Shoshanna

Noir Cream Puff Dress

$45 to buy
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this adorable Shoshanna Noir Cream Puff Dress for a fall wedding or cocktail party. Its simple scoop neckline and full skirt are perfect for a casual but elegant event!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist and conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has comfortable room in hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist and conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has comfortable room in hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ottoman. Scoop neckline. Seamed bodice. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

98 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 68
Large 19
Photos 40
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Great for Sorority Preference Night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress had such a classy fit without being too matronly. As my sorority's recruitment chair, it also was comfortable enough for all the running around and setting up I had to do. I really enjoyed it.
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 24, 2014

Cute Puff

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received this dress, because one of the sizes of the dress I rented was returned damage, and a stylist picked this out for me as a replacement. The dress that I originally rented fit, so I wore that for my event, but I tried this dress on the next night for fun. The 4 fit fine, but I didn't think the dress was anything special. I told everyone that it made me look like a "black cream puff." Sure enough, that's the name of the dress! So, if that's the look you're going for, this is your dress! It's a little "cutesy" for my taste, but I wouldn't have rented this dress in the first place. I personally think the style and fabric make it look like a bridesmaid dress. So, if you're looking for a less pricey rental and a cute LBD, I would recommend this dress.
Mary Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Classic yet young and modern

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress made me feel very upscale/chic for my sisters bridal shower where all the bridesmaids wore black dresses to match our actual bridesmaids dresses. I matched my dress with pearls and fancier wedges. A get ranger said I looked very Jackie O. I felt very special after that :)
Denicia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
May 3, 2014

All eyes was looking at me

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
#jrprom
Johanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Lots of compliment

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Great dress. Run a little big...I would rent size 2 instead of 4 next time.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

A wonderful and classic dress for any occasion. It was a comfortable and well made dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was very comfortable and true to size. I live this dress and would definitely rent it again.
Joan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 5, 2014

I got so many compliments through the night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR shipped me this dress overnight because the original dress I ordered didn't fit. But I loved this one EVEN MORE! I loved that this dress had pockets & it was the perfect length at mid-thigh! The zipper is a bit hard to get up near the middle so get some help if you can. Also, I'm a tad busty so the top was SUPER fitted while the rest of the dress fit with some room. But once everything was in place, I looked & felt great! I had no problems moving around, eating, and dancing through the night! Overall I would recommend this dress to a friend :) try it!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

Fun, slightly sexy and flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a wonderful choice for my husband’s office holiday party which took place at a downtown club here in Austin, Texas. The dress was very flattering to my shape (i.e., 5’2”, 115 lbs, 32B bust) and true to size (i.e., size 2). The dress was sexy, but not overly so (i.e., the neckline comes just low enough). The bubble shape of the full skirt was adorable and adds a lot of character to this little black dress. There is not a lot of stretch to this fabric and it is going to fit you snugly. I danced in this dress and felt comfortable moving about. I would rent this again if the occasion called for it.
Abby
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 23, 2013

Perfect Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this dress! I wore it for a night out and a dinner! The dress was a little short in the back because I have quite long legs! I had planned on wearing tights anyway though! The dress was very comfy and I really liked the material! My only big concern was I have a quite large ribcage and it was a little tight but it wasn't noticable! I loved this dress!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

Classy and Timeless!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a semi-formal event, and I loved it. I'm bustier, but the 4 (my usual size) fit perfectly, and I didn't have to wear a bra. I paired it with black suede wedges and a chunky silver necklace I also rented from RTR (Lee Angel Silver Etienne Necklace). A fun necklace is a must for this dress!
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 18, 2013

Loved this rental! Comfortable and chic.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a black tie work event and it was perfect! Classy, not too revealing, but still a little bit fun. I added a big necklace to dress it up, which I'd recommend. Oh, and it has POCKETS.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

I felt like a cute little cupcake!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Not the best picture, but I wore this to dinner for my husband and I's first anniversary. Was really cute, a little but puffier in the hips than the picture shows. Has pockets which is always a plus in my book! Was tight in the best, but fit nicely everywhere else. Would be perfect for a wedding!
Brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Jun 1, 2013

Perfect bridesmaids dress. The fit and flare style was great for my body type, plus it had pockets!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered an 8 and a 10, sized down to an 8 (my normal size). Fit well, good length.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
May 12, 2013

YOU can never go wrong with a LBD. I loved this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a second choice and something that was able to get last minute after another designers dress didn't fit. This dress was simple just like me. It was easy to move around in all night and was light enough to move on the dance floor. I got so many compliments on this dress - I would definitely rent it again.
Cora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 8, 2013

I always love coming home and my dress for the evening is waiting for me!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Pros- The bra strap strappys are wonderful. I don't have to worry about messing with my bra all night. It made me feel confident and comfortable. I got a lot of compliments. Cons- It had no give in the fabric and I had to size up to be able to get in. There isn't much "flash" to the garment but a nice LBD for a semi-conservative banquet event. THANKS RTR!
rcm2116
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 13, 2013

This dress is adorable! Great for petites.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress as a bridesmaid's dress in a friend's summer wedding last year. It was perfect and got a lot of compliments. The scoop neckline is great for a statement necklace and it has POCKETS! I am 5'2'' and it fit perfectly at the waist - no safety pins or hemming needed. The detail around the waist where it flares out got a lot of compliments as wel.
Alicia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 6, 2013

I loved this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit me very well. If you have a thicker rib cage, it may be too tight, but it's a perfect dress for a petite woman.
smithak
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 25, 2012

Everyone complimented the dress. It may have even been a little too sexy for the wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The waist fit perfect, but the top was a little too big. I had to use the included double-sided tape to keep the straps and top of the dress in place.
Jocelyn
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Dec 4, 2012

My best friend helped me pick out the dress to wear at her wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the fit! Created a perfect hourglass shape - cinched in at the waist and enough room in the hips to feel comfortable sitting, dancing, eating, walking, etc. The pockets were perfect for holding my keys, tissues, lip gloss, and my reading for my best friend's wedding.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

My sister's first rent the runway purchase was a success :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my present to my sister. She had never worn a designer dress before, so she was really excited to wear this to our family Christmas party. The dress does run short (my sister is about 5' 7"), but the rest of the fit was pretty true to size. It looks great with black tights but I'm sure gold would be great for a NYE bash!
Marissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

I love this dress! I looked great and it's easy to accessorize for it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little bigger than I anticipated. I probably should have gotten a 4, but it wasn't so big that it was a problem. There are little things in the dress that hold your bra straps in place and pockets (such a plus).
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 1, 2012

Perfect Little Black Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. It was a little thicker material so it was good for a fall-rustic wedding. Will get this again soon!!
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 24, 2012

I wore this dress to my senior preference ceremony for my sorority. I got so many complements.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits true to size. If you have a bigger chest, you may want to go up one size. Everyone loved the dress and I got a lot of complements. I would recommend this dress to anyone, especially curvy women like me!
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Gor.Geous.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a fall wedding where I didn't need to be too fancy, but still wanted to be polished, and this dress definitely fit the bill. Normally wear a size 6, but the back up size (a size 4) was still a little big on me around the waist. Probably could have used a size 2 (as recent weight loss may have accounted for the dress being big. Dress looked great, I was complimented on it all night. Came in near perfect condition (I say "near" because the hidden (but AWESOME) bra strap clip on the right shoulder of my size 4 was missing, but was easily replaced with a tiny safety pin, so no biggie). Great, modest length and coverage on the dress and the pockets were a big plus. I will definitely keep this dress in mind for future rentals. I LOVED it.
Dayris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the first dress i've rented and it was great. Arrived on time wrinkle free and it was everything the description said.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

Getting compliments on my dress when I wasn't in the wedding party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect: flattering and comfortable! I would definitely rent this again if need be.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 5, 2012

Everyone was saying how beautiful the dress and I looked

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It made me feel so girly. Everyone else loved it too saying how beautiful it was. It definitely was a high point of the evening!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Mar 26, 2012

I received so many compliments on my dress this evening. It was super comfortable and really worked well from the event to going out after.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to an awards event that I was working. I had to wear black to blend in but still look appropriate for a black tie affair. This dress was great. the fit is very true to size and I felt comfortable in it. I'm 5'9" so it would have been a little short if I hadn't worn tights with it. The pockets were a nice addition!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 12, 2012

The pockets in this dress made my night AND I got tons of compliments to boot!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my party. It fit great and has pockets in the skirt! I didn't expect this but it made for an easy night since I could keep my phone/money close by without having to worry. I loved the puffed skirt because it made me feel like a princess but without all the fuss. This dress was easy to accessorize with and made my sparkly heels really pop.
Cecilia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Jan 30, 2012

got so many compliments on this!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress was absolutely perfect - it was true to size, super flattering and it had POCKETS! that was the best part for me, since I wore it to work a premiere and needed my hands free. way to go shoshanna!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 19, 2012

This dress was perfect, made me look thinner and was versatile and comfortable, loved the pockets!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress did exactly what I rented it to do: emphasize my waist, contain my chest and totally disguise my hips. Success! Pros: -can wear with bra -great for hourglass shapes -perfect for hiding hip area -length is great for petite women (note-if you're tall this dress will be very short on you) The only con was that it fit very snugly in the chest, I wear a 34DD and though the girls made it in, I couldn't take a deep breath all night... The size 10 probably would have fit better on top, but would have been too big in the waist.
Dakota
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 1, 2012

The best compliment I got was from a drag queen (!) who said she sews pockets into all of her dresses and loved that my dress had pockets too!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for NYE and it was perfect! The skirt has a fun, flirty shape and the top is very flattering. The top allows you to wear a regular bra and has bra strap stays in the dress straps - a frequently overlooked but important detail!
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 3, 2011

Great fit and no worries about dry cleaning.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this to wear as a bridesmaid dress for a fall wedding. The fit was great and easy to wear all day. The fabric held up very well through sitting and dancing. Plus the pockets were very handy to hold tissues and emergency lip gloss.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

I rented this dress for a friends bachelorette party. It was perfect for a night out on the town.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented the 0 and 2, but the 2 was too big in the chest and waist area. The zero fit well, but the bust was still a bit loose (fixable with a push-up bra or cutlets). The dress has little claps hidden under the straps to keep your bra in place; great detail! It also had pockets…who doesn't love pockets in a dress? I'm petite, 5'0", and I felt like this dress was the perfect length. It hit a couple inches above the knee. Overall, I would definitely recommend this and would consider renting it again.
Megan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

I ordered this dress as a backup, but ended up wearing it to the wedding.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit and flare shape for curves. Came in petite so the straps fit as well.
Katelyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

Dress would be perfect for a night out or a birthday party but not for a formal event.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately the dress had to go right back to RTR. I am quite tall and even after thoroughly looking at the reviews, it seemed as if it would work. I have an average bust (331/2) but a small waist (26) and hips that are (38), I really thought the fit would be fine. The straps were slightly too short, I have a long torso as well as long legs. The dress was not even near mid thigh for me and I could not even bend down or over, I don't think I would have been able to sit down either. Bottom line if you're a size 0 to 4 and over 5'8" this is not the dress for you. Luckily, after I tried on the dress I was informed the attire for the event has now ended up being evening black tie so I need a long dress anyways so it was bittersweet. Dress was beautiful but not quite what I was expecting, appears nicer in the photo and far longer than it actually is.
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved the pockets
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had to order this last minute as a replacement dress but it ended up looking great! The neckline and fitted waist were super flattering. The only issue I had was the chest was a little tight and I felt constricted there but I still loved it. Perfect LBD for any event!
Elana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

cute simple option for a wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
A bit tight for a fuller bust, but the bottom was adorable.
s
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 29, 2014

I rented this dress as an option, it fit great, definitely pair it with a statement necklace.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't wear it because I chose a different one that I rented, but this dress was a perfect fit, it has pockets, it made me look elegant.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×