Primary Lace Dress

$30 rental
$385 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It is wedding season and you're tired of wearing that boring black dress to the ceremony! Go with this Shoshanna vibrant lace party dress to kick up your style a notch!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red synthetic Lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 37” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
210 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size162
Small25
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 5, 2014
Looking red hot!
The fabric looks substantial but is absolutely light. It's not too low cut on top if you have a chest, I wore a bra. I chose the suggested accessories and it made for a great look. The contrast of a poppy red lace and deep almost black navy slip was chic and pretty. Great for spring or summer. It had a little stretch but not much, definitely true to size with the bonus of chest room although even if you are a smaller bust it will be flattering because of the cut.
jeanetteOctober 5, 2014
I had to add, I wore this dress tighter that some others and it still worked for me. The bottom of the dress didn't bunch out at all with the size zero.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 3, 2014
Cute dress but couldn't wear it.
The color of this dress is a bit more muted in person than it looks online which was a plus. It is a heavy fabric so keep that in mind for outdoor events. It was also much shorter than I expected it to be. I rented a dress earlier this year that appeared shorter online but was longer in person. I'm bummed this dress didn't fit. There was not any stretch to the fabric. Sadly I'm on west coast time so I got this dress a half hour after the NY office closed and won't have time for a replacement. Boo. :(
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
October 3, 2014
Beautiful, class dress
I normally wear between a 0 and 2. The 2 was unavailable, so I went for a 0. It fit well, except the arm hole area was a little tight, so if you're a swimmer or have bigger upper arms/shoulders, beware of that. The dress can also ride up a little when you sit down, which may make you uncomfortable if you're at a church wedding. Also, the particular dress i had was a little faded (maybe from cleaning or overuse). It was still really pretty, just not as vibrant read as the dress on the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2014
Loved the dress! Perfect for the outdoor barn wedding that I attended.
This dress was perfect! Wore it to an outside wedding at The Lange Farm. Looks great on, and I loved the secret pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 22, 2014
Perfect fit!
This was my backup dress, but I ended up wearing it. It was true to size and very comfortable to wear. Maybe not the most exciting dress ever, but very pretty. Note -- the length was fine on me, but would probably feel a little short for taller people (I'm 5'4).
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 22, 2014
Great dress, a little short (like reviews said) but not a problem with my height.
Pockets were great! Got a lot of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
September 21, 2014
Didn't wear it. Way too short for a 5'7" girl!!
Couldn't wear. Fit well everywhere but too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2014
It was a good dress for a rehearsal dinner. Not super impressed.
This dress is much lighter and slightly faded appearing in real life. It was super comfortable, but could have been more figure flattering. It was kind of baggy in the waist, but fit around the arms/shoulders so I am glad that I ordered the 6. The length was perfect for standing, got pretty short when sitting but not inappropriate. Overall I was happy with the dress but I wouldn't want to buy or rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
September 12, 2014
THE COLOR WAS WONDERFUL. RECEIVED LOTS OF COMPLIMENTS.
I wore this dress to my Sister-in-law's wedding. The color and the lace were beautiful. I wish i could afford a dress like this. I wore the size 4 and the top was a bit tight, but the rest of the dress fit perfectly. I loved loved loved the navy blue with the red.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 9, 2014
Perfect for a late summer wedding on a beautiful farm!
This dress is really beautiful! I got so many compliments. Just as other users have said -- more of a burnt orange color than in the picture (which is exactly what I wanted); a little faded on the edges from use but nothing noticeable; did have to iron the neckline and shoulders since the lace was curling in. Overall, though, really lovely. A size 6 probably would have been better for me as the bodice ended up being a little too snug (I have a large ribcage and waist compared to my hip size), which did get somewhat uncomfortable, because as others have said there is no stretch to the fabric. While it is a fairly short dress (fell to the upper edge of what I would call mid-thigh -- just about at my fingertips) I felt that, because the neckline is modest and there are no cutouts or anything, it was still appropriate for the wedding I attended. I would NOT call this dress "formal". I thought it was the perfect amount of fancy for a farm wedding. I wore it with Clarks taupe colored heeled suede booties and minimal jewelry, with jean jacket for warmth. Really beautiful dress, great first experience with RTR! Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 7, 2014
Compliments all night long!
I am normally a size 0-2 in dresses, but have a boyish figure so normally size up when ordering something without any give in the waist (as I have experienced with most Shoshanna dresses). I got the size 2 and 4 but the 2 ended up working out perfectly - perfectly as in it got a little tight after dinner but not so much that I felt uncomfortable. If you have a thicker middle and/or larger chest, I recommend sizing up for your back up - this dress does not have any give at all. I felt unbelievable in this dress and got compliments all day/night long from strangers at the wedding! I love that the V is deep enough yet still allows you to wear a normal bra, and the navy underneath adds interest to the dress and makes the lace pop. I will definitely be renting this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 29, 2014
Great weather, beautiful wedding!
I ordered a 2 and a 4. Typically, I'm a 2 and the 2 fit up top, but ran short, which is the only reason I wore the 4. It ended up before more comfortable though. I got a lot of compliments - it was perfect for a summer wedding. The color looked a bit more faded than the picture, but was still gorgeous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 27, 2014
Elegant yet flirty.
The color is not exactly how it looks online. The lace overlay is more of a coral color and the lining is more navy blue. It is a little puffy from where the pockets on but I think you are more self aware of this than other people notice. I received a lot of compliments on this dress and felt elegant wearing it. It was extremely comfy and the pockets were fun too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 23, 2014
Fun dress!
This dress was really fun for a summer wedding! Just a note for any other women who are built like a linebacker like me- it was super tight through the upper back/shoulders. I only rented the one size, so I don't know if a size up would have helped, or would have just been frumpy in other places. I still wore it and was really happy I did. I'm 5'4 and the length was perfect for dancing the night away.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 18, 2014
I really liked the dress online, but when it arrived it did not look the same.
It was way too short and the color wasn't as vibrant. It almost looked faded.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
August 13, 2014
Won Money Betting on the Ponies!
Wore it to Opening Day Del Mar Horse Races. The fit was nice, I wore a belt which gave it more texture and kept it fitted.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 13, 2014
The lace was right on trend!
It was a little worn looking up close, and the lace edges needed to be ironed, but it is very well made. I loved the pockets! The color would look wonderful against any skin tone, but especially in the summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152lbs
August 12, 2014
beautiful color but weird fit- who can wear this?
I ordered this dress for a wedding and was super excited to wear it. I was unable to wear it. I am 5'6 and the dress was SO short- there is no way I could have sat down. The dress poofed out so much at the stomach- it looked like it would only fit someone who was pregnant (maybe a good maternity dress!). It was not flattering and i think i would have tore it if I tried to sit down however a size or two up would have been even BIGGER at the stomach. I would not recommend this dress despite the beautiful color and fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2014
Enjoyed wearing this dress!
Very comfortable dress. Received many compliments. Ran true to size. The lace around the neck did need to be steamed into place before wearing. Color is more vibrant in photos than in person. I'd rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 3, 2014
Great spring wedding choice!
I loved this dress and it fit perfectly! I wore this to a spring wedding and it was a great choice. I was worried it would be too long since I have short legs, but the length was perfect and hit just in the middle of my thighs. Can't wait to rent my next dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
July 21, 2014
Super cute dress!
I rented this as my backup dress, but I wish I had had somewhere to wear it! The fabrics and colors are beautiful, and really pop against one another. I am a pear shape, so the dress was a bit tight around my hips. There wasn't quite as much room in the hip area as I thought there would be from pictures, mostly because the blue colored lining was tight. Otherwise it was a great fit and an adorable dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 17, 2014
The wedding was at a country club so it was great to have the perfect dress for a beautiful event.
The dress fit wonderfully and looked amazing. I got so many compliments that I was sad to have to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 16, 2014
Cute but short!
This dress was a little short, but still wearable. The length hit me about mid thigh- bending over was not happening and sitting was done carefully. The dress tended to bunch up when seated as well. It does have pockets though! I felt that the dress also looked a little faded, or just photographs darker. Chest area fit great. Cute, but would not rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2014
Ease of shipping
The dress was shorter than I'm used to which made sitting in a chair a little uncomfortable, but overall the fit was great. And I loved the pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2014
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner.
The color was a bit more muted in real life, but I got lots of compliments on this dress. It was very flattering and fit very well.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 10, 2014
Classy, comfortable dress
Loved that this dress was classy and comfortable. The navy blue really plays off the red to make it stand out. It felt so nice not to have to pull up/adjust/fidget with the dress all night. Hugs and hides all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 9, 2014
great for the 4th of july!
I wanted to wear red and blue for the 4th so I rented this dress and was very happy with my choice. The 8 wasn't available so I squeezed into the 6 which was a bit snug across the chest but still zipped. The rest of the dress isn't form fitting though, so that wasn't an issue. The dress was gorgeous and although I loved wearing it my only complaint was that it did look a bit ragged from all the rentals. I know this one has been on the site for ages and I could definitely tell that the color was faded.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 9, 2014
Glad I had a short dress for a hot wedding!
Wore this to a wedding about 2 hours outside of Seattle 4th of July weekend and it was HOT. I liked the colors (red and navy) for a July 4th wedding, but it was a bit short. Well, maybe really short for me. I was actually kind of uncomfortable sitting down. I think its because of where the waist seam falls. I also thought that the higher waist and the pockets made the area around my hips kind of "poof out." It was a cute style, but the cut really wasn't for me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 9, 2014
Its beautifully crafted, great vibrant colors---but it was too short, too tight on my butt!
I am typically a XS/S/0/2, and while the chest area fit great (Im a small B) --Im a pear-shape with a booty, so it was so tight, and made the dress so short, I could never wear it. A slight bend of any kind would have exposed me, and sitting down would have never happened. But beautiful dress! just not for my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 21, 2014
Pretty but just didn't feel right
I'm usually between a size 10 and 12 (more 10s lately than 12s) and the 10 fit alright. I definitely needed a good push up bra to give some lift and separate the chest area from the waist and heels to lengthen the look (it seems more made for short waisted girls- everything wanted to just hang out in the middle together). I did like that I could wear a regular bra with it and it did fit my large chest (34G) but something about the way it fit just didn't feel right. It didn't look bad, it just didn't look great. In the end I went with an option already hanging in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 20, 2014
Daytime Dress
I rented for a formal evening, and I found it to be a bit more casual. The red is not as dark as shown in the picture and thus, did not end up wearing this. RTR was great in terms of overnighting me a back-up. The fit was great, a little short if you don't mind that, but definitely more for a daytime event.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 16, 2014
Great wedding, great dress!
Loved this dress! The colors were gorgeous and the pockets were essential. The lace around the neckline and sleeves curled in, but a little ironing took care of it. The 4 fit my waist and hips perfectly, but was tight in the bust. There was more cleavage than I would have liked as a result, and I was a little uncomfortable by the end of the night - the 6 probably would have fit better, but there weren't any available. Still, highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 15, 2014
Shorter than expected but very cute!
I wore this dress to a friend's rehearsal dinner. Sometimes lace can be too matronly; however not the case here! The lace on this dress was gorgeous; I loved the scalloped edge. The contrasting navy lining was a fresh take! I usually wear a size 2 or 4. With this dress I went with the size 4 so that it wasn't too tight on my larger hips. The 4 was still snug and short but I felt it was balanced by the non-revealing top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 13, 2014
Great dress! Got a lot of compliments!
Fit true to size and was very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
I was very disappointed in this dress. It is more of a burnt orange than a true red.
I did not wear it to my event. It is also REALLY SHORT.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 7, 2014
So many compliments!
Love the pockets! It's a short dress. The bottom does bubble a little bit so it can hide hips or make you look a lil bigger in the bottom. The dress I got was a bit weathered though- you can tell it's been rented out and dry cleaned many times. Regardless I still got lots of compliments. Perfect for an outdoor summer wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 5, 2014
Perfect Summer Dress! So Many Compliments!
This dress' fit is what makes it amazing. I'm a curvy pear/hourglass so some of the pictures scared me the bottom would be too tight. But no, and it wasn't too much of bubble either. It was the perfect fit ... I'm a true size 10 and fit like a glove. I went to a formal summer event on the ocean, and this was perfect! So slimming and comfortable. One down side .... It's starting to fade.... Which is sad cause I would return and rent again and again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 5, 2014
Even more beautiful than I expected
The fit was great, it was a tiny bit shorter than I expected but looked amazing on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 2, 2014
Fantastic dress. Could not have been happier with fit, color, etc.
Lace along collar was a bit folded down when it arrived, but easily fixed with an iron and starch so it laid nicely. Got tons of compliments when I wore it to a wedding in Florida.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
May 21, 2014
Dress was great!
I loved the fit and was slightly worried as my backup size was not available, but it was perfect! I love that it had pockets, and wasn't too short. Super comfy!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×