Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Out With A Bang Dress

$40 rental
$305 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Update your look! Rent this fun and flirty Shoshanna LBD for your next special event. A great dress that works for all shapes and sizes. Simply pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace.

Also available in Red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black bengaline (52% acetate, 48% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

140 reviews

Fit
Small 16
True to Size 106
Large 10
Photos 64
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Dress fit perfectly - super cute and fun, but still elegant. Comfortable and chic!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was just the right length, even for m relatively short stature. It has pockets- which I love, and is very comfortable and easy to move around in. Only negative was that the straps didn't stay put over my bra straps. Everything else was lovely!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 2, 2013

Great Dress! Arrived Early!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The straps fall down, but I fashion taped them to my bra and they stayed in place rest of the night! Loved the dress, and the whole process of renting it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

A perfect fun, young, and little black dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress! Easy, comfortable, and cute! I wore it for NYE in New York City and it was great for the occasion. It fits true to size around the chest, so I would base the size off of that. The length was just right and it was a lot of fun to accessorize. I recommend the dress to anybody.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 15, 2013

Modest, comfortable, simple.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress was modest. I fancified it with some blingy jewelry. The outfit overall was perfect for my date, which was to an off-broadway musical.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 17, 2013

Classic LBD

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a cocktail attire fundraiser. It's very flattering on an hourglass figure. The detail stitching on the chest and gathering below the waistband give this little black dress a little something special. I would highly recommend this dress, especially for the price.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

I got complements on the dress all night long :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress does run small so I definitely recommend ordering a size up for the second size. I didn't have any problems with the sleeves falling down as others mentioned. The neckline is fun but still modest and the length is perfect. I wore it for a sorority formal and had an amazing time dancing around in this dress. I highly recommend it because it is the perfect LBD.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Simple and classic

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am a huge fan of Shoshanna dresses, and have rented only her designs from RTR because I know they fit me. While I loved this dress and it was comfortable, it was probably my least favorite of the dresses I've rented. This wasn't a fault of the dress, the designer, etc. just my personal opinion and how I felt in it. I did receive MULTIPLE compliments and LOVED the pockets, so no compliants about the actual dress itself. Just wish I had gone with something a little more out there. Either way, still planning to use RTR and Shoshanna dresses in the future.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
May 24, 2013

Loved the pockets!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had originally rented a different dress however the day before my rental was to be shipped, I got a call from RTR saying that the dress had been damaged by the previous renter and that I could rent any in its place. The dress fits pretty true to size; I had extra room in the bodice (which is typical of my body) but was able to wear it anyways. I have a long torso so it definitely fit like a short(er) dress. The pockets were awesome for my camera phone on the dance floor. Easy to wear, classic dress- good for any occasion you want to look polished but not be the center of attention.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Shoshanna has nailed it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was actually my back up dress. I was able to make an appointment at the NY showroom and have the amazing Whitney dress me head to toe! This is the perfect simple LBD that every women should own. I wore the Shoshanna dress to my boyfriends summer company gala on chelsea piers, it was PERFECT. If you are looking for a LBD that will give you the "wow she is smoking hot" looks but also have wives not feel threatened, then this is the one for you! It was true to size, bonus it has POCKETS, the dress straps also have a small hidden snap to attach to a bra strap that way it never slips. I paired with black fendi heels, and a gorg kendra scott necklace, with a bright green clutch. * full discloser, ive order this same shosanna dress for an upcoming wedding in teal*
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

Great LBD, classy and sexy at the same time

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so comfortable and flattering that I have rented it twice (which is normally against my RTR rules). The top is a bit tight in the chest area which creates a tad more cleavage than I would usually wear, but the rest of the dress is sweet enough to balance it out. This is a perfect dress for a party or a night out on the town.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 21, 2013

Adorable dress, loved by all!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! Everyone I met at the wedding loved the dress and gave lots of compliments. Loved it!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 2, 2013

Fun and comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was sent to me as a replacement for another I had ordered. Although at first I was disappointed for not getting what I had ordered, it was a fun little dress. Was very comfortable and a great fit. Liked the length as well. A great black dress for a variety of occasions. Would rent it again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

Nice dress, very comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The straps were too long for me. It ran a little big, I would have comfortably fit into a 6.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 28, 2013

Great dress! LOVE THE POCKETS!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress as my "back up" dress (which is a GREAT option for $25!) It really was a great dress but I ended up going with my 1st choice. The only problem I found with the dress was it gapped in the chest area for me, even with a good push up bra. But the overall fit was really true to size & the pockets are a total added bonus.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

The dress fit great! I received a ton of compliments! especially with the necklace :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was hesitant on what designer what size etc. I finally after hours of sitting at the computer went with this dress, i ordered a size 0 and 2 when i received it in the mail i loved the added gift as well as the garment bag. I only tried on the 0 and it fit perfectly! I loved the added pockets, it kept my phone handy for pictures all night long. The only con would be im a little bustier so it was just a tad tight around my chest but overall it was comfortable. All 3 of these girls shown used RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a friend's rehearsal dinner, it was great for the occasion. The 4 & 6 actually both fit, just a bit differently. I ended up going with the 6 so that I had room to move around, a bit more length, and room to enjoy a big dinner. The shape is forgiving and the fabric nice heavy weight so I skipped the usual spanx. A great LBD, would rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 30, 2013

Classic little black dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great. I was anticipating wearing a regular bra, but the straps showed, so I went braless. It made it too roomy at the top and eliminated any cleavage. But overall a flattering dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Jun 9, 2014

great LBD

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
flattering and fun! perfect LBD for a wedding. the pockets were a fun addition; i loved wearing this dress! would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Excellent choice that you cannot go wrong with. Add a statement necklace to make it pop!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Jun 29, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was between a 2 and 4 and I decided to wear the two as it fit better in the bust.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Wore for my friend's rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
No complaints, very nice fabric and fit. Because I'm short I felt when I was wearing it it was too long, however in pictures it looked to be a nice length. Built in snaps to hold your bra straps from slipping!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a bachelorette party- it was perfect for a little black dress. It is very flattering and comfortable! There are hooks to hold your bra straps in which is an extra bonus!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Wore this dress to a graduation and later to the graduation dinner.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the way this dress fit, so did my fiance ; )
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

Super comfy yet flattering LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I decided to rent this as a last resort for an "all black" bachelorette party and was pleasantly surprised. It was perfect for the occasion and I got so many compliments! The fabric has a sheen to it but I was able to dress it down with a chunky turquiose necklace and black espadrilles. The best part about this dress were the pockets!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

The dress was super comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 2 and 4. The size 2 was too small in the top. The 4 was a much better fit and was super comfy. If you are looking for a little black dress this is the one to go with.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 8, 2014

Shoshana runs small in the chest

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Didn't wear because it didn't fit in the chest. It was a cute dress though
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Body type: Petite
Sep 29, 2014

Very comfortable and flattering.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for my daughter to wear in a wedding. Being on the shorter side, 5'3"-5"4", the dress was a lot longer than on the model, hitting right above the knee, but for a wedding it was appropriate.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Great little black dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs true to size. It was a little plain so I added a sparkly belt to it. It has pockets which was great and was very comfortable!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 4, 2014

Great dress and even better with the pockets! I got so many compliments, wish it was mine!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely loved the pockets!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Looks more like a Christmas dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was pretty disappointed when I received this dress, the material is really shiny and reminds me of those Christmas dresses you would wear as kids. I rented it in the summer and the material was also pretty heavy, I would not rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this for my anniversary dinner and it was perfect! My friend rented the same dress and wore it as a bridesmaid's dress. I was worried it would be short on me but it wasn't!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Oct 27, 2014

Solid back up dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't end up wearing because although it was nice, there was nothing extra special about it, and I went with my first choice. Normal fit, solid back up choice.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well, skirt laid off body enough to be flirty but not too much volume that you felt like a cupcake. All in all a simple and comfortable LBD!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Nov 11, 2014

so fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
great fit. the pockets were a nice surprise. really easy dress to wear.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Simple, black dress in a pretty classic fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a similar dress to wear to my firms holiday party. A few days before, it turned out that they didn't have my spare size in my first choice dress. Instead, the rent the runway stylist sent this option. I wasn't a big fan if the fit. The quality of the fabric was great and the sizing was pretty true to size. However, the shape and overall look was very baby dollish. It didn't look much like it does on the model.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Didn't end up wearing

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Other
This is a cute, basic dress. Nothing too special. Fits well and looks good on.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 1, 2015

Classic LBD, with pockets!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Wedding
Great classic lbd. The pockets were fun. The straps did run large and I have a full bust, 36 D. I kept having to pull them up and covert bra straps. Otherwise fun, cute dress u can dress up with jewelry.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 6, 2015

Unfortunately did not get to wear. Ran small and was too tight to wear enjoyably to a wedding.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
If it had fit, would of loved the dress! It is a great black dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

.Beautiful dress. Very classy while still being fun for a party. Loved everything about it. Perfect

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fitted top. Bottom gives u room but not to puffy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151 lbs
Mar 13, 2015

Loved this dress...already reserved it again for my next event!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly! It was the perfect length and I loved that I could eat and drink without any worries! It was comfortable and I could have dressed it up or down! I've already reserved this dress again...loved it that much!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×