Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Primary Lace Dress

$30 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is wedding season and you're tired of wearing that boring black dress to the ceremony! Go with this Shoshanna vibrant lace party dress to kick up your style a notch!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red synthetic Lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 37” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

183 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 145
Large 16
Photos 97
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 10, 2013

Perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was comfortable and stylish. Perfect for a wedding in NYC. I actually expected to wear the 6 just because I've been feeling fat lately, but ended up fitting into the 4 just fine. But the 6 would have been fine in a pinch. I considered wearing a belt with this dress, but it didn't really need anything else. Highly recommended!
Michelle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Oct 13, 2013

Fun and comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my bridal shower and was showered with many compliments. Great fit and so comfortable!
Corinne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

This dress was perfect for a summer wedding in the mountains! The color popped in the crowd.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, the fit was flattering. It was a little tight in the waist and definitely on the shorter side, which wasn't a problem as my event was outdoors and more casual. However, for a more formal affair, the length might be inappropriate. I loved that it had pockets so a clutch wasn't necessary to carry my lipstick!
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

The style was not flattering but the lace was beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I think that the style of the dress wasn't very flattering on my body. The bottom half of the dress ended up looking too round/bubble like and didn't really look very slimming or flattering (in my opinion). That being said, it was comfortable and the top fit just fine. The lace was beautiful and I really liked the red. It looks kinda dim in the picture, but I would say it's more of a darker red and the navy underneath looks closer to black. Overall, probably would not rent it again but I thought the RTR process was great and will try another dress in the future!
RTR Customer
Mar 2, 2014

Beautiful red lace!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and would rent it again. The color is very pretty. I wore it with boots to stay warm, glitzy chandelier earrings, and a royal blue bracelet and ring. Would rent this again!
AROD
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Witnessing two of my very best friends join in holy matrimony!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress! Lots of wiggle room in the belly area was helpful (particularly after a filling dinner) I received many complements. The lace was a hit. No complaints. At all.
Stephani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 17, 2014

gorgeous lace!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was true to size but the bodice is very short so the dress cut off much higher than the smallest part of my waist. Overall, though, I would recommend the dress just because the lace was so beautiful!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Wore this dress for my bridal shower

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The length was perfect on me as it came a few inches above my knee and being 5'3", it's tough to find a dress at a perfect length. It was a little tight across my chest, but I wore without a bra and was comfortable. The red is a little more muted in person, but I loved the dress as it was comfortable and figure-flattering at the same time. I got plenty of compliments and would rent this dress again!
katelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The perfect dress for a plantation wedding! Loved the blue underlay and the pockets. It was comfortable, but classy. Would definitely rent this same style again, would love it in a blue!
Meredith
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
May 13, 2014

Much shorter than I expected

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my engagement photos--I was planning to wear it for Easter too, but it felt SO short once I put it on. It was fine for the couple of hours I had it on to take pictures but I feel like I would constantly be tugging at it all the time had I worn it out somewhere. Definitely not my favorite fit, but the lace and colors were exactly what I was looking for!
Juliet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
May 21, 2014

Dress was great!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the fit and was slightly worried as my backup size was not available, but it was perfect! I love that it had pockets, and wasn't too short. Super comfy!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Fantastic dress. Could not have been happier with fit, color, etc.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lace along collar was a bit folded down when it arrived, but easily fixed with an iron and starch so it laid nicely. Got tons of compliments when I wore it to a wedding in Florida.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Even more beautiful than I expected

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great, it was a tiny bit shorter than I expected but looked amazing on.
Tianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Perfect Summer Dress! So Many Compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress' fit is what makes it amazing. I'm a curvy pear/hourglass so some of the pictures scared me the bottom would be too tight. But no, and it wasn't too much of bubble either. It was the perfect fit ... I'm a true size 10 and fit like a glove. I went to a formal summer event on the ocean, and this was perfect! So slimming and comfortable. One down side .... It's starting to fade.... Which is sad cause I would return and rent again and again!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 7, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the pockets! It's a short dress. The bottom does bubble a little bit so it can hide hips or make you look a lil bigger in the bottom. The dress I got was a bit weathered though- you can tell it's been rented out and dry cleaned many times. Regardless I still got lots of compliments. Perfect for an outdoor summer wedding.
Becca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Great wedding, great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! The colors were gorgeous and the pockets were essential. The lace around the neckline and sleeves curled in, but a little ironing took care of it. The 4 fit my waist and hips perfectly, but was tight in the bust. There was more cleavage than I would have liked as a result, and I was a little uncomfortable by the end of the night - the 6 probably would have fit better, but there weren't any available. Still, highly recommend this dress!
Kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Glad I had a short dress for a hot wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding about 2 hours outside of Seattle 4th of July weekend and it was HOT. I liked the colors (red and navy) for a July 4th wedding, but it was a bit short. Well, maybe really short for me. I was actually kind of uncomfortable sitting down. I think its because of where the waist seam falls. I also thought that the higher waist and the pockets made the area around my hips kind of "poof out." It was a cute style, but the cut really wasn't for me.
Tia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Classy, comfortable dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved that this dress was classy and comfortable. The navy blue really plays off the red to make it stand out. It felt so nice not to have to pull up/adjust/fidget with the dress all night. Hugs and hides all the right places.
Jillian
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Ease of shipping

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was shorter than I'm used to which made sitting in a chair a little uncomfortable, but overall the fit was great. And I loved the pockets.
Renee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

Cute but short!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a little short, but still wearable. The length hit me about mid thigh- bending over was not happening and sitting was done carefully. The dress tended to bunch up when seated as well. It does have pockets though! I felt that the dress also looked a little faded, or just photographs darker. Chest area fit great. Cute, but would not rent again.
Lauren
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

The wedding was at a country club so it was great to have the perfect dress for a beautiful event.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit wonderfully and looked amazing. I got so many compliments that I was sad to have to send it back!
Julie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Great spring wedding choice!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and it fit perfectly! I wore this to a spring wedding and it was a great choice. I was worried it would be too long since I have short legs, but the length was perfect and hit just in the middle of my thighs. Can't wait to rent my next dress!
jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Enjoyed wearing this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable dress. Received many compliments. Ran true to size. The lace around the neck did need to be steamed into place before wearing. Color is more vibrant in photos than in person. I'd rent it again!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Won Money Betting on the Ponies!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore it to Opening Day Del Mar Horse Races. The fit was nice, I wore a belt which gave it more texture and kept it fitted.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Fun dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really fun for a summer wedding! Just a note for any other women who are built like a linebacker like me- it was super tight through the upper back/shoulders. I only rented the one size, so I don't know if a size up would have helped, or would have just been frumpy in other places. I still wore it and was really happy I did. I'm 5'4 and the length was perfect for dancing the night away.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Elegant yet flirty.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color is not exactly how it looks online. The lace overlay is more of a coral color and the lining is more navy blue. It is a little puffy from where the pockets on but I think you are more self aware of this than other people notice. I received a lot of compliments on this dress and felt elegant wearing it. It was extremely comfy and the pockets were fun too!
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

Great weather, beautiful wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 2 and a 4. Typically, I'm a 2 and the 2 fit up top, but ran short, which is the only reason I wore the 4. It ended up before more comfortable though. I got a lot of compliments - it was perfect for a summer wedding. The color looked a bit more faded than the picture, but was still gorgeous
kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 7, 2014

Compliments all night long!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am normally a size 0-2 in dresses, but have a boyish figure so normally size up when ordering something without any give in the waist (as I have experienced with most Shoshanna dresses). I got the size 2 and 4 but the 2 ended up working out perfectly - perfectly as in it got a little tight after dinner but not so much that I felt uncomfortable. If you have a thicker middle and/or larger chest, I recommend sizing up for your back up - this dress does not have any give at all. I felt unbelievable in this dress and got compliments all day/night long from strangers at the wedding! I love that the V is deep enough yet still allows you to wear a normal bra, and the navy underneath adds interest to the dress and makes the lace pop. I will definitely be renting this again!
Meghan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Perfect for a late summer wedding on a beautiful farm!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is really beautiful! I got so many compliments. Just as other users have said -- more of a burnt orange color than in the picture (which is exactly what I wanted); a little faded on the edges from use but nothing noticeable; did have to iron the neckline and shoulders since the lace was curling in. Overall, though, really lovely. A size 6 probably would have been better for me as the bodice ended up being a little too snug (I have a large ribcage and waist compared to my hip size), which did get somewhat uncomfortable, because as others have said there is no stretch to the fabric. While it is a fairly short dress (fell to the upper edge of what I would call mid-thigh -- just about at my fingertips) I felt that, because the neckline is modest and there are no cutouts or anything, it was still appropriate for the wedding I attended. I would NOT call this dress "formal". I thought it was the perfect amount of fancy for a farm wedding. I wore it with Clarks taupe colored heeled suede booties and minimal jewelry, with jean jacket for warmth. Really beautiful dress, great first experience with RTR! Definitely recommend.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

It was a good dress for a rehearsal dinner. Not super impressed.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is much lighter and slightly faded appearing in real life. It was super comfortable, but could have been more figure flattering. It was kind of baggy in the waist, but fit around the arms/shoulders so I am glad that I ordered the 6. The length was perfect for standing, got pretty short when sitting but not inappropriate. Overall I was happy with the dress but I wouldn't want to buy or rent again.
Christine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Great dress, a little short (like reviews said) but not a problem with my height.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pockets were great! Got a lot of compliments
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Loved the dress! Perfect for the outdoor barn wedding that I attended.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect! Wore it to an outside wedding at The Lange Farm. Looks great on, and I loved the secret pockets!
jeanette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Looking red hot!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric looks substantial but is absolutely light. It's not too low cut on top if you have a chest, I wore a bra. I chose the suggested accessories and it made for a great look. The contrast of a poppy red lace and deep almost black navy slip was chic and pretty. Great for spring or summer. It had a little stretch but not much, definitely true to size with the bonus of chest room although even if you are a smaller bust it will be flattering because of the cut.
Alissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

I wore this dress for my bridal shower. I got so many compliments! Definitely recommend!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a size 2-4, depending on the dress. The size 2 definitely fit, but was a little snug. I ended up wearing the size 4 because I felt less restricted.
A
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Loved the pockets, and the shape of the skirt hides the belly if needed. I used a little double-stick tape under the armpits to prevent my bra from showing at the armholes, but otherwise it was perfect.
Vina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Rented for engagement photos

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Other
Perfect pop of color. Amazingly comfortable.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a total win! It is so classy and fits perfectly! I loved the length and the extra fabric in the middle did not make it look too big at all. I will definitely rent this again!
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

Cute dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I decided to go with the shoes on the right. haha. I wish I could have worn the 4 because it was more flattering, but it was just too tight around the back. That happens to me all the time though. I would still say it it true to size. The color was a little more muted than the photo online. Overall, I loved this dress. Comfortable and great for a daytime wedding.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Mar 13, 2015

Comfortable and unique - loved it!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
This dress fit great and the pockets made it super comfortable. I wore it to a work cocktail reception and felt like it was the perfect combination of dressy but not over the top. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

Beautiful dress and great fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both the 0 and 2, but ended up wearing the 2 because, like the other reviewers said, the dress is a little short. It fit perfectly and was not tight at all. The lace detail and color are gorgeous. If you are 5'6" or taller, you will want the bigger size. The length passed my fingertip test. And since the top isn't revealing the dress totally works and looks very classy. Best part is I didn't have to wear a strapless bra.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×