Shoshanna

Hayley Lace Ruched Shift

$79 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Take center stage with this adorable Shoshanna ruched sleeve dress. With its gray lace detailing and shift style, you'll be the talk of the party. Step up your look by pairing the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Product Details

Grey floral lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(300)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
November 14, 2012
This dress is beuatiful and is very grey-purple. I loved the details of the lace.
I am 5'11". For that reason, the dress was way too short on me. I ended up wearing flats because heels almost seemed scandalous. Take note of the model in the photo - the dress was that short. I typically wear a 6, and I wore the 8 because it was a bit longer. I couldn't lift my arms! That said, if I were 5'5" or shorter, I would order this dress again. I received many compliments, while I was sitting down :).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 29, 2012
Great dress for a party- not a wedding if you are tall
This was a little small, but not too small. I am 5'8 and this dress was very short on me to the point where it wasn't appropriate for a wedding. If I was going to a fun party, yes this dress would be perfect! It is super sexy and the color was this smokey ash grey.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 159lbs
December 17, 2012
perfect holiday party dress!
I usually dress pretty conservatively so I stepped a bit out of my comfort zone for this one. I wore this for a Christmas party and was able to dance without breaking a sweat. It runs a little short though so those of you who are tall like me (I'm 5' 8"), raising your arms up above your head is not an option! But it was a really comfortable dress and was told by a few people that I looked hot! I want to rent this one again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2013
I really liked this dress and it looked great on!
I ordered the 2 and the 4. The 2 fit me perfectly except it was way too short. Thankfully the 4 was a good fit and didn't look too big on me and was a bit longer so I didn't feel exposed. :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
January 14, 2013
I rented this for our wedding shower. It was perfect; i felt good and i got so many compliments!
I joined RTR but hadnt rented a dress until i got a promo coupon for my birthday and figured why not?! I found this super cute dress and it arrived right on time. The 10, which i normally wear, was a bit tight and very short. The 12 fit well but had a rip on the sleeve. I went with the 12 and luckily because its lace, the rip wasnt very noticeable. I paired it with a long gold necklace from Stella and Dot and my Michael Kors watch, plus nude heels. I felt great and it was so fun to have a "new" dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 16, 2013
Loved this dress!
This was a very easy, comfortable dress to wear to a winter wedding. I recieved so many compliments on the dress and am still getting compliments when people see the picture on my desk. I am very happy with my RTR experience!
MARIAJanuary 16, 2013
The lace makes you look sophisticated, but its just short enough to be flirty for the occasion. I dressed it up with suede pumps...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 4, 2013
The fit was incredible!
I changed into this dress after my engagement dinner for the 'after party'. The fit was awesome, I felt so comfortable and I got so many compliments in it all night! I'm looking for an excuse to rent this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 22, 2013
Not right for a pear shape
This was my backup dress for a recent formal business dinner. I rented my normal size 2 but I'm a pear and could barely pull this up over my hips. It was also way too short for a business function so I didn't end up wearing it. Pretty color though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
November 3, 2013
I was unable to wear this dress. It was too small :(
I am usually a size 10 but I was unable to zip this dress up. Sadly, I was unable to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153lbs
January 11, 2014
The dress was beautiful. In great condition. Easy to return. This was a great color, size ran small!
Ran to small and I was unable to wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 6, 2014
Cute, Versatile Dress
I rented this for one of my friend's engagement parties in January - - it was coat-and-tie attire. I wore it with a pair of black closed toe pumps and a big sparkly necklace. It was perfect for the occasion, but could easily be dressed down with a pair of ballet flats or riding boots or a more casual event. I normally can wear a 6, sometimes an 8, in most dresses (depending on the cut), but this dress narrow in the hips so I went with the 8. This may just be because I have an hourglass figure. It is pretty short so on taller girls -- watch out! I'm only 5'4 so it wasn't a problem, it was the perfect sexy length, especially if you have good legs, without being inappropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
March 8, 2014
Great customer service
I didn't end up wearing this dress because my event was cancelled. But this dress is very short! The 8 fit perfect other than the fact I couldn't move without showing A LOT more than I wanted to. If I would have worn this I would have wore the 10. Size up for length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 10, 2014
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner. Fit snug on the hips, so I ended up wearing another one.
I have an athletic build and I'm curvy. I took a chance ordering this type of dress and it didn't work out for me. I could have worn it, but it was a bit snug on the hips and very short (and, I'm not that tall). It was a beautiful color and wished it would have fit me better. I would recommend this to girls who aren't too curvy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 6, 2015
Lots of compliments! Love the fringe around the bottom of the dress.
Fit was perfect for those with wider shoulders. Doesn't stretch much so it was a little short when getting in/out of a car. Other than that, I loved the dress! Cute look for an outdoor wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Age: 35
February 23, 2016
Comfy.
I'm pretty curvy, and normally wear a 6 or 8. Based on the reviews I ordered an 8 with a 10 as my backup. The 8 was too tight for me, but the 10 fit. Recommend sizing up for your backup.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2016
Way TOO SHORT
This dress was a pretty big disappointment. It was unbelievably short and I could not wear it. Had I sat down at the event I would have exposed my crotch to the entire party. I am only 5'1 and hardly ever have length issues with dresses. This was definitely a disappointment.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
September 21, 2015
Pretty but Short!
Rented dress for outdoor fall wedding. I typically wear a 4 or 6 dress size, but after reading the other reviews, I sized up. (Thankfully!) The 6 was SUPER short and tight (not even black tights would make it appropriate). I ended up wearing the 8 because the length was much better, but wasn't flattering in the midsection. Overall it was a nice dress and lots of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
July 9, 2016
Loved this dress!
Love the detail and fit of this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2016
Cute dress!
I wore the size 6, as it had a bit more room in the stomach area to be shifty & just a tad longer, but the 4 fit better in the shoulders/arms. Dress was comfortable, and received many compliments. I paired with some plain black single strap heels and a necklace, loved the whole look together.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2016
It was a cute dress for a friend's wedding
The dress fit "okay". It's not the most flattering dress for tall girls since it is a bit too short for comfort. I had to be careful how high I lifted up my arms before it became inappropriate. The bottom doesn't really hug your body, so it makes you look a bit frumpy as from the torso down, it sorta flares out--which the shortness does not help at all (it makes you look shorter).
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 35
November 7, 2016
Was looking for something new for a fall wedding that was both outdoors and indoors!
After reading reviews about the dress being short I didn't hesitate as at 5'-3" I was sure it would still be a good length for me! I received the dress and tried it on and wished they had had the next size up as a back up as with the size I ordered I knew it was just going to fit and it was going to be a wedding with alot of dancing and didn't want to be pulling at the bottom of my dress all night! I didn't end up wearing the dress due to length and overall fit and grabbed something out of my closet instead!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 31, 2011
This is a very cute dress. Not too fragile like lace can be sometimes. I got tons of complements when I wore it out for a girls' night. Also, the fit is pretty much as pictured on the model (though not quite as short, though thats probably because I'm 5'4). Seemed true to size, and was tight enough to be cute and flattering, but loose enough to be comfortable. I'd definately reccomend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2011
Very pretty dress, perfect for a cocktail event or wedding. It's definitely on the shorter side, and while it's not tight it's form-fitting enough that if you have a tummy you'll need some spankx!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
September 29, 2011
Unfortunately, I rented the 6 and the 8 - but only received 2 8s! They were really helpful at Rent the Runway though - and very apologetic. This was a great dress for a work event: equal amounts of stylish, but still classic, so I didn't feel overdressed. The lace at the hem was a little frayed though, but otherwise a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2011
LOVED my experience with RTR - I've already been back since!
The lace is absolutely gorgeous, although on the hanger, the dress looks lackluster. But I paired it with sparkly earrings and some killer heels to emcee a local event. I got compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2011
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments. It fit great all over, although it was a tiny bit loose in the back at teh neckline. It was almost too short but it worked. I would definitely wear this dress again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 19, 2011
I love this dress. The shape is flattering, the lace is super feminine, and the color is great on any skin tone. I ordered an 8 and a 6, and chose to wear the 8 since my bust is 36D. I wore this for an engagement party with strapy flats to dress it down a bit. The length is great, and it is a perfect replacement for the little black dress. I will definitely rent this dress again!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2011
LOVEDthis dress!! I was able to wear the size 8 but wore the 10 for a bit more length. Ihad a cocktail attire rehearsal dinner and got tons of cmpliments. Felt perfectly dress and wore with the large set on bangles rented as well. Great for a fall party when still HOt outside(TX)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 19, 2011
Dress is more purple than grey and looks much better on than in the picture. Not sure if it's the stick thin model but it fits and looks more like the Boatneck one by Shoshanna (same dress just blue). Perfect if you want to meet the parents or go to a more conservative event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
Love this dress!
Loved this dress! Loose but still form fitting enough to be super cute. Wore it to a girls night out with flats to dress it down and got a ton of compliments! The dress is almost a little short but not quite. Very beautiful! Just rented for a second time for a high school reunion - still love it!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2011
LOVED this dress! Fit great and very flattering. I sometimes have to go up a size to fit my hips but not with this dress. It is short but with dark tights it didn't bother me. My husband, who isn't one to go overboard with the compliments, was downright effusive about how great I looked! I might even get it again for holiday parties.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 26, 2011
Way too short - tends to ride up in the shoulders too. Could not wear it to a semi-formal event due to lack of length...
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 28, 2011
This dress is really pretty in person, more of a purple than a blue. Tall ladies beware though, it was short on me and I am barely 5'3. I ended up disappointed as I was unable to wear it due to a discoloration at the neckline - it was a light pink color. It looked as though the color in that spot was lightened during an attempt at stain removal? Unfortunately, I noticed it the night before the wedding and had to run out and buy a new dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 31, 2011
When I first received this dress in the mail, I was expecting it to by more grey than purple, but it ended up fitting perfectly and looking beautiful despite the color confusion. I wore silver and pearl necklaces from Stella and Dot which complemented the entire outfit. It was a bit short, but paired with black stockings (like in the picture), it wasn't inappropriate for the wedding I attended.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Body type: Apple
November 2, 2011
Loved this dress! Got lots of compliments. It fit well; hem hit me about where it hits the model in the photo. I wore it to a wedding and it was perfect for the event. also, I expected slate gray, but most people thought it was purple. I would strongly recommend this dress-- comfortable, attractive, a great choice!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
I rented this dress and another for my engagement party. Although the dress was beautiful and very flattering, it was too dressy for the occasion. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 10, 2011
Seeing all of my friends, and feeling great!
Wore this to a friend's winter wedding welcome dinner party. The dark purple color was fantastic, and the fit was extremely flattering. Only problem was that it was SHORT. Like can't raise my arms short. I rocked it anyway, received a ton of compliments, and kept my arms down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 21, 2011
great dress
this dress is beautiful. I am petite, and I was able to pull it off--usually a size 0 does fine on me but it was slightly big.. just a little roomy, but definitely not super fitted. I'd still say it runs true to size. it looked elegant and since it wasn't my big day it was totally fine. some say it was short but I didn't have that problem (I'd say if you're above 5'5" it might be toward the shorter side) also, it photographs really well!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 24, 2011
Great dress!
I rented two dresses for a black tie event - I didn't end up wearing this one but LOVED it. It fit perfectly, was comfortable and very flattering. I will definitely rent this for another occasion. Just wasn't sure if it was dressy enough.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 28, 2011
I recieved compliments on the dress and necklace throughout the evening and everyone wanted to know more about RTR!
Very comfortable! Looked cute, easy to wear! No complaints except for the edges were a little frayed from wear, but nothing too noticeable.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×