Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Magic Carpet Ride Dress

$50 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Attending a semi-formal or bridal shower? Rent this ultra bright Shoshanna beaded detail, one shoulder dress!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has a fairly straight cut so size up if you have fuller bust or hips (e.g., Hourglass body type)
WAIST: Fitted - most fitted at natural waist - pleating detail in skirt conceals abdomen but may draw attention to waist
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has some built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - dress has a fairly straight cut so size up if you have fuller bust or hips (e.g., Hourglass body type)
WAIST: Fitted - most fitted at natural waist - pleating detail in skirt conceals abdomen but may draw attention to waist
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has some built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Orange silk crepe de chine. One shoulder neckline. Gold beaded trim. Pleated bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

56 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 47
Large 5
Photos 8
TaylorC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely loved this dress! The beading was gorgeous and the color the perfect shade of orange. The only thing is that in the pictures it looks more full in the skirt, but the skirt is actually quite tight. I got a size 2 and 4 as my backup and went with the 4 since the 2 was a little shorter and tighter. Also, I am 5'8" like the model in the photo and the dress did not go to the top of my knees like in the photo. It was a couple inches from the top of my knee. Not a big deal because it still looked great, but just a little misleading with the photos. Overall, it was a great party dress! It arrived on time from RTR and I look forward to renting again soon.
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 18, 2011

The dress duh!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress is beautiful! However, the color is more of a bright reddish orange not peach like the photo. It's still a very pretty dress.
jennybugg33
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Mar 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
THis dress is more of an electric orange. Really cute, got alot of compliments on it. I wish the waist would have been more fitted. The boobs were too tight for the size 4 and the size 6 fit great, but the waist was a little lose. It was about 4 inches above my knee..showstopper dress. The gold beading had a frey, but overall the dress was really pretty.
Shani
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
this dress is amazing! i absolutely love it and i wore it for prom and i was one of the only girls to wear a short dress, but i feel like i stood out the most! the beading is beautiful and the dress makes my hips look great. When the dress arrived, it was somewhat wrinkled so it needed steaming. I paired it with some gold BCBG heels and bold earrings from Express and i felt beautiful!
Bon
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress! As mentioned in another review, the skirt is very fitted and not full like it appears in the photo although it fit just fine. I ordered a size 6 and a size bigger. The size 6 fit perfectly. For me, the length was the same as pictured but I am considerably shorter than the model. I loved the color.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress for a night out on the town. It looked very classy and elegant. The length was actually shorter than it appears on the model, as others have pointed out, probably 3-4 inches above the knee as I am fairly tall. The skirt is tighter (because there is a tighter liner underneath) and the waist is looser than the picture. I did have a few gripes about it, however. Firstly, when I took it out of the garment bag, it was very wrinkled. If this happens to you, hang it in the bathroom while you shower so the steam straightens it out. Also it was missing a few sections of beading, which weren't obviously visible but I found them upon inspection. As for sizing, I got a size 2 and 4, and wore the size 4 at 135 lbs. I thought the color was more of a tomato red than orange, but to each her own. Overall a wonderful dress, I received lots of compliments, and I've already recommended RTR to all my friends.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
May 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is very comfortable and flattering. I ordered a 6 and an 8 as a back up size, but went with the 8 to have a little bit more room. As previous reviewers have mentioned, it is tighter in the skirt than it seems, so call a RTR fit specialist if you’re unsure about the size. The color is more of a bright reddish orange, but it is very striking. The ruching at the top of the dress makes it work for smaller and larger chest sizes. It was perfect for my cousin's spring/summer wedding!
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I'm 5'2 120lbs and I got the size 2. The waist could have been a tiny bit smaller, but it was pretty much a perfect fit. Super comfortable, very cute, got tons of compliments. Wore it to a dinner that a group of friends had purchased at a charity auction - perfect dress for the dinner. Felt stylish and comfortable! Dress was a bit more red and a little shorter than the pic, even though I'm much shorter than the model pictured.
Allie
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
May 30, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was just beautiful! Although I found it a bit big. I ordered an 8 because I have larger hips and am very narrow in the top. I really should have gone with the 6. It still looked great just roomy!!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Jun 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress and received so many compliments throughout the night. The dress photographed amazing as well. The dress does appear to be more of a red then the reddish-orange in the picture. Regardless, it is beautiful. I am 5'7", 120 lbs and the 0 fit perfectly.
Kath
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Jun 10, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Loved the dress, unfortunately, its not designed for a tall girl like me... Sadly had to return it and wear another option to the wedding I ordered it from, but RTR was AMAZING with their return policy. In case you don't know about it and you find yourself in a similar predicament, here ya go: http://renttherunway.com/faq#dress1.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jul 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is so beatiful and i'm never one to wear orange! It was a little snug in my hips and thighs because of the slip, but a gorgeous dress!
bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit true to size. Being tall, it definitely was on the shorter side, but very comfortable and a great color! The color is a little bit more red than the picture shows, but still very pretty.
j
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
As other reviewers have pointed out, the skirt is not as long or full as it looks in the pictures, but I found that to be a good thing. I usually wear a 0 or 2. The 0 was a bit tight around the neck and shoulders for me. I went with the size 2, which was a tad loose - I had to keep pulling the left shoulder up since the dress had a tendency to slide downwards and leave some extra space by my my right underarm.
Libby
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Aug 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! It was actually my back up dress, but it fit so beautifully, I ended up wearing it. The gold is more muted than it looks on the picture & the dress is darker/more red than I thought it would be. Absolutely gorgeous & perfect for an evening/summer wedding.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Aug 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was amazing. I have a small bust, small waist and somewhat wider hips and this dress in a 4 fit like a dream. It hit me right above the knee. There is actually some sort of boning on the top, which isn't uncomfortable, I just didn't know it was coming that way. The dress just so comfortable. I wore gold shoes with mine.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×