Shoshanna

Primary Lace Dress

$30 rental
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

It is wedding season and you're tired of wearing that boring black dress to the ceremony! Go with this Shoshanna vibrant lace party dress to kick up your style a notch!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red synthetic Lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 37” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
211 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(162)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2014
Rented for engagement photos

Perfect pop of color. Amazingly comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
March 13, 2015
Comfortable and unique - loved it!

This dress fit great and the pockets made it super comfortable. I wore it to a work cocktail reception and felt like it was the perfect combination of dressy but not over the top. I would definitely rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 10, 2015
Love this color!

Skirt was a little snug, rest of the dress fit true to size. Felt beautiful at the wedding in this dress

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 7, 2015
Faded and very short! Great customer service!

I ordered this dress for a wedding in a size 2 and 4 and at the last minute rtr could not send me my first choice size and I had to choose another option (rtr was GREAT with this, I told them my top 5 choices of other dresses and they sent me one of those to replace the one they couldn't! Great great great customer service! ) this dress was okay but I was glad I had a backup to wear to the wedding. Up close the dress looked very worn and faded and it is extremely short ! I am only 5'2" and I was very short on me. nice in pictures but feel like they need to check the quailtiy of the size 4.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 14, 2015
Fit well but baggy in the stomach

Runs true to size

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 28, 2015
Unflattering cut

The colors of this dress were beautiful and it did fit true to size. However, it was cut kind of like a bell - it flared out at the thigh area and then narrowed up again, which was quite unflattering and added weight to / highlighted an area most women would prefer not to. I would recommend this if you're tall and skinny but as long as you can also fill the top!

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
July 23, 2015
Gorgeous dress WITH POCKETS!

Fit true to size. A bit short, like other reviews have stated, but not a problem for somebody 5'2" like me. The size 2 did have a hole in the left seam, so that was disappointing. Other than that, very pleased with RTR, as usual.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113lbs
August 13, 2017
Perfect dress for a nautical theme.

Love this dress. Rented it in multiple colors.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
August 22, 2012
Maybe for taller girls

Loved the dress but it made my hips look bigger. I think that could be fixed by going down a size or for girls taller than 5 feet.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 7, 2012
adorable but a bit big

I rented this as my backup dress for a wedding and was shocked to find that the smaller of the 2 sizes was a bit too big. Would have been perfect if the dress was half a size smaller. Definitely will be renting this for another occasion though, the dress is fantastic!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 25, 2012
Beautiful dress, awkward fit

The title about sums it up - this dress is gorgeous and I was so excited to rent it, but the fit was really weird. It was really loose and bunchy all around the waist and chest, and the length was very short, even for a short person like me. All in all just an awkward fit - maybe it would look better on someone with a larger bust.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 6, 2012
Gorgeous Color, and flattering fit!

This dress was perfect for a summer wedding--dress was a bit short on me since it ran large and I went with the 2, but very comfortable overall. Got a ton of compliments! Has a fun but retro/mad-men look to it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 15, 2012
Easy. Fun. Pretty.

I am a true size 0 and this ran a tad big. It was perfect for our friends Kim & Chris' Labor Day wedding in Rhode Island.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2012
Sassy, Classy, & Comfortably Roomy

This dress was wonderful, but unfortunately, it was damaged when I received it. There was a tear in the bottom of the dress along the seam, but I was still able to wear it. The colors of the dress were beautiful and the cut of the dress is very conservative, especially in the upper portion. I ordered the 6 because there were no other sizes available, and I was worried about the bust being too tight (I am a 32H/FF). But this was not a problem at all and I felt as if the top was much larger than a traditional 6. But due to the fact that the bust fit me, I found the waist to be very large. There were about two inches of extra room in this part of the dress, so it wasn't the most flattering. I would recommend this to busty girls who have a waist proportionate to their bust. And if this is not the case, plan ahead and try a belt!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2013
Cute dress but too short

Rented this dress for an engagement shoot and it was very cute, but too baggy in the stomach area and too short (I am 5'9"). I have a small waist, and this made it look bigger (prob a great fit for shorter girls :)).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 17, 2013
Great fabric

Great fabric however be aware that it is quite poofy at the bottom. I am tall and loved wearing thins dress but since I am straight and narrow the flouncy bottom of this dress was just not the most flattering on me. I loved the fabric of the dress and got lots of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
April 8, 2013
GREAT Customer Service!

This was a backup dress that RTR sent to me after another dress did not fit. The size 12 was extremely large, and I would have needed the 10 for sure. The lace detail of the dress and the colors are beautiful. I will say this dress is not going to be the most sliming. The extra fabric under the bust, gives it a little fullness in the belly, but overall a classy dress. Would rent again in a smaller size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2013
Great dress for rehearsal dinner.

I wore this dress to my sister's wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. It was very elegant and I received a lot of compliments. I wasn't thrilled with the color. I was expecting a brighter red but in person it was pretty "blah". Dress does photograph well though. You could never tell by pics what color dress actually was.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2013
Beautiful dress!

I was really happy with this dress. It was my first rental and worked out perfectly. I wore it to a wedding and it was just the right amount of dressy. I ended up wearing the size 6 - I have a smaller upper half and the 8 was just too big all over. While the dress fit great it was SHORT. I am taller and sitting or bending in this dress had me blushing. I had to be really conscious that I was not flashing anyone, but otherwise the dress was light, comfortable and really cute.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 16, 2013
It was the perfect dress for a Sunday afternoon wedding

I got tons of compliments on the dress. The detail and color are great. I wore it with a fascinator which was a great touch for the British wedding I attended!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
August 8, 2013
Floral Formal Frock

This dress is quite sweet and really suited for conservative semi-formal occasions. I didn't wind up wearing it for the rehearsal dinner I rented it for because the 0 runs big, and I didn't have the bust or waist to fill it out. I would also add that the material and cut don't lend an expensive feel- so this one is best for a less formal occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
September 12, 2013
Great dress!

This came as part of my Rent the Runway At Home Trial. This dress was great - super cute, good fit, and comfortable! You could pair a belt with it, but I think I actually preferred it without a belt. It was a on the shorter side, but not too short.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
June 17, 2013
I ordered this as a back up but it was a little too big on the top.

I'm small on the top and a bit bigger on the bottom so this dress made me look a bit frumpy since it fit my butt but not my bust.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2014
Nothing special.

The color and material were nice, but the fit was a bit too large especially in the waist area. It would have looked better with a belt, but I didn't have any that would match. This style would work best with someone with curves. I'm very straight/narrow and was hoping for something more fitted.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2013
Cute dress, lots of compliments

I ordered this dress for my sister's graduation. Things I liked: The pockets, easy to wear a bra with, and I received lots of compliments. Things I didn't like: The arm holes seemed a bit small (even on the size 6, and I normally wear size 4), length was a tad short, and the fabric seemed a bit worn especially around the edges at the top. Overall, I would recommend this dress but beware of the small arm holes. It was the reason I had to wear the size 6, because the size 4 fit fine everywhere else. Thank you RTR for on-time delivery and ability to order a backup size!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 18, 2013
Great color, with the red lay overlay on top of the black.

Shoshana dresses always run a little small on me, so I wore a size larger than normal. I think this dress would have been more flattering if the neckline were a little lower. It's actually sort of a high v-neck. Overall enjoyed wearing it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 3, 2013
The whole experience was great. The dress fit like a glove, the shipping was easy and timely.

Fit was great. Runs a bit small, I ordered a 2 an 4 (luckily) as the 4 was just perfect. Got complements all night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
December 9, 2013
I was unable to wear the dress

I was not able to wear this dress. I am 5' 8" and too tall for the dress. The waist of the dress hit at my ribcage, making the dress extremely short. It was really cute in person, but will not work on a taller girl

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 12, 2014
The beautiful bride and groom.

Unfortunately, the dress was very short on me (I am 5'10"), and very tight in the bust area. I could not even wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 30, 2014
Awesome color, but short and tight.

I rented this dress for a wedding, and about a week before the event I got a call saying my size 12 had been destroyed by the previous renter, so I could pick any other dress size 12 - this turned out to be awesome because I needed a dress for the rehearsal dinner as well. I ended up wearing this to the rehearsal because it was too short for the wedding, and too tight in the bust. If you do not have a curvy figure, you'll be fine though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2014
Cute dress but way too short for a wedding!

Material and fit was great except for the fact it was much too short. If you're over 5'8'' I would not recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2014
Much shorter than I expected

I rented this dress for my engagement photos--I was planning to wear it for Easter too, but it felt SO short once I put it on. It was fine for the couple of hours I had it on to take pictures but I feel like I would constantly be tugging at it all the time had I worn it out somewhere. Definitely not my favorite fit, but the lace and colors were exactly what I was looking for!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
I was very disappointed in this dress. It is more of a burnt orange than a true red.

I did not wear it to my event. It is also REALLY SHORT.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
June 15, 2014
Shorter than expected but very cute!

I wore this dress to a friend's rehearsal dinner. Sometimes lace can be too matronly; however not the case here! The lace on this dress was gorgeous; I loved the scalloped edge. The contrasting navy lining was a fresh take! I usually wear a size 2 or 4. With this dress I went with the size 4 so that it wasn't too tight on my larger hips. The 4 was still snug and short but I felt it was balanced by the non-revealing top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 9, 2014
Its beautifully crafted, great vibrant colors---but it was too short, too tight on my butt!

I am typically a XS/S/0/2, and while the chest area fit great (Im a small B) --Im a pear-shape with a booty, so it was so tight, and made the dress so short, I could never wear it. A slight bend of any kind would have exposed me, and sitting down would have never happened. But beautiful dress! just not for my body.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 12, 2014
beautiful color but weird fit- who can wear this?

I ordered this dress for a wedding and was super excited to wear it. I was unable to wear it. I am 5'6 and the dress was SO short- there is no way I could have sat down. The dress poofed out so much at the stomach- it looked like it would only fit someone who was pregnant (maybe a good maternity dress!). It was not flattering and i think i would have tore it if I tried to sit down however a size or two up would have been even BIGGER at the stomach. I would not recommend this dress despite the beautiful color and fabric.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 13, 2014
The lace was right on trend!

It was a little worn looking up close, and the lace edges needed to be ironed, but it is very well made. I loved the pockets! The color would look wonderful against any skin tone, but especially in the summer.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
September 21, 2014
Didn't wear it. Way too short for a 5'7" girl!!

Couldn't wear. Fit well everywhere but too short!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 3, 2014
Cute dress but couldn't wear it.

The color of this dress is a bit more muted in person than it looks online which was a plus. It is a heavy fabric so keep that in mind for outdoor events. It was also much shorter than I expected it to be. I rented a dress earlier this year that appeared shorter online but was longer in person. I'm bummed this dress didn't fit. There was not any stretch to the fabric. Sadly I'm on west coast time so I got this dress a half hour after the NY office closed and won't have time for a replacement. Boo. :(

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 29, 2014
Great weather, beautiful wedding!

I ordered a 2 and a 4. Typically, I'm a 2 and the 2 fit up top, but ran short, which is the only reason I wore the 4. It ended up before more comfortable though. I got a lot of compliments - it was perfect for a summer wedding. The color looked a bit more faded than the picture, but was still gorgeous

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×