Lace Boatneck Back Dress

$75 rental
$360 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look prim and proper in this elegant Shoshanna black lace dress. Add some bright heels to bring it up a notch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black floral lace over navy. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(83)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2015
The dress
It was nice
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 31, 2014
Wore this dress to a fall wedding & received many, MANY compliments!!
This dress is the perfect "go to" cocktail dress. It's great for anything from a more conservative event to a sexy party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2014
Classy and comfy!
Runs small and short. I would recommend sizing up. Looked great with tights and heels!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2014
Beautiful lace detail
I wore this dress to a formal/black tie work event. It was perfect for this. Both the 6 and the 8 fit but I chose the 8 because it had a little more room in the bust for me to dance in. The dress fit conservatively enough but was still flirty with the lace detail. I also paired it with a necklace to give it a pop of color. Great experience and would definetly rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 20, 2014
Too snug
I wound up choosing my other RTR option because although the photo makes this look like a shift dress, it's actually quite snug and form-fitting
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 28, 2014
LOVE, would totally buy this dress in a hearbeat! Perfect dress for any occasion!
This dress fits perfectly, I am 5'2 so it is hard to find dresses that aren't too long. This dress was perfect in length hit a few inches above the knee. so a little on the shorter side but not too short. The dress looks totally different than it does on the model. It is much more flattering and a little fitted.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2014
Loved it!
Based on reviews, i was between a 2 and a 4 and so glad i went with the 4--it was perfectly fitted but with just the right amount of room for a shift. And the length was great--just short enough to make my legs look great but not so short i was worried about flashing anyone. Tons of compliments all night, super comfortable, and i felt great. Would order again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 12, 2013
Classic
Beautiful dress. Flattering and comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
December 9, 2013
Really cute dress! Like others have said, it looks more black than navy, but cute anyway!
Does not fit as loosely as shown. I am a little bit bigger on the bottom so it was more fitted, but still liked it anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
December 6, 2013
pretty but....
Pretty but it ended up being shorter & tighter than I wanted for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2013
Not as pictured on model.
This dress came as a back up because the one I ordered wasn't available. I am 17 weeks pregnant and I assumed from the way the dress looks on the model, it would be a candidate. BIG MISTAKE! This dress is actually quite fitted (and cute if you're not pregnant) I think the model is a size 0 but she is wearing a 2 or a 4!!! I should have paid more attention to the reviews, I hope RTR takes a different picture.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 4, 2013
I sent this back but if it had fit it would have been a perfect experience!
This was a beautiful dress but it fit much tighter than I thought it would. Even if it hadn't been tight it was still pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 1, 2013
Great Dress
This dress looks super baggy on the model, which is slightly misleading. I had previously rented a very similar style Shoshanna dress in the summer (pretty much same dress, different color), so I based my sizing on how my other rental fit, which was fab. I have a hard time fitting into true women's sizes (either the length or overall fit is baggy, even with a 0) but Shoshanna dresses are great for petite women I have found. It was a great length on me, but I am short. Taller women would probably struggle a bit with the length. I love the black and navy it photographs really well - gives some variation and texture to the dress that you might not see otherwise. I didn't get a full length pic, but I styled it with black patent leather shoes to give it a little shine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2013
Such an easy process!
Such a beautiful dress. A little snug in the bust, but otherwise it fit perfectly. I received many compliments. I also cannot say enough about the experience - it was wonderful having a great dress home waiting for me to wear. The return process was also super easy! I will definitely rent again soon!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 15, 2013
Great look and really slimming/sexy fit
Can go with navy or black details! Also, just FYI- although it looks like on the model that the fit is loose and more of a shift dress, that is deceiving, it is a more fitted look, not loose, unless you go a size up. You will see what I mean in the real photos. Plus even though I am 5'2" it was still a little scandalously short. Fine for short girls, might be inapprop for the tall ones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2013
LOVED the dress! I received so many compliments!!
Should have ordered the size 8... was VERY tight in the bust and very short when I sat down, but the length was perfect when standing. Very pleased with the dress overall!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 7, 2013
Lace LOVE!
Wore this to a business semi/formal event...tons of compliments. Classic look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
July 11, 2013
Loved that the sleeves covered my arms.
A little short but still loved the dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
June 17, 2013
Love this easy black lace number. Perfect for my friends rehearsal dinner.
This dress is pretty short, but I prefer a sleeve and to show a little leg. :) I went with the larger size for length!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 26, 2013
Overall ok
It was a nice alternative for a night out, however, I wasn't totally impressed with this dress. I am busty (32G) and always have trouble to find something that comfortably fits my upper body. This dress wasn't the exception because it was too tight for my upper body and too loose for my waist and hips. I didn't find it very flattering but still received compliments :).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 13, 2013
Comfortable, elegant and great for hiding 'trouble spots'.
When you have 34DD upstairs and a little extra 'junk' around the mid-section, this is a beautiful and perfect dress to make you feel confident that you look great. Dress arrived in excellent condition, was very comfortable to wear, and perfect for an evening affair that said "cocktail attire" on the RSVP card. If you have a fuller bust be sure to order a size up. I could've worn the 8 (my usual size) but the bust was much better in the 10.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
April 4, 2013
LOVE this dress.
It did come smelling like smoke, but I just aired it out over night. I guess that's a possibility when renting a dress. Beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 21, 2013
This is my favorite dress that I've ever rented from RTR. It is timeless and elegant!
I love this dress. It is the perfect shift dress. Very flattering and not boxy. I accessorized the outfit with a long pearl necklace and sheer black tights for a holiday cocktail party. I liked the dress so much that I recently purchased one that is very similar. You won't go wrong renting this dress for a party or date. It is perfection.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
March 14, 2013
The dress is pretty but way too tight. It does not hang like in the picture. Gave me pancake boob
very pretty
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 10, 2013
Perfect combination of sexy and classy!!!!
I rented this dress for my low key 26th birthday night out! Loved the fit and was very comfortable the entire evening. I received lots of compliments on how "sexy" the dress was!!! To sum it up...no matter what the occasion you can't go wrong renting this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 8, 2013
Perfect for a winter bridal shower
I really liked this dress. I ordered it at the last minute for a bridal shower in Rhode Island in early March so only one size (one up from my normal) was available. I ended up wearing it with black tights and Tory Burch flats to make it a little more casual for a brunch. I would definitely recommend this dress, but maybe it's better for a night time event than a brunch. The only thing I felt was a little off about this dress is that it was a little on the short side. With tights it was totally fine, but I think I would have been uncomfortable if I had worn it with bare legs and pumps, and I am 5'6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 8, 2013
Great! Chic dress!
Fit true to size. Comfortable and classic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 28, 2013
Be careful if you have a large bust
This dress was really beautiful but unfortunately the back-up size was unavailable. I usually wear an 6/8, but a 10 probably would have given me some more space in my chest. I am a 34 DDD and this dress really squished the ladies down. Other than that it was a great dress for the wedding rehersal dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 27, 2013
Lots of compliments, all night long!
It is short- but paired with black tights or dark hose it is traditional enough for a night wedding in the fall. It is very comfortable and forgiving through the midsection and perfect for a newly pregnant lady (or anyone that needs a little help hiding their midsection, for that matter)!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
February 25, 2013
It was perfect for the beach wedding. I am in this dress in my Save the Dates!
a little shorter than I had hoped
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 11, 2013
Gorgeous dress - lace is lovely in person & the navy/black combo is elegant
Runs true to size - would recommend ordering 1 size up. It is a loose fit but it is short.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 6, 2013
Pretty dress, runs really small and is really short.
I am usually a size 10 and ordered sizes 10 and 12 and neither one of them fit! Even if they had fit, the dress would have been really short. It wasn't right for my hourglass figure but would be great with a straighter body type. Although I wasn't able to wear this dress, I have had success with other rentals, and I sent it back within 24 hours and got an RTR credit and I will definitely rent again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 1, 2013
Loved this dress.
I wore it to go see Wicked with my husband. Great dress for the winter.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 8, 2013
Wore this dress to a wedding and got loads of compliments on it - I'd totally rent it again.
The dress seems to run true to size - the arms and bust fit perfectly. I have wide hips, so the interior lining posed a little problem as it was quite fitted and didn't stretch. I had the size 4 which fit perfectly up top but too tight on the bottom and so I went with my back-up size 6. Overall loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
January 2, 2013
Loved this dress!
Absolutely loved this dress. I usually wear an 8 or 10 and wore the 12 in this dress but only because I don't feel comfortable in tight fitting dresses. The 10 fit but was a little fit in the hips but just enough for me to wear the 12 that was a lil big but much more comfortable. Another dress I wish I could keep or buy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 29, 2012
I got many compliments for looking put together but it was so easy to do bc the dress is so pretty!
The fit was a little snug on top even with the size 6, but its such a flattering style and with black tights and black suede wedges you look so put together. I wore this to a bridal shower and while I was the only one in black I felt great because the lace makes you feel a little more girly and pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable dress! Great fit and got several compliments throughout the night!
I ordered sizes 0 and 2, and wore the size 2 for length purposes. I'm 5'4 and typically wear a size 2, so this dress was perfect for my height and size. It was comfortable and beautiful-- perfect for a formal fall wedding. I would definitely wear this again!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
December 18, 2012
Very elegant and cute!
I absolutely love all Shoshanna dresses, and if you have ever worn on of her dresses this one fits true to size. It was very cute and fitted perfectly. The combination of a mini dress with long sleeves is a great look! It was a comfortable dress to wear the entire night!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 9, 2012
Great experience, pretty dress!
The ease of renting with Rent The Runway was fantastic. The dress came in two sizes and looked cute in both. I went with the 2, which was a bit short, but I am 5'8''
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2012
Disappointment...
Unfortunately this was my first RTR miss - the dress is definitely not suited to more hippy hourglass / pear shaped bodies, as it's snug at the hips but doesn't emphasize the waist at all. I own several Shoshanna dresses in a Size 2 but even in a Size 4 this dress felt snug (especially on the arms), and I found it to be very short even on my 5 ft 5" frame. Also it sort of squashes your boobs in a less than flattering way. Unfortunate miss but if you do decide to rent it I would definitely recommend sizing up.
See more reviews:
1 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×