Cypress Lace Shift

$99 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner? This Shoshanna lace shift is the perfect style to look feminine chic for the party! Shown here with Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Also available in grey.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy synthetic Lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three quarter length sleeves with ruching detail. Boat neckline. A-line body. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 36”inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(122)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 23, 2012
Loved this dress!
Loved this dress! Great for summer but also an easy transition into fall also a great length for my height without being too short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
August 24, 2012
Sophisticted but not for me!
I rented this dress as a back-up for my friends Newport, RI wedding. While I loved the color, I was less than impressed with the overall feel of the dress and did not wear this option. The lining has a slippery texture that rode up as I walked. The lace had a few imperfections or snags. The length seemed a bit shorter than I expected. This dress would work better on someone with a different body type than mine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2012
Loved the lace!
This dress is the perfect example of a style that could be dressed up or down for any event. I'm 5'7'' and it would definitely be a much better length on someone slightly shorter, but I could still pull it off without any issues. The lace detail is so pretty, I highly recommend it!
angelaSeptember 27, 2012
Hi! I noticed you have also rented the red lace Shoshanna dress. Did you like this dress or the red more? I have a wedding (at a winery) at the end of October and am between the 2 dresses. I have the same body type as you. Thanks!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
The dress was great and comfortable.
It was very true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 17, 2012
Great for that in between season wedding Wore to an NE Island affair, the color and sleeve +++
I felt the dress seemed a bit small- I usually wear a size 4 and or 2... I would suggest sizing up. The color was was stunning ! Lots of compliments!
SarahOctober 23, 2012
Ashley it's your cousin! Love this look on you!
heatherOctober 25, 2012
Look at you modeling on RTR! Watch out Vogue!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
Such pretty detailing which makes it elegant
Adorable and can totally be dressed up or down depending on the shoes and jewelry!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
This dress was gorgeous!
I received a ton of compliments on the dress. I loved it because it was comfortable enough for all the dancing at the wedding, yet looked stunning! One thing I would note is about the length. I am 5'4" and the dress was on the short side, so if you are taller, you may have to be a bit careful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Amazing Dress
This dress was great. I rented it for a rehearsal dinner for my friend's wedding and recieved tons of compliments on the dress as well as the aqua necklace I also rented. The dress is very true to size (as most Shoshanna dresses are) but is definitely short - hit me about mid thigh. I actually ended up buying it from Nieman Marcus after renting it from RTR b/c I loved it so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 22, 2012
The dress was a knockout-----it was completely appropriate, but stood out in the crowd.
We were invited to attend an engagement party for a close friend's daughter at a gorgeous home. I was uncertain as to how dressy to be......should I wear a cocktail dress or just dressy pants and a cute top? Recently I had received a $50 coupon toward my first rental, so I turned to a RTR stylist for advice. As I am only 5' tall, my first request to my stylist was to help me find dresses that were no longer than 35" from shoulder to hem. In addition, I am 57 years old, so I didn't want to show my arms. Armed with all those demands, she offered several options that were not too glitzy for a home cocktail party, were short enough for my 5' frame, and also covered up my arms. I loved this Shoshanna lace dress, but was afraid that a straight shift would not be good for my hourglass figure. But since my stylist knew the dress, she was able to assure me that it was tailored to accent my waist and would be a perfect fit. She was right! The dress was just right.....appropriate for the home affair, but such a knockout that I received compliments all evening. Thanks RTR, for making the evening perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 24, 2012
Beautiful dress
Loved this dress - the cut was conservative enough for a special church ceremony, but the length added a little sass! It was short, but not too mini. The sheath style was forgiving, yet not too boxy. Beautiful navy color - not too dark. Comfortable and true to size. A was a little worried about it being to small - but it fit just perfectly. There were a couple random strings that were coming off the lace that were easily trimmed. Dress would work nice with silver or gold - wore with silver pumps and a long silver tassel necklace (not pictured) and then had to change to more comfortable wedges later in the day!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 24, 2012
Classic! Perfect look for D.C. wedding! LOVE this dress
Perfect fit, perfect look...I want to buy this dress I liked it so much! Although it was the look I wanted for a September D.C. wedding, I was a bit concerned that on my petite frame it would not give me shape or could even be too long. Not so...The sheer lace sleeves tailor it delicately to the body, and the length was perfect! Short enough to show my legs but not so short that I felt concerend or self conscious. If I had really long legs though it might feel too short. The sleeves are a little more snug than I expected, but never felt uncomfortable and I think that helped make it more flattering actually. All in all fantastic dress, I wish I had more events to wear it to so I could rent it again! Great first experience with rent the runway! I could not be happier!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2012
Great classic dress
This is super simple and elegant. I felt very Kate Middleton wearing it. It was the perfect length for me, but I often wear petite sizes so it might be a little shorter on taller girls. If you're worried about length, try the Trina Turk dress that's similar - it was knee length on me and this hit mid to upper thigh. Order down for your backup size. Loved this dress! Photos coming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 25, 2012
Love being able to order a back up!
This was my first choice dress, however, I ended up wearing my back up - the Teal Milly Sophia Lace Shift. This navy Shoshanna dress is darling, but felt just a bit too youthful for me. It doesn't look short in my picture but it felt too short for the conservative wedding I was attending. Otherwise, it fit perfectly and was comfortable. My daughters, ages 23 and 28, loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 10, 2012
Fit perfect! Love loved loved it!
I wanted to keep this dress all to myself. I wore it with a chunky yellow necklace and nude pumps. It was a hit!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2012
So many compliments on this dress!
This was the perfect dress for a fall wedding! I got so many compliments on it and felt comfortable wearing it. I ordered both a 4 and a 6. The 4 was a little shorter and tighter in the hips, and the 6 had more a sheath look to it. I have an athletic build so while I felt like the 6 gave me more room, I really liked the more fitted look of the 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2012
AMAZING and CLASSY!
This dress is PERFECT. I rented it for an October wedding as my backup dress, and ended up wearing it over my first choice! I was so thrilled that it fit and was flattering. I was worried it would make me look boxy and unshapely (because I'm a little bigger on top, and curvy on the bottom).. but I was so wrong! I got so many compliments and felt gorgeous all night. I paired it with a coral and mint green chunky necklace that I'd bought for another occasion and nude patent peep-toe pumps. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 12, 2012
This dress is classy and sexy!!
I normally wear a size 2 but ordered a 0 and 2. I'm very athletic and the lace arms did not give, so the 0 was small in the arms but the body fit perfect. The 2 fit perfect in the arms but was a tad boxy in the body. I went with comfort over all else and wore the 2. I had my nails done with a dark blood red and wore sparkly gunmetal grey/silver peep toes with matching chandelier gunmetal grey sparkly earrings. Tons of compliments were given! Bravo RTR.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE
This was a hit both times I wore it! A little tight through the chest but overall great dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 15, 2012
First Bride to Be moment!
I wore this dress for my first Bridal Shower! My friends and family loved it! I felt beautiful and received so many compliments! The color of this dress is gorgeous. In pictures it looks darker than it is in person. The overall fit of the dress for me was perfect. I decided to pair it with a skinny black belt, but you wouldn't need to. My only complaint was how short the dress is. I didn't realize it really until I had to sit down in front of all of my guests to open presents. It was way too short, and I am only 5"1! But other than that, I LOVED THIS DRESS!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2012
Wore this dress for a Fall wedding in northern Michigan-it was absolutely perfect for the occasion!
This was my first experience with RTR. The dress fit very true-to-size. Just to be sure it would fit, I also chose the next size up. Both sizes fit, but the way the larger size fit gave it a very different look than the true-to-size. The larger size made it look more like a baby-doll type of dress. However, the true-to-size dress fit like a glove. It fit my curves nicely, without being too clingy or tight. My husband loved this dress on me and I received a number of compliments! And the whole RTR process was so easy! I can't wait for another special occasion so I can use RTR again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 16, 2012
Fit great and felt elegant
This dress is really pretty and flattering on us apple shaped women. I went up a size to accommodate my chest and that was the best move. There isn't a ton of room in the bust, so if you're a larger C cup or bigger I would get a size up. The waist still fit properly. The dress runs a touch short so if you're not fond of your upper thighs I wouldn't get this dress. I loved it for that reason...covered up on top and lots of leg!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2012
Super cute and classy - as long as you're under 5'8"!
I'm pretty evenly split between size 2 and 4 when it comes to dresses. This dress fit as a 2 but it was way too short to be appropriate for a wedding, so I went with the 4 (which, thankfully, was longer but not much baggier). It was still pretty short as a 4, but not inappropriately so, and because the rest of the dress is a bit more conservative I think the shortness is fine. I got a ton of compliments and a few people even said "You'll get a ton of use out of that." I wish! I'll be sad to return it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2012
I went out to dinner and drinks with my girlfriends for my birthday. This dress was perfect!
The dress is very comfortable to wear. I chose to wear the 12 over the 10 because I don't like my clothing to be too snug. I would recommend this dress for a night out on the town or a nice dinner date.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Great dress for a fall wedding. Loved wearing it.
I could have worn either size (2 or 0) but I felt that that the 2 actually looked better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 22, 2012
Great dress! Pretty, simple, perfectly flattering. LOVED IT!
Highly recommend this dress. I'm 5.2 and was very happy with the length and the fit. I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and felt beautiful, confident, and COMFORTABLE all night. The arms are slightly snug – but it's an awesome, easy dress. Will definitely rent this one again – if not buy! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
The night was chilly and this dress was perfect and sexy!
All pro and no cons! I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and thank goodness because it was a 4 course dinner so there was room to grow... Hehe!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2012
Gorgeous dress.
Fit perfectly. Very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2012
Awesome dress!
I rented this dress for my friend's wedding weekend. I wore it to the rehearsal dinner and received so many compliments. The dress is gorgeous, the color is beautiful and the lace is elicate and tasteful. I nice sturdy dress unlike the Nicole Miller dress I also rented for this weekend. Overall the fit was great. I wore a size 2 and it was perfect. I'm 125lbs, 5'5, 34C.....the only thing is this dress fit like a mini on me. So for all you tall ladies out there, I'd be careful that this dress would be too short. Overall, I LOVED this dress!!! I think I may purchased it... :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2012
Elegant- classy-sexy.
Elegant and classy, but the hem height and low cut back (not too low so you can wear a normal bra) makes it also va-va-voom sexy and shows a tasteful amount of skin. I paired this dress with the Dress Me Up Bracelet for a great pop of bling. It is a shift dress, so it is forgiving in areas you may be more self-conscious about for a sleek, flattering fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 28, 2012
Gorgeous color, gorgeous lace, and very comfortable!
The lace material was so beautiful and so was the color! The see through material on the arms was my favorite. It was so chic and I felt so classy! Very easy to dance in as well. Highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 29, 2012
My first experience with RTR and it turned out great!
The size 2 fit well and the length was perfect on my 5'2" frame (wouldn't have wanted length any shorter - so if you are taller take note). Very comfortable. Loved the color - a very deep blue. Others have commented that sleeves were tight but I did not think so.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 1, 2012
Wonderful! Fit in all the right places.
I was worried that it would be too "sack-ish", but fit well! The 12 fit just right. It is a bit on the short side, but I wore tights and bootie heels and it was fine. I would wear it out without tights...but not where I have to be more proper :) Dressed it up with my grandmothers vintage necklace. Minimal hair and makeup. Got tons of compliments!! Great rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 5, 2012
Unfortunately, I didn't get to wear this dress :(
When this dress arrived, I was really excited. I was a little worried about it being a bit short for a wedding, but my plan was to wear it with black tights to offset the length. I was literally walking out the door of my hotel room, when I my fiance and our friend spotted another wedding guest standing at the elevator in the same dress! Fortunately, I had brought a second option of my own and made a quick change. When we arrived at the wedding, we saw another guest in close to the same dress again (maybe the blue lace DVF?). Needless to say, this is a very popular dress (and with good reason). Next time, I might consider something less popular.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2012
Glamorous! So many compliments!
I wore this dress to my cousin's fall wedding. It was absolutely perfect. I wore it with bare legs and nude heels. I also took a chance and chose to "complete the look" with a stylist surprise accessory. They sent me the Badgley Mischka Showstopper Earrings, which I would have never picked for myself but ended up looking awesome and totally made the outfit. I wish I owned this dress, it was that good. Overall a great experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
November 6, 2012
Classy
The dress came in perfect condition and fit perfectly! I am a size 4 to 6, and the 6 fit and I was very comfortable, and I received a lot of compliments all night! I loved it, and I am patiently waiting on my next dress for this weekend! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 6, 2012
Super cute dress for a wedding!
I was initially concerned that this dress would be too short, and, while it was pretty short, it was well lined and with the 3/4 sleeves it all worked out. My one complaint was that the lace top layer seemed to bunch up a little bit while the lining hung down so it didn't quite have the effect in the front with the longer lace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 9, 2012
Gorgeous and sophisticated
I wore this for a religious dinner event I was hosting and felt beautiful all night. Hits at the thigh at just the right place to be pretty but not frumpy and the long sheer sleeves make it sexy with the slightest hint of skin. Felt great and appropriately modest for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 12, 2012
Got so many compliments in the dress and it looked amazing in pictures!!
The details on the sleeve and at the bottom were really pretty, length was slightly short (but that's exactly what I wanted), neckline fit really well -- overall loved it!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 13, 2012
Loved this dress!
I rented this dress for a dinner out in Boston for my Birthday and it was perfect! I could also see how you could dress it up for a wedding or more formal affair. I rented both 4 and 6...the 4 fit perfect and was fitted in all the right places. The 6 fit too, but was a little more roomy and didn't seem to look as good as the 4. Highly recommend this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
Loved the dress, very comfortable! Lots of compliments
Fit true to size, maybe runs a tad bit small....short, but not inappropriate, just had to be careful lifting my arms up. Very comfortable, could wear normal bra with it which I liked and since it was 35degrees out that night was nice that I had something on my arms.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×