You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Black Leopard Dress
Rental $45 Retail $385
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Cocktail party coming up? Go for an exotic twist on the LBD with this one-shouldered Shoshanna! All you need is a pair of strappy black heels to finish off this fierce look that's sure to impress.
Chat with a Stylist
Black satin leopard jacquard(64% acrylic; 36% viscose). One shoulder neckline. Draped tulip hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos14

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6623
Nov 28, 2013
The dress was perfect!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental, it was great. The dress fit a little tight across my ribs but I have this issue often. I was so relaxed when I arrived at the event because I had not been running around all over town trying to pull together the perfect ensemble. Thank you RTR!
Britt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
May 10, 2013
Great for weddings!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect and comfortable all night.
Amber J.
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7542
Apr 30, 2013
Rent the runway makes dressing for an event so much easier!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I picked the dress in a size 8 and 10. i usually wear 10. The 8 fit really nice but it was really tight around my rib cage chest area so I went with the 10 which was great. The only thing I would've changed about the 10 would be that the skirt part fit like the size 8 did...slightly slimmer in the hips. I loved that it could hide my problem area/belly bc it balloons a little in that area of the skirt. Overall i loved this dress and my RTR experience. This was my second option. The first dress was too short for my long legs, this on fell at just the right length for an evening wedding. Hoping to go to the showroom to try on selections for a fall wedding!
Hannah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7334
Mar 27, 2013
I got many compliments about the dress, I felt so comfortable in it.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the fit was perfect it was comfortable and easy to move in.
Abigail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Mar 7, 2012
Gorgeous structured dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Phenomenal dress with a subtle pattern and a striking shape. I was shocked to feel the 4 fit so snugly in the chest when I put it on the first time with a strapless bra. I ended up not wearing a bra, as the dress has quite a bit of boning for just that purpose! Also, the dress did "give" a bit over the course of the evening, so I'm glad I went with the 4. It was perfect everywhere else!
NOLA lady
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7533
Jan 1, 2013
Beautiful, classy, unique, comfortable black dress!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve wedding and it was perfect for the ocassion. I typically wear a size 10 in dresses and this dress fit like a glove. It's short enough to show off your legs but not too short. I wear a 36 C bra and the top fit well. The material is beautiful and I loved the unique animal print that was just enough, but not too much. The off-the-shoulder style is really classy and beautiful and the dress is overall very comfortable to wear, which is nice. Also, the way the dress is made is very flattering especially for "apple" women, which I am! It drapes nicely across your stomach which is great especially after enjoying a lot of wedding food ;). I highly recommend this dress and really enjoyed wearing it.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5441
Dec 13, 2012
Great Black Dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great black dress option! It was comfortable, flattering and easy to move around in! Really enjoyed the dress! The material is a bit more shiny than what it appears on the site, but still was appropriate for a wedding!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6523
Oct 21, 2012
Great dress! Many compliments
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a VERY comfortable dress. :) I think this is the most comfortable I've ever been in at a wedding ever!
Juli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 1, 2012
The black leopard print really makes this LBD unique.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits true to size and is also very comfortable.
Jamie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Aug 7, 2012
Feeling fabulous in this dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have a very tiny waist and big hips, so after reading the reviews about the forgiving tulip skirt, I decided to rent this for a wedding. I got the size 2 and 4 as a backup. The 2 fit very well, but I can see what everyone meant by the tight fit on the top. The skirt fit my wide hips well with plenty of room and I felt very comfortable in this dress. You do have to be a little careful when sitting as the skirt will try to open up, but not a big deal, in my opinion. Overall, I loved wearing this dress and can’t wait to try something else from RTR!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Jul 17, 2012
When UPS delayed my original shipment of dresses, I contacted RTR less than 24 hours before my event. They sent me the exact dress that I wanted as well as this backup dress that I loved... and I got everything in time for the event. I felt great in this dress, and my husband thought I looked pretty hot!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This LBD is super cute. This was my backup dress, and I liked it better than the one I had been eyeing for months. This dress is pretty short and has a wrap-type tulip skirt. It is very flattering, but you have to make sure your legs are crossed when sitting! The fabric is really pretty, the subtile leopard print was fun and flirty, but still super classy. I think this dress would work well for girls that are busty (and don't want to show everything off) or smalled cheasted (because the 1 shoulder detail is distracting and interesting). If I had this dress in my closet I would definately wear it again!
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Feb 28, 2012
I didn't want to send this dress back, it's so flattering and glamorous :)
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely adored this dress! The fit worked out great for me. I'm a C-cup and the top fit great, but I definitely didn't have any room to spare up there. Larger chested ladies should probably size-up for this dress. The fit is super flattering and completely camouflages the tummy/hip area which was perfect for me. The length was a couple inches above the knee, exactly where a cocktail dress should be. However, I will warn that this dress is a true tulip skirt so be sure and keep your legs crossed ;) Just sayin!
CMed
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jan 4, 2012
Ringing in 2012 in style!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for dinner and a party on New Year's Eve. The material is much more beautiful in person than in the picture -- you can really see the detail. This was my first experience with and off-the-shoulder dress and it fit nicely, although the top was very fitted so bustier girls might want to size up (I'm a C-cup and was just able to zipper it up). Overall I was very happy with this rental!
Amber
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Jan 13, 2014
Amazing dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I actually rented another dress for my event and when it arrived it did no fit, I called RTR and they overnighted me this one. Amazing customer service! I rented a size 4 and 6. The size 6 fit better but was definitely tight zipping up in the bust area. The skirt hid my mommy tummy and I really felt very comfortable the whole night. I received a ton of compliments. The picture does not do the dress justice. It was a really great experience and I will definitely rent from them again and again.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 26, 2013
Love the fabric details!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
You can't tell as well from the pictures, but the material is really high quality and looks great in person. I loved this dress because it is a classic LBD with a little extra. I wore it to a wedding and it was perfect!
Violet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Dec 18, 2013
MY FIRST RTR EXPERIENCE AND LOVED IT.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
At first blush, I thought the dress looked simple. However, once I put it on, I immediately noticed how well the dress is made and how flattering it is! I ordered a back up size 10, but the 8 fit like a glove. Boning inside the dress kept everyting in place. I felt so chic and modern in the dress. I wore this to a formal event in March in Chicago, so wore it with black tights and awesome black patent platform pumps. So happy with my first (and definitely not last) RTR experience.
Audrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5532
Nov 28, 2013
This was a simple yet sexy dress that was perfect for a night out.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
While the dress was nice, the specific dress sent to me had been sent damaged. The corset boning was protruding out of the dress and stabbed me every time I took a breath. Besides that it was a very nice dress. I just wish I hadn't received it damaged.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Nov 26, 2013
Chic!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have a small bust, so it was a little loose up top. For someone who normally doesn't wear lots of patterns and prints, I liked that this was very subtle.
xxfashion
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Oct 24, 2013
Classy but fun!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. My only complaint was that I wish the waist was a little tighter and the dress was a little longer (but I am 5 ft 9). The print is pretty subtle but adds enough interest to make a LBD a little more fun. Great dress overall!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 1, 2013
Great dress, looks very classy & chic
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Excellent dress, classy, chic, etc., very excited to wear, it runs true to size but a little snug on the bust, I am always a 6 and this one fits (as I have a small bust) but if you have larger I'd size up!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jul 16, 2013
Perfect Saturday night wedding dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
it was easy to dress up with fun shoes and great jewelry. Very comfortable dress with fun flare!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7441
May 30, 2013
Not quite the perfect fit!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a bit big, I had recently lst a little weight so I think the 8 would have been better. I had to pin it to my bra. It was almost too short with me being 5'11". Liked the overall design tho.
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
May 30, 2013
Versitale
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great. I ordered this as my back-up and didn't end up wearing it to my event, but I would order it again. The pattern on the dress is very subtle and classy. I ordered this in a 2 and had a difficult time zipping it (side zipper). I am a bit bigger in the bust and my ribs are large - I did end up getting it zipped in the end - I just needed a little extra help.
michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
May 20, 2013
Edge up the little black dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal event with a red carpet. I got a lot of compliments on the asymmetrical shoulder, and although the leopard print was (perfectly) subtle, it added some fun edginess. I'm usually a 2 or 4, but rented the 4 based on other reviews, and it fit perfectly. I was nervous that it would give me an armpit wedgie, but it didn't at all. I paired it with RTR's Nyla Emerald Earrings by Kendra Scott, which looked gorgeous with the dress. I would highly recommend this one!
Diana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
May 13, 2013
I loved this dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The first time I tried to rent this dress UPS messed up and didn't deliver it, but RTR was really good about it and gave me a credit so I tried again. This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I rented it for a wedding and it was completely appropriate.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Apr 29, 2013
Flattering
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little short
SM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6543
Apr 2, 2013
on time, fits right and looks fabulous!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
amazing dress, true to size and looks incredible!!
Tammy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6541
Mar 21, 2013
Looking great while partying with friends!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The overall fit was great. I usually wear a 8 or 10 and the 6 fit me great!
Daf222
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Jan 29, 2013
Size 10 was big in the bust area & a little baggy on bottom.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It was too big to wear.
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6431
Jan 13, 2013
Beautiful dress! Fun but classy
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and it was amazing! The dresses arrived in great condition and on time. I am normally a size 8 but ended up selecting the 10 to wear as the extra room made me feel more comfortable. The leopard print is subtle but gives the dress some pizazz! I received many compliments on this dress and I am planning on renting it again!
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 17, 2012
The one-shoulder design really made this dress special.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit well -- it was a great length (a shorter on me than on the model) and was so easy to wear all night! I added a flashy necklace and it was a huge hit.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Dec 5, 2012
Great dress that received a lot of compliments!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually a size 6 in all Shoshanna dresses but this one was extra tight in the bust (I'm a 36B). While I could get into it, I figured a night of eating, drinking and dancing would not help the situation. So I wore the size 8 which was much more comfortable in the bust but too big in the hips. Fortunately it was black so it was harder to tell.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Dec 2, 2012
This was a second choice dress for me, happy with my first choice!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Not good for girls wtih a larger chest.
Brianne
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Nov 19, 2012
This dress was great. I got a lot of compliments and wanted to keep it for myself!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size and was very flattering.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Nov 13, 2012
It fit great and I got so many compliments!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding with my boyfriend (and was also meeting his parents for the first time). I fit into the smaller size that I had ordered (which was a huge confidence boost!). I got so many compliments and felt comfortable dancing all night. It was also comfortable to sit and eat in. The only place I was slightly concerned about fit was the bust, and that was snug in the 4.
N
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Nov 12, 2012
Great dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress, but it ran a little large. Unfortunately I had to return it.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Nov 12, 2012
Felt sophisticated with the dress but was able to dance comfortably!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very pretty and elegant...perfect for an evening wedding in Miami. The bottom half is a tulip style, so like other reviewers mentioned, it has a lot of room for dancing and for those of us with larger bottoms! I usually wear a 2 on top and am a 4/6 on the bottom. Reviewers said to go up a size for backup...I wish I had gone down. I wore a 2 (and had a 4 as backup) but felt the 0 would have fit me better. As a pear shaped gal with a small bust the 2 was a little loose on top (wore a bra to fill it out). The 0 would have been fine on my bottom since the skirt is loose and so forgiving. I paired the dress with black patent peep toes, some multicolor bangles, and some pretty dangly earrings. Overall, comfortable dress, very forgiving (aka no Spanx needed), but runs a little big.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Nov 12, 2012
A good experience
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental and I would call it a success. The dress was nice when it arrived and fit well. The bust was a little large, which surprised me, but I didn't need any special tape or anything to complete the look. It was a little longer than what I typically wear, but the pattern is cute and the one shoulder got a lot of compliments
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 5534
Nov 12, 2012
Comfortable and fashionable
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rent the runway dress experience and it couldn't have worked out better. I received several compliments and was comfortable the whole night.
Denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6524
Oct 26, 2012
Dress was comfortable and allowed me to dance carefree all night long!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a night on the town in Vegas. It fit nicely and even hid my bloated PMS belly. I rented an 8 because I always need the extra coverage to the "girls"
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress