Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Black Leopard Dress

$35 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Cocktail party coming up? Go for an exotic twist on the LBD with this one-shouldered Shoshanna! All you need is a pair of strappy black heels to finish off this fierce look that's sure to impress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black satin leopard jacquard(64% acrylic; 36% viscose). One shoulder neckline. Draped tulip hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

91 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 59
Large 11
Photos 23
Lupe
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Feb 15, 2012

Birthday

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wear this one to dinner to my birthday party!!!!!
Christine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 26, 2012

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this last minute for a wedding when I realized that my go-to LBD didn't fit. Oops! I couldn't get the 6 - a good size for me so I rented the 4 with a back-up of 8 and kept my fingers crossed. In the end, I went with the 8 (the 4 wouldn't zip up the bust) but, for what its worth, the 6 would have been perfect. I'm 5'3 115 34D/34DD normally size 4/6 depending on designer. The 8 was slightly big and a little room up top and in the waist but not that noticeable. The length was great, not too long and not too short for my petite size. The fabric is really nice. Worked beautifully with a NYC winter wedding! Oh, and I got lots of compliments, especially from my husband!
j
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 26, 2012

SAFE

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my first rental, and I wanted to play it safe. The fabric is nice, midweight, and has a bit of leopard sheen to make it more than just another black dress. I was surprised that it fit a little snug in the chest, but was loose around the hips (looser than the photo lets on). Wish I could say it had a really flattering fit, but at least it was super comfortable. I could have taken this dress to a buffet service wedding hehe.
shawna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 7, 2012

Loved!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit and looked great. A tiny bit loose on top but fixed with fashion tape. It was really flattering and I got a lot of compliments. If I could find it for sale online, I would purchase it in a heartbeat.
Jgal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 2, 2012

Everybody flatters this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I sometimes wear 2. I'm 150cm tall with C-D cup. Even though I could "wear" the 2, still I felt tight around my stomach and decided to wear 4. Glad that we can rent 2 dresses. The waist line comes above your waist and you must look nicer! I loved both the design and the texture.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2012

Flirty and flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress creates a terrific shape - I felt like my figure was shown off to its best effect without any pinching/squeezing. The skirt drapes nicely and the way the one-shoulder neckline is cut, it avoids that awful arm-fat effect that so many one-shoulder dresses can give. The subtle leopard print makes it a little more interesting than a regular LBD without a "MEOW" vibe. I'd rent it again!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 7, 2012

Wish I Could Have Made it Work

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a fancy night out celebrating my fiance's birthday. There was only a size 10 available so I couldn't rent the size 8 (which would have fit perfectly). As much as I tried to make the 10 work, it was just too large all over. I was so upset because the dress is gorgeous in person and would be very flattering for any body type. Need to find a new event so I can rock this out again soon!
kristinad
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 5, 2012

Cute but way too small up top

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
SUCH a cute dress, but was just too small around my chest. When I rent, I usually order 4-6 depending on designer, but upon reading reviews went with a 6 and an 8... wish I would've went 8 and a 10, a 10 would have fit perfectly. I would give this 5 stars if it fit! I can get zipper up but it digs into under-arms and doesn't look very flattering.
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Aug 11, 2012

Cute

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Rented for a wedding. It ran small, so it didn't fit and I didn't wear it.
SJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Great dress but did not wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress in a size 4 and size 6 as well as another Shoshanna dress just in case for an indoor summer wedding. The 4 fit well except that it was a bit too short (I am 5'10). I was worried that the tulip skirt would also fly open since it is not sewn together. I would have worn it, but since I ordered a 3rd option, I went with the safer option (Shoshanna vicious venom dress). Nonetheless, this is a great dress --it is very cute with the subtle leopard print!
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

Stylish and flattering

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress and EXTREMELY forgiving! I had to attend a wedding rehearsal dinner six weeks after having a baby. This dress nicely emphasizes your boobs and gives you a waist, too. I got tons of compliments. Highly recommend.
Lori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

Forgiving and flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
FIt true to size, and very comfortable. A little snug in the bust (I'm a 34C). Wore this to a late summer, black tie optional wedding, and got plenty of compliments. I love RTR!
Hope
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

great condition, fit perfectly

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I always love the fit and look of Shoshanna dresses and this did not disappoint. Wore to a late afternoon Labor Day weekend wedding in New Hampshire and received many compliments. Traditional, classic dress but the animal print made it a little edgier. My boyfriend was sad that I had to return it!
Andrea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Fit specialist was wrong

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a size 6 and sometimes 8 in dresses. All the reviews led me to think that a 8 would be best for me and I was trying to decide what to order as my back up. I wanted to be sure, so I used the "chat with a fit specialist" feature. I gave the specialist my measurements and she asked me for my bra size. She then immediately suggested that I get the 10. I assumed she had some knowledge about the designer's sizing that led her to suggest I wear a size that I've never worn. Turns out, I should have gone with my instincts. The size 8 was not available and neither was the 6, so I went with the 10 which was too big for me on top and huge on the bottom. It's a really beautiful dress that I wish I could have worn.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 8, 2012

Awesome LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I want this dress in my closet! The top was very structured and stayed in place perfectly. I felt very elegant in this dress.
MAIRE
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Such a cute LBD!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented as my backup dress and ended up wearing the other. This dress is really pretty, and the leopard print makes it unique. The style is very forgiving around the midsection. Would not recommend for anyone with a large ribcage, not alot of extra room. The hook and eye at the top of the zipper was broken, and the zipper was really difficult to get up.
Caroline
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 28, 2012

Valentine's Day Date Night

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress! So comfortable and so easy to accessorize! Shoshanna sure can make a dress and RTR sure is easy to use!! I got so many compliments while wearing this dress!
lpsych
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

great dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
great dress, exactly what I was expecting!
Patty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

Awesome

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I felt so amazing in this dres, it was a little short since I am 5'11. This bust was very tight but still able to dance
Denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Dress was comfortable and allowed me to dance carefree all night long!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a night on the town in Vegas. It fit nicely and even hid my bloated PMS belly. I rented an 8 because I always need the extra coverage to the "girls"
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 12, 2012

Comfortable and fashionable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rent the runway dress experience and it couldn't have worked out better. I received several compliments and was comfortable the whole night.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

A good experience

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental and I would call it a success. The dress was nice when it arrived and fit well. The bust was a little large, which surprised me, but I didn't need any special tape or anything to complete the look. It was a little longer than what I typically wear, but the pattern is cute and the one shoulder got a lot of compliments
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Felt sophisticated with the dress but was able to dance comfortably!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very pretty and elegant...perfect for an evening wedding in Miami. The bottom half is a tulip style, so like other reviewers mentioned, it has a lot of room for dancing and for those of us with larger bottoms! I usually wear a 2 on top and am a 4/6 on the bottom. Reviewers said to go up a size for backup...I wish I had gone down. I wore a 2 (and had a 4 as backup) but felt the 0 would have fit me better. As a pear shaped gal with a small bust the 2 was a little loose on top (wore a bra to fill it out). The 0 would have been fine on my bottom since the skirt is loose and so forgiving. I paired the dress with black patent peep toes, some multicolor bangles, and some pretty dangly earrings. Overall, comfortable dress, very forgiving (aka no Spanx needed), but runs a little big.
N
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress, but it ran a little large. Unfortunately I had to return it.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

It fit great and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding with my boyfriend (and was also meeting his parents for the first time). I fit into the smaller size that I had ordered (which was a huge confidence boost!). I got so many compliments and felt comfortable dancing all night. It was also comfortable to sit and eat in. The only place I was slightly concerned about fit was the bust, and that was snug in the 4.
Brianne
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

This dress was great. I got a lot of compliments and wanted to keep it for myself!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size and was very flattering.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

This was a second choice dress for me, happy with my first choice!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Not good for girls wtih a larger chest.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Great dress that received a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually a size 6 in all Shoshanna dresses but this one was extra tight in the bust (I'm a 36B). While I could get into it, I figured a night of eating, drinking and dancing would not help the situation. So I wore the size 8 which was much more comfortable in the bust but too big in the hips. Fortunately it was black so it was harder to tell.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 17, 2012

The one-shoulder design really made this dress special.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit well -- it was a great length (a shorter on me than on the model) and was so easy to wear all night! I added a flashy necklace and it was a huge hit.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Beautiful dress! Fun but classy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and it was amazing! The dresses arrived in great condition and on time. I am normally a size 8 but ended up selecting the 10 to wear as the extra room made me feel more comfortable. The leopard print is subtle but gives the dress some pizazz! I received many compliments on this dress and I am planning on renting it again!
Daf222
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Size 10 was big in the bust area & a little baggy on bottom.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It was too big to wear.
Tammy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Mar 21, 2013

Looking great while partying with friends!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The overall fit was great. I usually wear a 8 or 10 and the 6 fit me great!
SM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 2, 2013

on time, fits right and looks fabulous!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
amazing dress, true to size and looks incredible!!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Flattering

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little short
Diana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
May 13, 2013

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The first time I tried to rent this dress UPS messed up and didn't deliver it, but RTR was really good about it and gave me a credit so I tried again. This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I rented it for a wedding and it was completely appropriate.
michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 20, 2013

Edge up the little black dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal event with a red carpet. I got a lot of compliments on the asymmetrical shoulder, and although the leopard print was (perfectly) subtle, it added some fun edginess. I'm usually a 2 or 4, but rented the 4 based on other reviews, and it fit perfectly. I was nervous that it would give me an armpit wedgie, but it didn't at all. I paired it with RTR's Nyla Emerald Earrings by Kendra Scott, which looked gorgeous with the dress. I would highly recommend this one!
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 30, 2013

Versitale

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great. I ordered this as my back-up and didn't end up wearing it to my event, but I would order it again. The pattern on the dress is very subtle and classy. I ordered this in a 2 and had a difficult time zipping it (side zipper). I am a bit bigger in the bust and my ribs are large - I did end up getting it zipped in the end - I just needed a little extra help.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
May 30, 2013

Not quite the perfect fit!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a bit big, I had recently lst a little weight so I think the 8 would have been better. I had to pin it to my bra. It was almost too short with me being 5'11". Liked the overall design tho.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

Perfect Saturday night wedding dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
it was easy to dress up with fun shoes and great jewelry. Very comfortable dress with fun flare!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 1, 2013

Great dress, looks very classy & chic

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Excellent dress, classy, chic, etc., very excited to wear, it runs true to size but a little snug on the bust, I am always a 6 and this one fits (as I have a small bust) but if you have larger I'd size up!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×