You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Out With A Bang Dress
Rental $40 Retail $305
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Update your look! Rent this fun and flirty Shoshanna LBD for your next special event. A great dress that works for all shapes and sizes. Simply pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace and Chamak’s Pearl Paradise Bangle Set.

Also available in teal, red, and cobalt.
Chat with a Stylist
Black bengaline (52% acetate, 48% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos37

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3523
Mar 2, 2014
It was classic and paired with standout jewelry
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 0 but had to go a size up for this dress so that my bust would fit. I have a large rib cage. This meant that dress ended up slightly larger in the middle and bottom and just right on top but I figured that I needed to breathe. It was perfect for the rehearsal dinner.
Isabel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Jan 26, 2014
This dress paired with a gorgeous RTR Kate Spade necklace was perfect for my college "senior prom"!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Classic LBD. The dress fit tight on the top with lots of room throughout the rest, and the material was mildly shiny (in a good way) and very comfortable. Great for any occasion! It's a little too simple to wear on its own so I paired it with a green statement necklace, which got SO many compliments.
Jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jan 19, 2014
Simple, comfortable, short and sexy LBD with POCKETS!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: Pockets are awesome - deep and secure, I carried my phone, id and keys in them all night and they never budged (and there was a lot of dancing too), Tight at top so no bra required, baby doll style means no having to mess with spanks or worrying about underwear lines, pretty darn short makes it sexier than it would be otherwise Cons: It's a pretty basic black dress, nothing especially extravagant or noteworthy about it Also, I usually waffle between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 was too gappy at top... so likely size down
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2434
Jan 16, 2014
Not for busty gals
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was a little underwhelmed by this dress. It was a little longer than I had wanted and the top was a little too tight for my chest. I ordered a 4 but it looked frumpy, so I ended up wearing the 2 instead. Overall, was it fine? Yeah. Would I rent it again? Probably not.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2322
Jan 14, 2014
I loved the fabric!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric was great. It was slightly large in the straps so I kept having to adjust it.
Isabel
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8634
Jan 2, 2014
New years Eve party Lots of compliments on overall look. it was cold so i wore insulated hosiery.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
classic baby doll dress snug fitting just under the bra line. size 12 if you are a 36 bust. I am average in hgt and felt the dress was appropriately short for my age. So many possible looks with this dress by accessorizing. I chose to wear thermal stockings, black semi-gloss leather pumps, and brassy gold jewelry. I was able to (with a light jacket) step outside for fireworks and still stay warm. Strange thing was, my lip color was a major hit so I will recommend wearing a red that pops with this dress.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 31, 2013
Great dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a winter wedding, and it worked out perfectly! I picked a size 4 and a size 2 as my back-up, and I ended up wearing the size 2. It was slightly snug, but I forgot about it once the night started. I got tons of compliments, and I would highly recommend it!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4422
Nov 10, 2013
Perfect, fun & easy to wear LBD!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size. If you have a larger rib cage, go a size up! The best part - the pockets! The dress is easy to wear and can be dressed up or down. I wore it with tights and booties. It was great for a fall rehearsal dinner in Chicago. This can be a go-to LBD for any fun occasion! Thanks RTR!
Julie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Nov 1, 2013
The wedding was in Washington state and I had it shipped directly to the hotel. Super convenient!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove! Ordered a size 0 and 2, the 0 was just a little too tight and I could not quit zip it all the way up, but the size 2 was perfect. Have another wedding coming up next week and I am really tempted to just rent this one again.
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Oct 26, 2013
Good go-to LBD
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fairly a simple black dress. It fit well, fell at the right spot above the knees and could wear a regular bra with it. Loved the pockets and the clasps to keep your bra straps in place. Adding the Baddley Mischka Crystal Cluster necklace was the perfect touch to dress the look up.
deadra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Oct 8, 2013
A great spin on the LBD!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the pockets and the silhouette of the dress but he dress fit was very small so ladies with a D or bigger, beware, the dress is very tight in the chest area. Great length and can be dressed up nicely with a great necklace or big chandelier earrings.
Jloren6
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Sep 29, 2013
Love it!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had a baby 3 months ago, and needed a dress that was forgiving in the belly area. This was it! I was able to wear a regular bra, and the midsection was not form fitting - so it hid the stomach nicely! Great LBD - would work for just about any body type!
Christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6434
Sep 12, 2013
very comfortable and flattering!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this is the perfect dress because it's guaranteed to work. It ran exactly to size. I ordered it as a second style because I was unsure of my first pick and I am so thankful I did. I liked the pockets too!
CM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Sep 10, 2013
Can't wait to order again in a different color!!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the perfect black dress for a wedding or formal event. The pockets were an added bonus. I usually wear a 6/8 and ordered a size 8 although the 6 would have worked better.
Sara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3544
Aug 30, 2013
Classic little black dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great. I was anticipating wearing a regular bra, but the straps showed, so I went braless. It made it too roomy at the top and eliminated any cleavage. But overall a flattering dress.
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Aug 12, 2013
Great dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a friend's rehearsal dinner, it was great for the occasion. The 4 & 6 actually both fit, just a bit differently. I ended up going with the 6 so that I had room to move around, a bit more length, and room to enjoy a big dinner. The shape is forgiving and the fabric nice heavy weight so I skipped the usual spanx. A great LBD, would rent again.
Alexandria
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2324
Aug 8, 2013
The dress fit great! I received a ton of compliments! especially with the necklace :)
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was hesitant on what designer what size etc. I finally after hours of sitting at the computer went with this dress, i ordered a size 0 and 2 when i received it in the mail i loved the added gift as well as the garment bag. I only tried on the 0 and it fit perfectly! I loved the added pockets, it kept my phone handy for pictures all night long. The only con would be im a little bustier so it was just a tad tight around my chest but overall it was comfortable. All 3 of these girls shown used RTR!
libby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Jul 28, 2013
Great dress! LOVE THE POCKETS!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress as my "back up" dress (which is a GREAT option for $25!) It really was a great dress but I ended up going with my 1st choice. The only problem I found with the dress was it gapped in the chest area for me, even with a good push up bra. But the overall fit was really true to size & the pockets are a total added bonus.
Danielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6424
Jul 17, 2013
Nice dress, very comfortable!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The straps were too long for me. It ran a little big, I would have comfortably fit into a 6.
Lorin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Jul 2, 2013
Fun and comfortable
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was sent to me as a replacement for another I had ordered. Although at first I was disappointed for not getting what I had ordered, it was a fun little dress. Was very comfortable and a great fit. Liked the length as well. A great black dress for a variety of occasions. Would rent it again.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Jun 21, 2013
Adorable dress, loved by all!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! Everyone I met at the wedding loved the dress and gave lots of compliments. Loved it!!
Haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Jun 19, 2013
Great LBD, classy and sexy at the same time
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so comfortable and flattering that I have rented it twice (which is normally against my RTR rules). The top is a bit tight in the chest area which creates a tad more cleavage than I would usually wear, but the rest of the dress is sweet enough to balance it out. This is a perfect dress for a party or a night out on the town.
bvivian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jun 18, 2013
Shoshanna has nailed it!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was actually my back up dress. I was able to make an appointment at the NY showroom and have the amazing Whitney dress me head to toe! This is the perfect simple LBD that every women should own. I wore the Shoshanna dress to my boyfriends summer company gala on chelsea piers, it was PERFECT. If you are looking for a LBD that will give you the "wow she is smoking hot" looks but also have wives not feel threatened, then this is the one for you! It was true to size, bonus it has POCKETS, the dress straps also have a small hidden snap to attach to a bra strap that way it never slips. I paired with black fendi heels, and a gorg kendra scott necklace, with a bright green clutch. * full discloser, ive order this same shosanna dress for an upcoming wedding in teal*
LVT
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 2432
May 24, 2013
Loved the pockets!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had originally rented a different dress however the day before my rental was to be shipped, I got a call from RTR saying that the dress had been damaged by the previous renter and that I could rent any in its place. The dress fits pretty true to size; I had extra room in the bodice (which is typical of my body) but was able to wear it anyways. I have a long torso so it definitely fit like a short(er) dress. The pockets were awesome for my camera phone on the dance floor. Easy to wear, classic dress- good for any occasion you want to look polished but not be the center of attention.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Mar 15, 2013
Simple and classic
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am a huge fan of Shoshanna dresses, and have rented only her designs from RTR because I know they fit me. While I loved this dress and it was comfortable, it was probably my least favorite of the dresses I've rented. This wasn't a fault of the dress, the designer, etc. just my personal opinion and how I felt in it. I did receive MULTIPLE compliments and LOVED the pockets, so no compliants about the actual dress itself. Just wish I had gone with something a little more out there. Either way, still planning to use RTR and Shoshanna dresses in the future.
Jenny
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6333
Mar 4, 2013
I got complements on the dress all night long :)
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress does run small so I definitely recommend ordering a size up for the second size. I didn't have any problems with the sleeves falling down as others mentioned. The neckline is fun but still modest and the length is perfect. I wore it for a sorority formal and had an amazing time dancing around in this dress. I highly recommend it because it is the perfect LBD.
Darcie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8534
Feb 17, 2013
Classic LBD
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a cocktail attire fundraiser. It's very flattering on an hourglass figure. The detail stitching on the chest and gathering below the waistband give this little black dress a little something special. I would highly recommend this dress, especially for the price.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7444
Jan 15, 2013
Modest, comfortable, simple.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress was modest. I fancified it with some blingy jewelry. The outfit overall was perfect for my date, which was to an off-broadway musical.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Jan 8, 2013
A perfect fun, young, and little black dress
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress! Easy, comfortable, and cute! I wore it for NYE in New York City and it was great for the occasion. It fits true to size around the chest, so I would base the size off of that. The length was just right and it was a lot of fun to accessorize. I recommend the dress to anybody.
Samantha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6343
Jan 2, 2013
Great Dress! Arrived Early!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The straps fall down, but I fashion taped them to my bra and they stayed in place rest of the night! Loved the dress, and the whole process of renting it!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3531
Nov 11, 2012
Dress fit perfectly - super cute and fun, but still elegant. Comfortable and chic!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was just the right length, even for m relatively short stature. It has pockets- which I love, and is very comfortable and easy to move around in. Only negative was that the straps didn't stay put over my bra straps. Everything else was lovely!
Kaley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Apr 3, 2014
Perfect little black dress for a holiday party.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a holiday part. I liked the higher waist-line and pleating, helped to hide my tummy area. I have a larger chest, so I felt a little too exposed and kept a sweater on most of the night.
Laura
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7434
Apr 2, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Length was fine but way to tight in the chest area. I could zip it up but couldn't breath!
marcia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8641
Mar 31, 2014
Gorgeous dress!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress for a photo shoot. What a great dress! So comfortable AND it has pockets!! You are able to wear a regular bra as it has the tiny straps inside to keep your bra straps concealed. Great length, not too short and not too long...very flattering! I am thinking of renting this dress for a wedding later this summer. I would love to own this dress!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 2433
Mar 31, 2014
Perfect LBD.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress. Paired with a necklace and it looked great. Very comfortable and fit perfectly.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5521
Mar 23, 2014
simple but works
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding early on in my pregnancy and it fit in all the right places but gave my belly enough room. simple and not that exciting, but if you add a fun necklace you can dress it up.
defmid6
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 16, 2014
I guess I clean up well - people didn't recognize me all dressed up.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit as a size 4 perfectly. Had the weather been better I would not have had to wear tights, but luckily the dress still looked super cute with solid black tights.
Adrienne
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 7433
Mar 13, 2014
Just what I was looking for!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm generally a 10 - the 10 was a tiny bit snug but the 12 was definitely too big, so I ended up wearing the 10. I loved it! It was so flattering. I almost considered trying to buy it! Highly recommended. I wore this to a charity event where many of my coworkers were - so I wanted a dress that was fun but a little conservative. It was perfect.
Gwen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6333
Feb 18, 2014
Such a great dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got both a 6 and an 8. Both fit really well, though the straps on the 8 were a little large. I went with the 8 though because i knew I'd be dancing! The dress is lovely and the pockets were an added bonus!!
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5521
Feb 12, 2014
Super cute dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super cute, but I found it ran a little large.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress