Sachin & Babi

Petal To The Metal Dress

$125 rental
$660 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Shine on in sparkles, dazzle them in lemon. This Sachin + Babi dress is for any fun girl who’s not afraid of a little sass. Pair with your favorite snakeskin clutch and start taking numbers.... Go with daring accessories like the Coralia Leets' Cerulean Droplet Earrings and stack Erickson Beamon's Continuum Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Citrine and gray silk chiffon combo. V neckline. Beaded bodice. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist and at shoulder. Raw edge tiered skirt. Exposed back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

123 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 79
Large 9
Photos 62
Nichole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was absolute perfection! I wore it out for my friend's Bachelorette party. I have never received so many compliments and stares in my life! Literally 10 people stopped me on the street asking where my dress was from. I am a true zero, and this dress fit great. A little snug under the arm, but nothing uncomfortable. I will definitely rent this one (and the one in black) in the future!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding in Mexico and got so many compliments. People were coming up to me all night to tell me how much they liked it - ended up being a great way to meet people! I got and wore the size 4, which is my normal size.
ro
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 31, 2011

Overall fit: Small
ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS DRESS!! i usually wear a size 0. thankfully i ordered the size 2 as well. the size 0 was snug around the armpits. i paired this dress back with black booties! i'd def rent this again!!!!
Niki
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress!! I loved it so much that I ended up buying it afterwards- seriously, you can't go wrong with this dress! So gorgeous!!!!
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Nov 9, 2011

Love it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 10 and a backup size 8. They fit similarly, but the 10 was 2-3 inches longer than the 8. I'm 5'4" so I went with the 8. It was super cute on and very comfortable. I was nervous about the tummy area as I still have a little post-baby chub there but it was quite flattering (even without Spanx). The hubby loved it and so did I! I wish I could keep it!
Demitasse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Nov 10, 2011

Very stylish, feminine, cute!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding and felt perfectly dressed. Because of the delicately balanced black accents on the waist and shoulders, the dress pairs nicely with sheer black tights, which felt needed since the wedding was in the Northeast, and in November. The top has a blousy fit, but the skirt is more fitted than meets the eye (underneath all the ruffles). The rich metallic beading on the top looks great in person; it lends a lot of visual interest and lets you complete the outfit with minimal accessorizing. Due to the price point, this isn't the dress I originally rented (I do my best to stay sub-$100, lest this become too expensive of a habit!). I had planned on getting the Trina Turk Purple Bow Shoulder Dress, but RentTheRunway called the day before my rental was scheduled to arrive to inform me that they had received it at their warehouse. To help make the last-minute replacement easier, they said to pick any dress that was still available. Although this dress was not available in a size 0, which is what I usually wear, the helpful RTR stylist told me that she herself wore this dress in a 2 since it ran small. So, all things said and done, the little mishap worked out in the best way it could have for me. I was lucky that this dress was available on such short notice, since I actually liked it more than the one I had initially settled on. Guess you get what you pay for--if you're looking to splurge a little this isn't a bad way to do it.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

Awesome!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my best friends bridal shower. The dress was perfect. I got this dress super last min because the dress I had previously ordered was not available. The only reason this dress did not get 5 stars was because the dress was a little tight throughout the hips. Overall this dress was great and got many compliments on it! Way more Beautiful in person than in the picture.
BLG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 23, 2011

Gorgeous detailing

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for my sister-in-law's wedding in Montecito and it was great. The beading on the top is beautiful and very expensive looking and the skirt is a lot of fun. And being able to wear a regular bra was great! At only 5'4, the skirt hit mid-thigh and felt a bit short for a wedding where I was surrounded by my husband's family, so I wouldn't recommend if you are taller unless you are looking for something really short. FYI, on my screen the skirt looks canary yellow, but it's a true lemon yellow in person.
wendy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 3, 2011

Love this dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress, I ordered the 0 and 2 as a backup, but ended wearing the 2. Recieved many compliments
Mel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 14, 2011

Fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is the perfect fun party dress. I would say it runs a little small on top. I am always a 4, and rented the 4 and the 6 for this and wore the 6. The 4 would have been harder to zip up and would have "flattened" me in front. The dress is such a perfect mix between, fun, flirty and rocker! Would totally rent it again!
Kat
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 21, 2011

Cute, but runs large!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I was going to wear this to our company holiday party but ended up wearing something else from RTR because: 1) it was short (I'm 5'5) and 2) it ran large around the waist area.
Susan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 27, 2011

Unique!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got non-stop compliments in this dress at a debutante ball. I wanted the size 4, but it was unavailable, so I ordered the 6. Other than being a tad baggy in the front, the fit was perfect. I am pretty flat chested, and the sequins are heavy, so the weight of the upper dress bagged between my breasts and waist. Obviously, it didn't matter, because I got tons of compliments! just wish I could learn to keep my mouth shut and not admit to everyone that the dress was rented!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

AMAZING!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am very skinny and usually wear a 0 or 2. I chose true to size above based on the reviews that I read before I placed my order. My butt is a little larger than the rest of me. The skirt part of the dress did fit tightly and therefore I had to wear the size 2. The top part of the 0 would have been fine but the bottom was too snug. The 2 fit perfectly on the bottom and was comfortable up top. I don't think the top is supposed to be skin tight, because even with the zero it was a bit flouncy. The 2 still looked extremely stylish. I was very satisfied with this dress and would 100% rent it again. I wore it to a New Year's party in Atlantic City and was stopped every few feet to receive compliments on the dress! Thank you RTR!
TN gal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

Stand out dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years Eve and got loads of compliments. It really stood out from all the LBD's and sequins. I wore black pumps and minimal jewelry (stud earrings and bangles) as the dress was so bold on its own. I generally wear a 2 in dresses, but the 4 worked fine. It was a tiny bit big in the bust but not noticeably and fit perfectly in the waist. It might run a smidge large but nothing drastic. Highly recommend!
LF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 10, 2012

Loved!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress and got a ton of compliments. It is a little more "conservative" meaning it is not super short/low cut but the sparkles make the top super cute. Definitely would recommend this dress.
Stacia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 19, 2012

From work to play!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress with black tights, patented leather black round toe pumps and a black blazer to the office and then took the blazer and tights off for an event that evening (had to roll right from work to the event with no time to change so needed something like this that would work for both). There really wasn't much difference in the sizing between the size 6 and the size 8 (my backup size), as in very little difference, but the overall fit was good. I did not like the purposefully exposed zipper, I thought it made the dress look cheap, but aside from that I thought this was really cute. The skirt portion is definitely not the bright yellow seen in the picture, much more of a mustard color.
Heather
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

Loved this dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is super flattering! I recently had a baby (9 weeks ago) and wanted to wear a high end dress without having to buy one in a bigger size than I will be in a few months. This dress photographs so beautifully! I am super impressed with RTR and the quality of the dresses I received! Both looked brand new! Also super impressed both dresses looked perfect and had no wrinkles! How is that even possible with shipping?! Will definitely rent again soon for my Vegas trip!!
delia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 21, 2012

FUN!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a morning television event and it looked great with a blazer for the morning, and even better as a party dress without the blazer at night! The fabric was very soft and comfortable and fit my body type very well (I have a small bust and the dress made it appear bigger.) I would definitely recommend this dress!!
MAB-ATX
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 26, 2012

Perfect Party Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received a ton of compliments on this dress. It fit true to size, but the bottom skirt part is sheer so I wore the larger size out of the two I ordered. I have a large bust and did not have any problems with the top.
Harper
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2012

Fits very tight

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress but it runs VERY small. I am curvy - size 6/8 , 34C and it was very tight and I had to return it :( RTR was very helpful though and sent a size 10 which was still too tight in the bust.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
May 7, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's wedding in Vegas and loved it. Although the 4 fit better on top than the 6, the bottom was a little snug so I wore the 6 for some extra room. I got a ton of compliments! The yellow bottom is sheer to be sure to wear nude spanx or a slip. I'm tall so it was a little on the short side - which was just fine for Vegas!
Jackie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
May 20, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a friend's bachelorette party in Vegas and loved it! Great fit, very comfortable and I received several compliments on the style. I definitely recommend it. I went a size up because the size 4 was tight across the backside.
Amelia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
May 28, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is amazing! It will look beautiful on you!
Suzanne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
May 30, 2012

Fabulous, flirty, gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love, love, love this dress! I wore this dress to a close friend's wedding. I ordered both the size 2 and 4 because I wasn't sure which size would work for me. I am 5'4 and 119lbs. The 4 fit comfortably on the bottom but was loose for me on top, so I went with the 2. It was short, but not too short, and snugger on my rear (I have a booty!) but was still flattering. I got SO many compliments on this dress! Strangers approached me in the bathroom and told me how much they loved it, and how unique it was. My friends also obsessed over it and told me it fit me like a glove. The wedding photographer even asked my friend and I (also wearing a bright color) to pose for a few photos for his website. Just a note, the skirt looks bright yellow in the photo - it is bright yellow but appears a bit darker in person, with an almost greenish hue to it. Still beautiful! This was my first Rent the Runway experience and it went off without a hitch. Am already thinking of what other weddings I have coming up... may rent a 2nd time! :-)
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 5, 2012

Phenomenal

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I wore the size 4 because the size 2 fit, but it was a little snug. I received so many compliments. I would highly recommend this dress for a special occasion if you want to stand out!
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Jun 11, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear an 8 but have been inching toward a 10 lately. I ended up wearing the 10 in this dress. I needed the bigger size to fit my curvy rear and bust. I would recommend some nude shorts or spanx underneath since the bottom is slightly sheer. I received many compliments -- this dress is certainly and eye catcher.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 19, 2012

Gorgeous. Wish I owned it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my company's launch party. It was fun and flirty, but not too revealing or sexy. Fit very well -- slightly tight across the top. Would definitely rent it again!
Kendra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 3, 2012

Pretty dress, runs small

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, but unfortunately it was too tight in the skirt for me to wear. This brand must run small overall. The top fit well for my bust, but the skirt was just too tight.
Dubb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 12, 2012

Best dress on the site!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress is adorable! I wore it to my 30th birthday dinner and it was super flirty and fun. I am usually a 4 and wore a 6 in this one. I only wish I had another event to rent this one again. You will not be dissapointed.
ChaCha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 18, 2012

Cute dress but not for big bus

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Loved the dress on RTR and wanted to see if it could work for my engagement shoot. Unfortunately, it was too tight in the chest area but could be an adorable dress on someone else! I went with my back up dress instead!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 5, 2012

I wanted to keep this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. It fit like a glove and was in perfect condition upon arrival. I was a bit nervous about the bright chartreuse color (since I'm pretty fair-skinned) but it worked out perfectly. The color of the top of the dress really balances out the bottom. This was my first RTR experience, but certainly not my last!
Amber
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 6, 2012

.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was looking for a dress to wear for my bachelorette party with my bridesmaids! I wanted something fun that would look great in pictures! This dress was amazing! I felt like a rock star and it fit great!! I ordered the size 2 and got the 4 as well. I didn't even try on the 4, as the 2 fit perfect! This dress was great for me because I didn't have to wear a strapless bra with it.
Aly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 7, 2012

I didn't want to return it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have a decent size bust, so it's hard to find the right fit with most dresses. This one fit me like a GLOVE! So comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. My only "complaint" is the black ribbon would wrinkle and flip up a bit after sitting down for a while, but a little water put it right back in place. I seriously didn't want to return this dress, and I will most likely rent it again for another wedding at the end of the year.
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit and fun dress. I received compliments all night!
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

So flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is made so well. It is the most flattering dress I've ever rented from RTR and I would rent it again.
Brie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Aug 13, 2012

AMAZING

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my own birthday night out and got a ton of compliments....I was also easy to find in a crowd. It was a big hit, and I am dying to rent and wear it again.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Aug 14, 2012

Vegas Bachelorette

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this for one night of a Las Vegas bachelorette party. I actually ended up not even wearing it. I don't think it was the dress as much as it was my body type. I am normally a size 8, but the 8 was SUPER tight in the butt area and way too short for me to fee comfortable. The 10 was then way too big up top, and still a ittle tight in the butt area, but I would have worn it if it hadn't been for it being too big up top. It was such a cute dress though- I was bummed I couldn't wear it!
Sari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Easy to wear

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stylish and easy to wear (easy to wear a regular bra, panties, etc and the straps don't slide off or anything). However, the top was a little big on me (just a little). Granted, I am small. I thought the detail on the bodice of this dress was really cool - edgy in a way, yet still a classy dress. I would recommend this dress. Also, it wasn't too long on me, which was great (I'm only 5'0" and always worry things will be too long).
Amelia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Love this!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Amazing dress. Fun and flirty and good to wear on any occasion!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Wish it had fit better....

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
If you are large on top, go up a size, it was tough to zip up the back. Cute dress otherwise.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×