Shoshanna

Cypress Lace Shift

$99 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a bridal shower or rehearsal dinner? This Shoshanna lace shift is the perfect style to look feminine chic for the party! Shown here with Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Also available in grey.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips, curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch

The arms on this dress are tight

GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy synthetic Lace (60% Cotton, 23% Rayon, 17% Nylon). Three quarter length sleeves with ruching detail. Boat neckline. A-line body. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 36”inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(296)
Small
(122)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
March 19, 2013
Great dress!

Ran a little large, but still fit well. Very cute dress..received multiple compliments!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
October 24, 2015
Great fall cocktail dress!

This dress is SHORT, which worked out well for 4'11" me! Like others have commented, I found the lining showed in the front. I was super-happy with this rental ... I only gave it 4 stars because the lace was a little worn at the shoulders. I got lots of compliments, and the sleeves made the dress perfect for an October wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34A
May 4, 2016
Good Times and Good Friends!

Dress was comfortable. Felt a little bit short but overall was a great choice for a friends wedding

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 17, 2012
Great for that in between season wedding Wore to an NE Island affair, the color and sleeve +++

I felt the dress seemed a bit small- I usually wear a size 4 and or 2... I would suggest sizing up. The color was was stunning ! Lots of compliments!

SarahSeptember 17, 2012
Ashley it's your cousin! Love this look on you!
heatherSeptember 17, 2012
Look at you modeling on RTR! Watch out Vogue!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2012
lots of compliments for my friend!

This dress is super small. I couldn't even get my arms in this bad boy. My much smaller friend ended up wearing this dress and it looked great on her. Definitely size up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 21, 2012
I wore this to my parent's anniversay party.

I love the fit - very comfortable and flattering. I have wide hips and a think middle. Felt very beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 22, 2012
Ran small

I ordered this but did not end up wearing it. The 8 ran way too small and then the 10 fit but it was not flattering and made me look boxy. It is a very pretty dress and the blue is gorgeous but I ended up with my back up dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2013
Versatile, warm & fun

I wore this to a formal fall horse race. It was very easy to accessorize. I felt very comfortable and I loved the fabric. I wish I owned this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Beautiful dress!

I rented this for a family Christmas party. When I tried it on, I realized that it DEF needed tights because it's a bit short. Other than that, it's a great dress. Note: the material has absolutely no stretch! The cuffs on the sleeves do though so you can position them where you would like them and they'll stay. Another note: the sleeves in the pic looked black to me on the site but they're essentially the same color as the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 11, 2013
Wonderful rehearsal dinner dress!

This is a great dress - very flattering. I would recommend going up a size, however. The size 0 was too short, even for my petite frame.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
January 25, 2013
Didn't wear it but still love Shoshanna!

So, again, I didn't wear this dress but it was pretty in person. It was just tight with no give and way too short for me. But I love love love Shoshanna and will definitely be renting again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2013
VERY SHORT!!!

Girls -- this dress is SHORT. I am 5'2" and I could not wear this dress in public. I ordered the 2 and the 4...the 2 fit throughout the body, but literally did not cover my butt and the 4 fit a little looser, but barely covered the essentials and when I walked, rode up so that you could see pretty much everything in the back (sorry if that is TMI). I was surprised, because even though other reviews said it was short, I never have that problem. I ended up wearing my backup dress. It is such a cute dress, but very short!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
January 29, 2013
Little snugg for a Shift

I generally wear a size 6 or 8 depending on the cut, however, I found that even the size 8 in this dress fit a little too snug. The dress itself was lovely but I was a little disappointed with the quality and feel of the material. It looked a bit cheap. I was also extremely disappointed that I was UNABLE to wear this dress (neither the 6 nor 8) and that I was unable to get a refund since another completely different item in my order, for a completely different event, did fit. Because one item in my order fit, it ws considered a "successful" order (despite that the fact that I was left without a dress for my 2nd event, and ended up recycling an old bridesmaid dress). To overnight me a different size would have cost me the entire rental cost.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 1, 2013
Not great for curvy girls.

I ordered this in a 10 and a 12, and the 12 was waaaay too tight in my chest. So glad I ordered another style. It is short, especially if you have a butt and a chest.

MartinaFebruary 1, 2013
I ordered the same 10 and 12 and there was absolutely NO give in the bust area. 36D so I guess I am busty and it was short but I like short. Wished I ordered another style ;-( It was a beautiful dress. Oh and the arms barely fit -- so true they were tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2013
Rehearsal Dinner

Beautiful dress, but it was a bit short for the occasion (our rehearsal dinner). It felt a bit small in the hips on my hourglass shape, but got many compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
i loved that this dress made me feel modern and classic at the same time

i loved the way this looked. the sleeves were a bit tight, but other than that, it fit true to size. beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 15, 2013
Too short - had to send it back.

I rented this for a trip to Vegas and unfortunately it was so short I had to send it back and get a replacement. Luckily, they sent me an alternative right to my hotel in Vegas and were very helpful throughout the process. It is a pretty dress and the material is rich looking, but it runs really small and is extremely short. If you rent this I would plan to go up at least one size.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 15, 2013
When my two sizes did not fit, RTR shipped (overnight) me another size free! Customer Service A+++

Fit was a bit tight throughout and rather short in length. Beautiful design and color, but the length was a major con.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
April 22, 2013
Felt pretty and elegant

I wore this dress to a party where my husband was being honored; a lot of people were coming from work so I wanted to look special but not stand out too much. The color and 3/4 sleeves made me feel comfortable among the sea of suits, but the lace and cut made me feel pretty; this dress emphasizes the legs and de-emphasizes the midsection, which works for this mom of 3. I thought it ran a little small, I usually wear an 8-10 but went with the 12 so it would be looser given that it was a work function. I was very happy with the dress and would wear it again!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful lace!

Definitely runs small. I normally wear a 2 or a 0, and the 4 fit me best. Very short, but still classy because of the quarter-length sleeves. I wore it with nude pumps and got tons of compliments. Great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 26, 2013
Very flattering; sophisticated

I usually wear a 2 in Shoshanna but the 4 looked better on me. This dress was great, comfortable and flattering.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 14, 2013
Perfect shade of navy!

This was my first RTR experience and I loved it! Wore this dress to a friend's bridal shower. I ordered a 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 2 because the 0 was tight in the arms and a little too short to wear to a bridal shower. I loved the navy color, it was so much prettier in person! Would definitely recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 6, 2013
Great dress! Loved my first RTR experience and will def use it again!

I usually wear a 10 or 12, but preferred the 12 in this style. Shoshanna tends to run a little small, and in something this short and fitted, I wanted the larger size. I loved it and it was perfect for the wedding I attended!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 23, 2013
Beautiful dress! Perfect for a fall wedding. Received many compliments!

Dress runs on the smaller size. I recommend ordering up for a second size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 29, 2013
Liked, but didn't love it

Definitely size up! I am pear shaped and usually wear a 2 in Shoshanna, but I had to go with a 6 in this dress. The 4 also fit but was really short and rode up a little when I walked. Usually sheath dresses are tough for pear shapes, but the shape of this dress was great and not as straight. Unfortunately the 6 was ripped on one of the sleeves, but I had to wear it anyway and hope no one noticed! Overall, love Shoshanna but this was not one of my favorites.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
October 24, 2013
BEAUTIFUL! ELEGANT! SHOW-CASES LEGS!

I loved this dress. I rented it for a formal affair party and wore it with nude pumps. It has very simple lines but is shorter so if you have nice legs, this is the dress for you. Because it has long sleeves and a higher neckline, the shortness of the dress adds a nice sexy touch. I was able to dance in the dress and sit in the dress comfortably. It does run a tad small. I am a true 8, and I wore the 8 (a 10 was not available). I probably would have worn the 8 anyway, but fyi - it does run slightly small. So if you are between sizes, order at least the back-up a size bigger. And the sleeves are a little tight. But overall I loved this dress. I would buy it.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
November 4, 2013
Absolutely LOVED this dress!

I absolutely loved this dress! I orginially ordered a 2 and a 4 . I never tried on the 2 because the 4 was too short. I called RTR & they overnighted the 6. It was a little roomier but it still looked great. I received many compliments throughout the night. I loved this dress so much I was sad to send it back!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2013
Great dress, but runs Small!

I rented this dress in a 2 & 4 for my engagement shoot, when I got it the dresses they were both too small and the sleeves felt so tight! Luckily the Rent the Runway team was so helpful (while I was panicking)l and able to get the size 6 out to me right away!! The sleeves on the 6 fit much better, although the waist of the dress was a little big, but I threw a belt on it and it was perfect!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 27, 2013
Nice dress but quite short!

I rented this as an extra dress for $25. It is a great dress but I only rented the size 6 and I think the size 8 might have fit me better. It was also very short, so I didn't wear the dress. Would consider renting again but a size 8.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 114lbs
December 6, 2013
Received many compliments about the dress- very elegant and fitting to my body type

Fit was a bit small, so I'm glad I decided to get 2 sizes

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
December 8, 2013
I loved this dress. I got many compliments.

I wore this dress to my husband's work christmas party. It is very short - but not a big problem for me since I am only 5'2" It ran a little smaller than some others I have worn - I am usually a 2 or a 4 and in this dress the 4 was better.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
December 19, 2013
It didn't fit (way too short) so I didn't even get to wear it.

The reviews had stated true to size/runs big so I ordered my size and a size smaller. I wasn't able to wear it, because the dress was way too short. If it weren't for a work christmas party, I probably could have pulled it off, but it was way to short to wear. So, I wasted about $80 and wore a dress I already had :( It will be a while if I decide to rent again, just not a good first experience unfortunately.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2013
Loved the dress.

It's short but pretty color! Very comfortable but cute.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
January 2, 2014
Amazing dress& wonderful customer service

This was my first time ordering from RTR, so I was a little nervous, especially considering I don't wear dresses often. I ordered the dress in a 10& 12 as my back up size (I usually wear a size 8 but was skeptical about the sizing) The 10 fit wonderfully, I didn't even need to try on the 12. The only complaint I have it that it's a little on the short side& I'm only 5'4". I had multiple girls ask me where I got the dress. Paired with nude heels, some dangly earrings& a Michael Kors watch. Wonderul first experience with RTR & will definitely be renting again :)

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
January 13, 2014
Amazing first experience!

This was my first rental and it was great. The dress was really beautiful and in great condition. I usually wear a 8 and could have worn the 8 however the dress is pretty short so I opted to go with the 10. I would definitely rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 8, 2014
Received numerous compliments, super easy to wear and pack.

I own several Shoshanna dresses and this one does run small thru the bust area. Granted, I am chesty, but the other reviews stating this ran small were correct. I have thin arms, but if you have larger upper arms this could be an issue. It is, in fact, quite short. I appreciated the shorter length and think it kept it from being dowdy. The navy was a nice variation on black and I wore it with metallic heels.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
February 14, 2014
Super comfortable and understated.

I usually order a 0 & 2 but order up a size here if you're larger on top! Even the 4 was a little tight around my chest region and the 2 left very little to the imagination at the bottom of the dress (and I have a short torso). The dress however is great - it's very elegant, I wore it to our anniversary dinner and you can easily dress it up or down. Highly recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2014
Pretty color, loved the lace - tad bit small for a pear shape like me!

I really loved this dress, it was just a tad bit small for me on my lower half, which is actually not surprising since I'm pear shaped! I would definitely recommend sizing up a bit, especially if you're bigger on the bottom. I called RTR since the 4 and 6 that I ordered weren't working out, and they were super helpful and sent me another dress all together at the last minute. Unfortunately, that dress was too large, so I ended up squeezing into the size 6 of this dress. In the end I was glad I wore it because I got lots of compliments on it, but I would definitely recommend going a little bigger than you think you need if you're a pear shape like me!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2014
I felt special for my birthday

This dress was beautiful but not exactly the best pick for a girl with hourglass curves it has no give and my husband said that it really minimized my bust. It is quite short, I was glad to have a long napkin on my lap at dinner to prevent any "wardrobe malefactions" It was different and I liked that about it, but probably wouldn't rent it again

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 9, 2014
Fit great. Good for a short person, the length was perfect.

Classic, but sexy. A little form fitted, but stretched. I have worn a 0 in Shoshanna before, but this one fit better in the 2.

See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×