Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Lace and Love Dress

$39 rental
$435 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel flirty and elegant in this lace one shoulder dress by Shoshanna. Great for a work event, charity gala, or a romantic date night. Pair with a classic bracelet like the Ciner's Classic Clear Stone Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; lace overlay conceals midsection and waist
HIPS: Fitted - pleated skirt is loosely fitted over hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; lace overlay conceals midsection and waist
HIPS: Fitted - pleated skirt is loosely fitted over hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. One shoulder neckline with cap sleeve. Scallop edge hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

230 reviews

Fit
Small 6
True to Size 104
Large 117
Photos 75
Makenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 11, 2011

I got incredible compliments on this dress. Everyone really loved it, and I did too!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely love this dress! It was prefect for my sorority semi-formal. It is so flattering. However, it does run big. I almost didn't believe the other reviews, but it does run really big. I wore the 4 and I usually wear a 6.
A
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Jan 1, 2012

my dresses came with a new years party hat, perfume samples, garment bag and return envelope.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first experience with rtr and it was great!! I wore the dress on new years eve and loved it! The dress is a lot prettier in person and was super comfortable. It was a tiny bit big in the top, but fairly true to size. Excited to rent again!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

My dress stood out from an array of sparkly and/or tight black dresses.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a formal NYE party. It was beautifully made and very flattering. Be sure to size down as it runs large.
sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 20, 2012

Great dress for a 2 year anniversary celebration

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for my 2 year anniversary dinner. The lace is much prettier in person. I rented a 2 and 4 and I was able to wear the 2. It definitely runs large and the elastic waistband was a plus during the dinner. The dress was very simple and classic and I'd definitely recommend it for a dinner date or upscale-casual event.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 28, 2012

loved lace detail

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this one shoulder lace dress two weddings on the same night in February and it was perfect. I am a big fan of Shoshanna dresses, they are my go to for every occasion. I received so many complements at both weddings!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Apr 20, 2012

Arrived earlier than expected and I couldn't believe I got it for an extra day free of charge :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was extremely pleased with this dress and would definitely recommend it to others. I received so many compliments and it was super comfortable yet sexy at the same time. I loved this dress and I would definitely rent it again! I rented a size 8 and 6 and wore the 8. The 6 fit me better from the waist down and the 8 was better from the waist up. I went with the 8 for comfort.
Casey
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 2, 2012

Everyone kept telling me how elegant I looked, it was really the perfect dress for the occasion!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! It ran a bit big on top, but it was still really comfortable overall.
Sonya Wright
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Feeling sophisticated and professional.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was the coordinator for a friend's wedding, so I needed a classy/comfortable dress and I found a winner. I wasn't happy that I had to wear a purple flower over such a great dress, but nothing could hide its beauty.
Lianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Got many compliments on this one!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was very very pleased with this dress. Definitely get a size smaller than you think you would wear. It was super comfortable which is huge for me because I love to dance and move around especially at weddings! I didn't need to wear a bra but you could definitely wear a regular strapless if you like. I added a pink flower pin on the side because I wanted a little dash of color since I was also wearing black shoes. I would definitely recommend this little black dress!
Cate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

I felt incredibly comfortable and happy in this dress- it has great details with the lace and one-shoulder, and I felt like I could go anywhere without constantly worrying if it was too tight/short/going to slip down. My girlfriends took me to dinner and a drag show for my bachelorette party, so I wanted to look hot but not compete with the Queens! It was perfect

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm usually between an 2 and 4 depending on brand, but 2 fit perfectly here- not too tight. It was also a good length - I felt hot but not like I was in danger of flashing everyone!
Ingrid
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Apple
Aug 17, 2012

My RTR unforgettable moment was feeling beautiful in the dress the whole night. People was just looking at us when we were walking down the street.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I'm a first time renter & this was the dress I ordered. But I can honestly say I was very happy with it. It does run large for its size, so instead of wearing a size 8, I wore a size 6. It was definitely a better fit for me. One thing I love about this dress was the detailing of the lace!
Kassie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Being able to wear such a well made dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is classic, sophisticated, and truly the perfect LBD. It was extremely comfortable and I received many compliments. Based on previous reviews stating that the dress runs large, I ordered both the size 0 and 2. I normally wear a size 2 but ended up wearing the 0, which fit perfectly.
jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 1, 2012

great dress...so many compliments. This was my first RTR experience, and it was so easy and fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs big. I normally wear a 6, which is usually just a little bit big on me, but I have wide hips...so a size 4 is sometimes a little snug. Since all the reviews suggested to get the second dress one size down, I ordered the 6 and 4. I ended up wearing the 4, and even that was a little bit big on me, especially in the bust, but nothing a little double sided tape couldn't fix. I got so many compliments on this dress, and it is super comfortable to wear!
Alix
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Sep 10, 2012

My boyfriend made my 23rd birthday so amazing and unforgettable. I had no idea we were going to the Big Apple, let alone getting to see one of my favorite books on shown on Broadway. RTR helped me look fabulous and helped start my 23rd year off right!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress is very lovely! The pictures really don't do it justice. It was super comfortable but still made me feel like a million bucks! My boyfriend completely surprised me with a trip to NYC and great tickets to see Wicked on Broadway for my birthday. We looked amazing and had a great time, the dress was perfect for the occasion and I was very pleased with it. The dress definitely runs a little big. The picture is a little blurry!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 10, 2012

I had 3 people I know not recognize me!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so comfortable. I got the 10 and 12. The 10 also fit but was a little short waisted making the waist of the dress angle up toward my right shoulder. So I went with the 12. The dress also has a little bit of give so if you're going to an event where you actually want to eat and still feel good in your dress this is it! I loved it and wanted to keep it. :) I have broad shoulders so I often have trouble getting dressed that fit on the bottom and that I can also zip all the way up. The one shoulder helped a lot.
Nicole
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Sep 20, 2012

Arrived so quickly and I loved how I felt in the dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great! I have a smaller chest so I had to fashion tape the top, but overall I loved this dress and would definitely rent it again.
Clare
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2012

Perfect wedding dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a black tie optional wedding over Labor Day. The dress came in perfect condition and fit great! It was one of the most comfortable formal dresses I've ever worn. I would definitely recommend sizing down in this!
Lis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

All the compliments I got made me feel incredible!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental ever, and it went off without a hitch. The dress was beautiful, the lace detailing amazing, especially on the shoulder. It was an LBD with a little flair. The dress definitely runs a little big. I am usually an 8 in dresses and I wore the 6 in this. I was a little nervous that the poufiness of the bottom of the skirt would make my hips look bigger, but the gathering in the mid section actually made my waist look smaller. My one complaint was that the boning popped out of the side of the dress a bit, but since it wasn't a form fitting dress it didn't bother me too much. It was also great for dancing!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2012

I loved it. My favorite dress I've ever rented on here. Very flattering and lots of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly, flattering in every sense of the word, loved it
Shira
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

This dress made me feel like a million bucks, it was playful and slimming but also very comfortable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Several women have mentioned that the dress runs large, I usually wear an 8 or 10 in dresses so I found that it ran true to size. It was a bit shorter than I would have liked but was otherwise perfect for the Sunday evening wedding I had to attend.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Oct 17, 2012

I wore this for my sorority's pref night during recruitment and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I LOVED THIS DRESS! It was flattering, interesting, very pretty and feminine, and I felt beautiful in it. I cannot suggest this dress enough.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous in person due to the detail of the lace and its flattering shape! It does run large so make sure you take that into consideration, also have to be careful of jewelry catching on the lace. Nonetheless I absolutely loved this dress and wish it could stay in my closet!
marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress ran large for sure. I am usually a 4 or 6 in a dress and I wore this dress in a size 2 which fit perfectly. I got a ton of complements on how classy this dress was. The lace is very high quality and even though I am petite the length was perfect. It's not form fitting at all but I preferred something comfortable and conservative for this work event. The process was so easy and people were amazed at the fact that I rented such a beautiful dress. This was my first time renting but definately not my last.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 30, 2012

Perfect LBD for NYE!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years Eve and loved it! I found the dress to be the perfect length, and I was comfortable all night. It was my first RTR experience, but certainly not my last.
Michaela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

I got a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It fit great, and was so comfortable. It was the last day of summer, so I thought it was the perfect dress for the time of year.
Devon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding and could not have looked better! The dress I originally ordered did not work so I called in desperation and this one was sent overnight but all they had was size 8. I am normally a 10, so with fingers crossed I tried it on when I got it and was thrilled! I got so many compliments I lost count and even turned some women on to RTR (love getting the credits for referrals). I would def rent this one again!
Lizzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

Great for holiday party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly, was the right length and showed off some curves
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Gorgeous dress - super flattering, easy to wear and I felt great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is gorgeous - it's really well tailored and is very pretty. It's quite short but I think that's ok because it's quite conservative up top. I wore it to my husband's work Christmas party and I felt great. I love the fact that it's not clingy, so it was great for a dinner! It does run big, I normally wear an 8 or a 10 but I read the other reviews and ordered down, and I'm glad I did, because I ended up wearing the 6. I loved this dress!
Parker
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Perfect dress for anyone

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect for any formal occasion. I wore this dress to my high school homecoming dance. The dress fit perfectly on my body and was easy to dance in as well. Dress does run large, I usually wear a four or a six but the size two of this dress fit me. I was nervous about the lace sleeve hanging off but I did not notice it all evening.
Natty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

Black Tie Night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as my backup dress and ended up wearing it since my first choice didn't fit me well. The dress was really beautiful - I absolutely love the lace and the one shoulder was classy but sexy at the same time. The dress, in my opinion, was true to size. I wore the size four and it fit me just right.
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

Beautiful dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented to wear to an evening wedding and ordered a size 6 and 8. I didn't read the fine print which is my fault where it says it runs a little big. I put the size 6 on and it fit perfect, it was a little big and think that a size 4 might have worked a little better but it was still comfortable. It was easy to get in to, and I wore a black bra with one strap which made me feel more comfortable. I received many compliments and felt beautiful. Would definitely rent again.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 18, 2014

I received compliments galore!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit extremely well, everything was great!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to my husbands 10 year class reunion. Perfect for a summer night in Atlanta. Lace is very soft and the one shoulder was an eye-catching extra without being flashy.
Jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Great LBD that has something extra

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the first time used RTR and it was great! Fast delivery and impressed. It fit great and was in good conition. I got lots of compliments and was really comfortable. I'll be back again!!
Elaine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Very easy process, and SO convenient. The reviews really helped me find the right size/style.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super flattering, great fit. I probably could have gone with the 6, but I was going to a dinner party so I decided to wear the 8.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 3, 2014

I was a bridesmaid in a wedding and told to wear any black dress I chose.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was such a fun dress to wear! I knew i wanted something with a little oomph to it instead of just a plain LBD. I received tons of compliments on the dress, it was super comfortable, and I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Dec 3, 2014

Nice-fitting, feminine dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a friend's big 30th Birthday party and it was great for that. I have larger hips and am smaller on top, and I thought this dress was perfect for my body type, fit-wise. I danced for hours and was comfortable most of the night, though towards the end, the boning was starting to poke me. I also didn't have to wear a bra with it (I'm 36C), which I loved! I don't know if I would rent this again - I thought it was pretty in real life, but it didn't really look like anything special in photos. Overall, glad that I Rented The Runway!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Awkward fit

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Too large in the top. Draped weirdly on me. I would recommend trying this one on beforehand if you have access to an RTR showroom location.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 15, 2015

Loved the pattern and overall style.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Couldn't wear the dress because it was way too big in the bodice (ordered a 4 and 6).
Sarah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 27, 2015

Cute dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little short but still had fun wearing it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×