Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Cypress Lace Shift

$30 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner? This Shoshanna lace shift is the perfect style to look feminine chic for the party! Shown here with Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Also available in grey.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy synthetic Lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three quarter length sleeves with ruching detail. Boat neckline. A-line body. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 36”inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

422 reviews

Fit
Small 113
True to Size 279
Large 12
Photos 211
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Perfect dress, even with a small baby BUMP!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED the way this dress falls, I'm 5' 3" and wore this with 4 inch high heels. I had to size up to size 2 since I'm 3 months pregnant and it showed my baby bump perfectly. Love rent the runway, EASY......and fast delivery and got 2 sizes.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

my go-to dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing! It fits true to size and is really just stunning. Hangs beautifully and looks amazing - looks super short on the model but it's not scandalously short. I wore it to a work party, complete with dinner & dancing and it was appropriately short. I have since used it as my backup dress for a number of other events and ended up wearing it a couple of times.... now if only i could find this dress for purchase...
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 17, 2013

Very pretty dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really very pretty! I rented it for my step-sister's wedding, which was in a barn/farm type setting so the lace was very appropriate. I loved having the lace sleeves since it was pretty chlly. The only drawback to this dress is that it is really SHORT. Like, I was out of luck if I dropped something kind of short. If it had been just a little longer, I'd have rated it 5 stars.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

Comfy and Chic!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was very comfortable in this dress. It photographed well, was great to dance in and received a lot of compliments! I didn't think it ran small at all - I normally wear a 4-6 but ordered the 6 and 8 due to several reviews that it ran small. I would only order a size up if you are very busty. Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 26, 2013

My rehearsal dinner dress <3

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fit which is normally hard for me. I usually have to buy a larger size to fit my top half in a dress and the bottom is usually too big but that wasn't the case here.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Perfect for an end-of-summer, Southern plantation wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I sometimes waver between wearing a 4 and 6. The 4, however, fit like a glove. I'd definitely rent this dress again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 30, 2013

Classy and comfortable! Love the color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my good friends engagement party. The fit was a little looser than I like, but it was still super classy and I got a lot of compliments throughout the night. I loved this dress so much I didn't want to send it back. This was my first experience renting with RTR and it definitely isn't my last!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

Such a pretty dress! Totally want to buy it now, as I would def wear it to many occasions!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was super cute, definitely short, but I like short. It is tight in the arms, I have super skinny arms and it was a bit tight. Also, don't plan on lifting your arms above your head because your underwear will definitely be showing.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Nov 17, 2013

Loved everything about the dress and my first Rent the Runway experience!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the fit of this dress. I'm 5'3" and I thought that it fell at the perfect length. I was cautious about my dance moves because when I would put my arms up the dress would raise up pretty high. I received so many compliments on the dress. It was an absolutely amazing night and I am so happy with my first experience using Rent the Runway.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Great dress, but runs Small!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress in a 2 & 4 for my engagement shoot, when I got it the dresses they were both too small and the sleeves felt so tight! Luckily the Rent the Runway team was so helpful (while I was panicking)l and able to get the size 6 out to me right away!! The sleeves on the 6 fit much better, although the waist of the dress was a little big, but I threw a belt on it and it was perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

Got so many compliments on this dress. Wore it out to a party and loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'4 and have a large bust which made the 0 way too short but the 2 was perfect with a pair of nude heels. It was sexy yet conservative.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Great Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Received so many compliments on this dress! Loved it!!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

I loved this dress. I got many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my husband's work christmas party. It is very short - but not a big problem for me since I am only 5'2" It ran a little smaller than some others I have worn - I am usually a 2 or a 4 and in this dress the 4 was better.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 21, 2013

Loved the color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for winter wedding. The navy color is stunning in person and the fabric is very high quality. The only issue I had with this dress was that it's a little too short and I'm only 5'5". The size of the 2 fit better for me, however it was a tad short for a formal event. The cut of the dress is truly gorgeous and it really shows off your legs!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 29, 2013

Loved the dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It's short but pretty color! Very comfortable but cute.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Classy and sexy. I wore this to my company holiday party and it was a hit. So many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was actually my back-up look. I only ordered the size 2 and it fit perfectly. The sleeves were a little tight by the elbows but nothing that would stop me from dancing and enjoying the night. This was a perfect look for the event. Classy and sexy without showing too much.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Amazing first experience!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was my first rental and it was great. The dress was really beautiful and in great condition. I usually wear a 8 and could have worn the 8 however the dress is pretty short so I opted to go with the 10. I would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 15, 2014

Everyone kept complimenting it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great! A little short but fine with tights underneath.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

Got a lot of compliments! Classy yet sexy.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear an 8, and the 8 would not even zip! The 10 fit very well. The sleeves are tight, and it was a bit looser around the middle than I would have liked. However, the length was great and I got a lot of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Absolutely LOVED this dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress. it was a the perfect length for me, and was super comfortable. Was complimented all night on it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Feb 1, 2014

Perfect birthday dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my birthday night out and I was not let down! The fit is on point, love the length and the color is beautiful in person. I have no negatives for this dress, wish I could keep it! This was my first rental with RTR and I'm already planning on renting more :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 1, 2014

Just right for a FIESTA!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a fiesta themed bridal shower. I felt it was right for the occasion. It was sleek, comfortable and just the right amount of lace. Note for curvy women: it does not hug the body so curves may not be accentuated.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

Elegant, classy, sassy. A real winner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful. I wasn't totally sure about it when I first tried it on. It didn't fit me like the photo (shift-like) but was much more formfitting, which I normally avoid. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and had to go with the 6 (with pantyhose/spanx it fit like a glove, though a little snug in the bust). I had planned to wear it with medium-height nude pumps, but it looked a little dowdy, so I bought some sky-high nude platforms, and the whole thing just clicked. I wore it for a formal medical school function, and received many compliments. It's just the right amount of sexy (it's quite short and tight), but still really classy thanks to the long sleeve. I also loved the navy (way cooler than black, I thought). Overall, would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

Comfortable and classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my sister's baby shower. Got tons of compliments! I rented the 4 and 6 - although the 4 was a little short for my taste (didn't work great with trying to lean over to grab gifts and carry things), I ended up wearing that one because the 6 was just too big. Overall great experience and I'd highly recommend this dress...just keep in mind that it might be a little short for some occasions!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

Simply sweet!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was a little worried about picking a dress appropriate for the occasion, but still fun and flirty. This was simply sweet and made for an enjoyable evening waiting for my husband to return home from a tour overseas. The dress was comfortable and unlike most sheaths, hugged at just the right places without it being tight. The lace was prettier in person and the blue was beautiful. I paired it originall with nude heels, but after hours of waiting, flipped to my cowboy boots. First words out of his mouth, "You look beautiful!" Who can argue with that?
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

My bridal shower was wonderful and I got a ton of compliments on the dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bridal shower and it was perfect! I loved the color and fit of the dress and I received a ton of compliments. The shower was in February so I paired it with black nylons which worked out well. My only complaint is that the dress could have been an inch or 2 longer (I'm 5'9"). I almost returned it because it was so short that I had to be careful sitting down. But it's not tight fitting or low cut, so the short length does make it cute and flirty - and the tights helped too!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 22, 2014

It fit perfectly and was classy with a hint of sexy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: fits perfectly, not too short, Classy Cons: Chest was squished
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

dressy & classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It was an overall amazing dress. This was the first time that I actually liked the dress A LOT better in person than online. It is a much more vibrant color in person! I was very pleased when I tried it on. The only downfall of the dress is that it is a little short and a lot tighter than I was expecting. I still fit into the size I usually get from RTR but if you're worried I would get a size up too just in case. Honestly depends on how comfortable you want it to be. When I sat down the dress got a lot shorter too.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

so comfy and perfect for a winter wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved the fit of this dress! I didn't rent a backup size because it's usually just a waste. I'm wondering if a size 2 would've been a tad looser to be more of a shift dress, but the 0 fit perfectly. It wasn't tight but laid on my body just right. if you're taller keep in mind it is short, but I loved the length on me. one of the sleeves had a little tear in the lace but you couldn't tell. I wore it with nude t-strap heels and gold jewelry.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 3, 2014

I felt special for my birthday

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress was beautiful but not exactly the best pick for a girl with hourglass curves it has no give and my husband said that it really minimized my bust. It is quite short, I was glad to have a long napkin on my lap at dinner to prevent any "wardrobe malefactions" It was different and I liked that about it, but probably wouldn't rent it again
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Loved the length!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I typically don't go for high necklines but this dress was an exception. The dress is short but hit me at the perfect length being a short girl. The 4 was WAY too short and too tight for comfort. Loved this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Mar 9, 2014

Darker in person but pretty dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress was perfect for a bridal shower! I went with the 4 (instead of the 2) because as stated the dress runs a bit small, it is also on the shorter size. I am 5'4 and even with the bigger size I felt like in needed to wear flats because of the length (I could have done heels for a party/out on town, etc). Overall the dress was awesome and the whole process with Rent The Runway is amazing. Just size up for this one - I normally go with a 0 in dresses is stores like j. Crew/loft/limited so happy I rented the 2/4 with this one!!!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Love the fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Runs pretty true to size. I was a bit nervous as dresses like this tend to be too wide and long on me but the 2 was a good length. If you're tall and petite this may be a tad short. I'm 5'2, 119, fairly curvy and athletic. I could have worn the zero, however i felt it was a bit too "sexy" for the event I was attending. Great dress, very happy. :-)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 23, 2014

Having a beautiful outfit to wear to my friend's 50th bday party

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm larger in the bust than the 32D listed in my RTR profile, and this dress, though sexy and beautiful, was actually a bit small in the bust. I had a hard time zipping it up at first and felt somewhat restricted all evening. Nevertheless, it's a great dress and I got a ton of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress! I loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit perfect! Definitely a mini dress and that is why I went with the size 4
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Lots of compliments! Very flattering and classy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs small, so go a size up. I'm usually a 2, but it was too short (I'm only 5'2'') and too tight. The 4 fit perfectly. It is a form fitting dress, so spanks are recommended. The lace detail is beautiful. I wore a necklace since it went up a little higher on me than the model. I loved the sleeves!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Apr 14, 2014

Loved the lace and length

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely fit small around the bust, but I'm large chested. I ended up going two sizes because I was uncomfortable with the length and how tight it was around my arms but the 12 fit perfectly. I got tons of compliments and I felt super comfortable all evening long. I would definitely rent this again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Wore it for a wedding and it was prefect.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was comfortable and great to dance the night away!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Beautiful color and fit!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a country concert and paired with cowboy boots. The 8 fit but was very short! I went with the 10 and got compliments all night by strangers! The color was gorgeous. It did ride up a bit but other than that,, it was perfect. I would recommend and rent again! RTR has been amazing! Can't wait for my next rental.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Stunning dress for a college formal!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit flawlessly! I always have to stick to mini length dresses because of my height, and this dress did not disappoint. I rented it for a college formal and got plenty of compliments on it. It was even comfortable for dancing. I ordered sizes 2 and 4, but liked the more snug fit of the size 2. This dress would honestly be appropriate for any occasion, from a party to a nice dinner. Very pleased with my first Rent the Runway experience!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×