Primary Lace Dress

$30 rental
$385 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is wedding season and you're tired of wearing that boring black dress to the ceremony! Go with this Shoshanna vibrant lace party dress to kick up your style a notch!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red synthetic Lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 37” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
210 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size162
Small25
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
January 15, 2016
Wore it to a presidential debate. I felt amazing in it which made the night unforgettable.
Kind of short so bending over was off limits. Arm holes were a little tight. Otherwise it was great!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 20, 2015
Fit beautify
Fit very true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 27, 2015
Beautiful - but short!
Loved the red lace detailing with navy lining. The colors were beautiful and I'm a sucker for lace! My only complaint is it was very short for a rehearsal dinner.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
October 21, 2015
Fun and fabulous dress for a wedding or party!
This dress was perfect for a wedding. Great color and length. Only con is that it is a little short, but that was not an issue since I am not very tall. If you are worried about length, I would order a size up from your usual size.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
September 21, 2015
I did not end up wearing RTR because they had nothing back up my size.
This dress runs 1-2 full sizes small. I typically wear a 4 and unfortunately for me they only had the one size available when I ordered this dress so I didn't have a back up size. I got the 4 and it looked more like a 0-2, couldn't even fit above my hips. I returned it to the Chicago store but they had NOTHING in the store in a 4 or a 6 that was appropriate for a conservative wedding so didn't end up wearing any RTR that weekend and was really bummed out. I'd recommend ordering a size up from your normal size AND a size above that for the spare. All the reviews I read said it was 'true to size' but that definitely is not the case and even staff in the RTR store said as an FYI in the future that this designer runs a size or two small. Renter beware! Dress is also extremely short, if you're above 5"6 be prepared for it to be a mini.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2015
Comfortable and has pockets!
Amazing dress for a wedding! This one was outdoors in Maine during the summer and I felt great all day into the night! I tried both the O and 2. Had much more room to dance around in the 2!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 3, 2015
Comfortable, flattering, received many compliments.
This was the perfect dress for a summer wedding! The color of the lace in person is more dark pink then red. I spent about 2 minutes pressing the lace around the bust and arm holes and it looked perfect. The best thing about this dress was that it hid my mini baby bump (the cat is still in the bag) without making me feel frumpy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 3, 2015
Very Pretty and Fun!
Very comfortable dress! The colors were really pretty. It fit perfectly everywhere except my bust area (I'm a size 0 but a D bust) but it didn't feel too tight, just a bit snug. I wore a normal bra with it, but if I would have worn pasties, it probably wouldn't have felt as snug. I was able to dance easily in it through the night. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 28, 2015
Unflattering cut
The colors of this dress were beautiful and it did fit true to size. However, it was cut kind of like a bell - it flared out at the thigh area and then narrowed up again, which was quite unflattering and added weight to / highlighted an area most women would prefer not to. I would recommend this if you're tall and skinny but as long as you can also fill the top!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
July 23, 2015
Gorgeous dress WITH POCKETS!
Fit true to size. A bit short, like other reviews have stated, but not a problem for somebody 5'2" like me. The size 2 did have a hole in the left seam, so that was disappointing. Other than that, very pleased with RTR, as usual.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
July 20, 2015
Love the dress, but unable to wear it.
Not a great fit for a pear shape. The 10 was a bit too small but I don't believe a 12 would have worked for me either. It felt tight in the shoulders, wearable but tight. Their was bubbling in the hips but it was too tight in the thighs, just an overall not good fit for me. The one that was shipped seemed a bit dull in color as well, it may be time to retire it. Beautiful dress, wish it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
July 15, 2015
Love the color and style of the dress! The pockets were great as well. I received many compliments.
I went with the size 2, and it was just a little tight fitting in the arms, but I think I have a broader back/shoulders anyways. As noted in other reviews, the lace at the neckline was a little bent, but nothing an iron couldn't fix. Everything else was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 14, 2015
Fit well but baggy in the stomach
Runs true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
July 6, 2015
Perfect 4th of July wedding dress!
This dress was AMAZING. I felt so beautiful in it - it fit like a glove! I usually wear a size 2 however I ended up going with the 4 because the 2 felt a little bit too short and it was a little bit tight in the rib cage and i wanted to be more comfortable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
July 1, 2015
I got loads of compliments - loved it!
The color is a little darker than the website photo, but it's still definitely red. It was really comfortable and not too revealing. The skirt tapers a bit (like a pencil skirt) at the bottom, making it tight for women with athletic thighs like me, so if that's the case, you might want a size up to give yourself room to walk in it. The top worked well for my small chest, but since it wasn't super low cut, I think it'd work for any size bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2015
Too short!
I had rented this for a wedding (a casual one, so I thought I could get away with it when a few people said it was a tad short) - but this was wayyy to short for me at 5'7" to be appropriate for a wedding. Too bad!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2015
Unfortunately couldn't wear
I unfortunately was not able to wear this dress as it was very short on me. I am 5'7" and have found after having a baby that I normally wear a size 4. I could zip the 4 but it was tight and very short on me so I could not wear to the wedding I was attending. If I had the 6 it may have been better. Rent the runway sent a replacement though of another dress which I was very happy with. I may try to rent this in a bigger size next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 15, 2015
Dancing all night and lots of family.
This dress fit well, was very comfortable, and looked great. I received several compliments on it all night. The red overlay does look a little faded, but I'm sure that I was the only person who noticed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
June 8, 2015
This dress was beautiful! It was very comfortable and vibrant!
Fit true to size, top was on the tighter end, but I like that because I didn't have to wear a bra! The fabric was comfortable, the colors on the dress look beautiful together, and the dress had pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 7, 2015
Faded and very short! Great customer service!
I ordered this dress for a wedding in a size 2 and 4 and at the last minute rtr could not send me my first choice size and I had to choose another option (rtr was GREAT with this, I told them my top 5 choices of other dresses and they sent me one of those to replace the one they couldn't! Great great great customer service! ) this dress was okay but I was glad I had a backup to wear to the wedding. Up close the dress looked very worn and faded and it is extremely short ! I am only 5'2" and I was very short on me. nice in pictures but feel like they need to check the quailtiy of the size 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 1, 2015
Perfect cocktail dress for an outdoor wedding!
LOVED this dress! I wore this dress to an outdoor, spring evening wedding. It was the perfect balance between dressy and comfortable. I ordered the 0 and the 2 as a back up size, but I ended up wearing the 2. Both sizes fit, but preferred the 2 because the length was slightly longer than the 0. The 0 was a little shorter than I wanted to wear. I love how comfortable the dress was and how there was room to breathe. I felt like I could eat and drink without the dress showing my every curve, The color of red is more muted than shown in the picture, but I didn't mind. I thought it was a beautiful color against the blue. I ended up wearing it with nude heels, gold costume earrings, and a large gold costume ring. I also brought a nude color shawl and nude suede clutch. Love how easy the process was to have the dress sent to the hotel I was staying at. I will be sad to return the dress as it is so beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 26, 2015
Gams for Days
Great dress for a wedding. It has pockets!! I'd imagine you'd want to size up if you have a chest at all. NormallyI'll wear a 2, but (had it not been ripped) I would have worn the 4 with this particular dress because this baby is SHORT. The other reviews don't lie. The "waist" on this dress is higher than a natural waist, so it looks longer in pictures than it actually is. Sitting down was uncomfortable. Other than that, good experience as always and I will be back for more.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 25, 2015
Fun with heels or cowboy boots!
Good dress, but a little faded from the picture. The one I got probably needs to be retired. Love the pockets and was comfy all night dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 19, 2015
Love wearing lace! It makes me feel like a princess.
I really liked this dress. It was super fun and the colors are great. The only downside was that it was a little short. It was fine when I was standing, but everytime I sat down or had to ben over I got a little self conscious.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 10, 2015
Love this color!
Skirt was a little snug, rest of the dress fit true to size. Felt beautiful at the wedding in this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 25, 2015
Great value!
This dress was overall great value. I usually wear size 0 and it was true to size except the armholes were too tight and uncomfortable so decided to wear the 2. I really liked the pockets for my phone and chapstick; no need to carry a purse. It is a bit short when bending down but good length for petite girls.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
April 20, 2015
Great dress for a spring wedding!
I loved this dress. It did fit small in the chest, but it was roomy in the stomach area. It is fitted again at the bottom hem, so it makes it a little difficult to move around and sit. But, overall a great dress, and I got a ton of compliments.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 25, 2015
Beautiful dress and great fit!
I ordered both the 0 and 2, but ended up wearing the 2 because, like the other reviewers said, the dress is a little short. It fit perfectly and was not tight at all. The lace detail and color are gorgeous. If you are 5'6" or taller, you will want the bigger size. The length passed my fingertip test. And since the top isn't revealing the dress totally works and looks very classy. Best part is I didn't have to wear a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
March 13, 2015
Comfortable and unique - loved it!
This dress fit great and the pockets made it super comfortable. I wore it to a work cocktail reception and felt like it was the perfect combination of dressy but not over the top. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2015
Cute dress!
I decided to go with the shoes on the right. haha. I wish I could have worn the 4 because it was more flattering, but it was just too tight around the back. That happens to me all the time though. I would still say it it true to size. The color was a little more muted than the photo online. Overall, I loved this dress. Comfortable and great for a daytime wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 20, 2015
Cute dress, Fabric was too worn.
I rented this dress for another fundraiser. It was cute and very comfortable, but it's ready to be retired! I was disappointed when I opened it and saw how worn the lace was. There was a small tear right at my chest that I had to stitch up myself because it was very visible. If it had been anywhere else on the dress, it would not have been a big deal at all. I let RTR know so I'm sure they will remove this one from rotation.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 11, 2015
Perfect dress!
The dress is a total win! It is so classy and fits perfectly! I loved the length and the extra fabric in the middle did not make it look too big at all. I will definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2014
Rented for engagement photos
Perfect pop of color. Amazingly comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2014
Nothing special.
The color and material were nice, but the fit was a bit too large especially in the waist area. It would have looked better with a belt, but I didn't have any that would match. This style would work best with someone with curves. I'm very straight/narrow and was hoping for something more fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2014
Just Not Right
Both the 4 & the 6 looked off on me. The 4 fit better, but neither were capable of being worn in public. My friend had a similar issue with a Shoshanna dress and I am officially staying away from this brand! Her dresses (including this one) poof out in a weird manner at your waist and make you look pregnant, but then slim down both in the back and front toward the bottom of the dress. It is what I call the "tulip effect" and it is not cute. Unless you are stick thin I'd stay away from this brand.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2014
A great dress to hit above the knee if you are short. Love the blue lining under the redish orange.
Comfortable and conservative. Color makes a nice statement, but the blue lining relaxes it.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 9, 2014
Great dress!
Fit true to size. Loved the pockets, and the shape of the skirt hides the belly if needed. I used a little double-stick tape under the armpits to prevent my bra from showing at the armholes, but otherwise it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
November 2, 2014
Very pretty!
I rented this for an outdoor wedding. It was perfect for this setting. It was kinda bubble-y in the skirt so I don't think it was the most flattering on my tummy. I had a bit of a tummy at the time after having a baby but it was still cute. At the time of this dress rental, I was a solid size 10 at Banana Republic and I wore a size 10 in this dress. It was tight on my waist but like I said, this was where I had some extra weight at the time. I weighed 155 at the time. I'm 5'7" and it was about the same length as what is shown on the model.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
October 13, 2014
I wore this dress for my bridal shower. I got so many compliments! Definitely recommend!
I normally wear a size 2-4, depending on the dress. The size 2 definitely fit, but was a little snug. I ended up wearing the size 4 because I felt less restricted.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2014
The color and lace detail are amazing.
The dress is beautiful, but it was way too short for me. I'm 5' 9" and the size 4 was inappropriately short for the event I was going to, so unfortunately I couldn't wear it. Tall ladies - take a pass on this one unless you want to show A LOT of leg.
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×