Rent the Runway

Sachin & Babi

Gray Gatsby Dress

$35 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Float in and dazzle on a cloud of chiffon. This party perfect dress by Sachin + Babi is feminine and subtle with a cheeky dash of bling. Watch out for him taking a second, third (and fourth!) look at glamorous you.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey tulle over tulle chiffon. V neckline. Sequin embellishment at bodice. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

195 reviews

Fit
Small 129
True to Size 62
Large 0
Photos 98
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Oct 23, 2011

So flattering!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Picture does not do this dress justice! It's gorgeous! I got an array of compliments on it at a fall wedding in San Francisco. I've rented Sachin + Babi before and all their dresses look great on tall, thin-framed women. I wore a 10 in the last S+B dress, but I had to wear a 12 in this one for the waist to be comfortable & to get the most length. I'll be renting this one again :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 16, 2012

Huge hit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Never have I received more compliments at a fancy work party! It was a winter party, so I wore black tights and black suede booties with the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

The dress was stunning and chic! I fell in love with the details <3!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my friend's 30th birthday party and it was a big hit. This dress is really true to size and the details are beautiful. I received a lot of compliments for this dress and I felt like a star. The only con was that I had to return it; that was heartbreaking! I would definitely rent this dress again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Great 1920's Flapper Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to a Halloween party. Loved the champagne color, fun fringe and sparkles, and the dress fit perfectly in all the right places. I typically wear a six but had to size up to an eight, as the dress runs slightly small and there is NO give to the fabric. Keep that in mind when picking sizes. Otherwise I got a ton of compliments and it was a fun alternative to the black dresses the other "flappers" wore than night!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Perfect Gatsby-themed dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a great dress to wear to a Gatsby-themed event without looking like you're in costume! The dress is a bit short so I went up a size, but otherwise it was fantastic! Five stars.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

This was perfect for a Great Gatsby Themed party.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress runs small. In my opinion this is far from the normal RTR quality. The dress has a cheap fabric with no give. I wore my normal size however it is short I am high waisted with longer legs.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 7, 2014

I've never gotten so many compliments on a dress before and how it looked on me. Very unique!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore it to my "A Night In Paris" sorority formal and it fit like a glove! I'm usually a size for in dresses. Small waist and bigger bust
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Perfect for my Great Gatsby themed bachlortte party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit true to size and was very comfortable. I started receiving compliments from the moment I left my house. The back of the dress is a bit sheer and shows lines but I was completely comfortable not wearing a bra due to all the ruffles in the front – however, wearing a fitted slip underneath helped remove any other lines. Adding a headband and pearls made it perfect for my GG themed night!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

I had compliments all night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very fitted, and for a girl with a long torso a bit short. I loved it and had so much fun dancing the night away in it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 4, 2014

This dress was so much fun to wear. I have received many compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm a bigger chested person and this dress did not make me feel like my chest was the first thing I saw. Although title fit great in the chest area, but the little black ribbon around the waist kept rolling up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
May 6, 2014

Perfect dress for a Roaring 20s party. Received many compliments!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Needed a dress for a roaring 20s party. This one was perfect! Went great with my accessories, and had the perfect amount of glitz and glam. Received many compliments on the dress. Would work great for a cocktail / formal occasion as well!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 11, 2014

Perfect Roaring 20's Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the roaring 20's theme of the party. It runs small. I'm glad I went a size bigger for my first choice, and then a size even bigger for my 2nd choice thanks to the reviews. I went with the bigger of the two and it was perfect. A little short while sitting down, but perfect while standing. Luckily the event was mostly at high top tables.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 13, 2014

It's sparkly in the very front and the ruffles are super adorable! So classy and chic!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The pros: Outfit is super cuuuute! You will get compliments ALL NITE LONG! Very versatile as you can wear it for you birthday party (which I did), to a nice event, on a date, etc… It hugged my body but in a sophisticated, classy way! It's so uber awesome! The cons: it doesn't have any stretch, so I am glad I ordered by the 2 and 4 with this one! The 2 was a bit tight because I am athletically built, and my butt and thighs was not having it, lol! However, that is my only con :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 14, 2014

Glamorous and unconventional. Perfect match for my daughter.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this dress for my daughter's senior prom, "Roaring '20s" theme. She was nervous because she couldn't touch the dress, but once it arrived, she knew she made the right choice. The dress is definitely GRAY, and the sequins on the bodice are more noticeable and lovely in person. She normally wears size 3/4, and the 4 worked perfectly but was pretty snug after dinner. If you are curvy, I would definitely size up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
May 17, 2014

Most fun dress I've ever had!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was incredible. My original first choice wasn't available so RTR offered me a switch and I am sooooooo glad I picked this one. It's sparkly, floaty, and lays just the right way in all the right places. I felt so beautiful! It fits true to size. My only warning would be that it might be a little short for taller girls. It was just right for me, but I'm only 5'1.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 18, 2014

I got non-stop compliments on my dress. It was a roaring 20's party and I went as Daisy from Gatsby

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a size 2 and had to wear the size 4. This dress is perfect and lightweight! I was so sad to ship it back!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 19, 2014

So Many Compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros - I got so many compliments on this dress! It was very flattering and fun to wear. Perfect dress for a 1920's themed event. Cons - Like the reviewers before me have said, this dress runs very small. I luckily ordered an 8 & 10 (normal sizing for me is 4-6) since I was worried about the fit after reading the reviews. I'm very glad I did since I ended up wearing the bigger size. It is also quite short when sitting down. Overall, I probably wouldn't rent this dress again - however it was perfect for my event and even got compliments from a local TV personality!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
May 22, 2014

Everyone loved my dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a gorgeous dress, but it is soooo SMALL!! The black belt is not stretchy at all so I had to suck it in all night. I can fit into a size 8 pants at J Crew but I could barely fit in this so definitely order a size above.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 8, 2014

Great dress! Great night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely get one size up from your normal size. Dress is gorgeous and fits perfect! I had tons of compliments all night:)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 21, 2014

Worked out really well. 4/5 because I wish it was a wee bit more comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Was happy with it. Wish the ribbon didn't roll and bunch. Got lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Perfect dress for a 20s themed wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! This was my first time renting with RTR and it was fabulous. I took my time to read the reviews, which really paid off. It was comfortable and perfect for a tiny gal like me. I was able to look glamourous and dance the night away. Its an unusual style, so something I wouldnt wear all of the time, so renting was the perfect option.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 24, 2014

Cute dress but really short!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Rented this for a Gatsby style fashion shoot. It runs small and we used the dress one size larger than our model's usual size 4. As much as I liked the lightness of the dress, it was just way too short for my liking and we ended up only shooting from the mid-thigh up. (We could see up her dress every time she sat down.)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Paired it with fishnets, pearls, long gloves and a headband for a themed look.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a 20's themed party. The size 4 fit perfectly but was way too short. I practiced bending, reaching and sitting before I left the house and had to switch into the 6 for the extra length. It was a really pretty dress and something different. It would work for many other occasions; not solely Gatsby parties.
RTR Customer
Jul 18, 2014

Beautiful, comfortable and exactly what I needed!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was exactly what I was looking for. It was beautiful in person, and was surprisingly comfortable and easy to wear (no pulling, adjusting or duck taping required...this is a well-made dress)! Do be aware that it runs a bit small; I could fit in the size 2 that I ordered, but the backup size 4 was a much better fit. Also, the zipper is very delicate and seemed a bit worn, so take extra care. This was my first time using RTR, and I'm a very picky chicky, but I couldn't be happier with this rental!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Perfect dress for my vintage bridal shower!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a 4, but I was worried because of the reviews that I would need the 6 (which was unavailable). I ordered an 8 as my backup, just in case it really was way too small. It actually fit pretty well, though, and I wore the 4. The only part that was tight was the ribbon around the waist, which is not adjustable and has no flex. By the end of the day, driving home, I just had to unzip for that reason. As others have mentioned, it is pretty short, but that only really bothered me while sitting down. Standing the length was just fine. Also, the color really is a cool grey, where the pictures make it look a little warmer.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Great Gatsby party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I can't say enough how happy I was with my rental and rent the runway! I got compliments all night on my dress. Rent the Runway made my night. I'm already looking forward to my next rental.
RTR Customer
Age: 29
Oct 14, 2014

Easy to order

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Perfect for my flapper themed bridal shower!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

It was a very playful dress yet very sexy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm normally a size 4 but the 6 fit better. Ballroom dancing was so much fun with this dress. It can tend to ride up and when it does, it gets really short. And I'm pretty short - 5'3". So if you're tall, this is probably not the dress for you.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Great for Gatsby party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size. Got lots of compliments
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

Great Gatsby party with great friends!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress! I wore it to a "Great Gatsby" themed party. I ordered a size 4 and 6. They both fit, but I ended up going with the size 6, for comfort. The black belt doesn't have any give. I knew there was going to be lots of food and dancing, so the size 6 was a good choice. This was my first Rent The Runway experience, and it was a great one. I will definitely be ordering again in the future.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Beautiful dress--fits very small!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 6 with the 8 as my backup, and the 8 was almost too small on me. There is no stretch and no give, so be careful! That being said, it's a gorgeous dress and I got tons of compliments on it. It is absolutely perfect for a 20's themed party, but can also just be for any fancy party (like New Years!)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Perfect Gatsby Gala dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was light and airy and perfect for a 1920s theme gala event! It does run a little small but it is just darling!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Perfect dress for a 1920's themed Christmas Party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 2 and the 4 for a back up but the size 2 worked well for me, it was a tad snug in the waist but not uncomfortably so and I didn't have any trouble with the belt rolling up as others have mentioned; as you can see in the picture it hit me right above the knee and I am quite short so it is probably not a good pick for tall women. I received compliments all night on how I looked and how beautiful the dress was . The whole experience was great, I will never buy a special occasion dress again when RTR makes renting one so easy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 15, 2014

Tons of compliments at my company Roaring 20s Christmas Party!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Like other reviewers noted, this dress does run small. I ordered the 6 and 8 to be safe. The 6 fit perfectly, yet I still had room to move, dance, sit, etc. I liked this dress because I have a fuller, natural 34 d/dd and always super self conscious that "the girls" will be out. This dress is a v but the v falls well above the chest line so I had no worries when I bent over. The only part that I didn't love about the dress is that the back is very plain and thin, so make sure your tights or bra fit properly or you'll be able to see the lines. I suggest tights from Comando so they are dig free and no muffin top since their top is lace and not a band.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Great party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! The fit was perfect. The style unique. Would definitely rent again. Lots of compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

The dress was just what I was looking for

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this dress for a wedding and a great gatsby themed New Years party in the same night. Wore it to both and got tons of compliments. I ordered a 4, it was so tight and short but the 6 was unavailable.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 13, 2015

Multiple compliments all through the night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my company post-holiday party. I borrowed both size 4 (my regular size) and a size 6. To my surprise, I could not fit the size 4 at all and the 6 was tight!! I think I would have easily fit and felt comfortable in the Size 8. It was very short so bending over was a definitely no-no throughout the night, but I received so many compliments on the day and even after work a few days after! Everyone loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 14, 2015

Amazing dress! So hard to decide which RTR to wear!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered this for a 'roaring 20's' themed party. I ordered a 2 and 4. In regular clothes I wear a 2, in this dress the 4 was perfect! It looked great and was comfy. yes its a shorter dress- but that's OK- sexy! My only complaint is that I ordered a back up dress, which I also LOVED, so I ended up wearing the back up dress. I wanted to wear them both! This is a great dress!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
May 9, 2015

What a gorgeous dress! I received so many compliments at the Great Gatsby themed wedding I attended.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress definitely runs small and short. I'm normally a true size 2 with a 26 inch waist., but I had to wear the 4 The hip area was a little snug (I know my butt is not that large) & the dress was pretty short when you sat down. I still liked it overall.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

So in love with this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
First off this dress is so dainty and delicate!! The ruffles are stunning!!! I wanted to rent it SO bad and came very close to not doing it because I normally wear a size 2 ~ 4 but mostly 2's.....those sizes were completely booked! I tried to find another dress but couldn't get this one off my mind....I went back to read the reviews and saw the same statement on almost every one....the fact that this dress runs EXTREMELY SMALL!!!! Upon their opinions I went ahead and rented the 6 and let me just say that I could NOT have gotten into anything smaller!! This is a gorgeous dress but don't make the mistake of ordering your normal size!! Overall I LOVED THIS DRESS & so did everyone else!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×