Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $55 rental?
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1373 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(742)
Small
(366)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 4, 2013
Fun, colorful, backless dress for a casual outside wedding!
This dress was super, super fun! The colors look even better in person and the low back is just stunning! I have to say though, the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because this dress runs super small and wouldn't be appropriate for a church wedding. That being said, it was PERFECT for a casual outside wedding on the lake. First of all, I'm between sizes with some designers so the 2 was a tad too tight in the hips and super short but the top and bust were perfect. The 4 was perfect on the bottom, less tight and not as short, but the top was a little big; nothing that fashion tape couldn't fix though! I just taped the back of the dress so it didn't look loose and it stayed all night. I am 5'6 1/2" almost 5"7" and I have to say, I would never wear this to a church wedding because of how short it is. If you are taller than 5'7" I would say this dress might not be for you since it just covered my backside. I would say though, this would be a fun dress to change into for the reception! Also, it doesn't look like it in pictures, but the fabric is very stretchy. All in all, it was a little big on top but perfect on bottom and was a super fun dress for a casual, beautiful, outside wedding on the lake!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 152lbs
October 4, 2013
Beautiful dress
I love the dress, the back was the best feature. the front made my belly stick out a bit but overall it was fine. very short but not trashy short. didnt like that when i danced i felt llike the dress kepted moving out of place. the shoulders would come down, i always had to adjust myself. its definitely not a party dance all night long type of dress. its a sit down look pretty have dinner take pictures kinda a dress for sure! ;-) but i loved it. Got many compliments all night. ;-) thank you RTR for all your help.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 6, 2013
Beautiful colors!
This dress was gorgeous and perfect for a casual beach wedding. I loved the open back, even though I had to buy the special "Nubra" to go with it. I got a ton of compliments, it was comfortable and easy to dance in. The only small con was that the straps (for hanging) would sometimes slip out of the dress through the sleeve or the open back, so I taped them to the inside of the dress to keep them in place. I wore it with nude heels and kept the accessories minimal since there was a lot going on with the colors.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
October 7, 2013
One of my Favorite Dresses I've Ever Worn!
The dress is beautiful and fit me perfectly. The material and shape allowed it to be just tight enough, but still sophisticated - it was perfect for my body type. I LOVED the back, this was definitely the favorite dress I've rented thus far!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2013
I loved this dress!
I was nervous at first since this was my first RTR experience but everything went great! I was so excited when the box came and couldn't wait to get it. The dress fit true to size and I got so many compliments. It is for sure a show stopper! The dress rides up a lot but don't let that stop you from getting it and its also big in the back a little but nothing fashion tape can't handle!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 10, 2013
Endless compliments from EVERYONE!
I wore this dress for the rehearsal/rehearsal dinner for my best friend's wedding. Everyone loved the dress and were constantly complimenting how great it looked. I have wider hips so the bottom was a little snug and would ride up. I wore spanks for a few hours, and then took them off and felt MUCH more comfortable. If you're looking for a dress to look elegantly hot, this is it! I ordered the Sea Water Shift dress as a back up, and the other bridesmaid borrowed it for the same occasion! That dress runs a little large, but can be cinched in with a cute belt (as you see she did).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 11, 2013
Lots of compliments!
I agree with all the other reviewers that the bottom and the top of this dress seem to be two different sizes. I normally wear a 4, on few occasions a 6, so those are the sizes I chose to order. While the 6 did fit, the bottom was short and tight and I felt like I had to pull down it down constantly. Meanwhile the top was fairly loose. It is a gorgeous dress though and I received a ton of compliments. The colors in the design are beautiful and the back of the dress is stunning. Luckily the material was stretchy otherwise I doubt this dress would have worked. I would definitely suggest this dress for ladies that are bigger on top than they are on the bottom. For girls with booties like me, definitely size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2013
Eye-catching cut and color!
Loved this dress and got many compliments. The shoulders and back are particularly striking with short hair. Fit perfectly while standing though the skirt rode up while walking...only complaint. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 14, 2013
Too short for tall girls!
Beware--If you have long legs or are tall, this dress will NOT look right on you. Its a beautiful pattern but made me look very inappropriate for a formal event (I'm 5'11 and have very long legs--34 inch inseam on pants).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 15, 2013
A gorgeous dress!
Ordered the size 0 and size 2, size 0 was a little snug, but the size 2 was too big, so I stuck with size 0. Received sooo many compliments on the dress, the color was gorgeous and the open back was perfect. The sleeves kept slipping off my shoulders but, other than that it was gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 17, 2013
Wore as my birthday dress for a date with my BF to a play. Summer sexy for sure!
Its a fabulous dress, so if you are wondering if it's right for you and this is your style.. don't doubt it! Wore the 10 for the length as the dress is truly short! The 8 fit fine though. The colors, the style, it gives the perfect amount of everything. Sexy but appropriate, yet totally party and/or hot date worthy. Fits great because it oddly has room but you wanna have the flattest tummy you can. Double sided tape is MANDATORY. It has to go on your shoulders and on your back underneath the dress because if not it will slip constantly. I bought it knowing that from other reviews so double sided tape = non issue. Other than that, the pictures speak for themselves! It actually make the butt look a bit smaller than it actually is, just as an fyi but that's fine because you want the focus to be more on your back, less on your butt or else it could get a bit trashy. lol. Happy renting ladies!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2013
The back on this dress is AMAZING.
I wore this dress for a friend's rehearsal dinner and pre-party. It was amazing, a total hit. The back on the dress is the real standout. Make sure you purchase a good backless bra. Nude pumps and minimal jewelry works well with the dress. I ordered a 6 and an 8. I could have worn the six but the eight was more comfortable - - the dress is pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 18, 2013
Awesome dress for a warm summer wedding!
I ordered to 2 along with the 4 bc of the reviews and ended up wearing the smaller size. It was short and fitted and that was the look I was going for. The low back and colorful print were a hit at the wedding. I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2013
Perfectly on time delivery and fabulous dress!
The dress fits true to size on top but it definitely is very tight and short on the bottom half. I had to keep pulling it down all night to not show my bum on the dancefloor, but that is typical with a fitted dress like this one. I got SO MANY compliments and had a great evening!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 22, 2013
Perfect Dress for a Birthday Dinner!
I rented this dress for my birthday in September and it was perfect! I loved everything about it! I would rent this again in a heartbeat and probably will! It definitely gets a lot of attention, so wear it when you are looking to stand out! I thought it was very true to size. It was a little tight in the butt/thighs area and I had to keep pulling it down... but I'm about 5' 61/2" with really long legs... so it was just a little short on me in general. I didn't want to go up a size as I thought that made it a little too loose in the shoulder area. I did not wear any type of bra with this and did just fine. I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 23, 2013
Unique dress and fun dress for any occasion.
Perfect fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 25, 2013
My expectations were met and even exceeded when I received this dress!
The dress was perfect for an outdoor, beach themed, wedding. The fit was perfect for an athletic build and was comfortable in the heat. It was also very well fitted around the chest and butt area so there were no worries while dancing. Awesome dress and I received quite a few compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2013
Stunning!
This dress is vibrant and bright so it's a lot of fun to wear. I got compliments from men and women all day long. The conservative cut in the front makes it perfect for a church ceremony with a cardigan, and the sassy back is fun for the evening. Easily transitions from day to night. My only complaint is that the dress seems to run large in the top and small on the bottom. It does ride up a little bit, and the shoulders can be a little loose but fashion tape helped and the fit is definitely not a deal-breaker.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 28, 2013
I felt sexy but still comfortable
I wore this dress for my husband's 30th birthday, I wanted to look fun and sexy but still classy. While the open back is a bit revealing, the front of the dress keeps it classy and tempers the back. Like other reviewers mentioned, the sleeves have a tendency to fall so I kept them in place with fashion tape. Since the back is open, I wore a silicone adhesive bra. The dress is pretty short (I'm 5'4 and hit mid-thigh for me) but it's so colorful and fun, great for a special night out/party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
October 30, 2013
Very cute, but not a perfect fit.
This dress was VERY cute, I received lots of compliments. However, the major issue I had with the dress was the fit. The size 2 fit me, but it was too loose in the back area, so it kept falling down. So I had to wear the size 0 and I felt like it was extremely too tight, however the back fit. Make sure to use LOTS of fashion tape, or the dress will fall down!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
November 1, 2013
This dress flattered my figure perfectly! Perfect for the homecoming dance.
Comfortable, stretchy material. It looked great on my very small frame, and gave me curves in all the right places! Hit at my mid-thigh, not too risque and not too conservative. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
November 4, 2013
Just not for my body
The dress definately was tight in the hip and leg area (as previous reviewers said). I chose to wear the 8 because it gave me another inch or so in length, but the 6 "fit" as well. I think if I wore a 10 the bottom would have fit fine, but the top would have been falling off. I ended up wearing it for a few hours while going out for cocktails, but I will not chose this dress again. It was a risk for me to take in the first place. I've rented at least 15 times from RTR and this is the first time a dress didn't work out perfectly for me, so don't get discouraged.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 7, 2013
I loved it! It was super comfy and I got compliments all night!
A little double sided tape solved the problem of it falling off the shoulders. I do agree with others that it was an issue. However, this is very comfortable. I felt like a work of art.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 8, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it for a wedding and received so many compliments on it.
The open back and the bright colors make it a fun and flirty dress to wear. It was a bit short, and I am only 5'4". So, it might not work for taller girls. I normally wear between a size 2 and a size 4 depending on the dress type and brand. The Size 4 fit me perfectly. I dressed it up with Gold Stilettos and Green and Gold Large Chandelier Earrings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2013
Cute Dress!
I really love the graphic print and open back. However, I ordered a size 2 and it was a little big. I still wore it but I think the smaller size would have fit better.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
The back of the dress turned lots of heads. I felt like a million bucks in this dress. Very classy, yet hugs in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 13, 2013
Great fun, unusual dress
Really fun, colorful and different dress for a birthday party. Lots of compliments, and no one had anything like it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2013
Fun party dress
The colors on this dress are awesome, and the open back is so cute. The dress was much tighter and the fabric was more clingy than I had expected. I assumed that it would be a thicker fabric, so the dress was not as formal as I had hoped it would be. Altogether a great dress for a party, but not what I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 15, 2013
Great colors in person!
I like this dress a lot but actually didnt end up wearing it. It was just short enough on a tall girl like me that it was too inappropriate for the party I was attending. The back of the dress is killer though so you shorter gals should definitely give it a go!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2013
stunning surprise
Like most of the other reviews stated, the dress will fall off your back, but if you have tape it will be fine! This dress way shorter than I expected so be ready to show lots of skin. Otherwise, this dress is flawless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141lbs
November 20, 2013
cute dress but runs small
I ordered this as my primary dress (2 sizes) to wear to a wedding. I'm usually a size 4 in a dress but I ordered a 4 and a 6 just in case. Unfortunately neither size worked for me. I am small busted with I would say a normal hip to waist ratio. I'm more of an athletic build so I really don't have a lot of hips and thighs but I would not say I was very thin either. Either way the bottom of the dress was too tight even going up to the larger size; then when I went up to the larger size the top was too big. So it didn't work out but if it had fit I would have worn it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2013
Colorful and unique!
This dress is the perfect combination of uniqueness and classy. It has a great colorful print, but not too splashy for a cocktail party. The low back is fantastic to make a statement. While I loved this dress, it did run a little small, I normally wear a 0 and I felt that was just too tight/not as flattering throughout, luckily I had the free backup size. Based on the material, the bottom does ride up a lot too - completely manageable but just something to watch out for!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
November 26, 2013
Went on a cool date with my boyfriend.
I was expecting the bottom part to not be as fitted as it was. It fit very loose on top but around my butt it was so tight I had to go up a couple of sizes only to have the top part fit too loose but I had a more comfortable fit around my bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
very short
This dress fit and was comfortable but the length was not appropriate for sitting so I did not wear it. If I had been attending an event where I was standing or dancing the whole night it would have been perfect. It really shows off great legs, so if that is you RENT THIS DRESS.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
Great dress for an evening wedding in the late summer! Looked fantastic on, pattern covered flaws!
Was tighter in the hips but i expected that from the previous reviews. I got it in a 4 & 6 and the 6 actually fit better in the shoulders/chest area but the bottom didn't look right just a little too loose, the 4 was looser than the 6 in the top which was odd, we assumed it was just due to them being previously worn by different size people. I wore the 4 it looked great, the pattern really did a good job covering any bumps and bulges ;-) I did have to use body tape to keep the shoulders from falling down and the sides of the back from gapping too much but once it was taped i didn't worry about it at all. The bottom definitely rode up but i never felt like it rode so high that i was exposed. Overall a great dress and i would love to own this dress!!! I think it was an appropriate dress for my age on anyone too much younger it was be inappropriate.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 2, 2013
LOVED this dress! Perfectly for the summer!
Loved this dress. I wore it during the day-- a spa day with my girlfriend. It is great for a petite girl. I am 5'3" 103lbs, and I really struggle to find a dress that doesn't look frumpy on me. This dress was pretty short, good fit, and the back makes it AMAZING. I would recommend it highly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2013
Dress fit great and was perfect for a beach wedding
I rented both the 0 and the 2 for a wedding at the beach. The 0 fit perfectly and was really flattering. The 2 also fit well and was comfortable but the back was a little loose so I opted for the snugger fit. The fabric was really comfortable and I got so many compliments on this dress. Renting this dress not only made me a Rent the Runway lover, I also am a Slate & Willow fan.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 7, 2013
The open back on the dress was a surprising bonus! Colors are magnificent.
All the other guests at the wedding loved my dress! Perfect for a tropical wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 7, 2013
TOO SHORT!
This was my backup dress. I ended up wearing the other one because it was just too short for me. I felt like I wouldnt be able to dance as well
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 9, 2013
Dinner to Dance floor!
PROS: This dress looked great visually and was flattering to my body type (petite). Great day-to-night outfit. CONS: The shoulders kept coming off and I needed to tape the whole back and under my arms to keep the dress in place.
See more reviews:
4 / 35

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×