Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1462 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(769)
Small
(377)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 15, 2015
Gorgeous

The dress is beautiful. The zipper was ripping so it was hard to zip but once it was on it was a marvel. The dress went from school, to the mall, to date night with a change of shoes. The light material was perfect for the hot, humid Dallas summer west her. I'm hiding a baby bump BUT the dress wasn't having it. It accentuated my little bump well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 22, 2015
The open back was super sexy! The pattern was very fun and earned lots of compliments.

The Material was much more stretchy and thin than I imagined. It was very form fitted on the bottom but the pattern helped cover up any imperfections. If you have a smaller upper frame this dress isn't for you. There is nothing connecting the back so if you are small up top the dress feels like it might just come off. This dress rides up a lot while dancing!! This is NOT a great dancing dress at all but if you want to just stand there and look good this will work for you!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 26, 2015
Fun dress!

This dress is so much fun! I rented it for my friend's bachelorette party but ended up wearing my back up dress. I rented a size 8 and my back up size, 10. The 8 fit like a glove but the zipper was coming away from the seam and I didn't want to take a chance on a wardrobe malfunction. The 10 ended up being too big to wear. I Will rent this dress again!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 29, 2015
Mostly happy

I rented this dress for my bachelorette where everyone else wore all white. When I got the dress I was nervous because it is not a true white, more of a light grey than white but the colors were bright and the back was great so I still loved it. It definitely runs big and I wish I would have ordered the 00 but the 0 was fine. The only thing that really bothered me about the dress was the hem at the bottom of the dress was weird, like someone had rolled it and hemmed it. It didn't lay flat even after trying to iron it. It wasn't noticeable unless you knew it was there. The dress ended up being perfect for the Bach party and overall I was happy with my rental

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 1, 2015
Easy and convenient!!

It was different material than I thought, it's stretchy and form fitting. I'm 5'3 and normally a size 2 but I went with the size 4 because it was longer and wasn't as tight on the butt. More appropriate for a wedding. Received several compliments and overall was happy with my experience!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 43
July 1, 2015
I felt great in my dress at a wedding we attended.

Fit perfectly! I got so many compliments on the color!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 6, 2015
Incredibly short

I'm usually not afraid of a short dress, but this was even too short for me. The bottom of the dress just came under my butt. Definitely not long enough for a wedding. Girls night out, maybe. But could never wear this to any thing formal.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 12, 2015
Loved the dress!

It was very comfy to wear because of the stretchy material. The only down side of the dress was it would ride up a little when walking but it wasn't a deal breaker.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
July 18, 2015
Comfortable and Bright!

The dress has stretch to it and is figure flattering. I got a lot of compliments on the dress throughout the night. I loved the open back but it makes it really hard to wear a bra. So I went without one but I don't think you can tell. I also had to use double sided tape to keep the dress hang up straps from hanging out. Overall, good fit, comfortable and classy!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
July 22, 2015
To all my girls shaped like boys- this dress will give you curves and make you feel hot!

Maybe a little short for tall girls, but I'm 5'6", and the length with heels was perfect. Received compliments all night long!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
July 24, 2015
Great dress for a bachelorette party!

Dress is very short, but in a good way. The sleeves were falling down off my shoulders wish I would have gotten some double sided tape.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
July 27, 2015
So many compliments!

I really loved this dress. One guest told me it was like a piece of art. The material was very easy to move in and light. I could not find a bra that worked with the back, so I went without, but it wasn't an issue due to the busy paternal in the front. I would definitely rent this one again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 3, 2015
Fun dress for a summer wedding!

I ordered this before finding out the wedding was going to be more casual, so I ended up wearing sandals with it. It is really stretchy and comfortable. Like all reviews have said it is very short, so watch out for that.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
August 3, 2015
So many compliments on this dress! Very comfortable. Makes a statement.

Great fit! Rides up a bit when walking, but a huge problem. Though this dress is such a "statement" piece, I wish I could buy it. So fun to wear!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 9, 2015
Perfect dress for a night out at my Stella & Dot conference in Las Vegas!

The dress is tight. I was worried about the "sticky" bra cup tape showing because of the cut from the back, but it didn't. It was perfect. The only drawback to this particular dress was that there was something weird going on with the hem. It was like there was no longer a hem and it kept folding at a different place instead of at the actual hem. This dress was perfect for a night out in Vegas!!! I got compliments on it all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
August 10, 2015
Such a fun dress!

The dress is a lighter material than I expected but that wasn't a bad thing! The 2 fit better on top, but the 4 was more comfortable for its added length. It did ride up some during the night but no more than you'd expect. Overall loved the dress and got tons of compliments! The open back made the dress! This was my first RTR experience and I'd highly recommend it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 17, 2015
This dress is perfect. Cute, sexy, and comfortable!

I loved this dress. Got a 2 and 4, wish I would have ordered a 0 and 2. The 2 fit but I'm small chested and since the back is open it felt a little loose in the shoulders. I bought an adhesive bra to help in that area and it worked great!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 18, 2015
The dress was a smash hit!!!

If you're in between a 0 and a 2, you'll probably go with the two. I have a smaller bust and I even opted out of wearing a bra with my size 2

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 30, 2015
One of my favorite RTRs ever!

I love love LOVE this dress, wish I owned it. Backless and awesome

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 31, 2015
Show stopper party dress!

The open back on this dress is killer. What I was no expecting is that the cut of this dress exaggerates any sort of weight you carry in your stomach. From the front everything looked awesome. From the side I looked like I was sporting a baby bump. It's a fun dress but not my favorite.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
September 8, 2015
The dress was so much fun to wear!

The dress is made of a really stretchy fabric , so both the 10 and the 12 fit in their own way. I went with the 10 because it was more comfortable without a bra. The dress is short, but it stayed put so I was never afraid it would ride up.the cap sleeves can sit in a weird spot, but I got used to it pretty quickly.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 8, 2015
Wore this dress for my bridal shower by day and bachelorette party by night. Great 4 both occasions

The fit was snug in the hips which was great because it didn't ride up and the open back was a great surprise element.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2015
I got a ton of compliments on this dress it was Los fun to wear!

The dress was just as colorful as it looked online! There wasn't much difference in the sizes as the dress is tight and stretchy. It was shorter than I expected which lead to me wearing the 8 for length and I was still pulling it down all night. It photographed really well and was comfortable aside from the length!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
September 11, 2015
I adore this dress

This dress was perfect for the date I went on. I got a ton of compliments from everyone including strangers. It's very short and tight, very sexy, I wouldn't rent for too formal of an event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 14, 2015
Loved this dress

Open back and high neckline made this dress stand out! I was complimented all night. One women said I had "the best dress of the night" then quickly added, "besides the bride!" RTR does it again!

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
September 20, 2015
Perfect for a Labor Day wedding

I have a small upper body but with a decent adhesive bra the dress looked great. I got so many compliments. I love the combination of the demure neckline with the sassy low back and short length. Comfy and great for dancing, and the bright colors are just gorgeous.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Age: 27
September 20, 2015
The dress was awesome and edgy! Loved the open back and received a TON of compliments!

The dress was exactly what I was hoping for! It was fun and different while still classy and edgy. I was worried about the open back and having to wear a sticky bra, but it worked out perfectly! The dress was true to size. Only down side was after walking for awhile, I felt I had to keep pulling it down so it wouldn't ride up too much. All in all, great dress and wish I could have been able to keep it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
September 22, 2015
Short but Chic

I rented this dress for my birthday. The size 10 fit perfectly & the backup 12 was too loose in the back. However, I opted to wear another dress because this dress was exceptionally short!! I'm 5'3" & if I sneezed the skirt would reveal all my goods. Everyone else who said it was super short was spot on! I should have listened.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
September 23, 2015
LOVED this dress!!!!

Beautiful pattern, sexy back, comfortable to wear, felt very unique. Love this designer and wish I owned this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2015
Felt so glamorous in this dress!

Very form- fitting. Could have maybe done the size up (a 2 for me) but then I would have been swimming in the cap sleeves. I loved the backless style and the colors. Definitely makes you stand out in a room!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 11, 2015
Amazing dress, fit was great! It's a little short, FYI. Great experience overall!

Soft material, comfortable to wear, beautiful. No cons but keep in mind it is very short.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2015
Looks great in pictures!

I was worried that this dress would gape in the back because I have a short torso, but it fit great! The length is short, but not too short. And the colors really photograph well. Lots of compliments - would rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
October 25, 2015
Loved this dress!! I received a lot of compliments.

The dress is short, but looks and fits great.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2015
Good concept- very impractical.

Great dress. As long as you are standing. Still. And probably not breathing either. You can't walk or sit in this dress without the skirt bunching way up or the shoulders falling totally off. Looks pretty (it's very tight), but one of my least favorite rentals ever.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 15, 2015
First RTR order. Absolutely amazing. So many compliments! Cant wait for my nye dress

Both dresses fit well. The 4 was a little big on shoulder and back. Felt it may slip so chose the 2

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 26, 2015
Too short to wear.

This dress was so short I could wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
December 17, 2015
Easy and comes as it says... Makes me feel safe to rent from them..

I'm smaller on top and thicker on bottom... I still probably could have gone down a size. But it was fine I didn't mind too much especially since it was for my engagement photos... But I absolutely loved this dress!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2016
So fun to wear!

This dress is on the shorter side. Best for something that's not too formal.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2016
Perfect birthday dress!!

This dress is very short but modest up top. Perfect for someone who likes to show off legs and not cleavage. The back is also stunning and shows just enough of your back to be sexy. I wish I owned this dress because so many of my girlfriends asked to borrow it later. Almost every female I saw gave me compliments and even many guys. It was the perfect birthday dress. It runs true to size. The material is good quality and didn't run or itch. I danced all night in it and wasn't worried about it riding up too much.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 24, 2016
Bright fun and unique

The color on this dress really pops. The back is show stopping. It is short but not too bad. Wore this on a yacht vacation and for my birthday.

See more reviews:
4 / 37

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×