Reunion!
I usually don't fit in anything less than a 4 since my high school days, but the stretchy material of the dress made the 2 fit like a glove. I wore this to my 10 year reunion and it was a hit, even for a smaller town affair! It was a little shorter than I normally wear- I had to take special care when sitting down... but the open back made it super fun and the high neckline in front added a touch of class. It was the perfect dress to put me in the mood for a fun time. :) If you're on the fence about getting this dress, just say yes- you'll love it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2015
Very cute, unique dress that stood out among a sea of black, maroon, and navy.
This dress was adorable and very easy to wear with a sticky bra. However, it was challenging for my pear shape. The 6 top was too big and although the length was better, there was a strange pucker at the bottom. The 4 fit great on top, but was really short and I had to pull it down every time I walked. It looked great though and was fun to wear. I took the recommendation to wear the back with dress tape, which really helped most the night, until the very end with dancing, the shoulders kept sliding off. Overall, I thought the style was worth the trouble.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
September 28, 2015
Fun print with a touch of sexiness!
With the dress being backless, I was afraid of a "slip," but it stayed on without problems (but if I went a size up, which would have been more comfortable, I would have had a major dress malfunction). The dress is very form fitting, very short, and the hemline bunches up a bit because of the material (my only complaint).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2015
Felt so glamorous in this dress!
Very form- fitting. Could have maybe done the size up (a 2 for me) but then I would have been swimming in the cap sleeves. I loved the backless style and the colors. Definitely makes you stand out in a room!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
September 24, 2015
Fantastic fit! Fabulous sexy dress! People complimented me all night.
Flattering fit actually. True to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2015
Short!
I wanted to wear this dress for a wedding held at an art gallery - as the bold print seemed very fitting. Unfortunately, the dress was WAY too short. And I am 5 ft nothing. It fit tight in the bottom portion and very loose up top. The shoulders fell off and the bottom rode up - so much so, I lifted my arms and my cheeks came right out! Definitely not a dress for dancing in and the fit was definitely just off. Needless to say, I did not wear this to the wedding.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
September 23, 2015
Gorgeous! I wanted to keep it.
I wore this to a friend's wedding and received more compliments than I can count. People were asking me when they could borrow my dress. It fit perfectly- I have a small bust so did not even need to wear a bra. I was dancing all night and felt completely comfortable in it. Definitely recommend- you will not regret it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
September 23, 2015
LOVED this dress!!!!
Beautiful pattern, sexy back, comfortable to wear, felt very unique. Love this designer and wish I owned this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
September 22, 2015
Short but Chic
I rented this dress for my birthday. The size 10 fit perfectly & the backup 12 was too loose in the back. However, I opted to wear another dress because this dress was exceptionally short!! I'm 5'3" & if I sneezed the skirt would reveal all my goods. Everyone else who said it was super short was spot on! I should have listened.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 21
September 22, 2015
I love that I got to wear this dress for such a special occasion.
I've been wanting to rent this dress for a long time! Absolutely LOVED it! I wore this dress to my sister's quinceañera and got several compliments about how unique it looked. I love how snug it felt on the top and that the material was very stretchy. I would say that the only con to this dress is that I had to keep pulling it down when I was dancing because it kept sneaking up my thighs. Other than that, I enjoyed wearing this dress very much. Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2015
Loved the open back of the dress
Loved the dress the size 8 width wise fit great but was super short so I went with the 10.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
September 21, 2015
The dress was a stunner for sure, I received a ton of compliments. Runs very short.
I received many compliments on this dress. The colors are fantastic and the open back was a really cool cut. The fit is a little tricky though because the dress runs very short. I normally wear a size 6, but wore an 8 in this for the extra length. As a result, the dress was a little big up top. Also I expected this dress to be structured and a heavier material. It's actually very lightweight and stretchy. It makes it comfortable, but it did move around on my body quite a bit and I had to pull down the back throughout the night. The hem on this dress is wonky as others have noted. I tried to iron it but it remained lumpy and wavy. Despite these issues, I felt great wearing it, as it is more daring than i usually go, and it was a great rental all in all. I recommend a nu bra or other sticky bra since the dress has no support in the bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
September 20, 2015
The dress was awesome and edgy! Loved the open back and received a TON of compliments!
The dress was exactly what I was hoping for! It was fun and different while still classy and edgy. I was worried about the open back and having to wear a sticky bra, but it worked out perfectly! The dress was true to size. Only down side was after walking for awhile, I felt I had to keep pulling it down so it wouldn't ride up too much. All in all, great dress and wish I could have been able to keep it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 22
September 20, 2015
Exquisite colors!
This dress is amazing! The colors pop in all the right ways. I received so many complements about how unique and beautiful this dress is. Fits true to size, if anything it is slightly bigger in the shoulder area.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
September 20, 2015
Perfect for a Labor Day wedding
I have a small upper body but with a decent adhesive bra the dress looked great. I got so many compliments. I love the combination of the demure neckline with the sassy low back and short length. Comfy and great for dancing, and the bright colors are just gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Age: 36
September 19, 2015
Received so many compliments on this dress!!!
This dress is very short and does ride up some, so I wore the larger size. I did have to tape down the back of the dress because the top back was slightly loose for me with the larger size. However, the bottom half fit great and after I used some dress tape for the top, it looked amazing !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 16, 2015
Got lots of compliments! Loved wearing this dress.
Fit pretty well, I wore sticky boobs, and fashion tape to hold it up on the shoulders. Like everyone else said, you will tug at it all night but overall SO cute and so happy I got this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
September 16, 2015
Birthday Bash Outfit
Wore this for my birthday to a day party. It was a nice dress to party in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 14, 2015
Not a perfect fit, but TONS of compliments.
Pros: I received so many compliments!! The colors were beautiful for a summer wedding, and the back is stunning It's stretchy so it can be forgiving if you end up with a size that's too small. I could have gone with the zero, but decided to go with the 2 since it was a bit looser (but either would have worked). Cons: for those of us who are petite, the sleeves are very wide, and if you have a straight mid-section (rather than a more hourglass waist), then it makes you look very square. I was pretty self conscious the whole evening since it wasn't as figure flattering as I had hoped.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 14, 2015
Loved this dress
Open back and high neckline made this dress stand out! I was complimented all night. One women said I had "the best dress of the night" then quickly added, "besides the bride!" RTR does it again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
September 14, 2015
Such a great dress!
Got the 4 and the 6. The 4 fit but was a little short for a wedding (could have worn to the bachelorette though!) so I went with the 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
September 11, 2015
I adore this dress
This dress was perfect for the date I went on. I got a ton of compliments from everyone including strangers. It's very short and tight, very sexy, I wouldn't rent for too formal of an event.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
September 10, 2015
SO many complements! It was such a fun dress :)
I ordered the 0 and 2 and could have work a 00 if that was an option. The top was big in the shoulders but overall it fit just fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2015
I got a ton of compliments on this dress it was Los fun to wear!
The dress was just as colorful as it looked online! There wasn't much difference in the sizes as the dress is tight and stretchy. It was shorter than I expected which lead to me wearing the 8 for length and I was still pulling it down all night. It photographed really well and was comfortable aside from the length!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 9, 2015
Perfect dress for a perfect night!
Beautiful dress that ran slightly big in that the back would sometimes lift up and crumple. Definitely short and did ride up a bit when I walked. The hem at the bottom was pressed slightly off. Otherwise, it was absolutely gorgeous - the colors were vibrant and I got compliments all night! Would highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 9, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Perfect for a night out in Miami
Wore this lovely dress out in Miami. It was awesome!! Love the bold colors!!! Fit was great. I ended up wearing the 00 (I'm usually a 0) but I didn't really fill out the top well. Ended up using sticky boobs and it looked and worked out great !! The back is awesome- would rent again!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 8, 2015
Wore this dress for my bridal shower by day and bachelorette party by night. Great 4 both occasions
The fit was snug in the hips which was great because it didn't ride up and the open back was a great surprise element.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
September 8, 2015
The dress was so much fun to wear!
The dress is made of a really stretchy fabric , so both the 10 and the 12 fit in their own way. I went with the 10 because it was more comfortable without a bra. The dress is short, but it stayed put so I was never afraid it would ride up.the cap sleeves can sit in a weird spot, but I got used to it pretty quickly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
September 4, 2015
I went to a pop up restaurant event hosted by an art group. It was upscale casual.
Dress fit great! The bottom had a lot of stretch, so if you are like me with a tiny waist and a booty (not really showcased in picture) - then size down! Fabulous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 4, 2015
date
loved it!
See more reviews:
4 / 31

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×