Dear Diary Sheath

$139 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look floral feminine chic in this shift by Shoshanna. With wedding season around the corner, this style is a guaranteed party favorite. Pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Black Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three-quarter length sleeves. Boat neck. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
140 reviews
Fit
Large18
True to Size99
Small15
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 2, 2014
Beautiful, easy to wear dress
This dress is a stunning color, a very flattering fit, and comfy to wear. It runs a little short, but I'm pretty short so it wasn't an issue for me, but it might be for someone taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2014
Classy dress with a hint of sexy
This dress was perfect for the outside wedding I attended. The lace was beautiful and I loved the color. The sleeves do run a little small but the rest of the dress runs true to size. It's not tight so you have some room to move around (and eat plenty of cake!). It's a little short, but I really enjoyed that bc it made it made it sexier since the neckline is pretty conservative. The lining of the dress was a little wrinkled at the bottom, but you couldn't tell with the lace overlay.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 27, 2014
Gorgeous dress! Fit really well and looked amazing.
This dress was beautiful! I loved the color and the fit. I had ordered a size up because of other reviews, but it fit really well! I got lots of compliments, wish I had a better photo of me in it. It was short, but not too short. I'm 5'6" so I'm not that tall, but the dress was great on me. Would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
unable to wear it
The dress was such a pretty color but I was unable to wear it for the bridal shower because it was really really short. Its true to size. I'm a six but I'm a curvy six so that may have been part of the issue. It was n a very cute dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 23, 2014
So many compliments!
I wore this dress to a friends winter wedding. The fit was a but short but not too bad to wear. I received so many compliments throughout the night and loved wearing it! Comfortable too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 10, 2014
Beautiful Dress
I love this dress. I didn't end up wearing it because it was too small. My cousin ended up wearing it and she looked stunning. The color is perfect. Just wish it came in a bigger size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful in Lace!
The fit is true to size. I ordered the 0 and 2 because I read a few reviews that recommended sizing down. I normally wear a 2 but tried the zero on and it was waaay to short and slightly snug. I'm only 5'5 so for you taller girls just be aware. That said, I think this dress would be a really good dress for petite girls. I loved the overall fit of the dress, it had a little extra room in the mid section but still showed off my shape so I was pleased with that. The color is stunning and the lace is definitely high quality. I paired the dress with black heels and a black Kate spade clutch. I got tons of compliments on the dress and I was so sad to have to return it. I want this one to stay in my closet forever!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113lbs
June 7, 2014
Lace Falling Off
The color is great but this dress was falling apart and could not wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
June 3, 2014
Beautiful.
Beautiful dress. Beautiful color. Very classy and elegant. Only con is that it is very short. If I raised my arms in the air to dance, the dress went up even further!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 1, 2014
Great mix of fun and conservative
Wore this to a rehearsal dinner. It was a little short but I felt like that was balanced by how conservative it was in the neckline. Fit perfectly- the sleeves were not tight and the dress had just enough breathing room
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
June 1, 2014
Received it 3 days before the event and couldn't wait for the day of to debut the beauty!
It fit fairly well- was a little tight but to no fault of my own and I feel the next size up would have been too big. Wore the dress to my boyfriends work related event and not only did I get so many compliments, but I was the best dressed :) One girl who I didn't know asked if she could borrow the dress - and of course I shared the RTR link! The color was lovely -a deep blue with hint of purple. Chose not to wear a necklace as it would take away from the beauty of the dress. I would give this dress a 10/10 and would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 28, 2014
Perfect Sheath with a Pop of Color
I rented this dress for a friends spring wedding and it turned out to be a perfect selection! It was a great length on me, but I am 5'2" so I would be wary if you are any taller. The color was beautiful and even though it is a sheath dress the size zero was quite fitted. I would agree with other reviews that the arms are somewhat tight, so be aware of that - it may cause you to go one size up. I got many compliments on it and would definitely recommend this dress - especially if you are similar in size. Overall another great rental from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
Classy and easy to dress up or down.
I wore this to a friend's wedding and was worried it would be too informal, but with some fun jewelry, it was perfect. The color is really nice and I liked having a little sleeve as my arm workouts haven't been as on point as I would wish for! I wore the 8, but probably could have used the 10. It fit fine, but the arms were a little tight and the remnants of my baby belly definitely weren't invisible (though the dress did a great job of not making my belly obvious either). The one thing I read and it's totally true, this dress is pretty short. I just had to be mindful of that on the dance floor!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 27, 2014
Great color for spring/summer events!
Lots of compliments, and, more importantly, lots of comfort! Ordered both the 6 and the 8 and the 6 was a bit too short, so I went with the 8. the lace sleeves were a bit tight, but not too tight to keep me from dancing all night. I didn't realize how purple it was until I received the dress, but I ended up liking it all the more. Definitely a must rent for the warmer months!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 27, 2014
Dancing the entire night!
I ordered a 6 and an 8 based on the other womens descriptions. Both sizes fit, the 6 would have been more form fitting to my body and having had a baby 6 months ago I opted for the 8 to be more at ease. The sleeves did start off a bit tighter but quickly stretched out. The dress was wicked comfortable and I received a million compliments on it. Color is amazing!! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
May 17, 2014
Great dress for a wedding!
Rented for a late spring wedding. Great fit and comfortable the entire night. The dress was a great length on me but I am short and I definitely had to be careful getting in and out of the shuttle between the hotel & reception! Another very positive experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2014
Love this service!
I got so many compliments! Perfect for a summer wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2014
Great dress, really comfortable, received lots of compliments.
I loved this dress! It was really comfortable, the color was great. It was a tad on the short side, but the sleeves and high neckline kept it classy but you definitely have to be careful when sitting down. Although the 4 fit better, I wore the 6 because the 4 was too short. I loved the color, the lace, and the fit and I received so many compliments on this dress. My only complaint was the lining was really wrinkled so it took some work to get it to sit right, but it wasn't too noticeable once it was on. Overall, great dress, I'd rent it again and recommend to anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2014
The RTR process was totally seamless and easy!
I received both the 6 and the 8. The 6 fit like a glove but I decided to wear the 8, as the length was a bit more appropriate for the black tie optional wedding we attended (plus I wanted to be able to eat wedding cake)! I received lots of compliments on this dress and felt like a stone cold fox all night! My only complaint is that, due to the shift-style of the dress, I couldn't lift my arms above my head without the dress riding up a bit and bunching around the chest. However, I didn't mind because the pros TOTALLY outweighed that one con!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
May 4, 2014
I just had twins two months ago and wanted a shift style dress to distract from my leftover bump.
It fit great, was really comfortable and received a ton of compliments. It was short but I'm short and I liked the length. I still have 20 lbs to lose. It was really flattering and shows off your legs nicely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
May 2, 2014
Love the bright color, the lace and the fit. It was a bi
Love the bright color, the lace and the fit. It was a big hit- i received several compliments that day! Also its the perfect length for a petite girl
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 27, 2014
Beautiful!
This dress is even prettier in person. The lace detail is perfection. It fits true to size but is a little heavier than other lace dresses I have worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 14, 2014
Loved the color! Dress looked brand new and i got a ton of compliments on it!
Perfect fit, amazing color, flattering and comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 14, 2014
Gorgeous color and classy style
Gorgeous dress, lots of compliments. Keep in mind it is short...take care when sitting. :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 12, 2014
I was looking for a classic, sophisticated look that was still youthful. This dress was exactly it!
#datenight dress is gorgeous but a little short! I'm petite so this didn't affect me :) but I can see how the length may not be appropriate for certain occasions if you're 5'6" and above.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 11, 2014
Perfect dress for many occasions!
I wore this for my brother's FORMAL rehearsal dinner, this was actually my back up dress that I never thought I'd wear and it turned out to be PERFECT! I ordered the 4 as some reviews mentioned how short it was and I'm glad I did however, the neckline was a little loose. A chunky necklace and fashion tape for my bra straps worked well. Lots of compliments and one of the bridesmaids actually wore the same dress in navy. Both were beautiful and different enough in color so most didn't even realize they were the same. The color looked bright and vibrant in pictures and I will definitely rent again! My first experience with RTR was a HUGE success!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2014
Lots of compliments on this, and the color is very striking - perfect for spring!
Dress is very comfortable - was on my feet for a 4 hour event & the dress looked great from the start to the end. I'm heavier in the arms/chest than waist so the 8 would have probably been better on my lower half but the 10 was great up top. If I had thought ahead could have paired with a skinny belt to provide more shape to it. Once I had my other jewelery on, I didn't feel that I needed a necklace as the neckline was striking. One note: as the picture shows the sleeves truly went to the top of my elbows & on someone with shorter arms they would go even longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 21, 2014
Beautiful color, runs small
The dress is beautiful! But I found it very small and short for me. I could tell that even in another size up, I wouldn't have been able to lift my arms without the dress riding up. Bummer because it is a gorgeous color purple! I had to return both the 6 and the 8. RTR is awesome and offered to overnight another dress, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2014
I felt like a million bucks.
This was a beautiful dress. The cut and style was amazing. The color was perfect. Fit was great (a little snug on my arms.) A dream come true!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2014
I did not wear this dress
I loved the color of this dress. I did not wear it because the arms were too tight. It was my backup dress and I considered wearing it, but I could not lift up my arms above shoulder height. I do have large, muscular arms, so this was not surprising.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 16, 2014
Loved this dress!! It was perfect for a fall wedding
I was the perfect length. I ordered a 4 and a 6 - ended up going with the 4 since the 6 was a little too loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2014
Wish it was longer.
I had to be a made of honor at the last minute for a friend, so glad I rented this dress. Only problem is that I felt every like it was too big on me and too short. I put on heels and I become 5' 8", so this dress became short, but the 4 was too big. I believe if I had a bigger bust the size 4 dress would not have been a problem. I was glad that did wear a dress that could blend in with wedding at the last minute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 23, 2014
Everyone loved it!
Great fit! Loose enough in the arms, flattering, hit mid thigh. Was perfect for a wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 23, 2014
Beautiful color in person!
I wore this to a wedding in October. The size 6 was a little short, so that is why I choose to wear the 8. Beautiful color and received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2014
Gorgeous Color!
Loved this dress. Long-ish sleeves were great for a winter wedding, but be warned - as others have posted, it is SHORT! It made my legs look great, but there was certainly no lifting of my arms on the dance floor! The color was beautiful - a very unique purple color. Another great RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 15, 2014
Great dress for a wedding
I got tons of compliments throughout the night. The dress was a little baggy around the midsection and the shoulders were a little tight but overall it fit well and was comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 26, 2013
Loved this dress!! Slightly tight in the hips, but SO WORTH IT!
This dress was a little tight in the hips so I wore spanx with it. If you are hippy, I wouldn't recommend this dress. The dress gives in the arms and hips, but not much. That being said, the dress was perfect for the charity auction that my boyfriend and i went to. I wore it with black tights and received so many compliments! I didn't want to send it back! Plan on using RTR again soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2013
Great color
Like others, I felt the dress was on the short side. With bare legs it might have been too much, but with black stockings, it was fine. This dress was easier to fit and less risky to rent because it's not as form-fitting as most other RTR dresses. It still had a decent shape to it and was very comfortable to wear. Didn't have to fidget or adjust anything all night! I got lots of compliments on it, especially the fabulous color. If you have a little back fat going on, the dress is very forgiving.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156lbs
December 17, 2013
Very pretty fabric, unfortunately not enough room in the bust for me.
Very pretty fabric. This runs fairly true to size, but I would say a little small. The material is not at all forgiving. I think for most this dress would be an easy fit, however I have an extremely difficult time finding dresses due to my bust size...this dress gave me a uniboob.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2013
Perfect! Purple! Lace!
This was the backup dress for my company holiday party... and i am SOOOOO glad I got it! the other dress did not fit at all (either size). This dress fit me like perfection! it hit at my knees (since I am very short at 4'10") but honestly, any shorter would have ridden up quite a lot when sitting. the lace is stiff, and raising arms too high was not going to happen. make sure you have someone to zip you up too! the color is GORGEOUS! no necklace needed -- the neckline is simple and with this dress the key is to keep focus ON THE DRESS! i paired with black tights and black wedges. i love Love LOVED this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×