You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Gray Gatsby Dress
Rental $35 Retail $495
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Float in and dazzle on a cloud of chiffon. This party perfect dress by Sachin + Babi is feminine and subtle with a cheeky dash of bling. Watch out for him taking a second, third (and fourth!) look at glamorous you. To complete the look go with Nicole Romano's Danica Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Grey tulle over tulle chiffon. V neckline. Sequin embellishment at bodice. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos63

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 133 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Feb 12, 2013
Loved the RTR experience, dress, not so much...
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was going to a Roarin' 20's theme party and many other ladies had worn this dress to the same type of party. I loved the dress online and studied everyone's reviews carefully. Everyone is who said it runs small was right!!! I even called RTR to discuss. I didn't have my exact measurements, but when asked what sizes I've worn in other designers I said that most recently I'd ordered some Victoria's Secret bathing suits and had to get a small for the bottom and large for the top. RTR said I'd be perfect for this designer because that's how they run...small on bottom and large on top. Well, that is an understatement... if you have ANY doubts, SIZE UP! This was a great looking dress, however! Super cute and fun. It was my first choice because it fit the theme of the event while being a little on the conservative side. Loved the dress, wish it was made better to fit more ladies!!!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Feb 4, 2013
SO pretty, but SO small. Sad it didn't work out.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved how this dress looked from the front when I put it on. The ruffles hit all the right places and it was just so much fun... perfect for my industry event. And then I turned around. Ugh. I had the larger size on, but the dress was SO tight on my backside and SO super short that I was extremely uncomfortable. I tried black tights, Spanx, and no-go. Maybe if the dress had the rufles all the way around the dress or if I had gone up to a size 10 in ordering things would have looked much better. But I couldn't wear the dress looking as how it did.
blair
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Jan 28, 2013
Beautiful dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented the 2 and 4 - both fit, but I wore the 4 because it gave me just a little more length. I wore this dress for a 1920's party and received many compliments! I'm pale but did not feel as though the color washed me out. One word of caution - the back does not have the fluttery pieces, although it is the same material as the front. I didn't mind this, but hadn't paid close enough attention when viewing the dress online.
Nat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Jan 23, 2013
Perfect for NYE!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress on new years eve and definitely stood out as one of the only people not wearing plane black or all over sequins. This dress is so beautiful and very flattering. I wore it with a black tights and booties and a big necklace. Lot's of compliments. This is the best dress i've rented and I've rented many!
Brenda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Jan 14, 2013
Someone asked if I'd worn this to the Oscars.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful, very feminine dress. Felt too tight all over and was not very comfortable as a result, but I loved it anyway.
Kristen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6433
Jan 4, 2013
Wore this dress for a NYE party and loved it!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress definitely runs on the smaller side, particularly on the bottom-half. I would say the top half runs truer to size. I am a true pear and the dress was pretty tight through my hips. Because of availability, I ended up with an 8 and a 12. Normally I wear an 8, so the 12 ended up being way too big, especially on top. However, it did give me more room in the hips and made the dress a bit longer. A 10 would have been perfect. In the end I wore the 8, but it was a lot more fitted through my hips and ended up being much shorter than the 12. If you are a pear or hourglass shape, I would definitely recommend ordering up one size! Also, the color is a bit different in person than in the pictures on the website. It is more of a grey than beige, which I thought was more flattering.
Katherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 2, 2013
Lovely, but didn't fit
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was gorgeous, but unfortunately was too small.
Rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3624
Dec 29, 2012
Perfect for day to night.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I go to many events each month where I am photographed, so I hate wearing the same thing twice. It gets very expensive to buy a dress every week. So I thought I would try RTR. I Loved this dress. It was easy to wear and looked very feminine. I am extremely happy with my first RTR experience. Will definitely rent again.
Jane
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5524
Dec 17, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress. I wore it to a 20s themed company holiday party
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a size 6, but based on other reviews on ordering it a size up, I did that and it was pretty accurate. I ended up wearing the size 8. It was a little big on top, but fit the rest of the way down. It was a gorgeous dress. I received so many compliments on it. I'm so glad it was available. I had no problems with it and did not need to use the fashion tape that came with it, but that was more out of laziness on my part.
Blue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Dec 12, 2012
I did not wear this one it was an extra
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Cute dress. runs small
Jillian
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3323
Dec 4, 2012
Wore this to my senior prom and loved it.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Only problem was the black waistband doesn't stretch at all, so it fits tight there. I would go up a size, I regretted wearing the smaller size throughout Prom Night and was afraid to eat.
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Dec 4, 2012
Cute dress, got lots of compliments.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well but it ran very short, had to wear tights and I am petite. Color washed me out even with a spray tan! Disappointed that the back was not ruffled.
Stacy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Nov 25, 2012
Night on the town in NYC
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this dress for a NY trip and wore it to see Broadway show and drinks on rooftop bar. I got tons of complements and it was so comfortable. The fit was a bit tight, I normally wear a size 0 but the size 2 was perfect. It made me feel flirty and sexy, loved it!
Megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Nov 23, 2012
Sadly, it didn't work for me but still a gorgeous dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really, really wanted to wear this dress to a formal event but couldn't get the size 10 over my thighs. :-(
Avital
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5421
Nov 4, 2012
Fun dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for my bridal shower and got so many compliments. It was perfect!
Gabriella
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Oct 16, 2012
Loved this dress! It was a little tight in the waist, but overall great!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really fun dress!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Oct 10, 2012
Wore this dress for my sister's rehearsal dinner! It was amazing, worked perfectly for the occasion.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs very small! I run anywhere from a 4 to an 8, and in this case I am glad I listened to the tips. I rented both a 6 and an 8 and went with the 8. I have broad shoulders and when I tried the 6 on it was like I couldn't move. The dress is gorgeous though, I got so many compliments from the other guests at the dinner. It's hard to tell what color the sequins are from the picture, but they are indeed silver! So pair with silver jewelry.
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8533
Oct 4, 2012
Too fluffy
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This would probably look cuter on a small girl, but I've got a large chest and didn't need all the flounce around my whole body
Kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Sep 20, 2012
pretty
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this is a very pretty dress. It was actually "too pretty" for the girls night out... would be great for a more formal affair. I thought it was a bit short. Otherwise it's beautiful. I would have worn the sz 6.
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5421
Sep 12, 2012
Adorable
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It's a tight fit, so size up, if not twice.
chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2322
Sep 3, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 0 fit me perfectly, it is actually a little more fitted then in the picture, but in a good way. The picture truly does not do the top half of the dress justice as there are all silver sequins underneath. ABsolutely gorgeous dress that I unfortunately did not wear because I ended up with a herve Leger, But I will most definitely be renting in the future! Perfect for petite girls!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Aug 21, 2012
Fun but short!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Really fun for a 20's themed party but with a long torso and long legs it was a bit short! All in all a great dress.
SP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Aug 15, 2012
Classy but fun party dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve last year and I absolutely loved it! (& so did my boyfriend!) It's a perfect length, doesn't ride up at all - perfect for dancing. I thought it fit a bit small, especially through the waist and there is no "give" at at all.
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Aug 14, 2012
Loved it"
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size and was totally comfortable! I had people complimenting me all night and the bride told me afterward that people were telling HER that they loved my dress! I'd say this dress was a resounding success!!
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6431
Aug 13, 2012
Small through hips
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress! It ran a little small through the hips so I was unable to wear it. Size up if you are a little hippy
Hannah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3642
Aug 10, 2012
Perfect!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am 15 and wore this dress to Sadies. It was stunning. If you want to stand out AND get compliments on your dress (I mean who wouldn't?!) this is definatley the dress for you. The fabic pieces are neither teathered or destroyed. The sparkles add a little "OMPF" to the dress to make the dress look complete. I wore the dress with nude pumps and it worked flawlessley. The dress was uber comfortable. I did not have to mess around with the fabric pieces at all and they did not become static, which I was pleaslently suprised about. Being a little bit taller than most women, this dress was the perfect length. Picture the length of bermuda shorts minus 1 inch. Simply a perfect length. The black fabric/ribbon belt did not budge a bit. Overall, this dress did not cause a fuss at all, but made a flawless lasting impression!
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Aug 2, 2012
Runs very small
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I would definitely order a size up for this dress. I ordered my normal size and it did not fit.
H PINNY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Jul 30, 2012
I cannot say enough!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to keep this dress! It is absolutely beautiful in person. I wore it for a family wedding and it was perfect.
C32
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jul 16, 2012
Fun dress
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a formal event (Gatsby theme). Fun dress. Lots of compliments. It does run small. I am usually a 4 but based on reviews I ordered a 6 & 8 and ended up going with the 8. (the 6 was too tight in the bust) Also, the dress is pretty short. Hit mid thigh. Overall great dress!
Jai
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
May 13, 2012
AMAZING
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a semi-black tie event at a NYC landmark. It was the perfect early summer cocktail dress. It was easy to wear and for a curvey girl like me didn't pinch in all the normal places. It hurt to have to return the dress I loved it so much. You don't have alot of top cleave so this dress is perfect for girls with great legs
Bridget
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5644
Apr 15, 2012
Lots of compliments!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a fundraiser and received many compliments from men and women alike! It was a little tight through the ribcage, but fit well otherwise.
M
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2223
Apr 14, 2012
Awesome dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! I wore it for homecoming and it was really flattering on. It was a tiny bit long on me, but then again I'm a little short.
dg
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Apr 2, 2012
Classy, fun, and feminine
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my son's school gala. It's such a fun and feminine dress! The color is much richer in person - more of a warm silver with some gold and a deeper tone than in the photo. I'm relatively fair-skinned and the color still complemented me both in person and in photos. The fit is on the smaller side. I usually wear a size 4 and am a 34C and it fit snugly in the bust. I also ordered the 6, but decided I liked the 4 better. My only complaint is that there was a very small square in the back of the dress by the zipper that looked like it had been cut out. Fortunately the layer underneath was still there and I don't think it was too noticeable. Overall, though, it was a fabulously fun and classy dress and I will definitely rent again...and would love an excuse to rent this exact dress again!
E
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Mar 10, 2012
Incredibly fun!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Gatsby party on V-day, and it was perfect! I got tons of compliments. It is a little short, but I still wore it without tights with no problems.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4633
Feb 19, 2012
Roaring 20's party
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress runs small! I usually wear a size 4, but ended up wearing the 6. It was perfect for the roaring 20's party. It arrived clean and in good shape. Very happy with my 1st rental with rent the runway!
Janie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2421
Feb 8, 2012
Adorable Dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for our New Year's Eve Party that we hosted at our apartment. I ended up getting engaged that night (!!!) on top of the Empire State Building, and I got so many compliments there and at the party. It was the best night ever, and I'm so glad I had a beautiful dress to wear to it. Rent it, you'll love it!
Diana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4441
Feb 1, 2012
So feminine and pretty!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to a NYE party and got sooo many compliments! It might run a teeensy bit small, but that's because the black band at the waist has no stretch to it. I am 5'9 and a 34B and ordered the 4 and 6, ended up wearing the 6. Overall great dress, would def rent again!!
Marina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 31, 2012
birthday awesomeness
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I want to own this dress. So flattering, so fun. I wore it with a black blazer w/ the sleeves rolled up and it made the best birthday date outfit. It does run on the smaller side around the waist. Loved it!
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Jan 16, 2012
Huge hit
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Never have I received more compliments at a fancy work party! It was a winter party, so I wore black tights and black suede booties with the dress.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Jan 9, 2012
New Years Eve 2011!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for New Years Eve in a New York City club. The style of the dress was exactly how I pictured it and I loved the way it looked in person. I usually wear a size 8 but opted to wear the size up I ordered as my back-up because the black ribbon is a bit snug. The fabric is a bit sheer so I would recommend a nude bra or no bra at all if you can get away with that. Tights were a must for me because I am so tall.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress