Shoshanna

Its My Birthday Dress

$50 rental
$330 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

It's My Birthday Dress by Shoshanna is the perfect dress for any birthday party, work event, or shopping day with the girls.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- size up for more room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- size up for more room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Magenta stretch ottoman. Boat neckline. V back. Cap sleeves. Pleated skirt. Exposed back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

95 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 82
Large 8
Photos 36
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 8, 2010

It was the perfect dress for my "pink" bridal shower! I love looking at pictures from the shower because of how great this dress looks in all of the pics.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing and I received many compliments on it. I wore it for my bridal shower and it was the perfect choice! Definitely a great day or night dress! Shoshanna is one of my favorite designers to rent because her dresses just fit, and are extremely flattering. I've never had a bad rental with this designer!
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134 lbs
Jul 19, 2011

Shoshanna is one of my new favorite designers! Without RTR I would have never discovered such a fabulous designer. I have already rented another Shoshanna dress and it fit just as perfectly as this one did.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
love love love!!! fit great. I wore it to a wedding & got so many compliments! super classy. I definitely recommend this dress! + the dress has pockets! obsessed!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 27, 2011

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Christmas party and received a ton of compliments. Super cute, fun and comfortable dress. I paired it with black tights and booties like suggested. Only the 2 was available, and I was worried that it might be too big after reading the other reveiws. It ended up fitting fine any smaller and I wouldn't be able to fit in the bust. I'm a 34C and it def was tight around that area. It was a little big in the waist though so if you're small busted def size down. Overall it was a great party dress.
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

Loved getting the NYE headband in my package - such a cute surprise!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a "Mad Men" themed NYE party. It was perfect! I'm normally a 6 and wore the 6 with tights and pearls as shown in the photo. My back-up size was a 4 which I found to be too short (I'm 5'11) and tight in the armpits. I think this dress is universally flattering. You can wear a normal bra and it has pockets!
PD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Jan 15, 2012

I got a ton of compliments the whole night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was worried since I didn't get a back-up size 4 but it fit perfectly. I wore this for a night of dinner and drinks and the dress was super comfortable yet stylish and the pockets were great! The cut is definitely universally flattering and it's a beautiful color.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 31, 2012

Such an easy process to receive and send back the dresses!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for my bridal shower. The color made me stand out and photographed beautifully. The fit was comfortable but classic and chic. Everyone asked me where I got the dress and I told them all about RTR!
Shohreh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 26, 2012

In the ladies room at the party venue a stranger came up to me and told me she absolutely loved my look.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The color and fit of this dress were absolutely amazing, though I will say it ran big. I normally wear a 2 or 4 in dresses and I ended up wearing the 0 (it just so happened RTR was out of the 4 on the day I needed to rent so I had the 0 as a back up size - thank goodness!). I wore this for a 60s theme/Mad Men-esque party and it was so fun to dance in. My only complaint is that the material of the dress wrinkles very easily. It actually came very wrinkled so I tried to wet iron it. DO NOT DO THIS. The dress got all splotchy and I had to have it dry cleaned. RTR offered to cover my dry cleaning expenses though - another example of their sparkling customer service. Overall, another great RTR experience in a dress that made me feel gorgeous.
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 7, 2012

Loved wearing this! Got lots of compliments.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for valentine's day and it was perfect. I ordered the 6 and 8 and I went with the six. I would say it runs true to size but size up if you have a fuller bust. I loved it!
Carey
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 10, 2012

A very happy day complimented by a great dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first experience of RTR and I loved every second of it. The dress fit perfectly and worked well for a colorful look for my bridal shower. I am not a big shopper and loved the ease of RTR. Delivery was timely and the return was so easy. I loved it so much, I also ordered my bachelorette party and rehearsal dinner dresses from RTR!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

My friends all loved the dress. I thought it looked very fun but they assured me it had a "sexy" look to it too. :-) RTR was great to work with! My backup size was no longer available (recently damaged) so they allowed to select ANY other dress in the shop that was still available, regardless of price, as my back up and still had it all to me the next day! GREAT service!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to the opening of my portrait studio and think it's a beautiful dress! Color is great! My only complaint was that I'm short waisted and the dress puckered a bit below my chest as a result. Still loved it though!
Sarah Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

The perfect dress for a Fall wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was the perfect color for a fall wedding. I received multiple compliments and it fit very well. I usually wear a 6-8 and the 6 fit perfectly!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Perfection. Classy, sassy and ready to dance!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Being smaller chested, the top fit me perfectly. Bigger busted girls might find it a bit snug across the girls. I LOVED the deep-V in the back with the exposed zipper. It gave this otherwise sweet and classy dress a bit of a sassy edge. The color and fabric are gorgeous, and the skirt is perfect to twirl and spin on the dance floor. I received compliments all night--and well into the next week after the Facebook pictures went up, of course. I also wore the kate spade new york accessories Heavenly Cluster necklace. And finally--my bestie in the picture is wearing another RTR, (which I wore the week previously at another wedding), and she LOVED it and looked beautiful. Thanks again, RTR!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Compliments the whole night on how beautiful the dress was and how perfect it fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a size 4 and backup size 6 but wore the 4. It fit like a glove. If anything the bust was slightly a tad too tight but I also have a larger bust. Overall though, LOVED it.
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 10, 2012

Love this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress! It was so comfortable and I got so many compliments on it. The color was beautiful and the fit was perfect.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

This dress was very flattering, very comfortable and a good length for a short girl.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a great choice for a party or semi-formal wedding. It was very comfortable and a lovely color. This dress manages to give you a nice shape without starving you for oxygen. In addition, I was very happy to have a dress hit above the knee for a change as I am a shorter girl. This dress ran true to size and you could wear it with any type of undergarment with this dress. This is a keeper ladies. I did not see any flaws with this dress and I would rent it again if it were appropriate for the occasion.
Jessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 20, 2012

Realizing that the smaller size fit and I didn't have to use a backup dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a size 6 in dresses, but ordered the size 8 as well (just in case). The 6 fit perfectly and the Derby party was great!
Sharon
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner I attended. I received multiple compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Overall fit true to size. The dress was a little snug in the chest area (I am a 32C normally) but it was still wearable.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 14, 2012

Gorgeous color, great fit and perfect dress for my birthday!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for my birthday and it was very flattering! I had read many reviews so I had high hopes. When I saw the dress in person, you could tell that it had been worn, but it didn't look bad. I think the dress looks even better in photos than it does in person. I normally wear between a 4 and a 6, and I chose the 4 in this dress. I think you could wear this dress anywhere!
Hayley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Dec 28, 2012

This dress gave me the conservative but trendy look that I was hoping for!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my family engagement dinner for everyone to meet each other. I love the dress because it is so simple and you can wear some really fun jewelry with it!! I wore this with black tights and black booties and it really was a cute, conservative look.
Pilar
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 29, 2012

Hugged my curves just right, Great Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this look for my spring wedding shower. It fit so well and I received a ton of compliments. Great for girls who may want to hide something on the bottom!
Janel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised that this dress came with pockets! The dress was a littls small but meh.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my Bridal Shower and was sad when I had to return it. I wish I had a picture of me standing in it but I attached my favorite one instead. That is my sister hamming it up in the background.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 19, 2013

easy, flattering, and a great color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a flattering and easy look for a fall wedding. I wore it with black tights, heels, and a chunky necklace. I loved it !
J. Storm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 27, 2013

Cute Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my birthday, it was a little short for me but I have very long legs so I always feel dresses are a bit shorter then they need to be. It was comfortable I I love the color. I would rent it again!
Courtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Apr 1, 2013

pretty color, nice fit, flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I can imagine this would be tight for bigger-chested girls -but worked well for me ;-)
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 10, 2013

Not flattering for girls with ANY cuve

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't wear this dress - it was my back up. I really wanted to love it, but as you can see from the two photos, it's not flattering on the waist because it falls on the hips. The color is beautiful, but the dress i got was badly warn, and it wasn't flattering. highly recommend this dress for a size 0-2, and about 5'8" +
Madison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Apr 19, 2013

I felt royal in this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress definitely was true to size. It would also look great with an embellished belt!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

This dress was very comfortable!!! I really enjoyed the pockets and just how the dress flowed.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable and a really nice purple color. Received a lot of compliments =)
Alana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

All of the party guests were amazed that I rented the dress and that it looked and fit perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. Being in NJ, the fabric was warm for the outside event. I typically wear a 6 or an 8, and after reading the reviews, I decided on the 6, which fit perfectly. Although I have large boobs, 34DD, they fit in the dress fine.
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 26, 2013

Fun dress for a party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress, and I was pleased with the fit. Given that I have a top-heavy body type, I was surprised at how much room the the bust area had. Could be an issue for smaller women. Overall a hit!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove. I wore the larger size as the smaller size fit but was a bit too short for the wedding I was attending. Overall, a beautiful dress.
JPA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

A little snug!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented two different dresses for a wedding and ended up not wearing this one. It's a super cute dress, but it was a little snug along the bust line so I went with my other option.
Arlene
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 7, 2013

Great dress, great color, and great fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall the dress was perfect. I ordered this dress for a wedding and it was true to size. The color is really nice too and the length was perfect for me. Plus the dress has pockets which was awesome since I could take my phone with me and snap random pictures on the dance floor.
Trish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 26, 2013

Classy and sophisticated. Perfect for business.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress for a conference and it's very classy and sophisticated. My only qualm was the fabric stains with water. I got a water drop on it and tried to iron it out but it left a slight ring. Other than that, the dress is way appropriate and great for weddings, showers and business functions.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

Loved this dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size. I little on the short size for me since I am tall (5'8") but overall it worked out fine
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Oct 4, 2013

Beautifully made and has pockets!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this for church ceremony. The color really pops in pictures
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 8, 2013

Cute dress for the occasion!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress last minute, because I was invited to a bachelorette party at the last second. Unfortunately I was not able to order my normal size (8) so I requested a 6 and 10 hoping that the 6 would fit. I couldn't get it zipped up all the way so I had to settle for the 10. The fit was okay, I wish it fit a bit tighter, but it was probably because I had no choice but the larger size. The length was great, and the color matched perfectly with a pair of heels I had purchased from Payless for work. I wore it with black tights, the colored heels and a black cardigan because it was a bit chilly. I was a bit overdressed for the group I was with, but I fit perfectly in with the crowd at the party we attended after dinner at the Children's Museum.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 10, 2013

Conservative, yet fun look

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding and I really loved it. I am normally between a 4 and 6. I ordered both sizes and ended up wearing the 4. It fit like a glove. This dress is very flattering and there was no need to worry about any trouble spots. I'm 5/2 and it hit about an inch above the knee. I wore a regular bra. The dress is comfortable and the color is gorgeous. I received quite a few compliments and felt totally comfortable to dance the night away.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 27, 2013

I was too tall!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was beautiful, and made me feel great, but it was way too short for me. Couldn't wear.
Katherine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Mar 18, 2014

got a lot of compliments at a rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
great color and fabric
Ayla
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

The Perfect Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear for an Easter event and I absolutely loved it! I typically wear a size 8, but it fit a little bit loose in the back. I'm glad I rented the dress a size down because it fit like a glove! The fabric is heavy so I didn't have to worry about it flying in the wind (as I tend to do when wearing this type of silhouette). The color is vibrant and true to the picture. The dress is easy to accessorize. The only problem I had with the dress was that it was a tad bit wrinkled when I received it, and it was hard getting those wrinkles out. It wasn't too big of a deal for me though. Overall, I was very happy with this choice and would rent it again as my go-to dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×