Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $50 rental ?
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

829 reviews

Fit
Small 282
True to Size 497
Large 25
Photos 573
Thedonna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

Super Fun Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a high school reunion. I received so many compliments on the uniqueness of the dress. I have on 2 different types of heels in the pictures and both worked great.
lisa
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Aug 6, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress. It was comfortable, cute, and the back is so hot!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little short, so I decided to go with the slightly looser size 4 so that it wouldn't be so hip-hugging. The 2 fit like a glove but rode up when I walked so I went up a size and it was so comfortable all night!
RTR Customer
Aug 10, 2014

This dress was great for a Katy Perry concert! I received lots of compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Right fit, and very short..great for a night out.
Kristen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Wore this on a date with my husband. A weekend away in Portsmouth NH. He LOVED it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I read a lot of reviews saying it was short, it definitely was. If you aren't walking a lot its totally doable. We walked around a lot and i was pulling it down constantly. That was the only minor flaw. Other than that it was super comfortable, very very flattering. I didn't want to give this back.
Jocelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments and I didn't want to send it back. The top was a little too wide and I had to secure it with fashion tape, but it was totally manageable. I will definitely rent this again for another summer wedding. It might run a little short on taller ladies, but it was perfect for me. The fabric has a little give and is lined so I didn't find it sheer at all.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Liked it, but glad to only wear it once

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit well, when I was standing still. Because of the stretchy material any movement, walking, or dancing the dress kept riding up.. which made it difficult to relax and have fun. Because the dress is attached by the same hem as the liner, the bottom of the dress didn't stay flat, something you wouldn't expect from a dress that is $370. So glad that I also got the backless strapless bra. Being small chested, the bra helped to take up/fill out the chest area, and make the open back area fit better. If you don't have good posture, this dress is not for you. All in all I did receive a lot of compliments, but I just didn't feel comfortable in it, and wouldn't rent this dress again or suggest it to a friend.
Dani
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Loved the dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore it the night of my engaement. I wore a 6 which was a little big around the waste but it was very short. I could have worn a 4 but it would have been so short. The dress was very easy to move around it. Wouldn't recommend for a formal event if you are tall because it is very short.
Ang
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

My boyfriend loved this dress for our anniversary dinner date!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The size 2 was a little tight around the bottom, but the fabric does have some stretch. The 4 seemed to fit better at first, but the open back caused the top to slip when I started moving around, so I went with the 2. The skirt rides up when you walk, but overall I loved the colors and the style of the dress. I would wear this again!
Gabrielle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

I LOVE this dress! Fun, classy, & sexy! I wore it to my engagement party & got tons of compliments!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am very petite, so I was concerned a lot of the RTR dresses I liked would be too big based on the reviews, but this dress fit like a glove! The fabric is really light, soft and stretchy... hugs all the right places, but is super forgiving and easy to move around in! And it goes with almost any color shoes and clutch! I will definitely rent it again, I wish I could buy it!!
natacha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Loved the back! Super fun party dress, ideal for my 30th birthday dinner! Was a little short.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was a little short-- had to keep pulling it down. But very cute if you can find the right backless bra. I'm a fan--- the colors were brilliant!
Betsy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

I got a lot of compliments and it was perfect for a summer wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tends to ride up a little when walking
Nichole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Birthday girl! Birthday Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I honestly wish I would have selected the 0 as my back up size not the 4. I ended up wearing the 2 and it fit well. The material is light weight and perfect for a summer night!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

The colors were stunning!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit, awesome length and such a pop of color! Perfect for the beach wedding I went to!
Deirdre
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Aug 15, 2014

Perfect alternative to the LBD.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Runs a tad short. Other than that, great dress. Another great experience with RTR!
Jenny
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Aug 15, 2014

I rented this dress for my engagement pictures!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly! I didn't want to send it back!
Natasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 16, 2014

Love the sexy open back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As stated in previous reviews, it does ride up a bit. The size 2 fit very well, but I went with the 4 in hopes that it wouldn't ride as much. Received tons of compliments. Beautiful dress!
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Aug 16, 2014

Sexy cutout on the back of the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I wanted to mark that it runs large but I think it still had an over all good fit. My only complaint is that it felt like the sleeves kept falling down but that could have just been my body type. I can't wait to rent this dress again. Such a beautiful dress and it was so comfortable with a stretchy material.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Amazing dress for a wedding.

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing fit. So many compliments through out the night. I went to a friends wedding & thought possibly I shouldn't wear this but it had more color than white. Only problem I had was when I danced a bit to hard the dress would rise up. USE DOUBLE SIDDED TAPE FOR THE BACK.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Wore for Lady GaGa concert: Artpop-a-licious

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is really pretty in person and the colors are vibrant. The low back is very flattering so long as you have a small enough chest to go braless. I'm a 34C so I braved it without a bra and was fine. I paired this look with gold flats as I was heading to a concert and please disregard the crazy hair and mask. The dress was comfortable to move in all night, it was a little on the short side, but I expected that from the reviews above. I'm a tall girl with hips and a butt to contend with, and this dress was very flattering all in all and I felt confident all night. Oh, I tried the 10 and it was very similar to the 12, no difference lengthwise. I could have gone either way but there was probably a 1/2 inch difference in the circumference of the hem so I went with the 12. Loved this rental!
val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress. Everyone loved the color and back

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'3", 105 lbs and the size 0 fit me well. The only bad part was that it rides up horribly so I was constantly pulling it down when I walked. But it was very flattering and comfortable otherwise. The hem on both sizes looked like it needed to be pressed. That was my only complaint on the actual condition of the dress.
Dominique
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 139 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

A million compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 4 was a perfect fit. The dress does ride up so I had to constantly keep pulling it down. Had I worn the size 6, the dress wouldn't have fit properly. Other than that, I absolutely loved the dress and received a million compliments. I would definitely rent another dress from Rent the Runway.
Mary Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

The back was my fav part! And I got tons of compliments :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
it fit pretty well, but, as all the other reviews said, it did ride up as I walked. that was the only part that bothered me. other than that, it was a hot dress and felt good in it.
Nessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

I rented the dress for my engagement photo shoot. My Fiance loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is super tight!!! It rides up while I walked but I didn't mind (I just kept pulling it back down). I loved how snug it was at the top because it made me comfortable enough not to wear a bra. I would rent again.
Noreen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 20, 2014

I got tons of compliments. I liked it a lot but not my favorite.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is larger in the top and tighter in the legs. Because the back is out It felt a little awkward.
Christy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 20, 2014

Fun, unique dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my rehearsal lunch for my wedding and it was a hit! It's tun and different and has tons of personality! The 2 was a little short on me but the 4 was too big around the bust -- not the most easygoing dress to wear -- but overall definitely worth it.
Missy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Aug 21, 2014

Classy and Sexy!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my second time renting from RTR and I'm just amazed at the quality of the dresses. I wanted something fun yet still classy for the wedding I attended. This dress had it all. A little big up top but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix. The bottom was a tight and a little hard to move in. Had to pull down every time I got up. Overall it was a fun dress.
RTR Customer
Aug 22, 2014

Everyone loved this dress! SO many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got a stick on bra from Victoria Secret. Have no complaints!
Elyse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

Fun dress with a lot of color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: The dress is beautiful! The colors are vibrant and you'll definitely be the only one wearing something like it. Cons: The cap sleeves look weird in pictures. They show a lot of underarm! Also, if you are small on top and larger on bottom it will be hard to find the right size/fit. I had a hard time with it riding up all night. Overall, I thought this dress was okay. The fit was just not something I was completely comfortable with.
Leah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Wore the dress for a birthday dinner. Great colors and design!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress has a great design and the back is very flattering in all the right places. The shoulders do seem to slip down occasionally and I did tape the hanger straps to ensure they did not show. The waist was a little big so I used a large black belt to hold it in a place a little better. Great dress for cocktail parties and birthdays.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this for an August wedding, the colors were great, the back was dramatic and very pretty. Got tons of compliments. It is a little shorter than expected, but worked out great. Cannot wear a bra - others said a low clasp would work, but that would probably have shown in the stomach area. I just used adhesive cups, and that worked great.
Victoria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

FAB OPEN BACK

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wanted this fun colored dress for another wedding, but it was already sold out. Finally snagged it for a June (read: hot) wedding in Key West. I had so much fun wearing my jewelry backwards with the open back. SO many compliments.
Mirinae
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Got TONS of compliments on both the color and fit of the dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Does ride up, especially when you sit, but not really a problem for short girls! (: Only wish I could have cut off the ribbon loops because they kept popping out.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Sexy and sophisticated!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my 30th birthday celebration and absolutely loved this dress. It is very short (even on a 5'1" girl) so I was a little self conscious in pulling it down. I got a ton of compliments, even from strangers. I would rent this dress again or even consider purchasing it.
Olivia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Such a fun dress to wear!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
OBSESSED with this dress! I would keep it if I could. It does run slightly on the small side -- I wore the 4 for comfort/extra wiggle room -- the 2 was a little too short and tight. The 4 I think was perfect! Possibly my favorite outfit moment of this summer, and my very first rental from RTR!
dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

I got a lot of compliments! It's a beautiful dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a size 6, this dress was true to size. I wore this for a welcoming party, beware this dress is short and tends to ride up, I didn't mind but just something you should know. PS the back of dress is stunning!
Yezenia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

Great pop of color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Okay so I used this for my engagement pictures! The dress was absolutely amazing! So many compliments! The only thing was it did run up at times while I walked but that's because I have hips. Other than that no issue-wished I could keep it!
ashleigh
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Aug 31, 2014

This was a super fun dress. I got a ton of compliments on it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Only one con, not good for dancing, it def rides up a lot
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 31, 2014

Really stands out! Very different/unique which made it stand out.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress a lot. I had my eye on it for a while and decided to rent it for this wedding I had in Brooklyn. I am happy I did because the dress is beautiful. The color is super unique and it has an artsy feel. I gave this dress a 4 out of 5 because the material was a little different then I was expecting it didn't feel expensive like I had expected it to and bc of that and the type of material it tended to ride up... Which I had read in the reviews but rented it anyway. Due to this I ended up wearing the 2 instead of the zero so that it wouldn't do that as much and to cinch it at the waste a little bit I paired it with a thin black belt. I loved this dress though so once I got used to the adjusting I was so happy with it. Especially in photos ... It photographed great! Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Sep 1, 2014

I loved this dress! I got so many compliments. Perfect for a night out. I don't want to send it back

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It fit great for me. I wore a backless bra and spanxs with it to suck everything in. Also, I ordered a size 8 and 10. I had to go with the bigger size. I am tall and the 8 was WAY too short. So many compliments and made me feel great.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 2"
Sep 2, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to an interfaith outdoor wedding- wanted to have my shoulders covered for the Jewish part, but also stay cool because the ceremony was outdoors. I received so many compliments that I can hardly count them all. The burst of color stood out amongst lots of blue and black dresses and the unexpected back was sexy but not too much so. The material is a silky/chiffon that doesn't cling too much but gives you a nice shape. It definitely runs tight around your thighs and booty, so make sure you size up if you're blessed with muscular quads or a butt. The best part is you can't tell how much you're sweating through the material, so I highly recommend for a summer wedding.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×