Black Leopard Dress

$58 to buy
$385 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Cocktail party coming up? Go for an exotic twist on the LBD with this one-shouldered Shoshanna! All you need is a pair of strappy black heels to finish off this fierce look that's sure to impress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black satin leopard jacquard(64% acrylic; 36% viscose). One shoulder neckline. Draped tulip hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size60
Small20
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
April 30, 2013
Rent the runway makes dressing for an event so much easier!
I picked the dress in a size 8 and 10. i usually wear 10. The 8 fit really nice but it was really tight around my rib cage chest area so I went with the 10 which was great. The only thing I would've changed about the 10 would be that the skirt part fit like the size 8 did...slightly slimmer in the hips. I loved that it could hide my problem area/belly bc it balloons a little in that area of the skirt. Overall i loved this dress and my RTR experience. This was my second option. The first dress was too short for my long legs, this on fell at just the right length for an evening wedding. Hoping to go to the showroom to try on selections for a fall wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 29, 2013
Flattering
A little short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2013
on time, fits right and looks fabulous!
amazing dress, true to size and looks incredible!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 27, 2013
I got many compliments about the dress, I felt so comfortable in it.
the fit was perfect it was comfortable and easy to move in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
March 21, 2013
Looking great while partying with friends!
The overall fit was great. I usually wear a 8 or 10 and the 6 fit me great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 29, 2013
Size 10 was big in the bust area & a little baggy on bottom.
It was too big to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
Beautiful dress! Fun but classy
This was my first RTR experience and it was amazing! The dresses arrived in great condition and on time. I am normally a size 8 but ended up selecting the 10 to wear as the extra room made me feel more comfortable. The leopard print is subtle but gives the dress some pizazz! I received many compliments on this dress and I am planning on renting it again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2013
Beautiful, classy, unique, comfortable black dress!
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve wedding and it was perfect for the ocassion. I typically wear a size 10 in dresses and this dress fit like a glove. It's short enough to show off your legs but not too short. I wear a 36 C bra and the top fit well. The material is beautiful and I loved the unique animal print that was just enough, but not too much. The off-the-shoulder style is really classy and beautiful and the dress is overall very comfortable to wear, which is nice. Also, the way the dress is made is very flattering especially for "apple" women, which I am! It drapes nicely across your stomach which is great especially after enjoying a lot of wedding food ;). I highly recommend this dress and really enjoyed wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 17, 2012
The one-shoulder design really made this dress special.
This dress fit well -- it was a great length (a shorter on me than on the model) and was so easy to wear all night! I added a flashy necklace and it was a huge hit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2012
Great Black Dress!
Great black dress option! It was comfortable, flattering and easy to move around in! Really enjoyed the dress! The material is a bit more shiny than what it appears on the site, but still was appropriate for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 5, 2012
Great dress that received a lot of compliments!
I'm usually a size 6 in all Shoshanna dresses but this one was extra tight in the bust (I'm a 36B). While I could get into it, I figured a night of eating, drinking and dancing would not help the situation. So I wore the size 8 which was much more comfortable in the bust but too big in the hips. Fortunately it was black so it was harder to tell.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2012
This was a second choice dress for me, happy with my first choice!
Not good for girls wtih a larger chest.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 19, 2012
This dress was great. I got a lot of compliments and wanted to keep it for myself!
The dress fit true to size and was very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2012
It fit great and I got so many compliments!
I wore this dress to a wedding with my boyfriend (and was also meeting his parents for the first time). I fit into the smaller size that I had ordered (which was a huge confidence boost!). I got so many compliments and felt comfortable dancing all night. It was also comfortable to sit and eat in. The only place I was slightly concerned about fit was the bust, and that was snug in the 4.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress
I loved the dress, but it ran a little large. Unfortunately I had to return it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
Felt sophisticated with the dress but was able to dance comfortably!
The dress is very pretty and elegant...perfect for an evening wedding in Miami. The bottom half is a tulip style, so like other reviewers mentioned, it has a lot of room for dancing and for those of us with larger bottoms! I usually wear a 2 on top and am a 4/6 on the bottom. Reviewers said to go up a size for backup...I wish I had gone down. I wore a 2 (and had a 4 as backup) but felt the 0 would have fit me better. As a pear shaped gal with a small bust the 2 was a little loose on top (wore a bra to fill it out). The 0 would have been fine on my bottom since the skirt is loose and so forgiving. I paired the dress with black patent peep toes, some multicolor bangles, and some pretty dangly earrings. Overall, comfortable dress, very forgiving (aka no Spanx needed), but runs a little big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 12, 2012
A good experience
This was my first rental and I would call it a success. The dress was nice when it arrived and fit well. The bust was a little large, which surprised me, but I didn't need any special tape or anything to complete the look. It was a little longer than what I typically wear, but the pattern is cute and the one shoulder got a lot of compliments
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 12, 2012
Comfortable and fashionable
This was my first rent the runway dress experience and it couldn't have worked out better. I received several compliments and was comfortable the whole night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124lbs
October 26, 2012
Dress was comfortable and allowed me to dance carefree all night long!
I rented this dress for a night on the town in Vegas. It fit nicely and even hid my bloated PMS belly. I rented an 8 because I always need the extra coverage to the "girls"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
Great dress! Many compliments
This was a VERY comfortable dress. :) I think this is the most comfortable I've ever been in at a wedding ever!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 16, 2012
Awesome
I felt so amazing in this dres, it was a little short since I am 5'11. This bust was very tight but still able to dance
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
great dress
great dress, exactly what I was expecting!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
The black leopard print really makes this LBD unique.
This dress fits true to size and is also very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2012
Valentine's Day Date Night
I loved this dress! So comfortable and so easy to accessorize! Shoshanna sure can make a dress and RTR sure is easy to use!! I got so many compliments while wearing this dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2012
Such a cute LBD!
Rented as my backup dress and ended up wearing the other. This dress is really pretty, and the leopard print makes it unique. The style is very forgiving around the midsection. Would not recommend for anyone with a large ribcage, not alot of extra room. The hook and eye at the top of the zipper was broken, and the zipper was really difficult to get up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 8, 2012
Awesome LBD
I want this dress in my closet! The top was very structured and stayed in place perfectly. I felt very elegant in this dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 6, 2012
Fit specialist was wrong
I normally wear a size 6 and sometimes 8 in dresses. All the reviews led me to think that a 8 would be best for me and I was trying to decide what to order as my back up. I wanted to be sure, so I used the "chat with a fit specialist" feature. I gave the specialist my measurements and she asked me for my bra size. She then immediately suggested that I get the 10. I assumed she had some knowledge about the designer's sizing that led her to suggest I wear a size that I've never worn. Turns out, I should have gone with my instincts. The size 8 was not available and neither was the 6, so I went with the 10 which was too big for me on top and huge on the bottom. It's a really beautiful dress that I wish I could have worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 4, 2012
great condition, fit perfectly
I always love the fit and look of Shoshanna dresses and this did not disappoint. Wore to a late afternoon Labor Day weekend wedding in New Hampshire and received many compliments. Traditional, classic dress but the animal print made it a little edgier. My boyfriend was sad that I had to return it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2012
Forgiving and flattering
FIt true to size, and very comfortable. A little snug in the bust (I'm a 34C). Wore this to a late summer, black tie optional wedding, and got plenty of compliments. I love RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 28, 2012
Stylish and flattering
Great dress and EXTREMELY forgiving! I had to attend a wedding rehearsal dinner six weeks after having a baby. This dress nicely emphasizes your boobs and gives you a waist, too. I got tons of compliments. Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Great dress but did not wear.
I rented this dress in a size 4 and size 6 as well as another Shoshanna dress just in case for an indoor summer wedding. The 4 fit well except that it was a bit too short (I am 5'10). I was worried that the tulip skirt would also fly open since it is not sewn together. I would have worn it, but since I ordered a 3rd option, I went with the safer option (Shoshanna vicious venom dress). Nonetheless, this is a great dress --it is very cute with the subtle leopard print!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
August 11, 2012
Cute
Rented for a wedding. It ran small, so it didn't fit and I didn't wear it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
August 7, 2012
Feeling fabulous in this dress!
I have a very tiny waist and big hips, so after reading the reviews about the forgiving tulip skirt, I decided to rent this for a wedding. I got the size 2 and 4 as a backup. The 2 fit very well, but I can see what everyone meant by the tight fit on the top. The skirt fit my wide hips well with plenty of room and I felt very comfortable in this dress. You do have to be a little careful when sitting as the skirt will try to open up, but not a big deal, in my opinion. Overall, I loved wearing this dress and can’t wait to try something else from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 17, 2012
When UPS delayed my original shipment of dresses, I contacted RTR less than 24 hours before my event. They sent me the exact dress that I wanted as well as this backup dress that I loved... and I got everything in time for the event. I felt great in this dress, and my husband thought I looked pretty hot!
This LBD is super cute. This was my backup dress, and I liked it better than the one I had been eyeing for months. This dress is pretty short and has a wrap-type tulip skirt. It is very flattering, but you have to make sure your legs are crossed when sitting! The fabric is really pretty, the subtile leopard print was fun and flirty, but still super classy. I think this dress would work well for girls that are busty (and don't want to show everything off) or smalled cheasted (because the 1 shoulder detail is distracting and interesting). If I had this dress in my closet I would definately wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
July 5, 2012
Cute but way too small up top
SUCH a cute dress, but was just too small around my chest. When I rent, I usually order 4-6 depending on designer, but upon reading reviews went with a 6 and an 8... wish I would've went 8 and a 10, a 10 would have fit perfectly. I would give this 5 stars if it fit! I can get zipper up but it digs into under-arms and doesn't look very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 7, 2012
Wish I Could Have Made it Work
I rented this dress for a fancy night out celebrating my fiance's birthday. There was only a size 10 available so I couldn't rent the size 8 (which would have fit perfectly). As much as I tried to make the 10 work, it was just too large all over. I was so upset because the dress is gorgeous in person and would be very flattering for any body type. Need to find a new event so I can rock this out again soon!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2012
Flirty and flattering!
This dress creates a terrific shape - I felt like my figure was shown off to its best effect without any pinching/squeezing. The skirt drapes nicely and the way the one-shoulder neckline is cut, it avoids that awful arm-fat effect that so many one-shoulder dresses can give. The subtle leopard print makes it a little more interesting than a regular LBD without a "MEOW" vibe. I'd rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 2, 2012
Everybody flatters this dress!
I sometimes wear 2. I'm 150cm tall with C-D cup. Even though I could "wear" the 2, still I felt tight around my stomach and decided to wear 4. Glad that we can rent 2 dresses. The waist line comes above your waist and you must look nicer! I loved both the design and the texture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2012
Gorgeous structured dress!
Phenomenal dress with a subtle pattern and a striking shape. I was shocked to feel the 4 fit so snugly in the chest when I put it on the first time with a strapless bra. I ended up not wearing a bra, as the dress has quite a bit of boning for just that purpose! Also, the dress did "give" a bit over the course of the evening, so I'm glad I went with the 4. It was perfect everywhere else!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 7, 2012
Loved!
This dress fit and looked great. A tiny bit loose on top but fixed with fashion tape. It was really flattering and I got a lot of compliments. If I could find it for sale online, I would purchase it in a heartbeat.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×