Mabrey Maxi Dress

$125 rental
$485 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ready for fun and sun in this colorblock maxi by Shoshanna. This dress will brighten up the room at your brunch or wedding event! Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Ring with these fun colors.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red, pink, and orange crepe de chine (100% silk). Sleeveless. Crewneck. Open back with high neck button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
116 reviews
Fit
Large7
True to Size101
Small4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2014
Had a great weekend.
The dress was too long and was very staticy. Not very dressy - for a different event it would have been ok.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
April 18, 2014
I wore this dress to my baby shower at 30 weeks pregnant! I received SO many compliments!
I could have possibly used a size 8 but when I ordered the dress I was not sure how big my belly would be by then. Pre-pregnancy I would have probably been a 0-2 in this style as it has plenty of room in the hips. It was super cute and made me feel beautiful even at 30 weeks preggo! All night everyone asked where I got the dress! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2014
Delightful
It was super flattering and so much fun! I opted for the L after reading reviews, and I'm glad I did. I'm just under 5'8" and it was perfect with 2.5" flatforms. The front was a bit above the floor but the back of the dress hit right at the floor. I ordered sizes 2L and 4L, and went with the 2L. I wish I would have ordered the 0L and 2L, just to try the 0 on, but I think I may have opted for the 2 anyways. It was super comfortable and airy. The fabric was great. The arms rubbed a little after several hours, but nothing terrible. This was the PERFECT dress for a spring formal - so bright and fun. I felt like a princess all night. It stands out, isn't too flashy, and is classic and modest. ALSO, few have mentioned the back. I didn't get a picture of it. It's really flattering and I got so many compliments on the design of the dress. You can wear a normal bra with it no problem, just maybe tape your straps down on your shoulders so they don't slide. The back isn't too low to wear a normal bra. It's really just an opening between your shoulder blades.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 7, 2014
Colorful, comfortable maxi for any occasion
I wore this dress to an afternoon engagement party and it worked out perfectly. Colorful, comfortable, and received many compliments! I am always a size 6 in Shoshanna, but did order the 6R and 6L since I'm 5'10". I ended up wearing the 6L with flats and it worked out really well. I could have also rocked some wedges due to the longer length in the back of the dress, and it still would have works. The 6R was way too short in the front and clearly looked like it was just too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 4, 2014
Breezy and festive
Wore this during the day on a trip to Vegas in September and it was perfect for the weather and occasion. The R length was great for the flat sandals I wore, but I would have to go up to a L for heels. I didn't think this needed a belt - I just wore it with a gold statement necklace and some bangles. Would definitely rent this again for anything from a daytime wedding to a beach vacation.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
April 2, 2014
This was a great dance to dance to the band in! Plus the bright colors were awesome.
I ordered the 10 & the 12 because I usually wear a 12. I was surprised that the 10 fit, especially in the bust. It was a great fit and such a fun dress to wear to the party that I went to. The colors were so bright and perfect for summertime.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2014
I didn't wear it.
The bust area was too small.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2014
Tons of compliments, perfect for this color blocking season
The colors are stunning. Great way to show off fun shoes. The color in the middle is more orange-ish not a true red. Amazingly comfortable especially if you prefer fit top with room around the hips and thighs. I am 5'4" and wore the regular length with heels and it was perfect. LOVE!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
March 3, 2014
This dress was very pretty. Fell nicely and the material was lovely!
Fit was great, especially the length. I'm not tall, so I was worried (with all long dresses!) that the dress would be puddling at the floor. It didn't. Pockets were a great detail! I'm glad I got the 2. . .I normally wear a 0, but the bust would have been too snug for a bra. It technically fit, but would not have been appropriate for the wedding. The 2 was nicely cut, but left enough room for proper underwear (and a normal bra is hidden perfectly, no need for a strapless). Recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2014
perfect dress for a summer wedding
super-comfortable fun dress for a summer wedding - would recommend to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 16, 2014
Awkward fit, not good for full bust.
Had swooned over this dress for a while but when it arrived I was very disappointed. Color is much more deep red than in picture and the fit was awful. I looked like a stuffed sausage. Sent back unworn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 15, 2014
Fun and comfortable
I wore this to an Indian Sangeet/wedding rehearsal dinner. It was perfect. Fabric is heavy silk and flows beautifully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2013
Tough fabric for summer events
Received this as a replacement dress - it was pretty but the bust was a little tight and it was too hot and humid for the event (outdoor wedding in August) - I was too worried about sweating through the delicate silk fabric. Had it been May, I would have worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 6, 2013
So Bright, Unique & Perfect for a Wedding!
This dress fit perfectly. I wore wedges with it, but it seemed to fit even better length-wise with those. It was a nice change of pace from the black and drab colors that most people wear to a wedding. It was perfect for fall because it was longer, and could be worn with a sweater or light jacket. I loved it and would love to add it to my closet.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 28, 2013
The dress fit perfectly!The color was so different then what anyone else wore and the pockets rocked
The high neck was incredibly flattering with a bit of open back created a sexy balance. The colors were bright and fun during the Fall season. The slight high front made getting around and walking stairs very easy. Also, the pockets were so handy! I could have my cell in one pocket and lipstick is the other :) I got numerous compliments all night on this dress and truly wish I could keep it. The customer service was amazing also. I originally received a dress too big but a stylist helped me find something new and perfect for my body and taste.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
October 21, 2013
Perfect POP of Something Different
I loved that I got to wear something different for homecoming.Everyone adored this dress! My friend and I both rented! They were definitely a hit. To dress this dress up I took it a bit more punk than country club, I wore a black statement necklace I bought at target and my shoes were Jeffrey Campbell. You have to be careful about a black bra but thats the only thing to watch for. Also the front is definitely shorter than the back to give a great view of shoes is just something to watch for.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
October 6, 2013
Fabric is comfortable and soft...colors are vibrant!
I looked at this dress many times before I ended up ordering it. I just love the colors in the dress and they were even more beautiful in person. I ordered a 2 and 4 in the dress. The 2 fit but was a little tight in the bust. I ended up wearing the 4 because I just wanted to be able to be comfortable for the night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2013
Fun but odd dress
I tried this dress on at rent the runway and just loved it even though it was not the most flattering on me. It is just different looking - and different from anything I'd ever own - and it has pockets! Might be better looking on someone taller. But it has fun colors and is very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2013
Loved it, but didn't fit.
I rented at the last minute, and they were out of my normal size, so I chose to give the smaller size a shot as my backup dress. The fabric is not forgiving, so I didn't have quite enough room to make it work for my chest. Otherwise, I absolutely would have worn it in the 10! So cute. And as a shorter girl, the higher length in front would have been perfect.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
September 24, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress! The colors are even more beautiful in person!
I am 5'10 and wore this with flats and the length was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 23, 2013
Awesome dress! Love the pockets!
I rented this dress and wore it to a baby shower and then out to dinner. The colors are bright (not quite as bright as shown in the photos) and they are stunning. Comfortable fit, beautiful details and I got tons of compliments. The hi-low detal isn't as noticable in person but it is perfect for flats or if you want to wear heels. I would rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
September 23, 2013
The dress was perfect!
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments and felt wonderful in it. The dress was true to size and the long length was perfect to wear with wedges. Really happy with my RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 17, 2013
Loved this so much--it wasnt too long, super comfortable, works with a strapless bra!
fit was great-loved the pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 16, 2013
Gorgeous colors, but no stretch whatsoever.
Beautiful dress, but the size 4 and 6 fit exactly the same. No stretch at all, so be prepared to size up if you're worried about proper fit. I am not busty, but it definitely fit snugly across my chest. Great colors!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 11, 2013
Super comfortable. Can wear a regular bra with it...major bonus.
It doesn't have quite as much structure as I thought it would based on the websites pics. Other than that, I got tons of compliments and was comfortable all night. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 8, 2013
This dress is marvelous and fun!
This dress fit perfectly, was elegant and classy, and perfect for a September garden wedding. I was planning to wear heels when I read others' reviews about the length of the long sizes, but found that I didn't need to wear heels. Instead I wore sandals with a ~1/2 inch thick sole. A guest at the wedding said that the dress was a "vision"! I got so many compliments and felt gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 8, 2013
Great, comfortable dress, very flattering
Great, comfortable dress, very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 5, 2013
Fantastic dress! I wish I could find it to purchase, I loved it that much.
Be prepared to steam or iron the dress - it was quite wrinkled upon arrival. I wore this dress 8 weeks post-partum and it was incredibly flattering and easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2013
Bright & Pretty
Great, bright color and unique look. Loved it for a summer wedding. Darting at bust is a little funny and unflattering, otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. I'm 5'3 and was able to wear it with 3" heels, but it dragged on the ground a bit in the back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
September 1, 2013
Comfortable, bright and forgiving!
The original dress that I ordered was damaged so they sent me this similar maxi dress instead. I was very happy with the shape and fit. I am most wide around stomach and hips, so this dress was extremely good at hiding those areas. It was super comfortable (love not having to feel like I'm sucking it in all night!) and a fun summertime color. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 68
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 29, 2013
A perfect dress, gorgeous fabric, great fit, and many complements told me RTR was the right choice.
Size 6R is my usual size and this was just right. I would advise using a gentle steamer to make this fabric look its best. After my daughter posted pics on facebook, a friend told her she had been wondering who that lovely lady was wearing the beautiful dress. That made my day!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2013
Tons of compliments
The colors really popped, and it worked well for a summer party. A less than flattering fit in the bodice and a wrinkle-prone fabric earn this dress a less than perfect score.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 26, 2013
Great dress for a semi-formal summer wedding
My favorite part of this dress was that it was backless but I could still wear a bra! Can be dress up with heels and fancy jewelry or dressed down with sandals. Very comfortable. My only complaint was that it wrinkled the minute I sat down and never smoothed out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 26, 2013
Perfect, classy dress for a summer rehearsal dinner!
Loved this dress! I had been eyeing it for a while on RTR, and finally got the chance to wear it to a rehearsal dinner in Maine. I had this (and the Yigal Azrouel Check My Schedule dress for the wedding) shipped directly to my hotel, which is wonderful for a destination wedding. I ordered the 6R and 6L, and ended up wearing the 6R with flat gold sandals (although the 6L would have been better for heels). Got tons of compliments, and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 19, 2013
Eye catching comfort
I was a little worried after reading some review regarding the room in the chest area, but since I always wear a little padding I wasn't too concerned. When the dress arrived, which runs very true to size, it wasn't big at all. I would think that a lady with big "girls" would need to size up to accommodate them. The red in the dress was much more muted in person, more of a watermelon red. Loved the dress, lots of compliments. I wore the Nicole Miller Star Light Star Bright necklace, which was great, but I think a longer pendant would be even more fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 17, 2013
GORGEOUS dress for a destination wedding
When a RTR employee suggested I try on this dress for a destination wedding, I was a little hesitant. But it looks way better on than on the hanger. I wore it to an Indian wedding, where the dress code is fun and vibrant and it fit in perfectly. Definitely turned a few heads that night! I agree with the other reviews, it's a bit long and runs a little large. I'm 5'4 and got the size 0R and wore 2"-3" wedges and the fit was just right. (Usually I'm a size 2.) The only thing was we were in Hilton Head, South Carolina along the beach. It was extremely windy that day, and that it blew all over the place. Luckily only the cocktail hour was outdoors. Other than that I absolutely loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2013
Loved the bright colors!
I am normally a 4 in Shoshanna but I went with the 6 for added comfort because the 4 was a little snug around my waist. It was a fun and different dress to wear to a summer wedding.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
August 7, 2013
This dress made me feel like a million bucks!
It fit perfectly and true to size. I got so many complements on it and it turned out being the perfect dress for a special date night!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
July 29, 2013
Loved the look and feel of this dress for a wedding in CA! Received nothing but compliments
Fits true to size and the regular length was perfect for me with a low heel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Bright/comfy perfection
This was so fun to wear and SO comfortable. I was able to wear a normal bra, which is always a bonus. Tons of compliments too.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×