Shoshanna

Lace Boatneck Back Dress

$75 rental
$360 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look prim and proper in this elegant Shoshanna black lace dress. Add some bright heels to bring it up a notch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Product Details

Black floral lace over navy. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(83)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2015
The dress
It was nice
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 30, 2010
Absolutely love this dress...perfect for Christmas eve mass and a family party afterwards. I almost always wear a 4 but the 2 fit perfectly. Will definitely rent this one again! Love it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2010
I though it would be more A-line than it was. I am very small up top but bigger in the hips and neither of the 2 sizes fit me the way I wanted to so I didn't end up wearing the dress. It's gorgeous but just not right for my body type. Maybe if I went up 2 sizes? Not sure...
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
July 21, 2011
If you are a curvy woman, the dress does not look as loose as it does in the picture. HOWEVER! It was a spectacular hit at the dinner party I attended and it received great reviews. I definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
Very cute dress
I rented this dress for a friend's bridal party rehearsal dinner. Everyone loved it. It was the perfect mix of elegance and sass :0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
August 26, 2012
Cute Dress
The dress was amazing---was flattering without being too tight. The only downside is that the dress was a bit shorter than I was expecting.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2012
Wayyyy too short for a 5'8 girl
This was my second dress so I had a 6 which fit great but just too short. I put it on and loved it but with the lace sleeves and short bottom I felt wayyy to Pretty Woman. maybe I should have gotten an 8 for some length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2012
Disappointment...
Unfortunately this was my first RTR miss - the dress is definitely not suited to more hippy hourglass / pear shaped bodies, as it's snug at the hips but doesn't emphasize the waist at all. I own several Shoshanna dresses in a Size 2 but even in a Size 4 this dress felt snug (especially on the arms), and I found it to be very short even on my 5 ft 5" frame. Also it sort of squashes your boobs in a less than flattering way. Unfortunate miss but if you do decide to rent it I would definitely recommend sizing up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 29, 2012
I got many compliments for looking put together but it was so easy to do bc the dress is so pretty!
The fit was a little snug on top even with the size 6, but its such a flattering style and with black tights and black suede wedges you look so put together. I wore this to a bridal shower and while I was the only one in black I felt great because the lace makes you feel a little more girly and pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
January 2, 2013
Loved this dress!
Absolutely loved this dress. I usually wear an 8 or 10 and wore the 12 in this dress but only because I don't feel comfortable in tight fitting dresses. The 10 fit but was a little fit in the hips but just enough for me to wear the 12 that was a lil big but much more comfortable. Another dress I wish I could keep or buy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 28, 2013
Be careful if you have a large bust
This dress was really beautiful but unfortunately the back-up size was unavailable. I usually wear an 6/8, but a 10 probably would have given me some more space in my chest. I am a 34 DDD and this dress really squished the ladies down. Other than that it was a great dress for the wedding rehersal dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
March 14, 2013
The dress is pretty but way too tight. It does not hang like in the picture. Gave me pancake boob
very pretty
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 15, 2013
Great look and really slimming/sexy fit
Can go with navy or black details! Also, just FYI- although it looks like on the model that the fit is loose and more of a shift dress, that is deceiving, it is a more fitted look, not loose, unless you go a size up. You will see what I mean in the real photos. Plus even though I am 5'2" it was still a little scandalously short. Fine for short girls, might be inapprop for the tall ones.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 4, 2013
I sent this back but if it had fit it would have been a perfect experience!
This was a beautiful dress but it fit much tighter than I thought it would. Even if it hadn't been tight it was still pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
November 12, 2013
Not as pictured on model.
This dress came as a back up because the one I ordered wasn't available. I am 17 weeks pregnant and I assumed from the way the dress looks on the model, it would be a candidate. BIG MISTAKE! This dress is actually quite fitted (and cute if you're not pregnant) I think the model is a size 0 but she is wearing a 2 or a 4!!! I should have paid more attention to the reviews, I hope RTR takes a different picture.
Overall fit:
Small
Age: 31
October 27, 2011
Does not look as nice as in the picture. It is also much more fitted. I am not a big person at all, but yet this dress manages to make me look big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 20, 2014
Too snug
I wound up choosing my other RTR option because although the photo makes this look like a shift dress, it's actually quite snug and form-fitting
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2014
Beautiful lace detail
I wore this dress to a formal/black tie work event. It was perfect for this. Both the 6 and the 8 fit but I chose the 8 because it had a little more room in the bust for me to dance in. The dress fit conservatively enough but was still flirty with the lace detail. I also paired it with a necklace to give it a pop of color. Great experience and would definetly rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2014
Classy and comfy!
Runs small and short. I would recommend sizing up. Looked great with tights and heels!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 13, 2013
Comfortable, elegant and great for hiding 'trouble spots'.
When you have 34DD upstairs and a little extra 'junk' around the mid-section, this is a beautiful and perfect dress to make you feel confident that you look great. Dress arrived in excellent condition, was very comfortable to wear, and perfect for an evening affair that said "cocktail attire" on the RSVP card. If you have a fuller bust be sure to order a size up. I could've worn the 8 (my usual size) but the bust was much better in the 10.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Cute little dress
I really liked this dress. I'm a bridesmaid in a wedding, so I wore this little number to the bridal shower. I could still move in it and run around, but it was definitely super cute and everyone complimented it.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2013
Pretty dress, runs really small and is really short.
I am usually a size 10 and ordered sizes 10 and 12 and neither one of them fit! Even if they had fit, the dress would have been really short. It wasn't right for my hourglass figure but would be great with a straighter body type. Although I wasn't able to wear this dress, I have had success with other rentals, and I sent it back within 24 hours and got an RTR credit and I will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 22, 2010
My favorite dress of the moment. This is such an easy wear - hides any arm imperfections, cute yet classy. Definitely good with a longer necklace.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2010
Fabulous dress, very flattering and true to size. I was complimented all night long. Note that it is quite short -- I wore it with bright navy tights and heels to a cold-weather California wedding in October. I wish I owned it -- it's really quite adorable.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2010
Highly recommend! Beautiful and age appropriate for me at 36. Length was good (I'm tall) but spanx show when you sit down!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
January 8, 2011
This dress was fabulous! I loved wearing it every second. It fit true to size and I would definitely rent it again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2011
I loved this dress!! I wore it to a friend's birthday party, and I have to say, it was absolutely fabulous. It gave me a great shape and showed off my curves, despite not being a 'tight' dress-- something I loved about it! Sadly I looked to try to buy it, but couldn't find it anywhere in my size. But that goes to show how much I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 16, 2011
Rent this one over and over!
Such a great dress - very versatile! Love it so much, have already rented it twice! Can be worn with flats or heels, and even though it isn't form-fitting, it still gives you a great shape!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 7, 2011
Super comfy and conservative while being modern. I wore it to an business awards dinner and it worked well. The length was a little iffy for a conservative event, but I wore my back up size, which was bigger. The only issue I had is that the bottom was noticeably frayed.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 11, 2011
Perfect dress for a young professional conference. This dress laid comfortably on my petite frame. I was even featured on a fashion blog wearing the dress the following morning.Felt very ladylike in this lace number.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
August 23, 2011
Loved this dress. The lace details looked much more subtle than the photo, but still lovely. The arm holes were really tight, which prohibited me from wearing this dress for the evening, but it really is a gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2011
The dress and accessories were shipped in great condition! I reserved it several weeks in advance and it was so nice to not have to worry about what I was going to wear! I got a ton of compliments on the dress.
Pretty dress! I was worried it wouldn't fit well since shift type dresses usually don't look so great on me but it was so pretty and in perfect condition! It was true to size and even the length was about the same on me as in the picture. I loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2011
Loved this dress! Very flattering (I wore size 8). The sleeves definitely hit right above the elbow in me and the dress hit around mid thigh. Is it blue? Is it black? Still not sure. My fiance (who also love it) and I decided it was navy with a black lace overlay, so it looked fine with black shoes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 3, 2011
I wore this dress for my best friend's Bridal Shower and received a ton of compliments. On Monday morning I referred about 10 of my friends that saw the dress to RTR! ***Dress is second from the right
Great dress, very comfortable and not as short as I thought it would be (which was a good thing). Classic dress, great for lots of occasions. Loved the drop neck in the back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Career Moment
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50lbs
November 9, 2011
Cute and Fun
This dress was so cute and just a really basic yet chic option! So comfortable and got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
November 27, 2011
classic dress
I wore this dress to thanksgiving with my family. It's such a classic style, and it looked great on. The sleeves were a little shorter than pictured, but they fit fine. I was mostly worried about them being tight. The dress was also a little shorter then I thought it would be, had to extra careful getting in and out of the car. I would definitely rent again, and maybe even purchase if RTR decides to sell!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 1, 2011
Perfect for a work event
I rented this for a Gala I attended with my company. I'm on the small size (only 5'0") but it was the perfect length. It was a little loose in the top, but appropriate for the event. Would love to have it permanently in my closet!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2011
Love when people tell me you look so skinny!
I rented the dress for Thanksgiving with my boyfriends family - They tend to dress up a little more so I thought it was perfect - I belted it to make it look a little more fitting but loved it in general!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
October 29, 2011
Fit perfectly... but be careful, it's SHORT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2011
Perfect!
Rented this for myriad holiday work parties, got loads of compliments. Classy, sexy, but not too sexy. Much more fitted than it appears on the model, but not tight, runs a little short (I am 5'8").
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×