Petal To The Metal Dress

$125 rental
$660 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Shine on in sparkles, dazzle them in lemon. This Sachin + Babi dress is for any fun girl who’s not afraid of a little sass. Pair with your favorite snakeskin clutch and start taking numbers.... Go with daring accessories like the Coralia Leets' Cerulean Droplet Earrings and stack Erickson Beamon's Continuum Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Citrine and gray silk chiffon combo. V neckline. Beaded bodice. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist and at shoulder. Raw edge tiered skirt. Exposed back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
123 reviews
Fit
Large9
True to Size79
Small35
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2012
Not A Great Fit...
I wanted to love this dress however it was way too small on bottom:( I ordered this in a 6 & 8 since I'm usually in between sizes, and the 8 fit, however it would have been very uncomfortable for a night out on the town. Overall the dress is very cute, the yellow is a really pretty color and the bead-work on top is gorgeous. Unfortunately the next size was not available the weekend I was looking to rent, so I had to go with another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 3, 2012
Best dress ever
I wore this dress to a wedding. It fit perfectly. I was getting compliments all day. Would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. If you are petite with a bust, this dress works great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
September 2, 2012
Black Tie Wedding
I absolutely love this dress! I rented it 4 days before my event, I didn't know if it would fit or if I would like it in person but it was fabulous. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 1, 2012
Loved the color and detail
I'm petite and small-busted so found the top to be a bit big but not so big that I couldn't wear it. I loved the detailing on top and the color on the bottom so much that I figured it would hide the fact that it was just slightly loose. Great to dance in. I wore bright red lipstick and felt great all evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 29, 2012
Really fun dress with eye-catching pop of color. Good experience overall!
Really fun dress for bachelorette party. I loved the top and the skirt is a fantastic pop of color. Lots of compliments but I must warn to fellow tall girls that it is very short. I stood most of the night but when I sat I did feel like I needed additional coverage. Good experience overall!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
I felt amazing in this Sachin + Babi dress for my friend's wedding in August! It was the perfect style and taste level for the museum venue and weather. I received many compliments. Loved it!
This dress was truly stunning. The beadwork was in perfect condition, and the color of the skirt looked exactly how it did online. There was a slight tear in one of the skirt ruffles when I received the dress, but you were not able to tell. The 8 fit me thru the waist and bottom nicely, but the top was a bit big (I wear a B cup).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 28, 2012
Festive dress!
Loved this dress! Ordered it as a backup dress and ended up changing into this one midway through my holiday party. Such a fun dress and sure to get a lot of oohs and aahs :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 28, 2012
such a unique dress!
I loved this dress; I thought the mixture of feminine and tough was really unique and the cut was a nice change from the one shoulder dresses I usually wear. The fit is a little off; it runs on the large side on top but the waist band is pretty tight. I wanted to be be comfortable so I thought about using my back up size (2) but ended up sticking with the 0 so it wouldn't be too loose up top. It seemed to stretch slightly throughout the night and was actually pretty comfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 27, 2012
loved dress but bad fit
I ordered in both a 6 & 8, the 8 was perfect through the hips but too big on top and the 6 was perfect on top but too small through the hips. Would love to buy the 8 and have tailored for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 26, 2012
great dress, great details
great dress! great color, love the beading, but if you like your dresses to fit snug and show off your body this is not the dress for you. i wished it was a little more fitted of a dress but otherwise gorgeous.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
August 24, 2012
Loved it!
Basically runs true to size, but a little tight in waste so went with larger size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
Great Dress
Does not give in the lower body area at all... if you're curvy, go a size up! Great dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
Odd fit for me
This was my back up dress for a wedding. It is stunning in person and I was heart broken I couldn't wear it- it looks like a perfect combo of fun/classy. I'm pear shape, smaller bust, and the reviews said to order a size up- which for me would be a 6, since I normally wear a 4 in this cut dress. The kicker is the lining of the skirt was fitted more like a pencil skirt- there was no give, so while I could get it over my caboose, it looked hooker-tight across my bum. The top was slightly loose (not noticeably so) but I think going up to the 8 would have resulted in the top being too big. While it's recommended for pear shaped gals, I would be conscious of what type of pear you are- if you have a booty, be aware this might be tighter than anticipated. It really is a beautiful dress in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
loved the top
The bottom was too tight and a little sheer. The yellow was more chartreuse than the sunny yellow in the picture. I liked it but it was too tight to wear, and too short for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
You can't help but sparkle wearing this dress!
I rented this for an evening wedding. It was perfect and I had people coming up to me all night asking where I got it...I could never give away my secret though! It was true to size and the fabric has some give which is great. The yellow skirt really makes a pop and is super flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Wish it had fit better....
If you are large on top, go up a size, it was tough to zip up the back. Cute dress otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Love this!
Amazing dress. Fun and flirty and good to wear on any occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 17, 2012
Easy to wear
This dress is stylish and easy to wear (easy to wear a regular bra, panties, etc and the straps don't slide off or anything). However, the top was a little big on me (just a little). Granted, I am small. I thought the detail on the bodice of this dress was really cool - edgy in a way, yet still a classy dress. I would recommend this dress. Also, it wasn't too long on me, which was great (I'm only 5'0" and always worry things will be too long).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
August 14, 2012
Vegas Bachelorette
I rented this for one night of a Las Vegas bachelorette party. I actually ended up not even wearing it. I don't think it was the dress as much as it was my body type. I am normally a size 8, but the 8 was SUPER tight in the butt area and way too short for me to fee comfortable. The 10 was then way too big up top, and still a ittle tight in the butt area, but I would have worn it if it hadn't been for it being too big up top. It was such a cute dress though- I was bummed I couldn't wear it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Although I was definitely not happy with the quality of one of the dresses I received, I had to change both my rental date and delivery addresses, and RTR could not have been more accommodating! Good customer service is hard to come by and I will not be forgetting the excellent service I received from the RTR staff.
Being new to RTR, I wanted to opt for a dress that got a lot of good ratings, increasing my chances of me liking and looking good in it, so I went with this eye-catching Sachin + Babi number. Definitely runs small. Trying on the 4 was too tight THANKFULLY, because the size 4 dress I received was FRAYING at some parts on the yellow skirt, making me question the whole dress-renting experience. Obviously, people have worn this dress previous to my own rental, but what company has the audacity to send a dress that is literally falling apart at the seams? The size 6 however, was in MUCH better condition, gently used. Very appropriate for a summer day-time wedding! I don't make a habit out of wearing yellow, so this piece is a nice step out of the box if you want to try something different!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
August 13, 2012
AMAZING
I wore this for my own birthday night out and got a ton of compliments....I was also easy to find in a crowd. It was a big hit, and I am dying to rent and wear it again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
So flattering!
This dress is made so well. It is the most flattering dress I've ever rented from RTR and I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 12, 2012
Loved it!
Great fit and fun dress. I received compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
August 8, 2012
Super cute dress that got compliments from my friend's fiance to randoms at Lolla!
I wore this to a bachelorette party and ended the night at Lollapolooza (where I felt like I fit in with the artists!). Very cute. Like other reviewers, I felt like the rib cage area (around the black band) was really tight but the top area was loose.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 7, 2012
I didn't want to return it!
I have a decent size bust, so it's hard to find the right fit with most dresses. This one fit me like a GLOVE! So comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. My only "complaint" is the black ribbon would wrinkle and flip up a bit after sitting down for a while, but a little water put it right back in place. I seriously didn't want to return this dress, and I will most likely rent it again for another wedding at the end of the year.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 6, 2012
.
I was looking for a dress to wear for my bachelorette party with my bridesmaids! I wanted something fun that would look great in pictures! This dress was amazing! I felt like a rock star and it fit great!! I ordered the size 2 and got the 4 as well. I didn't even try on the 4, as the 2 fit perfect! This dress was great for me because I didn't have to wear a strapless bra with it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2012
I wanted to keep this dress!
I absolutely loved this dress. It fit like a glove and was in perfect condition upon arrival. I was a bit nervous about the bright chartreuse color (since I'm pretty fair-skinned) but it worked out perfectly. The color of the top of the dress really balances out the bottom. This was my first RTR experience, but certainly not my last!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 30, 2012
The dress was a hit!
The color was fun and the dress was unique. It fit a little tight through the hips but it became more comfortable as the day went on! This is my favorite rental so far!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 25, 2012
Everyone commented on how unique and fun this dress was.
This was such a fun dress! Very fitted in the lower half so I'd say it's true to size or go up one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
Cute dress but not for big bus
Loved the dress on RTR and wanted to see if it could work for my engagement shoot. Unfortunately, it was too tight in the chest area but could be an adorable dress on someone else! I went with my back up dress instead!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
Loved it!!
Loved this dress - bright fun bottom with the gorgeous sequin top - all one piece. I received so many compliments on this dress the entire night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
July 16, 2012
Nothing better than a dress that you feel great in!
I wore this dress to a summer wedding and it was definitely a stand out! Tons of sparkle and super easy to dance in. I found that this dress ran a bit small in the hips/waist and a little larger in the bust but it still fit well and I thought it was gorgeous!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2012
Best dress on the site!
This dress is adorable! I wore it to my 30th birthday dinner and it was super flirty and fun. I am usually a 4 and wore a 6 in this one. I only wish I had another event to rent this one again. You will not be dissapointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
July 3, 2012
Pretty dress, runs small
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, but unfortunately it was too tight in the skirt for me to wear. This brand must run small overall. The top fit well for my bust, but the skirt was just too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2012
My Fiance kept telling me how great the dress was and that I should keep it because it looks so great!
This dress was 1. absolutely gorgeous, 2. totally different and 3. absolutely gorgeous. I wore this this past weekend for an outdoor wedding. Everyone commented on how different and fun the dress was. I felt so great in it as well. I hope I have another occasion to rent this dress for in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
July 2, 2012
Loved this dress!
Perfect dress for a summer wedding! So colorful and fun! The size was perfect and I'm sad to send it back
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2012
Seeing my best friends light up when I "unveiled" myself at the party!
Absolutely loved the dress, worked perfectly for my going away party and my friends kept commenting how stunning it was on, perfect for a summer evening or bachelorette party. The 8 felt more stretched out and loose than the 10 so I went with wearing that, but the top definitely runs a little big, since it has the metallics and beads to weigh it down. I will definitely be renting again, such a simple process and great looks to go for!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
Everyone kept complimenting the fun beading and colorful skirt! I danced all night!!
I got so many compliments on this dress! So fun and very comfortable! The fabric of the skirt has little give, so if you have a booty consider going a size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 19, 2012
Gorgeous. Wish I owned it!
I wore this to my company's launch party. It was fun and flirty, but not too revealing or sexy. Fit very well -- slightly tight across the top. Would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 18, 2012
All the compliments I got all night!
I loved this dress the second I saw it added onto RTR. I attended a Friday night wedding last weekend & it was PERFECT. I ordered the 2 & 4. The 2 was a little bit constricting & the 4 was a little bit loose, but I went with the 4 for comfort. I got so, so many compliments all night on the dress. The fabric and details are stunning & it photographed so beautifully. The yellow color was a really fun way to add a special extra flair.
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×