Rent the Runway

Sachin & Babi

Petal To The Metal Dress

$125 rental
$660 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Shine on in sparkles, dazzle them in lemon. This Sachin + Babi dress is for any fun girl who’s not afraid of a little sass. Pair with your favorite snakeskin clutch and start taking numbers.... Go with daring accessories like the Coralia Leets' Cerulean Droplet Earrings and stack Erickson Beamon's Continuum Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Citrine and gray silk chiffon combo. V neckline. Beaded bodice. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist and at shoulder. Raw edge tiered skirt. Exposed back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

123 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 79
Large 9
Photos 62
jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 5, 2011

hearing that my dress was beautiful!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a size 6 in dresses, and ordered the 8 as my backup. Turns out the 8 just fit, and the 6 was way too tight. I'm around a 34C/D cup and have a 28 waist for jeans. but the 8 was perfect. Absolutely LOVED this dress, got a lot of compliments. Also easy to wear bc since it's so loud, you can wear black shoes you probably already own and minimal jewelry. huge hit at my formal :)
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 30, 2011

Feeling amazingly sexy in my dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this as my backup dress and immediately when I put it on, it was the #1 choice. So fun and sassy and flirty without being too revealing. I adored it. Wore it on a girls night out with black opaque tights and black suede booties and got tons of compliments.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

After the wedding, my cousin told me I was "best dressed."

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a lot of fun to wear at my cousin's wedding. I received a lot of compliments on it. Only reason I couldnt rate it 5 starts is because some of the "bling" on the front had gone missing or was hanging on by a thread...literally. It wasnt anything that anyone at the event noticed, just me. The skirt is almost like a light chartreuse more than yellow, but I liked it. Another perk of the skirt's color: you'll always stood out in pictures, even when you're in the background.
MAY
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 30, 2012

HOW EASY IT WAS TO RETURN, HASSLE FREE SHIPPING!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great stylish dress, got tons of compliments and I would definitely rent for a different occasion, highly recommended!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Feb 7, 2012

While wearing the dress to shoe shop, several women stopped and were eager to get involved with the selection process. I had many strangers compliment the dress while at the park.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for family photos taken in the winter. I hoped the bright yellow color would help, and it did. A very pretty dress that received many compliments. It was a little large on the top for me, but I am less than 100 lbs. and 5'1. It wasn't a big deal.
peyton
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 8, 2012

my first rented dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
size 6 was perfect fit in waist and top, but a tad tight across the back. i ordered a 6 & 8 but wore the 6 because the 8 was a little loose up top. the yellow color is a little more green in person which i liked even more than the picture! wore it to a school dance (with Elizabeth Cole burst and chain earrings from RTR) and got many compliments! loved it.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 6, 2012

I love wearing dresses by designers that are new to me, and I can introduce them to my friends too. Icing on the cake, is when a guy can actually appreciate a high fashion dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress to wear to a friend's Dallas Bachelorette Party. I tried on the 0 first, and it was perfection. The tough metallic top paired with the bright wispy bottom was a great combo. I got so many compliments that night, and loved telling everyone that I was smart enough to rent, not buy!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

This was so easy. You could spend hours shopping to find a dress that is crazy expensive and that you may not wear more than once. So glad I tried it and it worked out so well.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely loved this dress. Quality fabric and unique look. Looks way better in person than on the model. Definitely achieved the glamourous look I wanted for my 30th birthday. Zipper was a little cumbersome but fine after you got it up. If you are a smaller bust, plan for smaller size. Tried to wear the 2 but was a bit constraining up top.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

loved the top

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The bottom was too tight and a little sheer. The yellow was more chartreuse than the sunny yellow in the picture. I liked it but it was too tight to wear, and too short for me!
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Aug 20, 2012

Odd fit for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back up dress for a wedding. It is stunning in person and I was heart broken I couldn't wear it- it looks like a perfect combo of fun/classy. I'm pear shape, smaller bust, and the reviews said to order a size up- which for me would be a 6, since I normally wear a 4 in this cut dress. The kicker is the lining of the skirt was fitted more like a pencil skirt- there was no give, so while I could get it over my caboose, it looked hooker-tight across my bum. The top was slightly loose (not noticeably so) but I think going up to the 8 would have resulted in the top being too big. While it's recommended for pear shaped gals, I would be conscious of what type of pear you are- if you have a booty, be aware this might be tighter than anticipated. It really is a beautiful dress in person.
LH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 21, 2012

Great Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Does not give in the lower body area at all... if you're curvy, go a size up! Great dress though!
Ann
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Basically runs true to size, but a little tight in waste so went with larger size
jojaws
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

great dress, great details

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
great dress! great color, love the beading, but if you like your dresses to fit snug and show off your body this is not the dress for you. i wished it was a little more fitted of a dress but otherwise gorgeous.
H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

loved dress but bad fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered in both a 6 & 8, the 8 was perfect through the hips but too big on top and the 6 was perfect on top but too small through the hips. Would love to buy the 8 and have tailored for me.
Simone
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

Festive dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! Ordered it as a backup dress and ended up changing into this one midway through my holiday party. Such a fun dress and sure to get a lot of oohs and aahs :)
JD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 1, 2012

Loved the color and detail

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm petite and small-busted so found the top to be a bit big but not so big that I couldn't wear it. I loved the detailing on top and the color on the bottom so much that I figured it would hide the fact that it was just slightly loose. Great to dance in. I wore bright red lipstick and felt great all evening!
PSU 72
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Black Tie Wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely love this dress! I rented it 4 days before my event, I didn't know if it would fit or if I would like it in person but it was fabulous. :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 9"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

Best dress ever

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding. It fit perfectly. I was getting compliments all day. Would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. If you are petite with a bust, this dress works great!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 4, 2012

Not A Great Fit...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wanted to love this dress however it was way too small on bottom:( I ordered this in a 6 & 8 since I'm usually in between sizes, and the 8 fit, however it would have been very uncomfortable for a night out on the town. Overall the dress is very cute, the yellow is a really pretty color and the bead-work on top is gorgeous. Unfortunately the next size was not available the weekend I was looking to rent, so I had to go with another dress.
N
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Great Dress, true to size

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fabulous dress, true to size
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Sep 10, 2012

Great Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Would definitely recommend for a fun night out, everyone was aski. About it all night!
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

Great dress- very different

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
but the sequins started to rub/bother my skin under my arms from dancing throughout the night at the wedding. fun dress but be cautious about that.
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Fun & sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, true to size, worn for my brother's rehearsal dinner. Will definitely rent again.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Sep 20, 2012

Loved it so much that it has become my "go to" dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size, perfect alternative from wearing a plain black dress!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

This dress is so unique and beautiful. Amazing details. Perfect fit.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size 8 actually fit really well but the skirt length was more of a mini than mid-thigh, so I wore the size 10 instead which worked perfectly. Pros - This dress is so unique. I wore it to a wedding with probably 300 people and there was no one else in anything like it. Fits beautifully. Also, I have big boobs (34D) so I like that the straps were thick enough that I could wear a normal bra with hit. Cons - The only con is that the beading on the top of the dress is very delicate. Just be careful with it.
Blue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

I really felt great in this dress, it was super fun! I received a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfect!
Rachael
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

I actually ended up sending this dress back.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress just fit awkward on me. In some places the 4 fit me, and in others the 6 fit me, but neither dress flattered my body style what-so-ever. I'm 5'5" and 120lbs. I have bigger boobs and a tiny waist, and this dress just did NOTHING for me. Maybe a tall and slender body would do well with this dress.
M_azin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

AMAZING DRESS!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
vibrant color
Vivian
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

RTR came to my rescue just in time for a formal event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is absolutely gorgeous! I got compliments all night... the color is vibrant and beautiful. If only this dress were for sale, I would buy it! Definitely a winner!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Not the right shape for my body though pretty

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress online. On me, however, not so much. I have a straight body and this dress is not right for a straight frame. It fit in the waist but was huge in the bust (I tried a size 8) completely gaping and looked horrible. I am a 34c and about a 4/6 pant and this dress is meant for someone with a huge chest and small waist. Not me. Sending it back. :( pretty though! (But better for a fun night out, not a formal like I intended)
Jazzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

Gorgeous! So many compliments

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is BEAUTIFUL and true to size.
Ashleymika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Comfortable fit, bright, and fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable fit, hits right above the knee. Classy yet fun!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

Smashing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I felt fabulous in this dress. I was glad I ordered a size up (ordinarily a 4), because it is not stretchy. The 6 fit perfectly. The dress was different--not the same old thing--but also elegant. I wore it to an awards ceremony. The detail on the metallic bodice is beautiful and the feathery skirt was feminine.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wasn't the most comfortable in this dress. There is no give on the fabric and it was VERY tight on my bottom half (true pear-shape body). The defined waist was helpful, but I just didn't think this was the best dress for a somewhat-curvy girl. But, it must be said that I got a LOT of compliments and people kept coming up to me and saying that they heard I got the dress from RTR and asking about it. So, while I may not have been the most comfortable, it certainly looked great!!
J.R.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
May 31, 2013

This dress runs small and I wasn't able to wear it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is quite tight in the hips.
Shanti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

unique dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress was very comfortable and the color looked great - received lots of compliments
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

MY FAVORITE DRESS TO DATE!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is an awesome dress! Just rent it! Do yourself a favor!
Maddie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Oct 17, 2013

Beautiful, well-made dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved wearing this dress! It is so unique, beautiful, and well-made. It is also a perfect length- I was worried about it being too long. Wonderful renting experience!
Mina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

What a fantastic dress - gets you noticed for all the right reasons :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal at my grad school. The 0 was a perfect fit and very flattering - no gaping holes, not too long, just perfect. The detail at the top is very beautiful, more so than in the photos here. Only potential downside when ordering this dress is that you might get unlucky with the actual dress you get. I ordered sizes 2 and the 0, and the 2 looked really worn, some of the beads were gone, and a few of the ruffles were torn. In sum, I would not have been able to wear that dress and feel pretty - it was just too damaged. The 0 was in perfect condition, though, so in the end I was lucky it fit.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 29, 2014

Cute dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked the dress, but I did feel tight around the back area (bra) and even higher waist area. I don't know if it was due to my bigger chest but I probably could have worn a size higher.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×