Shoshanna

Lace Boatneck Back Dress

$75 rental
$360 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look prim and proper in this elegant Shoshanna black lace dress. Add some bright heels to bring it up a notch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''. )

Product Details

Black floral lace over navy. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
105 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(83)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 31, 2014
Wore this dress to a fall wedding & received many, MANY compliments!!
This dress is the perfect "go to" cocktail dress. It's great for anything from a more conservative event to a sexy party dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2011
LOVED the dress, perfect fit and it looked great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 14, 2010
Gave me a cute and girly silhouette despite a sacky shape. Wore it with flats for day and ski high platforms for night and LOVED every second
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2010
Love the dress so much that I've rented it twice! Very comfortable and surprisingly flattering, despite the looser fit. Received tons of compliments both times I wore it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
December 8, 2010
If you have a chest the dress is sexier and cuter than it appears. I could have worn a size down but the loose fit is adorable.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 28, 2011
This dress is beautiful! And, very flattering on someone who recently had a baby! I received many compliments and my husband loved it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
March 14, 2011
wore this to an afternoon affair..it was perfect. I rented the size 2 and 4 as I can be either size. The 2 fit perfectly..the 4 was a little boxy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 14, 2011
Amazing dress. It fit so well and looked really cute. I got MANY compliments wearing this around NYC.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2011
Felt classic and beautiful. And never has lace been so comfortable.
Wore this dress to my office holiday party, and it is timeless. The lace is beautiful--you can really see the detail in the sleeves. It's a comfortable dress as well. I wore it for evening with black tights, black pumps and gold necklaces, but also has great potential for a bridal shower or spring wedding with a bright-colored skinny belt or colorful jewelry. Love it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 22, 2012
the most perfect dress!
wore this to a semi-formal wedding and it was perfect. very comfortable and fit like a glove. only issue is i'm quite tall and it was a bit short but not an inappropriate length. definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 28, 2014
LOVE, would totally buy this dress in a hearbeat! Perfect dress for any occasion!
This dress fits perfectly, I am 5'2 so it is hard to find dresses that aren't too long. This dress was perfect in length hit a few inches above the knee. so a little on the shorter side but not too short. The dress looks totally different than it does on the model. It is much more flattering and a little fitted.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2010
This dress is very cute and I would definately have worn it if i was going to a dinner.. but I like to dance at weddings and if you lift up your arms in this dress you would see well EVERYTHING ... very short. I'm 5'3" so i would think this would be really short if your tall. If you are not going to be lifting up your arm.. a great choice. The size 4 and 2 fit exactly the same so i couldn't tell much difference in size.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2011
This dress was absolutely wonderful! I wore it to a fall wedding and received many compliments on it; it would also be great to wear to any holiday party as well. It fit perfectly, true to size, covering up any arm imperfections because of the lace and the A-line form can hide a stomach. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat- it was beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2012
Gorgeous back-up dress
This is a very cute dress and was ordered as a back-up. At the time, I was a bit confused about sizing and was unsure about what length to expect, given my longish legs and short waist. Normally a 2-4, I ordered this in a 6 by mistake. Having said all that, I would have worn this to a less formal occasion and would have added a thin belt, as this has a rather boxy cut. If you are long waisted, with even proportions, I would say this dress as is, is a hit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 17, 2012
Lace, lace, lace. Sexy but ladylike.
I absolutely loved this dress. It did not flare out as much as the photograph makes it appear. It was very flattering and I had several people ask me where I got it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
I wore this for my high school graduation and I got so many compliments. I felt like a fashionista.
The fit was perfect. I always get one size smaller because dresses like to run big on me, but this was perfect. One problem I had was that is was a little hard to lift my arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2012
Lovely.
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. It was perfect. It was pretty dressy. There was one spot that was picked, but it was easily hidden.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 1, 2013
Loved this dress.
I wore it to go see Wicked with my husband. Great dress for the winter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 8, 2013
Great! Chic dress!
Fit true to size. Comfortable and classic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 8, 2013
Perfect for a winter bridal shower
I really liked this dress. I ordered it at the last minute for a bridal shower in Rhode Island in early March so only one size (one up from my normal) was available. I ended up wearing it with black tights and Tory Burch flats to make it a little more casual for a brunch. I would definitely recommend this dress, but maybe it's better for a night time event than a brunch. The only thing I felt was a little off about this dress is that it was a little on the short side. With tights it was totally fine, but I think I would have been uncomfortable if I had worn it with bare legs and pumps, and I am 5'6.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 26, 2013
Overall ok
It was a nice alternative for a night out, however, I wasn't totally impressed with this dress. I am busty (32G) and always have trouble to find something that comfortably fits my upper body. This dress wasn't the exception because it was too tight for my upper body and too loose for my waist and hips. I didn't find it very flattering but still received compliments :).
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
June 17, 2013
Love this easy black lace number. Perfect for my friends rehearsal dinner.
This dress is pretty short, but I prefer a sleeve and to show a little leg. :) I went with the larger size for length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 7, 2013
Lace LOVE!
Wore this to a business semi/formal event...tons of compliments. Classic look!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
December 6, 2013
pretty but....
Pretty but it ended up being shorter & tighter than I wanted for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2014
Loved it!
Based on reviews, i was between a 2 and a 4 and so glad i went with the 4--it was perfectly fitted but with just the right amount of room for a shift. And the length was great--just short enough to make my legs look great but not so short i was worried about flashing anyone. Tons of compliments all night, super comfortable, and i felt great. Would order again in a heartbeat!
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×