Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1208 reviews
Fit
Large39
True to Size684
Small343
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
September 22, 2015
Short but Chic
I rented this dress for my birthday. The size 10 fit perfectly & the backup 12 was too loose in the back. However, I opted to wear another dress because this dress was exceptionally short!! I'm 5'3" & if I sneezed the skirt would reveal all my goods. Everyone else who said it was super short was spot on! I should have listened.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 21
September 22, 2015
I love that I got to wear this dress for such a special occasion.
I've been wanting to rent this dress for a long time! Absolutely LOVED it! I wore this dress to my sister's quinceañera and got several compliments about how unique it looked. I love how snug it felt on the top and that the material was very stretchy. I would say that the only con to this dress is that I had to keep pulling it down when I was dancing because it kept sneaking up my thighs. Other than that, I enjoyed wearing this dress very much. Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2015
Loved the open back of the dress
Loved the dress the size 8 width wise fit great but was super short so I went with the 10.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
September 21, 2015
The dress was a stunner for sure, I received a ton of compliments. Runs very short.
I received many compliments on this dress. The colors are fantastic and the open back was a really cool cut. The fit is a little tricky though because the dress runs very short. I normally wear a size 6, but wore an 8 in this for the extra length. As a result, the dress was a little big up top. Also I expected this dress to be structured and a heavier material. It's actually very lightweight and stretchy. It makes it comfortable, but it did move around on my body quite a bit and I had to pull down the back throughout the night. The hem on this dress is wonky as others have noted. I tried to iron it but it remained lumpy and wavy. Despite these issues, I felt great wearing it, as it is more daring than i usually go, and it was a great rental all in all. I recommend a nu bra or other sticky bra since the dress has no support in the bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
September 20, 2015
The dress was awesome and edgy! Loved the open back and received a TON of compliments!
The dress was exactly what I was hoping for! It was fun and different while still classy and edgy. I was worried about the open back and having to wear a sticky bra, but it worked out perfectly! The dress was true to size. Only down side was after walking for awhile, I felt I had to keep pulling it down so it wouldn't ride up too much. All in all, great dress and wish I could have been able to keep it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 22
September 20, 2015
Exquisite colors!
This dress is amazing! The colors pop in all the right ways. I received so many complements about how unique and beautiful this dress is. Fits true to size, if anything it is slightly bigger in the shoulder area.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
September 20, 2015
Perfect for a Labor Day wedding
I have a small upper body but with a decent adhesive bra the dress looked great. I got so many compliments. I love the combination of the demure neckline with the sassy low back and short length. Comfy and great for dancing, and the bright colors are just gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Age: 36
September 19, 2015
Received so many compliments on this dress!!!
This dress is very short and does ride up some, so I wore the larger size. I did have to tape down the back of the dress because the top back was slightly loose for me with the larger size. However, the bottom half fit great and after I used some dress tape for the top, it looked amazing !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 16, 2015
Got lots of compliments! Loved wearing this dress.
Fit pretty well, I wore sticky boobs, and fashion tape to hold it up on the shoulders. Like everyone else said, you will tug at it all night but overall SO cute and so happy I got this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
September 16, 2015
Birthday Bash Outfit
Wore this for my birthday to a day party. It was a nice dress to party in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 14, 2015
Not a perfect fit, but TONS of compliments.
Pros: I received so many compliments!! The colors were beautiful for a summer wedding, and the back is stunning It's stretchy so it can be forgiving if you end up with a size that's too small. I could have gone with the zero, but decided to go with the 2 since it was a bit looser (but either would have worked). Cons: for those of us who are petite, the sleeves are very wide, and if you have a straight mid-section (rather than a more hourglass waist), then it makes you look very square. I was pretty self conscious the whole evening since it wasn't as figure flattering as I had hoped.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 14, 2015
Loved this dress
Open back and high neckline made this dress stand out! I was complimented all night. One women said I had "the best dress of the night" then quickly added, "besides the bride!" RTR does it again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
September 14, 2015
Such a great dress!
Got the 4 and the 6. The 4 fit but was a little short for a wedding (could have worn to the bachelorette though!) so I went with the 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
September 11, 2015
I adore this dress
This dress was perfect for the date I went on. I got a ton of compliments from everyone including strangers. It's very short and tight, very sexy, I wouldn't rent for too formal of an event.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
September 10, 2015
SO many complements! It was such a fun dress :)
I ordered the 0 and 2 and could have work a 00 if that was an option. The top was big in the shoulders but overall it fit just fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2015
I got a ton of compliments on this dress it was Los fun to wear!
The dress was just as colorful as it looked online! There wasn't much difference in the sizes as the dress is tight and stretchy. It was shorter than I expected which lead to me wearing the 8 for length and I was still pulling it down all night. It photographed really well and was comfortable aside from the length!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 9, 2015
Perfect dress for a perfect night!
Beautiful dress that ran slightly big in that the back would sometimes lift up and crumple. Definitely short and did ride up a bit when I walked. The hem at the bottom was pressed slightly off. Otherwise, it was absolutely gorgeous - the colors were vibrant and I got compliments all night! Would highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 9, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Perfect for a night out in Miami
Wore this lovely dress out in Miami. It was awesome!! Love the bold colors!!! Fit was great. I ended up wearing the 00 (I'm usually a 0) but I didn't really fill out the top well. Ended up using sticky boobs and it looked and worked out great !! The back is awesome- would rent again!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 8, 2015
Wore this dress for my bridal shower by day and bachelorette party by night. Great 4 both occasions
The fit was snug in the hips which was great because it didn't ride up and the open back was a great surprise element.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
September 8, 2015
The dress was so much fun to wear!
The dress is made of a really stretchy fabric , so both the 10 and the 12 fit in their own way. I went with the 10 because it was more comfortable without a bra. The dress is short, but it stayed put so I was never afraid it would ride up.the cap sleeves can sit in a weird spot, but I got used to it pretty quickly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
September 4, 2015
I went to a pop up restaurant event hosted by an art group. It was upscale casual.
Dress fit great! The bottom had a lot of stretch, so if you are like me with a tiny waist and a booty (not really showcased in picture) - then size down! Fabulous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 4, 2015
date
loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2015
I LOVED this dress. It made me feel very hot. :)
Definitely short, but the 0 fit me better in the shoulders which was necessary.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2015
A total show-stopper!
The dress was perfect for a formal garden wedding! A total show-stopper! A little double-stick tape was helpful to keep the open back form-fitting. Wishing I owned the dress - fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
September 1, 2015
Wore this dress to a summer cocktail event and received a lot of compliments.
I am very petite, and usually wear a 00P. In this dress, I wore the 00 and it fit me very well. I pressed the dress so that the hem would lay right - I would recommend others doing this as I couldn't have worn the dress as received. The only reason I wouldn't give this dress 5 stars is due to the hem. I had to adjust it throughout the evening, which was not ideal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
September 1, 2015
Dress that stands out from the pack!
I have had this dress in my hearts for some time now. It looked sexy and fun and I loved all the bright colors on it. I know some people commented on how the sleeves were puffier than they thought they would be, I personally loved that feature. The dress is short, but I didn't find myself pulling it down all night. It is super tight around the stomach region, if that is not a feature you usually like to show off I would just keep that in mind. The good news is the bright colors/design does camouflage things a bit. Overall really beautiful and I would rent it again! I wore the dress with black pumps which I thought complimented it nicely. Would have loved to wear the dress with a bright shoe but nothing was really working for me. So black it was! I got quite a few compliments throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 31, 2015
Show stopper party dress!
The open back on this dress is killer. What I was no expecting is that the cut of this dress exaggerates any sort of weight you carry in your stomach. From the front everything looked awesome. From the side I looked like I was sporting a baby bump. It's a fun dress but not my favorite.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
August 31, 2015
Changed up the pace with the pops of color so the pictures from the night look great
The dress fit very well but was a little loose with the back cutout around the shoulders
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
August 31, 2015
Wore this to an art gallery wedding and it could not have been more perfect!
Didn't go 5 minutes without someone coming up to compliment this dress. Incredibly comfy! I went with the size 6 because it's shorter than I usually wear. Great thing is that with all the colors, you have a wide option of color shoes/purse to match with the dress. Love the low back and the sleeves were very pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 30, 2015
One of my favorite RTRs ever!
I love love LOVE this dress, wish I owned it. Backless and awesome
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2015
The print is phenomenal
The back gaps some with movement. The material was very wrinkled. The hem was not right, probably due to the material.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 27, 2015
Wore for a rehearsal dinner and got SO many compliments!
The 2 fit but was a little snug to be worn in church. Felt fabulous, has stretch so it moved well. Needed to use fashion tape in the back to keep it flush but otherwise PERFECT. I would buy this.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
August 26, 2015
Fun colors and design!
Holy short! Had I worn the 2, I would not have been able to move from my chair for fear of exposing something inappropriate. Thank goodness I got the 4- it was a tad loose in the waist and bust (I have small boobs) but overall a good fit. Only complaint: you raise an arm, the dress shifts up. You lower your arm, the dress does not shift down- so meant for frequent rearranging. But still fun and cute! Oh... and pink shoes (like on the model). Find a cheap pair- they make the whole outfit pop!
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Other
August 25, 2015
Sexy backless dress with splash of color
The color and design of the dress make it very unique. It's party in the front, and a bigger party in the back--as it is backless. I had so much fun in this dress. I wore it to a bachelorette party, which consisted of a wine tour, dinner, then a club. Compliments all day and all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
August 25, 2015
Beautiful, classy, sexy dress -- perfect cocktail dress!
I wore this dress to a summer wedding rehearsal dinner at a country club. Like most other reviewers have mentioned, it is tight fitting and tends to ride up with every step - so just be prepared to pull it down. I think it was pretty true to size - if I would have gone with the bigger size, it would have been too big on the shoulders. Of course it was tight on the thighs, butt and even a bit on my tummy, but not enough that it wasn't nice-fitting. It is a stretchy material, so you can make the size work. I wore closed toe, suede red pumps. I wanted to go with a high, open-toed heel but felt the dress needed at least one conservative touch since it was a wedding-related event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 24, 2015
Perfect NYC Bachelorette Dress
Absolutely loved this rental. Colors are vibrant and the back makes it so fun. Definitely a dress I wish I owned!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 24, 2015
I absolutely loved the look - bright & fun. Wore it for my college graduation.
Both dresses (0 & 2) seemed very worn out, the white part of the fabric was beige-greyish and the hem seemed like it had been altered a few times (visible in one of the photos) - didn't have that "clean cut" look. Overall I loved how it looked despite the details, it fits like a glove and the back is a fun surprise factor - not uncomfortable at all! Wore it without a bra and did not show.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 24, 2015
This dress is amazing -- and the back is to-die-for. Super happy overall.
The only downside I could pick out is the snug fit around the legs and hips. Since it is so stretchy and fitted, it likes to crawl up throughout the night. For that reason, I went up a size larger than I normally wear. But overall it was a killer dress, and I would totally rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 23, 2015
Had a great girls night out in NYC and loved wearing this dress!
Very flattering fit - great pattern and the back is awesome!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 23, 2015
Turn Some Heads with This One!
Wore this for my birthday celebration, and it was a great dress to go from a nice dinner to drinks out with friends. I got TONS of compliments, and everyone was saying how they had never seen a dress like it. Sexy, fun, flirty but still classy. I used some fashion tape on the back to help keep it in place because the size 8 was still a tad big on me in the top half. Dress has some stretch, so it wasn't too tight feeling or uncomfortable when you're sitting. Due to the open back, just wore some pasties. I am 5'5 - 5'6 with a short torso, and the dress hit about mid-thigh on me. You definitely lose some length when you sit, so keep that in mind when it comes to your underwear/Spanx. Would rent again in a heartbeat!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
4 / 31

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×