Shoshanna

Jacquard Pleated Bodice Dress

$31 to buy
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Shoshanna's Pleated Bodice Strapless Dress cuts a striking cocktail silhouette. Pair with bold accessories for a high volume look. Shown here with Chamak's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - for smaller busts, consider sizing down in back-up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice
HIPS: Not fitted - tulip skirt has some room in hips though curvy women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning to support bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black silk jacquard. Sweetheart neckline. Pleating detail on bodice. Built in bustier for support. Gathered skirt. Hidden back zip. 26" from top of bodice to hem.

Share
64 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 8, 2014
Great for a night out
Fits true to size. Pretty comfortable ...I loved that it had pockets. The inside lining has wiring so it has a lot of support so I didn't have to wear a strapless bra!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 20, 2014
Simple LBD, perfect for a night out!
This dress runs large- I usually wear a 2 and went with the 0. But it's very comfortable, has an extra clasp inside the dress to keep it from shifting and sliding down- which I loved!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
July 25, 2014
Unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress to my event, but it's a great dress!
It was tight in the bust (I'm a 34D) and slightly longer than I wanted (I'm 5'3"). I was so sad I couldn't wear it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2014
Loved this dress! Little big in the top though.
I wore a 4, but it was a little big for the top- I have a small top and bigger bottom so, not sure if any size of this dress would have worked- dont recommend for anyone pear shaped. But it was beautiful- just wish it was a tad tighter up top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 2, 2014
Loved this dress and customer service is incredible!
After being sick for a few months and not realizing I went down a dress size I was in a panic when I received my dresses and both were too big. The 4 could have worked but it was rather large in the bust and I was concerned about a stain on the front of it. I emailed customer service and they over nighted me a smaller size free of charge as well as gave me free samples of a shampoo and conditioner. The dress I received was perfect and seemed like brand new. One of my favorite rentals for sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 22, 2014
Great dress, wish they had my size
The fit of this dress would have been perfect if they had the 6 I originally ordered. The top and middle was a bit big so I had to keep pulling it up. Thankfully I have a large chest so that helped. The pockets were great. It was difficult getting in and out of cabs as the dress was a bit tight around the mid thigh area when I walked, or tried to get in a cab. Nothing crazy tho. I rented it for a party in the city and I had no other options so I did use some safety pins. I just wasnt as comfortable as I would have been in the 6. My second time renting, not as happy as the first time, but the customer service was excellent, they tried. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 26, 2014
Great "little black dress" for cocktail event!
Dress was a little large in the bust, but everything else for perfect! Loved that it had pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 22, 2014
I loved the neckline in this dress, the soft detail of the bust
So this dress is only4 Stars Because it arrived damaged, the part of the dress that should snap inside the zipped for better support was broken and torn. I did without it because I was at a wedding thousands of miles from home and honestly didn't feel like redoing my look. I would highly recommend this dress as long as it's not damaged. The fabric is very light and silky, a great look overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2011
This dress is an easy win! It's flattering to a small bust and forgiving of the hips. Also, it's slightly softer and floatier than it looks in the photo -- which I liked!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2011
So cute and simple. Wouldn't have any complaints except that some of the boning in the bodice was coming out. Thankfully the dress wasn't too tight so it didn't hurt but that's definitely something that should've been fixed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
June 8, 2015
It was so incredibly comfortable and flattering. Absolutely loved wearing it!
The fabric was cool, which helped during the hotter parts of the day. The bustier type top was very flattering and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 8, 2010
Timely arrival of dresses, fit specialists and customer service reps are ALWAYS friendly and available for questions, and the free extra size is a HUGE bonus!
LOVED this dress! It fit wonderfully and concealed any post-baby lumps I might have around my midsection! ;) I paired it with a gold leather belt and gold and black chandelier earrings. Dress was comfortable and I felt like it was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 2, 2012
Many events to attend during the holidays in Austin and getting a fab dress w/o having to buy!
Structured like a bustier top, some people may not have needed to wear a bra but I was in between sizes and went up a size to avoid looking squeezed in. With the larger size I needed help holding up the dress so I wore a strapless bra with it. Got so many compliments and felt comfortable and elegant all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
November 19, 2013
This dress has POCKETS.
The bodice is a bit tight, there is boning... but the waist is high enough that I could breathe and not have to worry about the muffin-top effect. Simple and elegant. A bit hard to dance in, the leg opening is small. So as long as you aren't "getting down" you're good to go!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 18, 2010
I was absolutly so happy with this dress. I was very nervous about renting it, but it fit amazingly and really flattered my body. It is definitely a very flattering dress and I would recomend it to those who have an hourglass figure.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2011
It's a great black dress for any occasion. And the pockets are a big plus. Like other reviewers said, this dress runs large. I normally wear an 8 and the 6 was almost too big.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Age: 40
November 7, 2011
I was not a fan of this dress. Neither of the sizes I ordered fit :( In the picture it looks like it is a very structured dress not so much when I actually saw it in person.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
Overall solid black dress
I am between a 2 and 4, mostly wear 2s and this fit perfectly, not too tight at all. it's not as shiny as the picture looks, more of a muted shine, almost cottony black. overall, a very solid little black dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 13, 2012
Dress was a great addition to my night
Runs a little large. I could almost go into a 0. It was comfortable and very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2012
Tons of compliments!
I rented the 8 and the 10. The 8 would have fit, but the boning was broken and it felt like wearing a medieval tourture device. I ended up wearing the 10 and taping the dress to me and adding a sating braided belt to help keep it up. Got lots of compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2012
Great fit and comfortable!
I loved the extra inner support, no need to wear a bra and it stayed up the whole night! The color and pattern on the dress is even more pretty in person. Loved this dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 9, 2013
I loved the dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding I attended.
I thought that I was a size 10 but I'm so happy because I found I lost weight. I fit the size 8, which came with the size 10 dress, with room to spare. I really loved the fact that there was extra security in the bosom area since I'm like an A cup and had to use breast enhancers to fill out the front! lol I'm 5'10" with an athletic build and this dress was the perfect length and suit my body just fine! Thanks Rent the Runway!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2013
I rented this last minute for my own birthday party and was psyched with my RTR experience.
This dress is a little less formal than I initially thought from the photos but still works perfectly as your Friday night "little black dress" which was exactly what I was aiming for. My boyfriend loved it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 17, 2014
Super comfortable and had pockets!
Really comfortable dress and for the most part it fit true to size. I however, have a fairly small bust and tend to be a dancing machine. I did have to keep pulling the top up to keep it from slipping to my waist. I didn't get a back up size but I think that the 0 might have fit me better.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×