Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1425 reviews
Fit
Large
(46)
True to Size
(757)
Small
(371)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2016
Short, but show-stopper!
I loved this dress. So many compliments all night long. I wore it with a low bun. It was definitely short though and tight in the chest. A bigger size would've been to big in the waist. I had to be very careful all night not to bend over even slightly. I would love to own this dress (I would probably buy the 6 and alter the middle if I ever bought it).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 30H
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 21, 2016
Perfect for Rainbow Night
Fit really well. Good for larger boobs. I ended up wearing a bathing suit as a bra since the back was really low. Luckily orange worked out well. True to size and good compliments all night. Wore this dancing
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 21, 2016
LOVED this dress! I got compliments all night. The fabric is really light and comfortable.
I wore this to a wedding and would recommend it to anyone! The fit was true to size and it was just long enough as I'm 5'2". The fabric was light and somewhat stretchy. Love everything about this dress- especially the open back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2016
This dress was wonderful! So many compliments!!
The dress was really comfortable! The open back was super fun and sexy. The colors were so vibrant! The dress would be short on the average person but perfect to me. It was snug on the hips but it wasn't a problem since the fabric had a little give to it. Loved everything about this dress!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
September 18, 2016
Fun dress!
Other reviews were spot on. Dress was super comfy material but very short, and it did ride up a lot! I had to pull it down all night. But it was still a fun dress and dry unique.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 15, 2016
Great dress, I received a ton of compliments!
The dress fit like a glove, it was comfortable and at the same time very sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 12, 2016
Such a standout dress!
Again, another great RTR dress. I can honestly say I have not had a bad rental yet! The user reviews are the most helpful in my opinion. This dress was short as others mentioned but I didn't feel self conscious about it. It was a little tight in my hips but that is where dresses are usually tight on me due to the size of my hips and thighs for being a normal size 4. I wore the fashion nipple covers since I didn't wear a bra due to the open back. It was a really great dress to wear with flats as I attended an outdoor wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
September 9, 2016
the dress looked amazing and I got so many compliments on it
the fit was not too tight and not loose, the colors look amazing with nude shoes
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 8, 2016
Cute dress beware it's short and backless
Loved the print! The dress is backless so had to wear sticky bra. I am 5ft and was short on me! Tall girls don't order. If you're petite would recommend, not best dress if you plan on dancing. I wore to show so I was fine but because it's backless doesn't stay on tight
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
September 6, 2016
This dress is sexy!
Fit true to size but was definitely form fitting. Was a tad short and crept up when walking but overall it was good. Open back was really cute & this dress is subtly very sexy! Would recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2016
Way too tight on me but the dress is killer!
So I've got kind of a pear-shaped thing going on, and if you do too, I'm gonna say skip out on this one. The design is gorgeous, but I ended up going with my second choice because of just how tight it is.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 5, 2016
Perfect dress for Vegas!
I wore this for a night out with my family in Vegas! This picture doesn't do the dress justice. The back is incredible! I wore simple shoes and jewelry because the print is so nice. Would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2016
SUPER SHORT!
Even after reading everyones reviews I still decided to give it a try and rent it even though I knew there was a high likelihood that it would be to short....I was super bummed when I tried it on and it was so short that it barely covered my butt. I have a super long torso so if you don't have that or a butt this dress could be a stand out. I so wish it would have worked for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 2, 2016
.
The dress was a little short, so I opted for the next size up. The material is stretchy, so it forms to your body well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 30, 2016
Fantastic dress but beware it is short!
Was nervous renting this without my back up size available but it all worked out! I love the back but unfortunately don't have any pictures showing it off. The dress is definitely short - I wore spandex shorts underneath for a little piece of mind.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 29, 2016
Birthday fun!
The dress was fun, I wore the size 6 because the 4 fit perfectly on the top but the bottom was shorter and the dress dose rise when you walk. Even with the size 6. It was fun for a rooftop party and I loved the back and the colors on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
August 28, 2016
Not as cute as I thought it would be
The dress was pretty short as it appears but it was not as bright white as it appears in the image. I didn't care for the quality of the fabric.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 28, 2016
Super fun, unique, cute back
Rented for a springtime wedding in Savannah. Loved the back. Got many complements. Went down a size just because I liked the fit a little tighter, but could have gone either way. Would probably be a bit short on those who are taller... I'm 5'3" so it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2016
I rented this dress for my Master's Commencement ceremony last May and absolutely loved it!
I ordered this dress about 4 days before my ceremony because I couldn't find anything to match my blue shoes and clearly I'm a slight procrastinator :) But, RTR saved the day! They even shipped it to my house a day before I actually needed it. The dress is a little on the short side, but that was fine with me because I wore a robe over top of it anyway. It was the perfect dress for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 23, 2016
Too short
Too short too tight not flattering Size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2016
YPN Night
The fit was great except I had to continuously pull down the dress all night because it was riding up. I have a larger chest and didn't need to wear a bra. I received a million compliments and would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2016
Pretty, but not perfect.
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and received several compliments. I have a very large chest and knew I would not be able to wear a bra with this, but I want to reiterate that there is absolutely no support in the chest. I also felt like it was not very flattering in my mid-section. Overall it was very pretty and unique, but I would not rent again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
August 21, 2016
Lightweight and great fit! Loved this dress!
As other reviews say, it is short, but I'm so petite that it was a perfect length. I ordered a 0 and 00 and wore the 00 because it was a little more snug around the shoulders. The back didn't gape open and was comfortable to dance in. I wore cup inserts but no bra would have been fine with this material. I wish I owned this!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 19, 2016
Beautiful dress!
Loved this dress!! The top was a bit loose so I agree that fashion tape may help if you are going to be moving around a lot. It was also short so probably wouldn't work for a more conservative occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
August 18, 2016
Too tight!
Well ladies, I don't have a perfectly flat stomach. Maybe 1 or 2 of you are the same? If so, not sure this dress is for you. Overall the dress fit ok but it was so fitted around my midsection that it was just unflattering. I tried spanx and it didn't help. I assume if you size up the shoulders would fall off. The color was nice and I was sad to not wear it but it just wasn't working.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
August 15, 2016
I loved this dress! I felt so beautiful in it! I got compliments all night about the dress!
The fit was true to size. It did bunch a little on the bottom and was short like other reviews had mentioned. I am short so I thought the length looked nice. I did have to pull it down a few times dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
August 13, 2016
Loved this dress!
This dress runs a little big. I usually wear 0 or 1 and sometimes even 3. I ended up wearing the 00, and the shoulders were still a little loose on me, they didn't feel like they were staying as high on my collarbone as they should and I kept pulling them up during the night. The bottom fit great. Im very surprised I ended up in the 00, I don't know the last time I fit something of that size! I wore this for my birthday celebration and got lovely compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2016
I wore this to a small, outdoor wedding in California.
Overall, this was an amazing dress. It was so fun, and I got a lot of compliments. Loved that it was high in the front since it was backless. My only tiny issue was that it was a bit tight on me in the hips. If I were walking around a lot, I would be pulling it down frequently. A backless, strapless bra is a must with this guy.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2016
Amazing dress
The dress was shorter than expected, lots of compliments though. Runs true to size, stretchy & comfy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
August 9, 2016
Beautiful
Eye catching
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 30, 2016
Colorful!
Loved everything about the dress - the bright colors look great in person, the back is unique and the fabric has a great stretch and is very comfortable. I didn't need to wear a bra. Got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 153lbs
July 29, 2016
Great for NYC night
Great great dress!! I am 153lb and 5'7. I am very small chested with broad shoulders When I put it on first I though hummmmm is this going to work but I ended up loving it!!! It is short that's the only thing I didn't love about it but I am a runner and biker so I didn't mind showing my legs a bit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 27, 2016
Size was ok!
There are so many reviews here about the dress being too tight and short so I wanted to rent a 6 to be safe, but it wasn't available. So, I crossed my fingers and ordered a 4! The dress ended up being a perfect fit, and the back was amazing! I'm so glad I didn't get the 6 because it would've been too big. I'm an hourglass figure, 5' 3", 140 pounds.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Age: 32
July 26, 2016
The dress was a knockout! It's fancy and flirty!
The dress does run small and short, but the fabric is very lightweight and good for the summer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
July 21, 2016
The back of this dress makes it different! I received many compliments!
I ordered the 2 and 0. Went with the 0 because the 2 gaped open some in the back because I am an A cup with a small waist. It fit snug on the hips and butt and rode up a little but I felt comfortable in it . I did not need any tape or wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
July 21, 2016
Fun dress for hot outdoor wedding!
Fit well, true to size. The cap sleeves are cute but the size 2 sleeves were cut so far in that it looked weird, so I wore the 4--also it is very short, so going up a size felt better. The hems were both a little out of shape, probably from being tugged down often. I really loved the dress and got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 19, 2016
Sexy Back! Love the splash of colors
This dress completely stood out - the colors are fun and the back is amazing! Only problem I had was the shoulders were a little loose and I was scared that they would fall off if I danced too hard! :) I would say for my torso the dress ran slightly large
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 18, 2016
Great party dress
I wore this for my 32nd birthday night out in Chicago, which was a crazy night, and this was the perfect dress. It was stretchy fabric with a unique pattern and open back. I ordered the 4 and 6 and was able to wear either, but I thought the 4 was better for my chest size, the 6 was a little baggy up top. It was very short, but I decided to wear black tights since I knew I would getting tipsy and did not want to worry about putting on a show for everyone. I would recommend this sexy and fun dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 17, 2016
Fun dress
Great fit. I am glad I ordered the 00... Any bigger and the sleeves would have slipped off my shoulders. Gave it 4 stars because the bottom hem lays a little weird/puffy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
July 16, 2016
Perfect for summer wedding
Fit true to size. Super light and comfortable fabric! Many compliments
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 36

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×