Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Make It Rain Dress

$30 rental
$580 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab that midnight kiss and start the countdown wearing this sequin sensation by Shoshanna. An emerald beauty to wear for a night of dancing and fun with friends. Shown here with Anton Heunis' Grace Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green sequin. Three quarter sleeve. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Invisible center back zipper. Keyhole back with button closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

242 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 116
Large 105
Photos 168
veronica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

so fantastic getting to rent an awesome fun sparkly dress that i know i would only ever wear once!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
the color and sparkle was so much fun to wear to a wedding. I felt fabulous! however, the short length kept me a little cautious on the dance floor. the 2 fit better up top, but dancing would have been nearly impossible, so i went with the 4, even if it was on the baggy side. better safe than sorry!
CC
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

SO much fun and apart from the bride's dress I think got the most compliments of the day!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
As every reviewer has said, this dress is SHORT, but not in a slutty/sleazy way at all. I'm 5'9" and it only became a problem when I raised my arms (totally necessary as I wanted to dance!!) - so I paired it with leggings instead and a pair of black suede booties. I'm sure that black opaque tights would work too, but I wore it to a "barn wedding" (in Portland in October) so I was trying to dress it down a little. That's not to say it HAS to be worn with tights, it doesn't, but if you want to dance or raise your arms AT ALL and remain unexposed to your belly button, wear SOMETHING. I had zero problem sitting in it - it didn't crawl up at all. It is definitely boxy and roomy, I got the 6 and easily could have worn a 4, but the 6 was so short I feared a 4 would be at my waist. It's comfortable, but also can get very warm. It's seriously such a gorgeous color in person, overall it's a knockout dress. I've never received more compliments on something I've worn - though I'll admit, most people just assumed it was a longer shirt rather than a dress ;-) Still, my fiancé wanted to know how much it was to buy because he LOVED it so much on me. Rent this ladies it's super fun!
RTR Customer
Oct 13, 2014

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love everything about this dress. I read all of the reviews and selected my normal size and a size smaller based on the info of the fit of the dress. I ended up going with the 4 solely due to the length. It is a short dress. The 2 fit better overall, but I was more comfortable with the length of the 4 as it was worn for a family party. I also needed something a little "drapey" as I'm 4 months pregnant. So comfortable and I got a ton of compliments! I can't wait for my next occasion to use RTR!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Age: 32
Oct 16, 2014

N/A

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs pretty short. I am usually a 4, but I'm 7 months pregnant so I ordered a 6 & 8. Ended up with the 8 because the 6 barely covered my rear.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This isn't your run-of-the-mill sequin dress; this is high-quality material that looks like shiny liquid when you put it on. It is very forgiving for those of us who have had children and still have a few extra pounds, but anyone over five feet should be concerned about the length. Since the sleeves are tight, arms over your head = everyone sees your undies. I'm under five feet, so this came off as a very sophisticated choice. I normally am a size 6, but wore the 2.
Lorine
Age: 37
Oct 22, 2014

So many compliments! I looked and felt like a million bucks!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love Rent the Runway! I would definitely do this again. I selected this dress and a back up one just in case. Both fit great but I ended up going with this one. Loved the easiness of selecting, getting and returning the dresses. I felt like the belle of the ball. I wore this to my first legalized gay wedding and it was a hit!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

The dress was perfect! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect a little loose which made it super easy to dance and move in.
Gamecocks
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 29, 2014

The dress made me feel glamorous and classy. Got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was a little short, but the way that it was loose fitting made it appropriate and flattering. The sleeves were a little snug but not noticeable at all. The color was so unexpected and pretty. VERY flattering!
Kaitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

LOVED it! Easy to wear, easy to accessorize , just short enough to turn heads

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Oh my goodness the RTR staff is amazing!! I had ordered two completely different dress thinking my even was black tie. I found out around 5:00 on a Friday (of course) that the event was cocktail . I got on the phone and the NICEST woman helped me change my order and got it to me MIRACULOUSLY in time for my Saturday night function . I wish the rest of my life was managed my RTR staff!!
Jenna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

My engagement party! It was a blast.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
After my first dress did not work out, RTR overnighted me this dress. It was PERFECT for my engagement party. It is forgiving so I didn't mind eating and drinking, and I felt great in it. Also, I don't think I've ever received so many compliments on an outfit, from men and women. I am very petite -- only 5'0, and I think that's why this shift is the only one I've ever tried on that looks great on me...it is VERY short. Paired with opaque black tights, I didn't worry, but I don't know if I would wear it with bare legs--it's a wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen.
Kelly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Fun dress - definitely short!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a flapper themed bday party. It was a huge hit! No one else had anything quite like it on. The sleeves are 3/4 length which was perfect for the fall. The dress is short!!! But for the repeal of prohibition, it was perfect!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

Absolutely loved the color and felt very glamorous.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a little bit large. I could have probably gotten away with a 2. I typically wear a 6 in most dresses. Really loved it and got a ton of compliments.
Megan
Age: 28
Dec 10, 2014

So many compliments!!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
This is an AMAZING dress!!! I ordered a size 8 and 10 and ended up wearing the 8. It's supposed to flowy, which is why you can get away with it being short! I wore it to a winter wedding with black tights but could have worn it without tights if the weather was warmer. I got SO many compliments on this dress- everyone was asking where I got it! The color is great and it feels luxurious, not like a cheap, tacky, sequin dress. I didn't think it felt small or tight in the arms and shoulders, and I do have broader shoulders. You won't regret renting this dress!
Jane
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

The perfect Christmas party dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress. The shift makes it super comfortable but it lays really well and the short length makes it flattering. I like short but if that makes you nervous be warned that its very short. However I loved it! I also don't think I've ever received so many compliments on an outfit. Was fun, and made me happy!
Mylene
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Received numerous compliments

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress at our company's holiday party. I received numerous compliments both from men and women. I am 5'1' and the dress went down to mid thigh so it was the perfect length for me to show off my legs but not too much. I found it a little snug in the arms though. I have an apple body type and it was perfect. I like the fact that it wasn't tight around the tummy area. I am glad I rented this dress but I somehow wished I didn't have to return it.
JENNA
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Dress was gorgeous; tons of compliments. Super comfortable, as well.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was very short ( I'm 5'8") but with opaque tights, it worked just fine. Shift style, falls straight down.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

Great dress! Everyone said I looked like a mermaid!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely size up if your tall! I'm 5'9' and if I bent over or raised my arms, it wouldn't have been good. But I loved the dress so that tiny little detail really didn't matter to me. Just a warning: if you're planning on wearing your hair down, the sequins really make it hard because my hair kept getting literally stuck on the dress and I'd have to rip it out of the sequins.
Jamie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 5, 2015

Amazing color, so fun to wear!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a beautiful dress- great deep green color and boxy fit, great for dancing! I usually wear a 6 but I could have worn a 4. The length was not short at all on me (even in heels) and I have long legs. It was not as short as I thought it would be from reading the other reviews. I wore this for New Years and I got a lot of compliments on it. I would definitely recommend renting this dress and getting your normal size along with a size smaller.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Cute sparkly dress for a NYE wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 6 and the 4, and ended up wearing the 4. I am 5'6" 123lbs and usually a size 6, but I felt the 4 fit better. The dress is supposed to be a looser fit, but the 6 was just a little too lose for my liking. I paired the dress with black booties, black opaque tights, and a leopard clutch and got a handful of compliments. I would have preferred to pair the dress with sheer black tights, but the thigh control portion of my tights peeked out under the short hem of the dress, so I had to go with opaque. All in all, it was a cute little new year's eve dress.
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Super cute, sparkly, and flattering, but secretly warm and comfy!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
I loved wearing this dress on a float in a Mardi Gras parade in February! It was a little short, even on my 5'2'' frame, so I wore it with leggings and it was perfect. The top is a little tight and the bottom is a little loose, so I wore a size down to be more form fitting and it was great. Wish I owned this one!
Kerry
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

This was perfect for 30th birthday party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was great! I wanted to look fabulous for my 30th birthday, despite the fact that we were going to watch the seahawks playoff game at a bowling alley. I overdressed and that's ok! I got tons of compliments from friends as well as women in the restroom haha. The overall fit was as expected, relatively short but fine with tights. I have a bit of a curvy booty, so I knew going in that it would be pretty short on me. The shoulders are on the narrow side, with fairly slim arms, but the 10 was just too much dress on my torso, so I wore the 8. It was comfortable all night, but it was a pretty warm dress - I wouldn't wear it in warm weather. Overall, great experience!
Jessica R.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Great dress for a baby bump!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress 32 weeks pregnant (8 months) to my baby shower. I usually wear a size 2 so I ordered a size 4 & 6 in the dress and ended up wearing the 6. I probably should have ordered a 6 & 8 because it does run very short but the 6 was fine. I just showed a little leg while sitting and opening gifts ;) The dress was a hit, I got tons of compliments and the color is really pretty in person. Would recommend to any mamas-to-be that want to have a little sparkle on their special day!
tess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

HOT STUFF. Poison Ivy levels of sexiness.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress is EVERYTHING. I wore it on a booze cruise at our company retreat in Miami and it definitely elevated the fashion quotient on the boat, hahaha. It fits like a shift, which is my go-to dress cut, but tall girls be warned... You will definitely be showing a lot of leg in this style.
Liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

This was perfect for my company's Christmas party! I got tons of compliments; one of my fav dresses.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit perfectly - was a little short but I had sheer tights and felt comfortable. The sequins were perfect for pictures - I still get compliments from people who see it on my facebook and instagram.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Comfortable and cool!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
I'm a musician who sings and plays guitar, and this dress was awesome for a swanky event we played at! I normally wear a 4 in dresses, so when I read this ran large I had a 2 and a 4 sent. I loved the fit of the 4 so I didn't even try the 2 on. I guess this runs large, but I like a looser fit so that was OK. Petite girls will love the length of this dress. Might be short for you if you are tall! Anyway, I loved this dress. I'm excited to rent it again - I hope it's still available around the holidays next year!
Katrina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

I felt like this dress showed my Christmas spirit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit of this dress is amazing. i loved every aspect of it. the color, the length, the fit- everything about it screamed "Christmas Eve" which is exactly what I was going for!
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

The color of this dress was beautiful.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a "roaring 20's" work holiday party and received so many compliments. The color of this dress was so beautiful, but it was definitely short and the arms were almost uncomfortably tight. I was disappointed because I wanted to wear sheer tights, but had to wear opaque. If you don't have long legs and have skinny arms... rent this dress! Otherwise I wouldn't recommend.
whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely love this dress and wish I could wear it to everything. It is loose and comfortable and the color is beautiful. It is very short, so if there is a lot of dancing or moving tights might be good. I think it is true to size and very forgiving.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Great dress to hide a growing baby bump!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Other
They were out of the larger size but the 10 was perfect. I was around 12 weeks pregnant when I wore this and in that awkward stage of bloated and growing but not obviously pregnant. The dress hangs well to hide the problem areas. It seemed slightly tight across the neckline since the material didn't have much give, but it wasn't too bad. Length is short but I'm only 5'3" and I wore opaque tights which worked well. I wouldn't have easily been able to raise my arms without showing too much, so take that into consideration if you'll be at a dancing event. The color was a show stopper! Highly recommend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34B
Feb 17, 2015

So many compliments on my dress! It was a great dress for a Mardi Gras masquerade party!!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Easy to dance in
KimD
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 4, 2015

The color is beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly and was comfortable. It was slightly longer on me than the model because I'm 5' 2'' but it wasn't too much of a problem. I loved it.
megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Perfect for a fun, playful event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! I wore it to a fundraiser event for at the children's museum. Between the color, sequins, and the shape, it was the perfect outfit for the playful occasion. The fit is loose, so I was able to wear the smaller size ordered, but the 8 would have looked good too. Other reviews mentioned that the sleeves were tight, and while I didn't experience this, there was a limited range of motion for my arms since the dress has little stretch. Also, be cautioned it's pretty short and if you raise your hands, you can expose a lot! I wore little shorts underneath to be more comfortable, and the length wasn't a proem at all during the night.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

Striking, comfortable dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress at 6 months pregnant. Sized up to a 4 which was perfect. It is short- maybe too short for someone who is tall and planning to move around a lot. Wish I could have kept it:)
Holly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Mar 22, 2015

I used RTR for the first time on our recent vacation. It was so easy to just pack & return at hotel!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
Easy to wear & gorgeous! I'm 5'6" & the dress was pretty short but that made it even more fun!
Bri
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

I got tons of compliments on this dress! So unique, wish I could have kept it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a shift, and straight, it does not hug the figure at all. Any size issues will be in the shoulders. I sized down, and it was comfortable. It was short, even on me at 5'3", but the fit made it appropriate.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 3, 2015

My bachelorette party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, the fit was great but it was MUCH shorter than I expected. Pairing the dress with a pair of opaque black tights made it a little more conservative, but since It was my bachelorette party I decided to go bare legged. Luckily, it was appropriate for the event, and I otherwised loved the dress! As long as I didn't lift my arms over my head I managed to keep my dignity. I would rent this dress again, for an evening party event.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Apr 4, 2015

Great Dress! Flashy and fun!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Fit true to size. The 4 fit nicely but was a little tight in the armpits. It's also a pretty short dress, not good for dancing and putting your arms up.
Deborah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 60
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

I rented this dress for my 60th birthday party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wanted to sparkle at my party and I wanted to show off my legs (them being the last to go and all). This dress was perfect. It is very comfortable and just loose enough that it slid over me and didn't grab my midsection. It is short. I am only 5 feet tall and still couldn't raise my arms too high when dancing. Still, it's a knock out. I was really pleased.
Katelyn
Age: 27
Apr 28, 2015

Tons of compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a big hit! I wore it for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding in Vegas. I needed the size 2, but it wasn't available so I wore the 4. It was a little long, but still worked.
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147 lbs
May 5, 2015

WOW!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried when I rented this dress because the 6 was the only one available. I am 4'11 usually wear a 10 or a large. This dress fit GREAT!!! In the beginning, my boobs were VERY tight and was scared to make rapid arm movements. After a while, the dress loosened a bit though so made it better. I didn't wear a bra, which is sometimes hard with such a big chest, but I didn't miss it! The dress is incredibly short! I wore a pair of under armor spandex just in case, but since I am so short, I was still able to dance and not worry too much about the length. Unfortunately, if you're taller than 5' it may not work out. I felt like a million bucks in this dress! I received compliments all night. I was worried the sequins would be scratchy, but glad they weren't! So if you're around my size, get the 6! It'll fit super nice! If the 8 is available, grab it as a backup just in case you like it a bit more loose. (I didn't try that one because it wasn't available)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×