Make It Rain Dress

$56 to buy
$580 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab that midnight kiss and start the countdown wearing this sequin sensation by Shoshanna. An emerald beauty to wear for a night of dancing and fun with friends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green sequin. Three quarter sleeve. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Invisible center back zipper. Keyhole back with button closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share
259 reviews
Fit
Large109
True to Size123
Small8
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2015
This dress was fabulous! The perfect sparkle for a January wedding.
I was a little nervous renting this dress because everyone said it ran short. I am 5'4 and felt it was a little long. I had my third baby 4 months ago and this dress was forgiving the stomach area, yet showed off the legs and was very flattering. I received lots of compliments. I would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 3, 2015
Perfect dress!
I absolutely love this dress and wish I could wear it to everything. It is loose and comfortable and the color is beautiful. It is very short, so if there is a lot of dancing or moving tights might be good. I think it is true to size and very forgiving.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 26, 2015
The color of this dress was beautiful.
I wore this dress to a "roaring 20's" work holiday party and received so many compliments. The color of this dress was so beautiful, but it was definitely short and the arms were almost uncomfortably tight. I was disappointed because I wanted to wear sheer tights, but had to wear opaque. If you don't have long legs and have skinny arms... rent this dress! Otherwise I wouldn't recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 25, 2015
I felt like this dress showed my Christmas spirit!
The fit of this dress is amazing. i loved every aspect of it. the color, the length, the fit- everything about it screamed "Christmas Eve" which is exactly what I was going for!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2015
Comfortable and cool!
I'm a musician who sings and plays guitar, and this dress was awesome for a swanky event we played at! I normally wear a 4 in dresses, so when I read this ran large I had a 2 and a 4 sent. I loved the fit of the 4 so I didn't even try the 2 on. I guess this runs large, but I like a looser fit so that was OK. Petite girls will love the length of this dress. Might be short for you if you are tall! Anyway, I loved this dress. I'm excited to rent it again - I hope it's still available around the holidays next year!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 23, 2015
This was perfect for my company's Christmas party! I got tons of compliments; one of my fav dresses.
It fit perfectly - was a little short but I had sheer tights and felt comfortable. The sequins were perfect for pictures - I still get compliments from people who see it on my facebook and instagram.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
January 20, 2015
Great for hiding a pregnancy bump!
I'm 4 months pregnant but did not want to take any of the spotlight away at my cousin's wedding. This dress was perfect! I would normally wear the 2 (5'2" and 115 lbs) but went with the 4 since it was a bit longer given I had a baby bump to cover. The dress was comfortable and looked great. One thing to warn though is if you like to lift your arms up dancing/hugging people goodbye, etc. you must be careful -- the dress is pretty short! Overall I loved it and would rent again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2015
I think I got more compliments than the bride.
As others have mentioned, this dress does run short - I'm 5'8" and had to really watch myself when dancing, as arms up in the air could have provided quite a show for other guests. That being said - I ADORED this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 15, 2015
HOT STUFF. Poison Ivy levels of sexiness.
This dress is EVERYTHING. I wore it on a booze cruise at our company retreat in Miami and it definitely elevated the fashion quotient on the boat, hahaha. It fits like a shift, which is my go-to dress cut, but tall girls be warned... You will definitely be showing a lot of leg in this style.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 14, 2015
Great dress for a baby bump!
I wore this dress 32 weeks pregnant (8 months) to my baby shower. I usually wear a size 2 so I ordered a size 4 & 6 in the dress and ended up wearing the 6. I probably should have ordered a 6 & 8 because it does run very short but the 6 was fine. I just showed a little leg while sitting and opening gifts ;) The dress was a hit, I got tons of compliments and the color is really pretty in person. Would recommend to any mamas-to-be that want to have a little sparkle on their special day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 14, 2015
This was perfect for 30th birthday party!
The dress was great! I wanted to look fabulous for my 30th birthday, despite the fact that we were going to watch the seahawks playoff game at a bowling alley. I overdressed and that's ok! I got tons of compliments from friends as well as women in the restroom haha. The overall fit was as expected, relatively short but fine with tights. I have a bit of a curvy booty, so I knew going in that it would be pretty short on me. The shoulders are on the narrow side, with fairly slim arms, but the 10 was just too much dress on my torso, so I wore the 8. It was comfortable all night, but it was a pretty warm dress - I wouldn't wear it in warm weather. Overall, great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 11, 2015
Super cute, sparkly, and flattering, but secretly warm and comfy!
I loved wearing this dress on a float in a Mardi Gras parade in February! It was a little short, even on my 5'2'' frame, so I wore it with leggings and it was perfect. The top is a little tight and the bottom is a little loose, so I wore a size down to be more form fitting and it was great. Wish I owned this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 123lbs
January 7, 2015
Cute sparkly dress for a NYE wedding
I ordered the 6 and the 4, and ended up wearing the 4. I am 5'6" 123lbs and usually a size 6, but I felt the 4 fit better. The dress is supposed to be a looser fit, but the 6 was just a little too lose for my liking. I paired the dress with black booties, black opaque tights, and a leopard clutch and got a handful of compliments. I would have preferred to pair the dress with sheer black tights, but the thigh control portion of my tights peeked out under the short hem of the dress, so I had to go with opaque. All in all, it was a cute little new year's eve dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 7, 2015
GREAT dress! Comfy, sexy, and classy all at the same time!
Loved wearing this dress. It was short, but I put some black shorts underneath just for peace of mind. I didn't really need them. The dress is comfy (the sequins aren't itchy at all), and I loved that I never had to worry about "holding it in," or wear any of those darned spanx! The dress gets its sexiness from the length and the color. If you've got great legs, and you want an easy dress, this is the one. The 0 fit me perfectly - I didn't even try on the 2 that came with it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2015
Amazing color, so fun to wear!
This was a beautiful dress- great deep green color and boxy fit, great for dancing! I usually wear a 6 but I could have worn a 4. The length was not short at all on me (even in heels) and I have long legs. It was not as short as I thought it would be from reading the other reviews. I wore this for New Years and I got a lot of compliments on it. I would definitely recommend renting this dress and getting your normal size along with a size smaller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 31, 2014
Great dress! Everyone said I looked like a mermaid!
Definitely size up if your tall! I'm 5'9' and if I bent over or raised my arms, it wouldn't have been good. But I loved the dress so that tiny little detail really didn't matter to me. Just a warning: if you're planning on wearing your hair down, the sequins really make it hard because my hair kept getting literally stuck on the dress and I'd have to rip it out of the sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 29, 2014
Dress was gorgeous; tons of compliments. Super comfortable, as well.
Dress was very short ( I'm 5'8") but with opaque tights, it worked just fine. Shift style, falls straight down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
December 18, 2014
Received numerous compliments
I wore this dress at our company's holiday party. I received numerous compliments both from men and women. I am 5'1' and the dress went down to mid thigh so it was the perfect length for me to show off my legs but not too much. I found it a little snug in the arms though. I have an apple body type and it was perfect. I like the fact that it wasn't tight around the tummy area. I am glad I rented this dress but I somehow wished I didn't have to return it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 18, 2014
Amazing statement dress
This dress was perfect for my holiday party. I got tons of compliments all night. The only thing that I would tell you to watch out for is the length. I went up a size because the 2 was WAY to short. Other than that I loved everything about it. Super comfortable too!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2014
The perfect Christmas party dress!
I absolutely loved this dress. The shift makes it super comfortable but it lays really well and the short length makes it flattering. I like short but if that makes you nervous be warned that its very short. However I loved it! I also don't think I've ever received so many compliments on an outfit. Was fun, and made me happy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
December 10, 2014
So many compliments!!
This is an AMAZING dress!!! I ordered a size 8 and 10 and ended up wearing the 8. It's supposed to flowy, which is why you can get away with it being short! I wore it to a winter wedding with black tights but could have worn it without tights if the weather was warmer. I got SO many compliments on this dress- everyone was asking where I got it! The color is great and it feels luxurious, not like a cheap, tacky, sequin dress. I didn't think it felt small or tight in the arms and shoulders, and I do have broader shoulders. You won't regret renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
December 2, 2014
Absolutely loved the color and felt very glamorous.
The dress is a little bit large. I could have probably gotten away with a 2. I typically wear a 6 in most dresses. Really loved it and got a ton of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
November 25, 2014
I loved this dress as soon as I opened the box!
I got the 8 and 10. The 8 fit throughout the body but the sleeves were ridiculously tight. I could not even raise my arms over my head. The 10 was nice and flowing throughout the body and the sleeves were comfortable.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2014
Stood out at the rehearsal dinner.
Looked great with tights and black booties.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 18, 2014
Fun dress - definitely short!
I wore this dress to a flapper themed bday party. It was a huge hit! No one else had anything quite like it on. The sleeves are 3/4 length which was perfect for the fall. The dress is short!!! But for the repeal of prohibition, it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 17, 2014
super short!!
this dress is super cute - but also super short! I ordered the size 2 because reviewers said it ran large... the 4 would have been way too boxy throughout the body of the dress, but it might have given me an inch in length. basically I couldn't even raise my arms without the dress raising up to my butt. not really the look I was going for. would have been great had it actually been a little longer. for reference, I'm only 5'4, so if you're tall, I'd recommend wearing some pants with this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2014
Loved it! I would rent it again!
It's a little short, but with the hanging look it totally works!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 12, 2014
My engagement party! It was a blast.
After my first dress did not work out, RTR overnighted me this dress. It was PERFECT for my engagement party. It is forgiving so I didn't mind eating and drinking, and I felt great in it. Also, I don't think I've ever received so many compliments on an outfit, from men and women. I am very petite -- only 5'0, and I think that's why this shift is the only one I've ever tried on that looks great on me...it is VERY short. Paired with opaque black tights, I didn't worry, but I don't know if I would wear it with bare legs--it's a wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 30, 2014
LOVED it! Easy to wear, easy to accessorize , just short enough to turn heads
Oh my goodness the RTR staff is amazing!! I had ordered two completely different dress thinking my even was black tie. I found out around 5:00 on a Friday (of course) that the event was cocktail . I got on the phone and the NICEST woman helped me change my order and got it to me MIRACULOUSLY in time for my Saturday night function . I wish the rest of my life was managed my RTR staff!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 29, 2014
The dress made me feel glamorous and classy. Got tons of compliments!
It was a little short, but the way that it was loose fitting made it appropriate and flattering. The sleeves were a little snug but not noticeable at all. The color was so unexpected and pretty. VERY flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 27, 2014
This dress was super glam. I wore it for my karaoke birthday party- felt like a star!
I am 5'4, around 120 lbs. I wore the zero- it fit exactly as it should. It was super short, but I just wore proper underwear and sheer black tights. I wore it as a party dress. The 2 also fit- it was much more loose, and could be worn to a formal event. The 2 is also quite a bit longer than the zero. Also, this dress is well-made and comfortable-- even in the more snug size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 26, 2014
The dress was perfect! I got so many compliments!
The fit was perfect a little loose which made it super easy to dance and move in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
Wonderful dress! Very comfortable worn at 7 months pregnant to a friends wedding. The dress was rather short so I wore it with black tights. Wish I owned this dress to be worn again! I received many compliments!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
October 22, 2014
So many compliments! I looked and felt like a million bucks!!
Love Rent the Runway! I would definitely do this again. I selected this dress and a back up one just in case. Both fit great but I ended up going with this one. Loved the easiness of selecting, getting and returning the dresses. I felt like the belle of the ball. I wore this to my first legalized gay wedding and it was a hit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 117lbs
October 22, 2014
So many compliments!
This isn't your run-of-the-mill sequin dress; this is high-quality material that looks like shiny liquid when you put it on. It is very forgiving for those of us who have had children and still have a few extra pounds, but anyone over five feet should be concerned about the length. Since the sleeves are tight, arms over your head = everyone sees your undies. I'm under five feet, so this came off as a very sophisticated choice. I normally am a size 6, but wore the 2.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2014
The dress worked perfectly for the event which was a fundraiser for Fragile X Syndrome
It was a little tight across the shoulders but fit perfectly everywhere else. I'm a little bigger than I want to be right now and my arms are on the heavy side
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
October 16, 2014
N/A
Runs pretty short. I am usually a 4, but I'm 7 months pregnant so I ordered a 6 & 8. Ended up with the 8 because the 6 barely covered my rear.
Mkp04October 19, 2014
Courtney, I'm also pregnant (23 weeks) and I'm a wedding singer, so I need dresses every weekend! So glad to find another preggo to help me find dresses that fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
October 13, 2014
Amazing dress!
I love everything about this dress. I read all of the reviews and selected my normal size and a size smaller based on the info of the fit of the dress. I ended up going with the 4 solely due to the length. It is a short dress. The 2 fit better overall, but I was more comfortable with the length of the 4 as it was worn for a family party. I also needed something a little "drapey" as I'm 4 months pregnant. So comfortable and I got a ton of compliments! I can't wait for my next occasion to use RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2014
SO much fun and apart from the bride's dress I think got the most compliments of the day!
As every reviewer has said, this dress is SHORT, but not in a slutty/sleazy way at all. I'm 5'9" and it only became a problem when I raised my arms (totally necessary as I wanted to dance!!) - so I paired it with leggings instead and a pair of black suede booties. I'm sure that black opaque tights would work too, but I wore it to a "barn wedding" (in Portland in October) so I was trying to dress it down a little. That's not to say it HAS to be worn with tights, it doesn't, but if you want to dance or raise your arms AT ALL and remain unexposed to your belly button, wear SOMETHING. I had zero problem sitting in it - it didn't crawl up at all. It is definitely boxy and roomy, I got the 6 and easily could have worn a 4, but the 6 was so short I feared a 4 would be at my waist. It's comfortable, but also can get very warm. It's seriously such a gorgeous color in person, overall it's a knockout dress. I've never received more compliments on something I've worn - though I'll admit, most people just assumed it was a longer shirt rather than a dress ;-) Still, my fiancé wanted to know how much it was to buy because he LOVED it so much on me. Rent this ladies it's super fun!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 8, 2014
so fantastic getting to rent an awesome fun sparkly dress that i know i would only ever wear once!
the color and sparkle was so much fun to wear to a wedding. I felt fabulous! however, the short length kept me a little cautious on the dance floor. the 2 fit better up top, but dancing would have been nearly impossible, so i went with the 4, even if it was on the baggy side. better safe than sorry!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×