Shoshanna

Make It Rain Dress

$56 to buy
$580 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Grab that midnight kiss and start the countdown wearing this sequin sensation by Shoshanna. An emerald beauty to wear for a night of dancing and fun with friends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green sequin. Three quarter sleeve. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Invisible center back zipper. Keyhole back with button closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share
261 reviews
Fit
Large
(109)
True to Size
(124)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
December 10, 2014
So many compliments!!
This is an AMAZING dress!!! I ordered a size 8 and 10 and ended up wearing the 8. It's supposed to flowy, which is why you can get away with it being short! I wore it to a winter wedding with black tights but could have worn it without tights if the weather was warmer. I got SO many compliments on this dress- everyone was asking where I got it! The color is great and it feels luxurious, not like a cheap, tacky, sequin dress. I didn't think it felt small or tight in the arms and shoulders, and I do have broader shoulders. You won't regret renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2014
The perfect Christmas party dress!
I absolutely loved this dress. The shift makes it super comfortable but it lays really well and the short length makes it flattering. I like short but if that makes you nervous be warned that its very short. However I loved it! I also don't think I've ever received so many compliments on an outfit. Was fun, and made me happy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
December 18, 2014
Received numerous compliments
I wore this dress at our company's holiday party. I received numerous compliments both from men and women. I am 5'1' and the dress went down to mid thigh so it was the perfect length for me to show off my legs but not too much. I found it a little snug in the arms though. I have an apple body type and it was perfect. I like the fact that it wasn't tight around the tummy area. I am glad I rented this dress but I somehow wished I didn't have to return it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2015
Super cute, sparkly, and flattering, but secretly warm and comfy!
I loved wearing this dress on a float in a Mardi Gras parade in February! It was a little short, even on my 5'2'' frame, so I wore it with leggings and it was perfect. The top is a little tight and the bottom is a little loose, so I wore a size down to be more form fitting and it was great. Wish I owned this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 25, 2015
Comfortable and cool!
I'm a musician who sings and plays guitar, and this dress was awesome for a swanky event we played at! I normally wear a 4 in dresses, so when I read this ran large I had a 2 and a 4 sent. I loved the fit of the 4 so I didn't even try the 2 on. I guess this runs large, but I like a looser fit so that was OK. Petite girls will love the length of this dress. Might be short for you if you are tall! Anyway, I loved this dress. I'm excited to rent it again - I hope it's still available around the holidays next year!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2015
Great dress to hide a growing baby bump!
They were out of the larger size but the 10 was perfect. I was around 12 weeks pregnant when I wore this and in that awkward stage of bloated and growing but not obviously pregnant. The dress hangs well to hide the problem areas. It seemed slightly tight across the neckline since the material didn't have much give, but it wasn't too bad. Length is short but I'm only 5'3" and I wore opaque tights which worked well. I wouldn't have easily been able to raise my arms without showing too much, so take that into consideration if you'll be at a dancing event. The color was a show stopper! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34B
February 17, 2015
So many compliments on my dress! It was a great dress for a Mardi Gras masquerade party!!
Easy to dance in
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 11, 2015
Striking, comfortable dress
I wore this dress at 6 months pregnant. Sized up to a 4 which was perfect. It is short- maybe too short for someone who is tall and planning to move around a lot. Wish I could have kept it:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
March 22, 2015
I used RTR for the first time on our recent vacation. It was so easy to just pack & return at hotel!
Easy to wear & gorgeous! I'm 5'6" & the dress was pretty short but that made it even more fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
April 4, 2015
Great Dress! Flashy and fun!
Fit true to size. The 4 fit nicely but was a little tight in the armpits. It's also a pretty short dress, not good for dancing and putting your arms up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 22, 2015
Perfect for my 30th birthday!
Worked great for a full night of dancing!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
September 20, 2015
Received so many compliments!
I'm 5'9 and weight 133. I needed to find the perfect dress to Taylor swifts 1989 concert and this dress couldn't have been more perfect for the occasion. It was flattering to my body type and it made feel confident. Only downside to it is that it's slightly too short. ( acceptable to wear to a concert but too short for any other occasions) I suggest getting s size up if your like my body type!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2015
The sparkly dress was the perfect unique dress that "stole the show" with many compliments
The dress is annoying when dancing because when you raise your arms the dress goes up as well. But it is an amazing dress and so fun! Many compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2015
super easy process of ordering, receiving and returning the dress!
definitely a little short- it looks to have been hemmed- probably a little too much. but super cute, just had to wear tights under it! loved it for a fall wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 107lbs
December 1, 2015
Fun, Flirty & Festive.
Wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner on Halloween. It was such a fun dress and I received so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
April 28, 2015
Tons of compliments on this dress!
This dress was a big hit! I wore it for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding in Vegas. I needed the size 2, but it wasn't available so I wore the 4. It was a little long, but still worked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
May 5, 2015
WOW!
I was worried when I rented this dress because the 6 was the only one available. I am 4'11 usually wear a 10 or a large. This dress fit GREAT!!! In the beginning, my boobs were VERY tight and was scared to make rapid arm movements. After a while, the dress loosened a bit though so made it better. I didn't wear a bra, which is sometimes hard with such a big chest, but I didn't miss it! The dress is incredibly short! I wore a pair of under armor spandex just in case, but since I am so short, I was still able to dance and not worry too much about the length. Unfortunately, if you're taller than 5' it may not work out. I felt like a million bucks in this dress! I received compliments all night. I was worried the sequins would be scratchy, but glad they weren't! So if you're around my size, get the 6! It'll fit super nice! If the 8 is available, grab it as a backup just in case you like it a bit more loose. (I didn't try that one because it wasn't available)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
June 3, 2015
Gorgeous color, but awkward fit.
The dress was way too, so long that I had to pin it up. I'm 5'3 and wore the dress in a size 8. The sleeves also were pretty tight on my arms. You couldn't really tell when I wore it, but it was extremely difficult to move my arms. The dress fit well around my torso though. Overall the dress was an awkward fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 8, 2015
Loved the sequins
Loved this dress! I am 5'2" and a size 0 and the size 0 fit well. The 2 was like a sack on me. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 26, 2017
Gorgeous Glitz
I didn't end up wearing this dress to my event. In the end, I thought the sequins were a little too much for the wedding I was attending. But I would absolutely rent this again if I needed a sparkly cocktail dress! I loved the straight fit and log sleeves. Very chic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
October 7, 2012
LOVED this dress!
The dress is not as short as it appears on the model. I'm 5'7" and it hit about 3 inches above the knee.
ShelleyOctober 22, 2012
Do you have a photo of you in the dress?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2012
Loved the Green Sequins!
This is dress was super fun! I loved that the sequins were green, it made the dress really unique! This dress runs pretty large. I wore the size 0, which was slighting tight in my arms. I would recommend sizing one size down for your main size and sizing down 2 sizes for your backup. Since this dress does run large, I would not recommend it if you are petite. Otherwise, it is an easy dress for other body types!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 23, 2012
LOVE this dress and will rent it again for sure!!!
I had a baby a few months ago and I have been wearing an 8 but the reviews said this ran big so I got a 6 and it was perfect. so comfy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 1, 2012
Cute and classy
From the picture, I expected something short and chic, but, as other reviewers have mentioned, this dress runs large and is longer than I expected. I was hoping to wear this for my birthday, but the length makes it less youthful; still, I like it so much that I may wear it anyways. For a dressy occasion, like a holiday party, I would absolutely recommend it, especially for taller girls. The overall effect is adorably classy and reminiscent of something out of the 1920's.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2012
Loved it! Received tons of compliments!
It's much bigger in the back and around the waist. Longer than I thought but I liked the length it was about an inch and a half past my fingers when my arms were at my sides. The dress is a little delicate but really was the best dress at the wedding! It was perfect for the weather (low 60s/high 50s at night)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 8, 2012
Looks great on, a really pretty dark green.
Out of the box it's just a big square with sleeves, but it shapes up nicely! Short, but not too short. Add a long necklace and you're go to go. Also leave yourself a few extra minutes when dressing to smooth out the sequins.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 21, 2012
Stunning dress! I received so many compliments!
This dress runs very large I would order two sizes down. I am normally a size 8 and wore a 4. It was a little tight across the shoulders though so keep that in mind if you are more broad like me when ordering down. Save time to smooth the sequins after you put it on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
November 26, 2012
Stunning dress, felt amazing all night
I rented this for a late November wedding. Upon reading the "runs large" reviews, I ordered the 2 and 4 (I normally wear 4-6). I ended up wearing the 4 and it fit great. Like other reviewers stated, it is a bit longer than you would think, but it was perfect I think. I got a ton of compliments all night, and, like all the other dresses I rent, I wish I could keep this one! After we left the wedding, I wanted to go out to keep showing off this amazing dress. I felt so great in it. Definitely a showstopper.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2012
I absolutely LOVED this dress!! I received so many compliments, I would get this dress again :-)
It runs large, I ordered a size 0 and a 2. The 0 fit better, but I liked the little extra length on the size 2 as this dress is a mini. No dancing in this one, unless you want the world to see your assets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2012
Great experience, would order another RTR dress again in a heartbeat.
I wore this dress as part of a bridal party at a destination wedding and was nervous about the fit of the dress given the other reviews. The dress does run on the larger size- I am usually a 6-8 depending on cut and wore a 4 comfortably in this dress due to boxy shape. It is on the shorter side which was fine for me (I am 5'1 and it hit 1 1/2" above the knee) but might be a micro-mini on anyone 5'5+. Ordering and returning process was seamless although in checkout process, it was not clear that the dress would be sent via courier if within NYC which requires a signature at delivery so I had it sent to a friend's doorman apartment. I received over 5 compliments on the dress from other wedding attendees - the color of the dress (hunter green) and the quality of the sequins make it look very high end unique. I'd definitely wear again...
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2012
Christmas Party and ALL THREE fab girls are wearing RTR!
So festive and so easy! Can't wait to RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
The dress was cut very big.
I'm so glad I followed the advice of other customers and sized down. It was very comfy. I wore it for an outside evening party and it kept me pretty warm. ( the temperature was in the mid 50s) Wear tights because the length will shock you. I am 5'4 and I couldn't raise my arms above my shoulders or else I would have flashed everyone. Over-all it was a nice dress but a little too boxy for my straight and narrow figure. Loved RTR, will definately rent from them again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
December 17, 2012
Super fun dress
This dress was a lot of fun to wear and I got a ton of compliments. It was also very comfortable with a soft lining. Caution: it is however really short. I'm 5-4 and while the dress hit at the tip of my finger tips, I couldn't raise my arms or bend over...at all. I recommend cute little boy shorts to pair with this...and only wear this dress if you'll be standing most of the night. I am usually a size 4 (pear shaped) and I wore the size 2.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
This dress was beautiful and arrived on time. I will absolutely rent from here again.
This dress does run large and you definitely want to go down 1 size. I went down a size due to the other reviews and I am glad I did. You need to know that this dress is short. I am 5'6" and it was short on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 24, 2012
it was beyond pretty but no shape. i liked it.
just not very flattering.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 29, 2012
I wore this dress for my baby shower. I was 33 weeks at the time and this was the perfect dress!!
This dress does run large. I also tried the size 8 which was fine but I was more comfortable in the 10. When you have a bump comfort is important!
ReneMarch 17, 2014
i'm pregnant and about 5'8''. The dress wasn't too short with the bump? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
I Loved this Dress!! The color was amazing and it was co comfortable despite all the sequins!!!!!!!
I usually would be a size 10 and saw what everyone was saying about how the dress runs large. The 8 was perfect! The only complaint I really had was of my curly hair getting stuck to the back of the dress on the sequins, otherwise I LOVE THIS DRESS!! I had a slight issue with the dress from whoever rented it prior to me leaving a hem in, but when I contacted RTR to help and see what they could do they were SO helpful. Their customer service throughout the entire process was amazing and I will continue to use their services!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 11, 2013
Green With Envy
I rented this dress for NYE and it is amazing. It sparkles without being over the top, it covers little flaws...and, it's comfortable! I ordered the 6 and the 8 and the 6 fit great, but was too short. The 8 was a little baggy everywhere else, but the length was much more comfortable. I wore a cross body bag to cinch the waist in a little and it worked perfectly!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2013
love the color!
runs big, and long on a shorter person even with heels. also wide
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2013
Great dress but runs big. I got compliments on it all evening.
Amazing dress, good length, but if you're not too busty be sure to order a size or two sizes down. The dress has a nice cut, it feels great on and is very well made.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×