Out With A Bang Dress

$40 rental
$305 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Update your look! Rent this fun and flirty Shoshanna LBD for your next special event. A great dress that works for all shapes and sizes. Simply pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace.

Also available in Red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black bengaline (52% acetate, 48% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
159 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size117
Small19
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 25, 2014
Amazing fabric
Go a size up. Amazing fabric. I would love to own this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2014
Perfect LBD!
I rented this for my anniversary dinner and it was perfect! My friend rented the same dress and wore it as a bridesmaid's dress. I was worried it would be short on me but it wasn't!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
October 14, 2014
Looks more like a Christmas dress
I was pretty disappointed when I received this dress, the material is really shiny and reminds me of those Christmas dresses you would wear as kids. I rented it in the summer and the material was also pretty heavy, I would not rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 6, 2014
Perfect!
Absolutely gorgeous dress. Not too flashy, but still very professional. Great fit for an hourglass figure and very complimenting. Makes your waist look tiny!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
October 5, 2014
Classic and flattering
Classic LBD. It was very tight in the chest, which I read before hand. They aren't lying. But after awhile of wearing it it felt more comfortable and I didn't really notice. I could not have gone down a size. I would order your true size and one size up. Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2014
First time with RTR and won't be the last! Great service, dress fit perfect and easy to return!
The dress was very true to size but definitely didn't have any give in the material. I loved the pockets and the straps have hooks so your bra strap doesn't show! Overall loved the fit of the dress- very flattering and comfortable
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2014
Great dress and even better with the pockets! I got so many compliments, wish it was mine!
Absolutely loved the pockets!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
September 30, 2014
Great little black dress!
This dress runs true to size. It was a little plain so I added a sparkly belt to it. It has pockets which was great and was very comfortable!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 29, 2014
A really high quality dress
Fairly true to size. I'm generally between a 2 and 4 but I wore the 2. It fit well but not much room. The 4 didn't look bad but the 2 gave me more shape. Im 5'7 or 5'8" and didn't feel the dress was too short but also not too long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Body type: Petite
September 29, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering.
I rented this for my daughter to wear in a wedding. Being on the shorter side, 5'3"-5"4", the dress was a lot longer than on the model, hitting right above the knee, but for a wedding it was appropriate.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2014
I loved this dress! It was the perfect little black dress!
This was perfect for a wedding I recently went to. I got a lot of compliments on it, and the pockets are so convenient (finally...a place for my iphone!). I am normally a size 6, but had to wear the 8 because the bust was too tight (I am 34 C/D). I also love any dress that I can wear a normal bra with, so I was happy. The clips to keep your bra straps from showing were also very convenient. The dress was starting to show some wear, but only if you looked really closely. Overall, I was very happy with it. It was very flattering - gave just a little bit of cleavage and cut in at the waste nicely. I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 15, 2014
I love this dress! Comfortable and easy to dance in.
This is the second dress that I have worn from rent the runway! I really like that you can wear the dress once and send it back. No need to go out and buy a dress you will only wear once. I loved this dress. It was true to size and easy to wear. I like the fact that it had pockets where I put my phone so I could take pictures throughout the night. I would recommend this dress to anyone. I would love to buy this dress of given the opportunity. I wore it to a wedding but I feel like with the right shoes and jewelry this could easily be dressed down for a more causal look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2014
Shoshana runs small in the chest
Didn't wear because it didn't fit in the chest. It was a cute dress though
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2014
The dress was super comfortable.
I ordered a size 2 and 4. The size 2 was too small in the top. The 4 was a much better fit and was super comfy. If you are looking for a little black dress this is the one to go with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 6, 2014
I felt comfortable and glamorous in this beautiful dress!
Comfortable and loose in the mid-section. A tiny bit loose in shoulders but got well in the chest. Looks perfect with a statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 4, 2014
Perfect black dress!
Simple black dress, perfect for petites, true to size and loved the pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
August 10, 2014
Nice LBD
Simple black dress. Nice look. Definitely need to accessorize.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
July 27, 2014
Super comfy yet flattering LBD!
I decided to rent this as a last resort for an "all black" bachelorette party and was pleasantly surprised. It was perfect for the occasion and I got so many compliments! The fabric has a sheen to it but I was able to dress it down with a chunky turquiose necklace and black espadrilles. The best part about this dress were the pockets!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 26, 2014
Great material and detail Small bust area
Great material and detail! Loved it. Was a little tight in the bust and didn't really give complete coverage.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2014
Wore this dress to a graduation and later to the graduation dinner.
I loved the way this dress fit, so did my fiance ; )
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 11, 2014
Perfect LBD
I wore this for a bachelorette party- it was perfect for a little black dress. It is very flattering and comfortable! There are hooks to hold your bra straps in which is an extra bonus!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 10, 2014
Wore for my friend's rehearsal dinner.
No complaints, very nice fabric and fit. Because I'm short I felt when I was wearing it it was too long, however in pictures it looked to be a nice length. Built in snaps to hold your bra straps from slipping!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
June 29, 2014
Perfect LBD!
I was between a 2 and 4 and I decided to wear the two as it fit better in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2014
Perfect LBD
Excellent choice that you cannot go wrong with. Add a statement necklace to make it pop!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
June 9, 2014
great LBD
flattering and fun! perfect LBD for a wedding. the pockets were a fun addition; i loved wearing this dress! would definitely rent again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 1, 2014
Great LBD
Loved it. Wore it to my brothers wedding. I just had my second baby so I haven't lost my baby weight yet and this hid my hips and accentuated my boobs to distract. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
May 29, 2014
Easy to wear! I wish I owned it!
I rented this as a back up dress previously and was sad to send it back without wearing it. I re-rented it and hated to not put it in my closet at the end of the night for future use!! Perfect LBD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 28, 2014
Worked for a LBD at a bachelorette
Wore this for a bachelorette. I had to get a bigger size to accommodate my hips, so the bust area was a little large. I ended up wearing a strapless bra with extra padding so it fit pretty good. A couple times the straps feel onto my shoulders, but it was minor. I enjoyed the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
May 26, 2014
Perfect
This dress was perfect! It didn't arrive on time for the party due to weather delays (it was during a snow storm of course!), but that didn't stop me from trying it on and wearing it around the house a little ;) The top of the dress fit perfectly. I am curvy and have a small waist but some hips and ended up going with the size 8 since the dress hides the hips (amazing). I wish it would have arrived on time for my party, but it made me feel fabulous anyways!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 21, 2014
Great LBD
This is a flattering (and forgiving) LBD. I am curvy in my hips and am a 32C up top, and this dress fit everything perfectly! Great dress for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 21, 2014
Love Love Loved this dress! I didn't want to return it!
Was a little tight in the bust but still comfortable. The pockets were very useful for keeping my phone and lip gloss handy. Also there were little straps that hooked around my bra straps and kept everything in place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 19, 2014
Great dress, I would totally wear this again
I wore stockings and a garter belt in lieu of pantyhose. Upon sitting dress rides up a little and would expose the lace but no biggie really
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2014
Simple, Little Black Dress
I liked the dress, but it was rather simple. Just a plain little black dress, which was what I wanted for the event I was attending. I dressed it up with the necklace that is on the model in the pic. It was a nice combination. Both the four and the six fit well. However, I wore the six because it fit longer than the four, as it went to just above my knees whereas the four went to about mid-thigh.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2014
Cute LBD
Great fit, very comfortable and clean/classic silhouette.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2014
Flattering shape!
This LBD was so cute! It is a little plain, but I felt like it showed off my figure really well. I've put on a few extra pounds lately and felt like this dress hid them well! Very flattering for those of us with bigger boobs. SECOND TIME RENTING: Hello again! Loved this dress so I ordered it again for a charity event. I've lost the few pounds I mentioned above, so went with the 6 but it was still pretty tight in the chest area. Ladies, if you're busty, I'd go a size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
Cute LBD
Flattering and comfortable. A good go-to black dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
May 5, 2014
Super fun to wear! I would rent again!
True to size. Loved the clasp to hold my bra strap in place! It was a little long on me (I'm 5'2) but nothing some hem tape wouldn't fix. This dress was comfortable, fun, and easy to accessorize. I loved wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2014
This LBD was a classic choice!
The material really dresses up this one. It's a classic LBD but has a great neckline and cut. I paired it with a statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2014
Simple and flattering
I rented this dress for a NYE party. the fit was true to size, though a bit tight in the bust if you are fuller in that area. Despite that, I was pretty comfortable in the dress all night. Unfortunately, I don't have any good full shot photos from the evening that really show the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2014
Looked nice
Fit true to size. Hides legs if you have a pear shape. My legs are a size 6 but Iim tiny on top. It was super flattering.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×