Make It Rain Dress

$56 to buy
$580 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab that midnight kiss and start the countdown wearing this sequin sensation by Shoshanna. An emerald beauty to wear for a night of dancing and fun with friends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green sequin. Three quarter sleeve. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Invisible center back zipper. Keyhole back with button closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share
260 reviews
Fit
Large
(109)
True to Size
(124)
Small
(8)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2014
so fantastic getting to rent an awesome fun sparkly dress that i know i would only ever wear once!
the color and sparkle was so much fun to wear to a wedding. I felt fabulous! however, the short length kept me a little cautious on the dance floor. the 2 fit better up top, but dancing would have been nearly impossible, so i went with the 4, even if it was on the baggy side. better safe than sorry!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
October 7, 2014
Sassy and fun
Loved this dress! It is very striking and good for those with a tummy, booty, or hips. The lining was very comfortable except it did not go to the bottom of the hem so there was a little scratchiness at the bottom. Nothing too annoying though. I recommend renting if you are petite. Still a mini but not too short. If you are tall you may feel overexposed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2014
Perfect green shine for a sorority reunion
Jazz up with heels, sheer black stockings, and a long blingy necklace
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 27, 2014
Beautiful dress, but the fit was all over the place!
I rented this dress in a size 0 and a size 2 for a formal wedding. The 0 fit overall, but was WAY too short. There was no way I would have been able to dance or even sit in this dress without completely exposing my underwear, and I am not a tall person. The 2 fit like a tent, but was a good 6" longer than the 0. It almost seemed like the 2 was mismarked, because there was such a noticeable jump in size between the 0 and the 2. I ended up returning the dress without wearing. Disappointed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
September 24, 2014
Perfect dress for New Years!
As always the RTR process was amazing. It was the perfect length and warmth for Texas winters. I am 5'7 so this would definitely be a mini on someone 5'9 or taller
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2014
Gorgeous color and fun dress!
The color of this dress is a true emerald green and was eye catching without being over the top. I wore this with understated makeup and minimal accessories and let the dress be focal point of my look. It was quite comfortable and not too heavy given all the sequins. It is short so leggier ladies should take note. On my frame, the length was fine but I would have been uncomfortable had it been any shorter. That said, this was a very fun dress that was perfect for the venue and all the dancing I did. Wearing something loose and comfortable made the evening that much more enjoyable. This dress drew lots of compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 18, 2014
This was for my 30th birthday
The dress is short, so raising your arms poses a problem, but the dress, guhh, it's soo lovely and fun. I personally like a short dress with long sleeves as I think it brings the sexy and classy vibe together. Got compliments throughout the night and wished I could have kept it forever. When you sit, the sequins do tend to dig into your leg, but beauty is pain right? I wore the 10 and didn't even try on the 8 because I figured it would be shorter and this was short enough. Had plenty of room to spare but definitely did not feel like a potato sack on. Don't do a disservice to yourself! Bottom line, get this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 10, 2014
This dress was not my favorite. It was just all around too big. I did not end up wearing it.
I am more curvy I guess and this dress was just not flattering. I wanted so bad to LOVE it but it just wasn't good on my body style. I agree with another review that said if your tall and thin its perfect, just not what I thought it would be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
September 5, 2014
this was a charity gala benefitting Devereux Texas Treatment Network - New Orleans theme
The dress is big, but probably designed to be that way. Very short so smaller size would have been obscene. I bought some black brocade shorts / hot pants to wear underneath with thick black tights so that when I danced and raised my arms above my shoulders, I was covered. I wore very high platform suede black booties with beading on them - went perfectly together. Got a lot of compliments thought - beautiful shade of green.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 4, 2014
Great dress for a night out!
I loved the dress and it fit very well. My only con, is that the lining does not hit the hem and it's a little painful to sit after a while. With that being said, its the perfect dress to dance in and I shouldn't have been sitting any way! I will def. rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 1, 2014
I loved this dress!!!
The dress did run big, but I am short so the smaller size was not too long. It also had a hole in the lining, like a giant hole where the arm meets the dress, big enough to put my arm in. It really didn't effect the dress so I wore it anyway, RTR was awesome about it, they actually refunded my money which was really beyond what I expected. Overall great experience. This brand is usually small, so it's great there were so many reviews telling me about the size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 25, 2014
I felt gorgeous while 9 months pregnant at my baby shower!
I wore this at about 9 months along at my baby shower and felt wonderful! Yes, it's short, but I am 5'9" and it was fine. I DID SIZE UP. I ordered the 12 with a 10 backup size. Both fit my bump, but the 12 was a bit longer so I went with that. When not pregnant, I normally wear a 4/6 so I really sized up for this, but with a 9 month bump that's what ya do! :) So if you are worried about it just size up. I got tons of compliments and felt wonderful. A great bump dress! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 13, 2014
This dress is fabulous! I liked it so much when I saw it go on sale I bought it!
Runs big, I am 5 feet and usually a size 4 and the 0 fit fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 10, 2014
Such a great dress for a friends 1920's themed 30th birthday!
Great flowy fit, but the arms run a little tight. It's such a fun dress and I received so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
August 6, 2014
Classic mod look with black tights and platform heels!
I wore this for my dressy, downtown engagement photo shoot. I love the swing shape of the dress and the length...it's short! But so am I! It was the perfect mod look with my opaque black tights, platform heels and heavy bangs. We did a themed shoot on rooftops and with downtown skylines and it was absolutely perfect. Can't wait to see the final engagement shots! Would absolutely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
August 5, 2014
The glamour! Everyone was in awe of my dress! I felt gorgeous! :)
I usually wear a size 12 but the size 12 was way to big on me... The size 10 was perfection... Dresses are short but that's exactly what I wanted!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 29, 2014
I wore this dress to a party where all the guests were required to wear green – it was perfect!
The dress runs large but is very very very short – I paired it with black opaque tights to avoid feeling too self-conscious
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 22, 2014
Stand Out Dress for My Bachelorette Party!
Great shift dress, very flattering on any body type! Definitely a mini dress, but it was perfect for my bachelorette party, or would be for any party night! Everyone loved it...still get complements on it months later.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 30, 2014
Attention-grabbing (but SHORT) for my bachelorette party!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party in Chicago. My BMs said the dress made me look like Joan from Mad Men! I accessorized with my gold watch and a gold pendant necklace. I have broad shoulders but even so I felt this dress was inordinately tight in the shoulders. I am long-waisted and this dress was extremely short on me, to the point that my butt was on the chair when I sat down. Everything else about the fit was wonderful--the gown was swingy and fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 24, 2014
St. Patty's Day!
Perfect for the party and very easy to wear. It is quite short so keep that in mind (I'd recommend either tights or something modest under the dress). The sleeves fit slim so although it runs large (generous through the body) if you have thicker arms, pay attention the the size. I loved this and would definitely wear it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2014
Got tons of compliments from friends AND strangers. The color looks great esp. when photographed.
I normally wear a 2 but ended up wearing a 4 because I have broad shoulders. The 2 for some reason was longer than size 4. Only con is the sequins are very prickly and they cut into my bottoms when sitting down. That's the only discomfort.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2014
AMAZING DRESS, color and style is perfect.
I ended up wearing the larger size because it is VERY short. Looks exactly like the picture. I received compliments all night long.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2014
stunning color!
Loved this dress! Received many compliments all night, it stood out in a sea of black. Ordered a 4 and a backup 6, wore the 6 because it is very short. Couldn't raise my arms higher than my shoulders, but didn't hinder my night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 26, 2014
7 months pregnant and it still made me feel lovely!
Loved the dress - only con subtracting a star is that the sequins dug into the backs of my thighs when I was seated. Otherwise, great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 18, 2014
I felt pretty hot!!!
I got compliments all night and it was truly magical! The dress was a little bit short on me, but I loved it either way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2014
Standout dress in a sea of sparkles
This dress was perfect for a friends "sparkle" themed bachelorette party. It was very comfortable to wear for 8+ hours including dinner and dancing. Because the dress is so short I wore a pair of black bike shorts underneath to make getting in/out of cars easier. The dress was long enough so they were hidden all night (standing/dancing/etc) unless I lifted my arms above my head.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
May 12, 2014
I was called a disco ball by my friends, but received many compliments as well. Is it VERY short!
I got both the size 6 and 8. The size 6 fit perfectly, except for the length! My husband thought the 8 looked baggy and loose but I had more dancing clearance. The 6 fit well but I couldn't raise my arms above my shoulders without showing my underwear. I also flip flopped between wearing black hose and shoes or no tights and nude shoes. It was decided to wear the nude and I'm glad I did. It pairs well with the nude shoes, the black was too dark and made it seem matronly and a little frumpy. The length is what keeps it attractive I suppose.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 11, 2014
I loved this dress and got so many compliments! Great fit, length, and overall quality!
#bachelorette #stpattysglam
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 11, 2014
What made my night unforgettable was the dress for dress for sure
It fit so well and was the perfect length for me!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 10, 2014
I was stunning in a Vegas setting !
I knew I couldn't wear a 0, so I preceded to get a 2 and 4. It's very true, everything shows when you lift your arms too high and it rises if you bend over even a little. I wore it with nude heels and I looked stunning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2014
The dress was perfect!
Oddly enough, the size 2 was about 1.5 inches longer than the size 4 so I wore the 2. I love the small cutout of the back of the dress. It was a hit! Gorgeous color and sparkle!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
May 7, 2014
Great dress for my company Christmas party. Easy to dance in and lots of fun!
This dress fill really well and was so easy to wear. It was a great party dress, with lots of style. Not too short or body hugging, and simple in styling, but the sequins gave it miles of attitude!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 6, 2014
Sparkly without being over the top
Loved this dress - so comfy! It does run large because of the cut, so I went with my backup size so it wasn't quite so sack-like. It is SHORT - ended up having to wear leggings under it, which worked as it was a "Studio 54" themed fundraiser, and I had some sparkly leggings that fit right in. Added a chunky bracelet and ring, and was good to go!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 28, 2014
Wonderful night in Vegas in a wonderful dress!
This was the PERFECT Vegas dress! Ran pretty true to size, maybe a little shorter than expected but that's not a bad thing for Vegas :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 28, 2014
Didn't wear :(
Didn't get to wear it. The dress would have been good if it wasn't so short. ; and im 5'2"/curvy and it was still too short. I just knew I wouldn't be able to be comfortable and dance freely w/ this dress on.. If I lifted my arms everything would have been exposed. lol It was tight in the arm area, and because the dress wasn't form fitting it made me look bigger than I actually am.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2014
I got a compliment from every girl in the room!
The dress in itself is great. I wore the dress in the size that I regularly wear. If your looking for a dress that is modest or longer, do not pick this one. We were in Austin and went out afterwards and I felt great, but it was a tad short. The sleeves were pretty tight but it wasn't uncomfortable. Overall would absolutely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2014
Got a million compliments.
Don't try to accessorize this dress. Go for nude-ish makeup and simple shoes. The dress will speak for itself.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 225lbs
April 19, 2014
This dress is money! Sexy, flirty, comfort: all that a date in NYC with dinner and broadway can be !
This pretty dress fits and looks just as it appears in the picture online/on the app. So easy to wear and so glamorous all at the same time. Was given a complement as soon as I walked into the restaurant. Love, love, love. Will shop Rent the Runway forever. When I received did have a slight imperfection on inside seam with both sizes. Called RTR to inform and they offered to overnight a new dress right away. Perfect service on top of everything else. So impressed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 19, 2014
Wore this for my bachelorette party - I loved it!!!!!
So comfortable, very flattering and fit well. I wore it with tights due to the weather. Wish u could keep this! Also photographed very well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 17, 2014
Lots of compliments!!
#ChannellingMadMenMegan; Runs a little small in the shoulders but is great for bigger hips and to hide any stomach flaws.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 7
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×