You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Out With A Bang Dress
Rental $40 Retail $305
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Update your look! Rent this fun and flirty Shoshanna LBD for your next special event. A great dress that works for all shapes and sizes. Simply pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace and Chamak’s Pearl Paradise Bangle Set.

Also available in teal, red, and cobalt.
Chat with a Stylist
Black bengaline (52% acetate, 48% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos37

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

camila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6421
Feb 5, 2014
fit very comfortable!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the pockets in the dress. Showed off a lot of the chest, lower cut than I thought!
taryn rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8544
Jan 28, 2014
classicly cute LBD
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Rented this dress for a dinner date with my boyfriend and his parents. It was perfect! Dressy enough for the upscale French restaurant we had dinner at, casual enough for me to feel 100% comfortable and confident in all night.
Dorian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Jan 24, 2014
Perfect dress to look great without looking too flashy.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I would normally wear a 2 in dresses, but the 4 was more comfortable with this one. Like others said, if you're a little chesty, it's kind of tight up there. Love the dress though! Pockets were the BEST!
Cait
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 22, 2014
Great LBD
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a friend's bachelorette party where we were all asked to wear black. The thicker fabric was great for the November rooftop location, however I did feel that the fabric looked a bit worn. Nothing that a great necklace couldn't over power though! The dress fit great everywhere but the bust for me. Because the fabric is a bit stiffer you have no choice but to "fill out" the bust area or everyone can see right down! I ended up wearing quite the push up bra to fill it out and then ended up showing more cleavage then I normally would. Worked out OK for a bachelorette party but wouldn't have been appropriate for all occasions :)
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2424
Jan 20, 2014
Perfect dress to accessorize
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a sorority formal. I had a big statement necklace and colored shoes picked out already so this was the perfect dress for that. It is a basic black dress. There was some cleavage but it was not too revealing overall. There were also pockets!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jan 14, 2014
Didn't get it in time :(
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately UPS didn't make the delivery but RTR made up for it by giving me a promo code for my next rental. They were very helpful! Can't wait for an event to wear this dress to though; it's adorable.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Dec 18, 2013
Great fun dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am short and always worried dresses will be too long and this was perfect! It was a little large in the chest area but I am petite and you really couldn't tell so it didn't sway me from wearing it.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Dec 16, 2013
love this dress; has pockets!!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
the 6 was too tight in the waist for me so the 8 was perfect. love that this dress has pockets. The straps were a bit too loose on me but they didn't fall off my shoulders or anything. i love that this dress has small button straps to hold your bra straps in. Will definitely rent again!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6424
Dec 10, 2013
Fall Wedding
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my co-workers wedding. Overall it fit the atmosphere and I got a lot of compliments. This dress had ZERO stretch to it. I have rented other dresses by this designer and they too had little to no stretch however, I had to wear the 8 (it was still quite snug) when normally I can wear this designers 6 but opt for the 8 to be comfortable. I would have been more comfortable in a 10.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Dec 6, 2013
beautiful dress, not great for apples.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress! I rented it for my brother's rehearsal dinner. The fabric was thicker and textured, but it was very pretty on. I will say that while it runs pretty much to size, it was slightly small. I am an apple and it was a little snug on my waist all night, its not quite an empire and not quite a standard waist. The 10 was far to big though. I am also pretty typically an 8 in jeans and dresses.
Hannah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5444
Nov 30, 2013
I love this dress....I will probably order in every color for different occasions.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have a hard time with dresses and usually have to get them altered because I have wider hips and smaller waist. I was concerned about wearing a strapless bra, but because the waist fit perfect it gave added support!
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 29, 2013
Cute dress but fit was off
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was super cute. Classic look. It however just didn't fit my body right. Very loose up top yet still showed the armpit hang over. Length was perfect and material was very comfortable.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Nov 15, 2013
Stunning. This is wonderful quality. Very flattering.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you are a petite girl - this could be the dress for you. Taller women might want to think twice.
melanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 12, 2013
Cute fun dress. Flares more than picture.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was super cute and fun. Super tight in the bust. Once I lost the bra it was fine. Thick enough fabric you don't need one. More flare than shown. I wore it with red heels and a long sparkly necklace.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 28, 2013
Perfect LBD
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was my back up dress and I didn't end up wearing it. I found that it fit true to size through the bodice, but was very large on top. The cut and quality fabric make it stand out next to your normal LBD.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6343
Oct 26, 2013
Simple & Elegant
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very pretty and flattering! I have this dress in all the other colors favorited and am tempted to rent again for another event.
CvilleDress
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5434
Oct 7, 2013
Cute LBD
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Cute dress for a wedding. Total party dress with a more full skirt and low cut enough so it balances out the skirt.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Oct 1, 2013
Classic LBD
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very comfortable to wear. As recommended in the reviews, I ordered down a size since it can be bigger in the bust area. I absolutely loved the dress and it was fun to accessorize.
lola
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
Sep 20, 2013
All the compliments I got.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect. Dress was so very comfortable
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6433
Sep 4, 2013
I wore this for a black tie event in November. Compliments galore!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. Great fit and true to size!
Gigi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4432
Sep 2, 2013
Back up dress - does the job!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is the perfect, easy LBD for a pear girl. Not too poufy of a skirt, but enough swing that it flatters the lower half. It is slightly bigger on top I think, so maybe consider sizing down for back up size if you're smaller in the bust. I didn't end up wearing is as it was my back up, but will probably rent again when I need a functional, simple but very cute LBD. A great classic basic.
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Aug 19, 2013
Great fabric, Shoshanna runs big generally
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The biggest problem I had with this dress is that it was short. I tried both the 4 and 2, hoping the 4 would be longer, but no. The dress is a little short for the rehearsal dinner that I wore it to, but it worked. Beautiful fabric, great with fun accessories.
Emily
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6531
Jun 24, 2013
Great, comfortable dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress for a wedding. It was really cute and super comfortable and the straps allowed me to dance without having to worry about it falling down. It's a pretty simple black dress but the sheen and structure of the fabric made it dressy enough and the length made it not too conservative. I wish I owned this dress, and will likely rent again in the future!
Linley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5333
May 29, 2013
I ordered two dresses and I didn't end up wearing this one.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this one because it was baggy on me. I ordered the 6 and 8, I should have gone with the 4.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
May 22, 2013
Classic - with POCKETS!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The pockets are amazing. It was a nice fit, it wasn't too tight or loose anywhere. My only complaint is that, looking back at pictures, it was a little poofy around the mid-section. I know that's the style, but it was a little bit much and made me look bigger than I was. Otherwise though (especially front-on pictures), it was flattering. It was comfortable and, paired with a big statement necklace, it did the trick!
Anna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4323
May 20, 2013
Fun and Easy!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great, but pretty tight around the bust. It was long enough for a formal affair, but short enough & age appropriate. The only downside was that it wrinkled very easily, but aside from that, very happy with the rental!
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2432
May 4, 2013
NYE dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the fit! Great LBD
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7533
Apr 8, 2013
It was a super cute fun dress. I'd wear it again!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size for my body type. It was the perfect dress for a fun, black-tie optional event. I was comfortable all night. Just wish there would have been more dancing. Plus it has pockets! Who doesn't love pocket!
Sabrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8434
Mar 29, 2013
The ease of renting a dress
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Overall, this dress runs small and is not for the large-chested crowd. I am a 38 DD and the top on this dress was definitely tight. I chose this dress as my second pick and when receiving the package, I realized that I couldn't not wear it. The straps of the dress hid bra straps and had snaps to keep the straps in place. The fabric was soft and had a slight-sheen to it. It also had pockets! This dress was the one where everyone was asking where I got it from, so you might be a walking advertisement for RTR!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6334
Mar 1, 2013
Simple and elegant
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was simple and elegant, but it needed a little extra something extra to make it wow
erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Jan 24, 2013
Not for someone with good posture!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wish I could've worn this dress but something about the fit wasn't quite right... it looked adorable and doll-like, until I noticed that the back was gapping horribly (like, you could see down the back of the dress) as I stood up straight with my shoulders back (um, as we all should, right??). I contemplated wearing it anyway but knew that at the end of the night, I didn't want to see myself slouching with rounded shoulders in photos just for the sake of keeping the dress in place. Not worth it!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Jan 18, 2013
Classic LBD
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True-to-size, Definitely rent it based on your bust size, I could have gone a size down in all aspects except for bust, if you are a smaller chest you could probably wear a size smaller.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7434
Jan 14, 2013
Great dress.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect for an hour glass figure.
Karen E.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Jan 8, 2013
Excellent Service by RTR! Unfortunately, severe storms and hurricane caused all events to cancel.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress arrived ON TIME, as promised. The dilemma was it happened the exact day the storm hit. RTR advised me what to do, and according to their policy made every adjustment in timely fashion! I was very impressed - !!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jan 8, 2013
Basic LBD
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is great. Nice flattering cut, has snaps to hold you bra straps in place. Good length (and I'm short). Its a great start. You can dress up or down depending on shoes and accessories. If you are looking for a good deal, this is it.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Dec 4, 2012
Great LBD
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a bachelorette... great dress that you can dress up or down... loved it!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6433
Nov 16, 2012
Classic
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Ordered this as my back up- classic, easy LBD. Didn't end up wearing it but it's super comfy/flattering in the right places. Pretty simple but good to order as back up option. Runs a bit big- order your chest/bust size versus hip size.
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6443
Nov 14, 2012
Great go-to black dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as a backup since I was unsure on the fit of the dress I had hoped to wear. That dress was way too small. This worked out well as a perfect back up dress! I got the 8 & 10 and wore the 8. I think it would be flattering on all body types. I am pear shaped and this is an obvious go-to as it hides unwanted areas and still makes you look thinner on top. I paired it with emerald green jewelry and it looked great! It isn't a stand out dress, but it is a definite safe, go-to black dress for any occasion!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress